De Jongh set for Murrayfield start
13 Nov 2012
RYAN VREDE, in Edinburgh, reports Juan de Jongh is likely to run on against Scotland, while Pat Lambie is expected to be retained at flyhalf.
De Jongh impressed for the Stormers in Super Rugby and recently enjoyed an excellent Currie Cup, scoring in the final. Coach Heyneke Meyer has been reluctant to use him. He is concerned primarily about the player’s size, worrying that this would compromise him in contact situations at Test level.
However, Meyer strongly suggested he sees Scotland as an opportunity to give the 24-year-old game time.
‘We’re a relatively young team and haven’t played together much, we want to keep some continuity. We respect Scotland and won’t just give Test caps away. There won’t be a lot of changes but the one that will probably happen is to see Juan come in. He has been knocking hard on the door and deserves a chance,’ Meyer said.
‘It isn’t definite, I want to speak to some of the [senior] players as well, but he probably will start. We’ll have a rotation policy in that position. Jaco Taute probably had his best Test against Ireland [at outside centre], and we’ll have to see whether we pair Juan and Jaco, who can also play inside centre, and give Jean de Villiers a break. Jean has played with a couple of injuries recently so he needs a rest. Jaco could also play at fullback [replacing Zane Kirchner], but again, I don’t want to make too many changes.’
Meyer is also expected to persist with Lambie at flyhalf after praising his performance at Lansdowne Road in difficult conditions. With the coaching staff in search of quality back-up to the injured Johan Goosen, who’ll reclaim his starting position if he stays fit for the 2013 Test season, Lambie has the inside lane to be that man.
‘I’ll probably stick by Pat,’ Meyer said. ‘It was a difficult start for him because we just didn’t have the ball [in the first half]. The second half was a bit of a catch-up. He did some nice things in possession. He has high standards and so do we, so we’re looking for an improvement. But he showed some good touches and I want to give him some confidence going forward.’
Meyer said there were likely to be changes on the bench, which could see Elton Jantjies replacing Morne Steyn as pivot cover. Elsewhere Gurthro Steenkamp has recovered from a rib injury that kept him out of the weekend’s Test, and will come into the frame to replace Beast Mtawarira, who has been sent home after suffering a recurrence of a heart condition he was treated for earlier this year.
Team doctor Craig Roberts, however, sought to allay fears about Mtawarira’s health and playing future. ‘He has been treated for an irregular heartbeat in hospital in Dublin. This isn’t life threatening or career threatening in any way and he is quite capable of playing with it,’ Roberts said.
‘Heyneke and I had a meeting with him today and made the decision to send him to Cape Town to have a minor procedure done later this week where they try to isolate and eradicate the cells that are causing the irregular rhythm. He had it done earlier this year, but clearly they didn’t get all the cells.
‘Anything can set it off, we don’t actually know precisely what does. I’ve also had quite a few players who’ve had it. Beast has gone into this rhythm a couple of times in the past and we’ve just managed it. I need to make it clear that he could have played this weekend at no risk.’
Meyer added: ‘If it happens again this week we’re back to square one. It worries me and it is at the back of his mind. You want guys out there that are totally focussed. He is also on medication that sometimes slows you down. It is also important for him to be with his family. It was a difficult decision, but the right one we believe.’
Jannie du Plessis picked up an ankle injury in Dublin, but Meyer and Roberts indicated that he was likely to recover. ‘He is looking good. We’ll assess him at training and we are hopeful he will be ready for the weekend.’

700 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] Show All
13 Nov 2012, 19:58 pm
today is 40 days, then ghoebaai earth… did I say 40 days?!
13 Nov 2012, 19:59 pm
o no. it’s plus one month.
13 Nov 2012, 20:00 pm
o no. i was right. 40 days. i think i’ll go and celebrate now
13 Nov 2012, 20:14 pm
@shooter-653:
Min dae.
13 Nov 2012, 20:31 pm
Magtag
40 days? That all we got left?
13 Nov 2012, 21:18 pm
So the Cape wan.king seems to have paused… A little less frenzied…
Interesting thread this… Easy to spot the fakes – those Rhino anti poaching “experts”…
Gave me a few chuckles though…
Treehugger – go you good thing with the genuine empathy for suffering animals…
And the Dangerman – educating these poor myopic Capie types that wildlife in SA consists of maybe a little bit more than just squirrels…
I actuallly doubt that many of these Cape “Africans” have seen a Rhino – Black or White – in real life outside the Discovery channel…
13 Nov 2012, 21:31 pm
@charo-478: Classic… Bullshitt detector… skills
13 Nov 2012, 21:47 pm
So only Sharks supporters take an interest or support wildlife conservation
Youstupidfuckingtwat
13 Nov 2012, 21:53 pm
@Dawn-658: Prawny… Prawny… Prawny… Is spurning me not enough?
You dont know what you missing hunnybuns…
13 Nov 2012, 22:19 pm
Whassup HG,yes interesting thread…..also find it interesting that no one could or would answer my question about there being private hunting parks in Sa where endangered animals are hunted and killed for big money trophies…..the argument being without these types of parks some species would actually be in a worse position (loss of habitat and poaching) and move closer to extinction without the money and investment in breeding programs to keep these types of activities viable, a double edged sword if ever there was one.
13 Nov 2012, 22:34 pm
@Te Rangatira-660:
sorry, not double edged sword more like stuffed if you do….stuffed if you don’t…
13 Nov 2012, 22:39 pm
@Dawn-658:
Exactly………….bitter doos (No CC)
13 Nov 2012, 23:13 pm
Keo, Symantec and now Chrome keep telling me your site is a known distributor of malware. What’s up with that sh*t?
13 Nov 2012, 23:57 pm
Nobody beats Skop in a keo shoot out.Better and far rugby knowledgeable bloggers like Gbs and Pietman tried and failed.Katman is a kort sokkie compared to those okes and rightly got his arse kicked by the skop man.In reality it actually was a no contest from the start.
14 Nov 2012, 00:57 am
Got his arse kicked? I don’t think so, katman basically showed skop to be a crass foul mouthed, racist doos. Well done the katman!
14 Nov 2012, 03:00 am
@whatever-665:
But he knows his rugby, check this, just had to post it again…
• 394.skopdiekan:
7 Nov 2012, 22:32 pm
Boks should lose on Saturday..
• 329.skopdiekan:
8 Nov 2012, 22:45 pm
Boks going to get fck’d up Saturday and Meyer is going to bedank
14 Nov 2012, 03:04 am
@Slartibartfast-666:
Yeah, exactly koos!
14 Nov 2012, 07:04 am
@Te Rangatira-660: In national parks hunting is illegal. In private reserves, the choice is basically up to the owner. What basically seems to happen is that those private rserves where hunting is allowed, game viewing becomes a bit more difficult
(Animals get wise). I am sure rangerman could elaborate
14 Nov 2012, 07:21 am
@Te Rangatira-660: Howzit Rangi… Although rhino can be hunted legally on a private game farm, my understanding is that the hunter cannot take the horn as trophy… I may be wrong though. If the hunter can take the horn – then problem.
14 Nov 2012, 07:41 am
@Te Rangatira-660:
TR, as far as I know endangered(protected) animals can’t be shot anywhere for trophies. Besides a live animal is worth much more than one shot for a trophy.
However, culling does happen in the national parks where it is decided that animals can’t be sold/moved to other areas. In this case it does have to do with habitat etc but it is done by professional hunters on behalf of the parks board and not by trophy hunters.
14 Nov 2012, 08:25 am
@suffer_guy-10: Will hold you to that.
14 Nov 2012, 08:33 am
@Te Rangatira-660:I think you’re talking about “Canned Lion hunting”, where lions are razed as tamed animals and than hunted by clueless foreigners who think they are wild lions. Lions are not considered indangered as far as I know, they are debating whether or not to outlaw this practice. It is cruel but again their is dialemas.
As for indangered animal hunting on farms, I don’t think that is currently happening, rhino poaching is a big issue for SA and government is putting huge emphasis on prosecuting offenders.
14 Nov 2012, 08:35 am
@Slartibartfast-670: There has been efforts to avoid this especially for the large eliphant population in the Krugar Park, they are now sterilizing the older bulls to allow only the younger bulls to produce offspring. This helps reduce the need to cull the eliphant population that can devistate the landscape.
14 Nov 2012, 08:43 am
@Heavens Game-656: Wow, ignorant fool that you are. There are about 4-5 reserves within 200km from Cape Town that have the big five. The first rhino that was poached in 2012 I believe was in the Western Cape. Also we have the Ado Elephant Park in George.
Did you even know that the Western Cape region had it’s own Lions species at one time, but the colonials killed them all.
You think because you live in the rural delaptated jungle of the kzn that you are special? That you know more than us supposed capies? Why don;t you go drink some water from a tap in rural KZN and see what happens.
14 Nov 2012, 08:48 am
@goodstuff-673:
Ah thanks Goodie, did not know that.
14 Nov 2012, 08:59 am
@goodstuff-674:
addo elephant park is outside pe.
unless they moved it to george recently?
btw, looked up “delaptated” in my dictionary – couldn’t find it – what does it mean?
14 Nov 2012, 09:01 am
@goodstuff-674:
there are also “reserves” within 200km of london.
14 Nov 2012, 09:13 am
@Heavens Game-656:
Well, this “Capie” has been travelling through sub-Saharan Africa since the mid-80s, mainly staying at undeveloped campsites (i.e., unfenced, long-drop, brick braai) and have had the privileged of seeing these amazing animals in the wild.
You presume quite a lot.
But I assume that’s because your side’s loss in the final still burns deep inside.
14 Nov 2012, 09:15 am
@charo-677:
HG’s the one who dirtied this thread that was actually quite pleasant with his rabid hatred for all things Cape Town.
14 Nov 2012, 09:18 am
@Heavens Game-669:
You are wrong.
As long as you have obtained a CITES rhino trophy permit, you are fully within your rights to remove, keep, and export the horn.
14 Nov 2012, 09:24 am
The Department of Environmental Affairs issued amended Norms and Standards for the marking of rhinoceros and rhinoceros horn and for the hunting of rhinoceros for trophy hunting purposes. These came into effect in April this year, and now an applicant must satisfy the Provincial Conservation Authority in each case that he or she is a bona fide big game hunter – including proof of membership of a hunting association, a CV indicating hunting experience, and proof of previous hunting experience. There must also be proof provided that the applicant’s country of residence has adequate legislation in place to ensure that the rhinoceros horns and the rest of the hunting trophy will only be used for the purpose as indicated on the hunting permit.
At this stage, all applications for white rhinoceros hunting by foreign hunters from Vietnam are refused until Vietnam confirms, in writing, that all rhino trophies exported since 2010 to Vietnam are still in the possession of those hunters.
Since the implementation of the new Norms and Standards, no further applications have been received from alleged consumer states – China, Vietnam and Thailand.
14 Nov 2012, 09:25 am
@goodstuff-672: lions are like every other predator species in the world-under huge threat.
estimates (admittedly 4 years old) put lion numbers in the whole of africa at 50,000.
50,000 bud. thats f u k all considering there are over 7 billion humans.
you simply have to look at the case of zambia western plains (where the second biggest wildebeest migration takes place) and how the population was reduced to a single lioness to see how quickly it can all go pear shaped.
p.s. the cape lion was a recognised sub species not a distinct species.
@WP-Forever-678: doing a circuit of bots in june next year.
moremi, savuti, chobe and into zim to white water at vic falls.
wanted to include central kalahari but that will have to be a trip on its own.
very excited.
14 Nov 2012, 09:28 am
Game reserves DO !!!!!!! Allow the killing of rhino for profit when it suits them. About 2 or 3 months ago a huge white rhino was auctioned of for nine hundred and something thousand rand to a SA business man for trophy kill. This was at Umfolzi here in KZN. Some cr*p about the funds going to the local community. This we could not stop. You would be surprised at the chit that goes down, this is why EKZNW has absolutely no credibility, they don’t protect, they just kill, this I have first hand knowledge and experience with.
14 Nov 2012, 09:31 am
@The Rangerman-682:
Awesome, boet. Moremi is special.
I’m hiking the Wild Coast (from Port Edward to Great Kei Mouth) next month, sleeping rough. I’m very excited.
And I’m currently planning on a week in Nam in April next year – quick visit to the Namib-Naukluft and then Etosha.
14 Nov 2012, 09:34 am
@The Rangerman-682:
My saddest experience was Zambia in the mid 90s.
We went through Lochinvar National Park, some of the only game we managed to see were freshly shot and skinned and hanging outside the local officials’ huts.
I’m told Zambia has improved now, however.
14 Nov 2012, 09:34 am
@charo-677: You’re point? Animals like a rhino can’t live in uprotected areas now can they?
14 Nov 2012, 09:37 am
@WP-Forever-684: very nice man!
my family live in port edward so i have spent holidays growing up going to the kei.
mates have a cottage at nyameni just down from port edward and the rock salmon should be back there soon so i am planning a trip shortly.
and i am walking a bit of coastline in transies area this weekend.
a fairly famous walk
14 Nov 2012, 09:38 am
@The Rangerman-682:
Speaking of Botswana, one of the most magical places I have ever been to is Kubu Island in the Makgadikgadi Pan.
It’s simply astonishing.
14 Nov 2012, 09:39 am
@charo-676: Thanks mister Spell Check, correction “Dilapidated” – Run-down, Neglected etc.
Sorry about the location, was young when I went their and I was living in Knysna at the time, at that age PE/ George are all the same, hehe.
14 Nov 2012, 09:40 am
@The Rangerman-687:
I’m looking forward to lots of fishing! We’re aiming to spend the first night at Nyameni.
14 Nov 2012, 09:41 am
@The Rangerman-687: yitsho maan uyeke ukuba ligwala!
14 Nov 2012, 09:42 am
@WP-Forever-685: Shocking! Africa is a sad story all round. But it happens all accross the world, the amazing wildlife all around the world is being ruined for financial gain or to make way for us humans.
14 Nov 2012, 09:42 am
@goodstuff-692:
**** sapiens is the most destructive parasitic species in the world.
14 Nov 2012, 09:43 am
@goodstuff-686:
my point – you don’t know wtf you are talking about.
commercial “reserves” can be set up anywhere, weather permitting, as long as they have a chance of turning a profit.
thought you would catch the irony in the london reference. but no, are you a beneficiary of the 30% pass rate?
14 Nov 2012, 09:49 am
@WP-Forever-685: hectic bud.
ja i believe zambia is on the up.
the owens’s book “survivors song” is quite a heartbreaking account of the trials the luangwa valley went through at that time.
anyways, must do some work bud, keep well.
14 Nov 2012, 09:49 am
@The Rangerman-695:
Cheers.
14 Nov 2012, 10:11 am
@charo-694: Right? Let’s look at the initial point put forward by HM. He was going on about “Capies” not seeing rhinos or other African animals in real life, but rather only on TV etc.
I then I stated that there are places where Cape Townians have easy access to view such animals, basically nullifying his point. But here you come and mention ******* London, which has no bearing on the argument or point being made.
BTW, all large game wildlife that thrived in the Cape region before the colonial era have after the fact been eradicated by hunting during 1652 (arrival of Van Riebeeck, if you didn’t know) and the 19th century. So opening reserves and placing some animals back in the Cape makes sense from a climate and natural habitat point of view. (NOT the case in ******* London if we are talking about bloody African animals, perfect sense if is animals are indigenous to England.)
PS. My schooling was done on the old system, when 55% was the pass rate, but don’t you worry ‘concerned” little man, my pass rate was way above.
So you can go carry on with your zealous tirade if you even understand WTF you want to actually say, obviously you are also a bitter little sharkie boy. So I will give you the benefit by assuming that you are a child throwing his toys about rather than qualifying you as an actual intellectual person.
14 Nov 2012, 10:16 am
@WP-Forever-693: think I am falling in love
14 Nov 2012, 11:15 am
@Treehugger-698: My all time favourite quote about human beings, from the Matrix’ Agent Smith…
I’d like to share a revelation that I’ve had during my time here. It came to me when I tried to classify your species and I realized that you’re not actually mammals. Every mammal on this planet instinctively develops a natural equilibrium with the surrounding environment but you humans do not. You move to an area and you multiply and multiply until every natural resource is consumed and the only way you can survive is to spread to another area. There is another organism on this planet that follows the same pattern. Do you know what it is? A virus. Human beings are a disease, a cancer of this planet. You’re a plague and we are the cure.
14 Nov 2012, 11:19 am
sad but true
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] Show All