De Jongh set for Murrayfield start

RYAN VREDE, in Edinburgh, reports Juan de Jongh is likely to run on against Scotland, while Pat Lambie is expected to be retained at flyhalf.

De Jongh impressed for the Stormers in Super Rugby and recently enjoyed an excellent Currie Cup, scoring in the final. Coach Heyneke Meyer has been reluctant to use him. He is concerned primarily about the player’s size, worrying that this would compromise him in contact situations at Test level.

However, Meyer strongly suggested he sees Scotland as an opportunity to give the 24-year-old game time.

‘We’re a relatively young team and haven’t played together much, we want to keep some continuity. We respect Scotland and won’t just give Test caps away. There won’t be a lot of changes but the one that will probably happen is to see Juan come in. He has been knocking hard on the door and deserves a chance,’ Meyer said.

‘It isn’t definite, I want to speak to some of the [senior] players as well, but he probably will start. We’ll have a rotation policy in that position. Jaco Taute probably had his best Test against Ireland [at outside centre], and we’ll have to see whether we pair Juan and Jaco, who can also play inside centre, and give Jean de Villiers a break. Jean has played with a couple of injuries recently so he needs a rest. Jaco could also play at fullback [replacing Zane Kirchner], but again, I don’t want to make too many changes.’

Meyer is also expected to persist with Lambie at flyhalf after praising his performance at Lansdowne Road in difficult conditions. With the coaching staff in search of quality back-up to the injured Johan Goosen, who’ll reclaim his starting position if he stays fit for the 2013 Test season, Lambie has the inside lane to be that man.

‘I’ll probably stick by Pat,’ Meyer said. ‘It was a difficult start for him because we just didn’t have the ball [in the first half]. The second half was a bit of a catch-up. He did some nice things in possession. He has high standards and so do we, so we’re looking for an improvement. But he showed some good touches and I want to give him some confidence going forward.’

Meyer said there were likely to be changes on the bench, which could see Elton Jantjies replacing Morne Steyn as pivot cover. Elsewhere Gurthro Steenkamp has recovered from a rib injury that kept him out of the weekend’s Test, and will come into the frame to replace Beast Mtawarira, who has been sent home after suffering a recurrence of a heart condition he was treated for earlier this year.

Team doctor Craig Roberts, however, sought to allay fears about Mtawarira’s health and playing future. ‘He has been treated for an irregular heartbeat in hospital in Dublin. This isn’t life threatening or career threatening in any way and he is quite capable of playing with it,’ Roberts said.

‘Heyneke and I had a meeting with him today and made the decision to send him to Cape Town to have a minor procedure done later this week where they try to isolate and eradicate the cells that are causing the irregular rhythm. He had it done earlier this year, but clearly they didn’t get all the cells.

‘Anything can set it off, we don’t actually know precisely what does. I’ve also had quite a few players who’ve had it. Beast has gone into this rhythm a couple of times in the past and we’ve just managed it. I need to make it clear that he could have played this weekend at no risk.’

Meyer added: ‘If it happens again this week we’re back to square one. It worries me and it is at the back of his mind. You want guys out there that are totally focussed. He is also on medication that sometimes slows you down. It is also important for him to be with his family. It was a difficult decision, but the right one we believe.’

Jannie du Plessis picked up an ankle injury in Dublin, but Meyer and Roberts indicated that he was likely to recover. ‘He is looking good. We’ll assess him at training and we are hopeful he will be ready for the weekend.’

700 Comments

Pages: « 14 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 » Show All

• 601.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-596: but no rhinos left to tell the tale though they have been reintroduced into moremi.

in fact the last remaining whinos in bots were all darted and translocated to the khama rhino sanctuary in a last ditch effort.

• 602.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-598: i think the govt is worried that if it halts rhino hunting permits the game farmers will insist on removing their rhino or rhino introductions will stop.

the poachers are highly organised so would you want to attract these types to your farm if you had nothing to gain from having rhino on your land?

• 603.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-588: no military guys in this setup, all back Kenyans, and John takes no chit, a certain organization rocked up at my place early in the year harrasing me and accusing me of stuff, the moment he rocked up they changed there attitude and just gave them stick, telling them how corrupt it is here in SA and if they were men they would pick up a gun anD defend the wildlife and assist animal rights activists instead of picking on innocent women. Was a scream, we all proceeded to get slightly hammered and noisy.

• 604.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-595:
    skoppie was right about you :lol:

look, i think we can agree a shoot to kill policy would definitely be a good place to start.

@WP-Forever-596:
    agreed.
    it shouldn’t even be a debate really, just farking start killing em i say.

• 605.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

ok, i am out guys.

have a good day all.

• 606.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-601:

We should use their model though.

Khama realised that organised poaching is a peculiar form of low-intensity warfare in which small groups of armed men using excellent intelligence and fieldcraft infiltrate deep into the country, effectively frustrating detection and interception by government authorities. He decided he had to counter them with the military element most suited to that kind of warfare – the Commando Squadron, a special forces unit with unique skills in small unity operations, tracking, patrolling and ambush.

We have 5 Special Forces at Phalaborwa, still quite a highly-effective special operations unit, skilled in tracking and counter-insurgency.

They should be used to help counter poaching along with other government resources.

But sadly, the political will is not there.

• 607.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-604:

You can justify it on the basis that organised poaching is a form of armed insurgency.

These poachers violate our sovereignty, allowing us to deploy our military to counter it.

It is not a police matter.

• 608.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

Here’s a link to a good article on how Botswana tackled poaching from 1987 onwards:

http://www.rhinoresourcecenter.com/pdf_files/124/1243173877.pdf

• 609.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-518: Maybe if you each said sorry,even if giving the sincere smile of a new born shark while doing so,
    it,it would help.

• 610.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-568: Followed closely by Skop & Katman

• 611.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-609:
    you mean ‘insincere smile of a new born shark’…
    jou speltoetser is in sy moer in.

• 612.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-607:
    yes agreed.
    sadly its the political will to see it through which is all too lacking in sa.

• 613.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-611: irony

• 614.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-609: Good day sir.

• 615.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Well its been entertaining reading today,

Not much to say about the rugby, it’s that time of the year when pretty much everything is repetition.

• 616.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-613:
    ironic that you think new born sharkie supporters have sincere smiles..?.
    ja… probably…

• 617.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-613:
    or ironic that your spellchecker would correct your typing to; ‘sincere’..?..

• 618.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-611: Hi Bakkies.How are you?

• 619.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-614: Good afternoon good lady.

• 620.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-618:
    i’m good thank,
    how are you?

• 621.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-620: Hot and uggeredf

• 622.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-563: Keep up the good work against idiocy and fokwittery :-)

• 623.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-621:
    go home, relax, drink a beer… the rest will fall into place…

• 624.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Jirre.

• 625.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-624: hi dawn, got ammo :)

• 626.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I’m moer toe after reading this thread

• 627.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Watsup Shooter

That’s your domain

I wanna learn how to shoot so I can take a coupla people out

• 628.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-626: Hello Dawn

• 629.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Skop better not find out how many black vs white rhino have been poached

• 630.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Hello rye

• 631.Bell: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong-307: lol, what makes you think that JDJ can’t stop Manu?

• 632.shooter: Reply to this comment

I would add that legalising or being legal businesses, does not stop smuggling of diamonds gold abalone and all that stuff. So legalising rhino horn is only one part of the process.

• 633.shooter: Reply to this comment

and Skop is a coprolaliaist. put that in youp lip and chew on it.

• 634.shooter: Reply to this comment

and a clanger.

: Clanging – Sounds, rather than meaningful relationships, appear to govern words or topics. Excessive rhyming, and/or alliteration. e.g. “Many moldy mushrooms merge out of the mildewy mud on Mondays.” “I heard the bell. Well, hell, then I fell.

• 635.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@shooter-634: Leave Skop alone.A good oke

• 636.shooter: Reply to this comment

canons to the left of me. glocks to right. here i stand. in de middle wif you.

• 637.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Listen shooter.

I read every comment on this thread and I wanna now kill someone.

Don’t make my head more befuck

• 638.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-635: Some times

• 639.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-638: and Katman

• 640.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-639: Goodnight

• 641.shooter: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-635: i know. it’s just fighting a bad fight is not the same as fighting the good fight.

• 642.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Got my DVD copy os Shooter today.

Love that movie

• 643.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-637: every one stay calm.
    I’m not in the kat-skop fight.

my next line of argument was going to be about the HM racist or not racist debate. I was going to tell the jury that to exonerate the defendant, one can discredit the witness. See where I was going with this.

And I would do it in a nice way. I’m sure Skoppie could handle it. Anyway. my point to him is made. I have ammo because this thing bugs me.

• 644.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-642: Yes. i think i inspired the name for the movie. smiley.

i once saw live footage of a guy with a gun shooting over a distance of 800m odd which took of a body part of the victim. footage not really meant for the public – from a war zone. so it’s scary that those guns and people actually exist not only in movies.

• 645.Dawn: Reply to this comment

No-one takes Skop on and wins.

No-one.

• 646.Dawn: Reply to this comment

They do exist. Watched a Discovery doccie once.

Man I would love to be able to do that.

• 647.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-645: you’re right. zero sum game. especially if both parties persist with whatever they were doing the first place.

and I repeat no-one.

• 648.Dawn: Reply to this comment

• 649.shooter: Reply to this comment

Skop, Dawn says you and katman must behave now. right? can we start over. on a new page. a truce. we’ll call the place Skiet-n-kat-en-donder-skop. die vrede van Skietekatendonderskop.

• 650.shooter: Reply to this comment

Pages: « 14 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.