De Jongh set for Murrayfield start
13 Nov 2012
RYAN VREDE, in Edinburgh, reports Juan de Jongh is likely to run on against Scotland, while Pat Lambie is expected to be retained at flyhalf.
De Jongh impressed for the Stormers in Super Rugby and recently enjoyed an excellent Currie Cup, scoring in the final. Coach Heyneke Meyer has been reluctant to use him. He is concerned primarily about the player’s size, worrying that this would compromise him in contact situations at Test level.
However, Meyer strongly suggested he sees Scotland as an opportunity to give the 24-year-old game time.
‘We’re a relatively young team and haven’t played together much, we want to keep some continuity. We respect Scotland and won’t just give Test caps away. There won’t be a lot of changes but the one that will probably happen is to see Juan come in. He has been knocking hard on the door and deserves a chance,’ Meyer said.
‘It isn’t definite, I want to speak to some of the [senior] players as well, but he probably will start. We’ll have a rotation policy in that position. Jaco Taute probably had his best Test against Ireland [at outside centre], and we’ll have to see whether we pair Juan and Jaco, who can also play inside centre, and give Jean de Villiers a break. Jean has played with a couple of injuries recently so he needs a rest. Jaco could also play at fullback [replacing Zane Kirchner], but again, I don’t want to make too many changes.’
Meyer is also expected to persist with Lambie at flyhalf after praising his performance at Lansdowne Road in difficult conditions. With the coaching staff in search of quality back-up to the injured Johan Goosen, who’ll reclaim his starting position if he stays fit for the 2013 Test season, Lambie has the inside lane to be that man.
‘I’ll probably stick by Pat,’ Meyer said. ‘It was a difficult start for him because we just didn’t have the ball [in the first half]. The second half was a bit of a catch-up. He did some nice things in possession. He has high standards and so do we, so we’re looking for an improvement. But he showed some good touches and I want to give him some confidence going forward.’
Meyer said there were likely to be changes on the bench, which could see Elton Jantjies replacing Morne Steyn as pivot cover. Elsewhere Gurthro Steenkamp has recovered from a rib injury that kept him out of the weekend’s Test, and will come into the frame to replace Beast Mtawarira, who has been sent home after suffering a recurrence of a heart condition he was treated for earlier this year.
Team doctor Craig Roberts, however, sought to allay fears about Mtawarira’s health and playing future. ‘He has been treated for an irregular heartbeat in hospital in Dublin. This isn’t life threatening or career threatening in any way and he is quite capable of playing with it,’ Roberts said.
‘Heyneke and I had a meeting with him today and made the decision to send him to Cape Town to have a minor procedure done later this week where they try to isolate and eradicate the cells that are causing the irregular rhythm. He had it done earlier this year, but clearly they didn’t get all the cells.
‘Anything can set it off, we don’t actually know precisely what does. I’ve also had quite a few players who’ve had it. Beast has gone into this rhythm a couple of times in the past and we’ve just managed it. I need to make it clear that he could have played this weekend at no risk.’
Meyer added: ‘If it happens again this week we’re back to square one. It worries me and it is at the back of his mind. You want guys out there that are totally focussed. He is also on medication that sometimes slows you down. It is also important for him to be with his family. It was a difficult decision, but the right one we believe.’
Jannie du Plessis picked up an ankle injury in Dublin, but Meyer and Roberts indicated that he was likely to recover. ‘He is looking good. We’ll assess him at training and we are hopeful he will be ready for the weekend.’

700 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 14 » Show All
12 Nov 2012, 17:02 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-96:
@katman-98:
@WP-Forever-92: It’s a sign of the times
@wnbb-61: Just remember
: even those who have been appointed as school library or toilet monitors have “authority”. The oke who makes sure there are enough toilet rolls to go round during break time, is also an expert…
Allow him his delusions of grandeur.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-96: Of course they do Bakkies
You’ve just signed Spies for another 3 years……
12 Nov 2012, 17:03 pm
@nama1-95: admittedly,the year that the bulls won the super title,hougaardt had a great few games on the wing.I’ve got no problem with that ,but the fact of the matter is that he hasn’t replicated that form ever since that golden period in his career.That doesn’t stop people ,it seems ,living this fantasy that he is God’s gift to wing play.
12 Nov 2012, 17:05 pm
@nama1-102: No, I’m serious. You irritate me.
12 Nov 2012, 17:05 pm
@nama1-101:
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-103:
12 Nov 2012, 17:06 pm
@katman-98: sounds very girlie-agtig.
12 Nov 2012, 17:07 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-103:
we’ll see you at the WC sweetheart
12 Nov 2012, 17:09 pm
@nama1-102:
Seems like Katman is batting for both sides,Be careful,bud.
12 Nov 2012, 17:11 pm
@wnbb-104:
Yes, Hougaard played well on the wing that year (2009) but was then selected at SH for the Boks on the EOYT because FdP said that he should be the one following in his (FdP) footsteps.
Now we have Taute playing at wing for his franchise because his coaches reckon they have found a better FB but still people want him to play FB for the Boks because he “has been mentioned consistently as a potential Bok 15″ when he started playing 1st class rugby.
That’s just stupid imo.
12 Nov 2012, 17:16 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-108: You and Spies?
12 Nov 2012, 17:16 pm
@nama1-110: I foresee a problem developing with Heyneke wanting players to play in certain positions for the Boks while super coaches don’t follow suit.Who will be blamed if that situations mess up players psychologically or even end their careers?
12 Nov 2012, 17:17 pm
@katman-105:
Can’t help it if you can’t defend yourself.
This is not a braai at your house where you and you friends can back slap it each other after every silly joke or rugby comment you make.
Oh yes…I’m sure you know how to scroll on by.
@wnbb-109:
Back against the wall then.
12 Nov 2012, 17:17 pm
Pienaar is a problem at 9.
He may have scored a try yesterday but our backline looks void of ideas when he plays.
The Argies battered the grand slam champs whilst we scraped past a depleted Irish side.
Would prefer a scrummie who concentrates on recycling the ball quicker. Let the flyhalf be the game controller. Then we’ll start running at an unset defensive line and our players will have more space.
Scrumhalf is our biggest problem at the moment.
12 Nov 2012, 17:19 pm
I have more respect for AC ,especially in terms of player management ,so I will definitely back him in such a standoff.
12 Nov 2012, 17:20 pm
@nama1-113:
12 Nov 2012, 17:21 pm
@capebull-37: Watched the match again this PM.Retract original comment re EE.Had a very good game.
Yes DV did a lot of slowing down oppo ball.Still a bit ponderous
for me.Would be nice to see some linking play,running & offloads from him.
A la Lobberts,Read
12 Nov 2012, 17:24 pm
And in other news
WP Rugby and Club Newlands will be giving Club Newlands members an opportunity to come and have their photograph taken with the Currie Cup trophy. The trophy will be housed in a perspex case and perched on a specially-created DHL plinth.
The photo opportunity will take place on Tuesday,13th November 2012 at the Club Newlands Lounge between 5pm to 7pm.
Should I sign you up Bakkies?
12 Nov 2012, 17:24 pm
@wnbb-112:
Exactly.
You can be sure that HM will blame provincial coaches for not selecting the players where he wants to use them.
@Daddy-114:
Game plan is an even bigger problem imo.
Yes, Pienaar is slow at the base but the way he kicked balls back into the rucks while waving players around to set up the next play, indicated to me that he was playing under instructions
12 Nov 2012, 17:28 pm
@nama1-55: Agree on MCoetzee.Made a difference in last 15 mins.
12 Nov 2012, 17:29 pm
@nama1-119:
@Daddy
Not necessarily talking about this Saturday.
12 Nov 2012, 17:29 pm
@katman-60: Nothing wrong with Zane
12 Nov 2012, 17:33 pm
@ryecatcher-120:
Start with Coetzee and bring Alberts on with 25 min to go.
I believe our trio will be much more balanced for the bulk of the game and it will give Alberts the chance to run against tired legs while he is still fresh.
Ala his 1st three games as a Bok on the EOYT in 2010.
12 Nov 2012, 17:36 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-118:
You guys are so lucky.
Why don’t WP travel around the country and visit all their fans with the Cup like PdV did with all the silverware the Boks won in 2009? They have a lot of fans on the platteland throughout SA.
12 Nov 2012, 17:37 pm
@nama1-95: the word is repeated over & over like a mantra on keo.Correct.It loses meaning
12 Nov 2012, 17:38 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-118: Just like the Mona Lisa in the Paris museum??Yeah,we have to take care of our world treasures.
. Well done WP.
12 Nov 2012, 17:41 pm
@ryecatcher-122:
You will not be able to convince him of that.
He is keeping Taute out of the team.
12 Nov 2012, 17:45 pm
@wnbb-126: The Holy Grail
12 Nov 2012, 17:46 pm
Heyneke changed his tune on Lambie as a 15 and I expect the same with Taute sooner rather than later.He is doing more flip flops than Mitch Romney did during his presidential campaign.
12 Nov 2012, 17:48 pm
@wnbb-129: Your implication in a previous post th at JDJ will be picked because of political pressure.
Say it is,nt so
12 Nov 2012, 17:49 pm
@ryecatcher-128:
That would be the S15 trophy.
Next year it will join the CC in that a perspex case…
12 Nov 2012, 17:50 pm
Juan Bu Jong is gonna to run circles round those Scots.
12 Nov 2012, 17:51 pm
Read this the other day. “Mitt Romney says President Obama’s promises are like Kim Kardashian’s wedding vows. President Obama shot back. He said Romney’s positions last about half as long as a Kim Kardashian wedding.” –Jay Leno
12 Nov 2012, 17:56 pm
@nama1-124: Brilliant idea….the only logistical nightmare would be finding a hauler large enough to transport all the silverware
Vodacom Cup
Conference Cup (hehehehehe)
U/19 Absa Cup
Currie Cup
@wnbb-126: Indeed
@ryecatcher-128: Next year…..Rome’s treasure was not looted in a day
12 Nov 2012, 17:57 pm
@blue and white stripes-132:
Only to be dropped again for the game against England.
12 Nov 2012, 18:01 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-134: And recruiting educately trained security staff to ward off those Gauteng hijackers.
12 Nov 2012, 18:02 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-134: Cape Huns and Barbarbarians
12 Nov 2012, 18:02 pm
@blue and white stripes-132: Hi Pal.
12 Nov 2012, 18:03 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-134:
12 Nov 2012, 18:04 pm
@ryecatcher-137: Rapacious pillagers.
12 Nov 2012, 18:13 pm
Being a WP/Stormers fan during Heyneken’s reign as Bok coach makes life extremely bearable.Shame for those good Bulls fans who will have to support Pierre Spies for a further three years on top of it.
12 Nov 2012, 18:13 pm
anyway…lets just hope that the jocks haven’t watched any dejong footage. They’d quickly realize that they don’t have to defend any width nor bother even lookng for an intercept (sic).
just look out for the step inside every frikken time.
oh, and if he does happen to score a try, definately watch out for that robomanhelicopterspin celebration thing. Wouldn’t want any jocks getting a boot in the face.
12 Nov 2012, 18:14 pm
@nama1-135:
Not dropped, rested.
@ryecatcher-138:
Howzit young man. Hope you well.
Tough game on Saturday. Really worried about Bok rugby. Though HM was the perfect choice as coach and knew their would be teething issues early in his tenure but players look like they not enjoying it out on the park and that is a major concern.
12 Nov 2012, 18:14 pm
@wnbb-141:
and if the Bulls win next season?
then what?
12 Nov 2012, 18:16 pm
@ryecatcher-140: Vandals and Parthians?
12 Nov 2012, 18:19 pm
Paintings worth R17,5 million were stolen from the Pretoria Art Museum by robbers.Apparently they first tried the Loftus rugby museum but found nothing of value there.
12 Nov 2012, 18:21 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-144:
We be on the lookout for flying pigs!
12 Nov 2012, 18:21 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-145: concede
12 Nov 2012, 18:23 pm
@ryecatcher-148:
rye which anthem do you like most “Flower of Scotland” or “Land of My Fathers”
12 Nov 2012, 18:24 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-144: I don’t think you are really confident in that assessment.You might win it if we withdraw all our Boks for the duration of the CC as well as our under 21 team from all official rugby.Super rugby is out of your reach mate,and I say it with all due respect to the BBRU.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 14 » Show All