De Jongh set for Murrayfield start
13 Nov 2012
RYAN VREDE, in Edinburgh, reports Juan de Jongh is likely to run on against Scotland, while Pat Lambie is expected to be retained at flyhalf.
De Jongh impressed for the Stormers in Super Rugby and recently enjoyed an excellent Currie Cup, scoring in the final. Coach Heyneke Meyer has been reluctant to use him. He is concerned primarily about the player’s size, worrying that this would compromise him in contact situations at Test level.
However, Meyer strongly suggested he sees Scotland as an opportunity to give the 24-year-old game time.
‘We’re a relatively young team and haven’t played together much, we want to keep some continuity. We respect Scotland and won’t just give Test caps away. There won’t be a lot of changes but the one that will probably happen is to see Juan come in. He has been knocking hard on the door and deserves a chance,’ Meyer said.
‘It isn’t definite, I want to speak to some of the [senior] players as well, but he probably will start. We’ll have a rotation policy in that position. Jaco Taute probably had his best Test against Ireland [at outside centre], and we’ll have to see whether we pair Juan and Jaco, who can also play inside centre, and give Jean de Villiers a break. Jean has played with a couple of injuries recently so he needs a rest. Jaco could also play at fullback [replacing Zane Kirchner], but again, I don’t want to make too many changes.’
Meyer is also expected to persist with Lambie at flyhalf after praising his performance at Lansdowne Road in difficult conditions. With the coaching staff in search of quality back-up to the injured Johan Goosen, who’ll reclaim his starting position if he stays fit for the 2013 Test season, Lambie has the inside lane to be that man.
‘I’ll probably stick by Pat,’ Meyer said. ‘It was a difficult start for him because we just didn’t have the ball [in the first half]. The second half was a bit of a catch-up. He did some nice things in possession. He has high standards and so do we, so we’re looking for an improvement. But he showed some good touches and I want to give him some confidence going forward.’
Meyer said there were likely to be changes on the bench, which could see Elton Jantjies replacing Morne Steyn as pivot cover. Elsewhere Gurthro Steenkamp has recovered from a rib injury that kept him out of the weekend’s Test, and will come into the frame to replace Beast Mtawarira, who has been sent home after suffering a recurrence of a heart condition he was treated for earlier this year.
Team doctor Craig Roberts, however, sought to allay fears about Mtawarira’s health and playing future. ‘He has been treated for an irregular heartbeat in hospital in Dublin. This isn’t life threatening or career threatening in any way and he is quite capable of playing with it,’ Roberts said.
‘Heyneke and I had a meeting with him today and made the decision to send him to Cape Town to have a minor procedure done later this week where they try to isolate and eradicate the cells that are causing the irregular rhythm. He had it done earlier this year, but clearly they didn’t get all the cells.
‘Anything can set it off, we don’t actually know precisely what does. I’ve also had quite a few players who’ve had it. Beast has gone into this rhythm a couple of times in the past and we’ve just managed it. I need to make it clear that he could have played this weekend at no risk.’
Meyer added: ‘If it happens again this week we’re back to square one. It worries me and it is at the back of his mind. You want guys out there that are totally focussed. He is also on medication that sometimes slows you down. It is also important for him to be with his family. It was a difficult decision, but the right one we believe.’
Jannie du Plessis picked up an ankle injury in Dublin, but Meyer and Roberts indicated that he was likely to recover. ‘He is looking good. We’ll assess him at training and we are hopeful he will be ready for the weekend.’

700 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 … 14 » Show All
13 Nov 2012, 09:56 am
To 293 I agree totally Would love to hear how come all this racist stuff is allowed
Come mr editor just delete the hate stuff ? Do u think post 252 for example ,is credit to your Rugby site.
13 Nov 2012, 09:59 am
@Transformation-299: you anti-racist semitist you.
13 Nov 2012, 10:00 am
Would we be having this argument of Fransie was fit?
13 Nov 2012, 10:00 am
@Transformation-299: Then you didn’t understand my post at all.
13 Nov 2012, 10:10 am
@johnrugby-301:
there are any number of other well run, decent and expertly moderated rugbt sites on the world wide web, Rugbyjohnny.
why dont you use your freedom to choose and shop around?
i could suggest a few? seriously sincere when i say this.
13 Nov 2012, 10:22 am
@katman-304: i understood your post quite clearly…it doesn’t matter how many misguided people cry wolf, either through ignorance of in attempts to deflect from their inadiquacies being exposed, being a racist will always carry its ignoble baggage.
no attempts to downplay it or minimise it will succeed!
13 Nov 2012, 10:26 am
Its a shame, JDJ is a fantastic player, but he wont be able to stop Manu Tuilagi. He’ll then be labled as a “quota” and people will forget a week earlier they had been crying out for his selection on merit. Sad but true….
13 Nov 2012, 10:32 am
@HongKongSlong-307: And yet he has stopped so many Kiwi and Aussie superrugby players playing for the best defensive superrugby team over the last 2 seasons?
13 Nov 2012, 10:34 am
Transformation is such an opinionated chop! What a w**ker!
13 Nov 2012, 10:38 am
When the race card is played virtually every 5 seconds by all colours of the spectrum, believe me, the word “racist” is completely devalued of all meaning. Calling Zuma’s swanky new pad at Nkandlagate a “compound” apparently now also gets you branded as a “racist”. Puhlease.
Transformation, in your haste to venture your know-it-all opinionated view on the matter, you completely missed the point made by Katman.
13 Nov 2012, 10:42 am
@Liewe Luiperd-309:
13 Nov 2012, 10:43 am
@grant10-308: Sounds stupid, but I actually think a fully fit Stormers team would compete better then the Boks under HM. They are clueless at the moment, devoid of leaders on and off the pitch. JDJ in a decent team would shine and be world class, in this Bok setup flair and gameturning ability isn’t a valued commodity, size and the boot trumps all….
13 Nov 2012, 10:48 am
@HongKongSlong-312:
You’re right.
That does sound stupid.
13 Nov 2012, 10:49 am
@Liewe Luiperd-310: and in your haste to venture you harebrained-opinion about my opinion you assumed i wasn’t aware of what is going in current affairs. there’s no “race card” that will get worn off, racist behaviour, utterances, will always remain that, racist!
13 Nov 2012, 10:49 am
@Transformation-306: That’s the point you seem to be deliberately missing. It should still mean something. It should still be abhorrent. But when every second disgruntled bloke uses it to attack an opinion that is guilty of nothing other than differing from his own, then it most certainly is devalued.
You’re a clever guy. I don’t see why you’re trying so hard not to agree with this.
13 Nov 2012, 10:53 am
To be fair I don’t think Meyer is being racist in his selections .
Meyer may be the worst player manager the Boks have ever had ,though. Letting Lambie leapfrog Jantjies is unacceptable & playing Taute and Hougaard out of position ahead of inform “already” Springbok players of color is downright stupid, because of the way it would have been construed.
Which is why I will always maintain PDV was a good coach ;his selections were always fair and his player man management was top notch.
13 Nov 2012, 10:53 am
@Transformation-306: ag bs man.
if “you are a RACIST!” is thrown around in every disagreement its effect is devalued, minimised, degraded etc etc.
spin it how you want but its a fact.
p.s. everyone has prejuidice, its a result of our upbringing. its simply the degree that varies.
13 Nov 2012, 10:54 am
any chance that rugby will be discussed today?
13 Nov 2012, 10:54 am
@HongKongSlong-312: dont talk nonsense man thats laughable.
your front row would be k uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuk for starters.
13 Nov 2012, 10:56 am
@katman-315: this has nothing to do with being “clever”
the idea that society or some sections of society will grow “fatigued” and thus less concerned is nothing but a convinient ploy by closet bigots who are wishing for the day they can again freely express themselves like Hondo and not be called on it, because the “card” is worn out.
not gonna happen.
13 Nov 2012, 10:57 am
@wpallday-316: i actually concur , in relation to PdV being a good coach.
70% of an International coach’s job relates to selection and what those selections communicate to his group. even when he selected John Smit etc, we knew why he was doing it (even though we disagreed) and they were for rugby reasons and he was consistent.
HM’s selections do not permeate positivty to the general public nor to his players because of his inconsistency. we’ve also unfortunately seen the slump in form of soo many good players on his watch
13 Nov 2012, 10:57 am
@wpallday-316: lambie leapfrogged jantjies?
in what world was this?
lambie played 10 for the boks in 2011 already and has 18 caps buddy, how on earth did he leapfrog an oke with 1 cap?
funny how the game against the baabaas where jantjies started at 10 and was shifted after a miserable display FOR LAMBIE (who looked an immediate improvement) is conveniently forgotten.
so much of racial angst since that tunc matashe shot his fat piggish mouth off.
13 Nov 2012, 10:58 am
@The Rangerman-317: “spin it how you want but its a fact.”
a FACT? hahahahaha
sucked out of the arse, more like it.
how was Moz?
13 Nov 2012, 10:59 am
@Transformation-320: its already happened buddy.
you think anyone gives a toss if mantashe and nzimande (another tunc) label whites “racist” for objecting to paying for that excuse for a presidents palace in nkandla being funded by the taxpayer?
13 Nov 2012, 10:59 am
@The Rangerman-317: Good on you Ranger.Unlike clowns like Katman,Gunther etc etc you at least admit to the fact that you’ve got racist tendencies.Well done,mate.
13 Nov 2012, 11:01 am
@katman-304:
Ya maybe you’re right. Perhaps HM is a fantastic person with no prejudicial or racial agendas…impartial even?
But there’s something brewing in the underbelly of his discretions…
So why don’t you give us your honest opinion of what it could be? A reason why you’re so quick to massage his back? A little summary of HMs genotypic behaviour which you seem to be acquainted with so intimately?
It might make sense.
If not, well then…
13 Nov 2012, 11:02 am
@Transformation-320: That’s the most convoluted, fcked up logic I have ever seen you post, and you’ve posted some pearlers.
Go back and read what I wrote across three posts. Then try to figure out what exactly it is you’re making such a mess of disagreeing with. And don’t get back to me before you’ve got it all straight in your head.
13 Nov 2012, 11:02 am
@HongKongSlong-312:
thats ridiculous! if it wasnt for JdV’s leadership on the field to keep going for that try in the 2nd half we wouldnt have gone anywhere.
i do agree though that John Smit wouldnt have been a yes man captain and doubt HM would’ve kept him onboard had he taken over in ’08.
Lets not move into hysteria now people!
13 Nov 2012, 11:04 am
@Transformation-323: “sucked out of the arse”
i see snoekies legacy lives on haha.
man moz was cool thanks.
the swell was up though and our top man dropped us so we recruited a local guy to be skipper whilst we dived.
the first morning the swell was 4.5m lebanese walls of water so we decided to just fish instead of leaving daniel (whose eyes were quite large by that stage) alone on the boat
second day was better with fish coming through.
i am actually coming to your neck of the woods this weekend transie. gonna explore the beauty of the EC, cant wait.
13 Nov 2012, 11:04 am
@papaown-321: Hey hey calm down
this isn’t an attack on Lambie ,the player who I want at 10. Its pointing out the fact that Meyer moved a player he publicly announced was a fullback to being the incumbent fly-half ,ahead of another player who was waiting ,deservedly ,in the wings.
13 Nov 2012, 11:05 am
@wpallday-316: “Which is why I will always maintain PDV was a good coach ;his selections were always fair and his player man management was top notch.”
fair? playing an off-form habana over hougaard? insisting on playing at loosehead, tighthead, hooker before beast, jannie, bj and bissy? allowing a kak pierre spies extended time @ 8? starting an over-the-hill montgomery instead of conrad in ’08 just for percy to get his 100th cap @ Newlands? his continued of the PorkChop when Ricky wasn’t even starting at WP or managing his weight.
13 Nov 2012, 11:05 am
@papaown-321: exactly ,and he must be doing some serious harm to the confidence of these players.
13 Nov 2012, 11:06 am
Ruan Pienaar is a very good scrummie.
There may be people who have criticised him in the past and can’t bear to appraise his performance objectively, but he is playing well for us.
I think it’s worth mentioning to some of the ‘Kenners’ on here that it’s no use criticising Ruan Pienaar if you want faster ball but not mentioning performance at the breakdown and Gameplan.
It’s also no use advocating Francois ‘Human Centipede’ Hougaard whose service has looked identical at similar points in the game and has at times looked slower. (Although I am a big fan of Hougaard myself, just comparing service honestly)
Finally, it’s definitely no use trumnpeting ‘faster ball’ rather than balanced, intelligent variety. There are times when teams want to control the tempo of a game and slow it down.
There are other times when by the time the ball is available, the opposition defence has already pretty much reset, and it makes no difference waiting one second or three. Much better in that situation to be sure your attack is ready and co-ordinated and the option taking is good.
I gues a bit similar to the Kick Chase tactic, if you have no balance and no variety, you become predictable and suffer from diminishing returns in effectiveness. In other words used all the time, something becomes less effective.
13 Nov 2012, 11:06 am
@wnbb-325:
Shut it maggot.
You are the knobber who dropped the k bomb on transie.
Two faced **********.
13 Nov 2012, 11:07 am
@wnbb-325: we all do sadly mate, you too.
btw, i noticed you talking about the state of affairs in “this country” the other night.
i was confused, did you mean ireland or south africa?
@gunther-313:
@wpallday-316: PdV possess great man management skills.Heyneken not only got this laager mentally that believes that rugby is the sole domain of the rockspidet race in this country.He will never leave the laager ,mate .I actually believe that he is securely trapped under a few ox-wagon wheels. Our rugby will not develop with him at the helm.
13 Nov 2012, 11:09 am
@wpallday-330:
i think that was meant for me.
bygones man.
elton and lambie are both fantastic players and i am proud they are both bokke!
13 Nov 2012, 11:09 am
@katman-327: “That’s the most convoluted, fcked up logic I have ever seen you post, and you’ve posted some pearlers”
not as convoluted as this “race card will get worn out” tripe though
13 Nov 2012, 11:10 am
@Transformation-331: Okay most of what you are complaining about is justifiable . John Smit was a more integral part of that team than most people would have realized.
13 Nov 2012, 11:10 am
We need to believe that,eventually,Meyer’s reign will be short.As Gunther would say: ‘things will eventually came right’.
13 Nov 2012, 11:11 am
@wnbb-337: there is a rockspider race in ireland?
another sniper who left the beloved country and is ashamed.
why didnt you stay and try make a difference instead?
13 Nov 2012, 11:12 am
@The Rangerman-324: one lousy exampl of including the usual suspects and hey “we are tired”
pfftt
13 Nov 2012, 11:13 am
@The Rangerman-338: haha
@The Rangerman-342:
The paddies made an error there.
They’ll let anyone in.
in the meantime, i must say that i think meyers strategies have either been poorly communicated, poorly implemented, badly conceived and lacking in proper evaluation.
possibly a combination of all of the above.
13 Nov 2012, 11:14 am
@wnbb-337: Tend to agree ,unfortunately.
13 Nov 2012, 11:16 am
@Transformation-343: its only lousy if you dont like it.
dont call me racist ok?
@gunther-345: thats what happens when your economy is a toiletbowl.
maybe capo is going to assist them with diversity management?
13 Nov 2012, 11:17 am
@gunther-345:
and waddaya know… the irish economy imploded…
13 Nov 2012, 11:18 am
@The Rangerman-322: as written by Keo “The argument that Jantjies was the player in possession of the No 10 jersey can’t be dismissed without examination. Jantjies played the last 50 minutes against the All Blacks and now can’t make the match 23?”
So whose world are you living in?
the one with the rest of us or your own?
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 … 14 » Show All