Pocock to miss top clash
13 Nov 2012
Wallabies flank David Pocock has been ruled out of the Test against England on Saturday.
Pocock was expected to return to the playing field this weekend, but scans to his calf muscle have confirmed that he will miss the game.
Lock Kane Douglas has also been sidelined with a knee injury. He will miss the Wallabies’ Test at Twickenham.
Mike Harris has a minor leg injury and sat out of Monday’s training session in London. Berrick Barnes trained in Harris’s place, and could start at fullback and assume the goal-kicking duties.

34 Comments
13 Nov 2012, 07:40 am
if Aussies lose again I wonder if Deans will survive…
13 Nov 2012, 07:52 am
Tough tour for the ozzies
13 Nov 2012, 08:08 am
s.crew the ozzies.
i enjoy seeing them lose.
scumbags.
13 Nov 2012, 08:22 am
Anybody know the cricket score?
13 Nov 2012, 08:40 am
@BrumbiesBoy-4:
SA ahead by 50, with 5 wickets in hand.
13 Nov 2012, 08:58 am
@cane-5: Thanks mate! I hear SA’s “strike bowlers performed exceptionally well yesterday…
13 Nov 2012, 11:33 am
@grant10-1: If England and Argentina win this weekend, Australia move down to fifth in the rankings. This is the team that made a big statement about wanting to be first by YE2012. But I can’t see Deans getting the boot, meaning the new coach would get 1-2 weeks before the Lions kick off.
If they lose the Lions series, Deans is gone. If they win 2-1, he’ll probably still be gone. He could coach the Lions/Kings in 2014
13 Nov 2012, 11:40 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-3: Thanks for that S*****t for brains, Why don’t you mention to the thousands and thousands of Saffas that now call Aus home,
Anyway I don’t like the wallabies at the moment, Back line is just not creative and skill full enough, We need Cooper and JOC and then we may have a chance
13 Nov 2012, 11:51 am
@SAussie-8:
this goes back to the quarter final game and the way in which you took brussow out by hitting him in the ribs, from behind, and all while the player was in a prone position, right in front of the ref might i add.
as well the rest of your behaviour during that game, topped of by the smarmy arsed things you said after.
i have no respect for your rugby and i enjoy seeing you lose.
lastly, the kiwi style defensive blocking which you have adopted as your own of late is irritating for its blatant obviousness.
13 Nov 2012, 12:48 pm
Who must Australia still play? I they might lose again this weekend. Deans might be gone before they touch down in Aus.
13 Nov 2012, 12:49 pm
Why bring Pocock with in the first place?
13 Nov 2012, 14:14 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-9: I’m afraid it happens, There seems to be more attitude in the Wallaby team than skill, Mind you your hero Bakkis wasn’t above some dirty play either, Bit like calling the kettle you know what,
13 Nov 2012, 15:08 pm
@SAussie-12:
actually, i disagree regarding bakkies. he was never a cheap shot artist as he would always seek to hit you hard but legal front on and only ever was really dirty if you in the first instance did something below board with him.
13 Nov 2012, 17:07 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-13:
Look, Bakkies has an unfair rep, I can agree with that.
But I remember him taking some cheapish shots as well – a hit on Aplon’s head in one semi-final a couple of years back comes to mind.
It is a thin line between playing hard being to be physically intimidating and going over the line, but I think Bakkies didn’t cross the line more than any other international forward and shouldn’t be singled out as a dirty player.
13 Nov 2012, 17:10 pm
@wpjoulekkading-14: But he wasn’t an angel either.
13 Nov 2012, 17:11 pm
@wpjoulekkading-14:
i can agree to this, in principle.
for the most part he was framed by the kiwi and uk press as a ‘thug’.
13 Nov 2012, 18:57 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-9: Hey Bakkies, be honest now, how did you feel after that 18-18 draw which halted the AB’s charge on the world record?
13 Nov 2012, 21:44 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-17:
well ok, that was one time i did like them
14 Nov 2012, 00:56 am
Oi – mr I love you bakkies Botha – seriously bud you are an absolute plonker, Bakkies was a thug, always hits the player on the ground and picked on the little guys. Don’t get me wrong I liked him and he was a formidable player but he was cheap! Besides that perhaps you should consider taking some time out on this site because your just annoying and the trash you write is embarrassing
14 Nov 2012, 02:47 am
@wpjoulekkading-14:
As a province supporter I had not problems with Bakkies cleanout of Aplon. Think there was alot of whinging by some because he is so small. Faak, if you gonna lie in the ruck prepare to get cleaned out
14 Nov 2012, 02:48 am
@jonsyf-19:
Oh please, build a bridge………..
14 Nov 2012, 02:57 am
@SAussie-8:
SAus, they look poor man. I really thought Deans is the real deal but he seems just not to have it at this level. Look I understand injuries played a big part this year but he has never managed to lift the Wallabies at all in his 5(feck, is it 5 years already?) years as head coach. Maybe time to cut the strings…?
14 Nov 2012, 03:07 am
@Slartibartfast-22: Don’t be too harsh on him, despite all that **** there are only 2 teams against whom Australia have a negative win-lose ratio during his tenure.
New Zealand and Scotland.
His record against, say, South Africa (9-5) or France (5-1) is simply brilliant.
14 Nov 2012, 03:10 am
@Slartibartfast-22: More oom
14 Nov 2012, 03:18 am
@Nils-23:
Yeah I know, overall 57% though and the team just looks uncoached at times.
14 Nov 2012, 03:20 am
@trupisero-24:
Howzit Trup, jy al weer in die bed gepis?
14 Nov 2012, 03:21 am
@Slartibartfast-26: Siek soos ‘n hond. Praat met die groot wit telefoon
14 Nov 2012, 03:25 am
@trupisero-27:
Hehehe calling Huey!
Is jy nog Noord?
14 Nov 2012, 03:28 am
@Slartibartfast-25: True, the team looks into the deep mess now, as you said, injuries, plus some troublemaking pr*ck etc. etc. And on top of all that Aussie public still dislikes him for his non-Australian nationality. I guess that’s the main problem – at no point he enjoys too big support.
I don’t know about 57 percent, I just checked rugbydata stats – 40 wins, 27 losses, 2 draws and HALF of those losses came from one team which just fuels the dislike.
14 Nov 2012, 03:31 am
@Slartibartfast-25: Actually I was wrong – there are 3 teams, not 2, as I meantioned earlier. Samoa, too. That really does not look too good for Deans and his troops.
14 Nov 2012, 03:35 am
@Slartibartfast-25: Sheesh, sorry, it’s late night here and my maths suck now. Indeed 57.
Got to hit the sack at last, cheers.
14 Nov 2012, 03:39 am
@Nils-29:
What alternative do they have, Link? Not sure he is the answer yet but may well be in a couple of years.
40/69 = 57.97% My stats obviously excluded last weekend as I had it 39/27/2 = 57.35%
14 Nov 2012, 03:40 am
@Nils-31:
Cheers lekker slaap!
14 Nov 2012, 10:12 am
@whatever-20:
I think you must have had a couple too many that day.
He aimed for Aplon’s head with his shoulder, from a blind angle. Besides that the clean-out was not really being meant to release the ball, since Bakkies was flying of his feet anyway and the province scrum-half was buys clearing the ball. Unacceptable.