De Jongh, Steenkamp to front Scots

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has picked Juan de Jongh at centre and Gurthrö Steenkamp at prop for Saturday’s Test against Scotland.

De Jongh replaces Jaco Taute at outside centre, while Steenkamp comes into the front row for Beast Mtawarira. The latter player will take no further part on this tour due to a heart condition.

Steenkamp is preferred to start at loosehead ahead of CJ van der Linde and Heinke van der Merwe, who will both sit on the bench. There is no room in the matchday squad for Pat Cilliers.

‘It’s great to have Gurthrö back. We wanted to select him last week, but unfortunately he was not 100% fit,’ said Meyer. ‘Gurthrö is experienced, knows the conditions well and is looking forward to returning to the green and gold as he’s not played for South Africa for more than a year.

‘Juan is in a similar position. Even though he’s played in a number of Tests for us this year, he’s not started for the Boks since last year’s away leg of the Tri-Nations against New Zealand in Wellington.

‘My plan has always been to give him a start on this tour, as he’s been playing very well lately, and I’m excited to see what he brings to the team on Saturday.’

Meyer added that defensive synergy was at the heart of him keeping changes to a minimum. ‘There were some tough calls. I wanted to give some of the youngsters more Tests, but on the other hand we haven’t had a lot of continuity in selection this year and we respect Scotland.

‘Also when I’ve changed the backline in the past our defence has suffered and you saw against the All Blacks that Scotland can really ask questions of your defence.’

As expected, Meyer has persisted with Pat Lambie at flyhalf. However, it is surprising to see that Morné Steyn has been preferred as the back-up flyhalf ahead of Elton Jantjies.

Meyer warned of Scotland’s intent to spoil their breakdown ball and stressed that they would have to counter that tactic. ‘They’ve got a never say die attitude and are hard to the ball. If you don’t get a quick recycle they press you hard and close down your space quickly,’ he said.

‘The breakdown in Super Rugby is refereed differently. Here it is a battle, so if you don’t win the tackle and get the numbers over the ball they can make it very hard for you.

‘On attack they’re quality side and when they had the ball for extended periods against the All Blacks they were superb. There was a 10-minute period that was the difference. We expect a physical and tough game but winning is non-negotiable.’

Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Gurthro Steenkamp.
16 Schalk Brits, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 CJ van der Linde, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Morne Steyn, 22 Jaco Taute, 23 Lwazi Mvovo

437 Comments

• 1.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Sideshow bob dragons!

• 2.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Ai, again poor performances by bulls not a factor. But Kirchner would be a better bet than Taute if the weather is poor. But as an attacker Kirchner is a permanant hand brake!

• 3.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Thought Jean was getting a rest …….

• 4.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-1: I am not worried about sideshow bob that I can tolerate but Morne “ek is kak” Steyn. Haibo this man is waste! Jantjies should of atleast gotten a bench role in place of Morne. Heyneke is a whack coach.

• 5.Finfan: Reply to this comment

I don’t care what people say but Steyn’s performance on the bench last week was not bad at all and he deserves another chance.

• 6.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Getting better but still not happy with Kirchener at 15 and Houghaard at 11. Would have been a good opportunity to see what Taute can do at 15 and if he´s worthy of being in the Bok squad. Would have given Mvovo the 11 jersey. Houghaard not up to the task.
    On the bench would have kicked Cj´s *** and given it to Pat (who i´m also not very impressed with) and WTF is Morne Steyn still doing there?

• 7.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-5: hear hear lol

• 8.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Hougaard was poor against Ireland, Mvovo also needed gametime. Swak Heyneke Meyer.

• 9.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-4: I just wish Bozo would not call for the ball on attack, he slows down our attack as if he’s in reverse! But he is solid on field position.

JDJ will hopefully vindicate his position. Hope he does some Gundam Style in the in-zone!

• 10.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-5: :lol:

• 11.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-9: Yes agreed Kircnher needs to give the ball to the wings to counter attack.

• 12.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-8: Hougard needs to stop trying so hard,
    he is exalctly where Habana was last year, things just not clicking for him.
    His angles are a little to tight or too loose, his steps just not good enough or his efforts little bit too weak. He just needs to get his joy for the game back, he’s on wing, he has a license to rock and roll, not the boring SH play HM wants to force on him.

• 13.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-9: yes I hope he has a very good game and scores a few tries.

• 14.grant10: Reply to this comment

2 positive changes.

I would of made another 3 though.

M Steyn to row B ….Jantjes on bench.

And Mvovo to left wing…..
    Marcelle to 7…Alberts to bench…

But good changes , HM slowly getting it worked out.

• 15.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-11: JPP is the master of the counter attack, against England and in the SR he was amazing at this. Speed, power and illusiveness.

If Habana was fit than I would have tried JPP at FB.

• 16.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@grant10-14: Agree Morne Steyn to Row B of a Boeing 747.

• 17.Braders: Reply to this comment

Hi really hope Brits gets some game time! We need a bit of X-Factor!!!!!
    Along with De Jong and JP, we might score some tries this weekend!!!

• 18.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-16: Yes….pity Jantjes not getting game time….would have liked to see him get 20 minutes at least against Scotland.

• 19.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

Would have selected Taute at 15, he’s not great but it’s his natural position and he couldn’t possibly offer less than Kirtchner. Also have Hougaard at 9 to move the Scots around and inject some energy into the Boks. Pienaar slows everything right down and the Scots will relish that. Expecting a nerve wracking game with the Boks winning by a couple of points.

• 20.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Poor Elton Jantjies

• 21.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@grant10-18: Yes it would of been ideal. We learn nothing new by having Morne there. Also could of given Rhule a bench spot.

• 22.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Wow 4 people of coloured in the starting line-up.

HM is not a racist after all.

• 23.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

Awesome to see Guthrtho back too. Easily our best loosehead prop.

• 24.Finfan: Reply to this comment

With this team selection, HM is making a statement (“up yours”) to Gwede Mantashe and the other ANC politicians. I am sure that he believes that if he selected Jantjies, Mvovo and Ralepelle, he would’ve condoned political interference in team selection and that would’ve allowed them to bleat on the sidelines after every team announcement.

His selection of Juan de Jongh is only to pacify the rugby public, but it must’ve been a very bitter pill for him to swallow.

• 25.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-22: Mantashe obviously gave the man a call. :)

• 26.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Jeez, some people will never be happy.
    JdJ and JdV playing together is all Ive heard this week.

Now that happens and they still arent satisfied.

• 27.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-22: Could of been more, on the bench even.

• 28.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-24:

“His selection of Juan de Jongh is only to pacify the rugby public, but it must’ve been a very bitter pill for him to swallow.”

Ja nee

• 29.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-26:

Who’s not happy now.

• 30.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-26: Morne Steyn needs to be removed far from the Bok team. No pun intended.

• 31.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-24: The man has never given JDJ a chance to prove himself but gives a unproven noob (Taute) a start against the #1 & 2 teams of the world?! The only reason it would be a bitter pill is if HM has a problem with rewarding form instead of weight and size!

• 32.John Galt: Reply to this comment

This is a good side lads. My personal preference would have been Taute at 15 but I cant complain about this team.

Hopefully the forwards play like they did in the last 40 against Ireland and give this backline something to work with.

Gonna be hard though. The scots with Murray, Ford, Gray, Denton, Strokosh, Brown etc wont be a pushover.

• 33.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-26: It’s the HM faithful that are complaining. They seem to believe that HM was forced to make this selection, but the truth is that JDJ should at least have a chance to prove himself at test level, even though he has done so in the past.

• 34.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-29:
    Read ‘Chip on shoulder ‘ Sasuke. Accusing people of racism because Jaintjies is on the bench when there are 4 players of colour in starting 15.
    I dont think Pdiv even had that amount.

• 35.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-30:
    Why is it that you are happy for Kirchner to be in the side but not happy that Steyn is on the bench?

Considering they are both predominantly non running, kicking, conservative backline players.

• 36.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

This website keeps coming up with warnings about malware and viruses and whatnot, what’s the deal with that? Had to post this from my phone…

• 37.Marty: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-15: Spot on – I would have JPP at fullback now with Hougie and Mvovu on the wings. As Finfan indicated in a previous article, Lambie at 12 would be very interesting. In my opinion, his only future for the boks lies at 12

• 38.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-24:

Hi Fin. I think that if the correct players are chosen in their respective positions the numbers will take care of itself.

Gurthro/Beast has to play if/when fit,
    JPP no brainer,
    Habs if/when fit has to play ahead of Hougaard,
    JDJ needs some game time right now.
    Jantjies deserves his time in the sun.

Kolisi and Mvovo I feel should come into the picture in the not to distant future.

Chilli needs to prove himself once again at the Bulls before he gets another chance.

I think that to risk playing the players mentioned above in the Bok starting line-up is a very small “sacrifice” when compared to the bigger picture.

• 39.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-28: Watch Taute smash into and rough JdJ up during the warm up drills before the match.

“In a late change – two minutes before kick-off – Taute gets his fourth cap in the 13 jersey after de Jongh fractured his jaw in a freak accident during the warm ups.” :)

I hope HM doesn’t read this, it might give him ideas… :)

• 40.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Best of luck to JDJ! Hope you have a blinder.
    Guthro – good call
    Still a few missed opportunities.
    Alberts & Marcel to swop around.
    Mvovo to replace Hougard
    Taute to come on with 30 minutes to go to see how good he is at full back.

Looking forward to a more urgent start this week please Bokke.
    Finish second half strong again, and try for at least a 60 minute performance. I will settle for that at this stage.

• 41.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-39: Taute will be the one carrying the tackle bags ;)

• 42.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-34: Thing is he could of had so much more players of colour on the field and on the bench based on merit. Mvovo a genuine wing surely over a makeshift wing who had a quiet game against Ireland and got left for dead by Earls. Heyneke himself said M.Steyn is not the player he wants on the bench as an impact player, but then he goes and selects him for two consecutive tests on the bench, while a player with way better form gets left out? I am sorry but how do you explain these selections?

@John Galt-35: Kirchner is atleast decent, solid under the high ball and good boot, he has also shown good form this season. Scoring a few tries for the bulls, while Morne Steyn has been poor the whole of the international season. He doesnt deserve a place on the bench imho.

@goodstuff-33: Agreed. Jantjies should also get a chance to prove himself. Morne Steyn has had his chance.

• 43.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-38: Can’t agree more. The fact is that we have numerous highly talented players of colour coming through. The issue is rather whether HM will select them.

• 44.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

If you take Brussouw and Juan Smith out of the equation, Kabamba Floors at 32 is still much better that any loosie in the Cheetahs franchise.

• 45.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Should have Taute at 15, Jantjes on bench, start Heynecke, Rhule on bench.

• 46.Horings: Reply to this comment

If the Boks win this weekend Meyer will be the coach for at least another year.

We will probably play two tests against Italy and one against Canada/ USA/ Samoa/ Fiji next year. This will give Meyer the chance to satisfy everyone and if we have a poor RC he will need to fight for his job on the EOYT next year.

This means you lot will be furious each test week for al least another year.

• 47.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-42:
    You said Hougaard had a bad game against the Irish.
    What about Mvovo’s last outing against the Ausies? He didnt exactly light up the field.
    And Im a Sharks and Mvovo fan.

You cant just name 1 game against the Irish, where all the backline players struggled, as reason to drop a player.

• 48.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Horings-46:

This means he will at least have a 60% winning record with not more than 27% losses. Better than PdV could do in his last 2 years in charge. Like I have been saying all along. PdV came in high, went out low. Heyneke came in low and will go out high. Good investment from SARU after they had a shocker.

• 49.the_rugby_guru: Reply to this comment

@sasuke the only time you’ll be satisfied is when the boys are all black. If anyone is a racist its you. Support the boks for what they are. Not for the colour of their skin.

• 50.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Horings-46:
    Next season more senior players will available for selection.
    Juan Smith, Bismark, Schalk Burger maybe even FDP. and combinations will be settled.

Its not all doom and gloom. :wink:

• 51.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@the_rugby_guru-49: I support the Boks 100% its just that Heyneke is denying some players oppurtunities.

@Horings-48: Heyneke Meyer is the shocker.

• 52.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-50: I am not saying we will have a poor RC. I think this team will go from strength to strength and Meyer will not easily replace the likes of Strauss, Louw, Vermeulen, Etzebeth and Pienaar who came through for him this year. This will only strengthen our situation..

My one wish is for Lambie to really cement his position in the next two tests. If Lambie starts most of the tests next year and Goosen plays mostly from the bench then I will be very satisfied..

• 53.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-22:
    Nothing that a bit of pressure can’t do. :lol:
    ———————————————————

PdV going to be in the kak again. He says that HM is saying one thing and doing another. Give example of Lambie being chosen on the grounds of his performance in the CC while HM also said that he can’t choose JdJ on the grounds of performances in the CC. He thinks there is something “sinister” going on and that transformation should take place in peoples’ head and not as numbers on the field. :lol:
    ——————————————————————————–

HM: “Even though he’s played in a number of Tests for us this year, he’s not started for the Boks since last year’s away leg of the Tri-Nations against New Zealand in Wellington.”

Really Meyer? A “number of tests?” How many exactly and how many MINUTES in that “number of tests.” Oh yes HM, I believe JdJ started aginst Namibia in the RWC last year.

A few more changes and we’ll be there with the current available players.

Coetzee for Alberts
    Mvovo for Hougaard
    Lambie for Kirchner
    Jantjies at FH

• 54.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@nama1-53: Even PDV makes more sense than Heyneke Meyer.

• 55.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-51: Do you have any arguments against the fact that PdV went out low with a poor record in his last two years and Meyer will have a better record in 9 months time? This while PdV had super rugby winning teams to choose from. He had the most experienced Springbok team ever.

• 56.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-53: Get me the quote where Meyer said he cannot “choose JdJ on the grounds of performances in the CC”.

• 57.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Horings-52:

Still feel Goosen is the answer at 10 but must be 100% fit when thrown into the fire.

Lambie had a good game against Griquas, the Bulls in the semi and Province in the final.

Even a game against lowly Scotland requires more ability. I’m not saying that he doesn’t have ability because he does but he is untested at the top level.

Hi Puma.

• 58.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Horings-55: So its a fact that Heyneke Meyer will have a better record in 9 months time? Where did you buy your crystal ball? Heyneke has had a terrible first year and its all down to his selections and strategies. We have great players but the coach is handicapping them with his strategy. He is a very good super rugby coach but is found wanting at international level.

• 59.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-56:
    You do see that I’m paraphrasing PdV here. He said that in an interview with eNews.

Transie is the expert in looking for archived artcles. I’m sure he’ll be able to provide you with that quote.

• 60.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

I see Sport Illustrated is calling Kleinveldt the “one test loser” … lol, no place for quotas to hide in the test match arena!

• 61.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-58: I started by saying if we beat the Scots. Regardless of our result against England we will win the 3 tests thereafter. France will play 3 against the ABs and Australia plays 3 against the BI Lions. Who will we play?

• 62.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-60:
    Hi Capo.

• 63.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@nama1-59:
    So you’re paraphrasing PDivvy?!

Paraphrasing someone who once said, among other incredible things, that he was the Mandela of Rugby.

Must be true then.

• 64.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Horings-61: ok so are we comparing PDV 2nd year to Heyneke’s 2nd year? If so it will be tough for him to surpass that.

We will probably play a 3 test series against Italy yes.

• 65.pakslae: Reply to this comment

A bit off the topic, but has anyone thought of Francois Hougaard as a fullback.
    I understand all the fuss about picking players out of position, etc. it fcked up alot of careers over the years.
    I think Hougaard will make a very good fullback. He has an adequate kicking game, natural counter attacking instincts and flair and he’s also a very strong defender.
    A back three of JPP-Hougaard-Habana would be very exciting to watch.

• 66.nama1: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-63:
    Listen, the man was on the news saying what he did. If I could, I would’ve quoted him verbatim but as you can imagine, I only had that one chance to listen to him. So I tried to give you guys the gist of what he said in case you did not watch the midday news.

—————————————————————————————————

We still have the problem with our unbalance loose trio imo.

Other than that and Hougie on the wing, I’m quite satisfied with this team. Hopefully Lambie will have a better start to the test and put his back line into space.

• 67.Kid_Senekal: Reply to this comment

Would’ve given Hougie some gametime at 9 vs. the Scots… as another muppet pointed out Ruan slows the game down. Could play into the Scots’ hands. Heyneke is too scared to take a risk… and I feel too scared to even follow his gut. He took 3 weeks too long to boot Morne Stain and it’s taking him even long to get rid of his safety blanket Kirchner at 15. Ek raak sommer moerig net om Kirchner se naam te tik.

• 68.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@pakslae-65:

Its been discussed.

It would definitely be a bold move by a very conservative HM.

When the topic came up I intially though height would be an issue but HM plays him at wing where the high ball is also a factor.

• 69.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

thought.

• 70.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-56:
    In the mean time, here is an example of the double talk that PdV refers to in that interview:

“Jaco Taute probably had his best Test against Ireland [at outside centre], and we’ll have to see whether we pair Juan and Jaco, who can also play inside centre, and give Jean de Villiers a break.”

(De Jongh set for Murrayfield start…13 Nov 2012)

• 71.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Horings-61: The mighty Italy, Scotland and some Tier 2 team. :D

(from http://www.lionsrugby.co.za/index.php/all-rugby/sa-rugby-news/491-england-first-up-for-springboks-as-tours-return-to-rugby-calendar)

• 72.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@pakslae-65: @pakslae-65: Sounds odd but it could work, reminds me of Stefan Basson of the Bulls and Sevens fame who also went from scrumhalf to fullback.

• 73.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-64: No you are all comparing PdV first with Meyer’s first. PdV second with Meyer’s 2nd. This is not what we should do. In any business you should look at performance given the circumstances and not independently. Peter de Villiers came in after a World Cup win, but over the last two years he showed a demoralising downward trend. Our performances were not getting any better and the Boks went backwards with PdV in charge. No one can argue this. Meyer came in after two horrid years and to make it worse all the experienced players were not available. What we are looking for is if Meyer can reverse this downward trend PdV was responsible for. If Meyer therefore gets the results I am expecting his term thup to that point will be seen as a success.

• 74.pakslae: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-68:
    Lol… and here I thought I was on to something.

• 75.nama1: Reply to this comment

@pakslae-65:
    I know that Gunther wants him there as well but I think he should 1st play there for the Bulls a bit before we try him there for the Boks. Maybe you guys could petition Ludeke to start him there for the Bulls in the S15 next year.

• 76.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Horings-73: I thought senior players coached the team under PDV? Can you clarify who the coach was?

• 77.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Kid_Senekal-67: Hougaard played at 9 against the Scots last time we were there. If it rains it will be a nightmare. I have never seen Hougaard perform well in rainy weather.

• 78.Horings: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-76: Only a weak person without any vision will allow this.

• 79.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Horings-78: I was under the impression PDV clearly articulated his vision. Problem was, the old dogs were not prepared to learn old new tricks. The irony his HM is also struggling to teach his dogs tricks. In fact, they look more like mutts than dogs.

Only recently people haven cottoned onto the fact that the entrenched mindset South Africans have about the playing of rugby is holding them back. If players were susceptible to being challenged and were open to the idea that rugby can be played in a different way, we might not have been sitting in the predicament.

At the end of the day results talk. No excuses. If HM doesn’t rack up the wins, he must start gardening or being a mechanic.

• 80.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-73:
    Some people will argue that if not for a poor performathe 1/4 final of the RWC, the Boks would’ve won the tournament.

The Boks played good rugby in the RWC apart from the 1st match against Wales.

You obviously hope and pray that you upward trend theory by HM will realize. We’ll only be able to see in 2015 if you were right. For now, his record ain’t that flash and people, rightly so, criticize him for it. He could’ve and should’ve done much better but for his poor selections and sterile game plan. Even you can agree to that.

• 81.nama1: Reply to this comment

performathe 1/4 final of the RWC = performance in the 1/4 final of the RWC

Fingers quicker than my brain. :lol:

• 82.Horings: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-79: Only a fool will move entirely away from our strengths. How do you think did the Bulls got their success? By playing the same style they always played? No, keeping to our strengths, but incorporating some flair as time moved on.

Make no mistake I like PdV. He reminds me of a Wynie Strydom character. Sort of a cheerleader, but he was no coach.

• 83.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Horings-82: Hows that playing to your strengths thing going for the Bulls? Check that mantra. Master the basics of the game and pick players who aren’t afraid to fail.

Funny thing is, PDV’s got quite a few medals for his team’s achievements.

• 84.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-80: Taking into account we played with less experience in our pack against Aus in the first test than either Smit or Matfield had against NZ I am more than satisfied with our forwards this year. We also turned things around against Ireland, which much more experienced teams could never do.

Our backline play has not been good. His continuous selection of Steyn was not good.

So I will say some good things and some bad. At least he has selected 3 other flyhalves ahead of Steyn since he dropped him.

• 85.Wildcard: Reply to this comment

@nama1-66: At least we knew PDV was going to say something stupid and he warned HM it is a tuff road as national coach. HM keeps contradicting himself with size form in CC, not making to many changes, the game plan is the right one etc etc

• 86.Horings: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-83: Not good at all. Funny thing is we are not playing to our strength. Our basics wemt out of the window. If you followed the Bulls closely you would understand our frustration.

Even though we won everything in 2009 PdV did not get the coach of the year award. Seems to me I am not the only one thinking he was a muppet.

• 87.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Horings-82: Another things is, ask any international head coach how much coaching they do. This is why they have assistants. Head coaches create a harmonious, results-driven environment wherre players can thrive. The make sure they employ the correct strategy to counter opposition and they play a big role in team selection. I’ll use the analogy of soccer. Alex Ferguson is the manager of Man Utd. Utd also have a coach. SAF relays tactics and gameplan to the coaches who transfer this to the players, all under the watchful eye of SAF. Come game day, SAF’s strengths come to the for. Tactical changes, man management and thinking on his feet.

• 88.Rockn Rolla: Reply to this comment

Check Here

Do you think HM has a backhand agreement with Krusty, he may take a % of his match fee
    Think About it, you pay you play !!!!

you never know

How else would such a sh ! te player be consistantly selected, it should be Ludick there
    by faaaaar the best 15 in this land

• 89.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Horings-86: Better to have the medals than have people think you’re the messiah. We’ll disagree till the world ends, so to each his own.

• 90.Horings: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-83: It is like any political appointment. Things are looking good for a short term and then there’s chaos. Then you get the actual best person for the job to turn things around.

Just note I am referring to a political appointment NOT a black vs white appointment. Sizwe Nxasana of First Rand vs Maria Ramos of Absa is a prime example. AC will be a good appointment for Bok coach if he is selected.

• 91.Loki: Reply to this comment

I am hopeful that Juandre Kruger has a better game. And when Flip comes on for Eben (if indeed) that he at least looks for more work and earns his 100k odd. Seriously, with all that fitness and conditioning and strength work, some of these guys come on as subs and look “disinterested”. I want to see more of a Marcel Coetzee balls to the wall attitude. CJ also does not blow up my skirt. While I’m at it, perhaps Willem A needs to also catch a wake-up! Ok vent over.

• 92.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Guys like Raymond and Arno are learning our structures and culture. I’ve always believed in not pushing youngsters too early- Heyneke Meyer

• 93.fishdish: Reply to this comment

Well this must mean Elton’s a shoe-in for the england game…!!!

I mean…why else would he be there. Surely not to hold bags and give shoeshines??

• 94.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

In other news

Robbie Kempson has been arrested after an off-the ball incident at the Bermuda World Rugby Classic left a USA player in a neck brace.

• 95.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Loki-91:
    Agree on Alberts. He needs to catch a moerse wake-up.

The odd big hit here and there does not cut it for me. Some people are satisfied with that though.

• 96.Horings: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-87: This is exactly why Meyer is the man for the job. He is an inspirational character(although you lot try to think otherwise). Remember Smit saying he now knows why the Bulls are so good after Meyer handed over the jerseys in 2010. How many players wanted Meyer to be at the World Cup final when they could invite someone who had the most influence on their careers.

He has a proven record of installing successful structures, which makes it easier for the players to concentrate only on their game because of the professional support structures.

He is a superb selector. A Provincial coach needs to be an even better selector, because you do not have the luxury to chop and change. The quality depth you have is just so limited and a coach needs to be sure a player has all the necessary attributes when buying a player. Remember how Meyer converted Bakkies from a flanker into a lock. Richard Bands from a hooker to an international prop. He has a very good idea of what it takes to be a success. I even read he was the man who converted the English hooker from a centre to a hooker when he coached Leicester. He also bought Wikus van Heerden and said he will make him a Springbok. Windgat yes, but did he change his game around.

I can write a book on why Meyer is the best man for the job.

• 97.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@fishdish-93: Exactly. I hope he makes the bench for the England game otherwise this tour would of just been a waste of time for him. He could of been working on his conditioning and getting to know the Stormers systems and plays.

• 98.Rockn Rolla: Reply to this comment

I can understand the disappointment of Steyn on the bench…….but what is the hype about Elton J anywy
    He is mediocre at best (going all Bunny in the headlights @ soccer city)

Im sorry the kid is nothing great !!!!

• 99.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-84:
    Yeah, our forwards did fairly well this year. We’ll probably never again have a pack that can totally dominate the oppsition but as long as we can secure our own ball in the scrums, line outs, rucks (there is a bit of a problem) and win some opposition ball in those areas or just spoil it for them (slowing it down), we’re doing well, I think.

Still just that pick and drive kak close to the opposition goal line that irks the hell out of me. Player after player trying to get over the line on his own only to be tackled back. Meanwhile there are space for the back line to exploit.

• 100.nama1: Reply to this comment

@fishdish-93:
    There is that review thingy coming up. HM has the right numbers on his side even though he never intended using some of them. :lol:

• 101.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-99: For me that is down to decision making. I think Etzebeth was critisized for it against Ireland, but it was Pienaar’s decision to give the ball to Etzebeth while Lambie was in a good posision to receive the ball.

• 102.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-96:
    WOW!!!

Meyer is safe with you in his corner, that’s for sure.

That is Pumaesque*, in his adoration for Lambie.

*No malice intended Puma. :lol:

• 103.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Horings-96: Yada yada yada. Like I said. Don’t bring me hypotheses or crystal ball gazing predictions. Bring me wins and i don’t care if Jacob Zuma selects his children as the match 22.

You still on the political appointment? PDV applied in the hope that it would be a fair process. That Hoskins spinned into a political thing, caused more harm for PDV than good. So pDV didn’t really get the benefit of being a political appointment.

• 104.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

lol i see the “raak ontslae van heineke” has 200 members in 3 weeks … funny racist comments by the tik koppe!

• 105.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-92: Meanwhile players like Barrett, Cruden, Retallick ans Aaron smith are benefiting from playing experience. Where’s their exposure to the culture. The Boks aren’t a spiritual entity. They are rugby players. If you are in the team\squad you are there to play rugby.

• 106.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-102: @pompies2-103: None of you are able to argue any point. Why are you on this site if it is as simple as winning vs losing and you cannot argue any point? This is while I have shown Meyer to be moving in the right direction vs his predecessor that went downhill fast.

All the comments are in the line of. “Ag nee Heyneke jou rassistiese moer” “Meyer is ‘n idioot” “Meyer het iets teen Jantjies” “Bul spelers is k a k”. En hulle se Bul ondersteuners is dom, maar hierdie site bewys die teendeel.

• 107.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

‘Juan is in a similar position. Even though he’s played in a number of Tests for us this year, he’s not started for the Boks since last year’s away leg of the Tri-Nations against New Zealand in Wellington.

is it just me or is HM talking the biggest load of BS???

• 108.Horings: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-105: Easier to play alongside experienced guys, but you want to expose these youngster playing in a team with no experience. Recipe for disaster.

• 109.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

when has JDJ played “a number of tests for us this year”???
    this guy seriously thinks we’re all fing idiots

• 110.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@Horings-108:
    he played all the experience he had and even that failed

i would rather he played a full team of youngsters, with a future in the game and lose
    than playing old boys who cant even pass or run anymore, and still lose

• 111.Bell: Reply to this comment

@Horings-82: so what exactly are our strengths?

• 112.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-60:
    I don’t foresee him to get as many chances as that other quota – Jacques Rudolph

• 113.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Horings-106: If you want a rugby argument, i’m happy to debate\argue\put you to shame.

I didn’t oppose HM when he was appointed because he had a good coaching record. lIke most people on the site, we were\are prepared to give him a chance.

The problems HM has is mostly of his own doing. His selections have been dubious and his tactics has been poor. There has been no discernible improvement from the Boks of last year. The least I expected at this stage was an 80% win ratio and some observable improvement in the Boks’ play.

We are still chosing to play rugby without the ball, our ruck attendance execution is poor. Support play and communication is lacking and basic ballskills leave alot to be desired.

• 114.Bell: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-110: i dont buy the youngster or exp argument re Meyer and particularly,re jdj, jantjies and even lambie. Cause both Taute and Goosen has played less senior rugby than any of those 3

• 115.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Horings-108: That’s the prevailing mindset i was referring to earlier. Nothing good comes from this lager mentality. Some players are made for test rugby. No culture introduction necessary. The challenge for a coach is to identify these individuals.

• 116.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Bell-111: A physical forwards based game. Few teams in the world have 3 world class locks and when they all retire then another one makes his debut. We have always been good at setpieces, for example dominating the lineouts. Our scrums have been poor lately, but Pieter de Villiers is turning things around and our defence have always been very physical. These are only some of our strengths.

• 117.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Bell-114: It is becoming increasingly difficult to gauge Meyer’s thoughts because they seem to be incoherent.

• 118.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Horings-106: Heyneke is an idiot.Get with the program,Pietman! :D

• 119.shooter: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-110: you forgot to say
    Heyneke Out! :roll:

• 120.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Horings-116: This hasn’t been the case for the last few years. The problem isn’t the inexperienced locks. These same players have been standout performers in the super rugby experience. So we did well in our scrums and lineouts this year. What do we have to show for this in terms of performances?

It’s no good you have possession and don’t know what to do with it.

• 121.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Horings-96:

Please write the book.

• 122.Horings: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-113: You expect at least a 80% winning ratio is ridiculous. This is not playstation where you select a team and BOOM they play brilliantly. Experience is important. Fact. Everyone knew we will struggle a bit this year.

If Saru appointed Meyer last year October then he could have convinced Fourie, du Preez, Steenkamp, Rossouw to be part of his new team and then he did not need to play Jean and Morne to have some experience in the team. Then I would have expected an 80% record with some players already familiar with his playing style.

• 123.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-121: No don’t. Otherwise we’ll have to read it and all we’ll end up doing is confirming what we already know about you and his heyneke-ness.

• 124.Wildcard: Reply to this comment

@Horings-122: Bulls players you mean

• 125.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Hougaardt is sticking like Teflon to a Bok position!!!

• 126.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@shooter-119:
    ive been saying it since the newlands test v the argies, where for the first time in my life i switched over from test rugby to test cricket cause it was way more exciting..
    since then, nothing has changed

a new era generally means new ideas, new players, new mindsets
    this springbok situation has just become depressingly stagnant

• 127.Horings: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-120: Ok, so let us first work on a great attacking game before we make sure we get any ball and we make sure we protect our ball. Meyer is laying good foundations to work from. Which is the better approach? Please convince me because I am in the dark.

• 128.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Horings-122: Yada yada yada. I’m being kind with the 80%. Should be closer to 90%. Afterall we are the country with the higher playing numbers. It’s Heyneke’s time now. He is in control of the legend he leaves of his Bok coaching career.

• 129.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Horings-127: You just admitted the foundation is there. You said the scrums and lineouts were good. what next?

I said earlier there should be no compromise on the quality of the foundational principles of the game.

• 130.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Wildcard-124: Yes, Bulls players. The good ones. Not the ones PdV made Springboks because they played in a very good team and not because they were the best in those teams.

• 131.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Horings-116: they want to eat the cake but don’t want to help make it. or, they want to win, but they’re not prepared to change the thinking.

What is happening here, as far as i can see, is that HM and the boks are breaking it down to a point from where we can consistently improve.

HM is right. The one play where it is possible, is in our forwards. Once we have a game plan embedded that is so difficult counter, albeit a bit boring for now, other changes can incrementally be brought in.

There is a question in my mind. Would 70% winning do, to keep everyone happy? Or is Hm trying to get us to a point where we win maybe 90%.

Maybe you can’t write down the first or most obvious 22 down and call them a team. even the ‘best’ team. like the blogging teams, rapport teams and all that.

That is exactly what every other previous coach has done. And on average… we are still 70 plus or minus percenters.

• 132.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-107: Ask Horings/Pietman.He is living in Meyer’s pocket.

• 133.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@Horings-122:
    ‘everyone knew we would struggle this year”
    I clearly didnt get that memo

our teams were dominant in the S15 (3 in playoffs), its not as though we dont have the players like australia and argentina- even they put one over us

i expected a good year- maybe not 80% but 75 to be reasonable
    been very disappointed in general with HM and springbok rugby this year

• 134.Horings: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-128: Gaan speel playstation waar jy 90% van die games wen dan kom jy terug na die realiteit as jy klaar is.

• 135.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

Wow.

With Horings for Heyneke, who could be against him?

• 136.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-127: Do you think we have the coaching resources to give the Boks a cutting edge attacking game even once the foundations have been laid? I’m sorry but Meyer hasn’t exactly surrounded himself with the best men for the job. The likes of Van Graan and Loubscher can never take us to the the top.

@wnbb-125: At least he’s got loads of talent and potential. Krusty has nothing.

• 137.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

NAMA @ 80 rubbish you got schooled by the Samons in the 2nd half and nearly lost but you were fantastic against Namibia.

• 138.Horings: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-133: “Maybe not 80, but 75″. Hahahahahahahahah. Ons het net 10 gespeel, so wat soek jy 7 of 8. It is like sitting in a meeting of ten members and saying. I am sure 99% of you will agree with me….

• 139.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Horings-134: What are the AB’s on since they won the world cup? If you are prepared to accept mediocirty, then do so in your own life. Don’t take a national side and make excuses for poor performances.

I thought you wanted to talk real rugby talk. Now telling me about playstation?
    Suip jy.

• 140.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-136: I agree with you in that regard. He needs to get someone with international experience. At first I thought Saru did not help in this regard with his late appointment, but he had some time now to get someone.

• 141.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-137: Like the AB’s were 2nd best in the final. But that doesn’t matter right? The trophy’s in the cabinet.

• 142.shooter: Reply to this comment

So supporters want something flashy in the short, and usually they get their way… now that HM is making the picture a bit bigger those who claim they want 90% winnings, are the first to protest.

We have great players. But it is not the Springbok coach alone who can coach a team into 90% winning.

I.e, you can’t play an expansive all guns blazing style of rugby if the individual players are not capable to make the offlaods, run the angles and most importantly make the decisions onfield – they should be able to.. but alllround in the CC this year…. there were very few players that stand out as complete ballers.

• 143.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-122:
    Everybody, mostly the Meyer Messiah Choir, was aiming for a 80% win record. Probably to shove it into the faces of the people who supported PdV. They would’ve liked nothing better than to say, “See, if Meyer can have a 80% win record with this team, just think what he could’ve done with the 2007 RWC winning team if he was appointed in 2008.”

Well, that worked out well for them…NOT!!!

• 144.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@Horings-138:
    noone on this site would be complaining if we won only 20% of the gmaes this year, but we gave all the deserved youngsters a fair chance, cut the dead wood, and played with at least a little bit of innovation, maybe even tried some backline moves..
    i wouldnt be complaining right now

it doesnt take a rocket scientist to figure out that HM is out of his depth

• 145.Horings: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-139: You are the one not living in reality. The All Blacks won the World Cup and continued with largely the same team and had consistency in it coaching staff. No reason for them to go backwards. We got a new team, new coaches. This is not the amateur era where the coach gets picked in the week leading up to the test match.

• 146.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Horings-140: Another excuse? Coaches, players, SARU, franchises. If Meyer thought it the red sea would part for him, he’s got a serious god complex.

• 147.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-139:

Have you noticed how Meyer slips it in during EVERY interview how decimated from injuries they are but that’s no excuse. He won one super title and that’s it, he’s clearly out of his depth at international level you could see that after he sold his players out after the 2nd Argie game.

• 148.fishdish: Reply to this comment

This punk wreaks of FEAR.

It devours his ability to reason toward any faculty of sagacity,

Shrewd and decisive…this punk is not!!

Until he masters his fears, the origin of which remains contentious…

He will not prosper…he will fail…and when battered by his own embodiment of self doubt and righteousness…gripped and pacified by the very fear that consumes and overshadows him…what will be will be!!!

• 149.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-136: @Spiesisworthless1-136: Talent and potential??He is farking overrated and is farking lucky that the legendary Stormer and Bok wing Habana is injured at the moment.

• 150.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Horings-145: This is because the AB’s don’t expose the players to the culture before they can wear the black jersey. Those players grow up knowing what it takes to weart that jersey. When players are good enough, they are exposed to test rugby. This is how they are able to keep continuity in their performance levels over many years.

• 151.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-141:

Nama stated the Bokke played good rugby during the WC rubbish they were shite and nearly lost to Wales and Samoa.

• 152.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@shooter-142:
    therein lies the problem, we definitely have the players to play the offloading, skill based gameplan- the sharks did it and made the final
    our players have the skills

HM does not allow the players the freedom to play the situation

• 153.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-151:
    NZ nearly lost to france, france lost tonga
    seriously, go play around on a NZ site

• 154.Horings: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-144:

“noone on this site would be complaining if we won only 20% of the gmaes this year.” You sure?

Let us take Streauli for example. He played some enterprising rugby with a young team. Remember the game against Aus where Joubert and Russell scored those great tries? Oh the days of running rugby. At the end of that year, without any good foundations in our game we had a horrible end of year tour and from then the pressure got to Streauli. Were we impressed with his young team losing by 50 points against England? Sorry, you may have been but I see that as the worst time in our rugby history.

• 155.shooter: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-135: if we were a 90% team, and HM dragged us down to 60%, off course I would agree with you or anyone. But truth be told…. percentages mean nothing after 8 games. Context is more important.

I’d say after 20 games odd one should start using percentages.

One more or two more wins, we’ll be at a ‘pass rate of 70% or what’, will every-one then be happy… no. I seriously think HM is trying to turn around the ship, and you know what they say about big ships.

The paradigm, not the transformation, is truly in the head.

• 156.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-153:

yip we did but we also played some good rugby during the WC you did not and thoroughly deserved your 1/4 exit

• 157.shooter: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-152: i don’t think we have. we have a couple good players that should be alot better.

• 158.Wildcard: Reply to this comment

Let’s give the coach an opportunity to prove himself. Apart from NZ no country has a stable coaching team and it shows in their results. SA is back to no 2 in the world ranking. If you look at the type of rugby we play in SA, HM inherited a forward type of play and that is our current strength. (Stormers no bonus point for 4 tries in SP15, Bulls achieved this only once in CC) Provincial coaches and national coach is not yet working together. We have got exiting youngsters but our comfort level when we panic is playing back to the forwards. It will take time to develop and expansive game across provincial and national level

• 159.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Good to see JdJ in the team…..on merit!!Just shows what a bit of pressure can do. :D

• 160.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@Horings-154:
    you cant compare the players straeuli had to the players HM has at his disposal

south african teams could hardly get a team into the semis of the S12 at that stage, now we have teams who dominate at S15 level

your argument is futile

• 161.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@shooter-142: I’m going to give you credit, even though you didn’t intentionally raise the point.

The change of mindset is not something that happens at Bok level. It starts way earlier when 13 and 14 year olds develop their playing identity. This is when the mindset change should happen. What we have instead is adulation for a schoolboy who is able to kick a 60m penalty what is not able to pass the ball properly, never mind understand the complexity around distribution.

Fix the feeder systems and it will gradually filter into Bok rugby. Bok rugby is for players who excel at execution of skills, not players who are deficient.

• 162.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-156:
    give thanks to bryce

• 163.Horings: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-151: We were not consistently good, but still good enough to have a good chance against a mediocre NZ team. Unfortunately the son of Paddy’s best friend never gave us that opportunity.

• 164.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-151: I’d say it was a bit of both. Boks under-performing and Wales and Samoa raising their performances.

• 165.Bell: Reply to this comment

@Horings-116: now you see that’s what i don’t agree with, that perception has laid to waist some of the most creative talent over the last 12 years, russel, paulse, m joubert,habana, pienaar, aplon, fleck, francois hougaard and even Morne Steyn. When Steyn was derricks understudy he was a running flyhalf who attacked the gainline but the bulls mentality messed him up and turned him into a kicking donkey.

How far back are we taking our traditional strength argument? Bok teams of yesteryear were known as ball players ” huge forwards who handled the ball like backs” the ab’s took a leaf from our book you see, backline legends like ho de villier, mannetjies roux, danie gerber, gysie pienaar etc were ball players much in the mould of jdj, jantjies and lambie. So what exactly is ‘traditional?’

• 166.shooter: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-151: wales were good in last year’s WC.
    So was Ireland.
    France lost against Tonga and went on to the final. anyway. who cares. bygones.

• 167.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Horings-163:

are you talking about the mediocre side who are unbeaten in 17 tests, let me know when the Bokke reach mediocre status then

@pompies2-164:

Pompies the Bokke haven’t been any good since mid 09′, that hurts but its the truth they weren’t good enough last year to win it, it’s comforting for some to be able to blame Brycie though

• 168.Horings: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-160: In terms of experience they can be compared. In terms of super rugby success. In 2001 both the Cats and Sharks made the semis. The only reason we compete now is because of the Bulls and Sharks success in 2007. It made us believe we can, where some people thought we will never do. Also do not forget a change in format that reduced the strength of Aus teams. It was extremely difficult to win on a tour in the Super 12. We also won a IRB U21 tournament in 2002 after a lean period in the tournament. So yes, we can compare the two tenures.

• 169.Hoops: Reply to this comment

Horings….jy kort viagra om bietjie murg terug te kry in jou pyp!

HM is selecting players with no real experience and no promise and yet you say it has to be so..???

Lets start with Zane. Not a lot of caps, and not promising player and loads of better players….so why is he selected and defended game after game by HM?

Then same applies to FH…out of position in a game plan where chase and height is important? He is a hobbit just like Aplon but Aplon would not get rounded like FH and he brings something to the attack as well???? So how does your hero HM explain it?

HM tells us that Size matters but he picks those two? With no form and no promise in their respective positions?

What stinks for me is the fact that he think he can brainwash us like he did you and we all would just believe the dribbel he feeds us.

I’m sorry….when you say something and do a different thing you do not exactly instill confidence in me. And when you have double standards like HM has I am no fan.

Keegan gets one chance to proofe himself and Morne gets backed endless…….Duane is only playing because spies is not there and he is the next big player HM could find.

I am not falling for this “kinder sielkunde” of HM.

• 170.Horings: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-167: Make no mistake. You were good beforehand and afterwards, but injuries really tore into your team. They were not at their best in the World Cup.

• 171.catchlightuk.com: Reply to this comment

I see that Lambie has been chosen at flyhalf. A much better option than Alberts like last week IMO.

• 172.Hoops: Reply to this comment

prove sorry!

• 173.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@shooter-166:

fair call but in 07′ there was no way NZ would have won the WC if they had beaten France in that 1/4 after dominating all pre WC 07′ but plenty here believe that the Bokke would have won last year despite being soundly beaten all through 2010 and early 2011 and being run close by Samoa and Wales earlier in the tournament

• 174.nama1: Reply to this comment

I just want to see the Boks play to win instead of this fear for losing.

If they play to win, like in that 30minutes in the 2nd test against England, and still lose it will be easier to accept because the other team would’ve played just that much better. Now we have this inept performances week after week and people expect you to be satisfied because “it is at least a win.”

Bullshit!!!

• 175.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Heyneke Meyer had initially refused to select the current centre pairing when he needed it most during the Challenge, it’s amazing what the fear of losing ones job does to nepotism and generally un-rugby decisions. You phack around at this level, you get fired, Boks is not a private man’s little fiefdom, Meyer now gets it.

• 176.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Horings-170:

Carter was the key, unfortunately the Ab’s are expected to play champagne rugby and thump the oppositon by 50 everytime they play if they don’t there must be something wrong, how about the other team played superbly and we scrapped a win no shame in that

• 177.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Hoops-169: Your last comment regarding Spies. How do you know Meyer prefers Spies. He said the exact opposite beforehand. I also have it on good authority that Spies was on his last chance to even be ahead of both Kankowski and Vermeulen. You my friend is brainwashed into seeing everything Meyer does as being against players of colour or against Bulls players. Fact is he brought in players like Louw and Brits which none of you would have predicted beforehand because you think you know how he thinks. Most of you have no clue. Fact!

It must be heart breaking that Meyer is the coach that gives Francois Louw the chance he deserved and not your messiah PdV. Hands up who predicted Meyer will select Louw? I did.

• 178.Horings: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-176: No, you deserved it. I am just saying we would have had a chance, because Carter did not play.

• 179.papaown: Reply to this comment

@nama1-70: i sometimes wonder whether HM’s double speak is strategic so the opposition cannot figure him out or if he really cant remember half the things he says contradicts himself…

• 180.papaown: Reply to this comment

my 2 cents
    a better team starting. i would’ve made more changes but hey…it is HM lets not forget.
    i expect big games from Steenkamp and JdJ and hopefully this gets rewarded against England.
    i honestly feel Jantjies time has been wasted on this tour and i wish the lad well in S15 next year. Hopefully not too much damage has been done and AC and Fleckie can uncoach whatever HM and team have tried to brainwash him into believing as to why they dont pick him

• 181.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Horings-177: I never predicted the Flo selection….

But I certainly punted for it.

• 182.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Horings-178:

sure of course you would have had a chance just like we would have had in 07′ ,never mind we get to do it all over again in 15′ and it looks like you’ll be on the other side of the draw this time so a dream final perhaps

• 183.Bell: Reply to this comment

@Bell-165: also, a forwards ONLY game is the domain of the lesser unions like Giorgia and Uruguay, shouldn’t be that one dimensional for the boks…

• 184.papaown: Reply to this comment

i read an article on news24 trying to weigh the pro’s and con’s of Vermeulen at 8.
    he has been light years ahead of Spies and we should please not regress any further.
    Spies and Kanko to slog it out for bench IMO.
    I would start Kanko for certain games ahead of Vermeleun as they offer a different type of game, depending on how one wants to play the game

• 185.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Horings-177: Are you related to Heyneken,Pietman?You seem to know his inner thoughts.

• 186.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@Horings-177:

Would you have selected Louw ahead of Brussow, if were you the national coach, during the PdV era? If yes, please give reasons…

• 187.papaown: Reply to this comment

@nama1-174: as a Bok supporter, i NEVER support a loss.
    look how far the losses got PdV in his 1st year?

• 188.Horings: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-185: No comment.

• 189.wnbb: Reply to this comment

I would still select a fit Brussow ahead of Louw.Just a cheap shot at PdV from Pietman.

• 190.papaown: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-173: you moron, its the mental side which makes us believe we would’ve won the tournament had we not been shafted by a self confessed d.ick named Braaice LOW-rence.

No other team at the point had beaten you 3 times in a row, and while results sin ’10 and ’11 spoke otherwise, we new we had mental parity , if not advantage, moreso than any other team because of that!

• 191.Horings: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-186: No, but PdV selected the following loose trio against Aus after Louw played against NZ in NZ. Spies, Burger and Kankowski. What an idiot replacing Louw with Kankowski. Louw did not perform too well against NZ, but I do not think he was the worse Springbok in those tests.

• 192.papaown: Reply to this comment

@Horings-177: Meyer says alot of s.hit so we cant take his word for it. only his actions. and though his actions he is always more inclined to stick with a Blue brother, through thick and thin ;-)

• 193.fishdish: Reply to this comment

@Bell-183: @Horings-188:

Class is in session mr horings…hope you have your notebook

• 194.Horings: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-189: I said on keo why Louw is a better choice than Brussow for Meyer. Louw is a similar fetcher than Wikus van Heerden, Johan Wasserman and Piet Krause. An effective fetcher that can also receive the ball in the first channel. Brussow for me is a good carrier out wide and he is a good defender, but the worrying thing this year was his form. I think Coenie Oosthuizen got more turnovers in the games they played together.

• 195.wnbb: Reply to this comment

I don’t believe Heyneken will see out his contract.He has a weak mentality and with his outdated gameplan he will be spoken off in the same breath as Straeuli in years to come.He definitely won’t equal or better PdV’s record of beating the Kiwis three times in a row.

• 196.Horings: Reply to this comment

@papaown-192: Well, he has dropped Potgieter, Engelbrecht, Greyling, Werner Kruger and Steyn. Only Hougaard, Kirchner and Juandre Kruger has remained in his side. It seems to me he is not holding on to them like you think.

• 197.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@papaown-190:

of course you did, weren’t you also saying you were going to win at Soccer city a few weeks back , coulda shoulda woulda buddy an SA specialty

• 198.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Horings; where did u predict that meyet will select Flo? bring evidence bhuti!

• 199.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

PDV rated Earl, Lobberts & Adi Jacobs …… Matfield, Smit & Fourie duP had to tell PDV : ” Hey bra, sit en kyk jy net .. ons sal die span coach! papsak en TIK jy maar en vat die credit”

• 200.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Bell-165: We have had numerous outstanding backline players at times, but we have always had a pack that can dominate at times. We have never had great backline players and no forwards at the same time. So we have always based our game on big physical forwards with good skills and at times we have had the likes of Gerber and du Plessis.

Some of you think de Jong is the next Mannetjies Roux. Well he is not, sorry to break the news. The likes of Goosen, Serfontein, JP Pietersen can rise to that level and Meyer will use them. He is more than a one trick coach. He will use all resources available in time, but first things first. And that is to get our forwards game efficient to have a good foundation.

• 201.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-198: You can go and look for it! I think it was just before the Argentina game at Newlands.

• 202.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-198: Maybe it was in the line of “I am surprised Meyer has not selected Louw yet, he is the same sort of player than Wikus van Heerden” and a couple of weeks later Meyer selected him. Maybe he listened to me for a change :)

• 203.wnbb: Reply to this comment

I have to admit that HM’s selection of Louw was a surprise.I give credit to HM for that selection.

• 204.Horings: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-203: Small steps Cecil.

• 205.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Horings-200: You are farking worse than Puma!!!Your tongue prints must be all over Heyneken’s balls!! :D

• 206.Horings: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-205: First you accuse me of being family and now this? It cannot be both, you must choose. We are not from Danville.

• 207.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Horings-206: :D . What do they say about a Bull and it’s mother?? :D

• 208.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Credit to you Horings.Despite what was thrown at your man,HM,today ,you never faltered in your belief and support of him.Hopefully you will still do same when he beats Straeuli as the worst coach of the modern Bok era. :D

• 209.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Hoops-169:

You kept me interested in that post until you mentioned Keegan.

• 210.Horings: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-208: I do not know if you will be satisfied or disappointed, but Meyer will be the first coach to coach the Boks for longer than 4 years. He will be regarded as the Henry of Springbok rugby.

• 211.shooter: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-207: dont show your stupidity

• 212.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@Horings-191:

How is that different from HM selecting a loose trio of Alberts, Potgieter and Coetzee? Taute over JdJ? Jake White selecting a loose trio of Cronje, Rossouw, van Niekerk? We lost 49-0 by the way.

Wasn’t he selected for the RWC as cover for Brussow?

• 213.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@shooter-211: go fck yourself,mate. :D

• 214.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Horings-210: :D . The world needs more people like you. :D

• 215.Horings: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-212: I agree Jake also had some shockers when selecting his loose trios. He picked Spies, Smith and Rossouw (as openside).

Coetzee is similar to Burger, but Kankowski (at that stage) and Spies are the two loose forwards with the weakest workrate ever. X-Factor maybe? But you cannot pick two of them in the same loose trio. Potgieter and Alberts are much better around the fringes.

But even if you do not agree with this, point is Meyer had no fetcher to pick. PdV dropped Louw and picked that loose trio thinking it will strengthen the team?

• 216.Horings: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-214: At last we agree on something.

• 217.nama1: Reply to this comment

Some of Meyer’s boys, in defending him, said that he (Meyer) just don’t rate JdJ when asked why JdJ was not sent onto the field.

The question now begs: Were they lying and is it true that they actually DON”T know what their hero thinks or believes in or how he feels about certain players?

• 218.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Horings-215: Porgieter?Don’t let us go into that debate,buddy!

• 219.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-217: Jake White gave Luke Watson his chance.

• 220.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@Horings-215:

He did boet, Keegan Daniel, or have you forgotten that he played openside flanker for the Sharks the entire SR season?

• 221.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@nama1-217: Meyer just confused the hell out of them. :D

• 222.Horings: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-218: Ja, I believe that is a shocker. I said on many occasions that he is maybe a good Bulls player on super rugby level. Maybe? But he is no Springbok. I also think he will not be involved in future.

Steyn and Potgieter was Meyer’s worst selections.

• 223.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Horings-222: Agree with you on Potgieter.

• 224.Horings: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-220: Daniel is not an opensider nor a fetcher. I do not care where he played for the Sharks.

I also remember him playing at 8, Coetzee at 7 and Alberts at 6 for most of the season.

• 225.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-219:
    So, you are saying that Meyer still does not rate JdJ and that he only selected him because of undue pressure from outside forces.

How do you explain this then? PR speak?

‘My plan has always been to give him a start on this tour, as he’s been playing very well lately, and I’m excited to see what he brings to the team on Saturday.’

@wnbb-221:
    Don’t worry. You’re not the only one. :lol:

• 226.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-222:
    Don’t forget JJ Engelbrecht and Wynand Olivier.

• 227.shooter: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-213: @wnbb-214: nevermind. you f’ck yourself with every second post you make on here poepol.

• 228.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Horings-222: @nama1-226: And Arno Botha over Josh Strauss.

• 229.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@nama1-226: And thank God that Sadie ,before HM could select him,imploded all on his own, otherwise you would have added him to that list as well. :D

• 230.shooter: Reply to this comment

wnnb. have you EVER played rugby?

• 231.shooter: Reply to this comment

@willievz-228: Strauss went before Spies got injured, Vermeulen and Kankowski was the next in line…. after which Josh said he’s vying for a Scottish jersey….

I would have Strauss before Kanko and probably Vermeulen.

• 232.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@Horings-224:

For as long as I remember KD has played openside for the Sharks, since his debut season. Ocassionally he plays 8. He only played 8, this season, when Kanko was injured.

• 233.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Juandre Kruger is another player that can extremely lucky that Bekker is out injured.Kruger has been under performing for a while now.He doesn’t tackle as well and can thank the stars that the Bok coach wore a blue jumper before his selection as Bok coach.

• 234.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-233: can be

• 235.Gtown: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-156:

KUUUUUUUUNT!!

:D :D:D

• 236.David: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-233:
    I wonder why Franco vd Merwe hasn’t had a chance on this tour?

• 237.Bell: Reply to this comment

@Horings-200: Evert rugby team in the world wants there forwards to dominate, that’s hardly an SA tradition, when last did our forwards dominate world rugby? Lineouts aren’t the only aspect of forward play. you basicly saying that HM is doin it in baby steps, first forwards then backs. This isn’t an academy. The boks are only selected for tests and that means they ONLY play to win and this can only be done with your best combinations on the park and players who understand what their positions are all about. Why play dud backs caus you want your forwards to learn to dominate. So lets say they do.. Then what? Traditionally… we played with flair from 1 to 15,

and you’re right, de jongh will never be the next mannetjies roux, cause his better and faster and, lol, bigger. His the current juan de jongh. Have a look: big hit on JDJ note that he doesnt get shoved back: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hEfHUU6HWsE

Later in the same match: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3jJq5usPIOQ

Broken colar bone: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zVw9ChoJusE

Tribute: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZEw04Fdztic

• 238.RainbowBanana: Reply to this comment

Why is Morne on the bench again? This is probably Lambie’s last chance at 10 and Jantjies won’t play at all this EOYT? I reckon Meyer wants Morne to start against England. I hope J.de Jongh has a blinder against the Scots!

• 239.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Meyer is learning very slowly, he is very slow learner

The frustration with this dude is more about the slow learning curve he takes to get things right., like trial and error scenarios then eventually when he’s exhausted all his mistakes then he can sit back and say to everyone, ‘see I knew what I was doing all along’..

Same garbage with White he was so far out of his depth through his learning curve he only got it right eventually with some help from circumstance and some help from his friends..

The issue is why can’t they get it right from day one.. why all the anxiety and mistakes and poor selections and all the consternation between players and supporters?

It was far easier to get it right from the beginning than make all those mistakes and then slowly rectify them by trial and error corrections and reactions.

• 240.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Kirchner shouldn’t be there
    Hougaard should be at 9 not at wing
    Jantjies should be starting at 10, Lambie or Taute at 15
    Steyn should be nowhere near the 23
    Alberts should be at 4, Etsebeth at 5
    Cilliers should be starting at 3 meanwhile CJ is on the bench

Nope this dunce still don’t know what the fck he is actually doing.. Meyer is a weak coach and he’s operating by second guessing himself at every turn and taking a gamble on trial and error deductions.

• 241.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@Bell-237: YOH! Awesome post, great video links and VERY true what you say!

Im so glad someone is putting JDJ into perspective.
    We all want a Bok backline that fires
    We want exciting runners
    We want linebreaks
    We want players who can step
    We want players who can tackle

JDJ does it all, and make it look GOOD!

• 242.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

Its an ABSOLUTE joke that Morne is on the bench! When someone like Jantjies doesnt even get a chance.
    It is a JOKE that Hougaard is on the wing and an even better joke that Kirchner is still at 15.

• 243.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Lambie / Taute
    JP
    JdV
    De Jongh
    Mapoe
    Jantjies
    Hougaard
    Vermeulen
    Coetsee
    Louw
    Etsebeth
    Cilliers
    Strauss
    Steenkamp

Heinke, Brits, JdP, Vd Merwe, Botha, Pienaar, Taute / Lambie, Mvovo

That is how Meyer should have played this game if he was anyway near to being a wide awake international coach.

• 244.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-233:

> Juandre Kruger is another player that can extremely lucky that Bekker is out injured.Kruger has been under performing for a while now

If Juandre is underperforming what would you call the listless performances Bekker dished up in the Bok jersey this season?

Bekker is a walking sick note anyway

• 245.willievz: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-239: It is this “learning curve” our coaches seem to need that absolutely piisses me off.

Yet when us bloggers identify a selection / gameplan mistake from the outset, we are told that we are not the coaches and that they know better.

• 246.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@willievz-245: That is it,., that is the most frustrating thing watching these supposedly genius experienced highly paid rookie international coaches make mistake after mistake after mistake.. and eventually when they run out pf every other avenue of trial and error by default or by circumstance they eventually perhaps get it right…. then they want to pat themselves on the back and say how wonderful they are for taking 4 years to get right what they should have been able to identify and see from day ONE already..

how come supporters can see what is so plainly blatantly obvious but these highly paid experienced dunces with all their entourage of advisers and assistants cannot?

• 247.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-205:

> Your tongue prints must be all over Heyneken’s balls!!

Still better than having your head so far up JdJ’s *** you could wear him for a hat, whilst at the same time bending over for Aplon (and providing him with a Coke crate to be able to reach and 1kg of Vaseline bought at Makro)

• 248.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-159: Post61 Another thread

• 249.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-247: poor comeback vicky. :D

• 250.SDT: Reply to this comment

Isn’t it so strange that the three perennial controversial selections ,Steyn, Hougaard and Kirchner are all wearers of the Blue jersey.If any of these guys was a Shark,Stormer or Lion,they would not even be on tour.This blatant favoritism is what will ultimately decide HM,s and sadly,the Boks fate.

• 251.wnbb: Reply to this comment

A quick check.So far I have successfully dealt with the Hougaardt,Juandre Kruger cases today.I refuse to deal with the ZK case because it’s a waste of time due to the currently unproven fact that HM either has an unnatural relationship with Zane or a family member of his.

• 252.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

The site was down for most of the dayI Is this what I looked forward to?
    Boring.Come on P edigree lady Katman,Gunther Dawn.This is uber boring.,

• 253.John1976: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-234: I think the real Pietman is looking for your attention and seems in a combative mood looking at his posts. Please don’t ignore the old bugger sorry uhm “senior blogger”, he is desperate for your attention. :lol:

• 254.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Kid_Senekal-67:
    dis die ding die coach is ver te stadig om enege iets waardeurend raak te sien.. sy strategie en rugby wyse is amper niks eintlik werd nie.

• 255.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-252: And Bakkies

• 256.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Does not look like the worst Bok team at all. They better be ready for war though because Robinson will have the Jocks well up for it.

Weather is forecasted to be (relatively) good at Murrayfield on the weekend.

• 257.ufo: Reply to this comment

Have said several times and have to again…

just because…

i got behind haymaker when he was appointed… but expressed concern over his
    pick-the-short-term-team-for-the-poms-and-the-‘long-term-team’-for-the-rc-plan because if the boks did okay against the poms he would be loath to change anything…

seems that was the least of my worries… but it set the tone of things to come… saying one thing and doing another…

I really do get irritated with his contradictory statements selections explanations…

does he think we have the memories of goldfish…? or does he really just think all bok fans are so farken stoopid…??

he makes it very difficult for bok supporters to get behind him unequivocally…
    and just to be clear… I have been a rugby and bok supporter longer than haymaker has…

he really should show supporters a little more respect and give them a little more credit…

imo…

• 258.ufo: Reply to this comment

got this from wiki…

Juan

Height: 1.77m
    Weight: 87kg

Hougie

Height: 1.79m
    Weight: 90kg

so Juan gives away 2cm and 3kg to Hougie…
    but Juan is “too small”…????

Really…??? Are 2cm and 3kgs what separate the heavyweights from the laaitjies…???

Raymond

Height: 1.78m
    Weight: 78kg

Gio

Height: 1.75m
    Weight: 78kg

so Gio gives away 3cm to Raymond but is the same weight…??

but heyneke and his apostles would have us believe Juan and Gio are too small…!???

• 259.ufo: Reply to this comment

Makes me think of the old Kris Kristofferson song The Pilgrim

He has tasted good and evil in your lounges and your bars,
    And he’s traded in tomorrow for today–
    Runnin’ from his devils, Lord, and reachin’ for the stars,
    And losin’ all respect along the way–
    But if this world keeps right on turnin’ for the better or the worse,
    And all he ever gets is older and around–
    From the rockin’ of the cradle to the rollin’ of the hearse,
    The goin’ up was worth the comin’ down–

He’s a poet, he’s a picker–
    He’s a prophet, he’s a pusher–
    He’s a pilgrim and a preacher, and a problem when he’s stoned–
    He’s a walkin’ contradiction, partly truth and partly fiction,
    Takin’ ev’ry wrong direction on his lonely way back home.
    There’s a lotta wrong directions on that lonely way back home.

• 260.ufo: Reply to this comment

anyway…

really hope juan gets to demonstrate his gangnam style so often on saturday that even Tac and Kwagga and others learn ALL his moves…

and do them in their dreams…

(even if they’re too shy to do them in front of their mirrors…!)

• 261.ufo: Reply to this comment

okay…

that’s my backlog for the day outta the way…

Go Bokke…!!

Juan and Patrick to be our match-winners…!!

• 262.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Bell-237: Good post… The second one in a week.

Been a long time since I have read a couple of posts from a poster on Keo that actually knows whats cutting with Rugger and really enjoys and understands the game…

Will be looking out for your posts…

• 263.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-256: Too true. Scots will be up for a fight… They are probably the one side that has a pack bigger than and possibly as physical as the Boks.

Boks better not be sleep walking into Murrayfield or else they WILL be sent homeward ta think again….

• 264.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Even the players are confused

• 265.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@ufo-258:

Compare apples with apples, like JdJ against his most likely opponent

Centre:

> Juan
    > Height: 1.77m
    > Weight: 87kg

Centre:

Ma’a Nono

Height: 1.82m
    Weight: 106kg

5cm and 18kg

Still not that much?

• 266.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-262:

It was the Mannetjies Roux analogy that got you going. Wan’t it? Just hope that Juan does the business and we see some more gangnam style moves. Taute, Movovo and Brits are the replacements that I want to see make a difference.

• 267.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-265:

The bigger they are, the harder they fall.

• 268.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@ufo-258:

> Hougie
    > Height: 1.79m
    > Weight: 90kg

Compare Hougie to the AB scrumhalves

Piri Weepu
    Height: 1.79m
    Weight: 96kg

Aaron Smith

Height: 1.71m
    Weight: 82kg

Hougie’s lighter than Weepu but still not far off

• 269.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-267:

The smaller they are the easier they get injured

• 270.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-269:

The smaller they are, the further they fly. :D

• 271.David: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-265:
    Nonu is a 12, not 13.

• 272.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@David-271:

Doesn’t matter, comparing centres to centres

Would JdJ not try to tackle him because he’s not a 12?

• 273.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-270:

No, they normally stay home injured during the S15

• 274.David: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-272:
    You were the one who brought up that Nonu was most likely JdJs direct opponent.

• 275.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-266: Mannetjies De Jong came straight from this horses mouth, despite protestations of Skop to the contrary…

Always thought he would have looked better in a Black and White jersey…

I hoped he would have been selected at 12 – Lambieghini and him could have done some mean moves on Sat – a potential combo of note. But happy he’s in the side nevertheless…

• 276.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@John1976-253: checked it out.Dai ouens klink lekker die donner in!! :D . In any case,this post sums up what that site is all about.Stormersboy’s silence is golden. 76Sharks_forever
    November 14th, 2012 at 16:53 SAST
    @ Stormersboy:

I know you and HG are not the best of mates, HG has learnt to overdo the niggle though, I understand the WP okes like Capo and Skoppie drove him to the blogger he is now, but he is old and intelligent enough to have gotten past that and moved on
    You see though boet it’s like my anger in leaving Keo, you maybe thought i was angry with you?? Nope not at all, Transie and his little gat gabba’s is what finally pissed me off, their insulting remarks everyday was enough for me
    I go to talk rugby, not get ssowrn at by a alittle insignificant black dude that is spineless behind a monitor, and of cause he then acts all innocent, lol
    As for Pooms that Nikki woman got under his skin
    0 likes

• 277.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

A place for a “small” 12 in Bok Rugby? Fuckright there is:

Juan De Jong…

Mannetjies Roux

Hennie Le Roux

and even Michael Du Plessis…

Always has been…

• 278.ufo: Reply to this comment

apostle victoria…

you serious…? :lol:

well let’s just pick fifteen 2m 120kg giants and we’ll win everything according to your “logic”… :wink:

your posts just show the lengths to which you will go to try and justify heymaker’s contradictory character…

the only thing your apples prove is you’re a bituva fruit cake… typically you’d rather wait and watch who the opposition select, what they do, how they play etc

and then react to that and try and select players to oppose them directly and a strategy based on what they will do and how they will play… ?

you’d rather not set the pace or create new trends and would rather be a follower of fashion and a copier of trends… and then wonder why we’re always behind the game and playing catch-up…?

pretty unimaginative of you… pretty reactive of you… but don’t fret… that doesn’t surprise me…

creative, proactive, beautiful rugby is anathema to guys like you and heymaker… to you less-endowed-in-the-cerebellum-department-people size is indeed all that counts… rather try and bliksem the opposition into submission with brute force than beguile them skills and finesse and creativity and flair and the top 2 inches… hey…?

guys like you take the easy, lazy way out by just comparing easily compared measurements without taking it further or having the foresight or intelligence to compare skills, ability, talent or flair…

yes… i compared physical measurements too… but only to make the point that they
    don’t make enough of a difference to accept them exclusively over the skills, talent, finesse, flair and intelligence of the marginally smaller players…

“Hougie’s lighter than Weepu but still not far off…”

hahaha…

pull the other one…

• 279.ufo: Reply to this comment

and add heart and courage to that list…

when has JdJ ever shied away from a tackle…???

• 280.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

De Jongh would flatten Nonu please man you obviously haven’t even watched those links that Bell put up for these idiots that still think Olivier or Taute are better options in the Bok midfield to De Jongh

De Jongh pound for pound is possibly the toughest back line player in this country by some distance, he is a better bet at 12 or 13 right now than any other center in the country and that includes Frans Steyn and Jacque Fourie or Taute or JdV. There is not a better No. 12 in SA right now and neither is there a better 13, De Jongh can play either though his better position is actually 12 not 13.

And here is another eye opener for these dumb blue bull supporters

Take a look at this., Who makes the steal in midfield to turnover possession and smack the biggest behemoth of them all Dean Greyling.., yeah WHO stands his ground, steal the ball from out the bully brkers mitts and then gets the momentum going for Kolisi to skin the Bulls backs in half,

Deon Fourie.. another fckup of a blind spot that Heyneke Meyer simply misses seeing his value through his dumb debilitated size is everything philosophy.

Deon Fourie and Siya Kolisi fckd up those big bully brekers between them.. and neither are in Heyneke Meyers eyesight as a Bok necessity.. that shows you what a clown of a dumb delusional debilitated rugby coach this stupid moron dunce is.

take another gander at this .. who turns the ball over then smacks a 120 kg prop backward.. the smallest loosie on the field.. thats who… yup dynamite does come in small packages you dumb bloody doos.. better start believing it..

Deon Fourie, Siya Kolis and Juan de Jongh should have been first names down on the team sheet long before many these other fairy tale palookas who Heyneke Meyer is soft soaping up his little glory singalong family byeenkoms party

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rrr_lLJkKkk&feature=related

• 281.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-276:

Trawling blogs for gossip and to settle imaginary scores with anonymous bloggers you dont even know

What a hollow petty littlecunt…

Begone baldrick… Get a life

• 282.ufo: Reply to this comment

@David-271:
    @David-274:

• 283.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@ufo-278:

Jonah Lomu?

Ever heard of him?

Do you think he would have been as successful or scored so many tries if he was a 78kg smurf?

• 284.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-283: Lomu is a true Rugby great… Truly a “Freak” as pointed out by Will Carling at the time…

A Great… In a great era of rugby…

• 285.ufo: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-283:

thank the mighty universe that you will never be the bok coach… you’ve got the imagination of 4-day old sago pudding… :lol:

yeah… like i said… you’d rather just pick fifteen 2m 120kg cyclops behemoths… and you reckon they’d beat all-comers…??

yeah… right…

don’t stop believing victoria… it’s sweet…

naive… but sweet…

• 286.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-281: oh no Romneyrite pus sy!!It came to my attention that I was the topic of discussion on the dark side.Your mate Sharks lover even had a few posts of your royal highness pasted on there. What the fck is wrong with you Natalians??? :D

• 287.David: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-283:
    How many did he score against the Boks?
    Have you actually played rugby at a reasonable senior level?

• 288.ufo: Reply to this comment

@David-287:

indeed…!!

• 289.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@David-287:
    They had 3 boks covering him, meanwhile Wilson and Cullen tore strips of you guys.

• 290.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Lomu never scored against SA.. never once… little terriers like James Small and Joost Vd Westhuizen and Chester Williams saw to that.. Lomu would not have gotten through Juan De Jongh.. you could bet your house on that.. De Jongh would have cut him down quicker and smarter than James Small and Joost Vd Westhuizen did.

• 291.wnbb: Reply to this comment

83Sharks_forever
    November 14th, 2012 at 17:00 SAST
    @ Puma:
    For sure Pooms, i got so angry with TRanscnut and Crappo that day when i called transie a shack dweller cam so close to calling him another word as he likes to antagonise one, then acts all innocent.
    If i ever get my hands on him i’;; smack the living **** out him lol
    0 likes
    Well, now we know beyond a shadow of a doubt that Sharkslover is a racist of the highest order.He used to deny it on here. :D

• 292.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

WePee esque broadcasting loudly again…

Boring

Outtahere before the Cape Mutual Mas.turbation Society meets again…

and I yawn myself to death…

• 293.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-289:

and was it because goldie and cullen were giants…?

or was it because they were two of the most skillful flair-endowed ABs to ever play the game…?

• 294.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Cullen was a far greater threat than Lomu.. far greater.. far more efficient far more devastating and far more of a threat in every capacity.. and far stronger pound for pound… Christian Cullen’s physical stats probably compare to Juan De Jongh and Gio Aplon.. and Christian Cullen was the real Kiwi threat far more of a devastating runner than Lomu could ever have become.

• 295.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-292: Cherrs.The okes on RT are waiting for you. :D

• 296.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@David-287:

Are you an ex-Bok?

Or International coach?

• 297.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-292: fckoff you little fanny arsed coward go cry with your beloveds who went crying off over yonder litlle fucknut coward

• 298.David: Reply to this comment

@ufo-293:
    One of the finest 13s this century BOD.
    Height 1.78 m (5 ft 10 in)
    Weight 93 kg (14 st 9 lb)

• 299.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@ufo-293:
    Point is the giant of a man did not have to score tries.
    He disrupted normal defenses even without the ball.
    Teams worked there defenses around stopping Lomu….would you not agree?
    Created room for others.
    Btw Cullen is my favourite player and he was the most exciting player to watch.

• 300.David: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-296:
    No, I’m actually Graham Henry. :lol:

• 301.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-284:
    That era was truly great ,riddled with Rugby Greats with freakish abilities. I’ve known Jonah for a long time and he has always suffered most of his life because of his kidney disorder, yet he achieved Greatness despite of this……
    hehe…..sorry for the name dropping….actually when he was still at school took him to a 24 hr touch tournament, most people had not heard of him and the players in my team were sceptical of his abilities because of his size, but when he first touched the ball, he blew the opposition away with a massive step and burnt them on the outside for a guy who was 115 kg….the people loved him

• 302.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@ufo-293:
    You need Balance in the team, not a bunch of 100kg + dingbats.

• 303.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@David-300: Straeuli??

• 304.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-301: Cullen was better.. Jonah was a freak and a monster to stop but Cullen created more devastation with his guile and speed and swerve than Jonah did with his sheer size and bollocking strength.

• 305.ufo: Reply to this comment

hey victoria…

when heymaker next comes to you for his weekly rugby advice session…

please drop a name in his ear… who would make the perfect centre in the world of size-is-king-in-rugby…

he’s even a bull these days…

tell him to pick paul willemse at 12…

that dude is so big the AB centers won’t stand a prayer…

paul would even make jonah look small… that’s gotta make him a fantastic backline player… pity heymaker just can’t see it…

• 306.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-301: NZ is so small,you okes are probably all related. :D . Just joking Te.Great story.

• 307.David: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-302:
    A mixture of the rapier and the broadsword.

• 308.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@ufo-305:
    I head Os du Randt wants to get back a play international rugby.
    Going on HMs plan for the boks, OS believe he would make a fine #12

• 309.ufo: Reply to this comment

@David-298:

exactly…

@Hurricane-299:

yeah… i know… jonah was a phenom…!! and you’re right about everyone having to watch him…

but that doesn’t or shouldn’t detract from the skills of jeff and christian… who would have (and did) score wonderful tries even when jonah was not on the park…

• 310.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@ufo-305:

Funny enough, my one of my favourite centres of all time is Jeremy Guscott, he could sneak through the smallest gaps, and he was no giant either

• 311.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-310: smaller than De Jongh.. and De Jongh would flatten him splat like a gnat

• 312.David: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-303:
    Only if he’s emigrated to Canada.

• 313.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-306:
    Going way back i heard we are all related….brother wnbb

• 314.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-301: I know you guys rate your current ABs – why not, they are world champs… But I tell you now that your AB’s of 95/96 are up there in the Rugby pantheon of Greatest Teams along with the BI Lions of 74 and possibly the Boks of 86 bringing up the rear…

For me anyway despite disagreements to the contrary…

I reckon I could pick a greatest side ever of greatest players from those 3 sides that would smash any side that ever has or ever will play the Great gladiatorial Game…

• 315.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@ufo-309:
    Yep spot on.
    Damn we had some good runners back then.

• 316.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-314:
    Why the Boks of 86?
    Just asking cos i really dont know.
    I hear it a bit on here.

• 317.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@ufo-305:

We’re taking a leaf out of the Stormers playbook, they’ve been playing a Prophalf, or is it a Brockhalf, for the last few years

• 318.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-314: Nice little anecdote though… Good one Te Rangi

• 319.David: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-310:
    I wouldn’t say sneak, he was just too elegant.

• 320.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-304:
    Yes Skop, Cullen was a freak, the most elusive runner the game has seen,perhaps….Jonah a different kettle of fish….both very effective….Nz Rugby have got so much thanks to give to Gordon Tiejtens for bringing so many of our great players through his sevens programme

• 321.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-302:

of course you do… that’s the point i’m trying to make…

@Hurricane-308:

hahaha…

yeah… and with heymakers penchant for retired players Os ticks all the boxes…

size…
    pensioner…
    size…

and..

oh yes…

size…!!

Os at 12 would be through the ABs like Rasputin through Alexandra…

• 322.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-310: Jeremy Guscott
    Full name Jeremy Clayton Guscott
    Date of birth 7 July 1965
    Place of birth Bath, England
    Height 6 ft 1 in (1.85 m)
    Weight 13 st 3 lb (84 kg)
    School Ralph Allen School

• 323.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-311:

If he could catch him, remember players get bigger each generation

The Junior Boks of this years tournament were heavier and taller on average than the 1995 Boks

• 324.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-314:
    HG…I have always rated the 96 Abs as our greatest side…the first series win in Sa brought a tear to my eye……awesome memories

• 325.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-320: Caucau was magic in his prime.. that guy should have played for a top rugby union team, between Caucau, Cullen and Lomu there would be mayhem in open field anytime they touched the ball.

Savea and Dagg not too shabby either but not in the class of Cullen and Caucau

• 326.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-316: Hurri… Great players from that side… A pity we will never ever know how great they could have been…

Uli Schmidt

Danie Gerber

Carel Du Plessis

Michael Du Plessis

Johan Heunis

Just a few of the very best from that team…

Nearly forgot Naas… Loved to hate him at the time though…

Others too

• 327.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@David-312: yeah.vb is a bit straueliesque in his posts tonight. :D

• 328.ufo: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-317:

hahaha…

i like it…!!

he’s certainly got all the skills…

but a bit on the small side i’m sure you’ll agree…
    now he just has to bulk up some more and brok would be the perfect bok centre…!!

• 329.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Johan Heunis was my favourite Bulls player of all time….probably is the only one.Brilliant player .

• 330.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-326:
    Thought so.
    Its one of those things really. You guys seen this team a lot and know the potential of these players yet the world was ripped off by not seeing players of this calibre on the field yearly.

• 331.David: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-314:
    I realise that in SA we reckon the ’74 Lions were awesome, mainly because our selectors were idiots. However, I think that Kiwis might respect the ’71 Lions more.

• 332.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-324: Yeah… Farkit, they also brought a tear to the eye of many a Bok supporter too :wink:

• 333.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

The heavengame.com website did a rating in 2009 to determine the top international backline to have ever taken the field and the 1986 Springbok backline of Garth Wright, Naas Botha, Michael du Plessis, Danie Gerber, Carel du Plessis, Jaco Reinach and Johan Heunis who played against the New Zealand Cavaliers was rated as the fourth best backline ever.

The greatest backline was the 1975 Wales backline who played against France. This was at the end of the great era for Welsh rugby and many of these players had been stars of the British and Irish lions sides touring to New Zealand and South Africa. The backline was: JPR Williams, Gerald Davies, JJ Williams, Steve Fenwick, Ray Gravell, John Bevan and Gareth Edwards.

The 1995 All Black backline that smasched England 45-29 in a World Cup semi-final in which Jonu Lomu scored four tries took second place. The All Black backline that day was: Glen Osborne, Jeff Wilson, Frank Bunce, Walter Little, Jonu Lomu, Andrew Mehrtens and Greame Bishop.

In third place was France against Wales in 1986 consisting of: Fullback: Serge Blanco; Wing: Jean-Bapiste Lafond; Centre: Phillipe Sella; Centre: Denis Charvet; Wing: Eric Bonneval; Outside Half: Bernard Laporte; Scrum Half: Pierre Berbizier.

In fifth place was the Australian backline who beat New Zealand in the 1991 Wolrd cup match in Dublin. This Australian backline was: Fullback: Marty Roebuck; Wing: David Campese; Centre: Jason Little; Centre: Tim Horan; Wing: Rob Egerton; Outside Half: Michael Lynagh; Scrum Half: Nick Farr-Jones.

Now in terms of South Africa that 1986 backline did play exceptionally well against the Cavaliers but personally I think we had some better ones. In 1982 we had this backline against South America: Heunis, Mordt, Carel du Plessis, Danie Gerber, Willie du Plessis, Naas Botha and Divan Serfontein. In my books a better backline than the 1986 one.

In 1981 we had this backline against New Zealand; Gysie Pienaar, Ray Mordt, Gerrie Germishuys, Danie Gerber, Willie du Plessis, Naas Botha and Divan Serfontein, also a better one, I think.

Lastly, in terms of the 1975 Wales backline being their best one and the ultimate backline ever I am not so sure I agree with that either. Fenwick and Bevan never really impressed me. Surely, Wales had better ones namely when Phil Bennett was still on flyhalf.

• 334.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-325:
    Caucau was the most devastating runner agree…probably the greatest of the fijian flyers and theres a heap of them

• 335.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-315:

yip you guys have had many greats…

@Hurricane-316:

they truly were a great side… pity they never got to show their talent more on the world stage… (or got to the 87 wc… :mrgreen: )

• 336.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@David-331: Maybe… But I reckon ask a British Lion who the best BI Lion side was and he will tell you without too much of a pause or doubt – ’74…

• 337.David: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-333:
    Rather with Barry John at 10.

• 338.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-334: Caucau in full flight was poetry in motion.. I not sure who represents purest poetic rugby agility and power and explosiveness between Caucau, Cullen, Danie Gerber, Carel Du Plessis.. or Wilson, Lomu, Phillipe Sella, Campese, and Horan,

For my money Caucau and Cullen were the most exhilarating flyers with a rugby ball in full flight, Du Plessis and Gerber come a close second with Campese, Blanco and Sella 3rd.

• 339.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-330: Combine the 81 Bok side that toured you farkers, the 86 side that thrashed your Cavs, and Lem (Blade) Honiball/Joubert in the mix and I reckon you have the best Bok backline ever…

15 Heunis/Jouba
    14 Mordt
    13 Gerber
    12 Du Plessis
    11 Du Plessis
    10 Honiball/Naas/Tobias
    9 Serfontein

• 340.David: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-336:
    The ’74 pack might have been marginally better, but the ’71 backline was infinitely superior, IMO.

• 341.ufo: Reply to this comment

anyway gents…

been fun… but must take my leave…

to part… some words of wisdom from Van the Man…

“You Don’t Pull No Punches, But You Don’t Push the River…!!”

take care…

• 342.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-336:

The 1971 Lions was basically the resurgence of Welsh rugby because their players dominated the % Nations at the time and also the make-up of the Lions teams of 1971 and 1974.
    Did you know that JPR Williams was a junior Wimbledon champion?
    And did you know that he worked at Addington Hospital after the 1974 tour? He coached tennis instead!

• 343.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-338:
    Blanco for me represented artistry and style personified alot like Andre Joubert….luv watching those types of players who create time through their body movements…..magic

• 344.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@David-340: ’71 Lions might have been great…

’74 Lions are legend…

99 Call…

• 345.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-342:

% – that was a baddie – meant 5 Nations

• 346.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-342: Yeah, Doc JPR Williams… A man of many talents… The toughest man ever to have grown lamb chops…

• 347.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@David-340:

Would love to have seen Gerald Davies and Barry John in 1974. Pity Barry John got injured early on.

• 348.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

15 Jouba, Gysie
    14 Mordt
    13 Gerber
    12 Du Plessis
    11 Du Plessis
    10 Honiball, Tobias
    9 Serfontein

But

HO De Villiers
    Syd Nomis
    Mannetjies Roux
    Joggie Jansen
    Jannie Engelbrecht
    Piet Visagie
    Dawie De Villiers

was a pretty devastating back line in its own right though might be some players that played slightly different era’s then.

Lions back line (tests 2 through 4) in New Zealand in 1971 is right up there with the back lines listed:

JPR Williams, Gerald Davies, John Dawes (c), Mike Gibson, David Duckham, Barry John, Gareth Edwards,

• 349.David: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-347:
    John got injured on the ’68 Lions tour to SA against WP at Newlands. I was there and he was pure magic. He retired after the NZ Lions tour to NZ.
    Both Gerald Davies and David Duckham (wings) refused to come to SA and Mike Gibson was injured and only joined the “74 Lions half way through the tour, but was never really game fit to secure a place ahead of McGeechan.

• 350.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Have to do some mahi(work)….you guys have a good day/night…cheers

• 351.David: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-350:
    Cheers!

• 352.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@David-349:

Now I remember. Gerald Davies was a magician.

• 353.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Perhaps Juan De Jongh is closer to this dude than to Manneties Roux

John Leslie Gainsford

33 tests (1960-1967); 8 tries.
    1.83m; 81.6 kg
    Played in 16 matches (including all 4 tests) in NZ and 5 matches (including the two tests) in Australia during the 1965 tour.

He scored 6 tries (2 test tries) in NZ and 4 tries (1 test try) on the Australia leg of the tour.

• 354.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

When De Jong was picked the trouble in De Doorns stopped. Amazing.

• 355.David: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-352:
    He was. Similar in talent to Carel Dupe.
    Anyway, I’m also off to bed. Cheers all.

• 356.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-338:

Remember Horan and Little against Frank Bunce and Walter Little?

The Aussie centres were good and the press hyped them up but I think Bunce and Little were just a bit harder and better

• 357.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-353:

Wat van Danie Gerber?

• 358.Greenies: Reply to this comment

Does Bambie( Lambie) know how to smile?

sweet *****, theeyoungfella seemed-a-bi(t)-SErious there now on the weekend.
    Maybe an Irish lass or a wee Scaw-tish lass could liven the lad up a wee bi(t).
    Perhaps he should cruise about in a kilt during the week as you do in Maritzurgh. Aye, tha(t) shawd to get his trumpet blawing– literally! he has Scaw-tish ancestry does he no(t) , aye he sure does too!

If De Jongh the shlong wants to dance like a ****** at try time, there are sure to be a few of ‘em bent-as-a-nine-bob-note fellas there in Scots-land antisapating that he scores a try. I bet they bought seats near the goal line too. He shawld be forced to whear a kilt wilst doing so. Hell he could have it velcro-ed to the post so he can rrip it off and stick it on in secs…it would only be respectful doing it in a kilt… And I hope he has a Mustache as it is MOVEMBER. (If you did not know, its to do with raising vital funds and awareness for men’s health, specifically prostate cancer and other cancers that affect men)

Soo, back to the story…
    ONe has to wonder off the pitch, does he practise in front of the mirror , -different styles of dances. He seems te use a different dance EAch time. Perrhaps he does.
    I dO recall Aplon joining him in cellabrashen once apon a time. Perhaps De Jongh has a mirror large enough for the two of ‘em to dance in tandem.
    I mean, How else could they synchronize so well…
    De Jongh likes the r-ride the bull dance, so does Aplon bring the wip…
    Jees, I can piture it all now…
    I best be destracting myself with someTHing Else… this could get kinky…

• 359.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

Nama must be ecstatic that De Jongh has been selected. Suddenly Meyer is not a “racist” anymore and the world is all good again…. :roll:

• 360.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-359:

whatever, trilkop

• 361.poppa69: Reply to this comment

I havent read the whole thread, but havent seen or heard about Robert Ebersohn for a while… is he even in contention for a bok spot? think he has the skills personally..

• 362.David: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-361:
    He’s too small. :roll:

• 363.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Juan De Jongh has scored more test tries than Wynand Olivier did in his entire Bok career, yet you would swear that he’s making his debut if you read what dumbasses & racist morons are going on, even Meyer, speaks of JDJ as if he’s a rookie & Taute (2nd choice Lions centre) is the real deal, only in SA

• 364.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@359, Meyer is still a racist c unt

• 365.Staal: Reply to this comment

same old same old…cheers.

• 366.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

everytime the bulls played the Stormers from 2006 – 2010) WO killed JDJ … everytime!! go look at the review of each game … JDJ lasted only 30 minutes in 3 or 4 games … the only gangnam style move he did was to hospital! the other games he was earl rose std kak! …. JDJ can’t pass and he is overrated! any one with half a rugby brain knows this … if not, go watch you kaizer chiefs kak

• 367.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

LOL guess what bafana bafana lost again ….. bietjie te vroeg om te drink daarop, maar what the hell …. bring die castle

• 368.Bell: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-366: what on earth are getting high on? Mandrax or Tik? Jdj only made his Stormers debut in 2010 and his currie cup debut in 2009!

• 369.Bell: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-366: what on earth are you getting high on? Mandrax or Tik? Jdj only made his Stormers debut in 2010 and his currie cup debut in 2009!

• 370.Bell: Reply to this comment

sorry about the double post, lol

• 371.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

well in 2009 & 2010 then … different year, same result

• 372.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-371:

Different nic still a doos.

• 373.JAWESOME: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-371:

Must admit whenever JDJ faced WO he always got that scared look on his face and never managed to stay on the field for to long

• 374.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-366: Wat a chop, like that stated above, JDJ started his CC career 2009 ans SR career in 2010.

Did WO do anything when we beat your Pink Bulls twice this year in the SR?

• 375.gunther: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-364:

Same old immature comments.

• 376.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@gunther-375:
    Be careful, he’ll start saying your comments are ‘whack’ and that he ‘owns’ you at sports knowledge.

• 377.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Stormers 20 (14)
    Tries
    Tiaan Liebenberg
    Penalties
    Joe Pietersen (4)
    •Peter Grant
    Bulls 17 (0)
    Tries
    Bjorn Basson
    WYNAND OLIVIER
    Conversions
    Morné Steyn (2)
    Penalties
    Steyn

• 378.gunther: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-376:

I blame MTV and the insidious Americanisation of our culture.

#ghettoworship

• 379.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Who appointed you the custodian of what’s mature or what’s not, your bum chommie, Suffer_Guy is paddling a lie about one game, Soweto final, in which WO never even touched JDJ in those 13minutes on the field, but off course you endorse that lie, you can go phack off

• 380.katman: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-364: Then the two of you should get along like a house on fire.

• 381.gunther: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-379:

Suffer guy is as much of a whack job as you are.

Racist tuncs both of you.

• 382.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

there were 3 games where JDJ was owned by WO! i’m not a WO fan … but he is WO’s bunny

• 383.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@gunther-375:

The bowlers struggled in Brisbane. They can blame the track but the lengths they bowled was to short.
    AD’s got to pull finger and work on that over the next few days.

I’m really worried about Tahir’s inevitable inclusion in Adelaide. They got 7 left handers and for leggies that’s their worst nightmare cause you literally bowling into the arc.

If we can fight back from here the Protea’s deserve their number 1 test status

• 384.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

You can all phack off , you bitched know when it comes to facts you aren’t got shyyt, John, you still my *****, I owned you, I know it hurts, but you need to know your shyyt before coming here, not all of us are your buddies who take your lies, grow the phack up

• 385.katman: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-384: Yoh, that’s borderline illiterate.

• 386.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@katman-385:
    Wait till he starts using ‘My Nygga’.

Xhosa, a word of advice, nevergofullghetto.

• 387.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Borderline illiteracy?, what’s that supposed to me,engage your brains, “bitched” was supposed to be “*******”, *******

• 388.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Is everyone dronk this morning

• 389.katman: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-387: Another literacy challenged post. How many fuckups can you make in one short sentence?

• 390.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

‘nevergofullghetto’

• 391.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-382: WO played 37 tests and got owned on every game, does that make him everybodies *****?

• 392.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-388:

Your man Gayle hit a six off the 1st ball in a test match.

First time it has ever been done in over hundred years of test cricket.

• 393.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@katman-389:

give the *** a break. he must be multitasking or something. he usually posts clear, well constructed commetns.

• 394.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-392: Gayle is a boss!!! Doesn’t take **** from no bowler!

• 395.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-393:
    ..?.. wtf..?.. :shock:

g u y

• 396.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-394:
    Must be getting some “goodstuff” in Sri Lanka.

• 397.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

i cant believe g u y has been banned

• 398.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-377: Yup that try he scored was on the wing, because he was so **** scared of the Stormers defence that he asked the bulls wings to stand in the midfield for him. Lolz

• 399.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-396:
    Sorry not Sri Lanka, Bangladesh.

:roll:

• 400.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

John, who the hell do you think you are to tell me what I should or shouldn’t do, I’ll be ghetto or corporate if I feel like, know why??, cause I phucken can, you can’t, that’s your limitation not mine, deal with it

• 401.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-397: The Keo team obviously can’t spell; they probably wanted to ban g a y.

• 402.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-396: Them be Jamaicans, they carry the goodstuff whith them always.

• 403.katman: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-392: That same bowler got him out for 20 something a few overs later though.

• 404.ufo: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-395:

guess you have to spell it correctly first… :wink:

from the recent comments column

“@katman-389: :lol: give the *** a break. he must be multitasking or something. he usually posts clear, well constructed commetns. i_love_u_bakkiesbotha on De Jongh, Steenkamp to front Scots – 9:21 am”

• 405.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-401:

ridiculous really

• 406.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@katman-403: Lolz, that is funny, makes my comment look so foolish, lol.

• 407.ufo: Reply to this comment

@ufo-404:

damn… it ‘stars’ the recent posts in the main column obviously…!! :lol:

anyway Bakks… you did not spell GUY you had an “a” in the middle…

• 408.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@katman-403:

Yes, the crowd nearly set the stands alight after that wicket.

But who the fark hits a 6 off the 1st ball in a test and why did Bangladesh open with a spinner?

• 409.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Katman, you must be a very sad phacker to concern yourself about spelling in forums like these, really sad.

• 410.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ufo-404:
    huh..?..
    flip now you’re just confusing me, ufo. are you saying i did not spell it right, i suppose its possible?

please, break it down for me :lol:

• 411.katman: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-409: I’m trying to help you. Don’t fight it.

• 412.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ufo-407:
    oh i see :lol:

very unintetional

guy :lol:

• 413.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-412:
    god, my spelling is trash.

unintetional = unintentional

• 414.ufo: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-410:

no mystery bud… you made a typo… we all do… :lol:

i checked in the recent comments column and you spelt G-A-Y not GUY…

if you don’t believe me write it out correctly and GUY will mysteriously become UNbanned…

• 415.ufo: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-412:

there you go… :lol:

• 416.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ufo-415:

the interweb hey… its like magic… :lol:

• 417.katman: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-412: I reckon it was a Freudian slip. You know, when you say one thing but you mean your mother.

• 418.ufo: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-413:

sheesh man… don’t worry… who cares…

people shouldn’t worry about spelling and grammar on a rugby blog… if they’re so hung up on such things they should join the ImAGrammarPedant.dom blog

• 419.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@katman-417:

ja, must be my mother, because i dont have a single g a y bone in my body :lol:

• 420.pattyfries: Reply to this comment

How on earth can the useless Zane Kirchner still be in the team? Obviously one of Heyneke’s favorites. He’s a cancer cell in the Boks backline. How can you criticise JP and Hougaard if the Kirchner critter never passes the ball (which he loves doing)? No way is he the way forward for the Boks, nor is he the best 15 in SA.

• 421.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@ufo-418:

Cuold nto hvae siad it bteter.

• 422.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

pattyfries, the only explanation i have for zane’s selection is that HM doesn’t like white people!

• 423.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

UFO,tell that to the spelling cop, Katman

• 424.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-421:

very funny…!!

• 425.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ufo-418:
    yip agreed, thanks ufo .

• 426.Kid_Senekal: Reply to this comment

@Horings-77: Agreed. Pienaar a better option in the rain but if it’s dry I would go with Hougaard. The boy needs a confidence boost.

@pattyfries-420: absolutely. Saturday was a great example where Kirchner could’ve ran at the Irish. He had space and support but still chose to kick the speculative garyowen.

• 427.ufo: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-423:

just posted it to everyone i think… :wink:

• 428.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-419:

Have you been through the “one night in Bangkok test”

Just look for the Adams Apple.

• 429.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-428:

i must admit though, i am amazed at how good looking some of those bangkok/thai ladyboys are :shock: its flippin scary really, you could easily make the mistake of thinking ‘i am gonna have so much fun tonight’… :lol:

• 430.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-429:

And you not exactly sober when you in that environment.

• 431.ufo: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-423:

nobody’s john eales…

we all have our quirks and foibles that either irritate or entertain others at one or other time…

no big deal either way… it’s not that siriaaaas…

katman offers plenty of value to the blog in terms of wry and sharp wit and his loyalty to his team and is good reading most of the time…

as do you and are most of your posts with your passion and sincerity…

as with most people who post… most of the time…

use what resonates with you…

ignore the rest…

• 432.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@katman-385: Hi Katman.Still the funniest
    blogger on KEO.How long is truce set to last?

• 433.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-390: Morning Bakkies.You Good??

• 434.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-353: Got to know John quite
    well at VRFC.He later played for SWD together with Dave Stewart

• 435.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Kid_Senekal-426: Article in Irish Times yesterday said Pienaar best scrummie in world at the moment.

• 436.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

I followed Keo since its inception but only started blogging recently.

I always felt that their is unnecessary racial tension on this site when it comes to coach and player selection. When are we ever gonna come right. It’s like a disease thats killing our rugby and also creates further division on this site by Boks fans that ultimately want the team to do well.

This obviously creates tension within the Bok team environment and none of our opponents have this baggage.

• 437.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-430:

@ryecatcher-433:
    morning Rye, im good thanks
    how are you?

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.