De Jongh, Steenkamp to front Scots

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has picked Juan de Jongh at centre and Gurthrö Steenkamp at prop for Saturday’s Test against Scotland.

De Jongh replaces Jaco Taute at outside centre, while Steenkamp comes into the front row for Beast Mtawarira. The latter player will take no further part on this tour due to a heart condition.

Steenkamp is preferred to start at loosehead ahead of CJ van der Linde and Heinke van der Merwe, who will both sit on the bench. There is no room in the matchday squad for Pat Cilliers.

‘It’s great to have Gurthrö back. We wanted to select him last week, but unfortunately he was not 100% fit,’ said Meyer. ‘Gurthrö is experienced, knows the conditions well and is looking forward to returning to the green and gold as he’s not played for South Africa for more than a year.

‘Juan is in a similar position. Even though he’s played in a number of Tests for us this year, he’s not started for the Boks since last year’s away leg of the Tri-Nations against New Zealand in Wellington.

‘My plan has always been to give him a start on this tour, as he’s been playing very well lately, and I’m excited to see what he brings to the team on Saturday.’

Meyer added that defensive synergy was at the heart of him keeping changes to a minimum. ‘There were some tough calls. I wanted to give some of the youngsters more Tests, but on the other hand we haven’t had a lot of continuity in selection this year and we respect Scotland.

‘Also when I’ve changed the backline in the past our defence has suffered and you saw against the All Blacks that Scotland can really ask questions of your defence.’

As expected, Meyer has persisted with Pat Lambie at flyhalf. However, it is surprising to see that Morné Steyn has been preferred as the back-up flyhalf ahead of Elton Jantjies.

Meyer warned of Scotland’s intent to spoil their breakdown ball and stressed that they would have to counter that tactic. ‘They’ve got a never say die attitude and are hard to the ball. If you don’t get a quick recycle they press you hard and close down your space quickly,’ he said.

‘The breakdown in Super Rugby is refereed differently. Here it is a battle, so if you don’t win the tackle and get the numbers over the ball they can make it very hard for you.

‘On attack they’re quality side and when they had the ball for extended periods against the All Blacks they were superb. There was a 10-minute period that was the difference. We expect a physical and tough game but winning is non-negotiable.’

Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Gurthro Steenkamp.
16 Schalk Brits, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 CJ van der Linde, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Morne Steyn, 22 Jaco Taute, 23 Lwazi Mvovo

437 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

• 1.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Sideshow bob dragons!

• 2.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Ai, again poor performances by bulls not a factor. But Kirchner would be a better bet than Taute if the weather is poor. But as an attacker Kirchner is a permanant hand brake!

• 3.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Thought Jean was getting a rest …….

• 4.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-1: I am not worried about sideshow bob that I can tolerate but Morne “ek is kak” Steyn. Haibo this man is waste! Jantjies should of atleast gotten a bench role in place of Morne. Heyneke is a whack coach.

• 5.Finfan: Reply to this comment

I don’t care what people say but Steyn’s performance on the bench last week was not bad at all and he deserves another chance.

• 6.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Getting better but still not happy with Kirchener at 15 and Houghaard at 11. Would have been a good opportunity to see what Taute can do at 15 and if he´s worthy of being in the Bok squad. Would have given Mvovo the 11 jersey. Houghaard not up to the task.
    On the bench would have kicked Cj´s *** and given it to Pat (who i´m also not very impressed with) and WTF is Morne Steyn still doing there?

• 7.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-5: hear hear lol

• 8.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Hougaard was poor against Ireland, Mvovo also needed gametime. Swak Heyneke Meyer.

• 9.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-4: I just wish Bozo would not call for the ball on attack, he slows down our attack as if he’s in reverse! But he is solid on field position.

JDJ will hopefully vindicate his position. Hope he does some Gundam Style in the in-zone!

• 10.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-5: :lol:

• 11.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-9: Yes agreed Kircnher needs to give the ball to the wings to counter attack.

• 12.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-8: Hougard needs to stop trying so hard,
    he is exalctly where Habana was last year, things just not clicking for him.
    His angles are a little to tight or too loose, his steps just not good enough or his efforts little bit too weak. He just needs to get his joy for the game back, he’s on wing, he has a license to rock and roll, not the boring SH play HM wants to force on him.

• 13.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-9: yes I hope he has a very good game and scores a few tries.

• 14.grant10: Reply to this comment

2 positive changes.

I would of made another 3 though.

M Steyn to row B ….Jantjes on bench.

And Mvovo to left wing…..
    Marcelle to 7…Alberts to bench…

But good changes , HM slowly getting it worked out.

• 15.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-11: JPP is the master of the counter attack, against England and in the SR he was amazing at this. Speed, power and illusiveness.

If Habana was fit than I would have tried JPP at FB.

• 16.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@grant10-14: Agree Morne Steyn to Row B of a Boeing 747.

• 17.Braders: Reply to this comment

Hi really hope Brits gets some game time! We need a bit of X-Factor!!!!!
    Along with De Jong and JP, we might score some tries this weekend!!!

• 18.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-16: Yes….pity Jantjes not getting game time….would have liked to see him get 20 minutes at least against Scotland.

• 19.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

Would have selected Taute at 15, he’s not great but it’s his natural position and he couldn’t possibly offer less than Kirtchner. Also have Hougaard at 9 to move the Scots around and inject some energy into the Boks. Pienaar slows everything right down and the Scots will relish that. Expecting a nerve wracking game with the Boks winning by a couple of points.

• 20.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Poor Elton Jantjies

• 21.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@grant10-18: Yes it would of been ideal. We learn nothing new by having Morne there. Also could of given Rhule a bench spot.

• 22.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Wow 4 people of coloured in the starting line-up.

HM is not a racist after all.

• 23.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

Awesome to see Guthrtho back too. Easily our best loosehead prop.

• 24.Finfan: Reply to this comment

With this team selection, HM is making a statement (“up yours”) to Gwede Mantashe and the other ANC politicians. I am sure that he believes that if he selected Jantjies, Mvovo and Ralepelle, he would’ve condoned political interference in team selection and that would’ve allowed them to bleat on the sidelines after every team announcement.

His selection of Juan de Jongh is only to pacify the rugby public, but it must’ve been a very bitter pill for him to swallow.

• 25.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-22: Mantashe obviously gave the man a call. :)

• 26.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Jeez, some people will never be happy.
    JdJ and JdV playing together is all Ive heard this week.

Now that happens and they still arent satisfied.

• 27.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-22: Could of been more, on the bench even.

• 28.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-24:

“His selection of Juan de Jongh is only to pacify the rugby public, but it must’ve been a very bitter pill for him to swallow.”

Ja nee

• 29.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-26:

Who’s not happy now.

• 30.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-26: Morne Steyn needs to be removed far from the Bok team. No pun intended.

• 31.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-24: The man has never given JDJ a chance to prove himself but gives a unproven noob (Taute) a start against the #1 & 2 teams of the world?! The only reason it would be a bitter pill is if HM has a problem with rewarding form instead of weight and size!

• 32.John Galt: Reply to this comment

This is a good side lads. My personal preference would have been Taute at 15 but I cant complain about this team.

Hopefully the forwards play like they did in the last 40 against Ireland and give this backline something to work with.

Gonna be hard though. The scots with Murray, Ford, Gray, Denton, Strokosh, Brown etc wont be a pushover.

• 33.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-26: It’s the HM faithful that are complaining. They seem to believe that HM was forced to make this selection, but the truth is that JDJ should at least have a chance to prove himself at test level, even though he has done so in the past.

• 34.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-29:
    Read ‘Chip on shoulder ‘ Sasuke. Accusing people of racism because Jaintjies is on the bench when there are 4 players of colour in starting 15.
    I dont think Pdiv even had that amount.

• 35.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-30:
    Why is it that you are happy for Kirchner to be in the side but not happy that Steyn is on the bench?

Considering they are both predominantly non running, kicking, conservative backline players.

• 36.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

This website keeps coming up with warnings about malware and viruses and whatnot, what’s the deal with that? Had to post this from my phone…

• 37.Marty: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-15: Spot on – I would have JPP at fullback now with Hougie and Mvovu on the wings. As Finfan indicated in a previous article, Lambie at 12 would be very interesting. In my opinion, his only future for the boks lies at 12

• 38.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-24:

Hi Fin. I think that if the correct players are chosen in their respective positions the numbers will take care of itself.

Gurthro/Beast has to play if/when fit,
    JPP no brainer,
    Habs if/when fit has to play ahead of Hougaard,
    JDJ needs some game time right now.
    Jantjies deserves his time in the sun.

Kolisi and Mvovo I feel should come into the picture in the not to distant future.

Chilli needs to prove himself once again at the Bulls before he gets another chance.

I think that to risk playing the players mentioned above in the Bok starting line-up is a very small “sacrifice” when compared to the bigger picture.

• 39.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-28: Watch Taute smash into and rough JdJ up during the warm up drills before the match.

“In a late change – two minutes before kick-off – Taute gets his fourth cap in the 13 jersey after de Jongh fractured his jaw in a freak accident during the warm ups.” :)

I hope HM doesn’t read this, it might give him ideas… :)

• 40.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Best of luck to JDJ! Hope you have a blinder.
    Guthro – good call
    Still a few missed opportunities.
    Alberts & Marcel to swop around.
    Mvovo to replace Hougard
    Taute to come on with 30 minutes to go to see how good he is at full back.

Looking forward to a more urgent start this week please Bokke.
    Finish second half strong again, and try for at least a 60 minute performance. I will settle for that at this stage.

• 41.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-39: Taute will be the one carrying the tackle bags ;)

• 42.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-34: Thing is he could of had so much more players of colour on the field and on the bench based on merit. Mvovo a genuine wing surely over a makeshift wing who had a quiet game against Ireland and got left for dead by Earls. Heyneke himself said M.Steyn is not the player he wants on the bench as an impact player, but then he goes and selects him for two consecutive tests on the bench, while a player with way better form gets left out? I am sorry but how do you explain these selections?

@John Galt-35: Kirchner is atleast decent, solid under the high ball and good boot, he has also shown good form this season. Scoring a few tries for the bulls, while Morne Steyn has been poor the whole of the international season. He doesnt deserve a place on the bench imho.

@goodstuff-33: Agreed. Jantjies should also get a chance to prove himself. Morne Steyn has had his chance.

• 43.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-38: Can’t agree more. The fact is that we have numerous highly talented players of colour coming through. The issue is rather whether HM will select them.

• 44.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

If you take Brussouw and Juan Smith out of the equation, Kabamba Floors at 32 is still much better that any loosie in the Cheetahs franchise.

• 45.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Should have Taute at 15, Jantjes on bench, start Heynecke, Rhule on bench.

• 46.Horings: Reply to this comment

If the Boks win this weekend Meyer will be the coach for at least another year.

We will probably play two tests against Italy and one against Canada/ USA/ Samoa/ Fiji next year. This will give Meyer the chance to satisfy everyone and if we have a poor RC he will need to fight for his job on the EOYT next year.

This means you lot will be furious each test week for al least another year.

• 47.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-42:
    You said Hougaard had a bad game against the Irish.
    What about Mvovo’s last outing against the Ausies? He didnt exactly light up the field.
    And Im a Sharks and Mvovo fan.

You cant just name 1 game against the Irish, where all the backline players struggled, as reason to drop a player.

• 48.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Horings-46:

This means he will at least have a 60% winning record with not more than 27% losses. Better than PdV could do in his last 2 years in charge. Like I have been saying all along. PdV came in high, went out low. Heyneke came in low and will go out high. Good investment from SARU after they had a shocker.

• 49.the_rugby_guru: Reply to this comment

@sasuke the only time you’ll be satisfied is when the boys are all black. If anyone is a racist its you. Support the boks for what they are. Not for the colour of their skin.

• 50.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Horings-46:
    Next season more senior players will available for selection.
    Juan Smith, Bismark, Schalk Burger maybe even FDP. and combinations will be settled.

Its not all doom and gloom. :wink:

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.