De Jongh, Steenkamp to front Scots
14 Nov 2012
Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has picked Juan de Jongh at centre and Gurthrö Steenkamp at prop for Saturday’s Test against Scotland.
De Jongh replaces Jaco Taute at outside centre, while Steenkamp comes into the front row for Beast Mtawarira. The latter player will take no further part on this tour due to a heart condition.
Steenkamp is preferred to start at loosehead ahead of CJ van der Linde and Heinke van der Merwe, who will both sit on the bench. There is no room in the matchday squad for Pat Cilliers.
‘It’s great to have Gurthrö back. We wanted to select him last week, but unfortunately he was not 100% fit,’ said Meyer. ‘Gurthrö is experienced, knows the conditions well and is looking forward to returning to the green and gold as he’s not played for South Africa for more than a year.
‘Juan is in a similar position. Even though he’s played in a number of Tests for us this year, he’s not started for the Boks since last year’s away leg of the Tri-Nations against New Zealand in Wellington.
‘My plan has always been to give him a start on this tour, as he’s been playing very well lately, and I’m excited to see what he brings to the team on Saturday.’
Meyer added that defensive synergy was at the heart of him keeping changes to a minimum. ‘There were some tough calls. I wanted to give some of the youngsters more Tests, but on the other hand we haven’t had a lot of continuity in selection this year and we respect Scotland.
‘Also when I’ve changed the backline in the past our defence has suffered and you saw against the All Blacks that Scotland can really ask questions of your defence.’
As expected, Meyer has persisted with Pat Lambie at flyhalf. However, it is surprising to see that Morné Steyn has been preferred as the back-up flyhalf ahead of Elton Jantjies.
Meyer warned of Scotland’s intent to spoil their breakdown ball and stressed that they would have to counter that tactic. ‘They’ve got a never say die attitude and are hard to the ball. If you don’t get a quick recycle they press you hard and close down your space quickly,’ he said.
‘The breakdown in Super Rugby is refereed differently. Here it is a battle, so if you don’t win the tackle and get the numbers over the ball they can make it very hard for you.
‘On attack they’re quality side and when they had the ball for extended periods against the All Blacks they were superb. There was a 10-minute period that was the difference. We expect a physical and tough game but winning is non-negotiable.’
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Gurthro Steenkamp.
16 Schalk Brits, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 CJ van der Linde, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Morne Steyn, 22 Jaco Taute, 23 Lwazi Mvovo

437 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All
14 Nov 2012, 13:28 pm
@the_rugby_guru-49: I support the Boks 100% its just that Heyneke is denying some players oppurtunities.
@Horings-48: Heyneke Meyer is the shocker.
14 Nov 2012, 13:30 pm
@Jeraldjay-50: I am not saying we will have a poor RC. I think this team will go from strength to strength and Meyer will not easily replace the likes of Strauss, Louw, Vermeulen, Etzebeth and Pienaar who came through for him this year. This will only strengthen our situation..
My one wish is for Lambie to really cement his position in the next two tests. If Lambie starts most of the tests next year and Goosen plays mostly from the bench then I will be very satisfied..
14 Nov 2012, 13:31 pm
@Jeraldjay-22:
Nothing that a bit of pressure can’t do.
———————————————————
PdV going to be in the kak again. He says that HM is saying one thing and doing another. Give example of Lambie being chosen on the grounds of his performance in the CC while HM also said that he can’t choose JdJ on the grounds of performances in the CC. He thinks there is something “sinister” going on and that transformation should take place in peoples’ head and not as numbers on the field.
——————————————————————————–
HM: “Even though he’s played in a number of Tests for us this year, he’s not started for the Boks since last year’s away leg of the Tri-Nations against New Zealand in Wellington.”
Really Meyer? A “number of tests?” How many exactly and how many MINUTES in that “number of tests.” Oh yes HM, I believe JdJ started aginst Namibia in the RWC last year.
A few more changes and we’ll be there with the current available players.
Coetzee for Alberts
Mvovo for Hougaard
Lambie for Kirchner
Jantjies at FH
14 Nov 2012, 13:34 pm
@nama1-53: Even PDV makes more sense than Heyneke Meyer.
14 Nov 2012, 13:34 pm
@Sasuke-51: Do you have any arguments against the fact that PdV went out low with a poor record in his last two years and Meyer will have a better record in 9 months time? This while PdV had super rugby winning teams to choose from. He had the most experienced Springbok team ever.
14 Nov 2012, 13:37 pm
@nama1-53: Get me the quote where Meyer said he cannot “choose JdJ on the grounds of performances in the CC”.
14 Nov 2012, 13:43 pm
@Horings-52:
Still feel Goosen is the answer at 10 but must be 100% fit when thrown into the fire.
Lambie had a good game against Griquas, the Bulls in the semi and Province in the final.
Even a game against lowly Scotland requires more ability. I’m not saying that he doesn’t have ability because he does but he is untested at the top level.
Hi Puma.
14 Nov 2012, 13:44 pm
@Horings-55: So its a fact that Heyneke Meyer will have a better record in 9 months time? Where did you buy your crystal ball? Heyneke has had a terrible first year and its all down to his selections and strategies. We have great players but the coach is handicapping them with his strategy. He is a very good super rugby coach but is found wanting at international level.
14 Nov 2012, 13:47 pm
@Horings-56:
You do see that I’m paraphrasing PdV here. He said that in an interview with eNews.
Transie is the expert in looking for archived artcles. I’m sure he’ll be able to provide you with that quote.
14 Nov 2012, 13:48 pm
I see Sport Illustrated is calling Kleinveldt the “one test loser” … lol, no place for quotas to hide in the test match arena!
14 Nov 2012, 13:52 pm
@Sasuke-58: I started by saying if we beat the Scots. Regardless of our result against England we will win the 3 tests thereafter. France will play 3 against the ABs and Australia plays 3 against the BI Lions. Who will we play?
14 Nov 2012, 13:52 pm
@suffer_guy-60:
Hi Capo.
14 Nov 2012, 13:53 pm
@nama1-59:
So you’re paraphrasing PDivvy?!
Paraphrasing someone who once said, among other incredible things, that he was the Mandela of Rugby.
Must be true then.
14 Nov 2012, 13:56 pm
@Horings-61: ok so are we comparing PDV 2nd year to Heyneke’s 2nd year? If so it will be tough for him to surpass that.
We will probably play a 3 test series against Italy yes.
14 Nov 2012, 13:58 pm
A bit off the topic, but has anyone thought of Francois Hougaard as a fullback.
I understand all the fuss about picking players out of position, etc. it fcked up alot of careers over the years.
I think Hougaard will make a very good fullback. He has an adequate kicking game, natural counter attacking instincts and flair and he’s also a very strong defender.
A back three of JPP-Hougaard-Habana would be very exciting to watch.
14 Nov 2012, 14:00 pm
@John Galt-63:
Listen, the man was on the news saying what he did. If I could, I would’ve quoted him verbatim but as you can imagine, I only had that one chance to listen to him. So I tried to give you guys the gist of what he said in case you did not watch the midday news.
—————————————————————————————————
We still have the problem with our unbalance loose trio imo.
Other than that and Hougie on the wing, I’m quite satisfied with this team. Hopefully Lambie will have a better start to the test and put his back line into space.
14 Nov 2012, 14:00 pm
Would’ve given Hougie some gametime at 9 vs. the Scots… as another muppet pointed out Ruan slows the game down. Could play into the Scots’ hands. Heyneke is too scared to take a risk… and I feel too scared to even follow his gut. He took 3 weeks too long to boot Morne Stain and it’s taking him even long to get rid of his safety blanket Kirchner at 15. Ek raak sommer moerig net om Kirchner se naam te tik.
14 Nov 2012, 14:02 pm
@pakslae-65:
Its been discussed.
It would definitely be a bold move by a very conservative HM.
When the topic came up I intially though height would be an issue but HM plays him at wing where the high ball is also a factor.
14 Nov 2012, 14:03 pm
thought.
@Horings-56:
In the mean time, here is an example of the double talk that PdV refers to in that interview:
“Jaco Taute probably had his best Test against Ireland [at outside centre], and we’ll have to see whether we pair Juan and Jaco, who can also play inside centre, and give Jean de Villiers a break.”
(De Jongh set for Murrayfield start…13 Nov 2012)
@Horings-61: The mighty Italy, Scotland and some Tier 2 team.
(from http://www.lionsrugby.co.za/index.php/all-rugby/sa-rugby-news/491-england-first-up-for-springboks-as-tours-return-to-rugby-calendar)
14 Nov 2012, 14:06 pm
@pakslae-65: @pakslae-65: Sounds odd but it could work, reminds me of Stefan Basson of the Bulls and Sevens fame who also went from scrumhalf to fullback.
@Sasuke-64: No you are all comparing PdV first with Meyer’s first. PdV second with Meyer’s 2nd. This is not what we should do. In any business you should look at performance given the circumstances and not independently. Peter de Villiers came in after a World Cup win, but over the last two years he showed a demoralising downward trend. Our performances were not getting any better and the Boks went backwards with PdV in charge. No one can argue this. Meyer came in after two horrid years and to make it worse all the experienced players were not available. What we are looking for is if Meyer can reverse this downward trend PdV was responsible for. If Meyer therefore gets the results I am expecting his term thup to that point will be seen as a success.
@Jeraldjay-68:
Lol… and here I thought I was on to something.
14 Nov 2012, 14:07 pm
@pakslae-65:
I know that Gunther wants him there as well but I think he should 1st play there for the Bulls a bit before we try him there for the Boks. Maybe you guys could petition Ludeke to start him there for the Bulls in the S15 next year.
14 Nov 2012, 14:09 pm
@Horings-73: I thought senior players coached the team under PDV? Can you clarify who the coach was?
14 Nov 2012, 14:09 pm
@Kid_Senekal-67: Hougaard played at 9 against the Scots last time we were there. If it rains it will be a nightmare. I have never seen Hougaard perform well in rainy weather.
14 Nov 2012, 14:10 pm
@pompies2-76: Only a weak person without any vision will allow this.
14 Nov 2012, 14:16 pm
@Horings-78: I was under the impression PDV clearly articulated his vision. Problem was, the old dogs were not prepared to learn old new tricks. The irony his HM is also struggling to teach his dogs tricks. In fact, they look more like mutts than dogs.
Only recently people haven cottoned onto the fact that the entrenched mindset South Africans have about the playing of rugby is holding them back. If players were susceptible to being challenged and were open to the idea that rugby can be played in a different way, we might not have been sitting in the predicament.
At the end of the day results talk. No excuses. If HM doesn’t rack up the wins, he must start gardening or being a mechanic.
14 Nov 2012, 14:16 pm
@Horings-73:
Some people will argue that if not for a poor performathe 1/4 final of the RWC, the Boks would’ve won the tournament.
The Boks played good rugby in the RWC apart from the 1st match against Wales.
You obviously hope and pray that you upward trend theory by HM will realize. We’ll only be able to see in 2015 if you were right. For now, his record ain’t that flash and people, rightly so, criticize him for it. He could’ve and should’ve done much better but for his poor selections and sterile game plan. Even you can agree to that.
14 Nov 2012, 14:19 pm
performathe 1/4 final of the RWC = performance in the 1/4 final of the RWC
Fingers quicker than my brain.
14 Nov 2012, 14:20 pm
@pompies2-79: Only a fool will move entirely away from our strengths. How do you think did the Bulls got their success? By playing the same style they always played? No, keeping to our strengths, but incorporating some flair as time moved on.
Make no mistake I like PdV. He reminds me of a Wynie Strydom character. Sort of a cheerleader, but he was no coach.
14 Nov 2012, 14:23 pm
@Horings-82: Hows that playing to your strengths thing going for the Bulls? Check that mantra. Master the basics of the game and pick players who aren’t afraid to fail.
Funny thing is, PDV’s got quite a few medals for his team’s achievements.
14 Nov 2012, 14:24 pm
@nama1-80: Taking into account we played with less experience in our pack against Aus in the first test than either Smit or Matfield had against NZ I am more than satisfied with our forwards this year. We also turned things around against Ireland, which much more experienced teams could never do.
Our backline play has not been good. His continuous selection of Steyn was not good.
So I will say some good things and some bad. At least he has selected 3 other flyhalves ahead of Steyn since he dropped him.
14 Nov 2012, 14:24 pm
@nama1-66: At least we knew PDV was going to say something stupid and he warned HM it is a tuff road as national coach. HM keeps contradicting himself with size form in CC, not making to many changes, the game plan is the right one etc etc
14 Nov 2012, 14:28 pm
@pompies2-83: Not good at all. Funny thing is we are not playing to our strength. Our basics wemt out of the window. If you followed the Bulls closely you would understand our frustration.
Even though we won everything in 2009 PdV did not get the coach of the year award. Seems to me I am not the only one thinking he was a muppet.
14 Nov 2012, 14:29 pm
@Horings-82: Another things is, ask any international head coach how much coaching they do. This is why they have assistants. Head coaches create a harmonious, results-driven environment wherre players can thrive. The make sure they employ the correct strategy to counter opposition and they play a big role in team selection. I’ll use the analogy of soccer. Alex Ferguson is the manager of Man Utd. Utd also have a coach. SAF relays tactics and gameplan to the coaches who transfer this to the players, all under the watchful eye of SAF. Come game day, SAF’s strengths come to the for. Tactical changes, man management and thinking on his feet.
14 Nov 2012, 14:30 pm
Check Here
Do you think HM has a backhand agreement with Krusty, he may take a % of his match fee
Think About it, you pay you play !!!!
you never know
How else would such a sh ! te player be consistantly selected, it should be Ludick there
by faaaaar the best 15 in this land
14 Nov 2012, 14:30 pm
@Horings-86: Better to have the medals than have people think you’re the messiah. We’ll disagree till the world ends, so to each his own.
14 Nov 2012, 14:34 pm
@pompies2-83: It is like any political appointment. Things are looking good for a short term and then there’s chaos. Then you get the actual best person for the job to turn things around.
Just note I am referring to a political appointment NOT a black vs white appointment. Sizwe Nxasana of First Rand vs Maria Ramos of Absa is a prime example. AC will be a good appointment for Bok coach if he is selected.
14 Nov 2012, 14:35 pm
I am hopeful that Juandre Kruger has a better game. And when Flip comes on for Eben (if indeed) that he at least looks for more work and earns his 100k odd. Seriously, with all that fitness and conditioning and strength work, some of these guys come on as subs and look “disinterested”. I want to see more of a Marcel Coetzee balls to the wall attitude. CJ also does not blow up my skirt. While I’m at it, perhaps Willem A needs to also catch a wake-up! Ok vent over.
14 Nov 2012, 14:41 pm
Guys like Raymond and Arno are learning our structures and culture. I’ve always believed in not pushing youngsters too early- Heyneke Meyer
14 Nov 2012, 14:42 pm
Well this must mean Elton’s a shoe-in for the england game…!!!
I mean…why else would he be there. Surely not to hold bags and give shoeshines??
14 Nov 2012, 14:44 pm
In other news
Robbie Kempson has been arrested after an off-the ball incident at the Bermuda World Rugby Classic left a USA player in a neck brace.
14 Nov 2012, 14:45 pm
@Loki-91:
Agree on Alberts. He needs to catch a moerse wake-up.
The odd big hit here and there does not cut it for me. Some people are satisfied with that though.
14 Nov 2012, 14:46 pm
@pompies2-87: This is exactly why Meyer is the man for the job. He is an inspirational character(although you lot try to think otherwise). Remember Smit saying he now knows why the Bulls are so good after Meyer handed over the jerseys in 2010. How many players wanted Meyer to be at the World Cup final when they could invite someone who had the most influence on their careers.
He has a proven record of installing successful structures, which makes it easier for the players to concentrate only on their game because of the professional support structures.
He is a superb selector. A Provincial coach needs to be an even better selector, because you do not have the luxury to chop and change. The quality depth you have is just so limited and a coach needs to be sure a player has all the necessary attributes when buying a player. Remember how Meyer converted Bakkies from a flanker into a lock. Richard Bands from a hooker to an international prop. He has a very good idea of what it takes to be a success. I even read he was the man who converted the English hooker from a centre to a hooker when he coached Leicester. He also bought Wikus van Heerden and said he will make him a Springbok. Windgat yes, but did he change his game around.
I can write a book on why Meyer is the best man for the job.
14 Nov 2012, 14:47 pm
@fishdish-93: Exactly. I hope he makes the bench for the England game otherwise this tour would of just been a waste of time for him. He could of been working on his conditioning and getting to know the Stormers systems and plays.
14 Nov 2012, 14:49 pm
I can understand the disappointment of Steyn on the bench…….but what is the hype about Elton J anywy
He is mediocre at best (going all Bunny in the headlights @ soccer city)
Im sorry the kid is nothing great !!!!
14 Nov 2012, 14:53 pm
@Horings-84:
Yeah, our forwards did fairly well this year. We’ll probably never again have a pack that can totally dominate the oppsition but as long as we can secure our own ball in the scrums, line outs, rucks (there is a bit of a problem) and win some opposition ball in those areas or just spoil it for them (slowing it down), we’re doing well, I think.
Still just that pick and drive kak close to the opposition goal line that irks the hell out of me. Player after player trying to get over the line on his own only to be tackled back. Meanwhile there are space for the back line to exploit.
14 Nov 2012, 14:55 pm
@fishdish-93:
There is that review thingy coming up. HM has the right numbers on his side even though he never intended using some of them.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All