De Jongh, Steenkamp to front Scots
14 Nov 2012
Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has picked Juan de Jongh at centre and Gurthrö Steenkamp at prop for Saturday’s Test against Scotland.
De Jongh replaces Jaco Taute at outside centre, while Steenkamp comes into the front row for Beast Mtawarira. The latter player will take no further part on this tour due to a heart condition.
Steenkamp is preferred to start at loosehead ahead of CJ van der Linde and Heinke van der Merwe, who will both sit on the bench. There is no room in the matchday squad for Pat Cilliers.
‘It’s great to have Gurthrö back. We wanted to select him last week, but unfortunately he was not 100% fit,’ said Meyer. ‘Gurthrö is experienced, knows the conditions well and is looking forward to returning to the green and gold as he’s not played for South Africa for more than a year.
‘Juan is in a similar position. Even though he’s played in a number of Tests for us this year, he’s not started for the Boks since last year’s away leg of the Tri-Nations against New Zealand in Wellington.
‘My plan has always been to give him a start on this tour, as he’s been playing very well lately, and I’m excited to see what he brings to the team on Saturday.’
Meyer added that defensive synergy was at the heart of him keeping changes to a minimum. ‘There were some tough calls. I wanted to give some of the youngsters more Tests, but on the other hand we haven’t had a lot of continuity in selection this year and we respect Scotland.
‘Also when I’ve changed the backline in the past our defence has suffered and you saw against the All Blacks that Scotland can really ask questions of your defence.’
As expected, Meyer has persisted with Pat Lambie at flyhalf. However, it is surprising to see that Morné Steyn has been preferred as the back-up flyhalf ahead of Elton Jantjies.
Meyer warned of Scotland’s intent to spoil their breakdown ball and stressed that they would have to counter that tactic. ‘They’ve got a never say die attitude and are hard to the ball. If you don’t get a quick recycle they press you hard and close down your space quickly,’ he said.
‘The breakdown in Super Rugby is refereed differently. Here it is a battle, so if you don’t win the tackle and get the numbers over the ball they can make it very hard for you.
‘On attack they’re quality side and when they had the ball for extended periods against the All Blacks they were superb. There was a 10-minute period that was the difference. We expect a physical and tough game but winning is non-negotiable.’
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Gurthro Steenkamp.
16 Schalk Brits, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 CJ van der Linde, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Morne Steyn, 22 Jaco Taute, 23 Lwazi Mvovo

437 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 » Show All
14 Nov 2012, 19:05 pm
A quick check.So far I have successfully dealt with the Hougaardt,Juandre Kruger cases today.I refuse to deal with the ZK case because it’s a waste of time due to the currently unproven fact that HM either has an unnatural relationship with Zane or a family member of his.
14 Nov 2012, 19:12 pm
The site was down for most of the dayI Is this what I looked forward to?
Boring.Come on P edigree lady Katman,Gunther Dawn.This is uber boring.,
14 Nov 2012, 19:13 pm
@wnbb-234: I think the real Pietman is looking for your attention and seems in a combative mood looking at his posts. Please don’t ignore the old bugger sorry uhm “senior blogger”, he is desperate for your attention.
14 Nov 2012, 19:18 pm
@Kid_Senekal-67:
dis die ding die coach is ver te stadig om enege iets waardeurend raak te sien.. sy strategie en rugby wyse is amper niks eintlik werd nie.
14 Nov 2012, 19:20 pm
@ryecatcher-252: And Bakkies
14 Nov 2012, 19:21 pm
Does not look like the worst Bok team at all. They better be ready for war though because Robinson will have the Jocks well up for it.
Weather is forecasted to be (relatively) good at Murrayfield on the weekend.
14 Nov 2012, 19:53 pm
Have said several times and have to again…
just because…
i got behind haymaker when he was appointed… but expressed concern over his
pick-the-short-term-team-for-the-poms-and-the-‘long-term-team’-for-the-rc-plan because if the boks did okay against the poms he would be loath to change anything…
seems that was the least of my worries… but it set the tone of things to come… saying one thing and doing another…
I really do get irritated with his contradictory statements selections explanations…
does he think we have the memories of goldfish…? or does he really just think all bok fans are so farken stoopid…??
he makes it very difficult for bok supporters to get behind him unequivocally…
and just to be clear… I have been a rugby and bok supporter longer than haymaker has…
he really should show supporters a little more respect and give them a little more credit…
imo…
14 Nov 2012, 19:54 pm
got this from wiki…
Juan
Height: 1.77m
Weight: 87kg
Hougie
Height: 1.79m
Weight: 90kg
so Juan gives away 2cm and 3kg to Hougie…
but Juan is “too small”…????
Really…??? Are 2cm and 3kgs what separate the heavyweights from the laaitjies…???
Raymond
Height: 1.78m
Weight: 78kg
Gio
Height: 1.75m
Weight: 78kg
so Gio gives away 3cm to Raymond but is the same weight…??
but heyneke and his apostles would have us believe Juan and Gio are too small…!???
14 Nov 2012, 19:56 pm
Makes me think of the old Kris Kristofferson song The Pilgrim
He has tasted good and evil in your lounges and your bars,
And he’s traded in tomorrow for today–
Runnin’ from his devils, Lord, and reachin’ for the stars,
And losin’ all respect along the way–
But if this world keeps right on turnin’ for the better or the worse,
And all he ever gets is older and around–
From the rockin’ of the cradle to the rollin’ of the hearse,
The goin’ up was worth the comin’ down–
He’s a poet, he’s a picker–
He’s a prophet, he’s a pusher–
He’s a pilgrim and a preacher, and a problem when he’s stoned–
He’s a walkin’ contradiction, partly truth and partly fiction,
Takin’ ev’ry wrong direction on his lonely way back home.
There’s a lotta wrong directions on that lonely way back home.
14 Nov 2012, 19:59 pm
anyway…
really hope juan gets to demonstrate his gangnam style so often on saturday that even Tac and Kwagga and others learn ALL his moves…
and do them in their dreams…
(even if they’re too shy to do them in front of their mirrors…!)
14 Nov 2012, 20:00 pm
okay…
that’s my backlog for the day outta the way…
Go Bokke…!!
Juan and Patrick to be our match-winners…!!
14 Nov 2012, 20:03 pm
@Bell-237: Good post… The second one in a week.
Been a long time since I have read a couple of posts from a poster on Keo that actually knows whats cutting with Rugger and really enjoys and understands the game…
Will be looking out for your posts…
14 Nov 2012, 20:08 pm
@Big Hit-256: Too true. Scots will be up for a fight… They are probably the one side that has a pack bigger than and possibly as physical as the Boks.
Boks better not be sleep walking into Murrayfield or else they WILL be sent homeward ta think again….
14 Nov 2012, 20:11 pm
Even the players are confused
14 Nov 2012, 20:29 pm
@ufo-258:
Compare apples with apples, like JdJ against his most likely opponent
Centre:
> Juan
> Height: 1.77m
> Weight: 87kg
Centre:
Ma’a Nono
Height: 1.82m
Weight: 106kg
5cm and 18kg
Still not that much?
14 Nov 2012, 20:35 pm
@Heavens Game-262:
It was the Mannetjies Roux analogy that got you going. Wan’t it? Just hope that Juan does the business and we see some more gangnam style moves. Taute, Movovo and Brits are the replacements that I want to see make a difference.
14 Nov 2012, 20:36 pm
@victoriabok-265:
The bigger they are, the harder they fall.
14 Nov 2012, 20:43 pm
@ufo-258:
> Hougie
> Height: 1.79m
> Weight: 90kg
Compare Hougie to the AB scrumhalves
Piri Weepu
Height: 1.79m
Weight: 96kg
Aaron Smith
Height: 1.71m
Weight: 82kg
Hougie’s lighter than Weepu but still not far off
14 Nov 2012, 20:48 pm
@I am a stormer-267:
The smaller they are the easier they get injured
14 Nov 2012, 20:54 pm
@victoriabok-269:
The smaller they are, the further they fly.
14 Nov 2012, 20:55 pm
@victoriabok-265:
Nonu is a 12, not 13.
14 Nov 2012, 21:03 pm
@David-271:
Doesn’t matter, comparing centres to centres
Would JdJ not try to tackle him because he’s not a 12?
14 Nov 2012, 21:05 pm
@I am a stormer-270:
No, they normally stay home injured during the S15
14 Nov 2012, 21:06 pm
@victoriabok-272:
You were the one who brought up that Nonu was most likely JdJs direct opponent.
14 Nov 2012, 21:08 pm
@I am a stormer-266: Mannetjies De Jong came straight from this horses mouth, despite protestations of Skop to the contrary…
Always thought he would have looked better in a Black and White jersey…
I hoped he would have been selected at 12 – Lambieghini and him could have done some mean moves on Sat – a potential combo of note. But happy he’s in the side nevertheless…
14 Nov 2012, 21:10 pm
@John1976-253: checked it out.Dai ouens klink lekker die donner in!!
. In any case,this post sums up what that site is all about.Stormersboy’s silence is golden. 76Sharks_forever
November 14th, 2012 at 16:53 SAST
@ Stormersboy:
I know you and HG are not the best of mates, HG has learnt to overdo the niggle though, I understand the WP okes like Capo and Skoppie drove him to the blogger he is now, but he is old and intelligent enough to have gotten past that and moved on
You see though boet it’s like my anger in leaving Keo, you maybe thought i was angry with you?? Nope not at all, Transie and his little gat gabba’s is what finally pissed me off, their insulting remarks everyday was enough for me
I go to talk rugby, not get ssowrn at by a alittle insignificant black dude that is spineless behind a monitor, and of cause he then acts all innocent, lol
As for Pooms that Nikki woman got under his skin
0 likes
14 Nov 2012, 21:14 pm
A place for a “small” 12 in Bok Rugby? Fuckright there is:
Juan De Jong…
Mannetjies Roux
Hennie Le Roux
and even Michael Du Plessis…
Always has been…
14 Nov 2012, 21:16 pm
apostle victoria…
you serious…?
well let’s just pick fifteen 2m 120kg giants and we’ll win everything according to your “logic”…
your posts just show the lengths to which you will go to try and justify heymaker’s contradictory character…
the only thing your apples prove is you’re a bituva fruit cake… typically you’d rather wait and watch who the opposition select, what they do, how they play etc
and then react to that and try and select players to oppose them directly and a strategy based on what they will do and how they will play… ?
you’d rather not set the pace or create new trends and would rather be a follower of fashion and a copier of trends… and then wonder why we’re always behind the game and playing catch-up…?
pretty unimaginative of you… pretty reactive of you… but don’t fret… that doesn’t surprise me…
creative, proactive, beautiful rugby is anathema to guys like you and heymaker… to you less-endowed-in-the-cerebellum-department-people size is indeed all that counts… rather try and bliksem the opposition into submission with brute force than beguile them skills and finesse and creativity and flair and the top 2 inches… hey…?
guys like you take the easy, lazy way out by just comparing easily compared measurements without taking it further or having the foresight or intelligence to compare skills, ability, talent or flair…
yes… i compared physical measurements too… but only to make the point that they
don’t make enough of a difference to accept them exclusively over the skills, talent, finesse, flair and intelligence of the marginally smaller players…
“Hougie’s lighter than Weepu but still not far off…”
hahaha…
pull the other one…
14 Nov 2012, 21:17 pm
and add heart and courage to that list…
when has JdJ ever shied away from a tackle…???
14 Nov 2012, 21:18 pm
De Jongh would flatten Nonu please man you obviously haven’t even watched those links that Bell put up for these idiots that still think Olivier or Taute are better options in the Bok midfield to De Jongh
De Jongh pound for pound is possibly the toughest back line player in this country by some distance, he is a better bet at 12 or 13 right now than any other center in the country and that includes Frans Steyn and Jacque Fourie or Taute or JdV. There is not a better No. 12 in SA right now and neither is there a better 13, De Jongh can play either though his better position is actually 12 not 13.
And here is another eye opener for these dumb blue bull supporters
Take a look at this., Who makes the steal in midfield to turnover possession and smack the biggest behemoth of them all Dean Greyling.., yeah WHO stands his ground, steal the ball from out the bully brkers mitts and then gets the momentum going for Kolisi to skin the Bulls backs in half,
Deon Fourie.. another fckup of a blind spot that Heyneke Meyer simply misses seeing his value through his dumb debilitated size is everything philosophy.
Deon Fourie and Siya Kolisi fckd up those big bully brekers between them.. and neither are in Heyneke Meyers eyesight as a Bok necessity.. that shows you what a clown of a dumb delusional debilitated rugby coach this stupid moron dunce is.
take another gander at this .. who turns the ball over then smacks a 120 kg prop backward.. the smallest loosie on the field.. thats who… yup dynamite does come in small packages you dumb bloody doos.. better start believing it..
Deon Fourie, Siya Kolis and Juan de Jongh should have been first names down on the team sheet long before many these other fairy tale palookas who Heyneke Meyer is soft soaping up his little glory singalong family byeenkoms party
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rrr_lLJkKkk&feature=related
14 Nov 2012, 21:19 pm
@wnbb-276:
Trawling blogs for gossip and to settle imaginary scores with anonymous bloggers you dont even know
What a hollow petty littlecunt…
Begone baldrick… Get a life
14 Nov 2012, 21:20 pm
@David-271:
@David-274:
14 Nov 2012, 21:22 pm
@ufo-278:
Jonah Lomu?
Ever heard of him?
Do you think he would have been as successful or scored so many tries if he was a 78kg smurf?
14 Nov 2012, 21:27 pm
@victoriabok-283: Lomu is a true Rugby great… Truly a “Freak” as pointed out by Will Carling at the time…
A Great… In a great era of rugby…
14 Nov 2012, 21:31 pm
@victoriabok-283:
thank the mighty universe that you will never be the bok coach… you’ve got the imagination of 4-day old sago pudding…
yeah… like i said… you’d rather just pick fifteen 2m 120kg cyclops behemoths… and you reckon they’d beat all-comers…??
yeah… right…
don’t stop believing victoria… it’s sweet…
naive… but sweet…
@Heavens Game-281: oh no Romneyrite pus sy!!It came to my attention that I was the topic of discussion on the dark side.Your mate Sharks lover even had a few posts of your royal highness pasted on there. What the fck is wrong with you Natalians???
@victoriabok-283:
How many did he score against the Boks?
Have you actually played rugby at a reasonable senior level?
14 Nov 2012, 21:32 pm
@David-287:
indeed…!!
14 Nov 2012, 21:34 pm
@David-287:
They had 3 boks covering him, meanwhile Wilson and Cullen tore strips of you guys.
14 Nov 2012, 21:34 pm
Lomu never scored against SA.. never once… little terriers like James Small and Joost Vd Westhuizen and Chester Williams saw to that.. Lomu would not have gotten through Juan De Jongh.. you could bet your house on that.. De Jongh would have cut him down quicker and smarter than James Small and Joost Vd Westhuizen did.
14 Nov 2012, 21:35 pm
83Sharks_forever
November 14th, 2012 at 17:00 SAST
@ Puma:
For sure Pooms, i got so angry with TRanscnut and Crappo that day when i called transie a shack dweller cam so close to calling him another word as he likes to antagonise one, then acts all innocent.
If i ever get my hands on him i’;; smack the living **** out him lol
0 likes
Well, now we know beyond a shadow of a doubt that Sharkslover is a racist of the highest order.He used to deny it on here.
14 Nov 2012, 21:36 pm
WePee esque broadcasting loudly again…
Boring
Outtahere before the Cape Mutual Mas.turbation Society meets again…
and I yawn myself to death…
14 Nov 2012, 21:37 pm
@Hurricane-289:
and was it because goldie and cullen were giants…?
or was it because they were two of the most skillful flair-endowed ABs to ever play the game…?
14 Nov 2012, 21:37 pm
Cullen was a far greater threat than Lomu.. far greater.. far more efficient far more devastating and far more of a threat in every capacity.. and far stronger pound for pound… Christian Cullen’s physical stats probably compare to Juan De Jongh and Gio Aplon.. and Christian Cullen was the real Kiwi threat far more of a devastating runner than Lomu could ever have become.
14 Nov 2012, 21:38 pm
@Heavens Game-292: Cherrs.The okes on RT are waiting for you.
14 Nov 2012, 21:39 pm
@David-287:
Are you an ex-Bok?
Or International coach?
@Heavens Game-292: fckoff you little fanny arsed coward go cry with your beloveds who went crying off over yonder litlle fucknut coward
@ufo-293:
One of the finest 13s this century BOD.
Height 1.78 m (5 ft 10 in)
Weight 93 kg (14 st 9 lb)
14 Nov 2012, 21:42 pm
@ufo-293:
Point is the giant of a man did not have to score tries.
He disrupted normal defenses even without the ball.
Teams worked there defenses around stopping Lomu….would you not agree?
Created room for others.
Btw Cullen is my favourite player and he was the most exciting player to watch.
14 Nov 2012, 21:42 pm
@victoriabok-296:
No, I’m actually Graham Henry.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 » Show All