De Jongh, Steenkamp to front Scots

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has picked Juan de Jongh at centre and Gurthrö Steenkamp at prop for Saturday’s Test against Scotland.

De Jongh replaces Jaco Taute at outside centre, while Steenkamp comes into the front row for Beast Mtawarira. The latter player will take no further part on this tour due to a heart condition.

Steenkamp is preferred to start at loosehead ahead of CJ van der Linde and Heinke van der Merwe, who will both sit on the bench. There is no room in the matchday squad for Pat Cilliers.

‘It’s great to have Gurthrö back. We wanted to select him last week, but unfortunately he was not 100% fit,’ said Meyer. ‘Gurthrö is experienced, knows the conditions well and is looking forward to returning to the green and gold as he’s not played for South Africa for more than a year.

‘Juan is in a similar position. Even though he’s played in a number of Tests for us this year, he’s not started for the Boks since last year’s away leg of the Tri-Nations against New Zealand in Wellington.

‘My plan has always been to give him a start on this tour, as he’s been playing very well lately, and I’m excited to see what he brings to the team on Saturday.’

Meyer added that defensive synergy was at the heart of him keeping changes to a minimum. ‘There were some tough calls. I wanted to give some of the youngsters more Tests, but on the other hand we haven’t had a lot of continuity in selection this year and we respect Scotland.

‘Also when I’ve changed the backline in the past our defence has suffered and you saw against the All Blacks that Scotland can really ask questions of your defence.’

As expected, Meyer has persisted with Pat Lambie at flyhalf. However, it is surprising to see that Morné Steyn has been preferred as the back-up flyhalf ahead of Elton Jantjies.

Meyer warned of Scotland’s intent to spoil their breakdown ball and stressed that they would have to counter that tactic. ‘They’ve got a never say die attitude and are hard to the ball. If you don’t get a quick recycle they press you hard and close down your space quickly,’ he said.

‘The breakdown in Super Rugby is refereed differently. Here it is a battle, so if you don’t win the tackle and get the numbers over the ball they can make it very hard for you.

‘On attack they’re quality side and when they had the ball for extended periods against the All Blacks they were superb. There was a 10-minute period that was the difference. We expect a physical and tough game but winning is non-negotiable.’

Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Gurthro Steenkamp.
16 Schalk Brits, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 CJ van der Linde, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Morne Steyn, 22 Jaco Taute, 23 Lwazi Mvovo

437 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All

• 351.David: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-350:
    Cheers!

• 352.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@David-349:

Now I remember. Gerald Davies was a magician.

• 353.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Perhaps Juan De Jongh is closer to this dude than to Manneties Roux

John Leslie Gainsford

33 tests (1960-1967); 8 tries.
    1.83m; 81.6 kg
    Played in 16 matches (including all 4 tests) in NZ and 5 matches (including the two tests) in Australia during the 1965 tour.

He scored 6 tries (2 test tries) in NZ and 4 tries (1 test try) on the Australia leg of the tour.

• 354.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

When De Jong was picked the trouble in De Doorns stopped. Amazing.

• 355.David: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-352:
    He was. Similar in talent to Carel Dupe.
    Anyway, I’m also off to bed. Cheers all.

• 356.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-338:

Remember Horan and Little against Frank Bunce and Walter Little?

The Aussie centres were good and the press hyped them up but I think Bunce and Little were just a bit harder and better

• 357.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-353:

Wat van Danie Gerber?

• 358.Greenies: Reply to this comment

Does Bambie( Lambie) know how to smile?

sweet *****, theeyoungfella seemed-a-bi(t)-SErious there now on the weekend.
    Maybe an Irish lass or a wee Scaw-tish lass could liven the lad up a wee bi(t).
    Perhaps he should cruise about in a kilt during the week as you do in Maritzurgh. Aye, tha(t) shawd to get his trumpet blawing– literally! he has Scaw-tish ancestry does he no(t) , aye he sure does too!

If De Jongh the shlong wants to dance like a ****** at try time, there are sure to be a few of ‘em bent-as-a-nine-bob-note fellas there in Scots-land antisapating that he scores a try. I bet they bought seats near the goal line too. He shawld be forced to whear a kilt wilst doing so. Hell he could have it velcro-ed to the post so he can rrip it off and stick it on in secs…it would only be respectful doing it in a kilt… And I hope he has a Mustache as it is MOVEMBER. (If you did not know, its to do with raising vital funds and awareness for men’s health, specifically prostate cancer and other cancers that affect men)

Soo, back to the story…
    ONe has to wonder off the pitch, does he practise in front of the mirror , -different styles of dances. He seems te use a different dance EAch time. Perrhaps he does.
    I dO recall Aplon joining him in cellabrashen once apon a time. Perhaps De Jongh has a mirror large enough for the two of ‘em to dance in tandem.
    I mean, How else could they synchronize so well…
    De Jongh likes the r-ride the bull dance, so does Aplon bring the wip…
    Jees, I can piture it all now…
    I best be destracting myself with someTHing Else… this could get kinky…

• 359.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

Nama must be ecstatic that De Jongh has been selected. Suddenly Meyer is not a “racist” anymore and the world is all good again…. :roll:

• 360.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-359:

whatever, trilkop

• 361.poppa69: Reply to this comment

I havent read the whole thread, but havent seen or heard about Robert Ebersohn for a while… is he even in contention for a bok spot? think he has the skills personally..

• 362.David: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-361:
    He’s too small. :roll:

• 363.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Juan De Jongh has scored more test tries than Wynand Olivier did in his entire Bok career, yet you would swear that he’s making his debut if you read what dumbasses & racist morons are going on, even Meyer, speaks of JDJ as if he’s a rookie & Taute (2nd choice Lions centre) is the real deal, only in SA

• 364.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@359, Meyer is still a racist c unt

• 365.Staal: Reply to this comment

same old same old…cheers.

• 366.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

everytime the bulls played the Stormers from 2006 – 2010) WO killed JDJ … everytime!! go look at the review of each game … JDJ lasted only 30 minutes in 3 or 4 games … the only gangnam style move he did was to hospital! the other games he was earl rose std kak! …. JDJ can’t pass and he is overrated! any one with half a rugby brain knows this … if not, go watch you kaizer chiefs kak

• 367.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

LOL guess what bafana bafana lost again ….. bietjie te vroeg om te drink daarop, maar what the hell …. bring die castle

• 368.Bell: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-366: what on earth are getting high on? Mandrax or Tik? Jdj only made his Stormers debut in 2010 and his currie cup debut in 2009!

• 369.Bell: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-366: what on earth are you getting high on? Mandrax or Tik? Jdj only made his Stormers debut in 2010 and his currie cup debut in 2009!

• 370.Bell: Reply to this comment

sorry about the double post, lol

• 371.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

well in 2009 & 2010 then … different year, same result

• 372.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-371:

Different nic still a doos.

• 373.JAWESOME: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-371:

Must admit whenever JDJ faced WO he always got that scared look on his face and never managed to stay on the field for to long

• 374.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-366: Wat a chop, like that stated above, JDJ started his CC career 2009 ans SR career in 2010.

Did WO do anything when we beat your Pink Bulls twice this year in the SR?

• 375.gunther: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-364:

Same old immature comments.

• 376.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@gunther-375:
    Be careful, he’ll start saying your comments are ‘whack’ and that he ‘owns’ you at sports knowledge.

• 377.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Stormers 20 (14)
    Tries
    Tiaan Liebenberg
    Penalties
    Joe Pietersen (4)
    •Peter Grant
    Bulls 17 (0)
    Tries
    Bjorn Basson
    WYNAND OLIVIER
    Conversions
    Morné Steyn (2)
    Penalties
    Steyn

• 378.gunther: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-376:

I blame MTV and the insidious Americanisation of our culture.

#ghettoworship

• 379.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Who appointed you the custodian of what’s mature or what’s not, your bum chommie, Suffer_Guy is paddling a lie about one game, Soweto final, in which WO never even touched JDJ in those 13minutes on the field, but off course you endorse that lie, you can go phack off

• 380.katman: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-364: Then the two of you should get along like a house on fire.

• 381.gunther: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-379:

Suffer guy is as much of a whack job as you are.

Racist tuncs both of you.

• 382.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

there were 3 games where JDJ was owned by WO! i’m not a WO fan … but he is WO’s bunny

• 383.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@gunther-375:

The bowlers struggled in Brisbane. They can blame the track but the lengths they bowled was to short.
    AD’s got to pull finger and work on that over the next few days.

I’m really worried about Tahir’s inevitable inclusion in Adelaide. They got 7 left handers and for leggies that’s their worst nightmare cause you literally bowling into the arc.

If we can fight back from here the Protea’s deserve their number 1 test status

• 384.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

You can all phack off , you bitched know when it comes to facts you aren’t got shyyt, John, you still my *****, I owned you, I know it hurts, but you need to know your shyyt before coming here, not all of us are your buddies who take your lies, grow the phack up

• 385.katman: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-384: Yoh, that’s borderline illiterate.

• 386.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@katman-385:
    Wait till he starts using ‘My Nygga’.

Xhosa, a word of advice, nevergofullghetto.

• 387.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Borderline illiteracy?, what’s that supposed to me,engage your brains, “bitched” was supposed to be “*******”, *******

• 388.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Is everyone dronk this morning

• 389.katman: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-387: Another literacy challenged post. How many fuckups can you make in one short sentence?

• 390.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

‘nevergofullghetto’

• 391.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-382: WO played 37 tests and got owned on every game, does that make him everybodies *****?

• 392.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-388:

Your man Gayle hit a six off the 1st ball in a test match.

First time it has ever been done in over hundred years of test cricket.

• 393.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@katman-389:

give the *** a break. he must be multitasking or something. he usually posts clear, well constructed commetns.

• 394.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-392: Gayle is a boss!!! Doesn’t take **** from no bowler!

• 395.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-393:
    ..?.. wtf..?.. :shock:

g u y

• 396.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-394:
    Must be getting some “goodstuff” in Sri Lanka.

• 397.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

i cant believe g u y has been banned

• 398.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-377: Yup that try he scored was on the wing, because he was so **** scared of the Stormers defence that he asked the bulls wings to stand in the midfield for him. Lolz

• 399.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-396:
    Sorry not Sri Lanka, Bangladesh.

:roll:

• 400.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

John, who the hell do you think you are to tell me what I should or shouldn’t do, I’ll be ghetto or corporate if I feel like, know why??, cause I phucken can, you can’t, that’s your limitation not mine, deal with it

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.