Thomson escapes lengthy ban
14 Nov 2012
All Blacks flank Adam Thomson has been suspended for just one week following an incident where he stamped on the head of a Scotland player.
Thomson appeared before the independent IRB-appointed judicial officer, Jean-Noel Couraud (of France) on Wednesday, having been cited for an alleged stamp in last Sunday’s match.
According to a statement on the hearing: ‘In upholding the citing by the independent IRB Citing Commissioner, the act of foul play, contrary to Law 10.4(b), was deemed by the judicial officer to be at the lower end of the scale of IRB sanctions, after having viewed various angles of the incident and listened to representations by the player, the All Blacks’ assistant coach and the player’s legal representative at the hearing.’
From the low end entry point of two weeks, the judicial officer allowed one week of mitigation, taking into account, in particular, the player’s conduct at the hearing.
A sanction of one week was imposed, with Thomson suspended until 18 November. The player has the right of appeal.
Meanwhile, Wallabies lock Rob Simmons received a hefty suspension for a tip-tackle on a French player in last Saturday’s Test. Simmons will be out of action for eight weeks.
The statement from Simmons’ hearing said that the tackle ‘was deemed by the judicial officer to be at the high end of the scale of IRB sanctions. From the high end entry point of 12 weeks, the judicial officer added two weeks of aggravation to reflect the need for a deterrent for this type of dangerous tackle but allowed the maximum six weeks of mitigation, including the player’s exemplary previous disciplinary record and his conduct at the hearing.’

86 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
14 Nov 2012, 22:40 pm
Bit surprised he got away with only 1 week with a NH ‘judge’. Mind you, French ‘judge’ and the French have always been well versed in using the ‘slipper’ themselves. Question now is whether he will get another game out of Hansen if there are no injuries to the rest of the loosies. Silly bloody thing to do, but even the player who he ‘stamped’ on said he didn’t feel it and felt that there was no intent to really hurt. Probably about the right result.
14 Nov 2012, 22:56 pm
It should have been more!Henson should send him home,we dont need him.Pisspoor adjudicating imho.
14 Nov 2012, 23:25 pm
@LITELOCK-2:
1 week sounds right, but he should not be touring with the ABs anyway.
Has never been a great player and on occasions can get penalised alot for stupid play.
15 Nov 2012, 00:14 am
Ahh I see the pattern continues. The ABs escape with barely any sanction while other teams cop excessive suspensions.
The number of ABs who have escaped yellow, red cards and suspensions over the past 4 years that they deserved is incredible. You’d hate to be a Saffer of Aussie fronting these judiciaries.
15 Nov 2012, 00:21 am
@Hurricane-3:
Sorry, I can’t agree.
The IRB guidelines are for a minimum 2 week standdown if found guilty.
The 1 week suspension suggests he was found guilty, therefore the degree of penalty is the only consideration. That being the case, he should get 2 weeks.
This will get over turned by the IRB for sure.
15 Nov 2012, 00:30 am
@Brads-5:
Cool, i really dont care what happens.
IRB appointed the Judiciary officer and he made the call.
Thing is this 2 weeks min ban is rubbish from the start.
Thompson gets 1 week and misses a game. I have seen people get 3 weeks suspension and miss no games at all.
This is the way it is.
15 Nov 2012, 00:32 am
@jeest-4:
Give it a rest .
Morne got one week for dangerous tackle and missed no games
15 Nov 2012, 01:08 am
@jeest-4: Let’s look at the last year or so of violence against McCaw
Knee to the head and a headbutt: no card and 2 games
Flying across a ruck to smash the face with an elbow: card and 1 game
Irish player trying to rip McCaw’s face off: No card, no citing, no media coverage
Eye gouge and headbutt: no card and 0 games
Knee to the head: no card, cited but 0 games
So a card and 1 game for what was clearly not intended to cause damage was perhaps about right. Personally I expected and would like to have seen 2-3 weeks just because it was foot to head and that is not on. I hope Hansen decides he’s only there in case one of the other four loosies gets injured.
15 Nov 2012, 01:32 am
yep theres a serious imbalance with the way sentences are handed
it seems as if the criteria is based on clout and influence
1) who was the perpetrator
2) who was the victim
3) what was the offence
4) due punishment
so in this case
1) an allblack (Thomson)
2) a nobody (some scottish guy)
3) the nobody got his head in the way of an allblacks foot
4) one week (less would be given if possible)
ok all jokes aside and in all seriousness had it been
1) Bakkies Botha
2) Richie McCaw
3)rucking to the head
4) 6 – 7 weeks
and that is an unbiased look at it !
15 Nov 2012, 01:42 am
@boktillzero-9:
You got it about right, but only because Botha has a long history of thuggish behaviour.
By rights he should be banned for life if he did that on top of all his other thuggish actions. But that is not the way of the judiciary it seems, and a 7 week ban would be all that would be imposed.
15 Nov 2012, 01:45 am
@boktillzero-9:
You are comparing Thompsons record to one of the worst thugs to play the game.
Why do you guys compare Bakkies with anyone?
But lets look at it this way.
1) Bakkies Botha
2) Richie McCaw
3) rucking to the head
4) South Africans fans saying Richie was on the wrong side and covering the ball so deserved it.
15 Nov 2012, 03:48 am
bit lenient in my view..
thing is, he was cited and the judiciary appointed came to the decision for one week, much like the South African who exonerated both kevvy and Tana..
15 Nov 2012, 04:54 am
@Hurricane-7: I don’t care about Morne and I’m certainly not here to defend guys like Bakkies – who essentially got everything he deserved for being a fricken idiot on the field. Morne got lucky which I dont agree with. But ABs get away with murder while other players get smashed. Look at Simmons, just got 14 weeks (-6 for clean record). 14 WEEKS??? I’ve seen eye gouging go for less and his tackle put a player on his back only. Also i refer you to this clip of Timati Ellison trying to dislocate someones shoulder……and guess what….no citing. All we hear from the AB camp is how Ritchie is targeted when we see Kiwis doing things like this. Tell me you don’t have a problem with this sort of stuff? (Hopefully the link works when you cut and paste.) prem0.hiboox.com/images/4612/diapo2659339a8fc8397ccbd2a2deb2bf7f21.gif
15 Nov 2012, 05:46 am
Please for the loveofGod don’t let Bakkies see this thread!!!!!
15 Nov 2012, 06:24 am
@Golden Boy-14:
Without Threads like this.
Bakkies life would have no meaning.
15 Nov 2012, 06:46 am
NZ rugby is special therefore we get special treatment.
15 Nov 2012, 06:49 am
@NZINCHINA-16:
And we have good Lawyers.
Very good Lawyers.
15 Nov 2012, 06:50 am
@NZINCHINA-16:
NZ 1 – Peoples Republic of China 1.
Not bad.
15 Nov 2012, 06:54 am
@cane-17:
The judicial officer was a Ging-er…..the only possible explanation….
15 Nov 2012, 07:03 am
@Te Rangatira-19:
The Judicial Officer on the Rob Simmons hearing must have had gout.
15 Nov 2012, 07:24 am
@cane-20:
haha……all Simmons had to do was slip him some voltarens……….dismissed
15 Nov 2012, 07:36 am
Everybody knows that the dice are loaded
Everybody rolls with their fingers crossed
Everybody knows that the war is over
Everybody knows the good guys lost
Everybody knows the fight was fixed
The poor stay poor, the rich get rich
That’s how it goes
Everybody knows
I’m surprised the judicial officer didn’t turn it around and suspend that filthy Scot for headbutting Thompson’s studs,
15 Nov 2012, 07:54 am
Great to hear that the Thompson ban will be reviewed, he tramped on a guys head for pete’s sake!!!! what if Al turned his head at that moment and caught a stud in the eye, the intent was there from Adam, the execution of said intent doesnt matter.
look at the 2 weeks Etzebeth got for only motioning his head towards Sharp, he didnt even make contact!!!
15 Nov 2012, 08:01 am
@Golden Boy-14:
well GB, here i am.
is this even in the least bit surprising?
once again we have the opportunity to see for ourselves just how s.crewed up international rugby is. its a farking larf really, a farking larf.
these people are shameless goblins and will stop at nothing and do everything to further their sad ends.
15 Nov 2012, 08:06 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-24:
“its a farking larf really, a farking larf.”
I know Bakkies………………………………..It’s farking hilarious.
Good Lawyers……………………………………told you so.
Farking good lawyers.
15 Nov 2012, 08:07 am
All Blacks Rule!!!
15 Nov 2012, 08:12 am
@katman-22:
complete and utter but in no way surprising outcome.
@cane-25:
yip, ironic how the worst of scum always have the best of lawyers.
15 Nov 2012, 08:16 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-27:YIP,IRONIC alright.SCUM THEY ARE.
15 Nov 2012, 08:19 am
@cane-25:
hehe…….Adam followed the code of omerta and now is a made man in the honored society……Houston is his Godfather…..
15 Nov 2012, 08:34 am
I love it the way some Saffa’s react to our bribery of the IRB and all officials everywhere.
NZ can only afford the rorting of course because we have gouged the knucklehead SARU of an unfair share of ALL revenue, particularly gate takings from their massive stadiums.
A really big thank you guys, because your reaction makes all that effort in bullying and corrupting the entire world so much sweeter.
15 Nov 2012, 08:57 am
At least you admit it Brads. It’s expensive to keep the IRB under the NZ thumb obviously.
No. 1 in some silly oval ball game played as a second sport by a handfull of countries but the be-all and end-all of NZ. No wonder NZRFUp is technically bankrupt despite having unlimited access to cheap PI labour.
Kind of sums up the pathetic nature of the NZ game. Never mind, maybe the migrant Saffers will improve your finances.
15 Nov 2012, 08:59 am
The Twitter tribe has spoken and the IRB feel compelled to relook it.
To little too late, you softcocked sons of Kiwi beetches.
I’m surprised the commissioner could stop sucking Richie’s wanger for long enough to splutter “one week”.
15 Nov 2012, 09:01 am
@katman-32:
Especially after his mother raised him never to talk with his mouth full.
15 Nov 2012, 09:03 am
@gunther-33: Nom nom nom.
15 Nov 2012, 09:04 am
@husky-31:
Yeah cool thanks Husky, we are # 1….and your team is…..does not matter only # 1 matters and RWC and RC and super 15 and …..oh you get the jest.
@katman-32:
Cry baby, **** me its embarrasing
15 Nov 2012, 09:08 am
@husky-31:
Yep, very expensive, and all paid for by Saffa’s to boot. Australia are too clever to fall for our trickery.
Don’t you love the irony. You get shafted both on and off the field by NZ rugby.
That is what I call a balanced attack.
15 Nov 2012, 09:09 am
@Hurricane-35: Embarrassing? Interesting choice of words. Because what is really embarrassing is the way in which the rugby world softly strokes the All Blacks’ hair while muttering “there there” like they’re some kind of endangered flightless bird that needs their ugly little nests protected or face extinction. It’s harder to watch than David Brent in full flight.
15 Nov 2012, 09:17 am
@katman-37:
Weird, the world apparently is happy to take our bribes but get miffed when we call in our markers.
Either harden up and accept the consequences of taking all those massive bribes, or stop taking them.
15 Nov 2012, 09:20 am
@Brads-38: My guess is you can get away with that kind of “joke” once, maybe twice. But you’ve exhausted any possible chuckle potential a while back Now it’s just tedious.
15 Nov 2012, 09:21 am
@MacToogie-23:
The ban was the effectively the same.
2 weeks between tests equals 1 match missed, same as Thompson.
That said, Thompson is a dipstick and deserves to have his suspension revisited by the IRB and increased by another week or 2.
15 Nov 2012, 09:31 am
@katman-39:
Really, then you can understand how tedious all your chuckle hungry dipshite bokke supporter crew get when they trot out the ridiculous accusations about NZ being cheaters.
You lot make these accusations with zero evidence. All you do is make a whiny pathetic woe is me bleat that life is unfair, proof being that NZ are currently streets ahead of SA which does not dove tail into the script of what God apparently promised you.
15 Nov 2012, 09:37 am
@Brads-41: I never said they were cheaters. But I am saying there’s this schmaltzy view of AB rugby as the darlings of the sport world – this little island nation with this great team – that somehow needs to be nurtured and protected so that it’s legend can remain pure and intact. And this leads to two entirly separate sets of rules – both on and off the field. Referees, commentators and ignorant fence sitting fans have all been duped into this “they’re all good blokes who would never hurt a fly and they’d all be played by Ben Affleck in the movie and how can you be nasty with them when they’re the kind of guys you’d want to have a beer with?” nonsense. It’s a myth that needs to be busted wide open so that the playing field can be leveled again.
15 Nov 2012, 09:55 am
@katman-42:
And there it is, the whiny bleat that SA are not being treated the same.
Well guess what buddy, it is called marketing and being consistent. Always putting out a decent team and not accepting loses in the name of development.
SA have done that for the last 15 years, so has almost every other top tier team.
You reap what you sow, and NZ are reaping the benefits of maintaining their aura.
Wizzing your heritage against the nearest wall for what ever reason via actions like transformation, development. quota issues, resting or what ever is a fact of life for some teams.
Hardly the fault of NZ.
15 Nov 2012, 10:03 am
@Brads-43:
Flippin heck Brads……that is brilliant…..amazing post…..proud to be a New Zealander…
15 Nov 2012, 10:23 am
@Brads-43: Witty? Perhaps. But failed to address anything I said. So ultimately useless as a reply.
15 Nov 2012, 10:24 am
@Te Rangatira-44:
As we all are.
And thanks for the comment.
15 Nov 2012, 10:26 am
@Brads-43:
Aaaaaaw
We feel so kuk now.
Gonna go bury heads in sand
15 Nov 2012, 10:27 am
@katman-45:
Yes I did.
If you can’t grasp it, then that also explains a lot.
15 Nov 2012, 10:29 am
I hear violins playing and choirs of heavenly angels singing
15 Nov 2012, 10:33 am
Katty stop moaning NZ rugby is special and viewed that way, SA rugby will always be associated with racism and thuggery you made your bed now farking sleep in it.
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All