De Jongh’s small problem

RYAN VREDE, in Edinburgh, writes because of his size Juan de Jongh has to be exceptional to force Heyneke Meyer to consider him as a real solution to his outside centre problem.

I wrote at the start of Meyer’s tenure that he is a disciple of size and strength, firm in his belief that a player must have this attribute to be successful in Test rugby.

At the time I cited De Jongh among the players who would struggle to push for a regular starting berth, with Meyer appreciative of his attacking capacity in Super Rugby, but unconvinced that he could replicate his hot-stepping in reduced space and time and consistently dominate the tackle fight on attack and defence in Tests.

De Jongh has, however, got an opportunity to alter his coach’s fairly rigid view, and bid to convince him that he can fill a void Meyer is concerned about going forward. His problem is that he’ll get one shot. As it stands Jaco Taute will be reinstated for the final Test of the tour against England at Twickenham. That is unless De Jongh produces something special against Scotland.

There has been no shortage of suggestions and, at times, accusations that Meyer is a racist for what is perceived to be the sidelining of black players. I’ve worked professionally with him for years, and have never got that impression. That he has a prejudice against smaller players of average ability (in a Test context) is undoubted. De Jongh is one such player. He is capable of feats of brilliance (his try in the Currie Cup final an example) but has not replicated these feats often enough to be considered a must for the Springboks.

In his favour is that he is 24 years old and still has time to grow. Also, Meyer has shown a willingness to have some of his views challenged. By way of example, Ruan Pienaar and Francois Louw have, on the strength of their performances and maturity they’ve exhibited, paved the way for a steadily increasing number of overseas-based players to be involved with the Springboks. Meyer had previously been adamant that he would select his squads from players based in South Africa, unless his hand was forced through injury.

Similarly De Jongh can advance the cause of the smaller backs. He refused to make soaring statements about size, but came across as confident in his ability.

‘I know where I’ve stood with Heyneke from the start. I know what attributes he is looking for from me, but I also know what I need for my game,’ De Jongh said. ‘Everyone has their opinion [on size] but I have an opportunity this weekend to prove people who think I’m too small wrong.’

510 Comments

• 1.grant10: Reply to this comment

small se moer man

• 2.londonshark: Reply to this comment

I wonder if Meyer would ever consider Paul Jordaan as a Bok 13.

He’s class (and still only 20).

Pace to burn as well, and you can’t coach that.

• 3.londonshark: Reply to this comment

I would back JDJ vs Taute in a 1 on 1 every day of the week.

• 4.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

“In his favour is that he is 24 years old and still has time to grow.”

I hope you’re not suggesting that Juan de Jongh follows the Pretoria Protocol, Ryan.

• 5.Braders: Reply to this comment

A good big one is better than a good small one!!
    I do however rate De Jongh. Has the X-factor and tackles well.

• 6.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Sad really. Shows the short sightedness of our national coach.

@londonshark-2: I hope he does because Jordaan is class!

• 7.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-2: My thoughts exactly !! He certainly isn’t the size that HM likes
    @WP-Forever-4: Or Europe ?

• 8.grant10: Reply to this comment

Amazing that Aplon and JDJ form part of the best defensive team in past 2 seasons with Superrugby but are seen as liabilities…..

Biggest load of absolute kak I have ever heard…

This ‘ size ‘ at all costs has got to stop man….

Bulls defensive record was 1 of the worst….with all there size and skop en jag….this is really getting under my skin now…

• 9.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Im glad JdJ is starting this game but in truth, outside of the CC final, he hasnt been great this year for his franchise or province.

He has battle against bigger, physical players in the past. JP in the S15 semi is just one example.

I think he might battle against that Tuilagi fella as well but if he plays well against the Scots, give him another go against the Poms as well. Its the least he deserves.

• 10.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Braders-5: What about an average big one better than a very good small one?

Because that is what Taute over De Jongh is.

• 11.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Braders-5:

But a good small one is better than a big average one. JDJ vs Taute.

And lets be honest. JDJ is just not big. He’s not small.

• 12.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-7: Having said that, Jordaan is definitely Bok quality IMO. As Sasuke said in 6 , he is a class act !!

• 13.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-10:

LOL. Great minds.

• 14.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@grant10-8:
    Yes Grant but their strengths are also supposed to be their pace and attacking abilities.
    And those two you mentioned were also part of the worst attacking team this season.

• 15.ufo: Reply to this comment

the small problem is not Juan’s…

the big problem is heyneke’s…

he wants “magic” moments in the boks but doesn’t want to select the players who can produce them…

put juan down for a hattrick…!!

• 16.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@grant10-8: True, this size argument doesnt make sense.

• 17.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@grant10-8:

Spot on.

Meyer is obessed with defense, but fails to bring in players and coaches from the best defensive unit in Super Rugby!!??

Aplon never misses a tackle, and rarely goes backwards. He would be my Bok 15.

• 18.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-14:

But then surely they would be a perfect fit for Meyer.

Great defense with no attacking flair what so ever :)

• 19.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-9: IMO JdJ will only play the one test now. HM will go back to “size” for the England test

• 20.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

Please explain something to me.

Heyneke Meyer is happy to play Francois Hougaard on wing.

Hougaard is 1.79m tall, and weighs 90kg.

Juan de Jongh is 1.75m and weighs 88kg.

Essentially, both these players are more or less the same size.

• 21.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-13: :lol: you should give me a snap.

@ufo-15: Exactly Aplon is another player with X-Factor/magic.

• 22.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@grant10-1: Poor James

• 23.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-20:

I suppose we have to ask what differentiates those two players?

Oh, by the way, Lwazi Mvovo is 1.85m and weighs over 90kg. He is larger than Hougaard.

Surely if Meyer was obsessed with size, he would pick Mvovo (a very capable wing!) over Hougaard on wing?

So where is the differential?

Oh, wait a minute…

• 24.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-12:

Jordaan just needs to work on his distribution skills a bit more. They not bad, but they could improve.

His pace and defense though is outstanding.

• 25.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Kabouta Quota!

• 26.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-20: Exactly…..there is something else brewing. Aplon is also around the same size but he on occassion tackles wingers bigger than him back in the tackle.

• 27.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-23:

Ja, Meyer contradicts himself at every turn.

Says Lambie impressed him during the Currie Cup, but then says we must remember that JDJ was only playing Currie Cup, so we musn’t read too much into it.

PDV anyone??

• 28.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-24: I agree. Unfortunately he had a few injuries during the past season as well.

• 29.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-22: :lol: funny

• 30.catchlightuk.com: Reply to this comment

I’m going to be at the game. Make it memorable De Jongh!

• 31.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

look Scotland are kak … they gave the All Blacks plenty of room & no rush defense and no pressure on Carter etc … if JDJ fails against Scotland he should never be picked for the Boks again …

• 32.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-28:

Yeah, his left hammy gives serious problems. Let’s hope he sorts that out.

• 33.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-27: PDV to come back?

• 34.katman: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-26: Same size as who?

• 35.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-24: @CharlesM-28: Is he currently injured?

Will he start next season? It will be between him and Whitehead. Two great players to have in one position.

• 36.catchlightuk.com: Reply to this comment

Also, the Gangnam style jokes have to stop – he was busting those moves long before the Gangnam style video went viral.

• 37.rabooby: Reply to this comment

HM seems to be one sited, hour jdj has a blinder, and I think jordaan could be a Conrad Smith in the making,I think he will be that kind of player hopefully. GM played potgieter for size and he got burnt, he played steyn

of lambie and goosen

• 38.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-26:

To be fair, Aplon is quite small, he weighs less than 80kg.

But he makes up for that in sheer heart and guts.

• 39.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-33:

I would welcome PDV back. Seriously.

Meyer seems to be the Robbie Deans of Bok rugby. Thinks SR success can translate to test success. And after 5 years, Deans is still battling.

• 40.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@katman-34: As Lambie and De Jongh or is Aplon a wee bit smaller?

• 41.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-31:
    They’re not that kak boet. They scored 3 tries against them which no other team has managed to do this season.

Their pack is very strong. Murray, Ford, Gray, Denton, Brown, Strokosch… all bloody good players.

We should be stronger but if our pack plays anything like they did in the 1st half against Ireland, there wont be any good ball for Lambie and JdJ etc to work off.
    Lets first wait and see what happens shall we?

• 42.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-27:

Maybe Heyneke Meyer is just merely similar to Tacitus in his philosophy.

That philosophy states that for a team to be successful, it needs to be homogenous.

Maybe Juan de Jongh refuses to sing “Bobbejaan klim die berg” on the team bus, who knows.

Maybe Lambie finally buckled and started singing along, explaining his being back in favour again…

• 43.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-35:

He’s fine now.

Whitehead will be benched.

Frans Steyn will play 12 with Jordaan at 13. Whitehead can cover both (and JPP can play 13 if we need him).

The Sharks centers are looking good considering how kak they were pre-season (Bosman and Joubert were running in the centers at times).

• 44.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-41:

I actually think it is very possible that we lose to the Scots again.

• 45.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-38: Ok my bad. Yes which is most of the time overlooked.

@londonshark-39: Me too. He did great things for the Boks. How can he not get a coaching job in S.A? He should coach Boland i think, lots of great youngsters coming out of the Boland region.

But I am sure Meyer will pull it together next year. I was just very disappointed with him this year. I expected so much more from him.

• 46.grant10: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-14: That was the kak game plan….they both world class and should be regulars….this rubbish obsession with size is backfiring…..worst bok backline performances in a damn long time.

• 47.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

john …. one was a intercept – carter threw a shocker …. we are at least 20 points stronger than them …. btw didn’t PDV’s team lose against them? with Matfield, Fourie duP, j fourie, f steyn … etc etc ?

• 48.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-43: Yes the Sharks have great depth for next season.

• 49.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

why does everyone think that the Bok backline will score more tries with JDJ playing? How many tries did the Stormers score in 2012?

• 50.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-47:
    Intercept or not, they scored 3 tries.

And yes, Pdiv team did lose against them. Euen Murray was man of the match. Which is exactly my point. Write these guys off at your peril

• 51.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-31: And what would you qualify as fail? Based on your biased comments on the team sheet thread, I doubt you can see a successfull game from a Stormers player if it smaked you in the head.

• 52.nama1: Reply to this comment

Phew!!! For a moment there I thought it was something else.

“In his favour is that he is 24 years old and still has time to grow.”

Sideways, ala Ricky, is the only way he’ll grow. :lol:

• 53.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-49: De Jongh adds more penetration than Taute, he might break the line a few times and create oppurtunities for his outside backs from there.

• 54.Hondo: Reply to this comment

JdJ’s small problem?
    Interesting
    I thought he is just small, too small ;)
    Due to his size limitations he developed a side tackling questionable ‘technique’ instead of taking his man head on.
    No doubt plenty fun to watch :-D

• 55.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-47:
    Correct PDVs team did lose to then with those players.
    Which really means SA should not take this game lightly.
    I as well think the Boks are alot better than the Scots but with incosistent play and sometimes the failure of a game plan that works, all that would end in disaster against the Scots.

• 56.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-49: Rather ask how many games they won.

• 57.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-54:

“Due to his size limitations he developed a side tackling questionable ‘technique’ instead of taking his man head on”

Jeepers you talking rubbish now mate!

• 58.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Sasuke, the question is, will JDJ pass the ball if he breaks the line … does he know how to pass?

• 59.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@grant10-46:
    ‘worst bok backline performances in a damn long time’ When? Last weekends?

No no Grant. You’ll probably find the Argie back line performance worse. And for the same reasons. Our forwards getting monstered.

• 60.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@nama1-52: :lol: I hope not!

• 61.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-58: :lol: True he would have to make the oppurtunities by passing to his outside backs.

• 62.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

too small, better suited to fullback maybe…SA Jason Robinson..he could be

• 63.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Interesting stat:

Japie Mulder (1,80 m and 77 kg)

34 caps
    6 tries (30 points).
    Caps by year : 4 in 1994, 8 in 1995, 11 in 1996, 2 in 1997, 4 in 1999, 3 in 2000, 2 in 2001.

• 64.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-57:
    He needs to opposed Mvovo The Defender to demonstrate his immense skills ;)
    Like in the CC Final, elsewhere he is just undersized for a defender or as a crash ball carrier, he will get hurt at the Test level.

• 65.Finfan: Reply to this comment

I truly don’t understand the arguments here. As far as I know, the only true judge of size would be the players’ wives and / or girlfriends.

• 66.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-64: Wow, 12 test caps and no injuries but four tries….

• 67.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-63: and he was ultra physical right.

• 68.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

JdJ too small? What a load of crock.

JdJ plays according to the game plan. He has never disappointed in a Bok jersey; in fact he has normally excelled whenever he comes onto the field. He formed part of the exciting JdJ and Fourie centre pairing which performed excellent for the Stormers in 2010. JdV holds him back and I am hoping the same is not repeated this weekend.

JdV is the best outside centre in the country. Meyer’s obsession with size will be his undoing if he doesn’t snap out of it…

• 69.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-65: bwhahhahahahhahaha

• 70.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-66: As opposed to a certain Wynand :-)
    1 try every three tests. Taute 3 tests and zero tries, not coming close to threatening the line in any shape or form.

JdJ is a brilliant defender and deadly in space (provided of course that support players are on his shoulder).

• 71.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Can’t wait for the Super 15 to start so that we can peosklap the bulls again with our small players.No interest in this clown HM anymore.

• 72.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-67: Didn’t know that 13′s had to be physical? I thought the role of the backline was to get past the defenders, not ruff them up? I understand that the 12 should be bigger, but why the 13?

Biggest problem with SA rugby, we want to go through them but the best team in the world runs circles AROUND everyone!

Even bloody Nanu goes for the gap. But you all want big ******* moster than complain when they are slow, figgers.

• 73.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

If HM was the Sharks coach JPP would play 13 and Paul Jordaan would be on the wing.

• 74.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Of course he is too small for test rugby as a centre if you look to run into players rather than space.

• 75.katman: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-63: I’m sorry to disappoint you, but that wikipedia entry is miles off. Mulder was a big centre for his time – well over 90kg. These days 90kg+ is par for the course, but back in the early 90′s it was considered big. So this 77kg on Wikipedia is like claiming that Duane Vermeulen weighs 87kg (which was also a Wikipedia fact until someone corrected it).

• 76.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Ryan, you say you worked with HM and has never given the impression of being a racist, now ask this, which white coach has ever given you the impression that he is racist?

• 77.grant10: Reply to this comment

I would have Aplon on the wing long before F Hougaard…

• 78.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-73: If HM was the sharks coach then Jordaan, Whitehead, Mvovo, Ludik, Kanko and Daniels would not be in the team.

• 79.grant10: Reply to this comment

Hope our backs show a bit more this weekend……I am sure we will get decent ball….just hope Lambie doesent listen to the coach and plays his natural game.

• 80.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-72: Matt Giat was awesome at 12.
    Some of our best 12s in history have not been big physical monsters. They have been people who know how to hit the gap and distribute.

@grant10-77: Damn right.

Meyer will clome right in the end but flip it’ll be a painful wait. I’d rather PdV have stayed on.

• 81.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-78: If HM was the Sharks coach he would’be forced them to play in baby blue and in pink for their away-games…

• 82.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Watched the kiwi game again.We can only dream of playing the game like that.Magical offloads,great running angles and great interplay between backs and forwards.Kiwis taking a scrum ten metres out from their 22 instead of kicking the ball out from the free kick shows the big gulf that exist between them and us .They believe in retaining possession while we simply kick it away.Enough said.

• 83.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Size at centre only works if you know how to use it. Look at Nanu in the early parts of his career, was not good enough for test level because he relied on his size and strength, but now he’s an amazing player because he has learned to utilize space.

Jacque Fourie is an amazing player because he has a great attacking vision, speed and attitude to add to his size.

• 84.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@grant10-79: Lambie will be much better this weekend. He was guilty of taking the wrong option a few times. I enjoyed his half break.

• 85.scrumfan: Reply to this comment

Matt Giteau, 1.77m, 85kg, 92 tests, case closed.

• 86.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-76:
    Yo, PDiddy, give a fking rest already.

• 87.grant10: Reply to this comment

next year I hope we get to see this backline given a chance [ wishful thinking I know ]

15 Aplon
    14 JPP
    13 JDJ
    12 F Steyn
    11 habana
    10 Goosen
    9 Hougaard….

Break the shackles of fear and give it a go man!

• 88.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

mxhosa…answer this … zane is’t the best fulback in SA (he is hond kak om dit sag te stel).. so Heineke has a valid excuse not to pick him… so if HM is racist, then why does he still pick Zane?

• 89.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

I think JDV used his influence as captain by getting JDJ selected at outside centre. When Tuilagi crushes JDJ next week it will make JDV’s clinging on to Tuilagi for dear life earlier in the year, getting dragged 10 meters everytime look quite heroic! Should get him a few more tests when he doesn’t deserve it. He has learned well off his previous leader, good old captain Smit!

• 90.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-84: yes….but I would still have liked to see Jantjes get 25 minutes off the bench, at least!

• 91.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

wnnb …. did you see how much space scotland gave them? carter ran 2 to 3 meters before a scottish player even came close.. even the commentators picked that up in the first 5 mins … any team with all that time will play exciting rugby … lambie will kill them if they give him 1 meter to run

• 92.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

If Juan is too small, I guess Paul Jordaan falls into that category as well…

Will he then ever play under the messiah

• 93.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@grant10-90: me too. Lost oppurtunity now unless he comes on against England.

@scrumfan-85: He would not of played one test under Meyer.

• 94.Hondo: Reply to this comment

The odds are heavily on the Boks to win, something like 1:4
    Which may present some upset opportunities, the Boks lost at Edinburgh last time out and won by 3 points in 2008 so taking a risk here is reasonable ;)
    With Steenkamp and JdJ in the line up I my instincts say upset!

• 95.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

hondo … also jantjies on the bench ,,, imagine if lambie got injured in the first 10 minutes

• 96.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-74:

Exactly. Stampkar rugby.

• 97.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong-89: No one has crushed JdJ and dear T will not be the first. He’ll feel the full force of the Gangham style tackle!

• 98.katman: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-94: @suffer_guy-95: That’s what is so great about this website. Everyone has a say. Even the refuse collectors of Orania are represented. The rest of your lorry team must be proud.

• 99.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Yesterday one blogger mentioned that the reason why Hougie doesn’t need to be tall for HM’s kick and chase game was the fact that he is talented and possess that great thing called x-factor.Naturally it was a bulls fan.Astounding comment,but something that you would expect to come out of that neck of the woods.

• 100.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-78:

Why is that?

Bryan Habana, Wynand Olivier, Akona Ndungane, Johan Roets and Pierre Spies were no bigger than the players you’ve mentioned. The only one who probably wouldn’t make Meyer’s team is Daniel.

• 101.ufo: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-38:

same weight as rhule according to your favourite condiment… :wink:

• 102.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@katman-98: LLOOOOOLLLL :-)

• 103.Provvas: Reply to this comment

HM is just making me sick… he probably felt pressured to pick JDJ, and now the media jumps on the size issue!! Can you imagine the extra pressure created for the poor player? I just hate how some players have an easy ride no matter what, like morne being backed by his coach and given game after game to come right, but someone like JDJ eventually gets a game and heaps of pressure is applied? Why? Why some players from some unions gets this extra pressure?

And if he does not fire on Saturday he all the sudden is not test rugby quality? How many players will perfrom under such extra presure for nothing?

It is utter Bulkak!!

• 104.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-63:
    Japie Mulder 77kgs? Not a farking chance pal.

• 105.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@grant10-79: That is where the problem lies. All these players are good, but the gameplan forced upon them is so limiting. Who would be the best team in the world if Hansen had control of the Boks and Meyer the All Blacks?!

• 106.katman: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-104: Beware of people who site Wikipedia as research sources.

• 107.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-103:

Players just ask for consistency!

Some players get so many chances because the coach knows what they can do!!!

Some get dropped after one game, others never get dropped – ala Spies/Steyn etc

• 108.Dawn: Reply to this comment

How small is he.

• 109.wnbb: Reply to this comment

In a strange way,JdJ will be carrying the torch for smaller players on Saturday.Hopefully he will be able to prove to HM that size doesn’t matter in international rugby.On the other hand I really doubt it as HM got a particular style in mind and unless he changes his gameplan players like JdJ,Jordaan etc etc. will have a struggle on their hands to get into HM’s teams going forward.It was actually interesting,reading other rugby sites,how bulls supporters are already calling for the inclusion of Serfontein.The Pretoria okes have totally bought into HM’s gameplan it seems.

• 110.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

maybe de jongh should move to korea/japan …. with his size he’ll fit in there – he can also do that kak gangnum style dance of his (they’ll love it over there) .. if he manages to score

• 111.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-104: espnscrum.com/southafrica/rugby/player/11857.html#

• 112.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-103: You cried your eyes out when JdJ was overlooked last week. Now that he has been selected, you are still crying because you suspect that that he “won’t fire” on Saturday. Why?

• 113.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What is the issue

Is he too small

For what precisely

• 114.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-109: Maak the Boks almal Booke takes on a new meaning with those thickos.

• 115.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-112: That’s not what he said.

• 116.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-109: What has Arno Botha done on SR or CC level to warrant a Bok call up? I am not talking about junior teams he repsresented….

But a guy like JDJ, even Vermeulen had to prove themselves over a few season before being given the nodd….. is is also getting to me this whole HM thing… I try to be loyal bok supporter, but with all the contradicting things he utters in the media and this constant weird selection criteria is getting to me!

I am not a big supporter of HM as I was beginning of his appointment

• 117.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-115: I know, but he is not exactly celebrating either. Typical paranoid Province fan…

• 118.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-112: Define “will not fire” If he scores no tries just like Taute, or never passes like Wyanand Olivier, would that constitute that he did not fire? Will he have to play superhuman like to cinvince the Bulls ok supporters that he is good enough? read my post on Arno as well…

• 119.Provvas: Reply to this comment

Bulls Bok supporters…

• 120.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-116: Wears the right colour jersey and sings his Psalms very nicely.

• 121.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

LOFL! suffer_guy, jPP, who happens to be black, is 6ft3 and 100+kgs while PJ is 5ft10 and 90 kgs GET IT?

BLOODY MORON!

• 122.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-117: Actually he is right.

• 123.katman: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-111: That’s obviously where the Wikipedia entry got it’s info from. But it’s wrong by at least 15kg.

A while back Supersport repeatedly listed one of the Free State props as weighing 85kg, and this was then calculated into front row weights, pack weights etc. This went on for a few weeks before someone woke up.

Then Wikipedia had Duane Vermeulen listed as somewhere in the high 80′s for a long time, and Supersport repeated this on screen (or vice-versa) for weeks on end. Until someone got slapped behind the head, shown a photo of Duanne and asked if this could be true. so it was changed.

Something tells me ESPN doesn’t know sht from shinola when it comes to SA player stats.

• 124.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-117: The difference between this “paranoid” province fan and all the bulls fans is that not one WP selection in the bok team is questionable!
    Etzebeth deserve his place,
    Duane desreve his place.
    JDV desreves his place.
    JDJ deserves his place.

Kirchner?
    Hougaard at wing?
    Earlier this year Potgieter?

• 125.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Vokken too small kuk

Who started this bs

• 126.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-116: Couldn’t have said it better myself.

• 127.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-118: No, you must define “will not fire”. I quoted you.

You are already making excuses in case JdJ buckles under the pressure.

Chill mate, maybe he will play well.

• 128.katman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-125: Dawn, don’t get involved here. You’re just too small.

• 129.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-117: O and stop measuring the boks performances from your beloved Rapport team points system on Sundays!

Mr Hamrse loves giving his pink cows nothing less than 7/10…. Zane being an example of always outscoring all the backs…. WTF…

• 130.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@katman-123: I agree there is no way he looked 77kg. I cannot find an official SARU stat though. Reckon someone typed 170lb instead of 180/90lb.

• 131.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-127: Out of context boet.

• 132.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-104:

Please see http://www.espnscrum.com/southafrica/rugby/player/11857.html

Japie Mulder
    South Africa
    Full name Jacobus Cornelius Mulder
    Born October 18, 1969, Springs
    Current age 43 years 28 days
    Major teams Leeds Carnegie, South Africa
    Position Centre
    Height 5 ft 11 in
    Weight 170 lb (77.11 kg)

Are you the only true fact?

• 133.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

So let me get this straight: Hougaard, M Steyn, Taute etc get chance after chance, yet JDJ gets 1 chance to perform against Scotland else he is history?? What is this 1989? Jees, What happens if it rains on the day?

By Meyer’s calculation guys like Riche Mccaw, Matt Giteau, George Gregan??

• 134.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I dont get this too small stuff

And why JDJ specifically

Will someone please explain it to me

• 135.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

DeJong is no Ettienne Botha.

not even close.

• 136.katman: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-132: See post 123

• 137.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

I will believe Meyer’s theory if he wins more than he loses.

• 138.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-125:
    i like big boys, dawnie
    how bout you..?..

• 139.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-127: No sense in me or you or anyone but Meyer defines that term… earlier this week he told us Taute had his best game in a bok jersey… how he got to that I dont know…… .and to add to the confusion dropped him for JDJ!!

If JDJ is given enough ball on Saturday and not forced to play like HM wants him to play, he will be ok and will not “missfire” His defense is great, running is also good…. so if he misses tackles and knocks balls and squandre try scoring chances, then I would say he did not fire.. .Cause those are the things he usually do well!

• 140.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Generally across the world, black guys are bigger than white guys? So by that account the whole team should be black right?

• 141.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-116:

exactly the same as what Raymond rhule has done….why don’t you single him out?

• 142.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-138:

I’m not joking

• 143.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-142:

neither am i.

• 144.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Ponder on these imponderables for a minute during your lunchtime break:-

1. If you take an Oriental person and spin him around several times, does
    he become disoriented?
    2. If people from Poland are called Poles, why aren’t people from Holland
    called Holes?
    3. Do infants enjoy infancy as much as adults enjoy adultery?
    4. If a pig loses its voice, is it disgruntled?
    5. If love is blind, why is lingerie so popular?
    6. Why is the man who invests all your money called a broker?
    7. When cheese gets its picture taken, what does it say?
    8. Why is a person who plays the piano called a pianist but a person who
    drives a racing car not called a racist?
    9. Why are a wise man and a wise guy opposites?
    10. Why do overlook and oversee mean opposite things?
    11. Why isn’t the number 11 pronounced onety one?
    12. ‘I am’ is reportedly the shortest sentence in the English language.
    Could it be that ‘I do’ is the longest sentence?
    13. If lawyers are disbarred and clergymen defrocked, doesn’t it follow
    that electricians can be delighted, musicians denoted,
    cowboys deranged, models deposed, tree surgeons debarked, and dry cleaners
    depressed?
    14. What hair colour do they put on the driver’s licences of bald men?
    15. I thought about how mothers feed their babies with tiny little spoons
    and forks so I wondered what do Chinese mothers use?
    Toothpicks?
    16. Why do they put pictures of criminals up in the Post Office? What are
    we supposed to do, write to them? Why don’t they just put their pictures
    on the postage stamps so the postmen can look for them while they deliver
    the mail?
    17. You never really learn to swear until you learn to drive.
    18. No one ever says, ‘It’s only a game’ when their team is winning.
    19. Ever wonder about those people who spend $2.00 apiece on those little
    bottles of Evian water? Try spelling Evian backwards:
    NAIVE
    20. Isn’t making a smoking section in a restaurant like making a peeing
    section in a swimming pool?
    22. OK … so if the Jacksonville Jaguars are known as the ‘Jags’ and the
    Tampa Bay Buccaneers are known as the ‘Bucs,’ what does that make the
    Tennessee Titans?
    23. If 4 out of 5 people SUFFER from diarrhoea, does that mean that one
    enjoys it?
    24. Why if you send something by road it is called a shipment, but when you
    send it by sea it is called cargo?
    25. If a convenience store is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days
    a year, why are there locks on the door?

• 145.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@katman-98: But are they white?

• 146.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-141:

Raymond Rhule will never play.

Just like Siya (I know he’s injured before everyone has a hissy fit)

Cosmetic selections

Meyer has spare blazers he hands out every week

• 147.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@RugbyStudent-133: JDJ is not liked by HM. fullstop! He does not like his size, he does not like the dancing after tries, so he just dont wanna pick him, but I believe media pressure and the injury of beast (read black player lost) forced the selection…. and now he is putting as much pressure on JDJ to fail or to have an excuse not to select him again..

• 148.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-129: Huh?

The point I’m making is that there was a major outcry last week when JdJ was overlooked (including myself), but now that he is in the team, you (and others) are still b1tching and moaning because now you feel sorry for him because Ryan Vrede believes that HM believes that he is too small.

Why don’t you just wait and see what happens on Saturday before getting so depressed?

By the way, he will never retain his spot in the team anyway. When Frans Steyn is back and lets say Jaques Fourie is available, will you still insist that JdJ be included? Yes, he is good, but not necessarily the best. You’re too subjective. Typical Province fan ;)

• 149.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-125: Hello Dawn

• 150.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@katman-136: Whatever you say buddy.

Here is a another one for you.

http://www.genslin.us/bokke/

Japie Mulder
    Full names: Jacobus Cornelius
    Date of birth: 18 Oct 1969
    Place of birth: Springs, South Africa
    School: Hugenote, Springs
    Debut test province: Lions
    Physical: 1.8m, 77.1kg
    Current age: 43

But you can believe wat you want I guess.

• 151.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-150: Japie was in the 90kgs. No question.

• 152.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-148:

Of course he wont retain his spot when the whites get back.

Duh!

• 153.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-149:

Good day sir

• 154.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Wonder how many more token blazers Meyer has in his suitcase

• 155.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-152: Don’t get racist with me now.

• 156.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-152: The great white always gonna klap the bronzie :)

• 157.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-141: to my mind Rhule played well in the CC at least…. but probably got selected as window dressing for the qouta system.

What has Hougaard done on WING for the bulls to warrant inclusion?
    What has Bekker done for the Stormers to be included?
    What has Chilliboy done this season to be included in the squad?
    Is Currie Cup less of a bench mark than European leagues? If not, how is Ruan and Schalk Brits selected?

Is it ok to say JDJ only performed well in CC so not good enough of a yardstick for Test level,
    But ruan playing in Europe is enough of a yeardstick?

the more things I mention the more stupid HM looks

• 158.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-156:

Indeed

• 159.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-146:

why, are you able to predict the future?

Rhule will play if he keeps developing….he is the right size.

Kolisi will fight it out with Coetzee for a spot in my opinion. There is only 1 winner in that matchoff as far as I am concerned.

• 160.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

what a morning.

got the jumpseat on saexpress to PE.

last seat on the plane, in the cockpit and what a view coming into PE.

beautiful day here but i wont be watching the test sadly.

hope JdJ does well and meyer is hailed as a genius and all saffas fall about swooning over the boks like 1995.

• 161.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-147: That is ridiculous! He may not like the guy as much as others, but hoping he fails isn’t on his agenda either. HM would love JDJ to succeed, but he probably has doubts as to whether he will or wont, due to his size (lack) of it, because HM doesn’t really look for much else.

• 162.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-156: bronzie is good eating, klap a few from time to time myself.

@Provvas-157: you look pretty stupid yourself pal haha.

rhule is the biz buddy, this kid is fire and lightning, what a talent.

now he is picked for a bok tour and its window dressing?

GTFOH

• 163.xtremebull: Reply to this comment

small players that will be very unfortunate under hm
    6 brussow
    7 kolisi
    8 daniels
    12 de jong
    13 ebersohn
    14 jordaan
    15 aplon

• 164.cane: Reply to this comment

RYAN VREDE, in Edinburgh, writes because of his size Juan de Jongh has to be exceptional ……………………………………………..

Well Mrs cane has always told me size does not matter…………………………………………..so there.

• 165.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-157:

you sound stupid as far as I am concerned.

I can’t be bothered even discussing it.

• 166.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-157: Schalk Brits has been on fire for ages. Probably the best hooker playing in the Northern Hemisphere. He’s used to the conditions and style of the opposition. The hookers in the Bok squad haven’t been performing. A very obvious selection, provided the coach is allowed to select overseas based players.

• 167.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-135: Darn right. Ettiene wouldn’t have been fit to lick JdJ’s shoes.

• 168.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@cane-164:

Reyhan should check under his kilt from time to time

• 169.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@cane-164: sounds like she boolshits as much as HM

• 170.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-160: Whatever you do don’t walk past the stadium with your togbag in your hand, they might rope you in to play for them.

;-)

• 171.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-159: Because she is wiser than most here.PRESCIENT.And that is why I like this site.It allows me to use words. which I normally would not.Like prescient,like kak

• 172.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-165: Back to the larger

• 173.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-167:

The Bulle supporters is not gonna like that comment.

• 174.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-162: You are not reading it in context with the conversation!

I too think Rhule is a great Talent for the future!! Love his attacking abilities!! But his selection has nothing to do with form for the year end tour! I was talking about the selection criteria of Meyer.. some players have an easy ride and others not….

@Brigadier Van Zyl-165: HM doenst know if he is coming or going!! Hy is so deurmekaar soos katkots in n tuimeldroer! Every week he has a different tune…

• 175.Angostura: Reply to this comment

hmmm

so HM seemingly looking for a reincarnation of that fearsome EP centre of the 70s – 80s, the late Dennis (the Menace) Campher?

that dude was BIG, & strong, & dangerous (a crashball runner & lethal tackler) … nothing approaching that physical presence amongst the centres in present day SA Rugby…

• 176.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Go JDJ!!!, I posted something that disappeared about most guys here know very little about the game

• 177.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

The problem for me about HM is that he talks about player development but doesn’t develop the players correctly.

Taute – HM talks about him as a future FB option, why play him at 13?
    Hougard – Why is he playing wing? 5 wings on tour but the starting wing is a SH?
    M Steyn – The guy is developed, he will not get better.
    Kirchner – Has reached his performance peak, will not improve.
    Mvovo – Has only started his bok career, why not starting?

• 178.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-135: E Botha had a great season, but never got selected by White because he also believed in size over everything else.

But the difference between JW and HM is that White knew WTF his was doing!

• 179.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-176: I did read your comment. Being the best dancer in the team doesn’t make you the best player in the team. Brilliant knowledge of the game indeed, Xhosakiddie.

• 180.gunther: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-76:

Don’t be silly homie.

They all racist innit?

• 181.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-173: Reality outside of Loftus sucks :-)

• 182.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-178: White also thought Ettiene could not tackle and added nothing not already provided by JdV. He was right.

• 183.katman: Reply to this comment

Maybe Juan can dance for all the tries we score? I know that Strauss and Alberts and Jannie definitely don’t want to dance, so he can have theirs. But maybe he can stand in for others too? Just a thought.

• 184.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

But what happened to the post ?

• 185.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

New day, same sh y te.

Talk of ghosts.

Lot’s of talk about size.

Gnashing of teeth.

Chest beating.

Wailing.

Wrist slitting.

And that’s just the Bulls groupies…..

• 186.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-150:
    Seriously how old are you. Do you even remember Japie playing?

James Small is listed as being 89kgs.
    Do you honestlty believe that Japie ‘thighs’ Mulder was a full 12 kgs LIGHTER than small.

Fk me. Some folks are gullible.

• 187.katman: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-184: I had the grammar police lock it up for the weekend. It’s for your own good.

• 188.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-185:
    Ill take a Bulls chest beating over a Stormers fistoff anyday of the week.

• 189.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-188: Must be honest, my personal fave, is the WP handoff, not the Stormer fistoff…..

It’s wonderful to behold actually.

Youtube it – Juan de Jongh try CC final. (He got 3 for the price of one. Reinach, Coetzee and K-Dawg the fearless….) ;)

Handoffs rule. Fistoffs – not cool.

• 190.Provvas: Reply to this comment

15. Jaco Taute
    14. JPP
    13. JDJ
    12. Frans Steyn
    11. Habana
    10. Goosen
    9. Francois Hougaard
    8. Vermeulen
    7. Siya Kolisi
    6. Francois Louw
    5. Bekker
    4. Etzebeth
    3. Kitshoff
    2. Bissy (C)
    1. Beast

16. Pat Cilliers
    17. Burden
    18. Kruger
    19. Willem Alberts
    20. Paul Jordaan
    21. Reinach / Groom
    22. Rhule / Aplon

Team for the world cup 2015!!

• 191.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-190:
    If it wasnt for your nickname, I would never have guessed you were a province supporter.

• 192.shooter: Reply to this comment

Stormers is such a weak name – like someone said what is a Stormer really… I suggest for easier recognition and appropriate identity SARU change their name to VICTIMS next year.

For instance, the Victims vs the Cheetahs. Sounds about right.

• 193.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Most guys are here only because they have Internet access and watch rugby with nothing more than a casual interest, they wouldn’t tell you the difference between a right/left flank combo as opposed to open/blind combo, have no knowledge about nothing technical about the game, all the they do is continuously mistake cheap insults with wit, how sad?.

7or 8 years ago, Keo used to organize Muppit evenings, Nick Mallet would do the rugby analysis followed by a Q&A session, herein was the best way to expose the cheap fringe for what they really were, no room to divert stupidity via a buddy joke & thereby diffuse the situation as the guys do over the Internet, in fact most of the racist trolls never pitched, showing its easy to call people racist or be racist when you are anonymous, it’s rather different in person.

Most of the racist okes where exposed how little they actually knew about the game, maybe Keo should start those Muppit Evenings

• 194.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-191: Hehehe who would you change?

• 195.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-135: Who is Ettienne Botha??I really don’t have time to check Wikepedia.

• 196.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-189:
    Nah I prefer the JP try vs Stormers S15 semi.

And only because that loss hurt the Stormers way more than the Currie Cup loss hurt the Sharks.
    Factoid.

• 197.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-190: I think there should be a petition to make you the Bok coach. Why didn’t you just select the whole Stormers side? It can be copied and pasted from quite a few websites and saves you from typing out all their names.

• 198.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-193: Don’t be so harsh on Gunther Kleinhans. :D

• 199.shooter: Reply to this comment

The JDJ hype is over as far as I am concerned. Let the guy play.
    The word pollute was once used here.
    We may have another Silence of the Lambie’s walk-out then.

• 200.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@katman-187:

• 201.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@shooter-192: I suggest they call the Bulls the Pink cows!!

They do get milked week in and week out by all the teams… and when things do not go the way of their supporters they cry to their mommies for a Sterie Stumpie… preferably a pink one…

Kan mamma vir jou n pink melkie bring?

• 202.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-193: Brilliant post. I might just print it out, enlarge it poster size and display it in my lounge.

Keep up the good work, my little Xhosa laatie.

• 203.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-194:
    Kolisi wouldnt be on my run on side. On the bench at a push.
    Jacques Fourie at 13.
    No Hougaard at 9. Hope we find someone else there.
    And Kitshoff wouldnt start at TH for me.
    And unless Burden drastically improves his pure hooker skills, he wouldnt be on my bench.

• 204.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-193: Some sweeping statements in your first paragraph.

• 205.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-196: You would love to believe that now,would you??The pic of the Sharks team at the cup presentation tells a different story. :D

• 206.shooter: Reply to this comment

You don’t need Gunther to make a fool of youerself. He just does it with some intelligence.
    Which is ironic don’t you think. O no, I forget. You don’t. You use smileys.

• 207.nama1: Reply to this comment

I’ve come to the conclusion that HM had no other choice but to select Hougie and Zane in the starting line up.

Can you imagine what will happen to him when he is back in Pretoria if he selects a team with only one run on Bull(Kruger)? :lol:

• 208.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

A semi final loss hurting more than a Cup Final loss or any loss for that matter, stuff like that coming from adults, how daft does one have to be?, siriaas!!!

• 209.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-197: Amazing when seven Bulls are selected in REALITY no one screams foul.. or even earlier this year seven Sharks..
    But god forbid seven stormers players in the starting line up….

Proofs alot I would say..

Wp players are the future…even if they get contracted at other unions..

• 210.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-205:
    More shock than disappointment.

I mean, Catrekilis with a CC medal. Fk me. Whats next, Catrekilis with a S15 for the Kings?

• 211.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-201: mooowhaahwahha.
    So who you want to replace HM with.. o-yes… the unfairly ousted AC.

And don’t use the pink! argument please… it really hurts my feelings. :roll:

• 212.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@nama1-207: And that Bull,for some strange reason,is also turning into a marshmallow.In my opinion there is no Bull deserving of a Bok place.

• 213.Stormtrooper: Reply to this comment

I’m a great De Jong fan but he is no Jacques Fourie. Then again nor are any other outside centres in SA. The fact is Dagg weighs in at 95kg’s and Carter 93kgs (as per AB’s official website) These are their smallest backs. JDJ is 85kg’s which kind of puts Meyers argument into perspective. At test level it really gets down to small margins between winning & losing. In situations where you are a metre or 2 from the try line and you have one or two defenders in your way the bigger guys weight, power and momentum may take him over. A small guy is going to get knock back or flung into touch like a rag doll. I hope JDJ proves us all wrong.

• 214.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-208:
    Keep quiet P Diddy.
    Adults are talking.

• 215.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

:-) !!!, love life, love used not as a noun

• 216.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-203: I struggle to find places for the Lambies, Serfonteins, JJ engelbrechts, Arno Bothas, etc etc… so many young players coming through that could really step it up… People seem to have forgotten the impact Kolisi made at Stormers before he was injured…. I believe you will be reminded in Sr next year!

• 217.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-209: Very true.The best memory of 2012 after winning the cup would be how WP tricked the Bulls into buying Sadie and JJ . :D

• 218.shooter: Reply to this comment

I have an idea. Let’s have 5 more articles about Juan before Friday.
    Nothing else to write about really.

• 219.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

de jongh phopho ubagcwalisele rhaaaa ,bayakuthuka kodwa vala phezulu wena udlale ibhola udlalele wena hayi iwonga(bububhanxa)

• 220.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Heyneke is being an outright idiot. Juan de Jongh has proven himself succesful at test level under PDV´s tenure. Certainly more succesful than Taute has been thus far. Ditto Aplon vs Kirchener. Australias O Connor is proof that size doesnt matter at this level. Ditto Carter, Matt Giteau, Digby Ioane and to some extent Corey Jane and Berrick Barnes.
    All players range in height from 1.78 – 1.83 cm tall and 85 – 94 kg´s in weight.

Juan de Jongh is shorter at 1.75 cm but his weight is in the zone at 88kg´s (which would have more to do with stopping power and breaking the line than height wouldnt it).
    Houghaard is 4 cm taller and 2 kg heavier – no massive difference yet he is picked week in and out without fail and ive yet to see him really perform. Why should size be an issue for Juan? Yeah he´s a touch shorter but honestly if height were the only factor that would mean that a team filled with locks should dominate world rugby? Gimme a break.

In so doing Heyneke is overlooking some of the bets talent we have at 13 – De Jongh, Ebersohn, Paul Jordaan, and Kolisi and Brussouw not to mention Aplon. I´m really sick of all this talk of size when the reality is there are some of the worlds best rugby players in this size zone.

Jane 1.83 88
    Ioane 1.79 93
    O Connor 1.80 88
    Barnes 1.83 87
    Giteua 1.78 85
    Carter 1.78 94

Hougaard 1.79 90
    De Jongh 1.75 88

• 221.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

sorry forgot to add
    Pat Lambie 1.77 and 83 kgs. Lighter than Juan and only 2 cm taller.
    Elton Jantjes 1.76 and 84 kgs´yet both are firmly in the frame.

• 222.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Yeah this is getting boring again.Can’t we have an article how the Bulls are going to be the Stormers bunnies again next year.

• 223.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-216:
    Yeah i would battle to find places for Lambie(when Goosen in fully fit) and the others. Other than those changes, i like your side.
    Also, one other change is Vermulen at 8.

He’s just not a classic 8 to me. i would have him as a backup blindsider like he used to be at Free State. Hard and uncompromising. But 8? no.
    Look at the quality 8s around Read, Piccamoles, Harinordiquy, Lobbe, Denton etc Varmulen is lagging this group by some way.

But 3 years is a muff long way away and things will change.

• 224.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-196: Is that what you fellas keep telling yourself? Noooooooooooooo, say it isn’t so :)

Always the bridesmaids, never the brides hey?

• 225.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@shooter-218:

• 226.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@shooter-211: No not at all! No fan of Ac.. If we had a half decent coach, with the talent Wp have to offer, we should have been pressing for 5 CC in a row and a Sr title long ago!! It is only Ac holding us back…. we are achieving on shear talent alone and no coaching whatsoever.. that goes for Fatfoot and also Silver fox!! :)

@Stormtrooper-213: You need to get to within 5 meters of the line.. and no amount of clever kicking or strong players will get you there..
    You need game breakers… Like JDJ, Aplon, JPP, Goosen etc no matter their size!!

• 227.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

which leads me to believe that 1) either Heyneke is clueless and doesnt even know he has small players currently playing for him or 2) this is all journalistic mumbo jumbo.

• 228.nama1: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-212:
    Then you also have Morne on the bench, also not deserving of his spot.

So, in the end, it is actually only Flip who can rightfully claim a spot in the Bok 23 at the moment. The only reason for that is that the lock cupboard is bare after Vic and Bakkies.

Imagine a Bok team with no Bulls players while the coach is a former Bulls coach awa a former DOR of the Bulls.

It explains Kirchner and Hougie in the team then. :lol:

• 229.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-220: Good post.I’ve said it before,but it’s just a waste of time trying to convince the Danville thickos.

• 230.Pypkan: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-177:
    If you ever saw Japie play you would have known he was way heavier than 77kg.
    There is a lot of inaccurate information on the web, this link is much closer to the truth. He was definitely in the late 90kgs.

http://eurosport.du.ae/rugby/japie-mulder_prs8722/person.shtml
    JAPIE MULDER – RUGBY
    Date of birth : 18/10/1969
    Weight : 98 kg

• 231.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Is JDJ bigger than Reyhan

• 232.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@213, Wow!!! Genius, Cory Jane must a giant with his 80 odd Kg’s, just emphasized my point about poor rugby knowledge from those who pay casual interest to the game

• 233.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-224:
    Well you would know as a Stormers supporter.

Why do you say it like you dont know the feeling.

• 234.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-229: yeah man the whole thing is ridiculous. Size blah blah blah – up front in the forwards in the tight five yes you need grunt and weight etc but you can afford to have at least 1 smaller loose forward and definitely scrumhalves, flyhalves and often other backline players are not the biggest guys around. Its all down to skill. Dan Carter is my height and a touch heavier than me. Yet he is one of the best rugby players on the planet. If Juan bulked up a bit with some muscles to hit 90kg that would be more than sufficient for a test level player. I mean look at Shane Williams!!!
    1.70m and 80 kgs!! Yet he is regarded as a legend of the game. Test players do not need to be huge. Its a moot point.

• 235.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-220:

That’s what I’ve been asking the whole damn thread long

Why issue with size with JDJ

• 236.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-233: four super finals losses and the last two CC’s as well. Enough said.And don’t get me started on that famous century of kukness now. :D

• 237.John Galt: Reply to this comment

I really hope JdJ does well this weekend.

SA are short on quality 13 and someone needs to step up.
    I would love to see Taute get an extended run at 15 as well. Pipedreams?

• 238.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-235: yeah it smacks to me of prejudice.

• 239.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Same story with Rhule… needs more size… far too small for a Int. player …. just look what Norman Nelson did to him …. Rhule & JDJ – sorry okes, good super rugby players maybe … but not Int quality!

• 240.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-220: 100% agree with you, excellent post.

• 241.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@shooter-192: And WTF is shooter? Get this idiot, Cape of Storms = Stormers.

What a re tarded argument.

• 242.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-237: actually not so much – I´m vertain Jacques Fourie will return to the bok setup, then we have Juan de Jongh, Paul Jordaan, Robert ebersohn and if you retread him as a centre Francois Houghaard. (Ive said it a thousand times but I think its one of his best positions).

• 243.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-239:

Rhule will moer you into next week

• 244.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-233: I’ve experienced it a few times of course….not pleasant. But, I’m humbled that you would put me in the same category as you experts. Guppies the Grandmasters in fuckingupfinals.
    We learn from the best?

• 245.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-203: That’s because Kitshoff is a LH.

• 246.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-239: read my post 220 and argue that again please.

• 247.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-241:

Huh?

• 248.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Dawn, apparently it matters because Meyer plans to run over opposition players in futility, he just doesn’t have a plan that considers intelligence & skill, pure brawn is the way, hence JDJ doesn’t fit in Meyer’s plan, Meyer doesn’t allow intelligence & skill ahead of brawn

• 249.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

From Rugby 365
    Scotland feel that if they ‘front up physically’ to South Africa at Murrayfield on Saturday they will be able to beat a Springbok team that plays a very ‘simple and direct’ game.

We are playing such dumb rugby that even the minions now think were easy beats. We have lost allr espect in World Rugby. The Irish commentators kept saying in Saturday – South Africa are here for the taking. OMG what a horrible state of affairs.

• 250.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Dawn…. dream on… some of my body parts are bigger than him

• 251.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-248: yeha he´d much prefer a big donkey like De Villiers who tries to run over the oppositon time and time again and ends up in a heap at their feet and letting them turn over our possession without it ever making it past 12. FFS. I´m so over it.

• 252.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-236: @The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-244:
    Fk my big brown dog.

One CC win in 11 years and its like youve never lost a Super Rugby final or CC.

There is something rotten in the state of Cape Town.

• 253.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

I’m not big on soccer … does size matter in soccer? maybe jdj & rhule can help bafana bafana … they do need some help…

• 254.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-220: is heyneke on record to say he always prefers bigger players – i repeat always?

Or is this entire line of thinking just convenient?

sure he thinks he needs a physical no 8. but was prepared to play kanko.
    With all the analysis,,, this line of thinking has actually been debunked… but yet is constantly attributed to HM.

JDJ and Lambie and Hougaard in one backline. 3 average size players out of 7.

I don’t think it has yet sunk in that JDJ …. IS in the team…helo

• 255.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Pypkan-230: Thanks for finding a different source rather than bleeting on like these other troats.

• 256.Provvas: Reply to this comment

Height, weight, Strength in the gym.. speed on the track. Linebreaks every game. metres gained every game….. Its all stats!!!

No matter how many stats from the Wp/ Sharks final you throw at me… it is not gonna change the fact that the cup was lifted by WP.. some stats say Marcell gained more metres, Albert made more tckles etc etc… it does not win you games… the one linebreak from JDJ was enough for Wp to get back in the game and win the ultimate prize…. no matter the phoney stats…

Same with players: to say a 1.77m 90 kg centre is not as good as a 1.78 91kg player…. utter cr@p!!

• 257.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-245:
    Yes i realise that.

Hence he wouldnt start at TH for me.

• 258.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-245: :D . And he wants us to take him seriously.Xhosa might be right about these so-called experts like Johngalt etc etc.

• 259.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-247: Shooter was being a idiot.

• 260.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@shooter-254: well thats what I was questioning but Juan de Jongh does seem to think that his size is an issue in direct reference to what Heyneke is looking for. If Taute is being chosen above de Jongh based on form then one can only assume that the only reason he is making the starting team and not de Jongh is due to said size issue.

But yes I agree with you – a lot of this could all be journo mumbo jumbo to score hits on their blogs. Saying that Heyneke has stated preference for big players so its all a bit grey and obscure as to what is truly going on in the Bok setup at present.

• 261.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-258:
    I know hes not a TH you moron. Why do you think I said he wouldnt start at TH.

Fk what is wrong with you, seriously.

• 262.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

I hope Fourie returns. A JdJ and Fourie center pairing would do wonders for the Boks. Steyn can bugger back off to fullback.

Wishful thinking with Meyer.

• 263.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-257: That would be stating the obvious, but yes he would not start at TH.

But I do think he should be in the bok setup next year, definitly a future bok LH.

• 264.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-255: you Irish?I,ll cut your
    troat.LOL

• 265.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-252: Before that ,the Sharks went 12 years without any cup.The sharks/Natal province still is the proud record holder of 100 years without any cups.So,what’s your point. :D

• 266.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-252: Sheez you fellas are pWecious…..

• 267.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-263:
    Yes, actually i deleted part of my post that said he would be on the bench at LH for that side that Provvas put up.
    Deleted it because of the potential competition at LH, Beast, Coenie(he is defintitely no TH, that experiment failed), Gurthro etc etc.

• 268.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-264: Howdy Catcher in the Rye.

• 269.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-266:
    Oh dear…the old precious chirp.

We were having so much fun Ruckles.

• 270.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-263: He would say that now,would he?? :D

• 271.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-267:

So you can side step too. :lol:

• 272.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-261: Hahahah my teams Frontrowers making so much mess…

It is me who have no clue about frontrowers… never played there and never cared too much…. but it does not make me know less of the game than self proclaimed prohet Mr Xhosa…

Always have been a backline player and for me personally I prefer a brilliant try like JDJ in the CC final over and above the boring pick and drives you sometimes see..
    Must be said that the Mauling try for Wp in semi vs lions was something to behold though!!

• 273.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-271:
    You should see my Gangnam style.

• 274.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Now he has deleted part of his posts!! Ffs,it only gets better with these sharkie supporters.Me thinks it’s a case of getting your th’s and lh’s all mixed up. :D

• 275.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

Does HM like big women too? Just wondering…

• 276.grant10: Reply to this comment

Read a piece that intimated Taute would in all probability be back for the Poms…at 13.

I hope JDJ shows HM a fat toffee this weekend !

Go JDJ….for all the ‘ smaller ‘ players out there…..!

• 277.wnbb: Reply to this comment

I sense another sharkie blowout on the horizon. :D

• 278.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-269: I hate PWeciousness….

Talk about the upcoming test. Maybe we’ll find something else to disagree on?

• 279.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-272:
    No worries Provvas, just some supposed kenners having a go.
    Wouldnt worry too much about Xhosa, unless you watch BET, you wont understand what he’s saying anyway.

As I said earlier, would be great if JdJ had a cracker. Think he needs more than 1 game at 13.

• 280.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

just read the article.

no wonder so much whining has been going on the last few weeks.

ryan seems like he is sucking words out of his thumb and a crowd of wailers are following his every word :lol:

go well JdJ. you are no prodigy but i do rate you as an option.

thats all.

• 281.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

Ideal centre combo for the future
    12- Steyn
    13- Jordaan

• 282.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-272: You have no clue, period.

• 283.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-264: Nope, but **** you too, are you a child?

• 284.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

9- Hougaard
    10- Goosen

• 285.Nikita: Reply to this comment

Some of the nonsense spoken here is much worse than the pollution problem in eMalahleni.

• 286.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Another cheap buddy jokes, very lame

• 287.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-285: Carry on. This time there will be a mass walk out, not only from Ethekwini.

• 288.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-283: Sorry, miss read your post, did not see the joke behind it. Ai, I am worked up.

• 289.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-283: hey he was making a joke you fu k wi t.

get yer head out of yer bum.

• 290.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-281: Actually
    12 Jan Serfontein
    13 Frans Steyn
    would make a pretty deadly combo.

• 291.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-288: ah, well done.

now its my turn to apologise.

• 292.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-285: my god youre still around?

• 293.nama1: Reply to this comment

Funny!!! The complaints about the “traditional rugby powers” hijacking Bok rugby stopped the moment Lambie was handed the no. 10 jersey.

Guess we drive that train again next week if Morne starts. :lol:

• 294.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-285: shutup wench.

• 295.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-287:

Oh still some children on the site. :shock:

• 296.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-278:
    Oh Ruckles, anything for you sweets.

Although I think you’ll find if we really sat down and discussed it, we wouldnt disagree with much for this test.

• 297.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-289: I think he can speak for himself.No need to get your knickers in a knot now.

• 298.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

this nikita thing is not female.

its a man.

even if its female physiologically its male inside.

• 299.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-290:Serfontein is class. Looking forward to seeing him in Super Rugby next year

• 300.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-294:

Did you ****? I smell the stench.

• 301.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-298: idiot

• 302.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-297: you shutup too paddy.

your input should be limited to weather forecasts for dublin.

• 303.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-298:

You are funny.

• 304.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-295: A few yes, even a girl child – an they are certainly not from eThekwini.

• 305.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-299: oh yeah,Sadie was also class …and we now know how that panned out. :D

• 306.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-299: yeah he reminds me of the old school – the Danie Gerber days. Must say Paul Jordaan does a lot of damage for his size too. I dont think centre is a big issue at present. Our real problem areas have now shifted to scrumhalf and fullback in the backline and in the scrum mainly 5 lock and tighthead. if they can get Mujati back in the fold we will be rocking.

• 307.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-302:

Rather sensitive. Your feminite side.

• 308.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-300: i think you have been scratching your bum before picking your nose.

stop that, its unhygenic.

• 309.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-302: On the bottle again,squirrel hunter?

• 310.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-307: man the truth is we want to see more videos and less comments lol

• 311.Dawn: Reply to this comment

This article is actually kuk

Klomp bollie

• 312.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-303: you are not.

@Nikita-307: shhh now go pollute somewhere else pseudo keohane employee.

• 313.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-308:

You can do better than that.

• 314.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-308: You are getting farking boring now ranger.Time to go sleep it off,don’t you think so? :D

• 315.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-308:

Quiet, you feminite.

• 316.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-291: No probs, my head was in my bum, lolz

• 317.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-309: not yet.

you fallen in the guiness factory again?

• 318.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-299: Must be honest….. I’m not 100% sold on Serfontein yet. Yes, he’s a gifted ball player – but does he offer us anything different – anything at all?
    And funny, I think the Bulls in their usual conservative manner, will play Meisiekind at 12 as starter – yes, Samurai Barbie returns to reclaim her blue/pink jersey early in the season.

• 319.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-312:

Your turn today.

Joanne firing line.

• 320.gunther: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-252:

Dont say that.

Capo doesn’t need any encouragement in that department.

• 321.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-312:

Oh dear

• 322.katman: Reply to this comment

Why all this animosity? Is it something that katman can help mediate?

• 323.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-318: I actually pity all decent Bulls fans.They really do have the players,but their union shove coat hangers like Spies,Steyn and Timotei down their throats.

• 324.John Galt: Reply to this comment

SA needs a world class 15, 13 and 8 to please come forward.

That is all I want for Christmas.

• 325.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@katman-322: Come on, your racist comment is inappropriate.

• 326.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Why are you so infatuated with capo,Gunther Kleinhans?? :D

• 327.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@gunther-320:
    My mistake.
    This could end badly for some unsuspecting poodle somewhere. I feel bad already.

• 328.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-324: Ludik, Jordaan and Daniel.

• 329.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-324: And probably a book on how to distinguish between your th’s and lh’s. :D

• 330.xtremebull: Reply to this comment

if you wanna go world cup then go with this
    15 taute
    14 pietersen
    13 de jong
    12 steyn
    11 rhule
    10 goosen
    9 hougaaard
    8 spiess if form is proven otherwise kankowski
    7 burger (c)
    6 louw
    5 bekker
    4 etzebeth
    3 oosthuizen
    2 du plessis (co v/c)
    1 mtawarira

16 strauss (co v/c)
    17 cilliers
    18 du plessis
    19 vd merwe
    20 alberts or vermeulen
    21 van zyl
    22 lambie
    23 mapoe

24 ralepelle
    25 malherbe
    26 kruger
    27 kolisi
    28 vermeulen or alberts
    29 coetzee
    30 reinach
    31 jantjies
    32 mvovo
    If all is fit and on form then we do have selection posers i reckon. Possible 35 ish best players maybe post rwc 2015

• 331.willievz: Reply to this comment

Let’s look at this from a different angle.

Could his “lack” of size actually be used to an advantage in test rugby?

What about his speed off the mark – he can close down attackers quickly in a rush defense than slower, bulkier chaps.

What about his low center of gravity in the tackle situation. He is better equipped to support his own bodyweight at a ruck situation.

Oh, I forgot, he already did these and proved his weight (no pun intended) at the Stormers.

• 332.gunther: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-327:

That sort of thing could get you booted out of Ireland.

They love their dogs there.

• 333.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-328:

Shame man

Daniel is TOO SMALL for a No 8

Dont do that to him

• 334.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-306: Unfortunately our problems go deeper than player selection at the moment with our skills coaching not up to par . Hopefully Heyneke is on the lookout for some quality backup. He’ll need to cut his coaching buddies loose sooner than later.

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-318: We haven’t seen enough of him since his heroics in the junior RWC. Riding the pine at the Bulls while being coached by Pine cant be healthy for his development.

• 335.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-328: Suprise suprise. World class? No, no they are not.

But yes Ludik and Jordaan would be in my team.

• 336.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@xtremebull-330: Habana playing awsome rugby and you drop him? Shame on you.

• 337.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-328: Puma?

• 338.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-318: agg please man – kid makes IRB junior payer of the year scores a number of brilliant tries has size and speed and rugby know how in his blood and your not 100% sold on him? What does he have to do – prove he can fly?

• 339.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@grant10-276: JdJ has dealt with all the AB centres. He can deal with the precious Pommie Pacific import!

• 340.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-333: Yes, but he is the Cullen of 8′s. Don’t you EVER forget that.

• 341.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-324: how about a 5, 3 and 9 to boot?

• 342.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-334: yeah I well agree with that but a healthy selection policy will go a long way to finding some synergy in the team for a start.

• 343.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-340: Cullen scored a bloody load of test tries and was a one man nightmare for the boks, havn’t seen that from Daniel. He is a good SR player but not that level.

• 344.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-341:
    Yes. If Santa is very generous he will provide those as well.

• 345.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-343: @Slumtown-341: Bresler, Jannie Dup and Reinach.

• 346.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-328:
    Ludik couldn’t even unseat Coetzee as the no. 1 Lions FB.

Jordaan was totally outplayed by JdJ in the CC final.

Keegan is a world class ruck wave rider at this stage. (I like Keegan btw)

Not one of them can be classed “world class” in their positions. Are you mad?

• 347.wnbb: Reply to this comment

KD,unfortunately,will never become a regular in a Bok team….if ever selected again.He had his chances and blew it.Let us move on from the KD fiasco.

• 348.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

JDJ het die hele desember om te chow … jy speel nie meer skole rugby ou boetie …. jy speel nou saam met grootmense wat jou baie seer gaan maak! jy ook rhule …

• 349.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Ludick was outplayed by both WP fullbacks in the final.World class?Don’t think so.

• 350.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-338: Nope. I want to see him play in a decent backline for the duration of the S15. Gaffie du Toit was also a genius when he was 19….as was Nick Koster and a few others.
    I’m not sold that he is the saviour of the Saffa midfield that many are making him out to be at this stage.
    Am I being unfair wanting to see him play a bit more at Super rugby level before calling him the Midfield Messiah?

• 351.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-338:
    Are you talking about Spies? :lol:

Spies also did all those things (except IRB accolade) and what can he show for it at test level? I agree with Pedigree. The boy must prove himself at senior level first (S15) before we hail him as the next Messiah in the back line.

• 352.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

In happier news :)

http://www.fin24.com/Economy/Cape-Town-best-city-in-the-world-poll-20121115

• 353.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-350: Absolutely.He is good and I enjoyed watching him during the JWC,but to call for his selection now is just plain madness.

• 354.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@willievz-331: Ja, hard to understand. Lets hope he uses his chance well.

• 355.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-352: Don’t tell them, they’ll come and lower the tone of the place ;)

• 356.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Those days are gone where Koshius rugby players walked into a Bok team before playing for their provinces.Serfontein needs to prove himself at super level first.Just a pity that meisiekind will be his mentor.

• 357.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Dries Swanepoel is also with the Bulls I think? Serfontein’s school boy partner? I know he was injured, but I’m hoping to see him getting some game time as well.
    The Bulls are stocked at centre though….sheez.
    William Small Smith – who I REALLY like, but he’s a little small for the Meyer of Pretoria.
    Venter…Meisie…Jan….JJ (rolling ogies)…..Dries…..

• 358.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-350: fair enough but from what ive seen he is a significant cut above all the players youve mentioned. I just hope the dof Bulls coaching doesnt mess him up. Watch next season and we will talk again. He is in a class of his own.

• 359.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@nama1-346:

Jordaan owned JDJ all year. JDJ was good in the final though.

Was Coetzee even at the Lions when Ludik was there? Ludik was kak last year, but really stepped up this year.

Daniel is class.

But of the above 3, only Jordaan has the potential to be world class.

• 360.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@nama1-351:

Agreed.

• 361.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@nama1-351: ja maybe thats cos they retreaded him as an 8th man. In what position did Spies excel at junior level may i ask? He was doing really well on wing and I reckon he would have excelled at wing if he stayed there. He´s no loose forward.

• 362.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

hahahaha every farkin article Ryan has to mention how he knows HM – “I’ve worked professionally with him for years” blah blah blah

1. Ryan, no one cares
    2. Did you not think it would be easy enough for a racist to hide his true feelings from a journalist in a professional relationship?

Note: I am not saying Heyneke is racist at all, just that no journalist can really know what a coach thinks about anything.

• 363.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@nama1-351: Also I didnt say a thing about him being the enxt Messiah. I just think he is one fo the best centres to come through the ranks in recent memory. Time will tell. I know i´m right.

• 364.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-356:

He need to prove himself at Currie Cup level, then SR level, then Test level (if he gets there).

u20 WC is light years from SR.

• 365.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-358: Yes he does seem to have the goods. But, we have seen it all too many times before, so I have become a little sceptical.
    What happens next year in the S15…let’s see. Not sure playing behind Samurai Barbie in the pecking order is the best way to stake a claim anywhere. (Hope they (Bulls coaches) have the balls to play their youngsters.)

• 366.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-268: Hello.Howare you?.Hope that you and Dawn have a great day.
    I ha d a rottie once.Name Schatzie(Little darling) Usual hip dysplasia

• 367.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-283: Pathetic.Lighten up man

• 368.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-361:
    Spies played 8th man at the junior WC. Scored some amazing tries and was voted player of the tournament, I think. Might be wrong about it.

• 369.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-288: All Ok.Ignore my subs equent riposte

• 370.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-363:
    I know you didn’t. Sorry if I offended you in any way.

It’s just that every talented youngster who bursts onto the scene, is seen as one. :lol:

• 371.nama1: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-359:
    Yes. Mitchell and Ackers played Ludik on the wing to keep Coetzee at FB.

What does that tell you?

• 372.nama1: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-364:
    So, you saying he must play CC next year, SR in 2014 and only then be in contention for a Bok spot?

Works for me but it won’t happen that way. Bulls will play him in the S15 next year. If he does well, HM will most probably include him in his squad for the inbound tours since it is not going to be a tier 1 team touring SA.

• 373.katman: Reply to this comment

@nama1-371: How exactly did Mitchell and Ackers do that when Ludik has been playing for the Sharks since 2010 and Coetzee only made his Lions debut in this year’s Super Rugby tournament?

Sounds to me like you’re trying to make a point without knowing what the hell you’re talking about.

• 374.nama1: Reply to this comment

@katman-373:
    My bad. You got me fair and square. Was thinking of Taute.

:oops: :oops:

• 375.katman: Reply to this comment

@nama1-346: More of the same kak from the numero uno kakprater:

“Ludik couldn’t even unseat Coetzee as the no. 1 Lions FB”

Coetzee is 22 years old and only started playing for the Lions in 2012. Ludik left the Lions at the end of 2009 for the Sharks.

Wake up.

• 376.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@bokfan1-362: Ryan is met die fokking helmet gebore……..hy weet alles!!!

• 377.nama1: Reply to this comment

@katman-375:
    H.oor wie praat van kakprater?

Die spankaptein van die kak praat span. Hahaha…

• 378.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@nama1-370: yep I hear you – no offence taken. But I do believe he is definitely a cut above the rest. There are a number of junior players who put their hands up at this Junior cup – Adendorff, Arno Botha, Mbovane, Rhule, Serfontein, Jordaan etc. But in all honesty the only ones who really stand above the rest are Rhule and Serfontein. Not sure his choice of going to the Bulls was very wise. As you say he may well sit behind Timotei for months.

• 379.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@nama1-368: as far as I know he played wing for the 2006 U21 squad.

• 380.katman: Reply to this comment

@nama1-377: Hoe werk dit? Jy is besig om “feite” uit jou hol uit te grawe hier, nie ek nie. Dis wat ek bedoel met kakpraat.

• 381.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-365: yep his choice of the Bulls might not have been the wisest move.

• 382.nama1: Reply to this comment

@katman-380:
    Nee man. Nou gaan jy te ver.

Ek het net my feite rondom twee verskillende spelers omgedraai, dis al. Ek het dit reeds erken so ek weet nie waar jy aan die “besig om “feite” uit jou hol uit te grawe” kak van jou kom nie.

Wees nou ‘n groot man…vir ‘n slag. Jy kan mos.

• 383.playtheball: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-376: So wat jy eintlik probeer se is, Ryan weet niks en jy weet alles. Hoekom deel jy dan nie jou in-diepte kennis met ons nie?

• 384.willievz: Reply to this comment

Hahahaha

Just discovered the Wikipedia-entry for Juan de Jongh :lol:

Juan de Jongh (born (1988-03-15)15 March 1988) is a South African rugby union footballer. He was one of the stars of Vodacom WP’s ABSA Currie Cup campaign in 2009 and he made his debut against the Sharks. He became the first choice inside centre for the Stormers in the 2010 Super 14 season after the departure of stalwart and captain, Jean de Villiers. He won his first international cap against Wales, during this game he also scored his first international try with a scything break through the Welsh midfield, similar to that of his previous try against the Waratahs in the Super 14 semi-final. He is better than Jaco Taute, who’s best position is fullback.

• 385.katman: Reply to this comment

@nama1-382: You’re a joke, man. I only mentioned that you were hauling facts from your arse because you called me a kakprater. In the face of fresh and mounting evidence that you are indeed the kakprater. Some facts just need to be set straight.

• 386.katman: Reply to this comment

@willievz-384: Ha ha, that’s funny.

• 387.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@willievz-384: :D

If it’s on Wiki it must be true! :)

• 388.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@playtheball-383: Het ek gese ek weet alles. raak die week bietjie lank ou bees? Rusitg oor die klippe of word n bietjie humor verban hier?

• 389.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@willievz-384: Willa jy is n onuitputtende bron van kennis. ;)

• 390.nama1: Reply to this comment

@katman-385:
    OK, you can stop now. You are the winner.

I concede.(white flag waving)

• 391.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-379:

Spies played 8th for the u21s in 2006, he also made his bok debut on the flank that year. He did however play wing for the u19s in 2004 and for the Bulls in the 2005 SR season.

• 392.nama1: Reply to this comment

@katman-385:
    Haal nou ‘n paar keer diep asem en blaas stadig uit.

Waarom sal jy toelaat dat ‘n Nama jou so ontstel?

• 393.willievz: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-389:

Ek weet nie alles nie, maar ek het wel toegang tot Wikipedia :lol:

• 394.playtheball: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-388: Nee, duidelik is hierdie webblad een van die laaste bastions van vryheid. Jammer, ek het nie besef jou post was bedoel om humorisities te wees nie – vir my het dit net geklink na die gewone “ek-is-die-baas-en-ek-weet-beter”-tipe post. Bly om te **** jy’t aanbeweeg.

• 395.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@willievz-393:

Is that for real or did you add that on????

• 396.playtheball: Reply to this comment

**** = h o o r

• 397.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-395: Hmmm…no I found it written like that on Wikipedia.

It has disappeared from the text, now.

So…maybe our Wikipedia-editor is a blogger on Keo :lol:

• 398.Dawn: Reply to this comment

• 399.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-391: Thanks for that – been digging about trying to find the info and didnt have much luck.

The following year, only nineteen years old, Pierre made his Super 12 debut as the youngest rugby player ever, to play for the Bulls and what a debut he made, scoring nine tries in only six games as the u21 wing.
    2004 SA U/19 – wing

Found it finally.

• 400.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-352: Good article.Well done Cape Town.And of course
    the DA.Can hear the howls already

• 401.ufo: Reply to this comment

I recently conducted a scientifically credible survey on the bastion of media freedom and public opinion beyond objective repute… keo.co.za…

The results were verified by that international accounting firm of universal acclaim PricelessWatermelon&Pooper…

and are finally in…

92% listed Cape Town is the most hated city in the world.
    95% of those admitted to have never been to Cape Town.
    89% listed Cape Town as not as pretty as F) ‘Another’ Town.
    98% could not say in what country you can find the town called Another.
    100% listed Cape Town as the place they would most like to live if their names were kept secret.
    90% listed rugby as the most hated attraction in Cape Town.
    96% listed their favourite beverage as ‘brannes-n-cocain’.
    81% said Cape Town was the most boring city in the world.
    64% said their favourite cultural experience in Cape Town was ‘Ratanga Junction’.
    73% listed the Curator of the Castle as ‘Charles Glass’.
    87% listed the most essential item of clothing to take to Cape Town as a “Speedo”.
    43% listed the area in which the Botanical Gardens were found as ‘Gardens’.
    17% listed the person they would most like to meet as “The Great White”.
    another 17% listed the person they would most like to meet as “The Twelve Apostles”
    13% said Table Mountain was what they enjoyed with their partner after dinner.
    96% listed wine as their most favourite pastime.
    96% commented it was their right to wine whenever they wanted!
    49% listed their favourite wine estate as ‘Kings Park’.

• 402.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@ufo-401: Hello pal.VEry good.
    The ignorance of (particularly Americans) is astonishing
    But hey,they are the biggest and the best(Truly) and can afford to be.
    Go well

• 403.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@ufo-401: Brilliantly funny.Loved the curator of the castle

• 404.ufo: Reply to this comment

litte bit of fun…

• 405.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@ufo-401:

:) :)

Where is the whine estate Kings Park situated?

Re he real article; I fnd it incredible that the British Airways confirm that Cape Town is one of their top 10 global routes but the SAA in their wishdom decided to discontinue their direct flight between Cape Town and London. I know their long distance carriers are ancient by modern standards but i reckon if they cannot even make a pofit in flying a route where there is such a demand for seats they can just as well give up.

• 406.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

DAWN from posts it is evident that you love your folks ver much,and since this tyread is dead anyway thought it apposite(S it another word I would not normally use)Woodstock

You who are on the road,must have a code,that you can live by’
    And so,become yourself.because the past s just a goodbye.
    Teach your children well,their fathers hell did slowly go by.
    And feed them onyour dreams,the one theypicked,the ones youre known by
    Dont you ever ask them why,If they told you you would cry,
    So just look at them and sigh and know they love you.

And you of tender years,cant know the fears,that your elders grew by
    and so please help them with your years,they seek the truth before they can die
    Teach your parents well,their childrens hell,will slowly go by
    And feed them on your dreams,the one they picked,the one youre known by
    Dont you ever ask them why,If they told uou you would cry
    So just look at them and sigh and know they love you.

• 407.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/SpringboksintheUK/Eben-Etzebeth-not-doing-his-job-20121115#.UKT5_kNjtzo.twitte

Etsebeth not doing his job

Well what do you expect when a dumb moron of a springbok rugby coach don’t know the difference between a No.4 lock and a No.5 lock trying to force square pegs into round holes all over the goddamn place..

This Heyneke Meyer is one abominable doos who can’t see sh’t for trees when it comes down to how and who to select in which positions to get the best out of the sum of the whole rather than looking to create bloody glorified individual style mini me’s

• 408.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

I don’t think ‘teach your children’ was sung at Woodstock.. if it was its not on the official recording , it was composed by Graham Nash of the Hollies who filled in the vocal backing behind Steven Stills and David Crosby when they first formed CSN and later when Neil Young joined up Nash was more the quiet English harmony in the background, not really much of a front man more of the quiet nice guy doing the backing.

• 409.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-408:

Nash did the lead vocals on “Teach your children”

http://youtu.be/ztVaqZajq-I

• 410.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

what now banned again

• 411.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-409: Ok the last post didn’t get published.. Teach your children was Nash’s composition so he always did the lead vocals to Teach your children because it was his own song they recorded either on the original CSN album or on Deja Vu

• 412.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Are you ok ,Skop ??

• 413.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

All the pretentious music “kenners” now waxing lyrical about lyrics that sound like a cheese grater when put to sound…

Here far more important lyrics, easy on the ear

Whoow! Here’s a little song for everybody out there

People try to take my soul away, but I don’t hear the rap that they all say
    They try to tell us we don’t belong, that’s alright, we’re millions strong
    This is my music, it makes me proud, these are my people and this is my crowd

These are crazy, crazy, crazy, crazy nights…

Stanley, Simmons, Singer, Thayer….

• 414.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Cape Town apparently “Best City in the World” according to a poll by Telegraph… Wonder what the sample was: Lower Berkshire and SA expats living in Reading…?

Nevertheless so Cape Town is “Bester” that London, Paris, Prague, New York, Tokyo…

Wow…

I feel like I need to go pull wire in honour of the Cape Wankas Anon…

Hubbada hubbada…

• 415.STBUR: Reply to this comment

Juan de Jongh, aka The Messiah, aka The Difference should be banned from the Springbok team due to that ridiculous dance of his. A rugby is not a carnival or a yankee sport.

• 416.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-407: Mark Andrews(and you)absolutely right.Andrews ,a legend,being pilloried by Stormer
    supporters for daring to advise EE to hit the rucks

• 417.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-414: Next a “poll” will be telling us UCT and BoereSentraal University otherwise know as Stellenbosch are “among the best” Unis on the planet…

The Top 500 anyway….

Bwaaaaa…..

• 418.wnbb: Reply to this comment

SOUTH AFRICA
    Etzebeth being ‘set up for a fall’
    Thu, 15 Nov 2012 13:17
    His role should be to hit rucks

World Cup-winning Springbok lock Mark Andrews believes Eben Etzebeth is being set up for disappointment by the South African coaching staff.

Andrews, a member of the Springbok team who won the Webb Ellis Cup on home soil in 1995, feels coach Heyneke Meyer and forwards coach Johann van Graan are not fully utilising the strengths of the Test rookie.

Speaking on SI Radio on Wednesday, Andrews said Etzebeth is being used as a ball-carrier in the national set-up, which is resulting in him neglecting his primary rucking responsibilities.

The 77-Test cap veteran said that while his role as ball-carrier can be understood at provincial level, the luxury afforded to national coaches – in strong runners such as Willem Alberts, Duane Vermeulen and Adriaan Strauss – should see a shift in focus as far as Etzebeth’s role in the Springbok composition is concerned.

“I would have loved to see Eben Etzebeth play with someone like Bakkies Botha or Victor Matfield,” said Andrews.

“He has an incredible talent. The maturity he has been showing in the line-outs has been fantastic and he has a huge amount of confidence in carrying the ball up.

“However, I think that he may be set up by the media, the public and maybe the coaches for a fall later in his career if not sooner in the sense of that he isn’t really doing the job that he should be doing.

“Every single effective pack in world rugby – from international down to club rugby – has one of the second rows who has the ability to bring a physical presence to the game and normally that comes down to ruck time.

“What’s lacking with the Springboks at the moment is we have quite a few players who think they are ball-carriers and Etzebeth has been put in that position at Western Province where he has to be a ball-carrier.

“However, I think at the Springboks the situation should be different. It worries me that someone like Willem Alberts is hitting more rucks than anyone else in the team, when he is one of our most effective ball-carriers.

“Now we have a guy like Etzebeth standing out a lot of the time waiting to carry the ball up and it has happened a few times already when he’s lost the ball when he’s close to the try-line. I think his role should be to hit rucks and the Springboks need someone like him to own the breakdown.

“The All Blacks have always believed in owning the breakdown, but at the moment – and I have probably watched him more than most because it’s a position I played in – I don’t see him hitting rucks.”

Andrews added that Etzebeth is partly to blame and encouraged the SARU Young Player of the Year to improve his workrate at the rucks.

“He has all the ingredients to be a world-class player and be the anchor of the Springbok pack for years to come, but right now in the early stage of his career we need somebody to pull him aside and say ‘you have some key parts in your game that is expected of you and one of them is hitting rucks and you haven’t been doing it all season’.

“He got away with it in the Currie Cup and in Super Rugby where a very physical Stormers pack has allowed him to play a looser game, but at the Springboks it is going to be critical going forward to have a guy like Etzebeth, who ticks all the boxes, to hit the rucks. He actually runs away from breakdowns instead of running towards them.

“I think if somebody works with him on that and point it out as an opportunity to improve his game, he will become a world-class second row.”

Touching on Etzebeth’s current lock partner, Juandre Kruger, Andrews said: “You can’t fault his game. I just don’t think – and it’s a hard thing to say and it’s a hard thing for a player to hear and I hope I get proven wrong – but I don’t think he will be a world-class player.

“He just doesn’t have the size and enough of those world-class attributes in his game but he’s a good, solid player. He’ll give you 100 percent for 80 minutes.”

Andrews noted Stormers second row Andries Bekker, who was ruled out of the end-of-year tour due to a toe injury, as a special talent.

“He is a world-class player. The height he is, he can dominate line-outs, he can tackle, he can carry the ball. He has enough ticks as I call it to make him a world-class player,” said Andrews.

“He started his career where I ended it – out on the wing,” Andrews quipped. “But he developed his game, he became very physical and abrasive in his style.

“As he picked up a couple of injuries he’s been shying way from the physical side again but hopefully he’ll sort himself out physically and get back into a mould in the Bok side.”
    Source: Sportsillustrated.co.za/si-radio
    RELATED ARTICLES

• 419.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-414: You are so predictable you farking plonker.I actually expected you to arrive as soon as Pedigree posted that link though. :D

• 420.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Andrews has credibility here… What, being a World Cup winner and previous young prodigy himself…

All the Cape wa.nking may lead to Etsebeth getting soft…

Andrews was twice the player Etsebeth is at the same stage of his development, plain and simple…

• 421.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Indeed Rye

• 422.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-411:

Great band.
    Check this version of “Suite Judy Blue eyes” – only one guitar and the voices.

http://youtu.be/ztVaqZajq-I

• 423.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-422: Beautiful

• 424.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Aaagh take your shark shape d ick out of your hand and away from keyboard

• 425.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-419: I tell you whats predictable… the wailing Poodle in Mummy’s bedroom…

Now please don’t address me you psychotic little runt…

This feint familiarity breeds the mongrel of contempt…

• 426.Rimpelkring: Reply to this comment

Nou wat kan ’n man nou sê? Ek is verbaas dat mense nog die ANC blameer vir kak in die land as jy die algemene kennis van doodgewone rugby-ondersteuner lees soos op hierdie draad.

• 427.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-424: Dont you dare address me without clicking the arrow on the side of my post…

Think of it as stroking the point… my point.

• 428.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-413: what kind of moron are you damn idiot

bloody tiring watching morons with feathers sticking out their arses thinking they the bloody bees knees of anything and everything from rugby to politics to economics to music when these dumb bloody fool idiots are none the wiser in either or any of these fields.

• 429.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Wie die vok is jy jou gerimpelde ding

• 430.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-422:

Wrong link.

Should be this one:

http://youtu.be/kVUwrifwKrI

• 431.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I will address you any fecking way I like

• 432.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Andrews is saying exactly what I been telling this dumb fck moron of a rugby coach since day one that Etsebeth is not an enforcer he should be playing the roving athletic No.5 and line out role and Alberts or Elstadt should be the enforcer Brad Thorne type operative at 4.

• 433.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-425: I will address you ..and there is fukkol you can do about it. :D . If you make kuk rugby predictions and punting for losers like Romne,I will remind you about idiocity, :D

• 434.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Idiocity,

Wnnb go back to school you stupid stupid person

• 435.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-428: Gene Simmons… best songwriter on wee little Gaia…

Beats the daylights out of those pretentious senile fckers from a little farm field in the middle of sweet farkall on the way to San Francisco with flowers in your hair…

• 436.wnbb: Reply to this comment

According to Sharkslover on RT,you confided in him that I pushed you over the edge.You are a real farking pu ssy you know. :D

• 437.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-432:

> Andrews is saying exactly what I been telling this dumb fck moron of a rugby coach since day one

Which coach, AC or HM?

Andrews said “and Etzebeth has been put in that position at Western Province where he has to be a ball-carrier”

• 438.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-430: I grew up with CSNY.. they were perhaps my biggest musical influence apart from or perhaps on par with Dylan

Steven Stills perhaps the most underrated maestro of country rock there no one remotely near to him in terms of pure talent and musicality.. not Eagles not Foggerty not Kristofferson not Alman Bro’s not no one.. only one that can meet him at face level is Neil Young, that why they were like two thunder clouds meeting in the sky when they were on stage together playing 2 lead guitars together ripping from one bar to the next.

• 439.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-433:

“Romne” ?

“idiocity” ??

Prime Cape intelligentsia in full view… An obvious Vrede protege…

Chrissakes… Nuff said… Your post says it all…

• 440.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-437: Both or all.., at WP he was playing 5 now or then when Elstadt was fit, Elstadt and Etsebeth together would knock a whole lotta socks off of every little pretentious pansy coming out of bully boy or sharkievarkie country.. and then some.

• 441.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Have you heard about a thing called urban dictionary,sweetness??check it out. :D

• 442.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-439: Good night all.Tomorrow is Puza(Spelling) Friday

• 443.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-439: you can spell Romney any way you want ,but the fact of the matter is that you saddled up a farking donkey !I am glad that I piss you off so much .Don’t confide in pu ssies like Sl next time.ok? :D

• 444.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-435: why a good little Jewboy like that go and anglicize his name and give his kids pom pom surnames when he was born in the heart of Romanticized raw bone country

• 445.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ja it’s for dumbos like you

• 446.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

And then the words of Johnny Strong and Operator (WWE Theme band):

There is nothing that i would not face
    With vengance and annihilate
    Sever off the hands of fate
    If it were to keep you safe
    If a million reasons came my way
    None of them could take your place
    You will never be alone
    I will never let you
    Let you go

Ten times better than any old farts with only claim to fame being the undercard to Sha Na Na…

Farksakes

• 447.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-442: Cheers Catch… Bonsoir au revoir…

• 448.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Keep It Simple Stupid ain’t music that just over the top crash bang balderdash looking for an escape valve before it ruptures some over raucous spleens

• 449.wnbb: Reply to this comment

When a puss y like Hg turns to spelling mistakes,you just know you own his head space. :D

• 450.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-443: You… pissme off… indicates I care in some way…

I dont.

Wax off wax on…

Pissoff… Pisson more like…

Now begone Baldrick and your cunning little plans…

• 451.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Hg would be inclined to do things like this: 3. “When you have a fire in an aircraft, there’s no place to go, exactly, there’s no — and you can’t find any oxygen from outside the aircraft to get in the aircraft, because the windows don’t open. I don’t know why they don’t do that. It’s a real problem.” –Mitt Romney, suggesting it would be a good idea to crack a window at 35,000 feet, Beverly Hills fundraiser, Sept. 22, 2012

• 452.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-446: shows you got zero clue .. poor little anxious anathemas to anarchy looking for a livid ego to drum and burn out so loud, that why they can’t hear the sweet sounds of freedom till it get buried in the ground.

• 453.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-450: Finally.Left a circle,Right a circle

• 454.wnbb: Reply to this comment

I normally keep my Romney jokes for when HG arrives.The two stupid pussies deserve each other. :D

• 455.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-442: so long

• 456.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-444: Simmons also chop his foreskin…?

No wonder he has a tongue like a python… Transplant obviously

• 457.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-453: Ratchet and Clank…

• 458.wnbb: Reply to this comment

As a Zimbo,HG would know what Romney was trying to say here…farking he’ll,the rest of us don’t :D . 8. “My dad, as you probably know, was the governor of Michigan and was the head of a car company. But he was born in Mexico… and had he been born of, uh, Mexican parents, I’d have a better shot at winning this. But he was unfortunately born to Americans living in Mexico. He lived there for a number of years. I mean, I say that jokingly, but it would be helpful to be Latino.” -Mitt Romney, in leaked comments from a Florida fundraiser, May 17 2012

• 459.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-451: America… Welcome to the 3rd World…

Modern American Currency

One dollar bill: George Washington
    Five dollar bill: Abraham Lincoln
    Ten dollar bill: Alexander Hamilton
    Twenty dollar bill: Andrew Jackson
    Fifty dollar bill: Ulysses S. Grant
    One hundred dollar bill: Benjamin Franklin
    Food Stamps: Barack Obama

• 460.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-458: Here’s another one… Just to humour you and “your” Dead Prez…

Obama was leaving the country club golf course when he was accosted by an armed robber who demanded, “Give me all of your money!” Barack haughtily replied, “Do you know who I am. I’m the President of the United States!” The robber snarled back, “Then give me all MY money.”

• 461.wnbb: Reply to this comment

When the Sharks lost another final against WP ,HG probably felt like this : “Tomorrow we begin a new tomorrow.” –Mitt Romney on his final day of campaigning, Nov. 5, 2012

• 462.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-452: Along that watchtower Tom Petty did say…

All the vampires walkin’ through the valley
    Move west down Ventura Blvd
    And all the bad boys are standing in the shadows
    All the good girls are home with broken hearts

• 463.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-460: spoils to the winners and the losers will be remembered for their kuk quotes and jokes. : D.

• 464.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-461:

Q. What does Barack Obama call illegal aliens?
    A. Undocumented Democrats

• 465.cuntlyn: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-361:

If Heineke (a) is obsessed with size in the back line (b) prepared to play players out of their comfort zone (horses for courses) (c) likes Pierre Spies in the team environment, why not bring him back to the wing?

Will it be such a stupid thing to do? Or will he simply not be good enough?

This whole debate on size just goes around in circles. There have always been nippy players around – Besides the ones mentioned regularly on this site – also Brent Russel // Faffa Knoetze (80′s).

Same quote should go for size: “If you good enough, you big enough”

• 466.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-456: he just like me born in native raw Romanticized country and then went all bloody yank on himself. Real name Chaim Weitz from Tirat Carmel.. shows you can’t trust no one to be who they really are in real life

• 467.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-463: Your fun’s up… Fifi is waitng for you… Paws spread… Curlies exposed… Twinkle in her eyes…

Woof… the little b.itch…

• 468.wnbb: Reply to this comment

You can add losers like HG to that list as well,Bill. :D . “When you elect Mitt, you’re not just electing him. You’re electing every right wing nut he’s pandered to in the last ten years. If the Mittmobile does roll into Washington it will be towing behind it the whole anti-intellectual anti-science freak show. The abstinence obsessives, the flat earthers, home schoolers, the holy warriors, the anti-women social neanderthals, the closeted homosexuals, and every endtimer who sees the Virgin Mary in the grass over the septic tank.” –Bill Maher

• 469.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-466: You must be joking… Oh well… Another heap of CDs burnt in the bonfire under the flaming cross in the garden…

Damn

• 470.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-467: fark off you loser. :D

• 471.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Yeesh Mitt is even more dom than I thought

• 472.wnbb: Reply to this comment

This is what HG sounds like when he gets all steamed up about Cape Town and its people: 2. “Corporations are people, my friend … of course they are. Everything corporations earn ultimately goes to the people. Where do you think it goes? Whose pockets? Whose pockets? People’s pockets. Human beings, my friend.” —Mitt Romney to a heckler at the Iowa State Fair who suggested that taxes should be raised on corporations as part of balancing the budget (August 2011)

• 473.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-469: yup you can’t get away from us can you.. poor bloody neanderthal vikings thought they could convert the messiah to have blue eyes and blond hair and cry war songs from the Highlands of the North Hebrides .. meantime the brown eyed messiah from the lowlands was circumcised for posterity.. how you gonna get around that crock of sh’t dude.. its stamped into your sieg heil psyche like a burning cross of Hades.

• 474.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-468: “sees the Virgin Mary in the grass over the septic tank”… I think maybe “Bill” and you might have it wrong in your orgy of “intellectualism”…

I reckon maybe Mitt would prefer to see Moroni or Joseph Smith or some such…

Btw… Hear this one?

Q. When Obama is reelected President, how will he ensure that men and women have equal earnings?
    A. Unemployment

• 475.wnbb: Reply to this comment

85Sharks_forever
    November 14th, 2012 at 17:01 SAST
    @ Stormersboy:
    Exactly bro
    HG told me one day it is crappo that got under his skin and then of course the likes of skoppie and some other WP okes, he just cant move on though, he now become like them in some ways
    0 likes
    :D . :D

• 476.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-473: Of course the “Messiah” had straw blonde hair and uboat Captain wolf blue eyes…

And his name was Odin…

• 477.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Obama was a victory for sanity for humanity for equality.. Romney would have just sped up the devolution of the human race back into the quicksands of eye for an eye tooth for a tooth war dance in the desert .. itching to pull the raw boned hair trigger

• 478.wnbb: Reply to this comment

I am glad that you are part of the crazy family HG. :D

• 479.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-476: you keep switching messiahs, last week it was Socrates, this week Odin, next week Jeshua ben Joseph , and the week after Zeus or Heracles , or Zarathustra or Mithras..

just like you can’t work out which coach is your messiah.. you were so convinced it was the Haymaker.. now you not so sure no more.. so when you gonna get convinced and convicted one way or the other?

• 480.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Sorry HG,but I can’t help myself. :D . “Today Mitt Romney advised that men should head for the shelters and women should remain in their binders.” –Bill Maher on Hurricane Sandy

“During last night’s debate, President Obama told Mitt Romney, ‘The 1980s called and they want their foreign policy back.’ Romney tried to deliver a comeback but then his beeper went off.” –Jay Leno

• 481.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-475: You trying very hard… Feeling inadequate?

Psst, here’s another one…

“President Obama admitted this week that a former girlfriend that he wrote about in his autobiography was made up and not a real person . . . So Obama had an imaginary girlfriend. Big deal! He had an imaginary economic plan. It’s all the same.” –Jay Leno

• 482.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-479: What do you expect of a Romneyrite. “Mitt Romney says President Obama’s promises are like Kim Kardashian’s wedding vows. President Obama shot back. He said Romney’s positions last about half as long as a Kim Kardashian wedding.” –Jay Leno

• 483.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-479: I prefer the ones with pure blood…

Norse superiority all the rage now… They made a movie about the blonde haired blue eyed messiah recently…

Thor… Son of Odin…

• 484.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-481: Obama destroyed your man,Romney.We can just about call it by a landslide.Why would I feel inadequate??Silly bugger!Only a Romneyrite would try to counter with Obama jokes.Blame it on the education system,ne HG. :D

• 485.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-483: all fairy tales washed up on the mists of the foggy sound of the Atlantean fairy dance that went capsizing into the ocean before your history of aeons was born

maybe its Thor they secretly were waiting for, so why the go and lump poor unsuspecting Jeshua ben Joseph with all that balderdash brainwashed bumph they so hyped up and romantically deluded by?

• 486.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Talking about HG and education system: ??”Mitt Romney was attacking Obama about our failing education system. He has a point. We are graduating millions of people in this country who are so lacking in basic analytical skills, they are considering voting for Mitt Romney.” –Bill Maherl

• 487.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-482: He he… This humble poster get your goat…?

Here’s a good one… Q: Whats the difference between Simba and Obama? A: One is an African Lion and the other one is a lying African!

Spank that poodle, son :lol:

• 488.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-485: Of course its Thor over Jeshua ben Joseph… all pretense is dropped… Rather a hammer than a nail any day of the week…

• 489.wnbb: Reply to this comment

We all know that HG is a Zimbo and that he used to live in the UK.He probably felt like Mitt’s family when he decided to jump the gun and head back to another foreign country. :D . “Apparently a large branch of Mitt Romney’s family lives in Mexico. … His grandfather in the late 1800s moved his whole family to Mexico to avoid being prosecuted for polygamy. … Mitt can use that to show that he’s tough on immigration. His family kicked themselves out of the country.” –Jimmy Kimmel

• 490.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-488: You can’t claim the high ground here,loser puss y.Your man got fu kked royally in the arse,whilst Obama is still the leader of the free world. :D

• 491.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-489: Capo… Capo… Romney is da man… You know it… I know it… America knows it…

Obamarama learnt well from Georgie Dubya…

Stealing an election is easy peasy…

• 492.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Time to go.Great to know that I own HG’s soul . :D . Cheers you Romneyrite loser puss y.

• 493.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-491: They call it a landslide victory in the states.Fark,you Romney okes are dof!! :D . Have to go now.

• 494.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-490: “got fu kked royally in the arse”…
    I see your frustration… :lol:

Your poor, poor Fifi…

Aaawhhhhoooooo…

• 495.nikoli: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-490: leader of the free world – who exactly is/are the free world?

• 496.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-493: “the states”… You speak as if you been there…

Internet explorer… See the world… Global traveler :lol:

• 497.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-488: so who’s fooling who.. some say its a sickle and a hammer.. others a hammer over a nail.. others reckon its a cross of crestfallen chrysanthemums, and then others say its none of these cause when you croak the only one gonna meet you in the tunnel of love is queen Jehosheba of Judah

• 498.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-497: No half mast Sophias, Magdalenas or Mary’s in a fuzzy tunnel of light for me thank you very much… I’ll far rather hitch a ride with a Valkyrie to Valhalla while flying over the resurrected bones shuffling their way to Mecca…

• 499.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Gute nacht… Aus…

• 500.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-498: well according to Paul McCartney or Paul of Tarsus its all about sweet Mary Magdalene and merciful mother Mary who whispers words of wisdom and got you wrapped around her knee

you got Norse mythology driving you batty the best thing to recognize is there no such requiem of renegade recklessness across Valhalla, your soul has no color no culture no creed and no condition., you are neither this nor that nor the other.. all you trying to do is patch a label across your consciousness because you believe that who you are is unique and conformed to crystallized conditioning through association and heritage.. That is all false, it don’t exist beyond the boundaries of birth and death and benign brainwashed bewilderment, there is no condition when the skin gets ripped off your raw naked consciousness.

• 501.ufo: Reply to this comment

yeah… Teach Your Children was not played at Woodstock came out on Deja Vu the next year…

great band… four strong characters…

“Andrews was twice the player Etsebeth is at the same stage of his development, plain and simple…”

oh yeah…?

(Figures barring injury and including world cup games…)

Player Eben Etzebeth Mark Andrews
    International debut 20years225days 22years111days
    Caps at 21years20days 10 0
    Caps at 22years111days 20 (possible) 1
    Caps at 29years old 104 (possible) 77
    Caps at 32years old 151 (possible) 77

Mark was a good player… but twice the player Eben is…??

hmmmm…

plainly simple…

• 502.ufo: Reply to this comment

damn formattting…

try again

Player………………………………Eben Etzebeth…….Mark Andrews
    International debut…………..20years225days….22years111days
    Caps at 21years20days….10………………………….0
    Caps at 22years111days..20 (possible)…………1
    Caps at 29years old………. 104 (possible)……….77
    Caps at 32years old………..151 (possible)……….77

• 503.nikoli: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-500: you are so far out there dude, so much knowledge on so many different levels, where does it all come from & what are you?

• 504.Transformation: Reply to this comment

eish…scotland might see gangnam style is lambie puts jdj into space…

• 505.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

Using smaller players just means that they must change tactics a bit. Instead o hanging back and tackling high, smaller players must move up quickly and tackle low. BUT the whole line must do so together. And the whole line should be moving up quickly in defnce anyway. Only thing is: the quicker they move up in defence, the further they have to get back onside, the fitter they have to be. this is why fitness and conditioning must be the best in the world.

• 506.j59: Reply to this comment

Not racist….but sizeist

Size discrimination or sizeism is a form of discrimination based upon a person’s physical size, including but not limited to height and/or weight

In some regions, anti-discrimination laws are in place to prohibit sizeism
    —-
    No, I’m just kidding….you’re alright Meyer!

• 507.j59: Reply to this comment

@willievz-331: 100% agree – especially re the lower centre of gravity

• 508.husky: Reply to this comment

I think Meyer is being overly cautious. He’s scared of leaking tries on defence and I suspect he knows his coaching team cannot teach defence and attack to Test standard. So he has to resort to what he knows; Gooot ou’s and stampkar rugby. Size has its place but needs to be tempered with skill when evaluating a player.

I would pick de Jongh to start and maybe pull JdV off early if the Boks can build a lead against the Scottie’s. We’ll need a healthy JdV against the not so pasty Poms and their imports.

Hmmm, there’s a thought; maybe Meyer should import some PI’s; Nackerlesslavuvuzela anyone.

• 509.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Interesting to note that JDJ and Taute are same weight in terms of kg/ cm height.

For every cm of height both players are 0.5kg heavy per cm.

That would indicate that both players have the same body density. (I think)

By the way.

J Fourie is 0.55kg per cm
    SBW is 0.56kg per cm

“A low weight-to-strength ratio is not only desirable in the gym. The weight-to-strength ratio, when descriptive of a material, relates the density of the material to its ability to withstand permanent deformation or fracture under pressure. Low-ratio values indicate that the material is light-weight but can bear significant load. High values describe heavy materials that deform or break easily. The weight-to-strength ratio is typically used in an inverse form as the strength-to-weight ratio; it is then termed the specific strength of the material.”

• 510.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-509: that means screwall chum.

Seen some sinewy dutchies with some serious strength, and equally some big okes who are nothing more than heavy puff pastry.

What you don’t want is the small scraggly puff pastry……geez, think I just describe Skop :)

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.