De Jongh’s small problem
15 Nov 2012
RYAN VREDE, in Edinburgh, writes because of his size Juan de Jongh has to be exceptional to force Heyneke Meyer to consider him as a real solution to his outside centre problem.
I wrote at the start of Meyer’s tenure that he is a disciple of size and strength, firm in his belief that a player must have this attribute to be successful in Test rugby.
At the time I cited De Jongh among the players who would struggle to push for a regular starting berth, with Meyer appreciative of his attacking capacity in Super Rugby, but unconvinced that he could replicate his hot-stepping in reduced space and time and consistently dominate the tackle fight on attack and defence in Tests.
De Jongh has, however, got an opportunity to alter his coach’s fairly rigid view, and bid to convince him that he can fill a void Meyer is concerned about going forward. His problem is that he’ll get one shot. As it stands Jaco Taute will be reinstated for the final Test of the tour against England at Twickenham. That is unless De Jongh produces something special against Scotland.
There has been no shortage of suggestions and, at times, accusations that Meyer is a racist for what is perceived to be the sidelining of black players. I’ve worked professionally with him for years, and have never got that impression. That he has a prejudice against smaller players of average ability (in a Test context) is undoubted. De Jongh is one such player. He is capable of feats of brilliance (his try in the Currie Cup final an example) but has not replicated these feats often enough to be considered a must for the Springboks.
In his favour is that he is 24 years old and still has time to grow. Also, Meyer has shown a willingness to have some of his views challenged. By way of example, Ruan Pienaar and Francois Louw have, on the strength of their performances and maturity they’ve exhibited, paved the way for a steadily increasing number of overseas-based players to be involved with the Springboks. Meyer had previously been adamant that he would select his squads from players based in South Africa, unless his hand was forced through injury.
Similarly De Jongh can advance the cause of the smaller backs. He refused to make soaring statements about size, but came across as confident in his ability.
‘I know where I’ve stood with Heyneke from the start. I know what attributes he is looking for from me, but I also know what I need for my game,’ De Jongh said. ‘Everyone has their opinion [on size] but I have an opportunity this weekend to prove people who think I’m too small wrong.’

510 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All
15 Nov 2012, 10:54 am
small se moer man
15 Nov 2012, 10:55 am
I wonder if Meyer would ever consider Paul Jordaan as a Bok 13.
He’s class (and still only 20).
Pace to burn as well, and you can’t coach that.
15 Nov 2012, 10:56 am
I would back JDJ vs Taute in a 1 on 1 every day of the week.
15 Nov 2012, 10:58 am
“In his favour is that he is 24 years old and still has time to grow.”
I hope you’re not suggesting that Juan de Jongh follows the Pretoria Protocol, Ryan.
15 Nov 2012, 10:58 am
A good big one is better than a good small one!!
I do however rate De Jongh. Has the X-factor and tackles well.
15 Nov 2012, 11:00 am
Sad really. Shows the short sightedness of our national coach.
@londonshark-2: I hope he does because Jordaan is class!
15 Nov 2012, 11:00 am
@londonshark-2: My thoughts exactly !! He certainly isn’t the size that HM likes
@WP-Forever-4: Or Europe ?
15 Nov 2012, 11:01 am
Amazing that Aplon and JDJ form part of the best defensive team in past 2 seasons with Superrugby but are seen as liabilities…..
Biggest load of absolute kak I have ever heard…
This ‘ size ‘ at all costs has got to stop man….
Bulls defensive record was 1 of the worst….with all there size and skop en jag….this is really getting under my skin now…
Im glad JdJ is starting this game but in truth, outside of the CC final, he hasnt been great this year for his franchise or province.
He has battle against bigger, physical players in the past. JP in the S15 semi is just one example.
I think he might battle against that Tuilagi fella as well but if he plays well against the Scots, give him another go against the Poms as well. Its the least he deserves.
@Braders-5: What about an average big one better than a very good small one?
Because that is what Taute over De Jongh is.
@Braders-5:
But a good small one is better than a big average one. JDJ vs Taute.
And lets be honest. JDJ is just not big. He’s not small.
15 Nov 2012, 11:02 am
@CharlesM-7: Having said that, Jordaan is definitely Bok quality IMO. As Sasuke said in 6 , he is a class act !!
15 Nov 2012, 11:02 am
@Sasuke-10:
LOL. Great minds.
15 Nov 2012, 11:03 am
@grant10-8:
Yes Grant but their strengths are also supposed to be their pace and attacking abilities.
And those two you mentioned were also part of the worst attacking team this season.
15 Nov 2012, 11:03 am
the small problem is not Juan’s…
the big problem is heyneke’s…
he wants “magic” moments in the boks but doesn’t want to select the players who can produce them…
put juan down for a hattrick…!!
15 Nov 2012, 11:04 am
@grant10-8: True, this size argument doesnt make sense.
15 Nov 2012, 11:04 am
@grant10-8:
Spot on.
Meyer is obessed with defense, but fails to bring in players and coaches from the best defensive unit in Super Rugby!!??
Aplon never misses a tackle, and rarely goes backwards. He would be my Bok 15.
15 Nov 2012, 11:05 am
@John Galt-14:
But then surely they would be a perfect fit for Meyer.
Great defense with no attacking flair what so ever
15 Nov 2012, 11:05 am
@John Galt-9: IMO JdJ will only play the one test now. HM will go back to “size” for the England test
15 Nov 2012, 11:06 am
Please explain something to me.
Heyneke Meyer is happy to play Francois Hougaard on wing.
Hougaard is 1.79m tall, and weighs 90kg.
Juan de Jongh is 1.75m and weighs 88kg.
Essentially, both these players are more or less the same size.
@londonshark-13:
you should give me a snap.
@ufo-15: Exactly Aplon is another player with X-Factor/magic.
@grant10-1: Poor James
15 Nov 2012, 11:08 am
@WP-Forever-20:
I suppose we have to ask what differentiates those two players?
Oh, by the way, Lwazi Mvovo is 1.85m and weighs over 90kg. He is larger than Hougaard.
Surely if Meyer was obsessed with size, he would pick Mvovo (a very capable wing!) over Hougaard on wing?
So where is the differential?
Oh, wait a minute…
15 Nov 2012, 11:08 am
@CharlesM-12:
Jordaan just needs to work on his distribution skills a bit more. They not bad, but they could improve.
His pace and defense though is outstanding.
15 Nov 2012, 11:09 am
Kabouta Quota!
15 Nov 2012, 11:10 am
@WP-Forever-20: Exactly…..there is something else brewing. Aplon is also around the same size but he on occassion tackles wingers bigger than him back in the tackle.
@WP-Forever-23:
Ja, Meyer contradicts himself at every turn.
Says Lambie impressed him during the Currie Cup, but then says we must remember that JDJ was only playing Currie Cup, so we musn’t read too much into it.
PDV anyone??
@londonshark-24: I agree. Unfortunately he had a few injuries during the past season as well.
15 Nov 2012, 11:11 am
@ryecatcher-22:
funny
I’m going to be at the game. Make it memorable De Jongh!
look Scotland are kak … they gave the All Blacks plenty of room & no rush defense and no pressure on Carter etc … if JDJ fails against Scotland he should never be picked for the Boks again …
15 Nov 2012, 11:12 am
@CharlesM-28:
Yeah, his left hammy gives serious problems. Let’s hope he sorts that out.
15 Nov 2012, 11:14 am
@londonshark-27: PDV to come back?
15 Nov 2012, 11:15 am
@Sasuke-26: Same size as who?
15 Nov 2012, 11:16 am
@londonshark-24: @CharlesM-28: Is he currently injured?
Will he start next season? It will be between him and Whitehead. Two great players to have in one position.
Also, the Gangnam style jokes have to stop – he was busting those moves long before the Gangnam style video went viral.
HM seems to be one sited, hour jdj has a blinder, and I think jordaan could be a Conrad Smith in the making,I think he will be that kind of player hopefully. GM played potgieter for size and he got burnt, he played steyn
of lambie and goosen
15 Nov 2012, 11:17 am
@Sasuke-26:
To be fair, Aplon is quite small, he weighs less than 80kg.
But he makes up for that in sheer heart and guts.
@Sasuke-33:
I would welcome PDV back. Seriously.
Meyer seems to be the Robbie Deans of Bok rugby. Thinks SR success can translate to test success. And after 5 years, Deans is still battling.
@katman-34: As Lambie and De Jongh or is Aplon a wee bit smaller?
@suffer_guy-31:
They’re not that kak boet. They scored 3 tries against them which no other team has managed to do this season.
Their pack is very strong. Murray, Ford, Gray, Denton, Brown, Strokosch… all bloody good players.
We should be stronger but if our pack plays anything like they did in the 1st half against Ireland, there wont be any good ball for Lambie and JdJ etc to work off.
Lets first wait and see what happens shall we?
15 Nov 2012, 11:19 am
@londonshark-27:
Maybe Heyneke Meyer is just merely similar to Tacitus in his philosophy.
That philosophy states that for a team to be successful, it needs to be homogenous.
Maybe Juan de Jongh refuses to sing “Bobbejaan klim die berg” on the team bus, who knows.
Maybe Lambie finally buckled and started singing along, explaining his being back in favour again…
15 Nov 2012, 11:19 am
@Sasuke-35:
He’s fine now.
Whitehead will be benched.
Frans Steyn will play 12 with Jordaan at 13. Whitehead can cover both (and JPP can play 13 if we need him).
The Sharks centers are looking good considering how kak they were pre-season (Bosman and Joubert were running in the centers at times).
15 Nov 2012, 11:20 am
@John Galt-41:
I actually think it is very possible that we lose to the Scots again.
15 Nov 2012, 11:20 am
@WP-Forever-38: Ok my bad. Yes which is most of the time overlooked.
@londonshark-39: Me too. He did great things for the Boks. How can he not get a coaching job in S.A? He should coach Boland i think, lots of great youngsters coming out of the Boland region.
But I am sure Meyer will pull it together next year. I was just very disappointed with him this year. I expected so much more from him.
15 Nov 2012, 11:21 am
@John Galt-14: That was the kak game plan….they both world class and should be regulars….this rubbish obsession with size is backfiring…..worst bok backline performances in a damn long time.
15 Nov 2012, 11:21 am
john …. one was a intercept – carter threw a shocker …. we are at least 20 points stronger than them …. btw didn’t PDV’s team lose against them? with Matfield, Fourie duP, j fourie, f steyn … etc etc ?
15 Nov 2012, 11:22 am
@londonshark-43: Yes the Sharks have great depth for next season.
15 Nov 2012, 11:23 am
why does everyone think that the Bok backline will score more tries with JDJ playing? How many tries did the Stormers score in 2012?
15 Nov 2012, 11:25 am
@suffer_guy-47:
Intercept or not, they scored 3 tries.
And yes, Pdiv team did lose against them. Euen Murray was man of the match. Which is exactly my point. Write these guys off at your peril
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All