De Jongh’s small problem

RYAN VREDE, in Edinburgh, writes because of his size Juan de Jongh has to be exceptional to force Heyneke Meyer to consider him as a real solution to his outside centre problem.

I wrote at the start of Meyer’s tenure that he is a disciple of size and strength, firm in his belief that a player must have this attribute to be successful in Test rugby.

At the time I cited De Jongh among the players who would struggle to push for a regular starting berth, with Meyer appreciative of his attacking capacity in Super Rugby, but unconvinced that he could replicate his hot-stepping in reduced space and time and consistently dominate the tackle fight on attack and defence in Tests.

De Jongh has, however, got an opportunity to alter his coach’s fairly rigid view, and bid to convince him that he can fill a void Meyer is concerned about going forward. His problem is that he’ll get one shot. As it stands Jaco Taute will be reinstated for the final Test of the tour against England at Twickenham. That is unless De Jongh produces something special against Scotland.

There has been no shortage of suggestions and, at times, accusations that Meyer is a racist for what is perceived to be the sidelining of black players. I’ve worked professionally with him for years, and have never got that impression. That he has a prejudice against smaller players of average ability (in a Test context) is undoubted. De Jongh is one such player. He is capable of feats of brilliance (his try in the Currie Cup final an example) but has not replicated these feats often enough to be considered a must for the Springboks.

In his favour is that he is 24 years old and still has time to grow. Also, Meyer has shown a willingness to have some of his views challenged. By way of example, Ruan Pienaar and Francois Louw have, on the strength of their performances and maturity they’ve exhibited, paved the way for a steadily increasing number of overseas-based players to be involved with the Springboks. Meyer had previously been adamant that he would select his squads from players based in South Africa, unless his hand was forced through injury.

Similarly De Jongh can advance the cause of the smaller backs. He refused to make soaring statements about size, but came across as confident in his ability.

‘I know where I’ve stood with Heyneke from the start. I know what attributes he is looking for from me, but I also know what I need for my game,’ De Jongh said. ‘Everyone has their opinion [on size] but I have an opportunity this weekend to prove people who think I’m too small wrong.’

510 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 » Show All

• 351.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-338:
    Are you talking about Spies? :lol:

Spies also did all those things (except IRB accolade) and what can he show for it at test level? I agree with Pedigree. The boy must prove himself at senior level first (S15) before we hail him as the next Messiah in the back line.

• 352.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

In happier news :)

http://www.fin24.com/Economy/Cape-Town-best-city-in-the-world-poll-20121115

• 353.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-350: Absolutely.He is good and I enjoyed watching him during the JWC,but to call for his selection now is just plain madness.

• 354.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@willievz-331: Ja, hard to understand. Lets hope he uses his chance well.

• 355.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-352: Don’t tell them, they’ll come and lower the tone of the place ;)

• 356.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Those days are gone where Koshius rugby players walked into a Bok team before playing for their provinces.Serfontein needs to prove himself at super level first.Just a pity that meisiekind will be his mentor.

• 357.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Dries Swanepoel is also with the Bulls I think? Serfontein’s school boy partner? I know he was injured, but I’m hoping to see him getting some game time as well.
    The Bulls are stocked at centre though….sheez.
    William Small Smith – who I REALLY like, but he’s a little small for the Meyer of Pretoria.
    Venter…Meisie…Jan….JJ (rolling ogies)…..Dries…..

• 358.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-350: fair enough but from what ive seen he is a significant cut above all the players youve mentioned. I just hope the dof Bulls coaching doesnt mess him up. Watch next season and we will talk again. He is in a class of his own.

• 359.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@nama1-346:

Jordaan owned JDJ all year. JDJ was good in the final though.

Was Coetzee even at the Lions when Ludik was there? Ludik was kak last year, but really stepped up this year.

Daniel is class.

But of the above 3, only Jordaan has the potential to be world class.

• 360.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@nama1-351:

Agreed.

• 361.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@nama1-351: ja maybe thats cos they retreaded him as an 8th man. In what position did Spies excel at junior level may i ask? He was doing really well on wing and I reckon he would have excelled at wing if he stayed there. He´s no loose forward.

• 362.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

hahahaha every farkin article Ryan has to mention how he knows HM – “I’ve worked professionally with him for years” blah blah blah

1. Ryan, no one cares
    2. Did you not think it would be easy enough for a racist to hide his true feelings from a journalist in a professional relationship?

Note: I am not saying Heyneke is racist at all, just that no journalist can really know what a coach thinks about anything.

• 363.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@nama1-351: Also I didnt say a thing about him being the enxt Messiah. I just think he is one fo the best centres to come through the ranks in recent memory. Time will tell. I know i´m right.

• 364.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-356:

He need to prove himself at Currie Cup level, then SR level, then Test level (if he gets there).

u20 WC is light years from SR.

• 365.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-358: Yes he does seem to have the goods. But, we have seen it all too many times before, so I have become a little sceptical.
    What happens next year in the S15…let’s see. Not sure playing behind Samurai Barbie in the pecking order is the best way to stake a claim anywhere. (Hope they (Bulls coaches) have the balls to play their youngsters.)

• 366.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-268: Hello.Howare you?.Hope that you and Dawn have a great day.
    I ha d a rottie once.Name Schatzie(Little darling) Usual hip dysplasia

• 367.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-283: Pathetic.Lighten up man

• 368.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-361:
    Spies played 8th man at the junior WC. Scored some amazing tries and was voted player of the tournament, I think. Might be wrong about it.

• 369.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-288: All Ok.Ignore my subs equent riposte

• 370.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-363:
    I know you didn’t. Sorry if I offended you in any way.

It’s just that every talented youngster who bursts onto the scene, is seen as one. :lol:

• 371.nama1: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-359:
    Yes. Mitchell and Ackers played Ludik on the wing to keep Coetzee at FB.

What does that tell you?

• 372.nama1: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-364:
    So, you saying he must play CC next year, SR in 2014 and only then be in contention for a Bok spot?

Works for me but it won’t happen that way. Bulls will play him in the S15 next year. If he does well, HM will most probably include him in his squad for the inbound tours since it is not going to be a tier 1 team touring SA.

• 373.katman: Reply to this comment

@nama1-371: How exactly did Mitchell and Ackers do that when Ludik has been playing for the Sharks since 2010 and Coetzee only made his Lions debut in this year’s Super Rugby tournament?

Sounds to me like you’re trying to make a point without knowing what the hell you’re talking about.

• 374.nama1: Reply to this comment

@katman-373:
    My bad. You got me fair and square. Was thinking of Taute.

:oops: :oops:

• 375.katman: Reply to this comment

@nama1-346: More of the same kak from the numero uno kakprater:

“Ludik couldn’t even unseat Coetzee as the no. 1 Lions FB”

Coetzee is 22 years old and only started playing for the Lions in 2012. Ludik left the Lions at the end of 2009 for the Sharks.

Wake up.

• 376.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@bokfan1-362: Ryan is met die fokking helmet gebore……..hy weet alles!!!

• 377.nama1: Reply to this comment

@katman-375:
    H.oor wie praat van kakprater?

Die spankaptein van die kak praat span. Hahaha…

• 378.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@nama1-370: yep I hear you – no offence taken. But I do believe he is definitely a cut above the rest. There are a number of junior players who put their hands up at this Junior cup – Adendorff, Arno Botha, Mbovane, Rhule, Serfontein, Jordaan etc. But in all honesty the only ones who really stand above the rest are Rhule and Serfontein. Not sure his choice of going to the Bulls was very wise. As you say he may well sit behind Timotei for months.

• 379.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@nama1-368: as far as I know he played wing for the 2006 U21 squad.

• 380.katman: Reply to this comment

@nama1-377: Hoe werk dit? Jy is besig om “feite” uit jou hol uit te grawe hier, nie ek nie. Dis wat ek bedoel met kakpraat.

• 381.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-365: yep his choice of the Bulls might not have been the wisest move.

• 382.nama1: Reply to this comment

@katman-380:
    Nee man. Nou gaan jy te ver.

Ek het net my feite rondom twee verskillende spelers omgedraai, dis al. Ek het dit reeds erken so ek weet nie waar jy aan die “besig om “feite” uit jou hol uit te grawe” kak van jou kom nie.

Wees nou ‘n groot man…vir ‘n slag. Jy kan mos.

• 383.playtheball: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-376: So wat jy eintlik probeer se is, Ryan weet niks en jy weet alles. Hoekom deel jy dan nie jou in-diepte kennis met ons nie?

• 384.willievz: Reply to this comment

Hahahaha

Just discovered the Wikipedia-entry for Juan de Jongh :lol:

Juan de Jongh (born (1988-03-15)15 March 1988) is a South African rugby union footballer. He was one of the stars of Vodacom WP’s ABSA Currie Cup campaign in 2009 and he made his debut against the Sharks. He became the first choice inside centre for the Stormers in the 2010 Super 14 season after the departure of stalwart and captain, Jean de Villiers. He won his first international cap against Wales, during this game he also scored his first international try with a scything break through the Welsh midfield, similar to that of his previous try against the Waratahs in the Super 14 semi-final. He is better than Jaco Taute, who’s best position is fullback.

• 385.katman: Reply to this comment

@nama1-382: You’re a joke, man. I only mentioned that you were hauling facts from your arse because you called me a kakprater. In the face of fresh and mounting evidence that you are indeed the kakprater. Some facts just need to be set straight.

• 386.katman: Reply to this comment

@willievz-384: Ha ha, that’s funny.

• 387.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@willievz-384: :D

If it’s on Wiki it must be true! :)

• 388.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@playtheball-383: Het ek gese ek weet alles. raak die week bietjie lank ou bees? Rusitg oor die klippe of word n bietjie humor verban hier?

• 389.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@willievz-384: Willa jy is n onuitputtende bron van kennis. ;)

• 390.nama1: Reply to this comment

@katman-385:
    OK, you can stop now. You are the winner.

I concede.(white flag waving)

• 391.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-379:

Spies played 8th for the u21s in 2006, he also made his bok debut on the flank that year. He did however play wing for the u19s in 2004 and for the Bulls in the 2005 SR season.

• 392.nama1: Reply to this comment

@katman-385:
    Haal nou ‘n paar keer diep asem en blaas stadig uit.

Waarom sal jy toelaat dat ‘n Nama jou so ontstel?

• 393.willievz: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-389:

Ek weet nie alles nie, maar ek het wel toegang tot Wikipedia :lol:

• 394.playtheball: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-388: Nee, duidelik is hierdie webblad een van die laaste bastions van vryheid. Jammer, ek het nie besef jou post was bedoel om humorisities te wees nie – vir my het dit net geklink na die gewone “ek-is-die-baas-en-ek-weet-beter”-tipe post. Bly om te **** jy’t aanbeweeg.

• 395.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@willievz-393:

Is that for real or did you add that on????

• 396.playtheball: Reply to this comment

**** = h o o r

• 397.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-395: Hmmm…no I found it written like that on Wikipedia.

It has disappeared from the text, now.

So…maybe our Wikipedia-editor is a blogger on Keo :lol:

• 398.Dawn: Reply to this comment

• 399.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-391: Thanks for that – been digging about trying to find the info and didnt have much luck.

The following year, only nineteen years old, Pierre made his Super 12 debut as the youngest rugby player ever, to play for the Bulls and what a debut he made, scoring nine tries in only six games as the u21 wing.
    2004 SA U/19 – wing

Found it finally.

• 400.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-352: Good article.Well done Cape Town.And of course
    the DA.Can hear the howls already

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.