De Jongh’s small problem
15 Nov 2012
RYAN VREDE, in Edinburgh, writes because of his size Juan de Jongh has to be exceptional to force Heyneke Meyer to consider him as a real solution to his outside centre problem.
I wrote at the start of Meyer’s tenure that he is a disciple of size and strength, firm in his belief that a player must have this attribute to be successful in Test rugby.
At the time I cited De Jongh among the players who would struggle to push for a regular starting berth, with Meyer appreciative of his attacking capacity in Super Rugby, but unconvinced that he could replicate his hot-stepping in reduced space and time and consistently dominate the tackle fight on attack and defence in Tests.
De Jongh has, however, got an opportunity to alter his coach’s fairly rigid view, and bid to convince him that he can fill a void Meyer is concerned about going forward. His problem is that he’ll get one shot. As it stands Jaco Taute will be reinstated for the final Test of the tour against England at Twickenham. That is unless De Jongh produces something special against Scotland.
There has been no shortage of suggestions and, at times, accusations that Meyer is a racist for what is perceived to be the sidelining of black players. I’ve worked professionally with him for years, and have never got that impression. That he has a prejudice against smaller players of average ability (in a Test context) is undoubted. De Jongh is one such player. He is capable of feats of brilliance (his try in the Currie Cup final an example) but has not replicated these feats often enough to be considered a must for the Springboks.
In his favour is that he is 24 years old and still has time to grow. Also, Meyer has shown a willingness to have some of his views challenged. By way of example, Ruan Pienaar and Francois Louw have, on the strength of their performances and maturity they’ve exhibited, paved the way for a steadily increasing number of overseas-based players to be involved with the Springboks. Meyer had previously been adamant that he would select his squads from players based in South Africa, unless his hand was forced through injury.
Similarly De Jongh can advance the cause of the smaller backs. He refused to make soaring statements about size, but came across as confident in his ability.
‘I know where I’ve stood with Heyneke from the start. I know what attributes he is looking for from me, but I also know what I need for my game,’ De Jongh said. ‘Everyone has their opinion [on size] but I have an opportunity this weekend to prove people who think I’m too small wrong.’

510 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 » Show All
15 Nov 2012, 17:54 pm
I recently conducted a scientifically credible survey on the bastion of media freedom and public opinion beyond objective repute… keo.co.za…
The results were verified by that international accounting firm of universal acclaim PricelessWatermelon&Pooper…
and are finally in…
92% listed Cape Town is the most hated city in the world.
95% of those admitted to have never been to Cape Town.
89% listed Cape Town as not as pretty as F) ‘Another’ Town.
98% could not say in what country you can find the town called Another.
100% listed Cape Town as the place they would most like to live if their names were kept secret.
90% listed rugby as the most hated attraction in Cape Town.
96% listed their favourite beverage as ‘brannes-n-cocain’.
81% said Cape Town was the most boring city in the world.
64% said their favourite cultural experience in Cape Town was ‘Ratanga Junction’.
73% listed the Curator of the Castle as ‘Charles Glass’.
87% listed the most essential item of clothing to take to Cape Town as a “Speedo”.
43% listed the area in which the Botanical Gardens were found as ‘Gardens’.
17% listed the person they would most like to meet as “The Great White”.
another 17% listed the person they would most like to meet as “The Twelve Apostles”
13% said Table Mountain was what they enjoyed with their partner after dinner.
96% listed wine as their most favourite pastime.
96% commented it was their right to wine whenever they wanted!
49% listed their favourite wine estate as ‘Kings Park’.
15 Nov 2012, 18:08 pm
@ufo-401: Hello pal.VEry good.
The ignorance of (particularly Americans) is astonishing
But hey,they are the biggest and the best(Truly) and can afford to be.
Go well
15 Nov 2012, 18:11 pm
@ufo-401: Brilliantly funny.Loved the curator of the castle
15 Nov 2012, 18:15 pm
litte bit of fun…
15 Nov 2012, 19:17 pm
@ufo-401:
Where is the whine estate Kings Park situated?
Re he real article; I fnd it incredible that the British Airways confirm that Cape Town is one of their top 10 global routes but the SAA in their wishdom decided to discontinue their direct flight between Cape Town and London. I know their long distance carriers are ancient by modern standards but i reckon if they cannot even make a pofit in flying a route where there is such a demand for seats they can just as well give up.
15 Nov 2012, 19:17 pm
DAWN from posts it is evident that you love your folks ver much,and since this tyread is dead anyway thought it apposite(S it another word I would not normally use)Woodstock
You who are on the road,must have a code,that you can live by’
And so,become yourself.because the past s just a goodbye.
Teach your children well,their fathers hell did slowly go by.
And feed them onyour dreams,the one theypicked,the ones youre known by
Dont you ever ask them why,If they told you you would cry,
So just look at them and sigh and know they love you.
And you of tender years,cant know the fears,that your elders grew by
and so please help them with your years,they seek the truth before they can die
Teach your parents well,their childrens hell,will slowly go by
And feed them on your dreams,the one they picked,the one youre known by
Dont you ever ask them why,If they told uou you would cry
So just look at them and sigh and know they love you.
15 Nov 2012, 19:20 pm
http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/SpringboksintheUK/Eben-Etzebeth-not-doing-his-job-20121115#.UKT5_kNjtzo.twitte
Etsebeth not doing his job
Well what do you expect when a dumb moron of a springbok rugby coach don’t know the difference between a No.4 lock and a No.5 lock trying to force square pegs into round holes all over the goddamn place..
This Heyneke Meyer is one abominable doos who can’t see sh’t for trees when it comes down to how and who to select in which positions to get the best out of the sum of the whole rather than looking to create bloody glorified individual style mini me’s
15 Nov 2012, 19:27 pm
I don’t think ‘teach your children’ was sung at Woodstock.. if it was its not on the official recording , it was composed by Graham Nash of the Hollies who filled in the vocal backing behind Steven Stills and David Crosby when they first formed CSN and later when Neil Young joined up Nash was more the quiet English harmony in the background, not really much of a front man more of the quiet nice guy doing the backing.
15 Nov 2012, 19:36 pm
@skopdiekan-408:
Nash did the lead vocals on “Teach your children”
http://youtu.be/ztVaqZajq-I
15 Nov 2012, 19:39 pm
what now banned again
15 Nov 2012, 19:41 pm
@Robzim-409: Ok the last post didn’t get published.. Teach your children was Nash’s composition so he always did the lead vocals to Teach your children because it was his own song they recorded either on the original CSN album or on Deja Vu
15 Nov 2012, 19:41 pm
Are you ok ,Skop ??
15 Nov 2012, 19:49 pm
All the pretentious music “kenners” now waxing lyrical about lyrics that sound like a cheese grater when put to sound…
Here far more important lyrics, easy on the ear
Whoow! Here’s a little song for everybody out there
People try to take my soul away, but I don’t hear the rap that they all say
They try to tell us we don’t belong, that’s alright, we’re millions strong
This is my music, it makes me proud, these are my people and this is my crowd
These are crazy, crazy, crazy, crazy nights…
Stanley, Simmons, Singer, Thayer….
15 Nov 2012, 19:54 pm
Cape Town apparently “Best City in the World” according to a poll by Telegraph… Wonder what the sample was: Lower Berkshire and SA expats living in Reading…?
Nevertheless so Cape Town is “Bester” that London, Paris, Prague, New York, Tokyo…
Wow…
I feel like I need to go pull wire in honour of the Cape Wankas Anon…
Hubbada hubbada…
15 Nov 2012, 19:55 pm
Juan de Jongh, aka The Messiah, aka The Difference should be banned from the Springbok team due to that ridiculous dance of his. A rugby is not a carnival or a yankee sport.
15 Nov 2012, 19:56 pm
@skopdiekan-407: Mark Andrews(and you)absolutely right.Andrews ,a legend,being pilloried by Stormer
supporters for daring to advise EE to hit the rucks
15 Nov 2012, 19:57 pm
@Heavens Game-414: Next a “poll” will be telling us UCT and BoereSentraal University otherwise know as Stellenbosch are “among the best” Unis on the planet…
The Top 500 anyway….
Bwaaaaa…..
15 Nov 2012, 19:57 pm
SOUTH AFRICA
Etzebeth being ‘set up for a fall’
Thu, 15 Nov 2012 13:17
His role should be to hit rucks
World Cup-winning Springbok lock Mark Andrews believes Eben Etzebeth is being set up for disappointment by the South African coaching staff.
Andrews, a member of the Springbok team who won the Webb Ellis Cup on home soil in 1995, feels coach Heyneke Meyer and forwards coach Johann van Graan are not fully utilising the strengths of the Test rookie.
Speaking on SI Radio on Wednesday, Andrews said Etzebeth is being used as a ball-carrier in the national set-up, which is resulting in him neglecting his primary rucking responsibilities.
The 77-Test cap veteran said that while his role as ball-carrier can be understood at provincial level, the luxury afforded to national coaches – in strong runners such as Willem Alberts, Duane Vermeulen and Adriaan Strauss – should see a shift in focus as far as Etzebeth’s role in the Springbok composition is concerned.
“I would have loved to see Eben Etzebeth play with someone like Bakkies Botha or Victor Matfield,” said Andrews.
“He has an incredible talent. The maturity he has been showing in the line-outs has been fantastic and he has a huge amount of confidence in carrying the ball up.
“However, I think that he may be set up by the media, the public and maybe the coaches for a fall later in his career if not sooner in the sense of that he isn’t really doing the job that he should be doing.
“Every single effective pack in world rugby – from international down to club rugby – has one of the second rows who has the ability to bring a physical presence to the game and normally that comes down to ruck time.
“What’s lacking with the Springboks at the moment is we have quite a few players who think they are ball-carriers and Etzebeth has been put in that position at Western Province where he has to be a ball-carrier.
“However, I think at the Springboks the situation should be different. It worries me that someone like Willem Alberts is hitting more rucks than anyone else in the team, when he is one of our most effective ball-carriers.
“Now we have a guy like Etzebeth standing out a lot of the time waiting to carry the ball up and it has happened a few times already when he’s lost the ball when he’s close to the try-line. I think his role should be to hit rucks and the Springboks need someone like him to own the breakdown.
“The All Blacks have always believed in owning the breakdown, but at the moment – and I have probably watched him more than most because it’s a position I played in – I don’t see him hitting rucks.”
Andrews added that Etzebeth is partly to blame and encouraged the SARU Young Player of the Year to improve his workrate at the rucks.
“He has all the ingredients to be a world-class player and be the anchor of the Springbok pack for years to come, but right now in the early stage of his career we need somebody to pull him aside and say ‘you have some key parts in your game that is expected of you and one of them is hitting rucks and you haven’t been doing it all season’.
“He got away with it in the Currie Cup and in Super Rugby where a very physical Stormers pack has allowed him to play a looser game, but at the Springboks it is going to be critical going forward to have a guy like Etzebeth, who ticks all the boxes, to hit the rucks. He actually runs away from breakdowns instead of running towards them.
“I think if somebody works with him on that and point it out as an opportunity to improve his game, he will become a world-class second row.”
Touching on Etzebeth’s current lock partner, Juandre Kruger, Andrews said: “You can’t fault his game. I just don’t think – and it’s a hard thing to say and it’s a hard thing for a player to hear and I hope I get proven wrong – but I don’t think he will be a world-class player.
“He just doesn’t have the size and enough of those world-class attributes in his game but he’s a good, solid player. He’ll give you 100 percent for 80 minutes.”
Andrews noted Stormers second row Andries Bekker, who was ruled out of the end-of-year tour due to a toe injury, as a special talent.
“He is a world-class player. The height he is, he can dominate line-outs, he can tackle, he can carry the ball. He has enough ticks as I call it to make him a world-class player,” said Andrews.
“He started his career where I ended it – out on the wing,” Andrews quipped. “But he developed his game, he became very physical and abrasive in his style.
“As he picked up a couple of injuries he’s been shying way from the physical side again but hopefully he’ll sort himself out physically and get back into a mould in the Bok side.”
Source: Sportsillustrated.co.za/si-radio
RELATED ARTICLES
15 Nov 2012, 20:00 pm
@Heavens Game-414: You are so predictable you farking plonker.I actually expected you to arrive as soon as Pedigree posted that link though.
15 Nov 2012, 20:04 pm
Andrews has credibility here… What, being a World Cup winner and previous young prodigy himself…
All the Cape wa.nking may lead to Etsebeth getting soft…
Andrews was twice the player Etsebeth is at the same stage of his development, plain and simple…
15 Nov 2012, 20:05 pm
Indeed Rye
15 Nov 2012, 20:05 pm
@skopdiekan-411:
Great band.
Check this version of “Suite Judy Blue eyes” – only one guitar and the voices.
http://youtu.be/ztVaqZajq-I
15 Nov 2012, 20:07 pm
@Robzim-422: Beautiful
15 Nov 2012, 20:07 pm
Aaagh take your shark shape d ick out of your hand and away from keyboard
15 Nov 2012, 20:08 pm
@wnbb-419: I tell you whats predictable… the wailing Poodle in Mummy’s bedroom…
Now please don’t address me you psychotic little runt…
This feint familiarity breeds the mongrel of contempt…
15 Nov 2012, 20:08 pm
Nou wat kan ’n man nou sê? Ek is verbaas dat mense nog die ANC blameer vir kak in die land as jy die algemene kennis van doodgewone rugby-ondersteuner lees soos op hierdie draad.
15 Nov 2012, 20:10 pm
@Dawn-424: Dont you dare address me without clicking the arrow on the side of my post…
Think of it as stroking the point… my point.
15 Nov 2012, 20:11 pm
@Heavens Game-413: what kind of moron are you damn idiot
bloody tiring watching morons with feathers sticking out their arses thinking they the bloody bees knees of anything and everything from rugby to politics to economics to music when these dumb bloody fool idiots are none the wiser in either or any of these fields.
15 Nov 2012, 20:12 pm
Wie die vok is jy jou gerimpelde ding
15 Nov 2012, 20:12 pm
@Robzim-422:
Wrong link.
Should be this one:
http://youtu.be/kVUwrifwKrI
15 Nov 2012, 20:13 pm
I will address you any fecking way I like
15 Nov 2012, 20:13 pm
Andrews is saying exactly what I been telling this dumb fck moron of a rugby coach since day one that Etsebeth is not an enforcer he should be playing the roving athletic No.5 and line out role and Alberts or Elstadt should be the enforcer Brad Thorne type operative at 4.
15 Nov 2012, 20:15 pm
@Heavens Game-425: I will address you ..and there is fukkol you can do about it.
. If you make kuk rugby predictions and punting for losers like Romne,I will remind you about idiocity,
15 Nov 2012, 20:17 pm
Idiocity,
Wnnb go back to school you stupid stupid person
@skopdiekan-428: Gene Simmons… best songwriter on wee little Gaia…
Beats the daylights out of those pretentious senile fckers from a little farm field in the middle of sweet farkall on the way to San Francisco with flowers in your hair…
According to Sharkslover on RT,you confided in him that I pushed you over the edge.You are a real farking pu ssy you know.
15 Nov 2012, 20:18 pm
@skopdiekan-432:
> Andrews is saying exactly what I been telling this dumb fck moron of a rugby coach since day one
Which coach, AC or HM?
Andrews said “and Etzebeth has been put in that position at Western Province where he has to be a ball-carrier”
15 Nov 2012, 20:18 pm
@Robzim-430: I grew up with CSNY.. they were perhaps my biggest musical influence apart from or perhaps on par with Dylan
Steven Stills perhaps the most underrated maestro of country rock there no one remotely near to him in terms of pure talent and musicality.. not Eagles not Foggerty not Kristofferson not Alman Bro’s not no one.. only one that can meet him at face level is Neil Young, that why they were like two thunder clouds meeting in the sky when they were on stage together playing 2 lead guitars together ripping from one bar to the next.
15 Nov 2012, 20:20 pm
@wnbb-433:
“Romne” ?
“idiocity” ??
Prime Cape intelligentsia in full view… An obvious Vrede protege…
Chrissakes… Nuff said… Your post says it all…
15 Nov 2012, 20:21 pm
@victoriabok-437: Both or all.., at WP he was playing 5 now or then when Elstadt was fit, Elstadt and Etsebeth together would knock a whole lotta socks off of every little pretentious pansy coming out of bully boy or sharkievarkie country.. and then some.
15 Nov 2012, 20:22 pm
Have you heard about a thing called urban dictionary,sweetness??check it out.
15 Nov 2012, 20:23 pm
@Heavens Game-439: Good night all.Tomorrow is Puza(Spelling) Friday
15 Nov 2012, 20:25 pm
@Heavens Game-439: you can spell Romney any way you want ,but the fact of the matter is that you saddled up a farking donkey !I am glad that I piss you off so much .Don’t confide in pu ssies like Sl next time.ok?
15 Nov 2012, 20:25 pm
@Heavens Game-435: why a good little Jewboy like that go and anglicize his name and give his kids pom pom surnames when he was born in the heart of Romanticized raw bone country
15 Nov 2012, 20:26 pm
Ja it’s for dumbos like you
15 Nov 2012, 20:26 pm
And then the words of Johnny Strong and Operator (WWE Theme band):
There is nothing that i would not face
With vengance and annihilate
Sever off the hands of fate
If it were to keep you safe
If a million reasons came my way
None of them could take your place
You will never be alone
I will never let you
Let you go
Ten times better than any old farts with only claim to fame being the undercard to Sha Na Na…
Farksakes
15 Nov 2012, 20:28 pm
@ryecatcher-442: Cheers Catch… Bonsoir au revoir…
Keep It Simple Stupid ain’t music that just over the top crash bang balderdash looking for an escape valve before it ruptures some over raucous spleens
When a puss y like Hg turns to spelling mistakes,you just know you own his head space.
15 Nov 2012, 20:31 pm
@wnbb-443: You… pissme off… indicates I care in some way…
I dont.
Wax off wax on…
Pissoff… Pisson more like…
Now begone Baldrick and your cunning little plans…
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 » Show All