IRB to review Thomson’s citing
15 Nov 2012
The IRB has confirmed that they will investigate All Blacks flank Adam Thomson’s one-week ban for stamping a player’s head.
Thomson was handed the suspension on Wednesday after being found guilty of stamping and trampling on the head of Scotland’s Alasdair Strokosch. Thomson will miss this Saturday’s Test against Italy, but will be available to face Wales next weekend.
Wallabies lock Rob Simmons received an eight-week ban for a tip tackle on the same day.
This has drawn huge protest.
Samoa centre Eliota Fuimaono-Sapolu, who received a three-week ban for controversial comments on Twitter, slammed the judicial process.
‘I got 3 weeks for sarcastic tweets. So had I just rucked Farrells head I would have got only a week? Its just so comical these days,’ said Fuimaono-Sapolu.
Former England hooker Brian Moore labelled Thomson’s ban as ‘ludicrously lenient’.
However, IRB chief executive Brett Gosper responded to Moore’s comments and similar complaints on Twitter by saying: ‘The IRB will review this case as it is a match under our jurisdiction. If we decide to take action we will make it public.’

247 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All
16 Nov 2012, 15:32 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-199: Ok Bakkies. That’s Darwin award stuff……
Goeiefokman.
16 Nov 2012, 15:35 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-198: yep, a full year before it is anywhere near full strength again… most painful when I try to sleep… have spent 5 weeks already in a cast/shoulder immobiliser…had surgery 2 weks after actually breaking it…tried to heal it with a u-slab, (heavy, hanging cast) but it didnt align back enough…so op was scheduled for 2 hours, but was on table for 4 because the bone had started to reheal over my radial nerve, if they had left it it could have paralysed the nerve..
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-199: sounds like a nasty break bakkies… let me be the first to tell you that not everything you see in the movies is real
going to have the most fun when travelling overseas now… imagine airport security
16 Nov 2012, 15:45 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-201:
ek stem saam. in nawete kon ek beslis sien dat dit n f.okken dom idee was
i guess you live and you learn…
@poppa69-202:
ja, its a good thing we didn’t try the ideas we had with explosives and gas bottles.
sometimes the movies look so cool
you’ll enjoy the frisk body searches i’m sure
16 Nov 2012, 15:48 pm
Hey Popps….
So now you’ve got a great excuse hey…?
So your humerus is really screwed now… !!
Guess you’ll be applying for permanent residency on Keo… You’ll have to take it easy on the ol’ keyboard…!!
Seriously though… really sorry to read of your severe injury. Take it easy and all the best with the recovery. Patience is key…
All the best Popps…
sincerely…
16 Nov 2012, 15:52 pm
@ufo-204: cheers boet….some say Ive never had a humerus, so now its been fixed maybe it will start showing
and thanks UFO, good to see you back by the way..
16 Nov 2012, 15:52 pm
@ufo-204: Hi UFO Go Bokke
16 Nov 2012, 15:55 pm
@ufo-204:
dont be too nice to them, ufo
we are watching.
16 Nov 2012, 15:57 pm
@poppa69-205:
any time Popps…
even the most humorous people get tested on keo from time to time…
cheers bud and good to have you back too…!!!
16 Nov 2012, 15:59 pm
@poppa69-202: That’s a scary thought. So in fact, your recovery was actually stunted by the wasted 2 weeks (in hindsight).
Honestly, my best wishes for a full recovery. A long haul ahead. Don’t worry though – when you are feeling glum and the meds aren’t working, you can always come and irritate the locals
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-203: What would our younger years be without trying ‘sh y te’ out that we see in the movies.
The warnings flashed on the screen during broadcasts of any WWE shows are meant for folk like you I reckon.
16 Nov 2012, 15:59 pm
@ryecatcher-206:
hey rye… how you doing today…?
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-207:
good… maybe you’ll learn a thing or two and see how it should be done…
16 Nov 2012, 16:01 pm
Why would the IRB do that now?Just an accident.
16 Nov 2012, 16:01 pm
@ryecatcher-206:
hey rye… what’s your score prediction for tomorrow…?
16 Nov 2012, 16:06 pm
@ufo-208: cheers… its funny, when in hospital bloke in the bed next to me knew my name… turns out we went to the same school and knew a few mutual friends… he was there on dialysis, really does humble one with coincidences like that..
look forward to discussing rugby again..
16 Nov 2012, 16:24 pm
@poppa69-213:
small world and remarkable coincidence…
yeah… i can’t believe that any sane person can be anything but humble… just to be alive…
when we consider the vastness of the universe, how little we really know, how small we are, what a spec of dust our little planet is and how insignificant anything and everything we ever do really is in the grander immensity of space and eternity… how can anyone not be humble about the cosmic accident (or divine miracle) that created us and the little we do know… and the astronomical vastness of what we don’t even know we don’t know…?
yeah… to me arrogance and stupidity are two sides of the same coin cause no-one can be one without the other…
back to the rugby…
you guys having a light practice tomorrow…
i don’t think we’re going to put the bravehearts to the sword as easily as some think… but hope like hell we do… even with all meyer’s contrariness… a loss to the scots would be a huge blow to us bok supporters…
go southern hemisphere…!!
16 Nov 2012, 16:40 pm
@ufo-214: can only agree with you… our time is so small in comparison, and some are much more fortunate than others..
I think you will beat the Scots, who will have gained some confidence from their display against us… territory and possession was in their favour and think they realise they dropped intensity at vital moments.. I think they will be competitive until the 65 minute mark, then you guys will turn the screws and pull away… boks by 10-12
We shouldnt have too much trouble with the Italians, a comfortable 15-20 point margin imo..
France-Argentina should be a cracking game, and am backing the Aussies to beat Eng too..
16 Nov 2012, 16:58 pm
@poppa69-215:
that’s what worries me…
our guys will have seen yours drill the scots and will be overconfident that they can and should do the same…
biggest failing in all south african sports is thinking it’s going to be easier than it is… and tripping over our own high expectations… instead of just knuckling down and making it happen for ourselves every time…
same in our cricket too… do well on day one against aus… think it’s in the bag and go to sleep on day three.. and then get depressed and sulk when they don’t just roll over…
anyway… here’s hoping we do well and lambie and juan in particular have great games…
think yours will be the only certain result and ABs should win by way more than 20 points… more like 35 or 40… i reckon it could be a record score…
yeah… really looking forward to the aus/eng game… i think this english team are on the up-n-up… and i like lancaster’s style… and think he is a good coach… but let’s hope the aus put one over them…
yeah… arg/france should be a cracker… but i have a feeling arg gonna come unstuck… hope not… but have a feeling…
16 Nov 2012, 17:08 pm
@ufo-216: I think tripping up against them last time, even though with many different players will work to your advantage.. complacency is always an issue, ABs showed that against Ireland 2nd test this year..
Ive been cheering the proteas from the first ball of the first test… never been a fan of the aussie cricket side, and was at the Sydney test when JP got his century last time… no test in Sydney this tour so very disappointed..
Samoa must be a good bet against Wales as well, would love to see a SH sweep but I too think France will be too strong and will be up for this game as Argentina have caused them all sorts of bother.
Eng have a young team and agree they are on the improve… start of the season for NH sides so think that works in SHs favour somewhat..
16 Nov 2012, 17:10 pm
worse thing is is that some of these games are scheduled around the same time.. woukld much prefer to have been able to watch them all
16 Nov 2012, 17:13 pm
@poppa69-217:
yeah… hope you’re right and hope they do…
would be great if samoa to wales but i just don’t see that one… but would be great to see a sh sweep…
anyway… am off to a function… take it easy with your arm…
chat next time…
16 Nov 2012, 17:15 pm
@poppa69-218:
yeah me too… but thanks for the technological marvel of the pvr will at least be able to watch them all…
cheers boat…
16 Nov 2012, 17:16 pm
@ufo-220: enjoy bru.. later
16 Nov 2012, 17:47 pm
@poppa69-217: Talking about cricket, Pops…
I used to love the game but the whole betting saga in 2000 ruined my worldwide interst in the game.
I “knew” from the start that it wasn’t just Hansie (“the Devil made me do it”) Cronje’s Boys that were involved, it had to go further than that.
Former Irish & Lions SH John Robbie had the ever-respected Jack Bannister on his radio show one day and the question went something like this: “Jack, you’ve been travelling the world watching Test Cricket for years and are very much ‘close to the grapevine’ so to speak; surely, surely, surely it can’t only be the South Africans that are involved”?
Bannister replied that he’d heard that “all but two Test playing countries are involved”.
Admittedly that was way back in 2000 (and things could well have changed) but any ideas who those two countries were that Bannister was speaking about?
A year’s season tickets for every Springbok game next year for each wrong answer.
16 Nov 2012, 18:10 pm
Feckit
Get Pops off the drugs and back to his old self
16 Nov 2012, 18:10 pm
BB out.
Tomorrow.
16 Nov 2012, 18:49 pm
@ufo-214: Post of the day
16 Nov 2012, 18:52 pm
@ufo-212: Hello UFO.Boks by 15
Enjoy your evening pal
16 Nov 2012, 18:55 pm
@ufo-214: @ryecatcher-226: A psalm says it best.When I consider
the works of your hands,what is man that Thou art mindful of him
16 Nov 2012, 19:09 pm
@ryecatcher-225: In your own personal opinion ?
17 Nov 2012, 05:42 am
Seems that the IRB have finished their review and the Scottish player now has a 6 week ban for head butting Thompsons foot. It would have been longer but they decided that there was no malicious intent. Dirty thug deserved to get more. He might have bent a sprig or caused a sprained toe even.
17 Nov 2012, 07:06 am
What i find strange is that when greyling took of McCaws head, alot said it was because he was cheating and can you blme greyling.
Now we have a scottish player lying over the ball,stopping it ( cheating) but not one mention of it.
Never in my life seen so many two faced clowns in one blog.
17 Nov 2012, 07:55 am
It never looks as bad when a cannibal plays dirty… Its kinda expected… Thats why they get 1 week max… It always looks far worse if it is a decent oke… Thats why bok players get 3 to 4 weeks…. I promise
17 Nov 2012, 08:38 am
@suffer_guy-231:
Its great seeing losers like you cry and come up with some sort of excuse……typical gouger fan
17 Nov 2012, 09:02 am
Just dont eat me bro… I get nervous if i see you kiwis with a bottle of tomatosauce
17 Nov 2012, 09:30 am
@suffer_guy-233:
Naa dont like the taste of losers.
17 Nov 2012, 09:46 am
@BrumbiesBoy-222: Nobody took up the challenge I see.
OK, the answer is:…drumroll please…
.New Zealand
and
.believe it or not
.The West Indies!
17 Nov 2012, 10:25 am
New zeeland are to kak to fix a cricket game… If a team tries to throw a game vs nz, they’ll still win….
17 Nov 2012, 10:30 am
17 Nov 2012, 10:34 am
@suffer_guy-236:
Yeah cricket is just not our game.
Unlike SA who have inside men that tell them the secrets of other teams they are playing.
Lets stick too rugby, #2
17 Nov 2012, 10:40 am
@Hurricane-230:
We all agreed that Greyling trying to take off Richies head was completely unexceptionable! But now if it was Adam Thompson trying to take off Greyling’s head, suppose it would have been acceptable?
17 Nov 2012, 10:49 am
@Hurricane-238: You should not try and justify your teams pathetic foul play and not getting the appropriate sanction
Yet again, you want to justify it by mentioning another Saffa anyone else
17 Nov 2012, 10:49 am
@phil72-239:
ummmm dont know what you are getting at here.
A boot to anyones head, no matter how hard or by accident needs to be punished.
Point i was making is that some actually tried to explain why greyling did what he did, although it was dangerous, some tried to say it was acceptable. Some even said he should have hit him harder.
A bit different to any of what the Kiwis have said on here.
17 Nov 2012, 10:51 am
@JL1-240:
What are you talking about?
17 Nov 2012, 10:58 am
@Hurricane-242: you claiming the Thompson innocence
17 Nov 2012, 10:59 am
@JL1-243:
Where did i say that?
Post 241 explains it.
17 Nov 2012, 11:04 am
@Hurricane-241:
Here is one i found, only took 1 minute to find.
58.whatever said:
15 Sep 2012, 22:42 pm
Aaaaah get over it guys, so he had a rush of blood to the head! No loss to the Boks anyway. Perhaps he should have got mcCaw on the snoz to make it worthwhile, just like estebeth should have moved sharpes nose to the back of his head….
17 Nov 2012, 11:30 am
This thread now 2 days old,
and relegated to “Other Articles”,
but……………………………………. it just wont die.
I didn’t know Saffa’s cared that much about Adam.
17 Nov 2012, 11:32 am
@JL1-240:
Filthy…………………………………………..you mean like Frikkie du Pricky.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All