IRB to review Thomson’s citing

The IRB has confirmed that they will investigate All Blacks flank Adam Thomson’s one-week ban for stamping a player’s head.

Thomson was handed the suspension on Wednesday after being found guilty of stamping and trampling on the head of Scotland’s Alasdair Strokosch. Thomson will miss this Saturday’s Test against Italy, but will be available to face Wales next weekend.

Wallabies lock Rob Simmons received an eight-week ban for a tip tackle on the same day.

This has drawn huge protest.

Samoa centre Eliota Fuimaono-Sapolu, who received a three-week ban for controversial comments on Twitter, slammed the judicial process.

‘I got 3 weeks for sarcastic tweets. So had I just rucked Farrells head I would have got only a week? Its just so comical these days,’ said Fuimaono-Sapolu.

Former England hooker Brian Moore labelled Thomson’s ban as ‘ludicrously lenient’.

However, IRB chief executive Brett Gosper responded to Moore’s comments and similar complaints on Twitter by saying: ‘The IRB will review this case as it is a match under our jurisdiction. If we decide to take action we will make it public.’

247 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

• 1.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

hehe …..Give that trouble maker Sapolu another three weeks…..mischief making dragon….

• 2.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Good move IRB

• 3.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Can they also review Graylings flying forearm on Captain Courageous, they should have banned the caveman for the entire season.

• 4.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-3:
    Yep, should have gone alot longer.

• 5.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-3:
    China…..the coach apologized China….. nipped it in the bud…any suggestion the strategy was to immobilise the Great Man…..

• 6.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-3:

How’s the Richie shrine doing

• 7.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-4: Common guys, thats old news. You scratching for something to compare this with while there is none. Time and time again we see how the ABs players get leniency for transgressions , its really embarrassing to be honest.

• 8.katman: Reply to this comment

The IRB will probably conduct interviews with his friends and family to determine how much of a good bloke he is. Their findings will be that he is a “top, top bloke” (which is the second highest classification of good blokes) and that while it may have, by the letter of the law, been a “trampling and stamping”, his impeccable character more than cancels out any wrongdoing. And they’ll overturn the one week he got and apologise to him and the country.

• 9.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-3:

Agree. Greylind should have gotten 8 weeks. At least.

But a stamp to the head (as soft was it was), must get more than 1 week.

• 10.snivelling little kiwi pricks: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-3: SNIVEL SNIVEL,you little kiwi.Maybe with a bit of luck we are going to see pobs damage to world refereeing being undone finally.The protected kiwi no more.

• 11.cane: Reply to this comment

@katman-8:

So what’s wrong with that.

Perfect me thinks and true to boot.

• 12.gonzo: Reply to this comment

I’d prefer to see a slightly longer ban but can they legally change the length of it? We’re one week into a four week tour and need to make decisions on replacements. I thought the laws were that unless new video evidence becomes available later, they only have about 3 or 4 days to make a decision. He’s only back up but if he was the starting scrum half, surely we’d need given enough time to get a replacement in quickly

• 13.snivelling little kiwi pricks: Reply to this comment

@katman-8: Men of integrity as read said,so banning is just unfair.And if we get banned we will tell you that your players should have got banned for longer as we just cant take it as we are to precious us little keeeeweees.Good on the IRB for looking at this again,but chances are nothing will happen.

• 14.gunther: Reply to this comment

Who is going to apologies to the kiwis now that crooked Paddy isn’t there?

This is a problem.

• 15.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@gunther-14: This is what I don’t understand. Everyone says the ABs are given special treatment but those dishing out the special treatment are Saffers, Aussies, French, Brits, and Irish. The ABs are not reffed by NZ refs and are not judged by NZ judges

• 16.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-15: They are paid off.

• 17.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-16:
    By a broke NZRU?
    I thought SA was the money bags of rugby, not anymore by the looks of it.

• 18.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

I was a bit surprised that he only got a one week ban, thought it would be at least 3 weeks, then started thinking about comments often on Keo about how the kiwis seem to get softer treatment.

Maybe they not so paranoid after all.

• 19.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Greyling and Thompson, both examples of poor judicial decisions by the **** IRB, who only care about saving face!

• 20.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-17: The ydid get a bag of “bail out cash” from AIG.

• 21.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

What a surprise! An AB player gets a lenient ban??? Nooooo! This must be a first!

Its a JOKE, the IRB is a joke and their bumlicking of the ABs is a JOKE.

• 22.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@snivelling little kiwi pricks-13: That comment was by nzinchina, one of the Kiwi mafia dons, and a Poppa wannabe.
    The tactic (of trying to avoid talking about this subject by bringing up an old Springbok incident) is a classic Kiwi trick.
    I can only imagine how everything is avoided and swept under the carpet in Kiwi land.

We can only hope this protection of ABs at IRB level will stop, but I fear it will carry on for a while yet

• 23.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-15: Gonzo, the refs depend on being appointed to the big games, so they all want to be in the good books with IRB bosses.
    ABs are probably seen as the flagship brand of the IRB or something, who knows…

How else can we explain a ref like Joubert’s performance in the RWC final?
    Surely he mustve been nudged or made to understand that the ABs were not to be penalised, especially Sir McCheat

• 24.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@bokfan1-23: If the ABs are so protected, please explain then how refs consistently miss foul play on this McCheat as you like to call him. Joubert was literally bent down watching Higgenbotham headbutting McCaw and put it down to “there was always going to be a bit of that” and didn’t even penalise him.

Same thing with Cooper’s knee to the head, same with Rougerie’s headbutt and gouge, same thing with Tiquiri’s spear, same thing with Hartley’s elbow to the face, and Andy Powell’s clothesline tackle, and the Irish lock pulling McCaw out of a maul by his face.

Where was the protection there?

And besides, why would the IRB protect a small, saturated market? England, France, and RSA are 4-6 times bigger, growing, under penentrated, and have cash. Why would someone at the IRB protect NZ?

• 25.Nils: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-24: “under penentrated”? judging from the groundhog day style wailing and moaning, they is being overpenetrated by pretty much everyone and everything.

• 26.Greenies: Reply to this comment

AllBlack Biasim it just continues and continues…
    What a bloody joke
    the IRB have become to large, entering the soccer Fifa obsurdity.
    How long before bribing, if it has not happened already, takes place.
    Soccer is an absolute joke, crorrupt lke politions.
    (When does a polition lie?
    When he opens his mouth)

To see rugby going down that line is very sad.

Just shows who has the IRB by the gonadies…

Its amaising, people as in players, have to protest to make the voice that rings in the IRB’s doorbell. It should not have to go that far in the first place…

Preduism, there is no place for it… not in todays muti-cultural world.
    If the IRB greed wants rugby to grow internationally, they have to call a spade a spade. Its time they washed their hands from all that filth, time to turn the leave.
    The world over know the injustices exist within their structures.

Lets wait and see the outcome of this, should be interesting….

• 27.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Greenies-26:
    What a load of drivel you spout without a shred of evidence to support your attitude.

It is farktards like you who mouth off at the first opportunity and then point to all the innane chatter as if that is evidence in itself.

• 28.husky: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane #17; maybe that is why they are broke; NZRFUp funding IRB referees like Lance A donating money to the UCI; just maybe for some leniency (you got Google in NZ?). @24 Gonzo; Reeeechie gets a hard time because he is forever sealing off the ball or “finds himself” on the wrong side of a ruck. He takes it well; the rest of NZ should too. He’s actually very lucky the “no rucking” law was written for him. In NZ eyes though; not applicable to Thompson and a Scottie’s head. Yeah right; precious.

• 29.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@husky-28:
    The no rucking rule was implemented to circumvent the Abs main strength….comparing ruck wounds was a favourite past time here…ahh.. thems were the days.

• 30.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@husky-28:
    Is that sort of like donating gold watches to refs?
    We have google in NZ in fact when it comes to electronics etc we are light years ahead of SA.
    Google was 5 years ago. Keep up.

• 31.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

Foot to head in raking form = 1 week :shock:

Not good enough boys, be concistent please.

• 32.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Greenies-26:
    agreed, boet.

i’m sick of this filth

the sooner we get them out the better

• 33.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-31:
    Don’t moan about it on a Blog, write to the IRB if you are so concerned that they are inconsistent.

Bitching to a audience of supporters is like wanking and believing you have done your bit to maintain your species.

As I suspect that tosser Greenies is donkey deep into.

• 34.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Brads-33:
    But Greenies has backing from Bakkies so shows how stupid that post is

• 35.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Brads-33: David Patreaus is having s.ex with his biographer. Are you having se.x with your autobiographer?

• 36.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-15: good point

• 37.Brads: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-35:
    No, but I wonder why you raised that question.

Are you perhaps looking to form a club with Patreaus as your hero?

• 38.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-34:
    Greenies and his ilk are like sand flies.

No matter how many you kill off, the mindless swarm keep coming back.

• 39.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Brads-37: simple – you were doing it on an old JdV thread earlier, hence the question.

You’ll grow hair on your keyboard.

• 40.Brads: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-39:
    WTF are you on about.

• 41.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Brads-40:
    Sorry, now i get it.

I was testing what was sanctioned by the nanny, and went back to see if the word “wanking” was sanctioned.

Appears it is.

• 42.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Brads-40:

12.Brads:
    16 Nov 2012, 08:39 am wanking

losing your memory too? :)

• 43.Brads: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-42:
    Stop with the editorial manipulation.

You know what I typed, don’t embarrass yourself by posting what didn’t happen.

Then again, why stop, a lot of what gets posted on Keo is exactly that, so I suppose you are keeping the faith.

• 44.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

Tamati Ellison has been accused of foul play as the spotlight falls on the apparent leniency shown to the All Blacks by the International Rugby Board’s judiciary.

In the aftermath of Adam Thomson’s one-match ban for his use of the boot against Scotland loose forward Alasdair Strokosch at Murrayfield, the IRB has been sent footage of an incident in the same match which shows All Blacks second-five Ellison grabbing and pinning the right arm of Scotland prop Ryan Grant.

The incident occurred seven minutes into the match and can be clearly seen in the BBC’s match coverage. In it Ellison pins Grant’s arm behind his back and the loosehead appears to look up in pain. Team-mate Tim Visser, goes to his aid before he is pushed away by All Black Cory Jane.

• 45.katman: Reply to this comment

Is this even allowed? I mean this spotlight on All black foul play. I thought there was an IRB directive that said it was prohibited until 2020, after which the policy will be reviewed again. This is very irresponsible. World rugby cannot hope to survive this.

• 46.Brads: Reply to this comment

Life must almost be unbearable for folk who have to trawl through hours and hours of video footage from umpteen different camera angles in the desperate hope of finding something that can be sold to that ever eager sand fly swarm hungry for anything, I say again anything, remotely anti AB’s.

There is no market of course for the reverse, simply because there is no pathetic body of folk looking to find excuses why the AB’s lost.

• 47.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-44:
    Hi Houston did not see the incident, but that type of thing is known as the chicken wing, a term taken from RL, an illegal move taken from wrestling.I think we have differences of opinion with regards to the Abs but I find you a good bloke so I will leave it at that.

• 48.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Brads-46: Brads.I think that people
    on the thread were questioning the consistency of the sanction
    when AB,s involved.Nobody denies that we play dir ty too

• 49.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@katman-45:
    dont bet on it.

the sad thing is they actually walk away from these contests thinking they’ve actually won something of any meaning or worth.

• 50.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-47:
    hi TR, hope you’re well, boet.

yes, a ‘chicken wing’, very unsporting and dangerous but as per usual is par for the course for new zealand. anything for the win and use the most unscrupulos means to achieve it on the field and equally unscrupulous means to escape punishment or censure off the field, after.

yes, we do have a difference of opinions regarding the ab’s i’m afraid and i hope you of all the kiwis here will not take exception to my voicing of the facts around them. you are of course free to challenge the veracity of my ‘so called’ facts.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.