IRB to review Thomson’s citing

The IRB has confirmed that they will investigate All Blacks flank Adam Thomson’s one-week ban for stamping a player’s head.

Thomson was handed the suspension on Wednesday after being found guilty of stamping and trampling on the head of Scotland’s Alasdair Strokosch. Thomson will miss this Saturday’s Test against Italy, but will be available to face Wales next weekend.

Wallabies lock Rob Simmons received an eight-week ban for a tip tackle on the same day.

This has drawn huge protest.

Samoa centre Eliota Fuimaono-Sapolu, who received a three-week ban for controversial comments on Twitter, slammed the judicial process.

‘I got 3 weeks for sarcastic tweets. So had I just rucked Farrells head I would have got only a week? Its just so comical these days,’ said Fuimaono-Sapolu.

Former England hooker Brian Moore labelled Thomson’s ban as ‘ludicrously lenient’.

However, IRB chief executive Brett Gosper responded to Moore’s comments and similar complaints on Twitter by saying: ‘The IRB will review this case as it is a match under our jurisdiction. If we decide to take action we will make it public.’

247 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

• 151.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-146:

Lunch over bakkies.

Good to see you are back to work,
    and hard at it over the grindstone.

Let me quess………………….you work for a Local Government Authority?

• 152.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-149: but NZ will be aware of that move, so it may not be as effective :D

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-150: would my lack of a pretoria ahkcent also disadvantage me?

heineke: sorry pops, not big enough boet
    poppa: but I will smorsh the borsteds Heineke

• 153.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@cane-148: if you google “broken humerus pitching” it is quite a common occurance, surprisingly… spiral fracture so it was related to torsion..

• 154.cane: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-140:

Spooner.

Wow.

The Ghost of Christmas past.

I liked the guy actually.

• 155.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Pap part Maoris

Feck your humerus up throwing a ball

• 156.cane: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-155:

Shoulded you be working Dawn.

The strike is over ………………………..remember.

• 157.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-151:

no was not lunch,
    and no, not a LGA

research and the oil industry, i cant say more than that :lol:

• 158.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-150:
    au contraire my dear, running through players is just what heyneke would like.

gotcha

wakey wakey cupcake

• 159.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-152: You don’t really have to speak per se. A series of inaudible grunts and you will fit right in ;) (Bakkies gaan my nou moer)

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-157: Bakkies are you a frackateer?

• 160.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-155: has happened to major league baseballers too Dawny… they have some youtube clips of them..but unlike the guys on youtube, I didnt drop to the ground or roll in agony.. just slowly knelt down.. was more painful once I sat in the dugout waiting for the ambulance

was wierd when it happend… heard the snap and managed to see my elbow as it flew off in the most wierd anlge… would never wish it on anyone, and am not sure I will ever throw again…

• 161.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-158: You think Meyer knows what a Maori sidestep is? You give him credit Bakkies.
    It sounds like a wild, risky and creative backline play, involving sneaky angled runs and awesome stepping – and I’m betting my home on Meyer thinking it is…..

He don’t want that sh y te…

• 162.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-160: Sounds truly nasty that.

• 163.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-161: Heynecke can laaik to be watching Scrumhalfs kick da ball haai in da skaai wif da wings chasing afterrr da bol.

Nuffing else.

• 164.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-159:
    no, no… nothing quite that dirty :lol:

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-161:

well, he might even credit it as a south african invention stolen by the pi’s :lol:

• 165.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@cane-156:

I am working!

• 166.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-163:
    lmao

• 167.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@cane-156:

You’ve developed a really mean streak towards me since Joanne hit the headlines.

But that’s OK.

• 168.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-162: caused a stir in emergency because this type of break is more associated with a serious fall or trauma from an accident (car crash etc)..

sure some of the emergency staff didnt believe me :D

• 169.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-168: Or from an unfortunate beer glass throwing incident. ;)

• 170.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-168:
    men shouldn’t play girly games, its unnatural :grin:

• 171.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-169: hard to get good velocity on plastic :lol:

• 172.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-82:
    Most in politics think there own cr@p dont stink….you would be perfect.
    In fact a lawyer, defense lawyer. The stories you make up are amazing, especially when you say the whole world hates the ABs …lol i think you would find the bok are not the most loved team around.

• 173.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-171: He he touche’.

• 174.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-169:
    the unfortunate part probably happened after the oke he threw the beer glass at decided to ‘disagree’ in the strongest possible terms. ;)

• 175.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-174: :D

• 176.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-174: he he how is your ban from hitting kevvie going?

have you had to retire the khaki shorts, white knee high socks and bullhorn headpiece :D

• 177.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-172:
    and a good day to you too, hurri

people have always hated us, hurri… because we’re the best and we prove it by beating it out of others hard… fair but hard…

• 178.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-172:

I dont particularly like the boks either

• 179.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-177:
    We are the best and thats the reasons why we are hated, its a fact.
    But when were you guys the best?
    RWC started in 1987. IRB ranking started after that i believe.

• 180.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-178:

• 181.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-176:

for the record i would never, never do a thing like that.
    those neanderthals who did would find they belong more amongst Auckland’s finest than they do at loftus ;)

• 182.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-181: yep, Aucklands South African community really have a lot to answer for..

I dont think we should let them attend games at Eden Park anymore :wink:

• 183.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-181:
    haha they do. So many South Africans around the Auckland area……. bloody bottle throwing ref tackling supporters all of em.

• 184.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-182:
    It was probably whatever.

• 185.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-184: hehe I did hear that sales of brandy and coke were up that day, and that eden park had an eerie echo, the sound was likened to ooooooooos..

so it does look rather incriminating..

• 186.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-179:
    no, we are the best, always have been, but are cheated out of what’s rightlfully ours by your filthy lot.
    which, incidentally, is why the whole world hates you :grin:

• 187.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-157: C’mon, out with it now!

You’ve got a bit-part in “Dallas,” haven’t you?

;-)

• 188.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-182:
    @Hurricane-183:

donerse kiwis, always coming sideways like crabs :lol:

• 189.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-163: Haai in da skaai. :)

@poppa69-168: Mate, it really sounds horrific. Hope the surgeon who fixed you up has at least performed a few of these procedures. And I’m guessing that there will be some serious arthritis in your future….after an injury like that. Boy oh boy, you must have been beyond shock when this happened.

@BrumbiesBoy-187: Dallas? Ok, I nearly spat out my coffee.

• 190.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-188: Sideways like Spies you mean….

• 191.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-187:

• 192.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-190:

just wait until you see him at the WC :lol:

• 193.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

being nice to these kiwis doesn’t feel right

its unnatural

• 194.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-143: Also,from Proverbs I think.
    “A foolish man runs when no one is chasing him”

• 195.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-192: Are you really a Spies fan Bakkies? I ask seriously. Do you not think the Bulls would have been wiser letting him go, and working with Stander and Botha long term? Instead now we have Stander gone….and Botha ready to ride the bench for the whole S15?
    Maak nie vir my sin nie?

• 196.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-189: same as thses guys, but was the right arm..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d4os7Wa8gtM

and they are soft, they way they reacted… I just knelt but have to thank my catcher who kept me looking at him rather than my arm..

yeah, plate is permanent, lots of rehab but the drugs have been magnificent :D

I have copies of the xrays, and looks like he did a great job, will know more in two weeks when have a follow up xray and they remove the staples, which show up on the xray..

not looking forward to winter for sure..

• 197.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-195:
    i think stander was on his way out no matter what and no matter where he happened to be playing his rugby. probably as much to do with a place in the bok team as it has to do with a starting place at the bulls imho.

as for pierre, while i do believe his participation in the bulls squad post ‘the legends’ was vital and neccesary, it is also true that his game has never really gone from strength to strength. do not underestimate the value of experience and leadership though, for any team anywhere.

equally as important to the likely title aspirations of any rugby team as experience and leadership is, is strength of depth.

i cant stress this more

depth, depth, depth

and in this sense i think botha stands to benefit as much as the team does if they are both utilised effectively. this was one of the unsung strengths of the mighty bulls team of 07/09/10. danie rossouw being the perfect case in point.

• 198.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-196: It’s almost ‘ragdoll’ arm!!!! Bottom section just swings after the clean break……
    Ok, I kid you not…that must be unbearablyfuckingpainful.
    ****ow smiley****

me thinks there is a long rehab road ahead.

• 199.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-196:
    yes, cold weather can exarcebate certain ijnuries a litlle i think, but not so much as to be noticably more painful.

i broke my arm right in my shoulder joint socket trying to jump from a moving bakkie and grab onto a tree branch like in the movies. it doesn’t work like in the movies.

it was fairly painful but i wouldn’t say it was the worst thing ever and in cold weather it did play up a little but not much.

• 200.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-197: Bakkies I agree in principle. But Botha is just too good IMHO to be a bit part player from the bench. And I don’t think they should be playing him out of position on the flank either, in order to give the captain, Spies; a guaranteed start.
    But that’s just me. Maybe Arno has been spoken to and knows where he stands – maybe he’s happy with it. (I just can’t see him being happy though)

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.