Boks must build on ‘ugly win’
17 Nov 2012
Heyneke Meyer once again praised the character and accuracy his side showed on defence but stressed that significant improvements were still required.
The Springboks were completely dominant in the first half of the Murrayfield Test but Scotland rebounded with a strong second half performance that saw the visitors pinned deep in their half for the bulk of the second 40 minutes.
The Springboks did brilliantly in restricting them to one try, achieving this through punishing defence, but Meyer said that alone was not acceptable.
‘I was very disappointed in the second half, I thought we played tactically well in the first. It was the plan to build an innings and at 14-3 at half-time you could move on from there. We were in control, then we conceded too many penalties, especially at the scrums,’ he said.
‘But I’m happy with the defence, which was awesome. Also it has been a long season for most of the players and in the second half you could see they just weren’t there. So, I’m not totally happy but I’ll take the win. It was ugly, but that’s how you
win trophies, especially the World Cup.’
Captain Jean de Villiers is well accustomed to grinding out wins through suffocating defence, with that being the hallmark of his Stormers side. He took heart not only from the technical strength of that discipline but also what it said about the emotional investment of individual players.
‘Defence is not something you can coach entirely. It comes from within and the attitude you show there reflects your attitude towards the team and its cause. That’s why I was pleased. A lot was said last week when Scotland scored three tries against New Zealand, and we managed to restrict them to one. I think it is something that is sustainable. As long as that is there I’m optimistic about the future,’ he said.
There will once again be inquests around the Springboks’ inability to score more tries despite the time they enjoyed in the Scotland 22m in the first half. Meyer has lamented this, and did so once more.
‘I was frustrated that we didn’t get enough quick ball in the first half. I thought there were a couple of times that we could have scored had that happened, so that is really frustrating,’ he said. ‘We have to be better in that area. We can’t keep getting in their 22m and not scoring. The best in the world score points when they’re there.’
Scotland coach Andy Robinson bemoaned his side’s impotent first half performance, particularly their penalty count.
‘The last 30 minutes was very pleasing but the first 50 was hugely frustrating. You just can’t give a side of that quality that many chances to kick at goal. Also, last week we were facing speed, this week it was physicality. They were the toughest team we’ve played against. They showed the gulf that exists between the sides,’ he said.
‘They’ve got a plan and it works for them. Their pack, with Eben Etzebeth and Francois Louw coming in, is one that is becoming very balanced. Ruan Pienaar is a world class footballer and when that pack has given him a platform he has been able to show that. Then you look at JP Pietersen, who is a quality finisher and today he showed that he is a quality defender. There are some very good elements there.’
Meyer’s men have one more obstacle to a tour sweep, in the form of England at Twickenham. Meyer said they were desperate to go unbeaten, and drew confidence from their notable resilience under the pump.
‘Our goal was to be unbeaten on the year-end tour, which hasn’t happened in a couple of years. We’re 2-0 up but we’ll have to be mentally up for the last one. There is a huge amount of improvement needed, but better Springboks teams have lost against the Scots and Ireland,’ he said. ‘The one thing I’ve been happy with is the composure of this young side. They don’t panic and Jean has been brilliant in his leadership. There’s one game left and if we win that will have achieved our goal.’

40 Comments
17 Nov 2012, 20:27 pm
I must say HM i have lost the faith….I just see no growth at all….not sure you can take Boks to any new heights.
17 Nov 2012, 20:35 pm
Ugly wins are the only thing the Boks will ever be capable of under Heyneke Meyer.
17 Nov 2012, 20:36 pm
Agreed G10. I cant remember the last time I enjoyed a Bok game….. Such a pity to have a coach who can claim to have single handedly moulded a talented group of ayers into the most boring team on the planet.
But hey, let’s all be grateful that we scraped past Ireland in the worlds biggest snore fest and tacled 3 times more than Scotland cos we like kicking the ball back to them since we are incapable of displaying any ball skills whatsoever…..
17 Nov 2012, 20:40 pm
HM = Yesterday Man
“Yesterday ‘rugger’ was such an easy game to play
Now ‘he’ need(s) a place to hide away
Oh, ‘he’ believe(s) in yesterday”
17 Nov 2012, 20:55 pm
Well its quite simple Heyneke – stop bemoaning and start making the right bloody selections.
- we gave penalties at scrum time – well maybe you shouldnt have picked the uber k@k CJ on the bench – the amount of times he munched the carpet you could well be forgiven for thinking youre watching some dodgy S&M porn video.
- we didnt score tries in the 22 – oh really?? Well get rid of JDV then mate – oh captain my captain that kills and loses most quality ball our backline receives. Secondly get rid of the useless Kirchener cos he doesnt have an inlking how to attack and 3rd dont tell Lambie top kick every bloody ball he gets. FFS. The idiocy astounds.
17 Nov 2012, 20:57 pm
@Slumtown-5: Oh and maybe ummm lets get really crazy and pick a bloody wing on wing??? Like Lwazi or Rhule who would have run rings around the Scots? Ja lets just waste bloody money dragging players along overseas and in the one match you could afford to try them out … dont – what a waste of money.
17 Nov 2012, 21:40 pm
@Slumtown-6: Sorry, but you don’t understand rugby. Rhule/Mvovo would not have run rings around the Scots today.
The problem is that the backline is not getting any quality ball. i.e. fast front foot ball. All good ball goes to Alberts, backline gets the rubbish that they kick away.
17 Nov 2012, 22:24 pm
Krusty did nothing, jp ok, no ball so quiet hougaart kuk, please where is Brian. Jdj, ok, jdv never passes crash bang, time to retire. Lambie, looks like he was asked to play like steyn, Heneke, are you that thick? Pinaar average, to slow.
Guthro buckled in scrum and missed how many tackles? Strauss good, cj ate mud all nite, useless knut, eben massive, Kruger average, flo brilliant, Albert patchy, vermullen same
Coach…. Faaaarking clueless! I despair!!
17 Nov 2012, 22:33 pm
@whatever-8: spot on summary
17 Nov 2012, 23:00 pm
@whatever-8: Agree – JDV can’t pass. Pienaar is also too slow at clearing the ball. No good ball to the backline, just crash by Alberts and co.
17 Nov 2012, 23:13 pm
As Mallett said when Matfield was praising Jean for getting over the advantage line, the Boks might as well play Alberts at 12 – he’d get over the advantage line too.
17 Nov 2012, 23:28 pm
@kaksioek-11: Exactly, All JDV is good at is defence, offers nothing on attack and the ball does not get past him. But it’s not only him, I think Pienaar is overrated. SA are into their big kicking 9′s. I think we should rather go for a 9 who can pass with speed, but then that won’t suit the current game plan (which is kaka).
17 Nov 2012, 23:44 pm
@blik-12: He’s not normally a great defender, actually. He’s good at making it over the advantage line – that’s about it. Occasionally he shows good touches and he’s good at intercepts, but he doesn’t create much at all for the players around him. That’s why he’s the captain, because god forbid anyone tries to offload – Meyer would probably drop the guilty party immediately.
18 Nov 2012, 00:17 am
@blik-7: I understand rugby perfectly. I was commenting on which changes they should have made for a better showing. If you bothered to read my post 5 you would see i identify the main culprit in the backline as Jean De Villiers. If he was replaced with say Lambie at 12 and De Jongh at 13 wings like Rhule or Mvovo would have seen plenty of ball and would have run rings around the Scots. But Heynekes selection policy sucks. And all the main issues go back to him. JDV the cancer in our backline for years and years and ive been saying it ad nauseum for years but no-one bothers to take what I say seriously – so ja whatever..
18 Nov 2012, 00:21 am
@Slumtown-14: Okay fair enough. Also we need our tight forwards to clean the breakdown and a scrumhalf who can clear the ball with speed.
18 Nov 2012, 00:43 am
@blik-15: agree – dont think the forwards are doing too badly but yes – playing with guys like CJ, Juandre and and off colour Gurthro didnt help today. We are severley lacking at Tighthead and 5.
Considering we have a plethora of good players injured, playing in Japan or simply not being picked by Heyneke I think things can hopefully only get better from here. At present we are missing:
1 Beast, 2 Bismrack, 3 Coenie, 4 Mujati (they need to sort out his passport asap), 4 Bakkies (perhaps?), 5 Andries Becker 6 Schalk Burger/ Siya Kolisi/ and Brussouw if he improves) 7 Juan Smith 8 Spies/ Ryan Kankowski 9 Vermaak (not being utilised by HM)/ possible return of Fourie du Preez 10 Goosen 11 Habana 12 Frans Steyn/ hopefully the upcoming talent of Jan Serfontein (if he steps up in Super rugby next year) 13 Jacques Fourie and unused talent such as Paul Jordaan and Robert Ebersohn, 15 perhaps we need to look at options such as Coetzee from the Lions or Riaan Viljoen anything but Kirchener.
Not saying all above would make the team but they are all possibles. With the correct selection policy we can get some improvement even with these lame tactics.
18 Nov 2012, 00:46 am
Add Aplon to the above as a possible 14 or 15.
18 Nov 2012, 01:28 am
@Slumtown-16: It would be nice if we could get some players back.
In an ideal world, my team would be not too far off yours:
15. Give Taute a go
14. JPP
13 J Fourie
12. F Steyn
11. Habana
10 Goosen
9. F du Preez
8 S Burger
7. F Louw
6. J Smith
5. Bekker (if fit, else Etzebth at 5)
4. Etzebeth (if Bekker not fit, then Flip)
3. J Dup
2. Bismark
1. Beast
16. Coenie
17. Strauss
18. Mujati
19. Flip/Kruger
20. Alberts
21. P van Zyl
22. Lambie
23. Willie le Roux (I know he has no defence, but if in the last 10 min, he could be an impact player effective at breaking defences)
I think the tight five should clear the breakdown, and loosies should play loose. None of this no 5 lock playing wing. If the tight five play tight, then the loosies can play loose). Did you read what Mark Andrews said about Etzebth?
http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/SpringboksintheUK/Eben-Etzebeth-not-doing-his-job-20121115
18 Nov 2012, 01:30 am
@Slumtown-16:
Not you to, Slumtown.
WE don’t miss FdP and you know it. He was kak in 2010 and 2011. Please!!!
On Heyneke:
“So, I’m not totally happy but I’ll take the win. It was ugly, but that’s how you
win trophies, especially the World Cup.
So, it’s official now. The next three years will be preparation for the RWC in 2015. Don’t worry about all the matches that we are going to lose along the way. HOPEFULLY we’ll get a free pass (like JW in 2007) and win the damn Cup and all will be Honky Dorry.
How the mighty have crumbled!!!
18 Nov 2012, 01:38 am
@nama1-19: F Dup was playing with a shoulder injury, that’s why he was not his best. We mis his decision making at 9. You either need a 9 who can make decisions, or a 9 with good service and a flyhalf who can make decisions.
Pienaar is not making good decisions, and most of our flyhalves are inexperienced, so for now I agree with Slu, FDup would be a good choice.
18 Nov 2012, 01:42 am
@nama1-19:
Not you to, Slumtown. = Not you TOO, Slumtown.
18 Nov 2012, 01:55 am
Interesting…
http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/all-blacks/7965771/McCaw-and-Hansen-warn-against-privatisation
18 Nov 2012, 01:58 am
@blik-20:
FdP would be a bad choice. Let’s not even discuss it. You did see that HM is eyeing the RWC in 2015?
I repeat: ““So, I’m not totally happy but I’ll take the win. It was ugly, but that’s how you win trophies, especially the World Cup.
Will FdP be there? NO.
Why would you want to bring him back into the fold.
Start plauing and grooming Groom (pun intended) and reinach for 2015 if you don’t trust Hougie at no.9.
18 Nov 2012, 02:04 am
And please, this Taute at 15 is getting boring.
On what grounds is he seen as the best 15 in the country?
He is not worthy to be a Bok player at THIS STAGE of his career in any position. He still has to prove himself. Let’s not talk about POTENTIAL. There are lots of players with more PROVEN potential than Taute.
18 Nov 2012, 02:17 am
HM calls the win “UGLY” while Vrede calls it “BRUTAL”
Who to believe….
18 Nov 2012, 06:38 am
At least the Boks won, even if it was an intercept and an ugly game. But against the Scotties!! Heineken should look at Samoa, Argentina and France to see what is possible. One of the things is crisp service from a scrumhalf, no diddling and dawdling, trying to suck a penalty. I’m all for a few phases of straight running like Alberts and JdV but please, vary it with some ball down the line; not another up and under. The scrums looked wobbly (although lineouts were good thanks to Etzebeth and maybe no Gray) and the planned moves pathetic. Defence was passionate rather than organised.
BUT, some tired boys having to face a smarting England. Not that clever.
18 Nov 2012, 07:11 am
@husky-26:
Tired?
hahaha you are kidding right?
If they can handle 3-4 games on tour then its a joke.
Teams use to tour for 8 weeks. Tried players seems like a preparation for a loss excuse.
18 Nov 2012, 07:14 am
@Hurricane-27:
can = cant
18 Nov 2012, 07:59 am
Well Mr Meyer, if the players were tired in the second half, you had a bench of substitutes you could have used. I am sure some of them may have helped a bit. Tool.
18 Nov 2012, 09:35 am
Victor comes off a bit thick in the Supersport studio always trying to bat for Meyer & SHIFT the blame to the players. Mallett says we need to give our backline an opportunity to be creative by supplying good, quick ball for th Matfield retorts, the backline players need to want and call for the ball. really?
18 Nov 2012, 09:41 am
@nama1-19:
418. Transformation said:
17 Nov 2012, 18:05 pm
wait for heyneke meyer to say “the scots
are a great side & that a more highly
rated Bok team lost here in 2010 and
that our defence stood up well”
right on cue. we are so unambitious under meyer it is comical.
18 Nov 2012, 09:47 am
@Transformation-31: Of course they’re great. The are ranked 8th in the world after all.
18 Nov 2012, 10:06 am
Would take matfield over mallet anyday…..you dont fluke 3 superrugby titles. You need to be vastly tactically switched on considering the week to week slog and differing teams. Anyway , with everyone stroking mallet the blokes ego will be soring… Expect to see mallet becoming more and more rabid
18 Nov 2012, 10:12 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-33: Goeie bliksem, as kak praat olie was het jy ‘n dipstiek in jou hol gehad.
18 Nov 2012, 14:33 pm
Hyneke Meyer should be a politician. He makes useless excuses whilst ******** up good talent. He has talked all season about: injuries, retiring players, overseas players, and a lack of continuity (from PdV), attitude, young players learning and gaining experience, bigger players fitting his game plan etc.
Acknowledged: injuries, overseas players, retired players.
Fact is he has had some unbelieveable young talent coming through to replace some of the retired injured overseas and if it was not for poor selection and substitutions and poor game plan, actually, we could have won all (but the Soweto game) this year, including Perth and Dunedin. He is singularly responsible for Hougaard’s poor form. The poor bloke doesn’t know whether he’s a chicken or a feather duster! He has lost confidence. He is ******** up Lambie. Lambie had a bad game yesterday, but as Mallet correctly said, he’s playing to instruction and is too scared to play his natural game. IIMO Lambie must play 15. Kirschner adds nothing and in what way is Taute better than Lambie at 15? Jantjies has been given no chance, He remains loyalty to Steyn who achieved sweet fanny adams when he replaced Lambie yesterday. At least Lambie tackles! Have you ever seen hi miss one! I fear that he will kill the young talent coming through instead of groom them. Sad sad sad!!!
18 Nov 2012, 16:13 pm
@blik-18: Spot on with the first team though Kanko when he comes back may well be the answer we´re looking for – he beefed up a lot and his game was a lot more physical just before he left for Japan.
Some of the replacements I would question though. In future Houghaard will still be a good bench option and hopefully Jan Serfontein would be in the team as well as Rhule.
18 Nov 2012, 16:15 pm
@nama1-19: i´m clutching at straws mate – the fact of the matter is we dont have any proven and great scrumhalf bashing dow the door. I have problems with both Pienaar and Houghaard. The new guys on the block are unproven and Vermaak I havent seen much of of late to say much. So ive fallen back to someone with some experience. But ja – it would be heavily dependent on what kind of form he is in.
18 Nov 2012, 16:16 pm
@nama1-24: agree but we will never know till he plays 15 for the Boks.
18 Nov 2012, 23:08 pm
Did anyone watch the France vs Argentina game? The first half was awesome… both teams offloading in the tackle and going for it. You can pick whoever you want in the Bok team but if the mindset is to be conservative and go to ground everytime you get tackled instead of looking to link up then it makes very little difference. Did deJong get the ball once maybe twice in the whole game? Someone either kicked or ran into a tackler before it got near him. England at least are moving the ball around and trying different things. Boks biggest problem is not who the pick but that they are predictable.
19 Nov 2012, 00:16 am
@thesiener-39: yep agreed it starts with the coach and the mindset, but certain players will never step up to that gameplan it seems and JDV is the main one. But yep you have it spot on. It should all be about running rugby and tough fast recycling of the ball.