Scotland 10 Springboks 21
17 Nov 2012
Keo.co.za brought you live commentary from the Test at Murrayfield.
Full-time: SCOTLAND 10 SPRINGBOKS 21
79 min: Scotland win another scrum penalty and take it quickly. The Boks turn over possession, though, and Pienaar kicks upfield. The Boks win a penalty when Scotland come in from the side. Game over.
78 min: Denton charges up to within inches of the line, but Visser knocks on.
77 min: Scotland win the lineout and a penalty. Flip van der Merwe gets a YELLOW CARD for coming in from the side.
76 min: Van der Linde goes down at the scrum and Scotland win a penalty and kick for touch.
75 min: Scotland lose the ball in the tackle. Bok scrum.
74 min: Steyn replaces Lambie.
74 min: Van der Linde is penalised at scrum time and Scotland kick for touch.
71 min: Scotland win the lineout. Jackson kicks into the deadball area and Kirchner dots down for a 22 drop out.
70 min: Scotland win a free kick at the scrum and take it quickly. They then win a penalty inside the 22 and kick for the corner.
67 min: The Boks win a lineout near halfway and set up the maul. Kirchner kicks an up and under and the ball is tapped back into the hands of Brown. Scotland are awarded a scrum inside the Bok half.
65 min: This time the Boks get a free kick for the same offence.
64 min: The Boks are penalised for an early scrum engagement. Scotland take a 5m scrum.
61 min: The throw is not straight from Ford and the Boks are let off the hook.
61 min: Scotland kick for touch and set up a 5m lineout.
61 min: Heinke van der Merwe comes on for Steenkamp.
60 min: Lambie’s kick is charged down and the Scots get to within inches of the Bok tryline. Hamilton looks certain to score but Van der Linde drives him back. The Boks are penalised for offsides.
57 min: Scotland win the lineout and create some momentum. Kellock surges forward as the Scots get into the Bok 22. Laidlaw kicks possession away and Kirchner takes the mark. Poor decision after all that hard work.
56 min: Scotland win a penalty at the scrum.
52 min: Van der Linde and Coetzee on to the field.
51 min: TRY Pyrgos. CONVERSION: Laidlaw (2/3). Scotland win the lineout at the back and Pyrgos, who’s only just come onto the field, scores a simple try in his second Test. SCOTLAND 10 SPRINGBOKS 21
50 min: Scotland again take the ball through the phases without making much ground. They win a penalty when the Boks go offsides and Laidlaw kicks for touch and sets up a 5m lineout.
46 min: TRY Strauss. CONVERSION Lambie (4/5). Second try for the hooker who intercepts a poor pass from Blair and dives over under the posts. SCOTLAND 3 SPRINGBOKS 21
45 min: De Villiers gains good ground. But the Boks lose the ball in the contact and Scotland kick into the Bok 22. Alberts takes play up to the Scottish 10m and Lambie kicks.
44 min: Scotland win a penalty at the ruck inside their 22 and kick for touch.
42 min: The Boks win the lineout, Etzebeth takes the ball up and takes out the referee. Lambie kicks and the ball almost goes backwards but the Boks win the ball back. Pienaar kicks the ball into the deadball area. Scotland 22 drop out.
41 min: Scotland kick to touch from the kick-off.
Half-time: SCOTLAND 3 SPRINGBOKS 14
39 min: The Boks win another four-man lineout and Etzebeth surges ahead. Lambie puts it on the boot, Louw recovers the ball but Du Plessis knocks on. Scotland, though, also cough it up. The Boks attack again, kick an up and under and knock on.
38 min: De Jongh breaks a tackle as the Boks get going again. Lamont is penalised for hands in the ruck and Lambie kicks for touch.
36min: Laidlaw throws a huge forward pass near halfway. Boks scrum.
34 min: Scotland win the lineout and attack with their forwards. Scotland take the ball through multiple phases but gain little ground and Louw wins a penalty for the Boks.
33 min: The Boks are penalised for hands in the ruck and Scotland turn down the three points and kick into the corner.
31 min: PENALTY Lambie (3/4). SCOTLAND 3 SPRINGBOKS 14
30 min: Louw makes a strong run and the referee penalises Scotland for coming in from the side.
29 min: The Boks kick and Scotland’s forwards are penalised for not leaving the 1om circle. The Boks kick into the Scot’s 22. The ref speaks to both teams about a lack of discipline.
28 min: The Boks are under pressure at the scrum and Kircher kicks with three men on his outside.
27 min: Scotland take the ball through half a dozen phases but make little ground before Denton knocks on.
26 min: PENALTY MISS Laidlaw (1/2). SCOTLAND 3 SPRINGBOKS 11
25 min: The Boks are penalised for playing the ball off their feet and Laidlaw will go for goal.
24 min: Pienaar breaks away but is penalised for holding on.
22 min: CONVERSION MISS Lambie (2/3). SCOTLAND 3 SPRINGBOKS 11
21 min: TRY Strauss. The Boks win the lineout and set up the maul. Strauss goes over for the try. SCOTLAND 3 SPRINGBOKS 11
20 min: The Boks win the lineout and are awarded a penalty after Etzebeth is interfered with. The Boks turn down three points again and kick for touch.
18 min: Scotland get a free kick for an early Bok engagement and find touch near their 10m line.
17 min: Another lineout win for the Boks. Lambie kicks into the corner and Hogg does well under pressure. Scotland are awarded a scrum 5m out from their line.
15 min: Scotland win a lineout. De Luca’s kick ahead gives possession away. The Boks kick up field and Scotland find touch on their 10m line.
14 min: PENALTY Lambie (2/2). SCOTLAND 3 SPRINGBOKS 6
13 min: The Boks win the lineout and the Boks get another kickable penalty as Laidlaw is offsides.
12 min: The Boks win a lineout on halfway. Du Plessis is not released in the tackle and the Scots are penalised. The Boks find touch on the Scottish 10m line.
10 min: PENALTY Laidlaw (1/1). SCOTLAND 3 SPRINGBOKS 3
9 min: Scotland win a penalty at a ruck and Laidlaw will have a shot at goal.
8 min: The Boks claim posssion from the restart but lose it forward when De Villiers goes to ground. Scotland scrum.
7 min: PENALTY Lambie (1/1). SCOTLAND 0 SPRINGBOKS 3
6 min: Louw forces a turnover and wins a penalty. This one will be kicked at goal.
4 min: The Boks win the lineout and maul towards the tryline, but are penalised for obstruction.
3 min: The Boks win the lineout and the referee plays advantage for offsides. The Boks turn down the three points as Lambie kicks for touch.
2 min: Lambie kicks cross-field for Pietersen, who claims it. Lambie kicks an up and under which Hogg collects. Laidlaw kicks for touch and we have the first lineout of the game.
1 min: KICK-OFF. Scotland get the game under way. Pienaar kicks and Scotland are diven into touch. There was a knock on first, though. Bok scrum.
Scotland – 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Sean Lamont, 13 Nick De Luca, 12 Matt Scott, 11 Tim Visser, 10 Greig Laidlaw, 9 Mike Blair, 8 David Denton. 7 Kelly Brown (c), 6 Alasdair Strokosch, 5 Jim Hamilton, 4 Richie Gray, 3 Euan Murray, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Ryan Grant.
Subs – 16 Dougie Hall, 17 Kyle Traynor, 18 Geoff Cross, 19 Alastair Kellock, 20 John Barclay, 21 Henry Pyrgos, 22 Ruaridh Jackson, 23 Peter Murchie.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Gurthro Steenkamp.
Subs: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 CJ van der Linde, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Morne Steyn, 22 Jaco Taute, 23 Lwazi Mvovo.

652 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 » Show All
17 Nov 2012, 18:35 pm
Jorrie muller no longer the worst centre ever selected……
17 Nov 2012, 18:35 pm
Trans and jock my buddies, stop brawling
17 Nov 2012, 18:36 pm
@Transformation-536:
I’m calm now, but to make you feel better Transie and using your France whipped Australia, Australia just beat England, France can beat England by a gazillion logic, the ABs leaked 3 tries agains the minnows, while the Boks only let in 1.
GO BOKKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!
17 Nov 2012, 18:37 pm
When you start to missing Meisie and Barbie….. things not that great!!!!!!!!!!!
17 Nov 2012, 18:37 pm
Jdj and jorrie….. Eish imagine that pairing…..
17 Nov 2012, 18:38 pm
@skopdiekan-548: yup….Afrikaaners are not known for their creativity. We are being left behind in the world of rugby…we need a foreigner at the helm.
@jock: piri weepu, adam thomson, victor vito, ben smith, tamati ellison, tawera kerr-barlow…say whatever u want to say that is 2nd string…
Need to sort out frontrow out and props on beach ffs. ENG WILL be licking lips at prospect of killing our scrum. CJ made squad based on being in the RWC 2007 squad or something silly like that, experience etc.. ffs. STOP KICKING POSSESSION AWAY WHEN OPPOSITION building momentum and when in their F half FFS! Suck a panic attack reaction just makes things worse..
Give Elton the 10 jersey against Poms…
Mossie moet terug kom…. Gangnum quota style werk ni
17 Nov 2012, 18:39 pm
@XV-544: And you’re a fool. Regardless of what your opinion of your own IQ might be. Which I fear may be a little wide of the mark.
@suffer_guy-547: even WP klapping them the try was scored by a centre (JdJ) attacking SPACE and not the man, and CREATING try scoring opportunities.
just like Mallet was saying.
your backs should NOT be bashing it up but should be looking to create opportunities trough running angles, passes, ALL Basics! which we do not do or are afraid to do as we focus soo much on a forward orientated game!
@Dawn-546:
that hurts, dawn
that really hurts
you are so far off base on this, seriously
i really think this team played very well save a few offish performances from a few players. needless to say, the fact there was a few offish individual performances yet we still won comfortable and further more were again outstanding on defense, i would think this was a good account.
why are you being so negative?
17 Nov 2012, 18:40 pm
Grant10 stay of the tik boet… Asb blief… We gave u jdj en see what kak that caused
yes Nick!!!! nick for Pres
@grant10-559: Meyer really missed a trick not starting Elton this game to see what he can offer before making a choice for the England game
it would NOT surprise me to see him start MS against England, i can promise you that!
@Transformation-557:
Man, they’ve got a big squad. And Scotland were missing quite a few as well. We put out our C team ffs
17 Nov 2012, 18:41 pm
Ooops, I just remembered I’m still at work.
Bye
17 Nov 2012, 18:41 pm
Papaown… Then blame ricardo laubcher … He is the backline coach…. The backline wasnt much better when pdv and **** muir was there
17 Nov 2012, 18:42 pm
@katman-561: I know what it is. And am very happy with what I scored.
As for you….you still have not explained to me why an 11 point victory is better than a possible 14 point victory?
@phil72-551: what the fark are you on about?
on what basis are you saying JdJ had a shocker?
@aliboy-550:
nice
i will save this post
it may come in handy in the next two or three years
17 Nov 2012, 18:43 pm
@skopdiekan-548:
Exactly.
Malett seems to be the only person in that freaking panel who is thinking about the long-term impact that Meyer is having on the Boks instead of these short-term wins we’re getting which won’t mean a thing in the long run. Like he said:
Our backs are not being given the ball.
Our centres barely get involved in set plays (there doesn’t seem to be any).
People keep saying this team is inexperienced and should be given time. That’s not the point. The point is that the style of rugby we’re playing won’t make us win against big teams (like the ABs, like Mallet said). You can’t afford to really on 10 man to win the game against big teams. These close wins over Ireland and Scotland show that we will struggle when we encounter strong opposition!
17 Nov 2012, 18:44 pm
@suffer_guy-569: i blame Ricardo for backline moves not coming off. i blame van Graan for our way of attack as Van Graan is the attack coach. i blame HM for selecting both of them!
17 Nov 2012, 18:45 pm
Poor old Pat had a bit of a ‘mare. Most likely due to playing to some instructed pattern. I have a horrible feeling Morne is about to launch his comeback.
17 Nov 2012, 18:46 pm
@papaown-574: Lol
17 Nov 2012, 18:46 pm
as Mallet stated” JdJ got the ball ONCE the whole game, and when he did he side stepped his way out and gained 10 meters and had a crack.
that is our gameplan unfortunately and if the ball managed to get to JdJ or the wings more we would DO more with the ball. the wings NEVER got the ball.”
17 Nov 2012, 18:47 pm
@grant10-559:
Not gonna help if he has to play to this game plan. Dan Carter would look shitt in this game plan.
17 Nov 2012, 18:48 pm
uKakalaka.
17 Nov 2012, 18:49 pm
Lambie, JdJ, JP all looking average having to play this style of rugby.
17 Nov 2012, 18:49 pm
@wasabi-575: can you blame him? especially when the coach gives such STRICT instructions??
he’s soo afraid to play the game as he see’s it which is what a flyhalf needs to be able to do and what he and Elton CAN do. we know MS just CANNOT do that
17 Nov 2012, 18:50 pm
Juandre Kruger is now officially the Marshmallow Man.I have never seen a big man so piss scared to get involved in every facet of forward play.His defending was non existent to say the least.
17 Nov 2012, 18:50 pm
@John Galt-580: emphasis on STYLE of play being enforced on them.
look how they dominate come suprrugby and currie cup time as they are given the freedom to…express themselves
17 Nov 2012, 18:51 pm
@XV-570: Seriously? You sound like someone who has just started watching this game. Which side in the world would try to slot an injury time penalty when they’re ahead by 11 and time is up? Name me one side. This is not a log based competition where bonus points and points difference comes into play. It’s a one-off test. And once it’s it won, you take the result. Anyone will tell you that, and I’m genuinely surprised that you don’t know this.
@wasabi-575: I’ve never ever been able to see what Lambie has to offer SA rugby- not since he first stepped on the scene. He is a curry cup player or at best: a S15 player- nothing more. We have struggled with 10 since God knows when. The Goose a far better prospect. Heck- today I would have taken Peter Grant over Lambie- and I’m sorry I don buy that “he is playing HM’s rugby blah blah fishpaste’.
What a limited game plan. Every time de Villiers gets the ball he pretends he’s Alberts . Does he know there’s another centre outside him?
@papaown-581: No, can’t really blame Pat. Like trying to wipe your bum with your “other” hand. You know what you need to do, you just can’t get it right, well not completely.
17 Nov 2012, 18:52 pm
And it’s time van der Linde retired.
17 Nov 2012, 18:52 pm
@papaown-571:
Don’t bother launching a debate with these idiots…
17 Nov 2012, 18:53 pm
janee bokke tight 5 aint what they once were – liewe fok, teddy en juandre.
should be houhaard at 9, de jong at 12 and jp at 13 – the boks would look a completely different team.
this is turgid shite. a win is a win, but he;s handicapping an immensely talented set of players.
17 Nov 2012, 18:53 pm
@papaown-577: Malett for President! This guy is making such brilliant (though obvious) points. Any person who doesn’t see that Meyer doesn’t give a rats *** about the backline players and centres, during attack play, is blind as a bat.
On the other hand: Matfield is blaming the backline players for not calling for the ball? Freaking HILARIOUS!
17 Nov 2012, 18:55 pm
Can’t blame Lambie.He played to that dom doos’s instructions.JdJ had a fairly good game.Etzebeth,Louw and Vermeulen the stars of the show.CJ should let go of his dreams of ever becoming a good prop in a Bok jersey…..or any jersey whatsoever.
17 Nov 2012, 18:55 pm
@bangkok-bok-585: i think thats VERY unfair. he offered more than MS can offer today.
17 Nov 2012, 18:56 pm
@bangkok-bok-585: I don’t know dude. I reckon it’s a bit of both. Bit of playing to instructions which just don’t suite him and also having a pretty ordinary day at the office, to say the least. Not to mention, the jury surely still has to be out on Pat as a FH, only 2 starts and all over the show in the sharks side. More time needed before I make my final. Morne on the other hand, case closed.
17 Nov 2012, 18:56 pm
Scotland are a superb rugby nation, well done Bokke.
17 Nov 2012, 18:57 pm
the BEST debate i’ve ever listened to for some time on TV
17 Nov 2012, 18:59 pm
We are in the Straueli MkII era…..
17 Nov 2012, 18:59 pm
WTF type of poll is Keo running now? “Is Juan de Jongh too small to play Test rugby?”
Seriously? who are the 16% of losers who say yes? the HM do-or-die favorites?
17 Nov 2012, 19:02 pm
{thinking about pollution}
HM is contaminating some talented & inventive players (all of today’s starting backline a case in point)
Even Sideshow Bob was once upon a time (think back to his Griquas days) an exciting rugby player … but then the Bulls & HM put him in a suffocating straitjacket
Fugg this game plan, mon
17 Nov 2012, 19:03 pm
Did anyone see a backline move or the ball getting to the wing, even once?
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 » Show All