Scotland 10 Springboks 21
17 Nov 2012
Keo.co.za brought you live commentary from the Test at Murrayfield.
Full-time: SCOTLAND 10 SPRINGBOKS 21
79 min: Scotland win another scrum penalty and take it quickly. The Boks turn over possession, though, and Pienaar kicks upfield. The Boks win a penalty when Scotland come in from the side. Game over.
78 min: Denton charges up to within inches of the line, but Visser knocks on.
77 min: Scotland win the lineout and a penalty. Flip van der Merwe gets a YELLOW CARD for coming in from the side.
76 min: Van der Linde goes down at the scrum and Scotland win a penalty and kick for touch.
75 min: Scotland lose the ball in the tackle. Bok scrum.
74 min: Steyn replaces Lambie.
74 min: Van der Linde is penalised at scrum time and Scotland kick for touch.
71 min: Scotland win the lineout. Jackson kicks into the deadball area and Kirchner dots down for a 22 drop out.
70 min: Scotland win a free kick at the scrum and take it quickly. They then win a penalty inside the 22 and kick for the corner.
67 min: The Boks win a lineout near halfway and set up the maul. Kirchner kicks an up and under and the ball is tapped back into the hands of Brown. Scotland are awarded a scrum inside the Bok half.
65 min: This time the Boks get a free kick for the same offence.
64 min: The Boks are penalised for an early scrum engagement. Scotland take a 5m scrum.
61 min: The throw is not straight from Ford and the Boks are let off the hook.
61 min: Scotland kick for touch and set up a 5m lineout.
61 min: Heinke van der Merwe comes on for Steenkamp.
60 min: Lambie’s kick is charged down and the Scots get to within inches of the Bok tryline. Hamilton looks certain to score but Van der Linde drives him back. The Boks are penalised for offsides.
57 min: Scotland win the lineout and create some momentum. Kellock surges forward as the Scots get into the Bok 22. Laidlaw kicks possession away and Kirchner takes the mark. Poor decision after all that hard work.
56 min: Scotland win a penalty at the scrum.
52 min: Van der Linde and Coetzee on to the field.
51 min: TRY Pyrgos. CONVERSION: Laidlaw (2/3). Scotland win the lineout at the back and Pyrgos, who’s only just come onto the field, scores a simple try in his second Test. SCOTLAND 10 SPRINGBOKS 21
50 min: Scotland again take the ball through the phases without making much ground. They win a penalty when the Boks go offsides and Laidlaw kicks for touch and sets up a 5m lineout.
46 min: TRY Strauss. CONVERSION Lambie (4/5). Second try for the hooker who intercepts a poor pass from Blair and dives over under the posts. SCOTLAND 3 SPRINGBOKS 21
45 min: De Villiers gains good ground. But the Boks lose the ball in the contact and Scotland kick into the Bok 22. Alberts takes play up to the Scottish 10m and Lambie kicks.
44 min: Scotland win a penalty at the ruck inside their 22 and kick for touch.
42 min: The Boks win the lineout, Etzebeth takes the ball up and takes out the referee. Lambie kicks and the ball almost goes backwards but the Boks win the ball back. Pienaar kicks the ball into the deadball area. Scotland 22 drop out.
41 min: Scotland kick to touch from the kick-off.
Half-time: SCOTLAND 3 SPRINGBOKS 14
39 min: The Boks win another four-man lineout and Etzebeth surges ahead. Lambie puts it on the boot, Louw recovers the ball but Du Plessis knocks on. Scotland, though, also cough it up. The Boks attack again, kick an up and under and knock on.
38 min: De Jongh breaks a tackle as the Boks get going again. Lamont is penalised for hands in the ruck and Lambie kicks for touch.
36min: Laidlaw throws a huge forward pass near halfway. Boks scrum.
34 min: Scotland win the lineout and attack with their forwards. Scotland take the ball through multiple phases but gain little ground and Louw wins a penalty for the Boks.
33 min: The Boks are penalised for hands in the ruck and Scotland turn down the three points and kick into the corner.
31 min: PENALTY Lambie (3/4). SCOTLAND 3 SPRINGBOKS 14
30 min: Louw makes a strong run and the referee penalises Scotland for coming in from the side.
29 min: The Boks kick and Scotland’s forwards are penalised for not leaving the 1om circle. The Boks kick into the Scot’s 22. The ref speaks to both teams about a lack of discipline.
28 min: The Boks are under pressure at the scrum and Kircher kicks with three men on his outside.
27 min: Scotland take the ball through half a dozen phases but make little ground before Denton knocks on.
26 min: PENALTY MISS Laidlaw (1/2). SCOTLAND 3 SPRINGBOKS 11
25 min: The Boks are penalised for playing the ball off their feet and Laidlaw will go for goal.
24 min: Pienaar breaks away but is penalised for holding on.
22 min: CONVERSION MISS Lambie (2/3). SCOTLAND 3 SPRINGBOKS 11
21 min: TRY Strauss. The Boks win the lineout and set up the maul. Strauss goes over for the try. SCOTLAND 3 SPRINGBOKS 11
20 min: The Boks win the lineout and are awarded a penalty after Etzebeth is interfered with. The Boks turn down three points again and kick for touch.
18 min: Scotland get a free kick for an early Bok engagement and find touch near their 10m line.
17 min: Another lineout win for the Boks. Lambie kicks into the corner and Hogg does well under pressure. Scotland are awarded a scrum 5m out from their line.
15 min: Scotland win a lineout. De Luca’s kick ahead gives possession away. The Boks kick up field and Scotland find touch on their 10m line.
14 min: PENALTY Lambie (2/2). SCOTLAND 3 SPRINGBOKS 6
13 min: The Boks win the lineout and the Boks get another kickable penalty as Laidlaw is offsides.
12 min: The Boks win a lineout on halfway. Du Plessis is not released in the tackle and the Scots are penalised. The Boks find touch on the Scottish 10m line.
10 min: PENALTY Laidlaw (1/1). SCOTLAND 3 SPRINGBOKS 3
9 min: Scotland win a penalty at a ruck and Laidlaw will have a shot at goal.
8 min: The Boks claim posssion from the restart but lose it forward when De Villiers goes to ground. Scotland scrum.
7 min: PENALTY Lambie (1/1). SCOTLAND 0 SPRINGBOKS 3
6 min: Louw forces a turnover and wins a penalty. This one will be kicked at goal.
4 min: The Boks win the lineout and maul towards the tryline, but are penalised for obstruction.
3 min: The Boks win the lineout and the referee plays advantage for offsides. The Boks turn down the three points as Lambie kicks for touch.
2 min: Lambie kicks cross-field for Pietersen, who claims it. Lambie kicks an up and under which Hogg collects. Laidlaw kicks for touch and we have the first lineout of the game.
1 min: KICK-OFF. Scotland get the game under way. Pienaar kicks and Scotland are diven into touch. There was a knock on first, though. Bok scrum.
Scotland – 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Sean Lamont, 13 Nick De Luca, 12 Matt Scott, 11 Tim Visser, 10 Greig Laidlaw, 9 Mike Blair, 8 David Denton. 7 Kelly Brown (c), 6 Alasdair Strokosch, 5 Jim Hamilton, 4 Richie Gray, 3 Euan Murray, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Ryan Grant.
Subs – 16 Dougie Hall, 17 Kyle Traynor, 18 Geoff Cross, 19 Alastair Kellock, 20 John Barclay, 21 Henry Pyrgos, 22 Ruaridh Jackson, 23 Peter Murchie.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Gurthro Steenkamp.
Subs: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 CJ van der Linde, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Morne Steyn, 22 Jaco Taute, 23 Lwazi Mvovo.

652 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 » Show All
17 Nov 2012, 19:03 pm
@papaown-596: Agreed. And Malett won as he clearly buried that whole “SA backline players are not natural attackers” myth.
17 Nov 2012, 19:05 pm
Ratings…. Out of 10
Zane. 4
Jpp. 2. Did he play?
Jdj. 3 sorry ancyl and tikkoppe
Jdv 4.5
Hougaard 4.5
Lambie 4
Pienaar 5
Duane 5
Flo 8.5
Alberts 7
Eben 6.5
Kruger 5
Guthro 3
Strauss 8
Jannie 3
17 Nov 2012, 19:08 pm
@suffer_guy-602: what’s that an ave of about 5? Maybe a bit generous ?
17 Nov 2012, 19:09 pm
@NZINCHINA-595:
Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaaaaaaa
17 Nov 2012, 19:09 pm
Strauss maybe 7 …. Alberts 6 ….
17 Nov 2012, 19:11 pm
@suffer_guy-602: you said last night you are only here to stir,so,basically we should not take this post seriously then??
17 Nov 2012, 19:12 pm
@Angostura-599:
Good analogy really…he’s the equivalent of a virus…an uninhibited contagion…
17 Nov 2012, 19:17 pm
@gunther-73: LOL
Scots should have kicked their penalties
@NZINCHINA-595:
Hear hear NZ.
Amazing what these scots accomplish with their limited resources.
17 Nov 2012, 19:22 pm
@carol-117: YOU CAN TELL THE DIFFERENCE
17 Nov 2012, 19:23 pm
@ryecatcher-611: Ugly.Sorry caps.No???
17 Nov 2012, 19:27 pm
@papashanga-586: jdv is pat mcCabe’s hero!
jdv is the reason why the stormers backline was dead…
17 Nov 2012, 19:30 pm
@Transformation-613: I am beginning to believe that as well now.
17 Nov 2012, 19:43 pm
@wnbb-614: JDV was better at 13 with Frans Steyn at 12. We need a play maker at 12. Thinking outside the box- who would be better at 12 (assuming we have JDV at 13)?? First of all- out of our current squad and then looking at who we left home. Lambie at 12 with Jantjies at 10 maybe? So a backline of: 9 Ruan, 10: Jantjies, 12: Lambie, 13 JDV 14 JPP and 11: Mvovo 15 Taute.
17 Nov 2012, 19:51 pm
@papaown-539: Mallet also said that If Sharks could play the ball wide,why could the Boks not.
Said that Lambie obviously playing under instructions.
17 Nov 2012, 19:53 pm
@papaown-539: Lekker.Enough of this
good buddy stuff
17 Nov 2012, 19:58 pm
@XV-556: Tell that to Mannetjies,Danie,Carel,Naas,Michael Dumb comment.Jan Boland,Roblouw
17 Nov 2012, 20:00 pm
@bangkok-bok-615: jdv is not a thirteen…
17 Nov 2012, 20:00 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-563: Hello Bakkies.Ek is so vokken beswaard.Praat more weer
17 Nov 2012, 20:03 pm
@bangkok-bok-615: even nonu after playing 13 in 2 games in the RC when csmith was injured said its not am easy position…jdj is better than jdv.
17 Nov 2012, 20:13 pm
@wnbb-614: hi pal off to bed are you
the capo di tutti capi?LOL
Katman
Gunther
Goodnight.Sleep well
@ryecatcher-620:
cheers Rye,
ja, kom ons gesels more weer. n springbok wedstryd assessering werk altyd beter as almal minder emotioneel oor die ouens se spel is, en die hele span sin ook.
Funny only people defending jdj is the soccer supporters
17 Nov 2012, 20:15 pm
@ryecatcher-622:
cheers boet,
have a good one.
17 Nov 2012, 20:36 pm
@ryecatcher-618: all brilliant players. I was alluding to the head coach position. Our backline play has gone backwards in the past 20 years.
17 Nov 2012, 21:04 pm
@katman-529: why not? the time was up – the kick would have been the last play of the game – add 3 points makes the score look better and rubs some salt into the wounds – just hoofing it out is the thing that makes no difference what so ever.
17 Nov 2012, 23:43 pm
@XV-626: ok agree.but dont talk nationalities
18 Nov 2012, 00:50 am
@JockBok-527: Hear hear
18 Nov 2012, 00:56 am
@Luiz VRC-538: PdV starstudded springboks lost against Scotland last year..
18 Nov 2012, 00:59 am
@fishdish-532: Are you not? just mentioning it makes me wonder fishbreath.
18 Nov 2012, 01:03 am
@suffer_guy-543: What about the time he picked a flanker to play flyhalf, and Italy got the beating of a lifetime.
18 Nov 2012, 01:18 am
@XV-570: I am going to talk slowly. If the kick did not go over Scotland being desperate could have scored a try from there, it happened before in rugby lots of times. Suddenly the score is 21-17. The other factor is that you might pick up injuries defending. Why would you want to do that? Go pop another lsd cap with your friend skopskiet and then go and rule the world. Please just stay inside ok.
18 Nov 2012, 01:52 am
So, the Boks won. It was to be expected wasn’t it. After Scotland gave their all against the AB last week. The Boks can’t feel good about themselves after ANOTHER kak performance. Hope nobody is going to use the “a win is a win” phrase to alleviate their disappointment in the Boks’ performance.
Time to look reality in the eyes.
Meyer needs to be BOLD next week and start Jantjies and Mvovo with the four dark players he already have in the team. Lambie, like last week was average to poor. Not surprising when you keep in mind that Meyer is trying to clone another Morne.
Morne coming on in the latter part of the game is probably a signal that he will start next week.
HG can prepare his speech about the discrimination against Souyies for the next three days in the meantime. We won’t regard it as “racist”, except maybe Kietsie.
18 Nov 2012, 02:06 am
@nama1-634:
I’m sure I’ll be called a ‘RACIST” for even suggesting that there should be 6 POC in the team next week.
Don’t disappoint me now, Karel.
18 Nov 2012, 03:04 am
@Transformation-418:
Maybe not exactly as you predicted but not that far off:
Your prediction: our defence stood up well
Heyneke: “But I’m happy with the defence, which was awesome.”
18 Nov 2012, 03:23 am
Why the **** is this post moderated?
637.nama1: Reply to this comment Your comment is awaiting moderation.
18 Nov 2012, 03:22 am
@Big Hit-455:
“solid win”
@mikeybrass-459:
” pathetic win.”
@papaown-460:
“A win is a win”
@SjamBok-464:
“Awful game from Boks ”
@I am a stormer-468:
“Not pretty”
@skopdiekan-476:
“useless performance”
@Transformation-479:
“rubbish game”
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-481:
“wonderful game”
@mikeybrass-486:
“It was painful…”
@lesiba-490:
“We have accepted mediocrity…”
Now now, I believe all these guys watched the same game.
Spot the odd people out. No surprises there, of hoe?
18 Nov 2012, 03:24 am
is -was
18 Nov 2012, 04:10 am
@katman-584:
Correct Kats
If the game is in the bag, kick it out for the win.
Kicking 3 points when you have already won on tour could mean another injury to an important player if the ball does not go over and stays in field.
18 Nov 2012, 07:21 am
So, if the Boks win against England next week, they will return to SA unbeaten from their EOYT.
When last did that happen, if ever?
18 Nov 2012, 07:44 am
@nama1-640: thats why they only agreed to 3 tests for this EOYT mate… 25% less chance of losing
18 Nov 2012, 07:52 am
I see the cannibals battled to put italy away….
18 Nov 2012, 07:54 am
All the soccer supporters didnt enjoy the bok performance… Pdv’s boks lost there 2 years ago… Also jdj must go gangnum style to soccer… Int rugby is not his game.. Just not up to std
18 Nov 2012, 08:11 am
@suffer_guy-642:
Why call us cannibals?
Have you a problem with people that are not your race?
18 Nov 2012, 08:14 am
@nama1-635: Why should anyone call you a racist.
Rhule and Mvovo superiour to Hougaardt
18 Nov 2012, 08:15 am
@ryecatcher-645: superior
18 Nov 2012, 08:16 am
@suffer_guy-642:
Said as if Boks put away scotland.
Oh and you do understand that Italy are ahead of scotland in the 6 nations, in fact beat scotland.
Now if you think we had trouble with Italy , seems they could give the Boks a run for there money.
18 Nov 2012, 08:22 am
@poppa69-642:
Probably something to do with managing our “tired” players as well.
@suffer_guy-644:
Well, it does not take much to satisfy you, does it?
Your nickname on the koshuis was probably something like Twostroke Oil.
18 Nov 2012, 08:26 am
@ryecatcher-646:
Well, it has been the buzz word around here since last week.
You know how many people have called me that for not agreeing with HM and questioning his selections.
18 Nov 2012, 08:37 am
Meyer’s recors so far:
Play: 11
Win: 6
Draw: 2
Lose: 3
Away wins: 2
Winning %: 54, 54%
So, if the Boks win next week, he’ll end the year with a 58.3% winning record and an unbeaten EOYT to boot.
Things are looking on the up for his apostles.
They’ll not comment much about the way the Boks play the game…of that I’m sure.
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 » Show All