Etzebeth in the dock

Eben Etzebeth faces a nervous wait to see if he will play at Twickenham after he was cited for an alleged eye gouge.

The alleged incident, which involved Scotland flyhalf Greig Laidlaw, happened in the 54th minute of the Test and was picked up by England’s Alan Mansel.

Northern hemisphere regulations allow for a citing to happen up to 48 hours after the match. The Springboks were informed of the citing on Monday morning.

Owen Eastwood, a London-based lawyer, will defend Etzebeth at his hearing before independent IRB-appointed judicial officers at a hotel near Heathrow airport on Tuesday.

95 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.katman: Reply to this comment

And no citing for the Samoan who cleaned out the Welsh flyhalf with a flying shoulder charge far worse than the one that saw Bakkies banned.

• 52.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@ufo-20:

Ufo, thanks for finding that. I think this incident should be used to reinforce the growing view that the Springboks sometimes get punished or cited on reputation.

This year we seemed to have cleaned up our act a bit and I think that should be noticed by the officials.

• 53.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@katman-51:

Also, the Adam thomson head stamp…. Can you imagine if a South African player had done that?

Im not one to whinge normally, but I doubt we would have been given as little as a 1 week suspension… Absolute joke.

• 54.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-52: I agree with UFO’s summary of the “event”. I had a look at it myself. No ways did Etzebeth gouge the eyes of Laidlaw. There was contact with the “mouth area” if that is the way to describe it.
    He should really not be found guilty. Laidlaw did not make a scene of it afterwards as well and didn’t even receive medical treatment.
    Etzebeth is the 4 lock but he said it himself that he is no 2nd Bakkies but wants to create his own “style”. At this stage he is a bit of a hybrid lock IMO – somewhere between 4 and 5.
    Matt Proudfoot said earlier this year that they want to develop him firstly as a 4 but would like to use hom as 5 as well in the future

• 55.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-54: Agreed. Doesnt stop people from jumping on the “cite the Springboks” bandwagon though…. Would be good if after Etzebeth is found not guilty, the officials started to realise that we take a lot of heat on reputation more than anything else.

• 56.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-55: I agree !!

• 57.darkwing_m: Reply to this comment

I think the incident they are reffering to happens at 54:16 (so 14:15 into the second half). Eben is trying to hold him up, hist left hand under his armpit and his righ hand is around his whole face and mouth (i.e. no finger into thee eye). You can actually see him realise where his hand is and then correct so that he doesn’t stick his fingers into his eyes…

*IF* anything come of this then not only would be extremely harsh but actually wrong – one could justifiably say polically motivated…. (although I won’t prejudge the hearing findings as yet)…

• 58.Gtown: Reply to this comment

total and utter pile of kak.

just finished dl’ing the game from ACT, and first stop was 54:10-16… bitta face, let’s go etc as per the testimonials above.

farce… utterfuckingfarce.

• 59.gonzo: Reply to this comment

If we’re talking about the 54th minute, well, there’s nothing in it. I watched the replay, a few moments when you can’t see what is happening and there is hand on face but once the whistle blows, everyone is just lying on the ground resting, definitely not like you would expect after and eye gouging.

Unfortunately the citing commissioner probably saw Eben’s angry-face-of-evil after he mock headbutted Sharpe and figured he must be up to no good at least once each game.

Mind you, Bakkies was done for gouging on less video evidence. He admitted it later too

• 60.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

NAMA 1976 3;d TEST MOANER SEPERATED WHITINGS EAR FROM HIS
    HEAD.KICKED SYD GOING IN HEAD.CALLED THE DIRTIEST TEST EVER.
    REMEMBER KIRKPATRIC0K MOANER INCIDENT.LOOK UP
    THE MCLOOKRUGBY COLLECTION. 76 THIRD TEST
    SORRY,BUT MEMORY NOT SO GOOD.REMEMBER THIS LIKE YESTERDAY.
    GOING EVEN CHASED MOANER.HOPE THIS HELPS.SOME NICE PICTURES.

• 61.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Not into this “Enforcer” tag, especially for a young gifted athletic player like Estebeth. Should be left to play his natural game… and gradually will learn the dark arts of the silent assassin that keeps the opposition honest…

• 62.Qrest: Reply to this comment

As a former US President once said “there they go again”.

• 63.j59: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-59: thanks for your interest in our players. can you point me to the evidence of Botha admitting to eye gouging please – I like to read for my reference

• 64.whatever: Reply to this comment

Absolutely nothing in this………..anyone who says so is just mischief making!

There were real offences over the week-end that went unpunished, like the Samoan cleanout in the ruck………..no arms and headhigh………….not a peep.

They (The powers that be) have to get some consistancy in the citings and get all officials on the same page. Sorry but this BS just leaves it open to the perception of bias and consiracy theories……………not good

• 65.whatever: Reply to this comment

conspiracy……..sorry sp!

• 66.Anomander: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-23: How do you explain that he plays at 4 for the Stormers as well then?

• 67.supersader: Reply to this comment

Typical let’s go back to bulls vs crusaders at loftus 2012 twice bulls used dirty tactics of alleged eye gouging and no one got medical attention hell no one even put their hand on the gouged eye. As to etzebeth so its ok to goug as long as its not the eyes???

• 68.gunther: Reply to this comment

@supersader-67:

Of course they got medical attention you bellend.

Chilliboy’s eye looked like a sheep’s uterus after your boys had played pig in the poke with it.

• 69.katman: Reply to this comment

@j59-63: He’s just talking from his poepol. Will conveniently “not see” your post. Bakkies never said anything like that.

• 70.ufo: Reply to this comment

@supersader-67:

supersad… er…

• 71.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

Here’s a link:

http://prem0.hiboox.com/images/4712/diapo38402bac6b331dd0754b0868b2389b89.gif

It looks accidental, but I’m sure the Pom media will have a field day with it.

• 72.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-71:

Thanks! My word do these guys get paid for this *****

Laidlaw didn’t even flinch… You just have to be kidding me.

Well he was banned for kissing a lock on his head, so he might get given one for caressing a face now… :lol:

• 73.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Sh yte is a banned word… Halleluha

• 74.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-72:

It looks like Laidlaw was trying to pull his head out of the hold, and that’s when Etzebeth’s hand slipped over Laidlaw’s eyes.

Etzebeth then immediately releases his hand.

• 75.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-71:

bwahahaaa – that’s fugg all, mon:

just a free & gratis face lift :-)

• 76.Ricardo10: Reply to this comment

As a Kiwi looking at the incident Etzebeth has nothing to worry about.

I’ve had it with these fu*king Poms. They currently have their collective arses to the wall staring down the possibility of being thrown in the same RWC Pool in 2015 as NZ & either Wales or Samoa.

I would give my right testicle to see those whining, complaint c**ts stuck in 5th place with a resurgent Wales or fired up Samoa as their opponents come London 2015.

Meanwhile back to Etzebeth. Safe as houses (unless the English spin doctors) find him guilty of a mass murder somewhere in Hampshire between now & saturday.

• 77.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Ricardo10-76: Ok. Officially spat out my muesli due to hysterical laughter.
    These words: “I would give my right testicle to see those whining, complaint c**ts stuck in 5th place with a resurgent Wales or fired up Samoa as their opponents come London 2015″…..

made my day. :)

• 78.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

I’ld give my left one…

;-)

• 79.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Ricardo10-76:

• 80.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

Eben Etzebeth was cited by “independent” citing commissioner Alan Mansel of England.

• 81.Ricardo10: Reply to this comment

Glad I made somebody happy.

However we Kiwis are fed up with that tampon Stephen Jones constantly harping on about the Haka whilst 80,000 anal Poms at Twickenham howl during the Haka much preferring to see a dozen Morris dancers parading in the middle of the stadium.

Sad but true.

• 82.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-71:
    Not much in that at all…..but he is playing with fire.
    He is very close to the eyes, he actually runs his hand over the eyes….its like a rugby league facial massage. But he has to be careful.
    I think he has already been brainwashed by South African fans and media that he needs to be the new enforcer.
    He has the goods to be better than Bakkies,but if he goes down the road of Bakkies, he will only be remembered as a dirty player and forgotten how good a player he was.

• 83.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Ricardo10-76:
    will if it happens…you do realise you will be called oneball.

• 84.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Bloody pommies scared their asses will be handed to them again and multiple pussies carried of the field because they can’t handle a physical battle with their Saffa bogey team! England are SA’s bunnies and if the poms don’t go spin some **** to ban Ysterbeth than it will be a frontal assault of note this weekend.

Hopefully Etsebeth will be cleared and then he will be motivated to do some legal damage this weekend!

• 85.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Ricardo10-81: “That tampon Steve Jones…..” – oh dear :) Please continue ;) PS: you really are making my day with this Pom bashing.

@Hurricane-83: ET has a spare one.

• 86.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-84:
    He should be cleared, cannot see much in that view at all unless there is another angle of it.
    Poms are doing it all wrong. I would have aimed for Lambie so that Morne starts :-)

• 87.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Cited for making contact with eye or EYE AREA.Low level sanction 12 weeks.
    High level 24 weeks.Todays Guardian.Vokken klug

• 88.BishopsOD: Reply to this comment

Reminds me of the citing of Frans Steyn after the Boks-Tonga classic at the World Cup of ’07. It turns out the Tongans were actually pressured into making a hurricane out of a ****, further fuelling our crazy notions of an anti-Bok conspiracy out there somewhere.
    This is toilet, even by IRB overreactive standards.

• 89.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-86: :lol:

• 90.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@j59-63: I know I’ve mocked others on here for citing dodgy media sources but i’m going to quote a book by a blogger. Keo’s book about his time as media manager for the boks has a section on their reputation as thugs. If you google either of these phrases you should be able to see a google book preview

“straeuli told me in cape town in august 2003 that he knew bakkies was guilty”
    “bakkies botha escaped a lengthy exile from bok rugby, despite later admitting his guilt to straeuli”

There was also a line in there about him telling an Irish journalist that his ban was for gouging, but i can’t find it in there as half the pages are missing

• 91.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-11: Etzedbeth is not a no5 lock, he may be skilled enough to play 5 but his physical talents lend themselves more to a 4 lock…carrys in contact, big close in hits and ruck cleans are where he is best not a roaming ball playing no 5.

• 92.PaulLondon: Reply to this comment

The citing is not for gouging,but for contact to the eye area. Accidential contact is still a 12 week ban.
    How many times was Bakkies, busted after the game by the citing officer ?
    Maybe if the bok management stop branding Etzedbeth as the team enforcer and let him get on with his game the citing officers(regardless of where they come from) and the IRB, will have to go through Bok game film with a microscope,looking for skullduggery from their well know enforcers.

• 93.PaulLondon: Reply to this comment

*nd the IRB, will NOT have to

• 94.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

Etzebeth is more bad news from Brackenfel. Ask the pub crawlers. They will tell youy about Skattie’s people.

• 95.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Lang Giel-94:

Doos

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.