Etzebeth in the dock
19 Nov 2012
Eben Etzebeth faces a nervous wait to see if he will play at Twickenham after he was cited for an alleged eye gouge.
The alleged incident, which involved Scotland flyhalf Greig Laidlaw, happened in the 54th minute of the Test and was picked up by England’s Alan Mansel.
Northern hemisphere regulations allow for a citing to happen up to 48 hours after the match. The Springboks were informed of the citing on Monday morning.
Owen Eastwood, a London-based lawyer, will defend Etzebeth at his hearing before independent IRB-appointed judicial officers at a hotel near Heathrow airport on Tuesday.

95 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
19 Nov 2012, 18:01 pm
oh no…
say it isn’t so eben… say it isn’t so…
19 Nov 2012, 18:10 pm
He needs to watch his head.
He’s enthusiastic but Bakkies got himself into all sorts of mayhem that will cost teams matches. .
19 Nov 2012, 18:15 pm
@Tbozknows-2:
Yep, and he must refrain from believing the “next Bakkies” tripe the scribes are trying to use to sell papers.
He can be a force without resorting to thuggery, so let’s hope this is not true.
Pity, the more these type of headlines gets displayed, the more **** he will pick up without doing anything untoward.
19 Nov 2012, 18:24 pm
@Tbozknows-2:
@nortierd-3:
agree with you both…
but have looked through the 14th minute… and on the broadcast footage he doesn’t come anywhere close to laidlaw…
at 14:59 while standing still at a ruck he puts his hand on the side of alasdair strokosch’s (i think) scrumcapped head… nothing like an eye-gouge…
so they must have a wrong time… or wrong player or something…
but very stupid if he has done this… and would not be in line with what he is about… but we must wait for the process and see what the verdict is before making judgements…
IF he has gouged he must be dealt with in accordance of the laws…
19 Nov 2012, 18:34 pm
@ufo-4:
Yep, 1st reference anyone has heard of it.
Don’t think it’s true
19 Nov 2012, 18:38 pm
@nortierd-5:
yeah… bolt outta the blue… normally these things create some sort of argybargy when they happen…
but can’t recall eben involved in anything untoward… will watch the whole game again later…
let’s hope it is not true…
19 Nov 2012, 18:49 pm
Making Eben Etsebeth the Boks ‘enforcer’ was one of Meyers dumbest moves along with plenty of others…
Etsebeth should be left to play his natural game which is carry and be the agile athletic No.5 style lock he is.. he is not a No.4 type copy of Bakkies or Thorn or Kobus Wiese .. leave the blitzkrieg enforcing to those who can shoulder the responsibility, Etsebeth is still a lightie on the international stage and should not be carrying the mantle of the Boks breker bone collector as they trying to label him.
19 Nov 2012, 18:57 pm
@skopdiekan-7:
Agreed
He can do damage by just playing his natural game.
Could be a great of the game, just needs to temper the over the top aggro.
19 Nov 2012, 19:01 pm
@nortierd-8: another stupid identification failure by Meyer.. seems this oke got far too many blindfolds covering his preconceived eyesight to be a naturally gifted instinctual rugby coach in any ones language.
19 Nov 2012, 19:08 pm
@skopdiekan-9:
He is learning the hard way
I also blame every second reporter for drawing on the Bakkies analogy when they write about Eben.
The poor kid must be so gatvol of these comparisons by now.
You can see all he wants to do is play his heart out every time he runs on the field, be it Boks, Stormers or Province.
I love it and hope to see it for many years to come.
19 Nov 2012, 19:14 pm
@nortierd-10: they should get off his back with this bullshit enforcer tag label.. trying to mold him into Bakkies is just as bad as trying to mold Hougaard into FdP or Lambie into Morne Steyn.. or the 2012 Boks into the 2007 Bulls…. its outright dumb and blind and stupid and inconceivably ignorant and backward to say the least.
19 Nov 2012, 19:17 pm
skopdiekan & nortierd
excellent points from both of you…
19 Nov 2012, 19:17 pm
Nothing in it. Cited by a Pom after request from England coach.
19 Nov 2012, 19:22 pm
Seriously?
It’s Meyer’s fault?
Lmfao.
19 Nov 2012, 19:23 pm
@gecko-13: Vok nee man.Perfidious Albion
19 Nov 2012, 19:25 pm
Uh-oh.
Hope for his sake it’s not true.
19 Nov 2012, 19:36 pm
@skopdiekan-7:
Eye gouging has nothing whatsover to being an enforcer.
And vice versa.
19 Nov 2012, 19:40 pm
54th minute. Etzebeth holds laidlaw up and has his hand around his face. Don’t see any gouging!
19 Nov 2012, 19:43 pm
Sounds like sour grapes from a team that lost
19 Nov 2012, 19:46 pm
ok… found it…
Mr Vrede… you say in the 14th minute… it is actually 14th minute of the SECOND half…
on 14:13 laidlaw carries the ball into the tackle and eben reaches out to grab him and laidlaw ducks into eben’s outstretched left hand… then in the rough-n-tumble of the maul eben grabs laidlaw around his mouth with his right hand… but does readjust off his face when he realises what he has grabbed…
this scottish commentators even say… “there he is… held up by etzebeth.. you can see his head in the middle…”
and afterwards there’s not so much as a peep or frown from laidlaw to suggest he thought he was manhandled let alone eye-gouged…
no way in hell is this anything like dirty play let alone an eye-gouge…
i am confident he will be found innocent of the charge… but please go and look and see what others think… especially our AB friends… please tell me if you see it any differently…
if and when he is found innocent there should be a penalty for the person who brought such a frivolous citing forward…
this smacks of someone spotting something in the post-match review and deciding to see if they could make mischief…
19 Nov 2012, 19:47 pm
yes… actually 54th minute as mrmr says…
19 Nov 2012, 19:51 pm
Havent seen it….praying its a storm in a tea cup…..
@I am a stormer-17: comes from the directive of the management, when Schalk eye gouged Fitzgerald on the Bil’s tour who set up the attitude to cause bodily harm.. when Bakkies head butted Cowan from behind.. what kind of management instigates this adrenalin rush to the head?
Why is Etsebeth being ‘groomed’ to be the new Bakkies of the Bok team.. what kind of energy and intent of purpose is that supposed to yield, if any?
To throw some attitude of breker into the mix and be the hero front man of the Bok bravado .. Etsebeth can well do without any of that stigma attached to his persona or his playing style. Which is a direct reflection of the directive from the coach.
@gunther-14:
not saying it’s heyneke’s fault at all gunther…
but people and journos talking up and putting pressure on eben to play this enforcer role…
19 Nov 2012, 19:54 pm
@ufo-20:
The fact that it was England’s Alan Mansel who reported it – seeing that the Boks next opponents are indeed England – should require that Mr. Mansel be asked one or two awkward questions to answer himself.
Just saying.
19 Nov 2012, 19:57 pm
@ufo-24:
Fuckadilly runtcunt reckons its Meyer.
Quality humour.
I agree that it’s a tag imposed by the media.
19 Nov 2012, 19:58 pm
@skopdiekan-23:
Foul play will not be condoned in rugby. By anybody. Or any coach.
Pdiv was a clown. And a fool to defend Schalk.
But if a player adds steel, then you will see a smile from any coach. No matter which country he represents.
19 Nov 2012, 19:59 pm
@gunther-26: Meyer is the one playing him in the wrong role and placing unnecessary breker attitude into his fragile developing psyche utilizing him as his front line Bakkies clone enforcer.. not the media.. and nobody else.
19 Nov 2012, 20:03 pm
@I am a stormer-25:
i don’t do the conspiracy thing… but after having seen the footage i have say you have a fair point there… very strange citing…
also strange thing about the shifting deadlines again…
@gunther-26:
yeah… i don’t agree it’s meyer’s fault at all…
at the end of the day each and every act of foul play is the sole responsibility of the player involved…
unless coaches are coaching 99 calls again…
19 Nov 2012, 20:05 pm
@skopdiekan-28:
but skop meyer has not told eben or anyone else to go out and intentionally play dirty…
only the individual player can be held responsible for his own actions…
19 Nov 2012, 20:05 pm
@skopdiekan-28:
Didn’t the Stormers play him in that role?
No coach is going to instruct a player to be dirty.
These guys get fined big time by the union when they transgress.
19 Nov 2012, 20:07 pm
@I am a stormer-25:
Sounds about right.
19 Nov 2012, 20:07 pm
but some serious mentoring of eben by a senior player, current or past, should be entertained as soon as possible… with great media fanfare too… to dispell the perceptions building up around this youngster and possibly derailing his potentially stellar career…
19 Nov 2012, 20:10 pm
@ufo-29: Hi Ufo.Decency is a strong
word in my vocabulary.You have it in spades.Thanks for the research.
Hope I dont get shat on,
19 Nov 2012, 20:11 pm
@I am a stormer-25: Vokken Rooinekke
19 Nov 2012, 20:13 pm
@ufo-30: @gunther-31:
Its the psychological intent behind the action.. why is a young 20 year old made out to be the big breek enforcer of the Bok team.. why is not Alberts or Vermeulen taking on that role..?
Meyer is missing a trick.. and so does AC at Stormers because Elstadt is by far a better proponent of the enforcer attribute than Etsebeth.. Etsebeth should be left alone to play a far more open pacy and agile ball carry role ala No.5 .. after all his natural position at school was center not even anywhere near the tight 5, and certainly not to take on the mantle of the Bakkies No.4 tough guy role they all clamoring to make him out to be.. it is wrong of Meyer and wrong of the media.. but the media is putting out what the culture surrounding Etsebeth’s role in the Bok camp is driving.. not the other way around.
19 Nov 2012, 20:13 pm
Just saw it….a bit clumsy but not a fark an eye gouge imo….
Reckon they will nail him anyway…..vok, Flippie here we go
19 Nov 2012, 20:16 pm
@ryecatcher-34:
sheesh… thanks rye…
you humble me…
you’re most welcome… just trying to bring some objectivity to the table…
nothing wrong with complimenting people on keo… a lot of people complain about the some of the negative and insulting exchanges… why should anyone be offended by some positive exchanges…??
on that note will call it a night…
19 Nov 2012, 20:23 pm
Is it just me or do some of you also get the impression that some players on the fringe are not so sure of positions as the camp would want us to believe?
Eg. Flippie, on for 10 minutes then gets a yellow for trying to much in a short space of time.
JdJ ( even at the Stormers ) still seems like he’s trying to prove his worth, hence a bit of selfishness slips in every now and again.
I’m not blaming them, just an observation.
These players are good enough, but might doubt their own worth in a team where they know each chance might be their last.
Even Lambie for that matter
19 Nov 2012, 20:32 pm
Oh my sack, just wait till our kiwis friends get hold of this one…..
19 Nov 2012, 20:35 pm
I reckon Skop has got this 1 right again….the more I watch Eben the more I am leaning to the opinion that his future lies as a 5 lock…..
19 Nov 2012, 20:45 pm
@grant10-41: Skop gets more right here than what most give him credit for……
It just seems to be that many of his rugby pearls of wisdom (and there are plensch) seem to get lost in the litany of fuckadillies/runtcnuts/pisswillies and fcukfaces.
19 Nov 2012, 20:58 pm
Shut up you senile puddle of wee. Why don’t you pin the farm riots on Meyer too?
19 Nov 2012, 21:00 pm
@grant10-41: Eben is a laaitie you doos..how many “enforcers” at 20 yrs have you seen at international level?
You still a dumbpoes butlerboy, you and ole’ Jerusalem GT
19 Nov 2012, 21:05 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-42: ja, you **** enough you may end shitting in your pants too…..makes you no messiah, just the next member of the broekskytersbende.
19 Nov 2012, 21:06 pm
@trupisero-44: LOL…..Ok bud….have a pleasant evening…
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-42: Yes….Skop knows his stuff, no doubt…
19 Nov 2012, 21:06 pm
@Atreides-40:
(Shoot me if I sound like Bakkies now – this is not aimed at the AB’s, but at the dole grabbers.)
The tragedy is, that Eben at 21, is a marked man. After the nothing headbutt, and now this, the seeds for a 10 year career riddled with citings have been sown.
No better way to make things tough for one of the Bok’s most valuable players……And see who it benefits
19 Nov 2012, 21:07 pm
@trupisero-45: Hardly.
19 Nov 2012, 21:07 pm
fark me..even f.a.r.t. is banned…KEO SORT YOUR FARKING SITE OUT !!!!!
19 Nov 2012, 21:08 pm
OK, in and out, before I have a gemoedsbekakking
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All