Etzebeth off the hook
21 Nov 2012
Eben Etzebeth has been found not guilty of eye gouging and is free to play against England on Saturday.
Lock Etzebeth was cited on Monday by Alan Mansell of England under Law 10.4 (m) for ‘making contact with the eye(s) or eye area’ of flyhalf Greig Laidlaw in the 54th minute of the Springboks’ 21-10 win over Scotland last Saturday.
Irish IRB judicial officer David Martin ruled that the contact in the area of the Scotland player’s eyes was accidental, and as such did not constitute foul play.
This was the 21-year-old’s second disciplinary hearing after being found guilty for an attempted head-butt on Wallabies lock Nathan Sharpe during the Rugby Championship.

444 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All
21 Nov 2012, 21:36 pm
@I am a stormer-392:
they get away with more than the rest for some reason or the other.
21 Nov 2012, 21:36 pm
@skopdiekan-393:
> and conditioned eating habits around this supposed scientific fact
No, not eating habits, look at your teeth
A wolf, dog, bear and pig (and humans) all have insicors
Sheep, cows, antelope etc don’t, why not?
Because they don’t need it to eat grass and leaves
Feral and Bush pigs would kill calves and sheep and eat them if the opportunity arises, just like ba-boons, mo-nkeys and ch-imps
Humans could only afford the “luxury” of vegetarianism once agriculture had developed enough to provide them with a year round supply of grains
Look at the artic, the Inuit (Eskimos) and their ancestors survived for thousands of year solely eating the only food around, seal and whale meat with lots of fat.
How did they manage to survive without Quinoa and spelt?
21 Nov 2012, 21:40 pm
@katman-398: the bullshitter is you fuckwit.. your very self aggrandized little attitude that you think you can spot a phony when it is you who are the fakefuck little pseudo intelligent fraud to the utmost degree spells it out.. you are the fake and the fraud .. you are the one who is bullshitting himself that he is entitled to kill and eat a living conscious being for his food.. and you are falsely educating and feeding your children with the same degree of pseudo entitled uneducated non intelligent garbage…
You are dense and dumb you have no valued argument because NO animal gave up its skin for leather shoes or for a belt, it gave up its life because cruel and callous cn’ts the likes of you sought to EAT it.. and that is the ONLY reason why it died.
So save your snot nosed little condescending fakefuck opinion of yourself you pseudo intelligent little schmuck.. YOU are the cold blooded insensitive murdering killer and no amount of you looking for a scapegoat to obviate your cold blooded merciless cruelty will ever condone the heartless condition you live under bring your children up with
21 Nov 2012, 21:43 pm
Skop… I only responded to Treehuggers post… I did not take a position on the evolutionary relevance of my post… I have no need to read anyone’s thesis on the diet of vervets and chacma as i witnessed their eating habits up close and personal with my own eyes over years of living with them… Not trying to sway the debate one way or the other… just trying to keep the facts as i have seen them in real life accurate.
Nor trying to put you on the spot Treehugger… just passing on info i thought you may find useful.
21 Nov 2012, 21:44 pm
Took the Duiker up into the tree….utter cr*p !!!! You are possible thinking bab**n. A duiker is a lot bigger that a vervet even the males…a 8 kg vervet is considered a real big boy.
21 Nov 2012, 21:45 pm
@victoriabok-402: so a human pig dog vervet bear and chimpanzee are of the same evolutionary scale.. because bears and vervets and pigs and wolves eat meat, your logic tells you humans are supposed to?
False .. one more cop out excuse to inflict unnecessary suffering through your false educated guesses at who you are.
You are either at the same level of evolution as these other species or you are not.. if you suggest that you are at the same level as the bear and dog and wolf and pig then by all means eat what they eat.. where is your INTELLIGENCE derived from?
sounds to me that you are more stupid than all the lower species combined.
21 Nov 2012, 21:46 pm
@Treehugger-400:
> do not believe a word you have written, hunted down a Duiker indeed
The big males do kill and eat goat and sheep lambs when the opportunity arises, so killing a Duiker won’t be much different
21 Nov 2012, 21:49 pm
skopdieemmer
21 Nov 2012, 21:50 pm
@skopdiekan-406:
No, but it tells you your ancestors did as they had the means to procure it and the teeth to eat it
21 Nov 2012, 21:51 pm
I’d wager that Etzebeth is, on current form, the best 4 lock in the world.
We should not be afraid to throw the youngsters into the deep end of the pool. They can swim.
Rugby is a game for young guns – read before age 25 – whose bodies can take the knocks of international rugby. With the amount of rugby nowadays, a 25 year old rugby player has already reached his playing peak.
I believe experience is not as important as it is 20 years ago. Nowadays it is all about the youngsters who can make the step up quickly. I’d rather have a 22-year old who has played 35 tests than a 32-year old who has played 110 tests.
21 Nov 2012, 21:52 pm
Treehugger… you may believe what you choose to… a pity though for you that you are so closed minded and think you know all there is to know.
This first hand information could be useful to someone in your position… but hey no skin off my nose that you assume such an arrogant position and call me a liar.
Ill accord you the dignity and respect you have denied me though and wish you all the best in the good work you continue to do.
Perhaps one day if you are in Cape Town and would be interested in learning a little more we could meet and i will elucidate more than is possible on a mobile with a slow connection.
@Treehugger-405:
He said a troop of ******
@ufo-404:
Look I know I come out hard here and let fly with all type of generalization regarding issues like these but there is a reason for it.. because the degree of false educated compromised delusional so called ‘scientific’ justified reasons for merciless killing of defenseless creatures has no foundation of any degree of moral justification at any idea of what is ethical or moral in terms of human values
21 Nov 2012, 21:57 pm
@ufo-411: surely she is in a position from a professional standpoint to know what a vervet can or cannot achieve physically
but whatever that position is it makes no difference to the HUMAN question about what is morally and ethically acceptable as to what HUMANS put into their mouths and digestive systems..
THIS is the question of concern.. not what the vervet or chimpanzee does but what YOU do with your life.
21 Nov 2012, 21:57 pm
@willievz-410:
> Rugby is a game for young guns – read before age 25 – whose bodies can take the knocks of international rugby
Especially in the Southern Hemisphere with the S15
Look how many injured players the Boks and Wallabies had by the start of the mid year tours?
No wonder young SA players like CJ Stander prefer to play up North
21 Nov 2012, 21:58 pm
@skopdiekan-414:
He said ba-boons, the Keo site censored it
21 Nov 2012, 21:58 pm
@willievz-410:
agree with you. carreers will also be shortened with the amount of rugga being played
21 Nov 2012, 22:00 pm
Treehugger… If you read my posts you will see that i explained the stars or asterisks sensor end out of my posts were for apes that rhyme with but are not buffoons…
But must repeat it is a pity you go around calling someone who has witnessed animal behaviour at first hand that you have obviously not a liar.
Yip people are fascinating… never cease to surprise.
21 Nov 2012, 22:04 pm
@victoriabok-416: so are we babboons or vervets or orangutans or chimpanzees or gorillas or neanderthals or cromagnon species or pigs or wolves or bears or dogs? Are you a modern civilized human being with modern civilized human principles and ethics and morals or are you a cold callous cruel uncivilized murderer that is bound by your cold callous cruel ancestral conditioning and ‘instinct’ to murder and kill and devour unsuspecting defenseless creatures for you food..
WHICH creature ARE you.. ? make up your mind about that.
21 Nov 2012, 22:06 pm
@ufo-418: that is exactly what she said.. she said it could not be a vervet it could perhaps have been a babboon.. so why you getting all huffed up and judgmental and sensitive about that ?
21 Nov 2012, 22:11 pm
@skopdiekan-403: How many times must I repeat to you the I have no problem with the meat I eat or the leather I wear? Hell, I even have a lovely leather sofa. So where you get this scapegoat nonsense from is a little baffling, to put it mildly.
No, I’m simply the pesky guy who just won’t stop pointing out the MASSIVE FCKING HOLES THE SIZE OF TEXAN T-BONE STEAKS in your flimsy whimsy ethics. And I can tell you don’t like this. I can tell the leather thing is a problem to you. This is definitely not the first night you’ve grappled with it, that much is pretty clear. So I’ll leave you alone now. My work is done. You have plenty to chew on.
21 Nov 2012, 22:14 pm
Skop… I said first up it was a troop of ba***ns but it got sensored… I then made a post explaining the stars.., yet Treehugger was so quick to jump in with both feet and call me a liar..,
And you now want to criticise me…?
Lesson for Treehugger… when in doubt ask questions before you make accusations.
That way everyone may hang onto their dignity and respect.
21 Nov 2012, 22:15 pm
@skopdiekan-419:
> WHICH creature ARE you.. ? make up your mind about that.
You eat what you want and I do likewise
21 Nov 2012, 22:21 pm
@ufo-422:
Have a look at this video, it might just as well have been Skop and Treehugger sitting there
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=ErRHJlE4PGI
21 Nov 2012, 22:22 pm
Thanks VictoriaBok… at least someone can read properly…
appreciated..
frustrating on slow mobile connection…
signing off…
21 Nov 2012, 22:24 pm
@katman-421: there are NO holes in my ethics fckface.. go and take the cow you devour and slit its throat, drain its blood, skin its hide off its back, take out its entrails and guts, carve up its flesh and then stick it on your braai and eat it.. ALL you are is one big phony fakefuck cold callous cruel piece of garbage trash.. who THINKS you are entitled by some instinctual excuse of evolutionary nature to carry on being the cold blooded cruel insensitive fakefuck merciless ‘instinctual’ killer that you are….
YOU killed the cow and ate its flesh.. the abattoir sold its skin as a by product of the industry that YOU instigated and created with your cold blooded merciless killing spree to the subsidiary industry who sold it on to leather shoe makers and hand bag or belt manufacturers.. NO cow died because anyone wanted a pair of shoes made from leather.. MILLIONS of cows and calves and sheep and goats and chickens and turkey died because cold blooded merciless uncivilized killers the likes of you wanted some flesh between your uncivilized jaws…
Your fake excuse of a straw man argument has FAILED 1000 times and it will FAIL every time you try and evade the argument of what a cold blooded merciless callous cn’t of an insensitive punkbastard killer you are.
21 Nov 2012, 22:28 pm
@victoriabok-423: Obviously.. but don’t take Darwinian evolutionary biological so called ‘science’ as some fake excuse that you are entitled to kill defenseless creatures for food.. that fake argument holds no value.. it is an excuse for a desire you call an instinct which is a conditioned reaction to an uncivilized trait that you are still carrying from poorly educated and inaccurate synopsis about who you think you actually are and what is ethically and morally obligatory from a humane point of departure.
21 Nov 2012, 22:28 pm
UFO… I work with them everyday….I associate with people that have studied primates for years. I have a friend with a new book coming out…I will inform them about what you have seen…I do not mean to offend you but you must understand..I do know vervets…I am not just some bored little housewife…I have seen incredible things and horrific things and know longer (until quite recently) leave my property for days on end to do what I used to do…I only deal with what is around me now.
Because I am home all the time I can do a vervet sanctuary and have a large wild troop who I have cared for for many years with a feeding station to keep them away from other properties and farms. Deforestation and urbanization is making ververts more visible even though their numbers are declining at an alarming rate.
I have laid charges against people under the firearms control act when shooting at them with a pellet gun as they die a hideous death, I have taken part in rescues of different types of animals, dog fighting rescues were my thing. I have had amazing and pathetic threats against my person, I have had the authorities up my arse for real and imagined stuff, and if they can’t nail on the imagined stuff from years ago you find yourself on no fly lists and chit happens at foreign airports with soldier escorts onto the plane, luggage disappears for a few months even when identified after been taken off the plane infront of you. Next thing you have a good looking guy sitting next to you on a plane that wasn’t there when you were escorted off
Animal lovers and activists seems to be targets for the hell of it. We usually know what we are talking about when speaking about the animals we deal with, using our own experiences and the experiences of many others that work with (for example)vervets. We take it very seriously and it freaks us out when suddenly a person says a vervet (adult weight between 4 and 8kgs) kills sheep, goats, duiker etc. Duiker is not that small, I have them in my garden around the house and in the bush on my property. It gives the public the wrong idea about them, myths like ripping off childrens arms and such cr*p. Off to sleep goodnight.
21 Nov 2012, 22:32 pm
that me out..
carry on up the abattoir pretending they so entitled to maim and murder for their human consumption is as bad as killing rhino for its horn or elephant for its tusk.. no different.. just a more convenient excuse.. that is all.
21 Nov 2012, 22:46 pm
Treehugger…
i never said or assumed you were a bored little housewife…I have read your posts on keo with great interest and respect…
I grew up in africa where hunters with dogs, bows and arrows and spears would often kill vervet’s and chacmas/yellows… they would then bring pathetic little hairless pink babies to us to for money… there are no such laws in africa about keeping ‘pets’ nor of trying to assist a tiny helpless creature… you are not the only one with a compassionate heart and a conscience…
when i was young 20 i was one of the first group of game rangers at sabi sabi game reserve 1980/81… we built many of the hides, put in roads, cleared bush, did snare patrols helped out with snared animals etc etc… as well as drive and walk guests around… i have seen many many amazing things and had many many amazing experiences in the wild…
i have not always been a bored city-dweller…
two rangers, two trackers and about 10 guests witnessed a troop of bab***s chase down a young duiker (i said it was young in my first post)… the alpha male then did ‘display’ for the rest of the troop with the body in its mouth before climbing a tree and eating it… with the others eating the scraps that fell… somewhere there are americans and australians with pictures of the alpha in the tree with the duiker…
anyway… as have said several times… on a very slow mobile connection here at the moment…
maybe we pick this up another time…
21 Nov 2012, 22:58 pm
is meyer serious, has hd not counted the penalties Flip concedes?
We are fortunate to have Flip van der
Merwe, who has really being playing well as
a No 4 lock and was very good for us when
we played the All Blacks in Dunedin.
But Eben is such a good player that I really
think he may be the best No 4 lock in the
world at the moment. He has helped us to
a 100% record in the lineouts in recent
games and he also adds considerable
weight to the scrums.
“He is also an important presence in the
team as an enforcer, a player who helps us
get the physical superiority on our
opponents. Against England he has an
important role to play so we are really
pleased that he was cleared to play.”
21 Nov 2012, 23:56 pm
@Transformation-431: Nevermind his penalty count.
What about his yellow card count…
22 Nov 2012, 00:46 am
First the Poms get it!
Secondly the ‘Veggies’ get it..
Then the carnivorous bab b oo n$ get it….!!
22 Nov 2012, 00:47 am
Another facinating day on Keo
22 Nov 2012, 00:50 am
I’ve seen bab b oon$ steal ice creams from tourists in Gibralter and do a spot of car jacking…..
They are ruthless!
22 Nov 2012, 02:36 am
i dont understand hooha – are we saying we should start making biltong out of labradors rather than cows of hoe?
22 Nov 2012, 02:41 am
@poppa69-246:
If thats how your brain deduces that he cheated then it explains why you are a lowly security guard…….. off you go make sure all the windows are shut before you have your tea break, theres a good fellow.
22 Nov 2012, 02:45 am
what i wanna know is in the greater scheme of things, wtf does which set of ethics/morals are more correct – if its all about minimising suffering, how many negative points in the karmic ledger are awarded for an instantaneous bolt through the brain on some poor beast as opposed to the mangling of someone’s mind by allsorts of emotional abuse.
if suffering is what we consciously experience, then on the level of suffering these supposed ‘sins’ according to the ancients and the books of revelationary horsemanure are precisely that. these systems of ethics and morals are all manmade without exception and religious followed without evidence or science or any degree of proof to the contrary.
suffering exists, independently of humans or not, if you think the cow suffers when a bolt is crashed through his cranium, offer it the alternative of ifs natural non-human counterparts, getting eaten alive by lions or stripped down by wild dogs.
too much does not make sense.
22 Nov 2012, 02:46 am
@The Donkeys Egg-318:
Ah wet pantie…………just can’t stay away can you? Doos of epic proportion!
22 Nov 2012, 10:56 am
@Treehugger-400: I’ve seen a big ale catch, kill and eat a baby impala.
Why would we make up these stories?
22 Nov 2012, 10:58 am
@skopdiekan-414: Yes exactly, the question always revolves around personal choice. Except you refuse to respect anyone else’s choice, if they happen to differ from yours.
22 Nov 2012, 11:00 am
@skopdiekan-426: Wait hold on….if I use your argument, that means I can eat a nice big steak if the cow was killed for it’s hide and not for meat?
This should be good…..
22 Nov 2012, 11:02 am
@Atreides-440: *Male. Ba-boon.
22 Nov 2012, 11:29 am
@Atreides-442: Even better, you can munch on a rhino hamburger patty provided it was killed primarily for its horn and not its meat.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All