Etzebeth off the hook
21 Nov 2012
Eben Etzebeth has been found not guilty of eye gouging and is free to play against England on Saturday.
Lock Etzebeth was cited on Monday by Alan Mansell of England under Law 10.4 (m) for ‘making contact with the eye(s) or eye area’ of flyhalf Greig Laidlaw in the 54th minute of the Springboks’ 21-10 win over Scotland last Saturday.
Irish IRB judicial officer David Martin ruled that the contact in the area of the Scotland player’s eyes was accidental, and as such did not constitute foul play.
This was the 21-year-old’s second disciplinary hearing after being found guilty for an attempted head-butt on Wallabies lock Nathan Sharpe during the Rugby Championship.

444 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All
21 Nov 2012, 07:38 am
All this bull s hit citing has achieved is to focus and fire up the Boks…..well done Pom Citing Official, you have done your team no favours whatsoever.
Moer hulle Bokke
21 Nov 2012, 07:39 am
@Ricardo10-45:
have you seen the incident…?
I doubt it… as you don’t even know what half it is in…
talk about premature articulation…
obviously flo’s excellent form is a worry in certain circles…!!
21 Nov 2012, 07:40 am
@Ricardo10-45:
sheesh…
talk about hyperbole… hype… exaggeration…
this was an even more nothing incident than eben’s…
flo peeled around a line out and passed the ball.. hougaard cut in front of him and in front of hougaard laidlaw went down…
flo was going forward as laidlaw was on his hands and knees.. flo steps on laidlaw’s back and you can clearly see him sort of hop as he tries not to put too much weight on the other player… laidlaw hardly buckled and carried on as if nothing had happened… which is what happened…
had flo “stomped” on laidlaw with any intent as you suggest he did… laidlaw would have been flattned and he would have felt it… he did not even react to it…
the only person who will look back on this incident with an enormous amount of embarrassment is that fu*k wit Ricardo10… What an absolute doos.
21 Nov 2012, 07:41 am
as far as eben is concerned…
said as soon as i saw the footage that I was confident he had not offended and would not be found guilty of any foul play, so I’m happy that sanity prevailed in the end…
However, three questions/points emerge from this insane little debacle…
1 why did it take a “marathon disciplinary hearing” to clear his name… that indicates that despite this being a non-event the citing commissioner must have really been determined to make it stick, which, in turn, would point to a less than honourable motivation
2 it also raises the question as to why such an obviously frivolous citing can be made without any censure of the citing commissioner who has wasted everyone’s time and money by forcing everyone to participate in such a farce
and
3 hopefully it will bring home to eben that he will be targeted from now on because his talent, ability and value have be recognised with green eyes and from now on his approach on the field has to be above reproach… yes he must continue to play hard but must forget about this stupid enforcer **** and simply not get involved with any off the ball or possibly questionable incidents…
the pity is is that how he used to play it… but he has definitely changed since moving to the Boks…
i remember him playing against the highlanders and when stuck in a ruck and unable to move two Highlanders charged in on his exposed head and shoulders while he could not defend himself by getting out of the way… so he ducked his head… took the impact… then looked up at them and said “is that all you got?” (or words similar) and motioned them with a free hand to come and try again…
that’s how he should keep cool… that’s how he should prove he’s a hard man… that’s the kind of mental strength he should display on the field…
as i said in my first post on this on tuesday… the boks need to appoint a mentor for eben to emphasize how he should conduct himself on the field…
and if saru don’t then ac should…
sadly though this is not a case of all’s well the ends well… because this sorta stuff sticks to a player… and the perception created is always seen as reality for those with agendas.
21 Nov 2012, 07:43 am
@ufo
Yes I most certainly have seen it………..about a dozen times and it
doesn’t get better with age you moron !!
Unfortunately the footage only shows the time frame but not which half –
possibly first half.
No premeditation here you dumb ********. Get on the site & check it out.
Dumkof
21 Nov 2012, 07:52 am
@Ricardo10-55:
all the insults in the world don’t add any credibility to anything you say… despite how firmly you believe they may…
i don’t need to check it on any internet site…
have it recorded on pvr and have looked at it over and over in normal and slow motion… and trying to make capital out of it as you are indicates a rather fragile ego and intellect…
but hey… i don’t have to try and force my opinion down anyone’s thorat like you are trying to do…
i’ve pointed out the facts more clearly and, i believe, more objectively…
let all reasonable and intelligent rugby lovers watch the incident and make up their own minds…
i’m sure they’ll all add their comments…
we shall see…
@ufo
You are dillusional if you think he was stepping over that player. He stomped plain & simple. The fact that the sh*t has now hit the fan (albeit too late) in the UK is reason enough.
Not everyone over there hates the Saffas but now there are reports coming out of Scotland, Ireland & England wanting to know how in god’s name the ref missed it only feet away.
And before you scream “the ref did see it”, he has since been quoted as having missed it as he had seen a Scottish infringement at the ruck.
I am more than happy to discuss this but only with someone that can see both sides perhaps
A typical
@ufo-54:
perhaps Bakkies could mentor him?
21 Nov 2012, 08:03 am
re-watch the Scotland game, and see how many times Scottish players go into rucks where a Bok tackler is on the ground, and drop with their knee into him, or put the boot onto hte player. how many times they take a man off the ball, albeit softly – but disrupting him from getting to the next breakdown…. Then the Scots want to say the ref robbed them… everytime we kicked a high ball, 3 scots would get in the direct way of the chaser, and be standing between him and the catcher when the ball is caught. Stuff the brits, we must just whack england now, and come back to regroup. Hopefully next year we work on attacking play.
21 Nov 2012, 08:05 am
See Skop has been fiffling on N24 again:
It is my pet-peeve: ‘animal lovers’ waxing lyrical over their beloved dog while eating a mouth full of steak. I feel extremely strongly about the daily murder of our fellow sentient beings and while you may drive past a chicken coop, I see a concentration camp.
While you say ‘slaughter-house’ I say holocaust. You call it a refrigerator; I call it a mortuary.
I believe that not enough is done by vegetarians to speak out against these daily killings. Isn’t it ironic that while the atheists and Christians spend each day attacking each other, the REAL enemy is perpetual violence against animals?
God, Israel and the Gaza Strip get daily headlines, but animal murder gets zilch.
Imagine walking down the meat aisle in a supermarket and seeing a human arm cling wrapped next to the lamb knuckles. Or a human face staring up at you out of the freezer with a price per kilo sticker on the pack. Sound insane? Not the same thing? Well it is the same thing as and its disgusting.
I have noticed that meat eaters carry a lot of anger around inside of them. Wars are started by meat eaters, and it is claimed (not without reason) that meat eaters don’t just consume the flesh of their victims, they consume their pain and angst as well.
This pain morphs into an internal rage and what is called ‘emotional contamination’. It is not for nothing that most meat eaters support the death penalty and the bombing of Iraq.
They also like to hunt. Is there anything more sickening than a man who consciously decides to pick up a rifle and go in search of a sentient being (with a nervous system) to kill? Hunters are in essence serial killers which ever way you look at it.
The health benefits of a vegetarian diet are legendary. Famous vegetarians include Ghandi, Pamela Anderson, Ghengis Khan, Moby and Ellen De Generes. Politicians like Benjamin Franklin, Pot Pol and Socrates were also vegetarians. So was Leonardo da Vinci!
I challenge you to try the vegetarian diet for just one week. Notice how good you feel and also how well your bowels work. The roughage in your diet will clean your insides out like a pipe cleaner.
Ever wonder why animals don’t need toilet paper? That is because their diets are proper.
If you ate the correct food for your body you would not need one scrap of toilet paper. So besides saving on your food bill, you will save on toiletries as well. You will feel extremely content, focused and more in tune with nature.
Its difficult to describe how amazing you will feel without the Meat Heads accusing you of being sanctimonious.
But none of these benefits will compare with the feeling of knowing you are doing the right thing. It is time to fight back against the Meat Bullies.
The time for posing is over.
21 Nov 2012, 08:07 am
@RugbyStudent-47:
I don’t think one could compare Pieter De Villiers to the other Springbok coaches.
Pieter De Villiers inherited a “Ready made” team. Combinations like Jean De Villiers Jaque Fourie , Bakkies Matfield were already established. The team was established and settled , what did Pieter De Villiers really do ? He was just a manager really , letting Smit and Matfield call the shots.
I’m not a Heyneke fan at all , but he should have had the job in 2008.
2009 was the best year of Springbok Rugby I have enjoyed and that was a Bulls halfback pairing , a Bulls lock paring , a Bulls Kick n chase game-plan.
I say again , not a Heyneke fan , but he should have had the job when guys like Matfield and Du Preez were in their prime and the Boks were playing his gameplan. Those were his players , playing his style and were in the prime of their careers at the time.
Kitch Christie was able to take his provincial success to the international stage , by the time Heyneke got his chance , Bakkies , Danie Rossouw , Matfield and Du Preez were all old , overseas and not the same players as they were 4 years ago.
@Jake_White-59:
c’mon Jakey Scotland are ranked 10th in the world and have a handful of professional players
@Ricardo10-57: hmmm, and the pommie bast@rd citing commissioner missed it too, after having the benefit of countless replays, slow motion, etc?
Just maybe he did farkall wrong?
21 Nov 2012, 08:09 am
@Ricardo10-57:
the only one demonstrating any delusions here is you…
firstly… you watched it “about a dozen times” but didn’t even know who he stepped on…
the ref may have missed it… but why did our overly officious (at best) citing commissioner not think it worthy of a citing…? he thought eben’s nothing incident was citable… but not flo’s…?
hmmmmm…?
then read my post again… you will see i say quite clearly he stepped on laidlaw’s back… and he just as clearly tried to lessen the weight of his step…
but hey… i only watched it…
perhaps you should ask laidlaw why he didn’t even react to such a heinous crime…?
anyone who has been stomped on or raked with rugby studs knows that it stings like hell… yet laidlaw apparently felt nothing… or not enough to react to it…
so if laidlaw’s reaction is so mute… it contextualises the reaction of you and the british media…
no…?
anyway i don;t need to keep repeating myself… i’ve said my piece… and an quite happy to see what everyone else thinks…
but please feel free to continue…
21 Nov 2012, 08:09 am
@wp_boytjie-61:
and boy isn’t Heyneke reminding us of that in every single interview he does now, he’s got an excuse for everything
21 Nov 2012, 08:11 am
@NZINCHINA-58:
cast your fly upon another stream… perhaps you may have better luck…
how are you china…?
21 Nov 2012, 08:14 am
It would be very disappointing to discover that we have taken to stamping on players like the filthy Ball Sacks.
Very disappointing indeed.
21 Nov 2012, 08:16 am
@ufo-66:
Never been better my friend, all this sighting stuff is rather boring and it’s destroying the game, if your Bokke beat the Poms Meyer gets a pass mark (but only just) for his first season.
21 Nov 2012, 08:17 am
@gunther-67: Flo took the weight off his boot after realising that Murrayfield is not his usual stomping ground.
21 Nov 2012, 08:19 am
@NZINCHINA-68: can’t resist, but “citing”, not “sighting”…..call me spelling nazi now
@trupisero-60: I thought Mao Zedong was a vegetarian…
All those blossoms blooming…
@NZINCHINA-65:
Yea it’s been boring. Are the AB’s playing the French on this tour ? That could be good.
@trupisero-69:
Ahh.
I knew it couldn’t be true.
He’s just no that sort of bloke.
21 Nov 2012, 08:20 am
@ufo-54: Eish… Bad
21 Nov 2012, 08:21 am
@wp_boytjie-61: Good post.
@trupisero-69: That slight hesitation was when he stopped to think “Damn, should have worn the long sprigs and done some real damage”.
@trupisero-70:
oh dear can I blame too much Mandarin..
@wp_boytjie-72:
no but we get them 3 times next June so not long to wait
21 Nov 2012, 08:23 am
@NZINCHINA-68:
good to hear…
yeah… they are turning rugby into a game for pansies (or pansy fans)… i would like to see rucking re-allowed… it would clear up a whole lot of issues at the breakdown… figuratively and literally…!!
i have major concerns about heymaker but will support the boks regardless and hope for their and out sake that we do beat the poms and he does get his pass mark…
but have said before the tour this is the game that worries me the most… so am not taking anything for granted…
my only fear is that he will use a ‘pass mark’ to justify his strategy and game plan…
21 Nov 2012, 08:24 am
@Ricardo10-57:
Black pantie, is that you?
21 Nov 2012, 08:24 am
@trupisero-69:
snaaks…
21 Nov 2012, 08:25 am
@trupisero-60:
Howzit Trup, I see skop is projecting again…
I have noticed that meat eaters carry a lot of anger around inside of them.
21 Nov 2012, 08:27 am
@Heavens Game-74:
and unnecessary…
21 Nov 2012, 08:30 am
anyway gents…
work calls…
let’s hope no more despicable dastardly detestable dirty south africans get crucified before saturday afternoon…
later…
21 Nov 2012, 08:31 am
@Slartibartfast-81: hahahaha..all good tjom.
@ufo-78: Rucking would sort out lots of issues. These days deliberately having a chill on the wrong side gets you a penalty or YC at max. In the old days you knew you were taking one for the team and end up with your back or legs looking like the time that screamer with the 1inch nails on New Years eve got hold of you
21 Nov 2012, 08:32 am
@ufo-83: you lost the alliteration there…should have dropped the saffas and gone for d.utchmen
21 Nov 2012, 08:33 am
@ufo-78:
Rucking would be superb, us, you and the Froggies would love to see it return although i’m not so sure Ritchies Mum would be in favour it.
21 Nov 2012, 08:34 am
@trupisero-84:
Poor Ritchie would look like Carpaccio.
21 Nov 2012, 08:46 am
@gunther-87: hahahaha
@NZINCHINA-86: Mercurochrome sales would go up though
21 Nov 2012, 08:52 am
@trupisero-60:
Love this:
“… Wars are started by meat eaters…”
“… Famous vegetarians include Ghandi, Pamela Anderson, Ghengis Khan, Moby and Ellen De Generes. Politicians like Benjamin Franklin, Pot Pol and Socrates were also vegetarians.
This is what is written about Pot Pol:
“..During his time in power he imposed agrarian socialism, forcing urban dwellers to relocate to the countryside to work in collective farms and forced labor projects. The combined effects of forced labor, malnutrition, poor medical care, and executions resulted in the deaths of approximately 21 percent of the Cambodian population. In all, an estimated 1 to 3 million people (out of a population of slightly over 8 million) died as a result of the policies of his three-year premiership”
Great advert for vegetarianism is that fella.
Although I must say this doesn’t sound like Skop to me.
21 Nov 2012, 08:53 am
@trupisero-88:
Indeed they would.
Diehard Ritchie fanboys like the ones we have here would start self-harming themselves in sympathy.
21 Nov 2012, 08:56 am
@stormersboy-89: nah, it wasn’t Skop – he would get right that Pot Pol was actually Pol Pot.
They would make a great couple though.
21 Nov 2012, 08:57 am
right work calls. Later chaps.
21 Nov 2012, 08:57 am
@stormersboy-89:
I read the piece on News24 this morning.
It is obviously a troll post, as the ridiculousness is just too far off the charts.
I especially like the bit about Genghis Khan being a vegetarian. As one guy commented:
“It’s a good thing old Genghis did not have any anger problems, else he might have been a bit of a wild one..”
21 Nov 2012, 08:59 am
@gunther-87:
‘carpaccio’
whatever would the kiwis do if the boks were allowed to ‘point out’ the error of their cheating ways on the field.
21 Nov 2012, 09:04 am
Eben has been targeted here. Despicable pommies are at it again. Thank heavens the adjudicator was Irish. Expect the England flyhalf to act like he is unconscious (ala Wilko) every time he takes a hit. That’s the way the pommies roll.
21 Nov 2012, 09:06 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-94:
the big bad Bokke, Le Roux chewed half of Fittzy’s ear off is that the kind of thing you mean?
21 Nov 2012, 09:07 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-94: well, being the experts synonymous with cheating and thuggery, Im sure the boks and their supporters could “point out” the error of ways..
maybe we can hide it behind the giold watches
oh wait…
21 Nov 2012, 09:09 am
@NZINCHINA-96: hey, in all the years of super rugby only one team has fielded a weakened side to help one of their nations other sides so as to have both qualify for the final..
Marius “that wasnt a knock on morne” jonker, exhibit A, Bulls vs Brumbies 2012..
21 Nov 2012, 09:09 am
@Tacitus-93: Hahaha yes exactly.
I’ve have an extra hamburger for lunch just to make sure i don’t get too aggressive.
21 Nov 2012, 09:13 am
@stormersboy-89:
Adolf Hitler was also a vegetarian.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All