Etzebeth off the hook
21 Nov 2012
Eben Etzebeth has been found not guilty of eye gouging and is free to play against England on Saturday.
Lock Etzebeth was cited on Monday by Alan Mansell of England under Law 10.4 (m) for ‘making contact with the eye(s) or eye area’ of flyhalf Greig Laidlaw in the 54th minute of the Springboks’ 21-10 win over Scotland last Saturday.
Irish IRB judicial officer David Martin ruled that the contact in the area of the Scotland player’s eyes was accidental, and as such did not constitute foul play.
This was the 21-year-old’s second disciplinary hearing after being found guilty for an attempted head-butt on Wallabies lock Nathan Sharpe during the Rugby Championship.