Etzebeth off the hook

Eben Etzebeth has been found not guilty of eye gouging and is free to play against England on Saturday.

Lock Etzebeth was cited on Monday by Alan Mansell of England under Law 10.4 (m) for ‘making contact with the eye(s) or eye area’ of flyhalf Greig Laidlaw in the 54th minute of the Springboks’ 21-10 win over Scotland last Saturday.

Irish IRB judicial officer David Martin ruled that the contact in the area of the Scotland player’s eyes was accidental, and as such did not constitute foul play.

This was the 21-year-old’s second disciplinary hearing after being found guilty for an attempted head-butt on Wallabies lock Nathan Sharpe during the Rugby Championship.

444 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

• 151.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-147: bollocks and you know it.

• 152.poppa69: Reply to this comment

so let me get this right

if someone rules on an incidence of play that the laws stare he isn’t entitled to, it’s okay because the ruling went SAs way.

I imagine if the ruling was against SA your views would differ

fair enough, I realise the worlds out to get SA and following the rules is hardly synonymous with SA rugby

justice 4 SA I say.

• 153.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-148:
    we’ve been over this.

yours is a filthy lot of cheats, that’s the reason for our recent misfortune.

• 154.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-152:
    what time is it over there?
    you’re not as sharp as you usually are.
    your standard has dropped.

• 155.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-153:

you and Meyer are cut from the same cloth, he’s also rolling out the excuses as well as to why he can’t beat the Ab’s no doubt he’ll make the cheating call 3 or 4 years into his tenure when he’s 0 or 1 from 6/8 attempts

• 156.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-155: Seeing you have a keen aya on the future and its happenings. Care to share Friday’s lotto numbers with me.

• 157.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

aya = eye

• 158.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Glad for Eben. Plays is hard and to the man without beeing a poepol. Good on you young man. This is one player that has changed my opinion of him this season. The humble pie needs a cold beer though.

• 159.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

So some big Rambo carnivore goes onto a news website and gets a shock to his solar plexus and his conscience starts ricking so he puts it out here on the meat eaters rugby forum for the self righteous to explore

well here what some vegetarian athletes have to say about it

Carl Lewis
    (Born July 1, 1961)

US track and field athlete; nine-time Olympic gold medalist

“Can a world-class athlete get enough protein from a vegetarian diet to compete? I’ve found that a person does not need protein from meat to be a successful athlete. In fact, my best year of track competition was the first year I ate a vegan diet. Moreover, by continuing to eat a vegan diet, my weight is under control, I like the way I look (I know that sounds vain, but all of us want to like the way we look), I enjoy eating more, and I feel great…

I remember vividly making the decision in July of 1990 to become a vegan. I was competing in Europe and ate a meal of Spanish sausage on a Saturday and on the following Monday started eating vegan.”
    Carl Lewis, “Introduction,” in Very Vegetarian by Jannequin Bennett, 2001

“…[Y]ou think athletes have the best diets. Most athletes have the worst diet in the world, and… they compete in spite of it…

…Everyone says ‘Where’s your protein.’ Well I ate tons of lentils, loved beans, had the juice; I did the things that I needed to do to replace what you would get with this tremendous amounts of meat that most people eat.”
    “Carl Lewis: Olympic Medals Through the Vegan Diet,” http://www.youtube.com (accessed Nov. 28, 2011)

Mac Danzig
    (Born Jan. 2, 1980)

US mixed martial arts fighter; winner of Spike TV’s The Ultimate Fighter (2007)

“At a ripped 5-foot-9, 155 pounds, Danzig is a rising star in mixed martial arts. He fights under the direction of the Xtreme Couture gym in Las Vegas, training with some of the biggest names in the sport. To succeed in mixed martial arts, competitors must wield explosive strength, the kind typically linked to high-protein foods. When your job is to clobber other men into submission, a meaty diet seems like a given.

‘I believed what everybody said,’ Danzig confirmed, ‘that you need animal protein in your diet if you’re going to train hard and win.’

That path butted up against beliefs he’d held since childhood. Raised by his single mom in western Pennsylvania, Danzig loved animals and has owned pets throughout his life…

As his career evolved, so did his diet. He’d already cut out all dairy products years ago, as they’d given him health problems, all the way up to debilitating ear infections, sinus problems and even vertigo. He then stopped eating mammals entirely. But poultry and fish remained staples of his diet. In 2004, he took the next step, cutting out poultry and fish and going entirely vegan…

Though Danzig at first feared a meatless diet would hurt his performance, he now says it has helped him recover faster from fights and workouts…

Other challenges remain. Though his training partners and fellow competitors have respected his dietary decisions, some MMA fans have lashed out at Danzig.

‘I’ve noticed a lot of negative things said about me, saying ‘Who does he think he is?” Danzig explained. ‘So many people who are vegetarian or especially vegan, really wear it on their sleeve, like they’re part of some exclusive club. That’s not my style.’”
    Jonah Keri, “Who Says You Have to Eat Meat to Be a Successful Athlete?,” espn.go.com, July 22, 2008

Martina Navratilova
    (Born Oct. 18, 1956)

Czech-born US tennis player; winner of 59 Grand Slam titles; second player in modern tennis to win 1,000 matches; *** rights activist

“Navratilova believes her whole-foods diet of raw fruits and vegetables, some rice, pasta and a few grains is helping extend the twilight of her professional tennis career. ‘I’ve noticed that I have an easier time getting going in the morning, and a faster recovery after a tough workout. My muscle cramps have lessened. During all of last year, I had six ibuprofen pills. Most tennis players eat them like candy.

Navratilova always has been a little different, from her left-handedness to her outspoken views on politics and her own homosexuality. She now embraces a life that is more introspective than most athletes’; her vegetarianism, for example, isn’t for health or political correctness. ‘I did it for the animals. How can you have one animal for a pet and another for lunch?’”

Mike Tyson
    (Born June 30, 1966)

Retired US boxer; former undisputed heavyweight champion

“Details [Magazine]: I hear you’re vegan now.

Mike Tyson: Yeah, it’s been eight months with this vegan stuff, but I get these explosions of energy. I don’t know how long they last, but they’re like explosions. So powerful.

Details: Is it a calmer energy?

Mike Tyson: Oh, I don’t know if I’d go that far. I don’t think it’s been long enough for that kind of Zen s**t.

Details: So you’re going to go the rest of your life without eating a candy bar?

Mike Tyson: Maybe so. I’m pretty f**king extreme.

Details: Not even a Baby Ruth?

Mike Tyson: Oh, man, that’s the best. Chocolate and peanuts. Nah. I ate, like, the tiniest piece of meat, and I woke up violently sick. It was vicious pain. I was throwing up. And I realized meat’s become a poison for me now.

Details: You mentioned your upcoming pigeon-racing reality show on Animal Planet. Your first fight was with a bigger kid over his mistreatment of one of your birds.

Mike Tyson: Gary Flowers. Got one of my birds and [wrings his hands and yanks]. A**hole.”
    Ivan Solotaroff, “Everything You Think You Know About Mike Tyson Is Wrong,” Details Magazine, Aug. 2010

• 160.Dazzler: Reply to this comment

Interesting too that yesterday the citing was front page news on the Telegraph’s rugby section. Today however, not only are they not reporting on Eben being given the all clear, the original story has disappeared.

Those poms….

• 161.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-152: Go inside, the rain is fu.cking with your Nokia’s buttons.

• 162.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-155:
    i wouldn’t bet on it, boet.

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-156:
    no, the only thing predictable about them is the extent of their dishonesty, so if its a bet on what reechee will do next, then china’s your man.

mind you, even i could tell you that.

j

• 163.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-159:

Interesting post
    But Martina did munch on meat didn’t she?

• 164.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-163: She dont it meat but she sure likes the bone……….. ;)

• 165.cane: Reply to this comment

So it’s Official then:

Butt Head Eben is not yet Officially a Gouger.

Any bets on how long it will take ?

• 166.cane: Reply to this comment

Speaking of butt heads………………………………………How goes it bakkies!

• 167.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-163:

She don’t eat meat but she sure likes the bone.

• 168.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-167: Snap!! 24 cold ones please.

• 169.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-167:
    ha ha
    She doesn’t like the bone, unless it’s a pelvic bone
    Anyway, to keep a pet one day and eat it the next? Must be the Chinese she’s referring to.
    No one I know keeps a sheep and cow as a pet

• 170.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Some famous vegetarians

Clement of Alexandria Theologian Greece
    Charles Darwin Naturalist United Kingdom
    Ralph Waldo Emerson Writer, philosopher United States
    Henry Ford Founder of Ford Motor Company United States
    Michael Jackson Singer United States
    Steve Jobs Co-founder of Apple Inc. United States
    John the Baptist Itinerant preacher and a major religious figure Roman Empire
    Abraham Lincoln 16th President of the United States United States
    Bob Marley Musician Jamaica
    Sir Isaac Newton Scientist United Kingdom
    Albert Schweitzer Music, philanthropy, theology Germany
    William Shakespeare Playwright United Kingdom
    Socrates Philosopher Greece
    Henry David Thoreau Philosopher United States
    Mark Twain United States
    Voltaire Writer, philosopher, playwright France
    Richard Wagner Composer Germany
    H. G. Wells Novelist United Kingdom

• 171.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-162:

I would, (bet on it).

He’s already 0 from 2.

NZC’s prediction of 1 from 6 looking Good.

• 172.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-159: Morning porkchop.

Carl Lewis certainly had enough “juice” in his career. The taste of Holyfield’s ear must have put Mike off meat.

So we have 4 examples of veggie lovers who have succeeded in sports. Would that be because of their diet or in spite of it?

• 173.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@cane-171:

Could well be, we’ll accept 1 win over the AB’s in his tenure, as long as it’s in a knock out match in the WC.
    You can have all the rest

• 174.cane: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-170:

How could anybody know John the Baptist was a Vegan?

You could be stretching credibility here Skoppie.

• 175.katman: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-170: Remind us why it is savage and barbaric to kill animasl for their flesh but not so bad to wear their hides on our feet, round our waists and to stick our money in. I could do with a larf, and the old “leather is a by-product and therefore okay” story never fails.

• 176.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Bakkies. trupisero

seeing as you guy shave moved to insults as a means of deflection, I’ll accept that as an admission that I’m right.

cheers.

• 177.cane: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-173:

That’s just plain nasty nortie.

• 178.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@katman-175: Humans are faktap indeed. We kill the animals for their leather, we make wallets from the leather and then we kill each other for the wallets……..

• 179.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@cane-177:

Lol

• 180.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Cane

Nortie is HM

he too is already talking about the WC.

• 181.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

All this vegan talk makes me want to go out and buy a steak the size of my table, light a fire and do a nice rare steak with a Jimmy’s basting sauce. In fact it must be so rare I’ll chow a bit and ride the rest home!!!

• 182.cane: Reply to this comment

Animals eat animals.

They are no better than us.
    Why should we feel guilty?

• 183.katman: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-178: Indeed. It would actually be slightly more efficient to just make wallets from each other.

• 184.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-166:
    hello cane, it goes well except i’m a little busy of late.
    how goes you, you old doos? :grin:

@cane-171:
    rude awakening coming you kiwis way, caner

rude awakening indeed.

• 185.katman: Reply to this comment

@cane-182: Don’t get Skoppie started on those immoral great white sharks.

• 186.cane: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-180:

They pin all their hopes of glory on the WC.

And what do we do.

Brycie………………………………..that’s what.

Now who are the stupid ones here Popps.
    Ask yourself that.

• 187.poppa69: Reply to this comment

cane

hehehe. sir Brycie ” best ref in nz” Lawrence. canonization is forthcoming.

• 188.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-176:
    what insults?

cheers, pops.

• 189.gonzo: Reply to this comment

All of those complaining about the Poms and their under-handed citing tactics, please come back and remind us all the next time we have one of these SA-must-go-north threads. It’s not just the Kiwis and Aussies that are out to get you, it’s everyone, and the Europeans have more money and more power. Watch your backs!

• 190.cane: Reply to this comment

@katman-185: @skopdiekan-170:

According to Sir David Attenborough, we humans have the teeth of carnivores.

This is what we are.

• 191.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-176: oh, I haven’t even started to insult you yet.

Go do your rounds now.

• 192.aliboy: Reply to this comment

They need to move up in class a bit if they want to win another RWC. Gold watches are so ‘yesterday’. Refs are professionals today and have higher expectations.

• 193.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-191: Collecting bed pans in old age homes?

• 194.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@aliboy-192: To get into Bryce’s good books is easy……1 year’s subscription to Landbou Weekblad……sorted

• 195.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-159:

How can Mike Tyson be a vegetarian as he has threatened to eat Lennox Lewis’ heart and also his kids? That was before Lewis knock the living daylights out of him.

• 196.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-175:

Fuckadilly has converted to crocks.

He’s customised them with steel toecaps for his outhouse construction business.

• 197.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-191: hahaha is that it?

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-193: have you soiled your khaki shorts again..? lol

• 198.aliboy: Reply to this comment

Enough of the vege debate. For every famous/successful vegetarian there are 100′s of famous/successful non-veges. So what do the facts really prove???

• 199.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@gunther-196: Steel production much too bad on the planet. Them be coconut shells.

• 200.Beertjie: Reply to this comment

@aliboy-198: you are what you eat

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.