Greater freedom for flyhalf Lambie

RYAN VREDE, in London, reports Heyneke Meyer has given Pat Lambie the directive to stand flatter and attack more with ball in hand in a bid to get the best out of him.

There were widespread cries of relief when Lambie was installed at pivot ahead of Morne Steyn for the first Test of the tour against Ireland and then given the backing of his coach through three Tests. However, it was also lamented that Lambie would have to temper his natural attacking instincts to suit the Springboks’ pragmatic method.

Lambie attempted to play that down prior to the Lansdowne Road Test, saying that there was a flawed perception of him as a running flyhalf, arguing that his game was more rounded than that. However, on the evidence of what he has produced tactically in the last fortnight, his kicking game is certainly more work in progress than it is finished article.

Lambie has proven to be potent when taking on the defensive line himself or creating opportunities for his outside backs and this is what Meyer hopes to see more of against England at Twickenham on Saturday.

‘It’s a huge ask, there’s this perception that when you put a young player like Pat in he is immediately going to be a world beater. That doesn’t happen at this level. The defences are too well organised,’ he said.

‘But I’ve had a long one on one with him and told him to play his natural game. He has always been a guy that takes on the line and plays really flat. He played too deep in Dublin and Edinburgh. I’ve said to him I want more on attack, I want him to get the backline going. Its a test for Pat going forward, but I really need a good performance from him on Saturday.’

Meyer’s instructions to Lambie and the inclusion of Elton Janjties ahead of Morne Steyn on the bench suggests the Springboks will seek to keep the ball in hand far more than they have for most of this season. Certainly privately the coaching staff feeling there are a couple of defensive vulnerabilities in the England backline, particularly at flyhalf, where Toby Flood has been exposed against elite opposition.

With the forecast for cold but clear conditions at kick-off, the Springboks will be assisted in their cause to ‘play’ more. However, it would be wrong to expect an expansive and open approach from the tourists, who will still be very cautious in their territory, taking minimal risks but then looking to be more adventurous deeper in England’s half.

It is of course a tactical path that has worked well for them at the venue in recent history, with 2008′s 42-6 win achieved in this manner. Peter de Villiers picked an abrasive pack that day and they gave a mediocre backline an excellent platform from which to test their hosts. This mirrors the situation the Springboks find themselves in at present, with a highly cohesive and powerful pack attempting to service a backline that has yet to inspire.

Perhaps it will come on Saturday, with Lambie tasked with playing a central role in any such demolition.

72 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

• 1.Piesank: Reply to this comment

Wait and see dragon

• 2.Anomander: Reply to this comment

Good news. Hope to see the loosies on Lambie’s shoulder.

• 3.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Just dont try and do too much Lambie.

Settle in, check how dominant the forwards are or arent and then play accordingly.
    Suppose i dont really need to tell him that.

• 4.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-3:
    judging by what he’s dished up this far… i think you do…

• 5.catchlightuk.com: Reply to this comment

Now the forwards and 9 need to be told to pass the ball to Lamb.

• 6.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

This confirms what those of us who aren’t Bulls supporters have been saying: that Lambie was under instruction to imitate Morne Steyn. At least Meyer has seen the error of his ways – perhaps there is hope for him yet. I hope Pienaar got the memo too, and that this isn’t just a PR exercise for der Führer.

• 7.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Anomander-2: Only one fast enough to get there is Flo

• 8.Anomander: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-7: Maybe if Pienaar goes :On your marks, get set, …” before finally passing ? :)

• 9.Piesank: Reply to this comment

I hope he practised his skip pass otherwise the only loosie on his shoulder will be JdV

• 10.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

i dont know what to make of meyer now , when pdv was coach the senior players were running the squad , now it seems the fans are .

He has caved in to nearly every single demand we have made. e.g giving goosen a start over morne , getting rid of morne altogether, playing a fetcher , giving lambie a go , playing de jong, getting rid of the likes of potgieter, starting lambie at 10 and now he’s even going to let him play flatter. these have all been whinges from the fans !

While all sensible moves, he seems like such a people-pleaser.

im sure if we make enough noise and suggest it , he’ll do the macerena before kick off.

• 11.willievz: Reply to this comment

@boktillzero-10: I think people often refer to the phrase “the senior players were coaching” in PDV’s era as a statement that he was incompetent or out of his depth at international level.

This is not true.

What he did was implementing the concept of “player empowerment”, a concept that has been implemented even at grass roots levels in England and New Zealand.

• 12.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@boktillzero-10: Challenge accepted!

• 13.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@boktillzero-10:

Amazing!

Heyneke does what people don’t want him to do, and they criticize him for it.

He does exactly what they have been asking for, and they STILL criticize him for it.

The only conclusion is that the SA rugby public are a bunch of psychos.

• 14.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Poor old Tac – even Meyer isn’t conservative enough for him anymore :lol:

• 15.Transformation: Reply to this comment

this is a set up… :lol:

• 16.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

why do we always give tactics away before big games?

• 17.SharkaZulu: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-15: Hehehehe!

• 18.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-14: heyneke drifting away from the laager?

Tac’s”inside lane” to meyer’s thoughts is scrambled eggs now “;)

• 19.ufo: Reply to this comment

@boktillzero-10:

was thinking the same thing…

can only be a good thing though imo…

because all the fans… as evidenced here on keo… are experts in all things rugby…!! :wink:

if lambie has indeed been given a free reign… there can be no more excuses… it is now time for patrick to go big or go home…

i’m confident he will go big… and therefore we’ll see juan do well too…

whatever your unfathomable reasoning…

good call heyneke…!!

• 20.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@boktillzero-10:
    i think its pretty clear from what youre saying is that the average joe ie. myself and another other tom **** n harry knows more about rugby than HM?

maybe the public should just vote for the team to be selected? lol

• 21.xtremebull: Reply to this comment

Changes after 50mins

15-kirchner out for taute
    11-hougaard out for mvovo
    10-lambie out for jantjies
    9-pienaar out for hougaard
    7-alberts out for coetzee
    3-du plessis out for cilliers
    1-steeknamp out for vd merwe

After 65 mins
    2- strauss out for brits

After 72 minutes
    5-kruger out for vd merwe

• 22.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-16: @jacoshark-16: indeed…why is our coach telling England our 10 will be playing flat etc?

have we heard lancaster relaying how flood & farrell will play?

daft

• 23.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-22:
    hes been doing it from day one- making his plans clear for everyone to see
    this is the professional era isnt it?

• 24.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-22:

maybe its because we wont be playing flat after all..?..

the art of war 101:
    make your enemy think you are massing in the west then strike from the east.

• 25.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

If Heyneke truly has done or said this as reported, then this is a little ray of light…

However this may just be conforming to the pattern of say one thing yet do another – talk left, walk right…

Or typical SA sports journo bullshitting agenda ridden fantasies…

Evidence will be seen on field on Saturday…

• 26.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

If Pat has freedom to play his game then I look forward to loosies/backs running off his shoulder right on the advantage line, straight at a wide eyed Toby flood…

• 27.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-24:
    they wont realistically be expecting or preparing for our running game, regardless of we say
    but i do hope lambie has been given ta license to thrill this weekend
    it wouldbe a pleasant end to the year

• 28.pokkel: Reply to this comment

No matter how well Lambie plays he still has’I can’t pass’ de Villiers on his outside.

• 29.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-27:
    knowing the english they will feel obliged to drag us down to their level. which, as luck would have it, is anything but suited to free flowing running rugby.

expect the usual trench warfare with territorial kicks type percentage rugby. everybody is targetting the boks for a ‘once off, get lucky’ opportunity at beating a sh team so i expect them to do their worst and the boks to adapt by going tight.

• 30.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-27:
    so yes agreed, i dont think they’ll be preparing or expecting a ‘running game’ from us at all.

• 31.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@boktillzero-10:

Most of those “demands” were only “followed” when circumstances allowed.

Goosen was always going to be picked but not immediately after returning from a many-month injury to his shoulder. No caving to “demands” just a measured reintroduction to rugby. There were just as many “fans” “demanding” that Goosen not play for the Boks so soon.

Not just any “fetcher”. People were moaning for Brussow. A tiny minority might have mentioned Louw who is quite a different player to Brussow. Louw was also carrying an injury of some sort during June. So the majority of those that were decrying the selection of a fetcher certainly weren’t supporting Louw’s cause. *lol* Most of them were crying about Johnson. Louw was eventually picked because he does fit Meyer’s mould of a big ball carrier. Meyer gave local guys the chance and then had to resort to the overseas option. Hardly caving to “demand”.

People wanted Lambie at FB. Do you see him at FB because I don’t? Meyer was slowly bringing Goosen in from the bench. You have two conflicting gripes – Goosen at flyhalf and Lambie at flyhalf. Which is it? That is if you ignore that 90% of “fans” wanted Lambie at FB.

Much of a muchness playing De Jong compared to a few other centres but that is also only after Steyn was injured. Steyn is still the first choice inside centre. No caving again as it was injury induced and not much improvement in backline play from what I can see.

Potgieter after having a good showing at the Bulls was given a chance. He didn’t shape up and was dropped. Sue him if you want. This is about the closest you will get to the coach “caving to fans”.

You and the “fans” whinge on a permanent basis with no agreement even amongst yourself, never mind realizing why certain changes are made from week to week. And even with these changes the Boks are not playing any better than in June because there are bigger issues here than whether one or two crowd favourites are in ahead of another player that is pretty much on the same level.

Take the perpetual whinging that “the Boks kick too much” despite match after match the stats showing the opposition kicks more than us. There was that blog post that analysed how the ball stays amongst the forwards. Now that is a good Fan opinion – some actual brain cells being used. 90% of “fans” on here are no where near that level of thought. Mostly it is just tired one liners being regurgetated endlessly.

• 32.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-31:

Well said.

• 33.grant10: Reply to this comment

Bloody hell….got to admit…HM is amazing me now…..good stuff coach….let the Kid have a full go, let the Boks vfree my man….we moer these poms 6 love I tell you…

Bloody Eben persecutors se moer man!

• 34.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Oh boy. I think Lambie’s being set up here.
    Please say it isn’t so Meyer?

• 35.BULLET: Reply to this comment

HM you biscuit!
    I wonder if he reads KEO?

Let the kid play, take. He shackles off and give them the freedom to play as they see. They will surprise us!

• 36.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@xtremebull-21:
    Thank you, Nostradamus

• 37.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-31:
    “Most of those “demands” were only “followed” when circumstances allowed”

What im hearing is Meyer is a reactive coach , he is not a proactive one . Agreed

Goosen was speed tracked into starting because Morne was f’ing s hit up big time. There was no measurements here it was a “save my job” move

Brussow was the inform candidate for the job, Meyer started games with no out right fetcher and got smoked at the breakdown. injured or not louw was shipped in from overseas to fix that. Again another reactive “save my hide” move by HM.

“People” wanted lambie at fullback because of the Goosen, Janties and Morne trifecta. we all know lambie wants 10 but him playing 15 was the only way to have Goose/Janties and Lambie on the field at the same time (..and of course Zane off permanently)

Im not sold on the “injuries” card too much because given a choice HM would field Victor, Pedrie , FDuP , J Fourie and Bakkies – where does that leave the likes of Etzebeth and Bekker, Hougaard , Taute and De Jongh? . I mean if habana and JPP were fit where would that leave Hougaard ?On the bench? hopefully not as cover for 9 because he hasn’t stepped up. These retirements and injuries are a blessing for HM they are helping HM make the right decisions.

Potgieter – my thoughts are along the same lines as Greyling, Flip and Kruger … WTF are they doing there in the first place they werent that good for start and one good season maketh not a test player Meyer should know that …oh oh wait its his chomies from the bulls – never mind my argument is invalid :/

There is nothing wrong with kicking the ball – but it must not be the main plan. the ball can stay amongst the forwards all day for all i care but spare a thought for the other 7 guys who aren’t forwards what is their role in the boks game plan? to make up numbers ?

Look Meyer is not doing enough to show we can challenge for the number 1 spot . He is reactive not proactive hence the game of two halves we are treated to every week .

• 38.King Watson: Reply to this comment

According to HM world class strategy game plan, when Lambie gets the ball, he must kick it up to the sky, whether he is 80 meters or 18 meter or 8 meters to the tryline, then pray and hope that it touches the clouds and that we catch it back. That applies to Kirschner and everyone. That will win u games.

There is no point having Lambie or Jantjies or Goosen as flyhalf.

• 39.Transformation: Reply to this comment

STBUR: You can delude yourself & your fellow “well said” sycophants all you want…Meyer wasn’t “slowly introducing” goosen! he was still hellbent on PROVING that he could “coach morne back to form” something FAILED dismally at doing to the detriment of the Boks & our WIN ratio this year. fact!

• 40.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@BULLET-35: Problem is not in allowing Lambie to play to his natural strenghts its whether or not his playing style suits the team thats chosen. At the Sharks Lambie plays with plenty of support at the breakdown from a speedy loose forward trio and a quick distribution off ball recycled quickly. Our forwards cannot put two good halves together at pace and that means that half the time Lambie would be playing away from his support. Gurthro was out on his legs in the second half as was Jannie and as for Alberts he is too slow in what is already a slow loose forward trio. With that make up its actually suits us to play without the ball giving our biggest asset (Flouw) the opportunity to effect turnovers or get penalties for us. Meyer if he wants Lambie to play flat must reconsider the balance in his side.

• 41.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@boktillzero-37:

If that is what you are hearing you are deaf, dumb and blind. None of the “demands” were due to him caving. He was either doing it already but had to take his time, i.e. Lambie or the better first choice was injured, i.e. Frans Steyn.

Brussow as also recently back from injury at that stage and was certainly not “in form”.

So either he was already planning whatever the “fans” wanted but couldn’t implement right away or he only changed due to injury. There was no caving and the “fans” were moaning for nothing.

Dude, you obviously cannot remember half of what happened or in what order.

Matfield was only an option when Bekker was injured and then there was doubt over another lock either Kruger or Etzebeth I can’t remember but we had serious problems.

I would’ve kept on playing FdP if he had not moved to Japan. Everyone cried for Hougaard. He got picked and faffed around. Then people cried for Pienaar and he did a bit better but now that he is not as good as FdP (who you say should never be considered) everyone wants Hougaard back. Like cats you lot are, running this way and that.

Pedrie? Wtf are you talking about. He was never an option. Other older players would’ve been sounded out to hear what their availability is because you would rather play them than a new guy like Franco or Sykes who are not long term prospects. Least disturbance. Makes complete sense. As it turned out few of those players were available and we had to make do but it would have been better to have them at that point.

Jacque Fourie would still be playing for the Boks if he was here. So what about Taute/de Jongh?

Of course Hougaard would be on the bench as cover for scrumhalf and wing. Or would you now flop over to Vermaak or that new kid van Zyl? Then we will have another thousand “fans” moaning why they are in the squad. Like cats.

Greyling and Kruger were given a chance and have now been dropped. Can’t see what you are moaning about. I didn’t see many “fans” on here calling for Heinke van der Merwe. They said that they would try the local boys and then resort to the expats if they can’t find suitable players.

As for retirements making the right decisions for him? What are you talking about? Those guys retired BEFORE he even became coach and then they never came back. They were always going to be backup in case of shortate.

The plan is not to kick. We kick less than every other team. What has statistically been proven is that the ball does not pass from the forwards to the flyhalf enough. But not one single “fan” on this website has brought that up. Far to easy to blather on about kicking too much.

I guess if you complain about every player in the team and every change he makes you will be right about 20% of the time. Well done. Incredible insight. No dude, you are just like any other “fan” on here; moan, moan, moan about everything.

• 42.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-39:

I don’t understand why he played Morne. I would also have preferred one of the other two ahead of him. My answer was in response to that other idiot why Meyer wasn’t playing Goosen right from the start.

And he had a valid point in that there was already so much disruption he didn’t want more at flyhalf. I don’t agree but it isn’t a way off stance to take.

• 43.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@boktillzero-10: One of the stupidest posts I have ever read!

HM has stuck to his guns on many of those issues, until overwhelming evidence convinced him to make a change.

It should be a complement to SA rugby fans that we understand a bit of the game, and so have called for some of these changes before they have happened, but it doesnt mean HM “caved in”!

The latest issue of SA Rugby mag was VERY interesting on the subject of the fly-halves.
    Morne was still kicking 86% in practise and was the best over 200 kicks at goal (Goosen was on 87% but a lot less kicks).
    Now we can understand a bit more why HM stuck with Morne, and how frustrating and perplexing it mustve been when that accuracy did not translate in the Tests.

Be thankful we have a coach who is willing to change and listen to other opinions!
    If not, we’d be back to a Straeuli situation. Do you remember those dark days?

• 44.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-31: Excellent reply!

• 45.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-39:

But at best that is speculation on your part. The fact is the fans on here want to moan that he was not introducing Goosen when in fact he was.

• 46.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-45: meyer has admitted it many a time that he messed up with his pessistence with morne, nothing speculative about that call.

it was BLATANT in PE & in DUNEDIN but still meyer vetoed use of ruan as a kicker & only played goosen after morne missed another penalty…reactive china…

• 47.KingTJ: Reply to this comment

@bokfan ans stbur…. i dont think boktilzero is completely correct in what he say but there is definitely signs that HM isa reactive coach….your head must be stuck his *** not to se that he is outdated andreactive to situations. If he was so forward thinkg as you claim, he would have to lambies strnght from the beginning and not only now…the same can be said about hougie taute etc.

• 48.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-46:

Then we disagree on the definition of “reactive”. Goosen would not have been played earlier, after a serious injury, by any other coach.

You are just clutching at straws to moan about the coach. Half the people on this site were also clamouring for Johnson, Daniel and Burden. Seems everyone is very quiet on that front right now.

• 49.KingTJ: Reply to this comment

@bokfan ans stbur…. i dont think boktilzero is completely correct in what he say but there is definitely signs that HM isa reactive coach….your head must be stuck his *** not to se that he is outdated andreactive to situations. If he was so forward thinkg as you claim, he would have to lambies strnght from the beginning and not only now…the same can be said about hougie taute etc

• 50.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@KingTJ-47:

So if a coach ever drops a player because he is not playing well then he is “reactive”? That must be every coach in history then. If Meyer has any fault that is for sticking too long with a player but that is hardly reactive. Reactive implies he has no plan or basis for his decisions and is doing so randomly and then changing according to results. Which is BS and you all know it.

Morne got picked because he was the incumbent, the guy he wanted (Goosen) was fresh back from injury and apparently from what I have read here Morne’s practice kicking was very good. Sometimes the players flop in the game. He was given his chances and now he is gone.

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.