Hougaard yearns for scrumhalf return
22 Nov 2012
Francois Hougaard says he is better suited to scrumhalf than wing and admits to feeling like he is stalling Lwazi Mvovo’s Test career.
In a refreshingly candid interview, Hougaard, who started the Test season as Heyneke Meyer’s first-choice scrumhalf but was later shifted to wing, spoke about his positional preference, his form and his feelings on Mvovo’s plight.
Hougaard shone for the Bulls in 2009 and 2010 on the wing, but struggled to make the transition back to scrumhalf (where he’d played most of his career) when Fourie du Preez moved on. This season was one of adjustment, painful at times, as Hougaard battled to come to terms with the tactical demands of the Bulls’ game plan, particularly the kicking disciplines.
Those struggles carried over into the Test arena, before he was finally replaced by Ruan Pienaar for the Rugby Championship. Yet Heyneke Meyer still placed high value on his game-breaking ability and accommodated him on the wing.
Asked to assess his season, Hougaard said: ‘I haven’t been happy with my form. I’m still learning a lot at scrumhalf, but I haven’t played much there. I still train there everyday, but you only get better if you play. I still think that’s my best position.
‘In the long run I’m a scrumhalf. I want to settle in one position or I run the risk of being an average wing and an average scrumhalf. I don’t want that to happen. I know I have so much to work on at scrumhalf, but I’d prefer to cover scrumhalf from the bench for the Springboks [in 2013] if it means I’m not thrown around positionally [scrumhalf at the Bulls and wing with the Springboks].’
With the reduced time and space on offer in Test rugby [compared to Super Rugby] and greater analysis available on him after his impressive cameos off the wood as a wing in 2011, Hougaard has yet to entrench himself in the position. There are mitigating factors, among them the Springboks’ inability to engineer opportunities for him. Hougaard, however, refused to look beyond himself for blame, and continued with a startling admission.
‘The coach plays me ahead of Lwazi on wing, but I feel for him. I would understand and support the decision to play him ahead of me,’ he said. ‘It feels unfair to me because I’m playing in his position and not doing that well. Its easy to tell the guys to keep themselves up on a three-week tour, where they sit on the bench or never play. It’s not nice and not easy, I’ve been there. But I’m here now and I have to take the chance. I’m working hard every day to improve.’

409 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All
22 Nov 2012, 10:07 am
Yeah… a bold move my Hougie…
i think he has taken a leaf out of Lambie’s book…
Lambie went *over Heyneke’s head* to the press… and now is not only starting his second test in his favoured position but has now *apparently* been told to play his own natural game…
Maybe Hougie’s hoping for the same outcome… Still… a bold play on his part…!!
He is also correct in saying that playing guys all over results in players not as good in any position as specialists in those positions… Have always said it best IMO to have 15 specialists and if a isn’t good enough is his position he mustn’t play or fight his was in by bettering the incumbent…
Have always felt Hougie would be our best long-term replacement for FdP…
Now let’s hope we see Hougie at 9 next year…
But the ball is in his court now… he has to simply produce such outstanding form for the Bulls in SuperRugby that Heyneke has no choice but to select him…
same goes for Patrick, Elton, Juan and everyone else…
everyone has a good feel for Heyneke now… so must quite simply fight it out with their opponents and make themselves number one in their positions for their provinces and and in south africa and claim and own their jerseys and provincial and national level…
time for excuses is over… players need to step up and grab their jerseys with both hands…
22 Nov 2012, 10:09 am
I felt Ruan was extremely slow behind the Boks pack all tour , and was caught by the defence on numerous occasions.His tactical kicking was also not great.Play Francois at scrumhalf , where he would make a big difference.And play Lwazi on the wing , the guy is playing good rugby at the moment.
22 Nov 2012, 10:19 am
Dumbfucks
22 Nov 2012, 10:25 am
I yearn for his return to 9 for the Bokke as well, he’s not an international 9′s back-side.
22 Nov 2012, 10:26 am
Then again neither is Ruan, so farking slow. Ruan to Morne to JDV have we fallen alseep yet?
22 Nov 2012, 10:29 am
Hougaard best position for the Boks is coming off the bench onto the wing, when opposition are tired and there is more space. Of course he is a backup 9 too. Should not start in either position.
22 Nov 2012, 10:29 am
Good on him for actually speaking his mind.
Refreshing when a player doesn’t just stick with the usual verbal diatribe and sound bites.
He went up a notch in my book.
22 Nov 2012, 10:44 am
@ufo-101: Spot on ufo…and Hougie’s 100% right.
We should learn what happened to Brent Russel for example – he was extremely unhappy not being able to specialize in one position. Hougie is 100% right that some of his talent will be wasted if he doesn’t specialize.
22 Nov 2012, 10:45 am
can’t wait to see lambie unleashed on tobie flood! it will be a thing of beauty…i can see the hand-off on robshaw already….
22 Nov 2012, 10:50 am
@Marty-108: 100% correct Marty, for a nazi you’re surprisingly well versed in Rugby. Hougie is faster than Ruan, he is the guy we need to play at 9, the Joost, the Fourie du Preez.. Sa has been blessed with 9′s that were able to break the line, able to turn a match on its head. Ruan wont give us that, Ruan is a flyhalf, and I would even try him at fullback.
Hougie to 9 is the right move, come on HM – stop touching yourself with your sisters hand, and see what we see.
Play Mvovo at 11, Hougie at 9. Ruan can play off hte bench as impact player
Also, when Habana returns, play Mvovo at 11, Habana at 14, and JP at 13, with Juan at 12. Jean needs to go – hes not going to make the world cup. His body has just taken one too many beatings, at home and on the field.
We need Bizmark and Coenie back too to add power to the scrum. Andries running lineouts will also let Eben concentrate on stealing opposition lineouts,
Schalk must come back, and rotate with Willem. Id even go as far as saying, play Willem at 4, play Eben at 5 for now. Juandre is good, but we need exceptional.
22 Nov 2012, 10:52 am
@NZINCHINA-105: What would you know, maybe you should stick to ping pong there in china.
22 Nov 2012, 10:58 am
@Jake_White-110: Hello my boy – lots of energy there this morning choina.
Possible problem areas I see for the future: Fullback and inside centre (Frans must specialize in either one of these positions and then we need to find depth respectively) and maybe tighthead.
JPP must stay at wing – we have some good 13s coming through with the like of de Jongh and Paul Jordaan. From a wing perspective, having Habana, Mvovu, Rhule and Pietersen we are sorted for the moment.
22 Nov 2012, 11:00 am
@nortierd-107:
@Marty-108:
indeed…
22 Nov 2012, 11:05 am
@Marty-112: Imagine this scenario – Frans at 12, Juan at 13, JP at 15, habana and Rhule on the wings, hougie at 9.
jc janse v rensburg, biz, coenie in front.
willem and eben locks
flo, schalk, duane at back.
22 Nov 2012, 11:13 am
Met the author of Pierre Spies’ book last night, or even better, he wrote Inga Tuigamala’s biography as well.
My luck was in, he has one signed copy left I can buy from him.
Tried on e-bay to get it previously, but no luck.
Those who have it doesn’t post to SA, so I’m stoked
22 Nov 2012, 11:24 am
amazing – someone speaking the truth. Well said Houghaard – just confirms everything us bloggers have been saying for ages. He is far from being on top of his game at Scrumhalf – he is average on wing and his form has been off. And yep he´s keeping proper wings out of the Bok team. Kudos to you – takes a lot of guts to say it like it is.
22 Nov 2012, 11:25 am
@Slumtown-116: now someone please refer Herr Meyer to the above post.
22 Nov 2012, 11:25 am
@Transformation-109: Thought you hated Lambie… He is a Shark after all.
22 Nov 2012, 11:30 am
Unfortunately I have to agree with that NZ Chinese fella. Neither Hougie nor Pienaar are the answer at 9 at the moment. Pienaar is painfully slow , not exactly spot-on with his kicking either and really, is nothing special at all. Hougie, in his own words and which are true btw, is toilet at scrummie at the moment. He needs to get his groove back and see whether he can fit into whatever the HM masterplan is. In the mean time we need to get in a dedicated 9 and not a hybrid, half-baked, x-factor wannabe, back-up kicker, fullback, wing, flyhalf, scrumhalf allrounder. We have rugby’s version of Rory Kleinveldt at wing and scrumhalf at the moment.
22 Nov 2012, 11:32 am
@wasabi-119: yep well said – where we were well stocked in the past we all of a sudden have a vacuum. There is some promising up and coming talent but in the interim perhaps Jano Vermaak should be given a run? Who knows its a tough one at the moment.
22 Nov 2012, 11:45 am
Wow baie “candid” en baie eerlik van hom. Ek is beindruk. Hy kom oor as windgat – die hare, die kar, die tats, so dis goed om van die mens te ****.
Jy is n briljante skrumskakel as jy jou natuurlike game mag speel Hougie. En jy saam met n Goosen of Jantjies op 10 sal uitstekend saam kan speel met bal in hand. Sniping, lynbreek en versnelling sal uitstekend kan wees.
22 Nov 2012, 11:48 am
This could also be seen as undermining the coach and maybe not a good move on hoohaa’s part.
22 Nov 2012, 11:51 am
@Jeez-24: I agree, but I take into account that there was one objective White achieved, which was to win the Tri-Nations tournament. I rate that higher than Meyer’s achievement this year (winning the series against England).
22 Nov 2012, 11:54 am
@Treehugger-122: all the better – HM needs to catch a wake up. If nothing else it should give him pause for thought on the issue. Apart from Houghaard, Kirchener, jean andour Scrumhalf issue the team is looking good – the closer we can get it to perfect the better.
22 Nov 2012, 12:12 pm
@Transformation-109: You’ve become boring.
22 Nov 2012, 12:27 pm
Jake_White #114 – NOw that does sound like a good team there boy!! I like Williem Alberts at lock, grunt personified, has played very well there!! Who on earth would be your flyhalf?
22 Nov 2012, 12:29 pm
Not only is Meyer messing around Lwazi Mvovo but he isn’t doing any favors to Hougards Bok career .
22 Nov 2012, 12:31 pm
SharkaZulu #123 – I agree. I hate these Jake White bashers. That man brought the Boks out of the mud and mire and put there feet back upon solid ground!!!
We had a good home record against the ABs and came very close to winning twice in New Zealand, owned the Ozzies and the Poms. The French gave us a bit of hard time! But i always knew the Boks where in safe hands with Jake White and boy did he deliver in the end!! Now look at how he has turned the Brumbies around!!
22 Nov 2012, 12:37 pm
@race of tan-128:
Agreed 100%
He had to pick up some shattered pieces after Rudolf.
Great coach, and not just with established players either.
Won’t be surprised if he will be the Wallaby coach for the 2015 World Cup
22 Nov 2012, 12:42 pm
@Hg: don’t hate any SA player…there are a lot i don’t rate but i hate none.
@Bagsy: it’s end of the season, i am moeg chap!
22 Nov 2012, 12:44 pm
@race of tan-126: Although Alberts can provide grunt at 4, I can’t see that he’ll be able to contest on opposition ball in the lineouts
22 Nov 2012, 12:51 pm
@Transformation-130: Well then let me rephrase…
I thought you dont rate Lambie… He is a Shark after all.
22 Nov 2012, 12:54 pm
Everyone so moerig today
22 Nov 2012, 13:15 pm
@race of tan-128: I’d have him as Bok coach ahead of Heyneke right now!
22 Nov 2012, 13:18 pm
@Heavens Game-132: oh i rate lambie but i’m not a fanboy like you guppy lot
22 Nov 2012, 13:22 pm
@Transformation-109: Nice..
Flood is needs to be handled like the girl he is.
However Flood is an experienced girl. Lambie needs to keep his composure.
22 Nov 2012, 13:25 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-72: Well said, I have no idea why we don’t embrace their rugby know how. The Northern Hem do it and don’t get a 3rd of the results we generate.
22 Nov 2012, 13:52 pm
Seems like a genuinely mature interview and he states how he feels but also doesnt complain. That was a well handled interview and a good way of saying that whats best for him positionally wont be best for him in terms of starting oppertunities but will help.his development. I understand its tough on Mvovo but I would also have liked to see Rhule or Mapoe get a run. Hougaard is a 9 and if that meams Vermaak gets less of chance then send one to the Stormers we need a quality scrum half to match Groom.
22 Nov 2012, 14:08 pm
How to get the best out of bok team:
15 Taute 14 JP 13 De Villiers 12 F Steyn 11 Habana 10 Lambie 9 Pienaar 8 Vermeulen 7 Burger 6 Louw 5 Bekker 4 Etzebeth 3 Du Plessis 2 Bissie 1 Beast
16 Strauss free flow substitute
17 Van Der Linde – Close out last 15 tight in scrum
18 Cilliers – Impact + Gets on for tierd Jannie
19 Alberts – IMPACT
20 Coetzee -IMPACT
21 Hougaard -IMPACT in loose covers 9 & wings
22 Jantjes – Close game out with boot gets backine going
23 De Jongh – Huge impact in loose and defence could be a starter ahead of Steyn or JdV come next year tour
Rest of squad balance:
24 Chilli – Plays both tight and loose role well
25 JC – Huge Currie cup provides gokd depth at 1
26 – Flip/Kruger – Either can cover locks and make impact if started.
27 – Kolisi – Covers 6,7,8 bigger than Brussouw would learn plenty in squad with those he knows well.
28 Vermaak – Explosive needs to be given chance at bok level before being overtaken by Reinach or Van Zyl
29 – Goosen – Picked for games where his style suits e.g. Australia, Wales, Argentina etc..
30 Gio Aplon – Better than Kirchner
31 Mvovo/Mapoe/Rhule/Ludik – Best on form picked
32 Malherbe – Development at tighthead if he outplays Coenie. 50/50 decison depending on opponent.
Left to find form in Curie Cup or Vodacom:
Kirchner
Morne Steyn
Franco
Liebenberg
P Grant
Kankowski
Spies – could be picked if Vermeulen struggles.
22 Nov 2012, 14:15 pm
Issue is not about players as it is about skills and coaching. SA has 300,000 plus registered players vs 20,000 in Aus, and they still beat us. Go look at school rugby, Vodacom Cup, Currie Cup, Boks and you see:-
– Lack of ball handling
– No vision – kicking down the throats and never into space
– Running into people and not into space [unlike AB's]
– Inability to offload in the tackle
– Inability to run off the shoulder of player with the ball. Lately AB pass inside without looking, as there is always someone to take the pass
The rest of the basics we are as good as any team, but the above make a team exceptional. We are 10 years behind
22 Nov 2012, 14:17 pm
@Rhys7-139: JdV should retire. JdJ for 13.
9 is a toss-up. Hougaard should not cover wing. He needs to specialise.
CJ nowhere near a Bok jersey again. Pick Gurthro when fully fit.
Rate Goosen more than Lambie at flyhalf. Rate Groom and Reinach more than Vermaak.
22 Nov 2012, 14:19 pm
@Toppie-140: We wouldn’t be in this predicament if Mallett hadn’t been fired 12 years ago.
@Transformation-135: Lying Shangaan… You rate Lambie like a hole in the head…
No boks have always picked bulk and direcrion over Xfactor. For vison and space backine you would go
15 Aplon 14 JP 13 De Jongh 12 Lambie 11 Habana 10 Goosen 9 Hougaard
21 Sarel 22 F Steyn 23 Mapoe
Boks style of play means players like De Jongh and Hougi are limited. If they played for Aus or Ireland they would flourish.
22 Nov 2012, 14:21 pm
@Toppie-140: You obviously haven’t watched too many Sharks games…
Go see, and then be encouraged by the skills and flair revolution happening in eThekwini…
22 Nov 2012, 14:43 pm
I like the teams I’m seeing here. Hougaard is a top player, but as 9 he needs to learn the control DuPreez and Pienaar do day in day out for the Boks.
22 Nov 2012, 14:50 pm
@Heavens Game-143: u are just luus for a fight…go get “owned” by daddy & capo
22 Nov 2012, 14:53 pm
@Heavens Game-145: when did the flair arrive in Debben, before or after you lot got snotklapped by the Lions!?
22 Nov 2012, 15:10 pm
@Heavens Game – 145: no -i watched the sharks but am not convinced yet. who in that backline consistently runs into space?
22 Nov 2012, 15:12 pm
Having said that, in fact on most occasions I saw the Sharks run into space etc is when Michalak played flyhalf. is that then not still out problem? we have no no 10 as yet to create
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All