Preview: England vs Springboks
23 Nov 2012
RYAN VREDE, in London, analyses the key match-ups and picks the winner of the Test at Twickenham.
It shouldn’t be this way, but I sense the result of this Test will determine, in the minds of most, whether the Springboks’ season has been a success or failure. If, based on Heyneke Meyer’s standard, the Springboks want to be the best in the world, consistent victories over their benchmark, the All Blacks, represent the standard they must strive towards. And, having lost twice to the world champions this season, the outcome of this match is of relative irrelevance in the broader picture.
What a win will achieve is the stated goal of a tour sweep and indeed a significant step forward for this young and inexperienced team. The injury crisis they are enduring has been played down, but it would be grossly unfair to measure them against a standard they can be expected to achieve with a fully fit squad (as some have done). That said, I believe even the current group are superior to their embattled opponents across most key areas.
The Springboks have shown nothing on this tour to suggest they will replicate the comprehensive win they achieved here under Peter de Villiers a couple of years ago. Their kick-chase method has been lamented but statistics show it to have largely been successful in gaining the territory they seek. The sterility of their attack in the red zone is the real point of concern, with a high error rate further undermining their cause.
Of course the potential exists for something to click and for them to find a level of precision in their attack they’ve only exhibited at Loftus against Australia. However, the greater likelihood is for the Springboks to accumulate points gradually through the boot of Pat Lambie. For this to happen it is imperative that they are dominant at the gainline, forcing penalties in kickable positions. The responsibility will be on their primary strike runners to sustain their efforts through 80 minutes in this regard. They were excellent in patches over the last fortnight and when they’ve buzzed the Springboks have looked a force of note. Furthermore, if they can set up the rolling maul in good positions, England will have no response to the Springboks’ main attacking weapon.
England have shown themselves capable of contesting this facet of play well, stifling their opponents’ momentum. They’ve spoken all week about the level of physicality that will be required to blunt the Springboks, and how the visitors fare in the early exchanges will set the tone for the rest of the match.
They certainly have fronted defensively, conceding two tries on tour despite defending for touching 80 minutes (two halves when the opposition has been completely dominant). England will play a similar pattern to the Springboks, kicking deep and hoping to ‘play’ further up the pitch. The scrum will be an area they target, especially after the Springboks’ struggles in this facet of play against Scotland. If they gain dominance here, it will aid their cause to break down the tourists’ granitic defence. Similarly if they elevate their gainline play from their showing last week to boss the Boks, and create the time and space for Manu Tuilagi that Meyer so fears.
It would be a show of immense mettle if the Springboks produce a telling rebuttal to that examination. Many of the players are at the last hurdle of the longest season of their careers and a clutch of them have been carefully nursed through this week. It is critical that Meyer uses his bench intelligently, being sharp in his decisions in when to hook those who are struggling. I’ve watched from the stands as some of his charges have laboured on well after they’ve been spent, but England has the quality of player to exploit defensive vulnerabilities in a manner none of their previous tour opponents could.
I don’t believe it’ll be comprehensive, but I do think the Springboks will rouse themselves for the win.
VREDE’S CALL: Springboks by 6

271 Comments
23 Nov 2012, 08:37 am
Drrrrrrragons
23 Nov 2012, 08:48 am
Morning
Not going to be easy by any means , I hope/believe the BOKS will win. They need to find time after this tour to get their sh*t together before the season starts next year (maybe a bootcamp for a few weeks?)
And please put Hougaard back at scrummie.
Heyneke seems very unsure and nervous to me , hopefully he will also grow into his role as coach and start making decisions he believes in and not rectify mistakes in previous games the whole time.
Enjout the game guys….
Boks by 12 !!
23 Nov 2012, 08:50 am
The Springboks went
to stuff up the Poms.
“You must dig deep,
to stuff up the Poms.
Our finest team we bring,
to stuff up the Poms!”
Thus spake Heyneke the King,
“Go stuff up the Poms!
Stuff up the Poms.
We just have to Win!
Go stuff up the Poms!
Get the job done!”
23 Nov 2012, 08:55 am
I lamented seeing that word used again.
23 Nov 2012, 09:05 am
The odds are nearly even
Kirchner, De Jongh and Steenkamp will make it happened for the Poms, Lambie and Pienaar will get the blame
Joburg bookies are somewhat un assured, I’ve tried to put the Poms at 1:5 which was not accepted!
Makes you thinking?
23 Nov 2012, 09:14 am
@Hondo-5: Tell us about the referee. In whose pocket is he this weekend?
23 Nov 2012, 09:16 am
Win or lose makes no difference as far as I can tell.
Both teams are playing average rugby, so if one or the other clicks on the day it means bugger all in the overall scheme of things.
There is plenty to work on what ever the result.
23 Nov 2012, 09:20 am
@Brads-7:
AB’s in for a tough game tomorrow.
The Welsh will lift their game.
23 Nov 2012, 09:20 am
@katman-6:
Jezzus, not content to excusing the shortcomings of your own team, you are now hedge betting on a biased ref.
How bloody sad is that.
23 Nov 2012, 09:25 am
And in other, even less relevant news: Nandos seems to be taking a strong lead in the Saffa Fave Take-away chicken survey….
23 Nov 2012, 09:26 am
@Brads-9: Try to keep up with the clever kids, Brads. I’m mocking Hondo’s rabid obsession with ref bias.
It’s all right, don’t mention it.
23 Nov 2012, 09:28 am
@katman – I thought it was bloody funny!
@Jeraldjay-8:
Yes, I agree.
NZ openly targeted the Wales and England matches as their biggest challenge.
Scotland played above expectations in what I suspect was inspired indignation, ditto Italy.
All the while England and Wales have lost focus and ignored the fact all tests, and not just the ones against the prickly Kiwi’s, are a handful
@Jeraldjay-8: Nah, gonna be a cake walk, Welsh are playing terrible ruggas without their Gat-land.
23 Nov 2012, 09:30 am
@Brads-9: Don’t worry boet, you can remove the bounty on Wayne Barnes’ head. I think it’s time…
23 Nov 2012, 09:34 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10:
really? i like nandos.
and it seems to be gaining quite a lot in popularity overseas too.
definitely better than deep fried chicken.
23 Nov 2012, 09:35 am
@goodstuff-14:
Gatland is back.
@goodstuff-15:
No way thats not fair!!
23 Nov 2012, 09:37 am
Sheesh Brads…
you really don’t have a sense of humour do you… take rugby, the abs, life, yourself… sooo seriously…
suggest you go see that movie by that famous director QuickGun GuaranteeNo…
ChillPill…!!
you must be the only person who didn’t know katman was pulling the peece outta hondo…
@katman-11:
You are a farktard
Why on Earth should I be expected to have an insight into your inner thoughts of someone else’s disposition base on your perceptions of their posts on quite separate and unrelated threads.
You commented on this thread, I responded.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-16:
Yep, we have em here in Christchurch. I actually knew the owner od a restaurant here.
Are they known as a fast food or restaurant in SA?
What i do know they have alot of middle eastern people going to eat there in Christchurch
23 Nov 2012, 09:38 am
Great pic on the front page of the Cape Times today of Willem Alberts driving Ben Morgan back in a previous Bok England game. Alberts looks like he means business in that pic, and he’s all over Morgan – so much so that you almost don’t see little Ruan Pienaar sandwiched in between them. Headline says something about Willem having a bone to pick with the English. I hope he does. If he and Flo have big games, we won’t lose this one.
23 Nov 2012, 09:39 am
gonna be a close game for sure… poms could easily take this one…
this english team is just going to get better and better…
go bokke…!! let’s end the year on a high…!!
@Brads-19:
“Why on Earth should I be expected to have an insight into your inner thoughts of someone else’s disposition base on your perceptions of their posts on quite separate and unrelated threads.”
WOW
@Hurricane-20:
They are the only outlet which is certified Halaal
23 Nov 2012, 09:40 am
@Brads-19: And you made an arse of yourself in the process. So wind your neck in and lay low until it passes.
23 Nov 2012, 09:41 am
@Dawn-23: I know. I think he got his teacher to help him with that one.
23 Nov 2012, 09:42 am
@Hurricane-20:
Fast food here in SA, i live a block down from the original Nandos, the Mecca of flame grilled porto chicken……there are places in the south of Joburg the do better chicken then that th
23 Nov 2012, 09:43 am
@Hurricane-20: They’re known as a ripoff in SA!
23 Nov 2012, 09:45 am
@Rockn Rolla-27:
Alarming
A half sentence
Did someone klap you while you were typing?
23 Nov 2012, 09:46 am
@Dawn-24:
@Rockn Rolla-27:
@BrumbiesBoy-28:
I was just going to say, we went there with the family and it cost alot of money.
Nice chicken but still alot of money, there fries/chips were awesome.
23 Nov 2012, 09:48 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10:
Big in Oz as well, 12 years ago they had one but now they are literally everywhere. Not a cheap option though but they seem to thrive.
@Hurricane-30:
So in NZ are they known as a Haute Cuisine restaurant…?
@Hurricane-30:
They are expensive
We are paying for one of the most expensive yet cleverest advertising campaigns ever conceived by a chicken outlet.
Ask katman
23 Nov 2012, 09:49 am
@ufo-32:
Thats McDonalds
23 Nov 2012, 09:49 am
@Dawn-29:
Tor het van die boot af gemoer!
23 Nov 2012, 09:50 am
they’re almost more famous for their very clever advertising…
23 Nov 2012, 09:50 am
@Hurricane-34:
23 Nov 2012, 09:51 am
@Dawn-33: Nothing to do with me.
@Dawn-33:
exactly… very clever, current, relevant… and damn funny…
Boots n All last night, i paused at the exact moment that Aus 9 makes his pass to Cummins on the Wing –
The pass is made 5m short of the 22, but caught by cummins on the 22.
Far more forward than Lambie’s pass to De Villiers in WC 2011 ala Bryce Lawrence *******.
It seems Aus are always on the receiving end of good fortune when it comes to Refs.
Why is this ?
are those shackldraggers buying results ?
23 Nov 2012, 09:52 am
@ufo-36: Me, I eat da chicken. Is where I getting my powa.
23 Nov 2012, 09:53 am
@Brads-19:
nee meneer, you is a fcktard… hou op onoosel wees.
@Hurricane-20:
they’ve branded themselves as a sort of inbetween fast food/restaurant operation. so come across as better than kfc in look and feel and also have ‘waiters’ serving you if you opt to sit down/eat in store instead of take away, but not not quite the same as a normal restaurant would feel.
23 Nov 2012, 09:54 am
@katman-38:
I know.
23 Nov 2012, 09:55 am
@Dawn-29:
Hahahahahaha……it does look like it hey !!!!!
@Dawn-43: I know you know.
@ufo-3: Hi Pal
@Jake_White-40:
WHAT!!
Do you mean a ref missed a forward pass?
Bakkies, sort this cr@p out. This cannot go on.
23 Nov 2012, 09:56 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-42:
I thought we had an agreement?
Is this the limit of your integrity. 1 Month
23 Nov 2012, 09:57 am
So sad that France is not playing AB’s this NH tour. Not gonna be as close in NZ next year. Wales and England will fall to the sword.
@katman-41:
you get da full power from da extra hot peri peri power…
@ryecatcher-46: When a body catch a body, comin’ thro’ the rye…
@ryecatcher-46:
hey rye… how’re you doing today…?
23 Nov 2012, 09:58 am
Why do we always play England last at the EOYT? Anyway i believe our mentally fatigued boks can win this one!
23 Nov 2012, 09:58 am
Are there any good Portuguese restaurants in the Mother City
23 Nov 2012, 10:00 am
@Hurricane-30:
This is a tripple dip recession sunshine……everything is alot of money these days!!!
23 Nov 2012, 10:00 am
Nandos is great! Worth the price. Actually they are not so expensive anymore. Compare their 1/4 chicken and chips with roll and coke for R31 ( i think)
Compare that to Steers.
23 Nov 2012, 10:01 am
@Dawn-33:
A couple of years back Nando’s had that Rastafarian ad which was very clever.
Don’t know if you remember but it was about this old couple that brought some Nando’s chicken to their neighbours ’cause there was always smoke coming from their house. They assumed that the neighbours were burning their food.
When they knocked on the door they found out it was Rasta’s living there.
@Rockn Rolla-54: http://www.dining-out.co.za/member_menu.asp?MemberID=292
Ignore the decor, focus on the food.
@Rockn Rolla-54: Indeed. Dias Tavern in Gardens is good, and a Cape Town institution. Perseverance Tavern in Buitenkant Street (also Gardens) is also good – great for a Friday lunch. And Vaso da Gama in Green Point looks like a complete dump, but they do a pretty good trinchada and espetada (known by insiders as the Portuguese Embassy).
23 Nov 2012, 10:02 am
@Rockn Rolla-54:
Madeira… rustic but good…
23 Nov 2012, 10:02 am
@goodstuff-49:
It is sad.
23 Nov 2012, 10:03 am
@Rockn Rolla-54: Try Adega, i think they are Portuguese.
@RainbowBanana-53:
There it is again.
Why the excuses before the match has even started.
“Anyway i believe our mentally fatigued boks can win this one!”
What is this rider about being mentally fatigued meant to mean.
And in tragic news…(my final irrelevant update for the day): Justin Bieber will indeed be performing in SA next year.
As someone said yesterday, let’s hope the world really is ending in a few short weeks….
23 Nov 2012, 10:04 am
@Rockn Rolla-55:
Yep, bit off topic but $7.00 here for a pumpkin.
Now you know the world is knackered when pumpkins cost $7.00…….$7.00……..$7.00??
23 Nov 2012, 10:05 am
@Sasuke-62:
Thats greek
23 Nov 2012, 10:06 am
@Rockn Rolla-66: Lol sorry I thought so yes.
23 Nov 2012, 10:07 am
@katman-51: Hi Katman.
When(Gin) a body kiss a body,need a body cry
23 Nov 2012, 10:07 am
@Hurricane-47:
it shouldn’t surprise you hurricane.
@Brads-48:
all it requires for idiocy to flourish is for intelligent men to do nothing…
(i wont stand idly by)
23 Nov 2012, 10:08 am
@Rockn Rolla-66: Check the menu I posted for you. Dias Tavern. Really good food (IMHO)
23 Nov 2012, 10:08 am
@ufo-60:
Madiera’s Trinchado’s are fantastic.
Da Gama’s in Green Point and Diaz Tavern in the City Bowl are my favourites.
23 Nov 2012, 10:09 am
@ufo-60: @katman-59: @The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-58:
Funny you all say that, the best porto places in Jozi also look like a brothel in Maputo at first glance, but best seafood in town, the old book by the cover clich’e
23 Nov 2012, 10:09 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-64:
23 Nov 2012, 10:10 am
Dias Tavern’s trinchado is legendary, Da Gama’s tends to be a bit smoky.
23 Nov 2012, 10:10 am
@Jeraldjay-71:
yeah… it’s closer to home so go there more often… but Da Gama’s and Diaz are both very good as you say…
Rolla can’t go wrong Rockn up to any of em…
23 Nov 2012, 10:11 am
Boks to win in the Tango of the Terribles. Both teams sadly out of step.
23 Nov 2012, 10:12 am
@WP-Forever-74:
What’s a trinchado
@Rockn Rolla-72:
yeah… decor not their strong point… but the food is lekker lekker…
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-69:
Hence the reason I haven’t responded to your many, many many inane posts.
@ufo-75:
And Chippies when you on the run.
23 Nov 2012, 10:13 am
@Hurricane-65: We were at a mates house for dinner a few nights back, and one of his kids started whinging and asking for ice cream. Mate says to the kid, “We can’t even afford the healthy stuff anymore, like vegetables….you want ice cream, go and lick the inside of the freezer”.
@Rockn Rolla-54:
When you going
I’ll go too and we can pretend to be restaurant critics
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-70:
Nice one……..i like places with a short selection on the menu, thus food being more fresh and specialised quality
23 Nov 2012, 10:14 am
@Rockn Rolla-72:
maderia is portuguese / seafood… best of both worlds…
@Dawn-77:
It’s a spicy braised beef stew.
@WP-Forever-74: Indeed, they make a fine trinchada. Their calamari tubes are also highly recommended.
But I have a real soft spot for Perseverance Tavern’s trinchada – a little spicier than most, but delicious. And it’s a pleasant spot to chill in, particularly if it’s a nice day and you sit out back.
@Brads-79:
Brads my man
You seem very dour this morning
@Brads-63: Meyer said he was concerned about the boks mental state, not me. I also find it strange that Meyer wants Lambie to play a more attacking game tomorrow. Why was he not allowed against Ireland and Scotland?
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-81:
Have to remember that one
23 Nov 2012, 10:15 am
@Dawn-82:
with fake accents as well……..im on it !!!
23 Nov 2012, 10:16 am
@katman-86:
Perseverance used to do a fantastic Eisbein.
Agreed, it is a lovely place to chill out.
I used to frequent the Buitenkant Street strip – Kimberley Hotel on the corner with Roeland, then Perseverance a little further up, carry on past Garden Centre and finish with drinks at Villa Restaurant at the top.
23 Nov 2012, 10:17 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-64:
that’s the problem with having such incredible geography, well preserved natural beauty, stunning african wildlife without comparison anywhere else in the world and a multiplicity of quaint feel good ethnicities with ‘loved by touristy types especially’ exciting cultural heritages….everybody wants to come here…everybody…
@Dawn-73: And even sadder than that…is the fact that once more Durban is being overlooked as a ‘Bieber Host City’?????
I mean WTF?
With the way our guppyland residents literally fanboytango everytime Lambie’s name is mentioned, you would think the Biebermania there would be offthefuckingcharts?
I smell a protest….
Big Concerts beware….you really don’t want an angry S_L, Puma and co outside your offices.
@katman-86:
Where’s Perseverance Tavern?. I feel like something lekker for lunch.
@ufo-78: Booysens Hotel Turfontein famous for seafood and(Yech)Tripe
23 Nov 2012, 10:19 am
@WP-Forever-91: And then roll down back to de Waal drive?
These days the only place I frequent in that part of town is Deer Park Cafe. When you have two little knee-highs, the priorities change a bit.
@Jake_White-40: That’s rich, coming from the Brumbies coach himself.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-93:
I believe Bieber’s security team advised him against performing in Durban.
@Rockn Rolla-90:
We can send everything back after almost cleaning out the plates!
23 Nov 2012, 10:20 am
@Jeraldjay-80:
absolutely… but hell its full throughout the season…
has carlos ever does his ‘water’ demo with you…? interesting…
in the days before the toll on chappies he used to take his old Merc SL500 convertible up to the viewpoint and swear blind he could get there faster than anyone else…
i made the mistake of accepting his offer one night… never been so terrified in a car in my entire life… the man is crazy… sebastian vettel could not do it faster…!!
interesting good man he is…
@katman-96:
I can’t believe the Wooden Shoe closed down.
In its place now is a grill house called Salzburger.
I have not tried it yet, apparently it’s a new owner.
@WP-Forever-98:
Do they know these Natalians travel….in packs?
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-93:
Oh my hat!
23 Nov 2012, 10:21 am
@ryecatcher-95:
i have indeed eaten their rye…
another ‘rustic’ place…
23 Nov 2012, 10:21 am
@Jeraldjay-94: If you’re heading up Buitenkant Street towards Gardens Centre, just after Roeland Street you’ll see a vacant piece of land on your left used as a parking lot, and right next to that is Perseverance. Gets a little busy on Friday lunches, so get there by 12:30 if you can.
23 Nov 2012, 10:22 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-92:
23 Nov 2012, 10:22 am
Wow a whole conversation about Portuguese restaurants and not one “Porra” reference?
Don’t people use the word “Porra” any more?
23 Nov 2012, 10:23 am
@katman-59: What is Trinchado?
Finally got my DVD copy of “Fire in Babylon”
(jeraldjay)
@WP-Forever-101: No, really? That’s very sad – one of the oldest restaurants in Cape Town. That big Dutch man (no insult – he’s from Holland) made me one of the best pan-seared steaks I’ve ever had.
@Brads-79:
no brads, i brushed you off as the idiot. you need to get your own material, you cant use mine. put a little effort into your dislike or dismissal of me.
do you want some help?
23 Nov 2012, 10:24 am
@katman-105:
Thanks buddy. I’m close by so will get their early to avoid the rush.
23 Nov 2012, 10:24 am
@Liewe Luiperd-107:
Only you
The rest of the country has moved on
23 Nov 2012, 10:25 am
@Liewe Luiperd-107:
We’re
scared
of waking
that
guy who
post like
this.
@Sasuke-108:
Asked and answered!
@Dawn-109:
Have you seen Marley yet?
@Dawn-109: The Sinead O’Connor song?
23 Nov 2012, 10:26 am
@katman-114:
@Liewe Luiperd-107:
Porra woman are hot stuff!
@katman-114:
carlos…?
I’m not sure what to think of the likely outcome of this game. Boks to shade it narrowly perhaps.
@Sasuke-108: It’s cubes of beef braised in a sauce made with plenty of white wine, garlic, chilli etc. If made well, it’s delicious. And you end up reeking of it for the rest of the day.
@Jeraldjay-116:
Not yet
@katman-117:
No
23 Nov 2012, 10:27 am
@Dawn-99:
LOL……i can see myself leaning back in the chair, half drunk, bottom buttons almost popping from over indulgence, toothpick in mouth and giving the 5 star chef the rundown in my best Hackney accent Gordon Ramsay style!…..it will work…….you can be the Whiskey and Champaign connoisseur (with a straw)
23 Nov 2012, 10:27 am
@Jeraldjay-112: Enjoy. A bowl of their trinchada washed down with a Windhoek draught would be my recommendation, but hey, it’s a free country.
23 Nov 2012, 10:28 am
@Jeraldjay-116:
Please explain to katman that his has nothing to do with Sinead o’connor
If I do it I will strip my moer
23 Nov 2012, 10:29 am
@katman-114: Who was he?
“I am a Porra?’
@Rockn Rolla-124:
Oh yes.
Sounds lekker.
@Dawn-115: Where is the answer?
23 Nov 2012, 10:30 am
@Dawn-126:
an excellent documentary…
@Sasuke-129:
@122
@Sasuke-108: @katman-122: Chicken is also cool though (hoender blokkies). Heavy on the garlic and wine, a little lighter on the peri-peri is my usual request. With a lekker sny of thick bread or a roll.
@katman-125: What is trinchada kattes?
23 Nov 2012, 10:31 am
@Rockn Rolla-54:
Dias Tavern.
The Portuguese Embassy.
23 Nov 2012, 10:31 am
@Dawn-126: Don’t get uppity, young lady. It’s a good song. Check her out here, live on the Jools Holland show. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FfIF5tThR3Q
23 Nov 2012, 10:32 am
@Sasuke-133: See post 122.
23 Nov 2012, 10:32 am
@katman-114: lol.
@Sasuke-119: except the mustachioed ones.
@Dawn-113: whashamadder Prawny? Grumpy again today? Permanent PMS?
23 Nov 2012, 10:33 am
@katman-117:
A documentry on the rise of West Windies cricket in the mid 70′s.
The days when a helmet was not part of your cricket attire.
23 Nov 2012, 10:34 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-132: Sounds great, I think Nandos added that to their menu recently.
Great topic starter
Bod will knock you up one of his legendary Katembas.
Must run. Work is piling up.
23 Nov 2012, 10:35 am
@katman-110:
Hans Roukema. He opened that restaurant with almost no budget back in 1961, apparently. In fact, apparently his friends were convinced to serve as waiters…Hans passed away in 2006.
The good news is that the restaurant that has opened in its place, the Salzburger Grill, is managed by Wolfgang Weichbold (formerly of the Salzburger Hof, original Nelson’s Eye, Aldos in the V&A) and his son Richard.
It’s still tiny, though.
23 Nov 2012, 10:37 am
@gunther-140:
As long as we avoid extraball’s 25-year-old corked pinotage.
23 Nov 2012, 10:38 am
@Delki-121:
no, the boks will win it convincingly and deservedly.
rfu’s mistake was sticking with lancaster imho. he’s going to achieve for england another run of substandard to ‘brainwashed into believing its actually true’ mediocre results dressed up as a mighty and brave effort by the england players to have ‘achieved what they have so far’…. all the way up to the next world cup…
if they’re lucky they’ll hail mary into the playoffs on the back of incredible luck on their part, some instances of really bad luck on their oppositions part and some dozy officiating.
23 Nov 2012, 10:41 am
Silly season has started early on Keo this year.
23 Nov 2012, 10:43 am
@Sasuke-145: Blame it on global warming
23 Nov 2012, 10:46 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-146:
23 Nov 2012, 10:54 am
Katman leaves and the conversation stops?
its like the popular kid leaving and taking his ball with him.
23 Nov 2012, 10:55 am
Quiet…
Cape Wankas Anon meeting…
In progress.
[Squelchsquelchsquelch]
23 Nov 2012, 10:57 am
@Heavens Game-149:
You so farking predictable.
Hope your man shine at 10 tomorrow.
23 Nov 2012, 10:57 am
@Sasuke-148:
Or his bowl of rump cubes in garlic, wine and peri-peri….
Who is the ref tommorrow? I musy have missed that NB info. I was hoping Hondo would have more information for us, on what his poison is? etc?
23 Nov 2012, 10:59 am
goodstuff #49- last time the French went down under they beat the ABs first game and just lost the second!!
23 Nov 2012, 11:04 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-151:
or that yes.
23 Nov 2012, 11:04 am
@race of tan-152: 2009? They played very well that series. Will be an intriguing series next year.
23 Nov 2012, 11:07 am
@Heavens Game-149:
Yawn
23 Nov 2012, 11:08 am
Got to run, work piling up
Have to produce some Treated Effluent Maps.
Safe
23 Nov 2012, 11:15 am
@Sasuke-156:
now you talking crapp…!!
23 Nov 2012, 11:21 am
@Dawn-155: This is the only place that will have him, and now that there’s no one to egg him on he’s like a lost **** ina perfume factory.
Still around, but unsure of what to do about it.
23 Nov 2012, 11:38 am
England going take this one Im afraid….
They want it more.
23 Nov 2012, 11:48 am
@ufo-120: Hi Ufo.I was speaking at total cross purposes on Monday.Was talking about Ian Kirkpatrick A.B captain.
Must have confused the hell out of people..
23 Nov 2012, 11:54 am
@McAwesome-159: What makes this so?
23 Nov 2012, 11:58 am
They are very hungry to beat you due to their recent poor record against you.
The draw earlier this year will give them belief. Also they have just lost to Ozzie so they will come back stronger. Youve beaten your last opponents and are fatigued. I suspect you will be lacking motivation in comparison to the Poms.
What do you think?… Are you calling a Bok victory?
23 Nov 2012, 12:02 pm
@ryecatcher-160:
Good morning sir.
Yeah, that’s more like it.
Must’ve been ’76 then.
England to win tomorrow. Lambie is way too confuse nowKuick the ball…play your own game…no, kick the ball…no-no, play your own game…
23 Nov 2012, 12:05 pm
@ryecatcher-160:
hey rye…
i thought as much… which is why i asked if it was indeed a test… as two boks could not have faced-off against each other in a test… thought you may have mean a CC game…
no worries though…
23 Nov 2012, 12:06 pm
Good fightback by Greame Smith and the boys. Long may it continue tomorrow and the day after.
First things first…avoid the follow on. Still another 134 runs to go to do that.
Rudolph will have to come to the party. Hope he gets a big ton.
23 Nov 2012, 12:10 pm
@McAwesome-162: Yes, but not with as much conviction as I would hope to.
There is a fair bit riding on this game for the Boks too. Many people would consider a loss tomorrow as a failed year and vice versa. I don’t think the Boks will be lacking any motivation.
I think the teams are pretty well matched in the backs, but the Boks have a stronger pack. If we can remain disciplined, we should take this by a margin of between 5 and 10.
23 Nov 2012, 12:13 pm
Joe Launchbury did play vs Etzebeth in the Junior world cup for the U20s 2 years ago and got the better of him should be an interesting match up 2moro
England fear Willem Alberts the bloke has a unique body shape very hard to tackle him
Tom Wood and Chris Robshaw are statistically great tacklers but they can’t afford to miss tackles on Alberts
23 Nov 2012, 12:15 pm
@katman-166:
“If we can remain disciplined………………………………..”
Yeah right.
23 Nov 2012, 12:20 pm
@john123-167:
nice piece here… (posted on other thread too)
Bagshot, England – A new generation of second-row “enforcers” go head to head at Twickenham on Saturday as Joe Launchbury of England and Eben Etzebeth of South Africa find themselves with the daunting label at the tender age of 21.
Etzebeth has already earned rave reviews after nine Tests filling the boots of former Springbok hard man Bakkies Botha while Launchbury will make his first start after similarly impressing the England management in his two appearances off the bench.
Etzebeth is free to play having been cleared of an eye gouging charge in last week’s win over Scotland, and having gone toe to toe with Australia’s Nathan Sharpe in the Rugby Championship, with just a hint of a headbutt thrown in for good measure, he, at 2.03m and 123 kg, is clearly not a man to be intimidated.
But then nor is Launchbury, who was brought in by Stuart Lancaster as one of six changes from last week’s defeat by Australia to add some beef to the pack.
Five centimetres shorter and eight kilograms lighter, Launchbury is nevertheless a real force and he is looking forward to meeting up with Etzebeth again having beaten him and his South African side in last year’s under-20s world championship.
“Eben’s doing a great job, he’s six months younger than me and he’s playing his 10th Test so he’s doing fantastically,” Launchbury told reporters on Thursday.
“If I can get up to his standards then that’s great for me. He wasn’t so well known when we played in the under-20s and I’ve got very fond memories of that game. We pipped it 26-20 but it was close right to the end.
“This Saturday is a big physical game for my first start but I do really enjoy the physical side of things.”
Launchbury’s eyes were opened to South African rugby when he spent two months training with Eastern Province two years ago.
Sent by his new club Wasps to work on his fitness, he discovered quickly that it was sink or swim.
“My first day there I was literally straight off the plane and they said ‘right, live scrums and mauls tomorrow morning at 8am’ so I thought ‘ah, so that’s how you do things over here’ and it was a bit of a culture shock,” he said.
“I’d gone from playing semi-pro rugby so it was a massive step up, the physicality was huge and it really hit me.
“It’s a real macho rugby culture but I got used to it quickly and by the end I didn’t want to come home.”
Having toughened himself up physically, Launchbury soon found he had some mental development to do as chaos off and on the field at Wasps last year meant he became a regular for the London club when most of his peers in the Premiership were playing reserve games.
“At the start of the season we thought we were going to have a strong squad but we were decimated with injuries to the forwards and there were times when we had eight or nine guys under-20 starting, which in the Premiership is not ideal,” he said.
“So we really had to grow up and play above our age, get stuck into matches and not be too scared of our opposition.
“I played a lot of games last year that might have been stretched over two or three years so it was good for me and I had to take a leading role in that pack.
“It was a steep learning curve for all of us and we’ve been able to kick on.”
The result is a place in an England set-up geared very much for an assault on the 2015 World Cup with Lancaster giving opportunities to the new generation.
Launchbury, who grew up idolising World Cup winning-captain and fellow lock Martin Johnson, says it is a place he can thrive.
“There are a lot of young guys with not too many caps and there are no egos, no extended groups,” he said.
“Everyone’s in it together and it’s a fantastic environment for me to learn from.”
The clash at Twickenham kicks-off at 16:30 (SA time) on Saturday.
23 Nov 2012, 12:23 pm
@cane-168:
hows that thomson appeal going?
any updates?
23 Nov 2012, 12:25 pm
@cane-168: It’s something we’re working on, okay. You lot could also use a little self-reflection.
And that was way too many full stops to be taken seriously.
23 Nov 2012, 12:27 pm
Yh its a great story Joe Launchbury got rejected by Harlequins (Produce alot of England talent) worked in a supermarket, played division 4 rugby
Just shows you can still make it even if you get rejected at a young age
Atmosphere at Twickenham should be electric
Just hope this bloody weather improves! Been very windy and rain pelting down hope by 2moro conditions are better
I dont want to see a kickfest!
23 Nov 2012, 12:28 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-170:
The Adjudicator in the first hearing was an IRB Appointment.
Why would they alter the original ban.
It would just make them look silly.
But no, bakkies, I updates.
23 Nov 2012, 12:33 pm
@cane-173:
now caner, there’s nothing silly about a fair, consistent and unbiased set of judicial processes.
why would they not alter the original ban?
it’s already made them look silly.
ok no updates then, but thanks for your input all the same.
23 Nov 2012, 12:34 pm
Good luck to him for a long successful career… It will be a close game… Lets hope fof a memorable one for the right reasons… and no refereeing controversies…
May the team that deserves it most, by playing the better rugby, win.
23 Nov 2012, 12:35 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-170: @katman-171:
Your Cricket team is showing some spine and discipline.
Springboks could learn at thing or two from these guys.
23 Nov 2012, 12:36 pm
As custodians of rugby worldwide, the IRB has a duty to protect its image, values and integrity, together with the welfare of players at all levels in order that the sport can continue its unprecedented growth and welcome more men, women and children to the rugby family.
This IRB disciplinary regulation is intended to protect all players and the Game through the strict application of a sanctioning regime that acts as a strong deterrent against acts of foul play. This stance was reaffirmed by leading international players, coaches, referees and administrators attending the IRB morality conference in London in March this year, who unanimously agreed that a tough and consistent stance on discipline is key to rugby’s integrity.
After careful consideration and having reviewed the full written decision in the Thomson case well within the permitted 72 hours of receipt, the IRB strongly believes that the sanction of one week is unduly lenient for this particular act of foul play and not aligned with the sanctions handed down in similar cases. The IRB firmly believes it is in the best interests of the Game and its integrity to exercise its ability to appeal the Thomson decision.
The right of appeal by the IRB (in defined circumstances) and for host unions and tournament organisers was introduced into the revised Regulation 17, effective on June 1 this year, to uphold the integrity of the disciplinary process in appropriate cases.
23 Nov 2012, 12:41 pm
@ryecatcher-160: This one’s for you, Rye
(Don’t take offence!)
Cliff Clavin on beer
“Well, ya see, Norm, it’s like this… A herd of buffalo can only move as fast as the slowest buffalo. And when the herd is hunted,it is the slowest and weakest ones at the back that are killed first. This natural selection is good for the herd as a whole, because the general speed and health of the whole group keeps improving by the regular killing of the weakest members.
“In much the same way,the human brain can only operate as fast as the slowest brain cells. Excessive intake of alcohol, as we know, kills brain cells. But naturally, it attacks the slowest and weakest brain cells first.
“In this way, regular consumption of beer eliminates the weaker brain cells, making the brain a faster and more efficient machine. That’s why you always feel smarter after a few beers.”
23 Nov 2012, 12:42 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-174:
“now caner, there’s nothing silly about a fair, consistent and unbiased set of judicial processes. ”
Adam has ALREADY had a fair, unbiased judicial hearing.
How many times must he face Judgement.
This is a Anti-Kiwi witch-hunt.
23 Nov 2012, 12:42 pm
@cane-176:
if anything i’d say its the other way around.
most important though is that the proteas need to learn how to play knockout cricket.
23 Nov 2012, 12:43 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-178:
LOL……………………………………………….in capitals.
23 Nov 2012, 12:43 pm
@cane-179: No, Adam got what’s known here in SA as “medical parole”.
23 Nov 2012, 12:45 pm
@cane-179:
“This is a Anti-Kiwi witch-hunt.”
wow cane, this must certainly be the first time in history those words have entered the english lexicon. i suggest we save the post and use it as proof that you were the first to introduce it.
23 Nov 2012, 12:49 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-178: Classic
@BrumbiesBoy-178:
ja, baie snaaks
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-180:
Knock-out,
The one day stuff.
That’s the way the cookie crumbles bakkies.
Luck……………………………….a most important commodity.
But it is not something you manage, buy, or train for.
You Okes should be very proud of your Proteas.
23 Nov 2012, 12:50 pm
@Jake_White-40: If the passer is stopped by a tackle, the ball can go ahead of him but it doesn’t make it forward. It’s the direction of the pass from the passer’s hands. To me it looked as flat as JdV’s pass to Habana before his try in the last game vs NZ. Was that forward?
23 Nov 2012, 12:52 pm
@WP-Forever-177:
seems very reasonable to me and gets my wholehearted support.
only question is when does the appeal process get under way.
23 Nov 2012, 12:53 pm
Adam Thomson stamped on a man’s head and now there are Kiwis who are shocked that the standard lenient suspension reserved solely for the All Blacks is being reviewed.
News flash: Paddy O’Brien doesnt run things at the IRB anymore. Kiwis prepare yourselves for the same treatment as everybody else!
No more pampering or special treatment. Get used to it!
23 Nov 2012, 12:58 pm
@SIumtown-189:
Slummer,
Adam,
gently placed his foot on the head gear
of the Jock with the Polish name.
Let’s not get carried away with outrageous exaggerations here.
23 Nov 2012, 13:03 pm
Cane you know as well as I do that if the stamper in question had been a Springbok, the punishment would have been more severe no questions asked.
Not only that, but you lot would be chanting the word “thug” like its going out of fashion.
23 Nov 2012, 13:03 pm
@cane-186:
ag you know cane, its hard to be happy with a national team so intent on holding onto a chokers tag which is close on 16, or more, years old now.
yes they are showing a ‘sort of’ improved consistency under Kirsten and have done well to take the no.1 test, and until recently the odi, rankings but more than anything in the universe i want them to get this all black type mother of a choking m.onkey off their backs.
our pathetic performance in the T20 world cup, in spite of having Kirsten there, just brought back long suppressed and awful memories.
23 Nov 2012, 13:08 pm
@SIumtown-191:
you’d be better off injecting yourself with heroin than trying to point out nz indiscretions to a kiwi, seriously.
23 Nov 2012, 13:09 pm
@cane-190: No, he’s a thug by the Kiwi definition of thuggery (which we have explained to us on a daily basis here). He’s a thug and he’s about to have his medical parole revoked.
Not sure why you guys are upset at this though. Liam Messam is much better, and then there’s Victor Vito too.
Let him go, caner. It’s like Frank Zappa said: “If you lose your watch in a river of lava, leave it man, because it’s gone.”
23 Nov 2012, 13:09 pm
or the larfable inconsistency in the level of punishment for anything they do and the rest of the rugby playing world.
23 Nov 2012, 13:11 pm
@katman-182:
-Adam was cited.
-Adam was found to be a transgressor of the Rules of the Game, by a neutral Official appointed by the IRB.
-Judgement was passed down upon Adam.
That should be the end of the matter.
But no, The Eye Gougers and their Lackeys in the IRB, continue to persecute Adam.
23 Nov 2012, 13:12 pm
@ufo-157:
funny.
23 Nov 2012, 13:13 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-193: Lol, true…. Notice how Thomson’s indiscretion has been described as “gently placing his foot on the other player’s head”.
The shine from his halo is hurting my eyes!
23 Nov 2012, 13:15 pm
@katman-194: We’re not bothered by him being banned, i’d rather he got 2-3 weeks and was sent home. As far as I know, most Kiwis think 1 week was lenient but more than 2-3 would be too much. The issue is that the IRB is taking too long to review it. What do they need to review?
Is it too short? Yes
What is more appropriate? 2-3 weeks.
So why don’t they just do it? They embarrass themselves by waiting a few weeks then telling him that the three matches he had to sit out were sufficient anyway. They look toothless by not acting
23 Nov 2012, 13:16 pm
@cane-196: Adam got “the insider’s deal” from the commission, and everyone knows this. He got a Yengeni Mercedes, a Shaik parole, a Zuma corruption trial. Someone at the IRB grew a set of balls though, and looks like that sht might stop.
23 Nov 2012, 13:17 pm
@SIumtown-191:
I agree …………………………………………………….I am not perfect.
I don’t even try to be.
But in this case, even the so called victim, said there was no case to answer.
BUT NO……………………………….you Okes smell blood, and you circle like Jackels (sic).
23 Nov 2012, 13:19 pm
@Sasuke-197:
Appropriate punishment for the Ginger Sheepshagger…
Line Adam against a wall…
Then shoot him dead…
One less Ginger Sheepshagger…
@Heavens Game-203: Problem solved…
23 Nov 2012, 13:20 pm
@SIumtown-198:
yip, and was an ‘inexplicable moment of madness’.. the likes of which ‘runs contrary to the every fibre and strand of all decent sport loving kiwis’…
you must remember that more than anything, he is and has always been ‘a top bloke’… in a land of good decent blokes.
he just wouldn’t do that… its not in him…
23 Nov 2012, 13:20 pm
@katman-200: That’s the problem, no one grew a set of balls. I guarantee he won’t get more then 2-3 weeks. Which means what, he missed the England match and we have to play Vito instead?
23 Nov 2012, 13:22 pm
i mean…. if Adam says he didn’t do it….
23 Nov 2012, 13:23 pm
@SIumtown-198:
Adam is 30 years old. (give or take a yr).
And this was his first ever meeting with an IRB Judicial Official.
The Jock doesn’t even recall the RACKING of his cranium.
Cut Adam some slack………………………………………………………..FFS.
23 Nov 2012, 13:24 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-207:
EXACTLY bakkies. Exactly.
23 Nov 2012, 13:25 pm
@gonzo-206:
no, it means a possible game changing and history altering precedent has been set, in which nz is actually fairly sanctioned for foul and dangerous play.
the setting of such a precedent might finally open up the worms nest that is nz rugby.
23 Nov 2012, 13:25 pm
@gonzo-206: Listen, I don’t think it was the most horrendous act every committed on a rugby field. If I were the judge, jury and executioner, I would have given him 4 weeks and a slap around the ears. But one week was a joke.
23 Nov 2012, 13:26 pm
@cane-209:
can i get a hallelujah
23 Nov 2012, 13:28 pm
@cane-208: Well, he deserved a citing a few years ago for the way in which he hit the deck when Rory Kockott slapped him lightly on the cheek. Certainly dodged a bullet there.
23 Nov 2012, 13:28 pm
And if one green bottle should accidentally fall…
Shoot the farker…
Put it down… Out of its misery
23 Nov 2012, 13:29 pm
Anyway,
This is a Thread …………………………..supposingly……………………………Previewing : England vs Springboks.
How the fark did you Okes hijack it into an anti Kiwi tirade?
23 Nov 2012, 13:32 pm
@katman-213:
I never said he was perfect jackalman.
Only that he has been Judged already. And by a Neutral.
23 Nov 2012, 13:35 pm
Heans Game is here. Im outta here.
Got no time for racist idiots.
Later peeps.
23 Nov 2012, 13:36 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-210: I doubt it. If anything it’ll highlight how mismanaged the IRB is. Hopefully it forces them to review the process and become consistent so guys like Greyling, Rougerie, and Thompson get what they deserve. Time will tell
23 Nov 2012, 13:36 pm
Lets not play games here. We know what works to get the Boks gee’d up for these big ones at Twickers – 30 mins of pictures and footage showing slain ******** at the hands of Poms during the Boer War. That’s all they need.
23 Nov 2012, 13:37 pm
******** = ********
Test: Frenchman
23 Nov 2012, 13:43 pm
@Yetirat-220:
Try again yeti.
23 Nov 2012, 13:44 pm
@SIumtown-217: Seriaas?
Go get a life while you at it…
23 Nov 2012, 13:51 pm
I’ll be at twickenham this weekend rocking my brand new 2007 world cup bokke scarf. £7 of ebay and it’s the real deal canterbury thing!
This is my first bokke test, and I’m literally wetting my pants.
therest of me will be wet thanks to the predicted torrential downpours expected for the whole game
23 Nov 2012, 13:57 pm
@Gtown-223: Hah, enjoy this one. It’s going to be a bruiser. And don’t take sht from those pasty mud-islanders. It is your duty to remind them of the laws of the game, of the referee’s mistakes and of the misery that is their damp existence.
23 Nov 2012, 13:58 pm
@nama1-163: Sorry Pal.Meant to copy you when you came on.Was1976
23 Nov 2012, 14:00 pm
@nama1-163: He will shine
23 Nov 2012, 14:05 pm
@Gtown-223:
Great stuff
Enjoy every moment
23 Nov 2012, 14:05 pm
@Gtown-223:
Enjoy Gtown enjoy.
23 Nov 2012, 14:06 pm
@Gtown-223:
cool stuff bud…
enjoy it…!!
23 Nov 2012, 14:07 pm
@nortierd-227:
I may as well have left that last post to you.
23 Nov 2012, 14:07 pm
@katman-224: thanks bru…
…apparently springboks really like nibbling on rose petals…
23 Nov 2012, 14:08 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-178: LOPL No offense
taken
23 Nov 2012, 14:15 pm
@cane-215: Just add water
With a dash of Bakkies….
23 Nov 2012, 14:16 pm
@ryecatcher-232: LOPL = LOL
Weak brain cells at work.
23 Nov 2012, 14:16 pm
@Gtown-223: Enjoy!!!!!
23 Nov 2012, 14:17 pm
@nortierd-227: @cane-228: @ufo-229:
thanks y’all!
23 Nov 2012, 14:18 pm
@ryecatcher-234: I greeted you on the Carter thread, but let me say Hi again
Friday afternoon blues seem to have hit one and all
23 Nov 2012, 14:23 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-235: and you!
We’re going to be sitting in the middle of the English supporters as I got the tickets from a card carrying England supporter mate who can’t make it. So look out for 2 ous, one heavily tattooed (my chommie) and one with a brand new 2007 world cup Springbok scarf!
23 Nov 2012, 14:30 pm
@Gtown-238: You’ll be stuck in the middle of about 800 guys wearing brand new 2003 England World Cup scarves
It should be unreal. Twickenham is a really special place to watch rugga…..Goosebump stuff.
Earplugs are necessary if ‘Swing Low’ irritates you in any way/shape or form.
Hopefully the Boks don’t give the crowd much reason to sing
23 Nov 2012, 14:32 pm
@gonzo-218:
i could live with that.
could you..?..
23 Nov 2012, 14:34 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-237: Hello Pedigreed Lady.Received your previous greeting.Thanks.England talking themselves up big time for tomorrow.
I feel my age.Will visit the dark side tonight.Skop and others
dominating Hougaardt site.Clever people.I mean that.Skop is very well read.
23 Nov 2012, 14:39 pm
@ryecatcher-241: England always talk themselves up
Whether it’s soccer/rugby/cricket/bowls or polo….. Their national psyche is something else my friend.
Skop is super intelligent, very few can deny that.
What confuses people is the litany of runtcnuts/fckadillyfacefcuks/pisswillies…..
23 Nov 2012, 14:48 pm
only problem with twickenham, as opposed to milleneum or murrayfield, one has to walk for bloody miles to find a decent pub afterwards.
and, to make it worse, one is normally surrounded by pasty poms – and mounted police (probably to prevent one from altering the outlook of said poms)
23 Nov 2012, 15:11 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-240: Hi Bakkies.How are you.?I used to greet you as “old Cynic’ which I imagined
was a rough term of affection acceptable between men. And then
I researched the word.The main proponent off this philosophy
was a guy called Diogenes of Sinopes.Between annoying Alexander
the Great and Plato he woul
1.Walk through the streets of Athens with a lighted lamp held aloft
even though it was broad daylight,proclaiming that he w as looking
for a honest man.
2.Barked in public
3 Urinated on people who insulted him.
4 Masturbated in public.
So will not greet you in tyhis manner again.
BTW I dig him.Total eccentric.How dull life be if we were all clones of each other.
23 Nov 2012, 15:19 pm
@ryecatcher-244:
hi rye, i’m good thank you and how are you?
diogenes sounds like my kind of guy for sure haha and if anything i have sought to consistently hold a light up to ‘these silly kiwis’ in broad daylight in the hope of finding an honest man
please, no offense taken at all although i cant say i’m about to start urinating on kiwis or publically masturbating at the prospect of them getting their just desserts
yes agreed, variety more than anything is the spice of life and when all put together puts the taste in the human soup that we are haha
23 Nov 2012, 21:58 pm
I dont care how the boks win I dont care by how much
Just beat England
23 Nov 2012, 22:11 pm
@CoachPete-246:
Agreed
One good thing about the Boks this year is that it has been fairly easy to predict their outcomes and get close to their scores on Superbru (except for the 2 draws that is)
24 Nov 2012, 14:09 pm
It’s raining in Twickenham and has been for some time.
24 Nov 2012, 14:37 pm
COME ON ENGLAND !!
24 Nov 2012, 14:37 pm
COME ON ENGLAND
24 Nov 2012, 14:38 pm
“Swing Low Sweet Chariot” !!
24 Nov 2012, 14:38 pm
“I think the ambulance will take us home” !!
24 Nov 2012, 14:40 pm
WRS off to see the AB’s annihilate the Welsh in Cardiff !!
24 Nov 2012, 14:41 pm
@carol-252:
Well, there is Eben Etzebeth!
24 Nov 2012, 14:46 pm
@I am a stormer-254:
A man mountain!
24 Nov 2012, 14:52 pm
@carol-255:
Just hope it’s a good game. It is a must win for both teams. I just expect a forward dominated game with the conditions as they are.
But sadly, Wales are up against it today.
24 Nov 2012, 14:56 pm
@I am a stormer-256:
I think frankly we do not stand a chance today, even with a weakened Springbok side!
Although your kickers are missing Percys guiding hand and loosing valuable points!
Wales fans will enjoy some great singing in a fantastic stadium, then it will go downhill!!
24 Nov 2012, 15:05 pm
@carol-257:
Land of our Fathers is a great anthem particularly when sung in Cardiff. But as you say, that has been the highlight of the last 2 weeks. and it ain’t gonna change today.
The Boks are wary of England. It is going to be a humdinger and only a couple of points will separe them. This is the big one for the Boks. The one we really want to win.
24 Nov 2012, 15:06 pm
separe = half done.
separate
24 Nov 2012, 15:06 pm
If HM is using inexperience as an excuse, he certainly can’t use it against England who have 233 caps against our 431.
24 Nov 2012, 15:07 pm
@David-260:
Remember what HM has said from the word go. “There are no excuses.”
England, away, is the big one on this tour.
24 Nov 2012, 15:09 pm
Awful weather in London today. Grey, cold and it has been raining all morning……and I doubt it will stop until later this evening. So it should be a forward dominated game.
24 Nov 2012, 15:14 pm
@XV-262: In which case it’s ours.
24 Nov 2012, 15:19 pm
Glad to see the Italy-Aus test is on at the same time. At least there will be some rugby to switch over to when the Boks start playing their usual rubbish.
24 Nov 2012, 15:23 pm
@Rockn Rolla-83: Cesco’s in Strydom Park Randburg is worth a shout. First port of call for lunch when visiting ebronxi. Peri peri chicken livers will cause a death one day.
24 Nov 2012, 15:24 pm
@XV-262: and that’s something we should be surprised about?
24 Nov 2012, 15:30 pm
@TASSIES-265:
That place is an institution.
24 Nov 2012, 15:31 pm
@XV-262:
London – grey, cold and miserable.
And that’s just the people.
24 Nov 2012, 15:37 pm
@I am a stormer-261:
I don’t see why it should be. This is a new and young England side that shouldn’t be seen as anything to crow about if we win.
24 Nov 2012, 15:42 pm
England v South Africa may be game of the weekend but in terms of road to the WC2015 the main game will be played in Dublin. Vamos Pumas!
24 Nov 2012, 15:43 pm
@David-269:
It’s the old foe. And this is a far from a settled Bok side just yet. Mainly in the backs. England always is the big one on the EOYT.