Preview: England vs Springboks
23 Nov 2012
RYAN VREDE, in London, analyses the key match-ups and picks the winner of the Test at Twickenham.
It shouldn’t be this way, but I sense the result of this Test will determine, in the minds of most, whether the Springboks’ season has been a success or failure. If, based on Heyneke Meyer’s standard, the Springboks want to be the best in the world, consistent victories over their benchmark, the All Blacks, represent the standard they must strive towards. And, having lost twice to the world champions this season, the outcome of this match is of relative irrelevance in the broader picture.
What a win will achieve is the stated goal of a tour sweep and indeed a significant step forward for this young and inexperienced team. The injury crisis they are enduring has been played down, but it would be grossly unfair to measure them against a standard they can be expected to achieve with a fully fit squad (as some have done). That said, I believe even the current group are superior to their embattled opponents across most key areas.
The Springboks have shown nothing on this tour to suggest they will replicate the comprehensive win they achieved here under Peter de Villiers a couple of years ago. Their kick-chase method has been lamented but statistics show it to have largely been successful in gaining the territory they seek. The sterility of their attack in the red zone is the real point of concern, with a high error rate further undermining their cause.
Of course the potential exists for something to click and for them to find a level of precision in their attack they’ve only exhibited at Loftus against Australia. However, the greater likelihood is for the Springboks to accumulate points gradually through the boot of Pat Lambie. For this to happen it is imperative that they are dominant at the gainline, forcing penalties in kickable positions. The responsibility will be on their primary strike runners to sustain their efforts through 80 minutes in this regard. They were excellent in patches over the last fortnight and when they’ve buzzed the Springboks have looked a force of note. Furthermore, if they can set up the rolling maul in good positions, England will have no response to the Springboks’ main attacking weapon.
England have shown themselves capable of contesting this facet of play well, stifling their opponents’ momentum. They’ve spoken all week about the level of physicality that will be required to blunt the Springboks, and how the visitors fare in the early exchanges will set the tone for the rest of the match.
They certainly have fronted defensively, conceding two tries on tour despite defending for touching 80 minutes (two halves when the opposition has been completely dominant). England will play a similar pattern to the Springboks, kicking deep and hoping to ‘play’ further up the pitch. The scrum will be an area they target, especially after the Springboks’ struggles in this facet of play against Scotland. If they gain dominance here, it will aid their cause to break down the tourists’ granitic defence. Similarly if they elevate their gainline play from their showing last week to boss the Boks, and create the time and space for Manu Tuilagi that Meyer so fears.
It would be a show of immense mettle if the Springboks produce a telling rebuttal to that examination. Many of the players are at the last hurdle of the longest season of their careers and a clutch of them have been carefully nursed through this week. It is critical that Meyer uses his bench intelligently, being sharp in his decisions in when to hook those who are struggling. I’ve watched from the stands as some of his charges have laboured on well after they’ve been spent, but England has the quality of player to exploit defensive vulnerabilities in a manner none of their previous tour opponents could.
I don’t believe it’ll be comprehensive, but I do think the Springboks will rouse themselves for the win.
VREDE’S CALL: Springboks by 6

271 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » Show All
23 Nov 2012, 08:37 am
Drrrrrrragons
23 Nov 2012, 08:48 am
Morning
Not going to be easy by any means , I hope/believe the BOKS will win. They need to find time after this tour to get their sh*t together before the season starts next year (maybe a bootcamp for a few weeks?)
And please put Hougaard back at scrummie.
Heyneke seems very unsure and nervous to me , hopefully he will also grow into his role as coach and start making decisions he believes in and not rectify mistakes in previous games the whole time.
Enjout the game guys….
Boks by 12 !!
23 Nov 2012, 08:50 am
The Springboks went
to stuff up the Poms.
“You must dig deep,
to stuff up the Poms.
Our finest team we bring,
to stuff up the Poms!”
Thus spake Heyneke the King,
“Go stuff up the Poms!
Stuff up the Poms.
We just have to Win!
Go stuff up the Poms!
Get the job done!”
23 Nov 2012, 08:55 am
I lamented seeing that word used again.
23 Nov 2012, 09:05 am
The odds are nearly even
Kirchner, De Jongh and Steenkamp will make it happened for the Poms, Lambie and Pienaar will get the blame
Joburg bookies are somewhat un assured, I’ve tried to put the Poms at 1:5 which was not accepted!
Makes you thinking?
23 Nov 2012, 09:14 am
@Hondo-5: Tell us about the referee. In whose pocket is he this weekend?
23 Nov 2012, 09:16 am
Win or lose makes no difference as far as I can tell.
Both teams are playing average rugby, so if one or the other clicks on the day it means bugger all in the overall scheme of things.
There is plenty to work on what ever the result.
23 Nov 2012, 09:20 am
@Brads-7:
AB’s in for a tough game tomorrow.
The Welsh will lift their game.
23 Nov 2012, 09:20 am
@katman-6:
Jezzus, not content to excusing the shortcomings of your own team, you are now hedge betting on a biased ref.
How bloody sad is that.
23 Nov 2012, 09:25 am
And in other, even less relevant news: Nandos seems to be taking a strong lead in the Saffa Fave Take-away chicken survey….
23 Nov 2012, 09:26 am
@Brads-9: Try to keep up with the clever kids, Brads. I’m mocking Hondo’s rabid obsession with ref bias.
It’s all right, don’t mention it.
23 Nov 2012, 09:28 am
@katman – I thought it was bloody funny!
@Jeraldjay-8:
Yes, I agree.
NZ openly targeted the Wales and England matches as their biggest challenge.
Scotland played above expectations in what I suspect was inspired indignation, ditto Italy.
All the while England and Wales have lost focus and ignored the fact all tests, and not just the ones against the prickly Kiwi’s, are a handful
@Jeraldjay-8: Nah, gonna be a cake walk, Welsh are playing terrible ruggas without their Gat-land.
23 Nov 2012, 09:30 am
@Brads-9: Don’t worry boet, you can remove the bounty on Wayne Barnes’ head. I think it’s time…
23 Nov 2012, 09:34 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10:
really? i like nandos.
and it seems to be gaining quite a lot in popularity overseas too.
definitely better than deep fried chicken.
23 Nov 2012, 09:35 am
@goodstuff-14:
Gatland is back.
@goodstuff-15:
No way thats not fair!!
23 Nov 2012, 09:37 am
Sheesh Brads…
you really don’t have a sense of humour do you… take rugby, the abs, life, yourself… sooo seriously…
suggest you go see that movie by that famous director QuickGun GuaranteeNo…
ChillPill…!!
you must be the only person who didn’t know katman was pulling the peece outta hondo…
@katman-11:
You are a farktard
Why on Earth should I be expected to have an insight into your inner thoughts of someone else’s disposition base on your perceptions of their posts on quite separate and unrelated threads.
You commented on this thread, I responded.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-16:
Yep, we have em here in Christchurch. I actually knew the owner od a restaurant here.
Are they known as a fast food or restaurant in SA?
What i do know they have alot of middle eastern people going to eat there in Christchurch
23 Nov 2012, 09:38 am
Great pic on the front page of the Cape Times today of Willem Alberts driving Ben Morgan back in a previous Bok England game. Alberts looks like he means business in that pic, and he’s all over Morgan – so much so that you almost don’t see little Ruan Pienaar sandwiched in between them. Headline says something about Willem having a bone to pick with the English. I hope he does. If he and Flo have big games, we won’t lose this one.
23 Nov 2012, 09:39 am
gonna be a close game for sure… poms could easily take this one…
this english team is just going to get better and better…
go bokke…!! let’s end the year on a high…!!
@Brads-19:
“Why on Earth should I be expected to have an insight into your inner thoughts of someone else’s disposition base on your perceptions of their posts on quite separate and unrelated threads.”
WOW
@Hurricane-20:
They are the only outlet which is certified Halaal
23 Nov 2012, 09:40 am
@Brads-19: And you made an arse of yourself in the process. So wind your neck in and lay low until it passes.
23 Nov 2012, 09:41 am
@Dawn-23: I know. I think he got his teacher to help him with that one.
23 Nov 2012, 09:42 am
@Hurricane-20:
Fast food here in SA, i live a block down from the original Nandos, the Mecca of flame grilled porto chicken……there are places in the south of Joburg the do better chicken then that th
23 Nov 2012, 09:43 am
@Hurricane-20: They’re known as a ripoff in SA!
23 Nov 2012, 09:45 am
@Rockn Rolla-27:
Alarming
A half sentence
Did someone klap you while you were typing?
23 Nov 2012, 09:46 am
@Dawn-24:
@Rockn Rolla-27:
@BrumbiesBoy-28:
I was just going to say, we went there with the family and it cost alot of money.
Nice chicken but still alot of money, there fries/chips were awesome.
23 Nov 2012, 09:48 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10:
Big in Oz as well, 12 years ago they had one but now they are literally everywhere. Not a cheap option though but they seem to thrive.
@Hurricane-30:
So in NZ are they known as a Haute Cuisine restaurant…?
@Hurricane-30:
They are expensive
We are paying for one of the most expensive yet cleverest advertising campaigns ever conceived by a chicken outlet.
Ask katman
23 Nov 2012, 09:49 am
@ufo-32:
Thats McDonalds
23 Nov 2012, 09:49 am
@Dawn-29:
Tor het van die boot af gemoer!
23 Nov 2012, 09:50 am
they’re almost more famous for their very clever advertising…
23 Nov 2012, 09:50 am
@Hurricane-34:
23 Nov 2012, 09:51 am
@Dawn-33: Nothing to do with me.
@Dawn-33:
exactly… very clever, current, relevant… and damn funny…
Boots n All last night, i paused at the exact moment that Aus 9 makes his pass to Cummins on the Wing –
The pass is made 5m short of the 22, but caught by cummins on the 22.
Far more forward than Lambie’s pass to De Villiers in WC 2011 ala Bryce Lawrence *******.
It seems Aus are always on the receiving end of good fortune when it comes to Refs.
Why is this ?
are those shackldraggers buying results ?
23 Nov 2012, 09:52 am
@ufo-36: Me, I eat da chicken. Is where I getting my powa.
23 Nov 2012, 09:53 am
@Brads-19:
nee meneer, you is a fcktard… hou op onoosel wees.
@Hurricane-20:
they’ve branded themselves as a sort of inbetween fast food/restaurant operation. so come across as better than kfc in look and feel and also have ‘waiters’ serving you if you opt to sit down/eat in store instead of take away, but not not quite the same as a normal restaurant would feel.
23 Nov 2012, 09:54 am
@katman-38:
I know.
23 Nov 2012, 09:55 am
@Dawn-29:
Hahahahahaha……it does look like it hey !!!!!
@Dawn-43: I know you know.
@ufo-3: Hi Pal
@Jake_White-40:
WHAT!!
Do you mean a ref missed a forward pass?
Bakkies, sort this cr@p out. This cannot go on.
23 Nov 2012, 09:56 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-42:
I thought we had an agreement?
Is this the limit of your integrity. 1 Month
23 Nov 2012, 09:57 am
So sad that France is not playing AB’s this NH tour. Not gonna be as close in NZ next year. Wales and England will fall to the sword.
23 Nov 2012, 09:57 am
@katman-41:
you get da full power from da extra hot peri peri power…
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » Show All