Slick Blacks cruise past Wales

GARETH DUNCAN watched the All Blacks pick up a convincing 33-10 win over Wales in Cardiff.

The All Blacks reigned supreme at the Millennium Stadium as they scored three tries and restricted Wales to only two scores – both coming in the second half. Flank Liam Messam, prop Tony Woodcock and lock Luke Romano all crossed the chalk for the victors.

Aaron Cruden, who was a late replacement for the injured Dan Carter (Achilles) in the starting line-up, also impressed at flyhalf and kicked all seven of his goal attempts. This included three conversions and four penalties.

New Zealand’s overall interplay, even between forwards and backs, and attacking confidence was the major difference between the two teams. Their defence also proved to be a strong guard, especially in the final quarter.

Wales had three kickable penalties during opening moments, but their decision to search for the try proved to be unrewarding.

Wales also suffered two setbacks during the second minute of the match as tighthead prop Aaron Jarvis and lock Bradley Davies were substituted early. Jarvis suffered an unfortunate knee injury after being cleaned out by flank Richie McCaw and outside centre Conrad Smith, while Davies received a punch from hooker Andrew Hore.

The All Blacks absorbed the hosts’ early ascendancy and the momentum eventually switched hands.

Cruden built on this, kicking three penalties before Messam finished off a smart counter-attack. Fullback Israel Dagg committed several defenders before offloading to the rushing wing Julian Savea. He kept the ball alive, with assistance from Cruden in the Welsh red zone. The ball was rushed to the other side of the field, where Messam found space out wide.

Woodcock powered over thereafter following a smart lineout move. The All Blacks led 23-0 at half-time.

A try from lock Luke Romano and five points (a conversion and penalty) via Cruden’s boot was enough to seal the win.

Wales scored a try via a strong rolling maul, which surprisingly saw replacement centre Scott Williams dotting down. All Blacks wing Cory Jane was yellow carded on the hour mark, but the Dragons failed to capitalised on their one-man advantage.

However, the Welsh did grab their second consolation try in the 77th minute via wing Alex Cuthbert.

223 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

• 1.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Abs……Dragon slayers…..56 years of domination…..to continue?

• 2.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-1: Aim higher – 59.

Meanwhile France – Samoa 0-7. :D

• 3.LITELOCK: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-1: Good morning T.Did you catch the Poms/boks game?

• 4.willievz: Reply to this comment

Come on Wales, klap the living pukana out of that.

• 5.Nils: Reply to this comment

Hore real *****. Sheesh.

• 6.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

Andrew Hore what a cheap shot. From behind too!

• 7.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Bakkies is going to love this game :lol:

• 8.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

Hore that was a cheeeaapp shot!!!!

• 9.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Bakkies might have a point… ;)

• 10.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@LITELOCK-3:
    No…judging by the comments, some disgruntled Bok supporters
    @Nils-2:
    hehe…..sorry….1953 not 56…..

• 11.Dorff: Reply to this comment

He will probably get a 2day ban which makes him eligible for next week’s game against England.

• 12.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-9:
    Ha ha, agree on that point, cheap shot, maybe a slight slap on the wrist

• 13.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

Mxhosa we are thinking the same!!
    Let’s see what the citing commissioner thinks about this!!

• 14.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Hore looks like Daniel Day Lewis in Gangs of New York and with that cheap shot fits the character as well.

Should get sited and banned for 2 years.

• 15.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Wales had the opportunity to release heir backs….lack confidence….turnover

• 16.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-12:

Cheap indeed…Let’s see if the pommie sighting guru is on hand… ;)

At least he will have a point…

• 17.Nils: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-6: Yes, cheap shot deserving decent ban. Meanwhile I recall one called HG drooling here over similar cheap shot from behind by Geldenhuys.

• 18.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Cited.

• 19.willievz: Reply to this comment

Andrew ***** will get 7 days for that.

• 20.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Filthy kiwis

• 21.ufo: Reply to this comment

yoh…!!
    :shock:

• 22.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

I’m sure Bakkies is making his notes… We will read all about it…

• 23.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@Nils-17:

I do not care for Springbok rugby before 1992!

• 24.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

I’m not surprised you don’t want to talk about the Bokke game after the big pile of shi t they just delivered.

• 25.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-22: It will take and effort since he does not watch any games involving the ABs – the only exception is when they take on the Bokke. :D

• 26.willievz: Reply to this comment

Dagg getting owned by an unknown Welshman.

Gonna add that to my favourites.

• 27.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Katmans fave on the mike

• 28.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Willie will you also be adding the Bokke game to your favourites?

• 29.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What’s China blathering about

• 30.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

NZ looking pretty average.

• 31.willievz: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-28: No, but I did put the haka today to my favourites. Those Movembers were awesome.

Just a pity about the pukanas, I want to see more of that.

Always puts a smile on my face :lol:

• 32.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Our props would make the Bokke backline.

• 33.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Craig Joubert is Richie’s B!tch.

• 34.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Joubert must be expecting mccaw’s child…

• 35.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

30 oh dear you are a clown

• 36.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Dagg doing the owning….awesome try

• 37.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Missed forward pass….the last time nz scored a try where there wasn’t a forward was when crime was still low in SA… Crazy

• 38.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

and thats why we are number 1 and daylight is second

• 39.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Jpp best winger in the world according to the Keo faithful

• 40.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Whoopie you guys are beating a team who lost to argentina and samoa..

• 41.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

suffer quit while you’re a long way behind

• 42.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Craig Joubert just can’t help sucking up to All Black supremacy, he blows Warburton for a false penalty then he lets an AB forward pass go through for a try. If IRB wanted a decent competition out of this game why they give the whistle to AB suck up supporter No.1? Haven’t they realized that Joubert wears black Richie McCaw endorsed underpants yet? He effectively stuffed this game up as a contest already.

• 43.Guns: Reply to this comment

Eish what a d I ck knockon poor Welshman!

• 44.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-35: People like you make it really difficult to applaud NZ. They were distinctly average before the breakaway try, with Wales passing up two opportunities to put points on the board and NZ choosing to kick for poles. You, pal, are the clown.

• 45.willievz: Reply to this comment

China, do you too have a pukana face?

• 46.Guns: Reply to this comment

Missed corner twice. Welsh fans looking rather baffled and disgraced..
    As do most bok fans today .

• 47.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Nz lucky to have 15 men on the field… Craig should never ref a kiwi game again

• 48.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

http://prem0.hiboox.com/images/4612/diapo59d7134d7d7ad7462d7b433a95a96726.gif

• 49.Nils: Reply to this comment

Samoa beating Froggies. Nice.

• 50.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

44 give it some time we’ll open them up in the 2nd 40 and b ury them like we did to you in Soweto a few weeks back

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.