Brave Boks edge Twickenham epic

RYAN VREDE watched the Springboks hold on for a 16-15 victory over England at Twickenham that secured an unbeaten tour.

The tour is over and the examination is passed. It was hardly a convincing pass. Certainly there are areas of their Test syllabus in which these Springboks and their coaches are desperately lacking. But they’ve gone unbeaten in Europe and achieved this with the least experienced side they’ve ever fielded and men ravaged by the excesses of the longest season in their careers.

They had no right to have the work-rate they did, the physicality they displayed, the sharpness of mind that marked their play at critical junctures. They refused to lose, and England, the better side for large periods, simply could not overcome that wall of will.

The value of this tour and the victories that accompanied it is immeasurable. Pat Lambie grew in confidence with every game, tonight looking a Test flyhalf of considerable promise. In Francois Louw, Willem Alberts and Duane Vermeulen they have a back row of brilliant balance. In Eben Etzebeth, the next step in second row evolution.

Then there’s that defence, the cornerstone of their success in the last three weeks. England at times looked like they were attacking on a tennis court, so condensed was their space and so limited their options. That England opted to go for a penalty with two minutes to play will be perceived by some as a act of immense belief and by others one of breathtaking cowardice. Wherever you stand, save a little praise for the impact of the fearsome Springboks defence on the England psyche.

There was something special, something desperate, something determined about this rendition of the England national anthem pre-match. It was as much a declaration of war as it was an ode to their beloved Queen. And England were fittingly belligerent throughout – bullish in contact on attack and defence and absolutely rampant at scrum time.

With torrential rain belting this famous ground and a breeze that sent the temperature plummeting to the low single figures, this inexperienced Springbok side were always going to have to win a battle of attrition and a tussle for territory. They mastered neither.

Furthermore the attack once again lacked imagination, precision and tactical intelligence. In a season where they were battered for their pragmatic play, it was ironic that in conditions and against a folding defensive line (pushing in hard from the outside), that they would look to ‘play’ more than they have at any stage on tour. England’s defensive pattern screamed for the Springboks’ primary kickers to look for the space that was left vacant behind the hard-pressing outside backs. Instead their strike runners were frustratingly often tackled before they could build momentum and they subsequently never asked any telling questions on attack.

They were fortunate that England were equally impotent, the hosts enjoying appreciable possession and territory, but they never seriously threatened to score outside of a couple of broken-field opportunities. So organised and so brutal was the Springbok defence – led by the loose trio and amplified by the rest of the team – that England were reduced to hopeful high kicks, painfully few of which found their mark.

It therefore became increasingly apparent that the result of the Test would hinge on the goal-kicking of Pat Lambie and Toby Flood. Lambie banked three penalties to Flood’s two before half-time. The England pivot, however, missed two, both stemming from scrum infringements. It was the only area of the game that England enjoyed clear dominance, but Flood’s failure to capitalise on those opportunities saw his side trail 9-6 at half-time.

The Springboks’ inability to engineer anything close to impressive on attack – not even their powerful rolling maul – was concerning, but then they profited from a bit of luck that gave them the ascendancy when Willem Alberts collected a ball that had squirted off an England player after a hacked attempted clearance. The big blindside flopped over the tryline and Lambie kicked his fourth penalty goal of the Test to give the Springboks a 10-point lead.

Meyer will lament the Springboks’ inability to pin the English in the half more than they did after establishing that buffer, ill-discipline and poor decision-making ensuring that there was never a let up in pressure.

With 12 minutes to play and Swing Low, Sweet Chariot sweeping through the stands, England found their stride. Alex Goode made it a four-point game with seven to play. This was a defining seven minutes in the Springboks’ tour, some would argue their season. A scrum on their 22m held firm when it most needed to. Ruan Pienaar cleared but England came again.

Then, inexplicably, England choose to kick a penalty with the final whistle imminent. Did they really think they would have the attacking prowess to score from at least 80m out? There’ll be a mass inquisition in the English press on Sunday. But the Springboks won’t care. Most will be nursing sore heads from a celebration they’ve earned.

189 Comments

• 1.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

Dragon Stormers

• 2.Staal: Reply to this comment

Dragons. Its raining like crazy here but we won.

• 3.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

Sorry staal.die keer myne.happy for da boys.long season.first uk tour.unbeaten.happy days.

• 4.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

And dodgy rèf.bluddy useless…

• 5.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

Not the most convincing win but we will take it.

Coming home unbeaten is a step in the right direction for Meyer. He obtains an “average” rating for his first year in charge. Had the team lost tonight he would have received a “poor” rating.

As someone who remembers the horrendous run of consecutive losses at Twickenham between 1998 and 2006 all too vividly, I’m pleased that we have restored the normal order so conclusively.

• 6.Caper: Reply to this comment

If this match is considered ‘epic’ then standards have fallen drastically…

• 7.Bagel: Reply to this comment

Just horrible to watch.

I guess I should be happy given the circumstances this team is under that they won, but it was just sh*t to watch.

Ruan Pienaar is just awful. Give me Hougaard anyday.

• 8.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

Caper.maybe not epic.but still a spectacle. history,occasion.a great excuse for a piss up.

• 9.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

Pienaar is such a C U N T
    Hougard must be Bok scrumhalf

• 10.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

Howmany times did England knock on?
    Boks just gave them back the ball

• 11.ufo: Reply to this comment

Well done Heyneke and the Boks. Bad conditions and a tough game. Well done Duane, Patrick, Eben and others.

Despite the narrow win i believe the Boks have stepped up in this game… and s with Stormers through the year… we can really say an ugly win but we’ll take it.

I feel better after this game than the previous two.

Tough luck to the England team and fans. But I still sincerely believe they have the right players and captain despite a bad decision or 2 when you think it’s only Robshaws 10th international. The Boks were quite lucky today and this English team is going to continue to grow and will be a force come 2115.

• 12.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@ufo-11: 2115? That’s a lot of time to build a team!

• 13.ufo: Reply to this comment

:lol: kaizan…

2015…

• 14.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber1-9: disgusting comment. You should be ashamed of yourself. Clearly you have no class.

• 15.Albert: Reply to this comment

Mistake after mistake in the final 25 minutes almost cost us the game. Again we were playing to survive instead of taking the game to the opposition. We are not going to be this lucky forever.

• 16.john123: Reply to this comment

A team that wins when they play badly is a sign of a good team

SA did well in those conditions

England beefed up the pack and they certainly fronted up to SA physically. Joe Launchbury was excellent on his first start he has got great hands for a big man

We got New Zealand next lol

• 17.wnbb: Reply to this comment

I must say that I love the look of our latest stormer recruit,Cilliers. :D . Oh,I see that we have a new poll out already.Hmmm,wonder whether Bulls and Sharkies still consider the Conference title as a waste of time?? :D

• 18.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-17: only if your team can’t win it, then it’s considered a waste of time

• 19.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-18: Well,if the sharks had won it then they would not have criss crossed the Southern ocean…..and offered that as an excuse for their non-showing in the super final. :D

• 20.Dorff: Reply to this comment

I feel for de Jongh and the wings. Must be terrible to play rugby but not get ball. This gameplan is whack.. Not a single ball went from scrumhalf through the hands to the wing on the entire tour..

• 21.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-19:

consistency is rewarded, boring or not
    rather win boring than lose playing exciting

• 22.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Ryan who is lining your pocket?
    Brave and epic?? 2 words I would not use for this win

• 23.groen: Reply to this comment

Look there was some dodgy calls on the day at a packed stadium. We played the most tiring season games wise with a lot of players not there still I think we showed guts. Defense sorted / Forwards sorted except some of the scrums. Now to get the back line going.

• 24.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Sooo the refs cheated in the NZ and wales game and the ref cheated here as well?
    Lucky world rugby dont take some of you South African supporters seriously.

• 25.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-22: Howzit Pete. We so often agree but this time I’ll beg to differ and go with Ryan’s summary of events.
    This was an ‘epic’ win from where I was sitting. Which was in a packed HBYC rugby venue pub. Patron consensus was pretty much about a close, exciting, ‘epic’, brave performance by both sides, in the tradition of classic Test match rugby. It might not have been ‘pretty’ but it was enthralling in terms of the above IMHO.

• 26.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-24: don’t personally believe the refs cheat Hurrie. But Nige baby didn’t enjoy his best outing today boet. I’ve seen better. Much better.

• 27.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

So, will Eben get cited again for “making contact with the opponents face”?

• 28.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-26:

Nigel Owens had an absolute shocker. My God. The scrums were a joke. Even when the Poms dropped their bund, he penalised us. Then he penalised Eben after Ben Youngs grabbed his face. Not to mention the number of skew lineout throws he ignored in favour of the Poms.

Absolutely disgraceful, dishonourable cowardice.

• 29.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-24: Hurricane its so easy to run your mouth when you are not the one whio has to endure the constant bias shown against your team.

You think we are crazy to suggest that refs could ever cheat, but I remind you of the “teach the Japies a lesson” scandal…. Are we crazy to complain about that too?

• 30.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby-27: Eben never made contact with anyone , if anything he was very in control in volatile incident.

• 31.katman: Reply to this comment

The double dive:

http://prem0.hiboox.com/images/4612/diapo59d7134d7d7ad7462d7b433a95a96726.gif

• 32.sparticus: Reply to this comment

Last week it was Brutal , this week Brave , good thing there is no more rugby cos I can see the Headline for next week – ” Befokte Boks down…..”

FYI there was nothing absolutely nothing to get excited about in the game , As good as Duane was it was like watching him in form against Boland. Twice now in a week I actually fell asleep watching the Boks , Ryan you need to pull your head a little bit out of HM a$$.

• 33.sparticus: Reply to this comment

The Halfbacks were so **** that Jean only touched the ball for the first time 5 mins before halftime. I long for super rugby.

• 34.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@sparticus-30:
    I agree, but it seems he is now a target

• 35.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-25:
    Hi Tassies
    It sok to disagree :)
    I just think we are much better then the poms

• 36.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-17:
    Agreed. he was everywhere and made some crucial tackles, and also held his own in the scrums

• 37.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-17: I get confused with Cilliers and Heinke , was that Cilliers that played in the tour games ? Thought it was Heinke lol. Can see my interest in Bok rugby have dropped tremendously

• 38.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

What was epic about that???

Conditions always meant that it would be a k.@.k match to watch, but SA made so many unforced errors, it was terrible. Poor reffing from the openly *** ref, especially at the scrums. A far cry from the great performance of Craig Joubert in the Wales vs NZ match. Why do consistently poor refs from the Northern Hemisphere continue in their positions forever instead of bringing in new talent that will do a proper job, if that is at all possible for a nh ref.

I’m still not convinced by Juandre Kruger, he is nothing special at all. Rather have Franco vd Merwe there, I think he is loaned to the Sharks for Super 15, so will be able to show what he has with a winning team even more than in the past.

In general the Bok forwards are lazy and do not want to perform their given duties at ruck time, which makes everything very slow and does not provide the go forward that a team like NZ has.

• 39.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@sparticus-37:
    Both played. One is a loosehead, the other a tighthead.

• 40.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-29: yep, holding on to something like get the japies all those years ago as proof positive today, coupled with the fact the ABs never win, especially against your unskilled dinosaur players (the ABs cheat and the refs are in their pockets, read it 100s of times daily on this blog) and the rest of the world is laughing at SA supporters..

just the sad remnants of what was once a great rugby nation now looking for any reason other than their own incompetence as to why their standing has slipped..

dont look now, but every team in world rugby thinks they can beat the Springboks, and its your own fault..

its hilarious in fact, couldnt happen t6o a nicer bunch of fckwits…

• 41.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-40:

Poppa – are you able to just have a regular discussion? Must it always be a cuss-word slugfest with you?

There were reffing errors today. Simple as that. Nice and easy to preach when things are going your way with the refs. Of course there is no chance of any foul play when the ABs get the rub of the green….

Never mind the fact that Bryce Lawrence made an unprecedented 47 errors in the WC semi final (all of which went against the Springboks, how peculiar).

Never mind the fact that your referees have been caught colluding with Australian referees.

Never mind the fact that since Paddy O’Brien was running the show in the IRB reffing board, the ABs had more penalties per yellow card than any team in world rugby.

Never mind the facts.

No let’s just sit and preach from our armchairs shall we.

Awaiting your foul-mouthed response…

• 42.the authority: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-41:

Ignore Poppa. He is the Village idiot in New Zealand. Not worth your energy.

• 43.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@the authority-42: Haha agreed.

• 44.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-41:

http://images4.hiboox.com/images/4111/diapoe8f8259bd3e71b0961f8be9d89034ade.gif

Failure to see this counts AGAINST the Boks?

Why you guys just can’t stop bleating for a single day?

• 45.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby-39: Ahhh okay , I see now. Thanks bud. Is it me or is Juandre Kruger a serious Journeyman in this team ? I dont see anything of value from him , not a dig at the guy , just an observation.

• 46.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@Nils-44: No penalty given for that. None deserved. What’s your point?

• 47.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-41: this from the country who pre isolation had refs that only spoke Afrikaans?

never mind the fact that Barnes only penalised France twice and not once in the last 60 minutes? we all have things we can complain about…

now that the tables have turned and you are getting the karma returned for all that ***** years ago really pleases me.

again, couldnt happen to a nicer bunch of neanderthals….

but hey, lucky your union shortened the tour to the NH, now you guys can say you had an unbeaten tour :lol: of course, the less games you play the more this likelihood increases..

haha SA rugby is a dinosaur, it should be put out of its misery..

it is K@K!!

• 48.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@the authority-42: says the d.utchman with superiority issues..

how strange, got your ak47 ready?

• 49.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-47: After the France v NZ quarter final, you kiwis complained more than anyone has ever complained before and now you sit there and use that game as leverage in your argument??

You are dumber than I thought.

And thanks for calling South Africans neanderthals. More racist slander and shows you can’t keep up with the facts… South Africa is made up of 80% black people. Are you saying that they are all neanderthals? Personally I don’t slander anyone because of race or nationality, but that’s just me. If you prefer to take the racist approach, then all power to you man.

No point debating anything with you. You’re free to go.

• 50.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-48: More racist slander.

• 51.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-46: That exactly was my point. Swap Burger with any AB and Pocock with any Bokke and okes here will wet themselves with rage.

“made an unprecedented 47 errors in the WC semi final (all of which went against the Springboks, how peculiar)”

Seriously, this exceeds every crybabies stuff I have seen here and that takes an effort.

• 52.Mr Gambino: Reply to this comment

Good afternoon everyone. It is with pleasure that I address you all today. My name is Mr Gambino. I am many things, but for the purposes of this website, I am a rugby expert.

I don’t get involved in discussions about race, religion, music or anything else. I talk rugby.

I don’t do replies or follow ups. I express my views verbally and my associate types and posts these views for your benefit. You are free to agree or disagree with what I have to say although it would be in your best interst to agree more often than not. An ex-associate of mine made the mistake of disagreeing with said views too often until he tragically fell off a building. New Jersey is a dangerous place and unfortunately people very sadly fall off buildings with more regularity than one would hope.

Introductions out of the way, I would like to share with you my views on something that many of you are finally getting to grips with. I would like to entitle this article “The Scrumhalf Dilemma”… So without further ado:

The Scrumhalf Dilemma – by Mr Gambino – 24 November 2012

Scrumhalf is a crucial position as I’m sure you can appreciate. The player who fills the number 9 jersey has huge responsibility and is often more of a key player than anyone on the field (barring of course flyhalf, but thats another conversation altogether and one I don’t have time for at this present moment in time).

Whilst celebrating a recent successful business venture, I got to thinking about what makes a good scrumhalf. Why is he there? Why are they normally smaller guys? The questions go on…

After pondering this particular issue, It became clear to me that the scrumhalf is the link between the forwards and the backs. He’s the guy that connects the Brawn with the Brains, (or if you prefer), he’s the link between the Muscle and the Negotiators.

We have a saying back in the old country. “All brains and no muscle makes for a very difficult business meeting”.

So after the forwards do the hard work up front and get the defence on the back foot, what you really need is a guy who can recycle the ball really quickly to the backs so that they can run at an unset defensive line. Otherwise (as I’m sure you can appreciate), what is the point of the forwards putting in that much effort to break the advantage line and render the defense disorganised?

At this point in my thinking, I lit up a cigar. It’s a Gambino family tradition to light up a cigar after a successful business negotiation. I would have given cigars to everyone in my team but my associates were pre-occupied with cleaning up the mess that some of these negotiations unfortunately leave behind. As I said before, New Jersey can be a dangerous place and accidents occassionally happen.

But I digress…

As a Springbok supporter with vested business interests in the success of South African rugby, I began asking myself abuot a scrumhalf’s kicking game… How much should a scrumhalf be tasked with kicking?

Kicking is a funny thing. It decides where the game is played and at what pace. Your primary kicker is your game controller. Your decision-maker so to speak.

I guess you could say that I am the Gambino family’s “primary kicker” if you get my drift.

I therefore had to conclude that the flyhalf should be the primary kicker as he has a better view of the field than the scrumhalf does. He is not focused on the ruck, but instead can enjoy a view of the players around him while he waits for the ball to be recycled to him. After this, he can decide whether to kick, run or pass etc.

A glass of Prosecco always goes well with a cigar. I duly took a sip at this point.

So if the scrumhalf is tasked with getting quick ball to the “primary kicker”, then the scrumhalf’s rolse as a kicker should be more secondary than primary. I mean I’m not an expert on maths, but it seems to me that is one is not primary then one is either secondary or nothing at all.

Another sip of prosecco.

I then began thinking about our current scrumhalf and asking myself why some of his decision and indeed kicks today were not up to standard. Could it be that he is kicking too much? Could it be that he is undermining the responsibility that the flyhalf should enjoy as the game-controller?

It was great Prosecco. Vintage stuff from the old country. Imported. Fabulous stuff, they don’t make it like this anymore.

After the inevitable conclusion, I decided to ask myself a new question… What would happen if we changed our mindset on how a backline should function. What if we were to give the flyhalf more responsibility as the primary kicker and game controller and instead use the scrumhalf as a secondary kicker who only kicks occassionally to relieve some of the pressure from the flyhalf instead of undermining his position in the first place?

I would say that if we were to take such an approach, then the scrumhalf would have less repsponsibility as a kicker and more energy to focus on recycling the ball quicker and more freedom to snipe when the situation calls for it. I would even allow the occassional box kick if used in moderation.

At this point, II put out my cigar in the (now empty) glass of Prosecco.
    With the above conclusion in mind, it became apparent to me that there is only one way of handling such a situation. For when players get injured, they can’t play. This often opens to the door for other players to stake their claim and prove why they are the better option.

Unfortunately we won’t have this case of affairs unless Ruan Pienaar were to become injured… Say from an accident of some sort.

The problem with this is that Pienaar seems to be one to avoid any action on the rugby field and as such he is unlikely to get injured on the rugby field.
    At this point in my thinking, I noticed that my business associates had finally finished cleaning up the mess from our recent business negotiation. I thought about our Scrumhalf dilemma again and I knew we had to take matters into our own hands if we want to solve the probelm we have, so I addressed my team…

“Everybody listen up. We have business to do. Book us some flights. We’re going to South Africa”.

• 53.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@Nils-51: No throwing your toys out your pram because the IRB dared to review Adam Thomson’s case… That exceeds any crybaby stuff I have ever seen here.

• 54.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-53: @Kaizan-53: no, the crying about etsebeth was worse..

justice 4 ring any bells?

haha saffas, always crying yet soooooo hypocritical..

• 55.poppa69: Reply to this comment

still crying Kaizan about the WC? hahaha gees, you guys have been crying about 87 not being a “real world cup” because you werent there, so our “cries” about 07 pale in comparison..

but what to expect from a nation that coaches their players to be thugs..

at one stage having 3 gougers in the same team..

Bakkies, Burger and Bismarck

disgusting stuff, but then it is routinely and systematically taught to Saffa players, should we be surprised?

• 56.Delki: Reply to this comment

Children please stop the inane NZ/SA jealously. Watch rugby and enjoy it!

• 57.poppa69: Reply to this comment

I must admit though, after 4 years of the constant chokers tag, my delight at having so many years of Saffa mediocrity to throw in your faces really is rather sweet

but I do so off the back of my own teams victories, not like those Saffas who lived vicariously of Frances win in 07… that really was hilarious..

still, why dont you guys fck off up north, you seem to be at the same standard, as evidenced by this years AI tour… but I understand, the home unions dont really like you guys either, and who can blame them..

• 58.poltergeist: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-57: shouldnt you be at home having intercourse with your daughter?

• 59.poltergeist: Reply to this comment

@poltergeist-58: I was done with her ages ago…

• 60.nama1: Reply to this comment

Congrats Hm and your team on an undefeated EOYT. That’s all I can say to you.

This team play utter kak rugby. I am so freakin ashamed to associate myself with them at this stage with the way they play.

The English beat us fair and square, except on the scoreboard and that is only due to a try that never was. An absolute diabolical decision to award that try. At least FOUR Boks were off side after the ball bounced off JPP’s leg. At the very least it should have been a scrum for accidental off side but since Alberts and co moved forward, without being put ON SIDE, it should actually have been a penalty against us. The knock on by the English player notwithstanding. Very poor application of the rules by the ref and his assistant.

Kirchner was, as usual OK.

Hougaard was… no comment.

Pienaar was kak

Lambie was average. Can’t blame him too much with Pienaar being kak.

Juandre Kruger…hope it was his freakin last test.

Etzebeth… is creating a bad reputation for himself. HM influence can’t be underestimated here. He did not do this kind of stuff under AC.

Vermeulen was massive…as was Flo.

Alberts as usual was MIA after the 1st few minutes. No international starter, this lump of meat.

Gurthro made three tackles in one minute and ran out of puff after that.

Poor JdJ. Trying to run dummy lines all day long. Good on defence.

JdV. Call it a day now, please. Your time has come and gone. You will never be remembered as one of the all time greats.

Feel most sorry for Jantjies and Mvovo. They were just taken along to pacify some critics.

As were Ruhle, Mapoe and Chiliboy.

Heyneke Meyer. I hope you use the next few months to reconsider you game plan and come up with one to make Bok supporters proud again.

• 61.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@poltergeist-58: hahaha is that the extent your limited meathead brain could respond with?

best you pick up your knuckles and run, theres a good neanderthal..

• 62.poltergeist: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-61: new zealand has the highest reported rate of incest and inbreeding in the world. I just thought you might be living up to national culture.

• 63.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@poltergeist-58:
    Your a sick ****…..

• 64.poltergeist: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-63: @poppa69-61:

http://tvnz.co.nz/national-news/incest-cases-becoming-more-prevalent-in-nz-5052520

• 65.poltergeist: Reply to this comment

As recent as August this year:

http://www.stuff.co.nz/national/crime/7569398/Incest-parents-told-This-must-stop

• 66.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@poltergeist-62:again? hahaha you really have no idea do you, the key word is reported..

we all know that SA leads the world in sexual crimes against children, its just that your police are sooooo corrupt that the crimes dont get reported…

• 67.poppa69: Reply to this comment

South Africa has some of the highest incidences of child and baby rape in the world with more than 67,000 cases of rape and sexual assaults against children reported in 2000. Welfare groups believe that the number of unreported incidents could be up to 10 times that number. The largest increase in attacks was against children under seven. A number of high-profile baby rapes since 2001 (including the fact that they required extensive reconstructive surgery to rebuild urinary, genital, abdominal, or tracheal systems) increased the need to address the problem socially and legally. In 2001, a 9-month-old baby was raped by six men, aged between 24 and 66, after the infant had been left unattended by her teenage mother. A 4-year-old girl died after being raped by her father. A 14-month-old girl was raped by her two uncles. In February 2002, an 8-month-old infant was reportedly gang raped by four men. One has been charged. The infant has required extensive reconstructive surgery. The 8-month-old infant’s injuries were so extensive, increased attention on prosecution has occurred.[94] A common myth holds that sexual intercourse with a virgin will cure a man of HIV or AIDS. Child abusers are often relatives of their victims – even their fathers and providers.

all from rape.co.za

keep talking though, your diversion to this type of thing really shows your ignorance..

• 68.nama1: Reply to this comment

@poltergeist-58: @poltergeist-62:
    That’s just so out of order. You are one sicko.

Maybe you would do much better looking around in your neighborhood. Probably more incestuous fuckers there than you can ever imagine.

@poppa69-66:
    You don’t have to go down to his gutter level Pops.

• 69.nama1: Reply to this comment

So, no rugby is going to be discussed tonight.

Poltergeist and Pops are going to entertain us with who’s country is the kakkest ito crime, incest and such kak.

Can you guys start your own blog where you can talk about this, please?

• 70.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-53: Are you sick or what? I did say he deserves decent ban, just like Hore (even worse) and one week was complete joke.

Sheesh, how hard boiled Bokke supporters can have such crybabies I’ll never understand.

• 71.nama1: Reply to this comment

Nothing “brave” about this Boks.

They were kak.

• 72.Nils: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-67: Hey, chill. No need to wander into ***** again.

• 73.Nils: Reply to this comment

@poltergeist-58: One day your obsession with incest will land you into trouble.

• 74.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@nama1-69: its hard to discuss rugby when your team is labelled cheats constantly, when you supposedly pay of officials etc etc etc .. and unfortunately, this is getting louder and louder from many Saffa supporters..

it is as mundane and boring as the chokers call was..

their jealousy must be eating them up inside…

• 75.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-74: Why do you post here? I’m not trying to be confrontational or anything, I am genuinely interested in why you post on this site.

• 76.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-74:
    Hey Pops….hows the recuperation going with the busted arm?
    See some on here more interested in trying to have a go at Nz & Abs re: the peripheral bullshitt like favourtism with the refs without getting to the crux of what is really ailing them…like….how do we beat these guys?

• 77.poltergeist: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-67: those are crime stats in zulu and xhosa communities, whilst the incest Im talking about is in all communities in new zealand.

Plus I just piss on your morhers grave.

• 78.snivelling little kiwi pricks: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-74: Does the saying the truth hurts mean anything to you arrrsewipe.

• 79.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

Poppa.fark off mate.Nz is a great country.great rugby team.but like a (dumb)minority ,you want to hatch on that greatness and make it your own.you talk a false eye to sleep.do something usefull,punk.

• 80.nama1: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-74:
    Take it from whence it comes.

They will not change their tune and you know it.

You remember your discussion re Burger Geldenhuys’ cheap shot when he hit Dalton from behind in ’86 with some of these okes some time ago and how they defended Geldenhuys?

Now, you can sit back and watch what they say about Hore’s cheap shot without even engaging them.

See what I’m saying?

• 81.nikoli: Reply to this comment

Boks won which is I suppose the point of the match. Tension was there but excitement not so much. I know f all but we seem a bit stifled & maybe need to cut loose. Vat die wen & gat voorentoe

• 82.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Nama….I haven’t seen the Bok/ England game yet…did Lambie stand flatter and take the line on as instructed by Meyer?

• 83.poltergeist: Reply to this comment

Poppa how did your mother die? Was it from shame?

• 84.snivelling little kiwi pricks: Reply to this comment

@nama1-80: Who are they halfwit.

• 85.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell-75: I came here originally to get a Saffa viewpoint and perspective on rugby, also to gain an insight into your players…

I got sick of 4 years of hate disguised as invective directed at NZ and her people… anything from the chokers call to examples like Poltergeists above..

I tried the nice approach, all it got me was insult after insult directed at me personally and at the country I come from..

I still see it everyday on this blog, so excuse me if Im passionate enough to throw the rubbish back..

you reap what you sow, and the many Saffas here who think its fun/cool/ easy to insult other nationalities have ensured that that is my main objective now..

• 86.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@poltergeist-83: What the hell is wrong with you?

• 87.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

Long season,inexperienced team,hostile(cheating like football players)teams, inconsistent(out of depth)refs.we won…not ideal rugby.but boy.if we get it together,not even the AB’s will have an answer.theres mongrel and class.just a little time…

• 88.nama1: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-74:
    You see how nobody talks about the off side try by Alberts that effectively gave us the victory?

These okes are just deflecting, boet. The Boks don’t make them proud so they have to look elsewhere for something to make them feel good about themselves. What better than to gang up against the country or team or supporter/s of the team that play the kind of rugby they so wish their team could play.

They only have their brandy and their rugby to give some meaning in their lives. With the rugby being as kak as it is, they have nothing else when the brandy is finished.

Except to attack you to make them feel good about themselves.

Don’t feed them.

What is your take on the Bok’s performance today? I thought they were utter ****.

• 89.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-85: Fair enough. I do appreciate your and the other Kiwi’s rugby perspectives, but I’m sure you can understand how things get a bit tedious around here when the mudslinging begins.

• 90.snivelling little kiwi pricks: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-85: Once again a dumb keeeeweeee trying to take the high road.Take nama with you and piss off if you dont like being not liked.I wont shed a tear.

• 91.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@nama1-88: nama1 the try from Alberts was legit. It came off JP’s foot and was deflected by an English hand which put everyone onside.

Flukey yes, but offside, no.

Poppa Im not interested in your respone thanks. Youre a racist fool.

• 92.nikoli: Reply to this comment

Zanderba

• 93.snivelling little kiwi pricks: Reply to this comment

@nama1-88: Maybe you need to learn your rules fool.

• 94.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@nama1-88: I didnt see the game unfortunately Nama, it was on at 4 am here…replay is on in an hour from now..

so will watch and proffer my opinion after..

@fantasticbarnsmell-89: yep, I too believe it or not get sick of it..

• 95.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

Nama.we’ l take take that try anyway.you show a lot of interest in a team you detest.on a site of that very making..il never diss the majestity of the silver fern.only the prentenders(not you specifically)basking in its splendour.go the boks!

• 96.nama1: Reply to this comment

@snivelling little kiwi pricks-84:
    they = poepols

See one of them in the post above yours. Are you also one of them?

• 97.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@snivelling little kiwi pricks-90: haha, a dumb kiwi whose team hasnt lost this year..

in fact, whose team has won something like 7 of the last 8 games against your side..

lmfao..we shouldnt have to play tier 2 nations like SA so often

• 98.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

I think all Herr Meyers prayers to the most high Lord of Christendom is working a treat.. he’s fluked 3 from 3 tests on the road in the NH he got nothing to complain about.. every time he utters a hail Mary it comes off.. and he don’t half mince any words about thanking the Good Lord for all his favors afterward neither.. I’m sure he’s making sure he got the Good Lords ear close to his prayers because it certainly looks like the Good Lord is truly listening good..

I mean that Alberts try was straight from out of heaven.. and then to top it off the Good Lord told England’s Robshaw to kick for posts with only 90 seconds remaining on the clock.. that had to be straight from out the Good Lord’s book of proverbial influences right there to close up the deal and send the Good Lord’s favorite boys who deserve favor home unbeaten from the tour to hell and back again.

• 99.nikoli: Reply to this comment

Wank wank wank my history is better than yours and my country is better than yours and my opinion on rugby is better than yours blah blah blah

• 100.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@nikoli-99: you must be getting a stiff arm by now already

• 101.snivelling little kiwi pricks: Reply to this comment

@nama1-96: And here i was thinking you were the poepal all along.And in the meantime it has been they.I suppose it takes one to know one.
    @poppa69-97: At least you admit you are dumb.

• 102.nikoli: Reply to this comment

Ya very

• 103.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-91:
    No Kaizan.

When the ball hit JPP’s leg, everybody in front of him was off side and they should have waited for him, or a player behind him, to put them on side before they could advance towards the ball.

They didn’t. They advanced the moment the ball ricochet off JPP’s leg Therefor it should’ve been a penalty for England.

The knock on by England did not put them on side.

@snivelling little kiwi pricks-93:
    That’s what you should do, poepol.

You obviously did not listen to the comments by Naas. He phoned Andre Watson who confirmed it should’ve been a penalty.

@Dummy Runner-95:
    I am a Bok supporter.

I detest Bok supporters like Poltergeist and Sniveling kak.

Maybe you should read what they say and turn your negative feeling towards them.

• 104.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

We beat England,Scots and Ireland.thats History.not the way we want,but like in poker,a beat is a beat.to get in a mudsling with our Southern brothers is a waste.they are not playing the game,just talking it.imagining it.nothing else.

• 105.nama1: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-100:

That was just crazy funny.

Yeah. Meyer is one moerse lucky guy.

@nikoli-102:
    Good response.

• 106.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

Nama.fair enough.i wont defend negative,cheap comments.but i wont let old, misguided bigot rants slide.thats a forgotten time,not mine.

• 107.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Dummy Runner-104: it seems dummy is appropriate for you..

the ABs are unbeaten on the EOYTs since 2002.. a decade since we’ve lost an Autumn international up north..

your jealousy is noted..

• 108.snivelling little kiwi pricks: Reply to this comment

@nama1-103: Are you a bok supporter.We read your comments and you definitely are not a bok supporter.I think you are someone who sits with an abs jersey on at newlands.You maybe a safrican,and i am not sure about that either by your hatred for everything springbok and your *** licking to all keeeweee bloggers.Good luck to you and your two faces dimwit.

• 109.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Dummy Runner-104:
    That’s more like it.

Does not mean we should not look back and disect our performances, of hoe?

Apart from being unbeaten on this EOYT, what have we learn from it?

Pienaar not the answer at SH.
    Lambie a bit iffy at FH. (could be because of Pienaar being kak)
    Juandre Kruger not the answer at 5.
    Alberts… some question marks.
    Jean… is klaar.
    Hougaardt…definitely not a wing.
    Kirchner…solid but no flair if that is what we want.

HM…must change the game plan.

• 110.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

Poppa.jealousy.i just gave nz praise that is obviously due.im having a dig at the supporters stealing the shine thats lacking in their own existence.your choice where stand.

• 111.nama1: Reply to this comment

@snivelling little kiwi pricks-108:
    OK, so after this little rant of yours, do you still believe that the try by Alberts was a legitimate try? I think our last convo was about that. You told me about the rules, remember?

Yes, I’m a Bok supporter.
    Yes, I’m South African, born and bred.
    No, I don’t have a All Black jersey.

You?

• 112.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Dummy Runner-110: wheres the praise? this bit?

“to get in a mudsling with our Southern brothers is a waste.they are not playing the game,just talking it.imagining it.nothing else (sic)”

whose stealing the shine, just proud of the team I support, I know thats a rare thing for you, and I understand why, but dont piss in my pocket and tell me its raining..

• 113.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@snivelling little kiwi pricks-108: you are a truly sad eyed prick from the lowlands .. time you fucked off to sleep you seriously are the arse end of anything less than valuable that comes out of saffa land.. poor dreary delinquent

• 114.nama1: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-107:
    “they are not playing the game,just talking it.imagining it.nothing else.”

I think this part of his comment is aimed at some bloggers, Pops.

Not the AB.

• 115.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@nama1-114: apologies if that is the case..

• 116.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

Poppa.i made previous comments,respect where its due.mate,if i was pissing in your pocket,youl know it.thanks Nama,you got my drift.

• 117.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

I’m going to take my own advice and fck off to bed..

good luck with some these moron’s nama1 .. it getting more moerskont debilitated here than usual.. the level of ‘banter’ down the years has denigrated from poor to lousy to ludicrous to sick sad and pathetic.. to worse.

I’m hitting the hay.. ciao for now

• 118.poppa69: Reply to this comment

replay of SA/Eng about to start here..

cheers Nama

• 119.nama1: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-115:
    You should apologize to him.

Maybe if he learn to use capital letter to start a sentence, it will help. :lol:

Bok ratings:

Zane Kirchner 7
    Still a stranger to territory beyond the advantage line with ball in hand, but on a wet and wild day like this one, all aspects of his defensive game came very commendably to the fore.

JP Pietersen 7.5
    Few chances to get into that thrilling attacking stride of his, but marvellously committed in every tackle he made – ask poor Brad Barritt! – and always alert to opportunities. Classic case of looking hungrily for work when it wasn’t always being presented to him.

Juan de Jongh 6
    Did nothing wrong, even if conditions desperately seldom allowed for his nifty footwork to come into play.

Jean de Villiers 7.5
    Inspiring as captain; offered constant personal dynamism and took astute decisions. One vital cover tackle, and another key ankle-tap on a rampaging Manu Tuilagi.

Francois Hougaard 6.5
    For a reluctant left wing (he insists he wants to revert back to No 9 and new Bulls attack guru Victor Matfield confirmed as much in SuperSport studio), Hougie had one of his better matches. One or two mini-breaks in tight space, and tigerish tackling when needed.

Pat Lambie 7
    Kicked all his goals in a tight contest, something England glaringly failed to do. And in the second half, began to show encouraging authority and some clever touches. Defended his channel resolutely too.

Ruan Pienaar 6.5
    Still stopped a little short of being wholly convincing as a “general” at scrumhalf, but did plenty of good things after a nervy start when his clearance kick was charged down. Good awareness in sparking counter-attacks at times.

Duane Vermeulen 8
    Unbelievable work ethic on a heavy pitch and afternoon tailor-made for his ruggedness and power. Carried the ball with venom, turned a few over, and for “hits” was up there with the best in the Bok pack.

Willem Alberts 7
    The Bone Collector almost unfailingly shines against these particular opponents. Tops for physicality, and one handy lineout steal as well in almost an hour’s activity for the burly unit.

Francois Louw 7
    Tremendous first half on the open side, in particular, which cemented his status as one of the players of the tour. Received an upper body/neck knock that perhaps took some wind from his sails later?

Juandre Kruger 7
    Contributed to Bok lineout mastery throughout game, and the Bulls man also got refreshingly stuck in with many England maul-stopping tackles.

Eben Etzebeth 7.5
    Short fuse came to fore after he was provoked, and some collective handbags then broke out. Otherwise, though, fantastic, controlled aggression, forceful carries and tackles and usual prominence at front of lineout.

Jannie du Plessis 6
    Flogged to death this season, so perhaps Twickers was just never going to be the good doctor’s day. Mind you, the tighthead was often unjustly targeted by daftly officious Nigel Owens for scrum infringements when rival Alex Corbisiero was blatantly scrumming in.

Adriaan Strauss 7.5
    Mr Consistency on this particular northern safari, and no drop in standards for the last game. Blond head always prominent when Boks needed to scramble, plus throwing-in once again absolutely pin-point despite conditions.

Gurthro Steenkamp 6.5
    Useful showing again in absence of Beast Mtawarira; Boks well served for proven quality at loose-head. Didn’t shirk donkeywork away from scrums.

Subs with enough game-time for rating:

Pat Cilliers 7
    Brought very crucial stability to a struggling scrum for the second half; bit of a revelation there. Work-rate in general play always strong too.

Marcell Coetzee 6.5
    Has a happy knack of putting his mark on the game immediately after taking to the field – did so once more. Lots of restless energy.

Heinke van der Merwe 6
    Scrum stayed pretty solid when he replaced a tiring Steenkamp on 63 minutes.

• 120.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

I can judge/blame this game on the ref and negative English play.in honesty:fatigue, inexperience and old style coaching be the problem.but there is enough to keep faith.

• 121.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Dummy Runner-116:
    No probs.

@skopdiekan-117:
    Lekker slaap, Skop.

I think I’ll follow your lead.

@poppa69-118:
    Enjoy.

Good night, Pops.

• 122.snivelling little kiwi pricks: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-117:Yes go to sleep you foul mouthed little man.

• 123.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

Nama.nag mater.

• 124.snivelling little kiwi pricks: Reply to this comment

@nama1-121: Yuo will need your sleep after all your butt licking keeweee boy.

• 125.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Did any of your mommies ever make boiled egg and frikadels for padkos ? You know the smell when you opened the tupperware container that she put it in ? That’s what my flattus smells like tonight. Just thought I would share.

• 126.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-117: What flavour are you dreaming my a-hole is tonight ?

• 127.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-117: Of course, you with your non-sensical rants are the oracle of Delphii. The f$@ken benchmark of sane, intelligent, adult debate that we should all humbly strive toward. If you ask me you are a sorry cnut looking for attention on an internet blog because you aren’t worth any in reality.

• 128.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Sooo was this really an epic battle?

• 129.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Exactly Hurri it was two very boring rugby teams playing a very boring style of rugby, there was nothing epic about that match, I wonder how many walkie talkies Meyer went through?

• 130.snivelling little kiwi pricks: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-129: Well if you dont like the two teams knooob breath dont watch them.Why dont you go and be your usual keeweee tosspots selves somewhere else.

• 131.nama1: Reply to this comment

Aus on their way to give us a right royal hammering.

Rudolph failed yet again.

Up to AB and Alviro to save face.

• 132.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@nama1-131: It’s shameful.

• 133.nama1: Reply to this comment

Well, now Alviro is gone as well.

At least show some fighting spirit boys.

45/4 needing 430 for a win is just pathetic.

• 134.nama1: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-132:
    That, it is.

We are the fighting spirit we are renowned for as epitomized by Kallis in the 1st innings?

• 135.nama1: Reply to this comment

We are the fighting spirit = Where are the fighting spirit

• 136.cuntlyn: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-40:
    You wrote:’every team in world rugby thinks they can beat the Springboks, ‘

That’s playing to win. And not playing not to loose. Exciting era of rugby we entering. If only the Springboks will buy into the mantra. :)

• 137.cuntlyn: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-47: @Kaizan-41: this from the country who pre isolation had refs that only spoke Afrikaans?

Poppa69 I think all pre issolation internationals in RSA were reffed by international refs. Anyway, at the time RSA had two official languages.

U sound full of hatred man. Maybe you should go on a series of cholonic irrigation treatments. Some water up your a$$ could trigger your journey to the Himalayas. And when you come back the Japies will be beautiful people from the view of your Zen garden.

• 138.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

“Brave” Boks…

These fuckwit journos have got to be high as kites…

The Boks are now the living breathing representation of every insulting stereotype used by every Rugby nation on the planet of:

Dumb brutes, no brains, no flair, route one, boring excuse for rugby…

I actually go so far as to say they are the complete antithesis to the spirit of the game at the moment…

The ref yesterday was partial to England and rightfully so… The refs need to blow this embarrassment to rugby straight off the park…

“Thank you” Heyneke Meyer and Jean De Villiers…

For leading the Boks down a path to irrelevant, boring oblivion….

Will put all the Bok supporting kit away for the time being… Now where is that Tricolor jersey…

• 139.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-138:
    Agree.

Nothing brave about the performance yesterday.

• 140.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nama1-139: It doesnt matter what personnel are selected… The outcome on field will be the same…

Plank rugby

• 141.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

The new era for the Boks…

Clutchplate “flair”

• 142.mabu: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-140: It doesnt help that we keep on winning. As long as HM continues to win, then plank rugby will continue to exist in SA.

• 143.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

critics of Zane Kirchner can eat their words.

I believe now he has repayed meyer loyaity and faith in him.

shocking scrum officiating by referee

• 144.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-140:
    Jip. I’ve said it before.

Changing of personnel will not necessarily lead to better performances by the Boks as long as the game plan is the same.

That’s why I asked two weeks ago for Jantjies and JdJ not to be selected. Meyer is going to stuff up some of the youngsters.

@mabu-142:
    True.

• 145.papaown: Reply to this comment

@144 Nama
    Soo true, I saw a stat last week which said Taute gained the most metres (for backline player) against Ireland.
    JdJ got the ball twice last week, and yesterday possibly once.
    The gameplan was setup specifically for the ball to go to JdV or JPP as 2nd receiver… So what’s the point in picking JdJ and deliberately not getting the ball to him?

• 146.papaown: Reply to this comment

Personally, Well done to the Boks for the win. I have however never witnessed such a boring brand of rugby, and I’m a Bulls supporter.
    It boggles my mind why HM has the Boks playing on this manner,and we use the kick option “as a means of attack” WAY too much.
    Pienaar single handedly cost us the ascendancy in this match and why we didn’t have Hougaard on bench to replace him,especially when he was playing soo poorly, is beyond me!
    One thing I Hope HM learns from this year is that selections are key, but soo is building a game plan around those you’ve selected, and NOT the other way round!

• 147.papaown: Reply to this comment

Does anyone know what Louden is doing with his life these days?

• 148.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Magtag parts of this thread are at sewer level

• 149.cab: Reply to this comment

I think Robshaw might just be the stupidest captain to ever play international rugby – gdam that was a terrible decision – they had the bike on the racks.

HM must have angels in his shoulder but nevertheless 3 from 3, mind you he can’t really go wrong with the current talent in SA, the good news is his selections are slowly getting better.

This SA team could be phenonal once it’s frontrow and midfield axis are changed. Beast, Bismarck and Cilliers at 1-3 and hougaard goosen and de Jong at 9,10 and 12 wil make this a truly awesome Bok side.

Etsebeth had his best rugby test so far – he is awesome – I’d go so far as to say he is the best lock in world rugby at only 21 – I can’t think of any lock with more promise including bakkies and mayfield, he’s got everything and was hitting rucks and tackling yesterday. Du plessus was a bit unlucky with the ref at scrumtime whose not bad but a bit of a hometown ref – interesting to note that those decisions were reversed with cilliers on – he should be starting. Kitchener was sublime inna defensively oriented backline – de Jong never got anything cos the ball was kicked or hogged at 9, 10 and as per normal. Lambie was handed off by the Polynesian steamroller easy as.

• 150.cab: Reply to this comment

I am hoping these wins will see a less conservative approach next year, ratter than reinforce his belief in defence defence defence.

With respect, these are two of the weakest England and Ireland sides SA has faced in recent years – nevertheless a win is a win and he’s got a cleansheet at the eoty and he’s selecting de Jong so credit where it’s due / now if only he’d get the backline doing what it’s supposed to do, which is the aim of rugby union, to try actually score tries.

• 151.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@poltergeist-77: out of line pal

• 152.nortierd: Reply to this comment

At this stage and with the players he selected our strength is defense.
    Yet when we play to our strength we get blasted.
    We would all like to see free flowing and running rugby, but first priority is to win a test match.
    The end justified the means.

• 153.Cambridge: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-128: I’m a saffa and you won’t see an argument from me. Our current game plan is rather pathetic and far bellow what’s possible on a rugby field. It’s pretty depressing stuff; you would think a national asset would have more smarts behind it. Hopefully things improve. …Sigh.

• 154.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@snivelling little kiwi pricks-93: Nama probably knows a hell of a lot more about the rules than you do.

• 155.nama1: Reply to this comment

Meyer in Rapport:

Voorts word daar aan sisteme gewerk om die Bokke te ondersteun: “Jy moet sorg dat die onder-20-span min of meer dieselfde speelstyl as die nasionale span het, sodat jong ouens wat inkom dadelik hul voete kan vind.”

O vadertjie tog…arme laaities moet nou ook geleer word om liewer rugby te speel om NIE te verloor nie eerder as om te speel met die doel om te wen.

• 156.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@nama1-155: watch victor @ the bulls fark up serfontein, small-smith’s creativity as the “attack” coach… :cry:

• 157.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber-143: He fits HM’s game plan perfectly.Brilliant performance yesterday.

• 158.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber-143: Um no. Kirtchner is the embodiment of the Boks current boring, one dimensional, limited gameplan. No talent, just a drilled robot.

• 159.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-156:
    Is this some new trend? The forward coach also being the attack coach.

What will Slaptjips job entails as back line coach, I wonder?

• 160.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-158:
    “…the Boks current boring, one dimensional, limited gameplan.”

That is a very apt description of our game plan.

When my AB supporting friends started to feel embarrassed on my behalf because of the way we played, you know we were kak.

Jislaaik, it was cringe worthy.

• 161.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

This tour could either become the definition of papering over the cracks where we’re subjected to the misery of a Meyer/Van Graan/Loubscher game-plan over the next three years, or Meyer will build from this raw desperate caveman template and start adding dimensions to the Boks. He WONT be able to the latter with Van Graan and Loubscher, he’ll need some quality assistance.

• 162.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

@nama1-160: No joy at all supporting this bunch. One half of proper rugby all season vs the English at Ellis Park to go with the Wallaby implosion at Loftus. To call the rest forgettable is an understatement.

• 163.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-161:
    Since he is looking for the same game plan across the different teams representing SA, what about Brendan Venter as back line coach for the Boks as well?

• 164.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

Hi Nama @159: that were my comments exactly when the news broke. Slaptjips must be quite pis*ed about it!!
    It seems that HM started a new “trend” with Van Graan and now Ludeke is doing the same with Victor.
    I have no problem with VM being the forwards’ coach – although it is quite soon after quitting the game – but attacking coach ?? Does not make sense

• 165.Hondo: Reply to this comment

That’s the best which could done under the circumstances
    I actually took a wager on the Poms by 4 ;)
    HM was forced to play Steenkamp and JdJ who combined for a one tackle and a one ruck between them, while the Poms had no free loader in their line up!
    HM did manage to upset few though by the clean sweep WHICH IS PRICELESS :-D

• 166.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-164:

Well Matfield firmly believes that HM is doing things right. So maybe that answers your question…

• 167.cane: Reply to this comment

I just voted for the Sharks to win the SA Conference of the Super 15 next year!

I do this in tribute of Sharks_Lover, Sharksgirl, and Puma.

The gilled trinity.

• 168.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@cane-167:
    I see 16 people voted for the Kings.
    Must be the Watsons’ family

• 169.cane: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-168:

I didn’t go down the list as far as the Kings.
    If I had, I would have voted for them for sure.

I just love Luke.
    And Cheeky and Chong.

Hope they go well in 2013.

(I do not however agree with the way things were done, in getting the Kings into the S15).

• 170.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-165:
    You didn’t see the three tackles that Gurthro made in under two minutes at one stage? :wink:

He looked out of puff after that. :lol:

What do you make of the fact that we “only” scored 22 tries in the 12 matches that we played this year while 16 tries were scored against us.

Keep in mind that there were quite a few that were not well constructed tries by the Boks. From the top of my head, yesterday’s try by Alberts, last week’s interception by Strauss, the charge down by Fransie against Arg.

There may be more. :lol:

• 171.nama1: Reply to this comment

It is obvious that in HM’s world rugby is not about scoring tries…it is only about winning.

• 172.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

@nama1-171: Hang on Nama.

Isn’t that the same plan of your Toetie?

I didn’t see you on here lambasting Toetie during the S15?

Instead you kept saying all that is important is that the Stormers were winning and ugly wins were better than pretty losses (until they got absolutely crunched by the Sharks when it counted).

double standards?

• 173.papashanga: Reply to this comment

Extract from BBC website,referring to England. Is this ‘big is best’ philosophy some kinf of international rugby coaches’ delusion?

66. ron
    7 MINUTES AGO
    Its high time we got out of selecting only the biggest, most muscled individuals. Perhaps selecting those with skill and intelligence as we used to before “professionalism” might lead at least to a more exciting and fluid formation? The overemphasis on robotic defence simply reinforces the fear of losing as opposed to an attacking philosophy which would foster the belief in winning.

• 174.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

The Stormers scored 28 tries and let in 21.

The Chiefs scored 47 and let in 30.

The Sharks scored 47 and let in 31.

Hell even the Bulls scored 50 yet let in 38.

Nama what’s good for the sauce is good for the goose, no? Never heard you complaining in the S15….. :lol:

• 175.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

So Nama did not criticize Toetie but criticizes Meyer for EXACTLY the same thing….. :-)

I wonder what the difference is in Nama’s mind? :-)

Actually, I reckon I have a pretty good idea knowing the way our little Nama thinks….

• 176.husky: Reply to this comment

I don’t know what HM’s got but to keep those 15 battered Boks on the field, defending like demons is special. Sure it was a slugfest between two tentative teams but good one for the Boks. I even enjoyed Mallett’s crowing about the spineless ref. We need him in SARU. He’d sort the crokked Kwee’s out! I’m pleased for the players for sure; Kirchner confounded a few critics. Naas bleating about consulting Andre Watson about the try – yeah right; the oracle for SA refs. Not! Go look at the scoreboard.

For those who sneer at the players – go out and try it yourself on freezing patch of mud in icy rain with 30 000 rabid Pommies baying in the background.

But plenty work to do. Scrums were a mess. Boks had a dominant lineout yet Pienaar and Lambie don’t kick the ball out. Eish!

One moment of particular irritation was when Hougaard and Pienaar broke out with turnover ball and Pienaar kicks a GO from the frst breakdown. Nee man!

• 177.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-172:

Partly true.

I am on record since last year questioning the “playing without the ball” game plan that AC adopted for WP. I was very critical of it.

The success of the Stormers this year did dampen ones criticism of the game plan somewhat, yes.

• 178.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

Thoughts on how JPP was used as a first centre on many occasions instead of JdV ?

• 179.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-156: You are so right..

It pains me t see the Bulls pick up the best talent this country has to offer. The Bulls are boring.. Why go there as a back line player.

• 180.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-161: why do SA outsource their attacking backline coaches and get a foreign Antipodean coach. Or Even a French attack coach. These guys will help our game.

• 181.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

@Tbozknows-179: TBoz

Look I am no Bulls fan but how can you say that when the Bulls scored 50 tries in this year’s S15 and the Stormers only 28?

Only the Hurricanes scored more tries.

• 182.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

Bulls 50 tries
    Sharks 47
    Cheetahs 35
    Lions 30
    Stormers 28

• 183.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

4 try bonus points

Hurricanes 8
    Sharks 7
    Bulls 6
    Chiefs, Crusaders, Brumbies 5
    Stormers 0

• 184.maximus1: Reply to this comment

Rubbish performance mediocrity is the new bok norm, we should be thumping Scotland, number 12 ranked team in the world, nothing on attack, next year will be the same old rubbish, watching the all blacks play the width of the field, why can’t the boks play like that, they have bacls to do so, was Juan de Jongh even on the field yesterday? Meyer’s selection of Kirchner at fullback spells out the lack of ambition, please make Francois Louw the springbok captain, de Villiers is not the answer.Please get a skills coach to improve the back play, Eddie Jones, Todd Louden, get rid of Ricardo. Loubscher, useless backs coach, coached Tukkies, now Springbok backs coach, what a joke.The All Blacks are so far ahead, if the boks cannot even beat them at altitude in front of 89000 people, who will, this springbok.set up is not striving for improvement. Beating England by 1 point is nothing to brag about, if Heyneke Meyer wants to be the best, then the mindset has too change, injuries are not an excuse anymore, building for the world cup is also a joke, the Boks are not going to win with they way they play now.

• 185.maximus1: Reply to this comment

Why was Morne Steyn even on the bench, useless player, why was Elton Jantjies not on the bench earlier? Our wings never see the ball, crash bash it up with the forwards, loss of possession, very predictable from the boks

• 186.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-181: You have a valid point and the stats don’t lie. However, their ability to score tries is purely down to the strength of their pack. Basson probably score the bulk of those tries on a overlap, but the rest would be down to forward drives etc.

That does not say anything about the” Morne Steynesk” backline personnel that either kick or crash. We need more flare coming from our players running into space.

• 187.JAWESOME: Reply to this comment

@Tbozknows-186:

And that strength would be:

Greyling
    Chilly
    Werner
    Flip
    Juandre
    Dewald
    Deon
    Spies

According to the kenners of SA rugby and this blog…. The weakest pack in the compo?

• 188.cab: Reply to this comment

The bulls pack is good but the real strength at present in sa rugby is the stormers with the likes of fourie, etsebeth, vermeulen, kolisi and elstadt – pity they lost louw otherwise they’d prob win it next year.

• 189.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

WP are Currie Cup CHAMPIONS !!!! Champions, Champions, Champions !!!!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.