Brave Boks edge Twickenham epic

RYAN VREDE watched the Springboks hold on for a 16-15 victory over England at Twickenham that secured an unbeaten tour.

The tour is over and the examination is passed. It was hardly a convincing pass. Certainly there are areas of their Test syllabus in which these Springboks and their coaches are desperately lacking. But they’ve gone unbeaten in Europe and achieved this with the least experienced side they’ve ever fielded and men ravaged by the excesses of the longest season in their careers.

They had no right to have the work-rate they did, the physicality they displayed, the sharpness of mind that marked their play at critical junctures. They refused to lose, and England, the better side for large periods, simply could not overcome that wall of will.

The value of this tour and the victories that accompanied it is immeasurable. Pat Lambie grew in confidence with every game, tonight looking a Test flyhalf of considerable promise. In Francois Louw, Willem Alberts and Duane Vermeulen they have a back row of brilliant balance. In Eben Etzebeth, the next step in second row evolution.

Then there’s that defence, the cornerstone of their success in the last three weeks. England at times looked like they were attacking on a tennis court, so condensed was their space and so limited their options. That England opted to go for a penalty with two minutes to play will be perceived by some as a act of immense belief and by others one of breathtaking cowardice. Wherever you stand, save a little praise for the impact of the fearsome Springboks defence on the England psyche.

There was something special, something desperate, something determined about this rendition of the England national anthem pre-match. It was as much a declaration of war as it was an ode to their beloved Queen. And England were fittingly belligerent throughout – bullish in contact on attack and defence and absolutely rampant at scrum time.

With torrential rain belting this famous ground and a breeze that sent the temperature plummeting to the low single figures, this inexperienced Springbok side were always going to have to win a battle of attrition and a tussle for territory. They mastered neither.

Furthermore the attack once again lacked imagination, precision and tactical intelligence. In a season where they were battered for their pragmatic play, it was ironic that in conditions and against a folding defensive line (pushing in hard from the outside), that they would look to ‘play’ more than they have at any stage on tour. England’s defensive pattern screamed for the Springboks’ primary kickers to look for the space that was left vacant behind the hard-pressing outside backs. Instead their strike runners were frustratingly often tackled before they could build momentum and they subsequently never asked any telling questions on attack.

They were fortunate that England were equally impotent, the hosts enjoying appreciable possession and territory, but they never seriously threatened to score outside of a couple of broken-field opportunities. So organised and so brutal was the Springbok defence – led by the loose trio and amplified by the rest of the team – that England were reduced to hopeful high kicks, painfully few of which found their mark.

It therefore became increasingly apparent that the result of the Test would hinge on the goal-kicking of Pat Lambie and Toby Flood. Lambie banked three penalties to Flood’s two before half-time. The England pivot, however, missed two, both stemming from scrum infringements. It was the only area of the game that England enjoyed clear dominance, but Flood’s failure to capitalise on those opportunities saw his side trail 9-6 at half-time.

The Springboks’ inability to engineer anything close to impressive on attack – not even their powerful rolling maul – was concerning, but then they profited from a bit of luck that gave them the ascendancy when Willem Alberts collected a ball that had squirted off an England player after a hacked attempted clearance. The big blindside flopped over the tryline and Lambie kicked his fourth penalty goal of the Test to give the Springboks a 10-point lead.

Meyer will lament the Springboks’ inability to pin the English in the half more than they did after establishing that buffer, ill-discipline and poor decision-making ensuring that there was never a let up in pressure.

With 12 minutes to play and Swing Low, Sweet Chariot sweeping through the stands, England found their stride. Alex Goode made it a four-point game with seven to play. This was a defining seven minutes in the Springboks’ tour, some would argue their season. A scrum on their 22m held firm when it most needed to. Ruan Pienaar cleared but England came again.

Then, inexplicably, England choose to kick a penalty with the final whistle imminent. Did they really think they would have the attacking prowess to score from at least 80m out? There’ll be a mass inquisition in the English press on Sunday. But the Springboks won’t care. Most will be nursing sore heads from a celebration they’ve earned.

189 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All

• 101.snivelling little kiwi pricks: Reply to this comment

@nama1-96: And here i was thinking you were the poepal all along.And in the meantime it has been they.I suppose it takes one to know one.
    @poppa69-97: At least you admit you are dumb.

• 102.nikoli: Reply to this comment

Ya very

• 103.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-91:
    No Kaizan.

When the ball hit JPP’s leg, everybody in front of him was off side and they should have waited for him, or a player behind him, to put them on side before they could advance towards the ball.

They didn’t. They advanced the moment the ball ricochet off JPP’s leg Therefor it should’ve been a penalty for England.

The knock on by England did not put them on side.

@snivelling little kiwi pricks-93:
    That’s what you should do, poepol.

You obviously did not listen to the comments by Naas. He phoned Andre Watson who confirmed it should’ve been a penalty.

@Dummy Runner-95:
    I am a Bok supporter.

I detest Bok supporters like Poltergeist and Sniveling kak.

Maybe you should read what they say and turn your negative feeling towards them.

• 104.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

We beat England,Scots and Ireland.thats History.not the way we want,but like in poker,a beat is a beat.to get in a mudsling with our Southern brothers is a waste.they are not playing the game,just talking it.imagining it.nothing else.

• 105.nama1: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-100:

That was just crazy funny.

Yeah. Meyer is one moerse lucky guy.

@nikoli-102:
    Good response.

• 106.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

Nama.fair enough.i wont defend negative,cheap comments.but i wont let old, misguided bigot rants slide.thats a forgotten time,not mine.

• 107.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Dummy Runner-104: it seems dummy is appropriate for you..

the ABs are unbeaten on the EOYTs since 2002.. a decade since we’ve lost an Autumn international up north..

your jealousy is noted..

• 108.snivelling little kiwi pricks: Reply to this comment

@nama1-103: Are you a bok supporter.We read your comments and you definitely are not a bok supporter.I think you are someone who sits with an abs jersey on at newlands.You maybe a safrican,and i am not sure about that either by your hatred for everything springbok and your *** licking to all keeeweee bloggers.Good luck to you and your two faces dimwit.

• 109.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Dummy Runner-104:
    That’s more like it.

Does not mean we should not look back and disect our performances, of hoe?

Apart from being unbeaten on this EOYT, what have we learn from it?

Pienaar not the answer at SH.
    Lambie a bit iffy at FH. (could be because of Pienaar being kak)
    Juandre Kruger not the answer at 5.
    Alberts… some question marks.
    Jean… is klaar.
    Hougaardt…definitely not a wing.
    Kirchner…solid but no flair if that is what we want.

HM…must change the game plan.

• 110.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

Poppa.jealousy.i just gave nz praise that is obviously due.im having a dig at the supporters stealing the shine thats lacking in their own existence.your choice where stand.

• 111.nama1: Reply to this comment

@snivelling little kiwi pricks-108:
    OK, so after this little rant of yours, do you still believe that the try by Alberts was a legitimate try? I think our last convo was about that. You told me about the rules, remember?

Yes, I’m a Bok supporter.
    Yes, I’m South African, born and bred.
    No, I don’t have a All Black jersey.

You?

• 112.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Dummy Runner-110: wheres the praise? this bit?

“to get in a mudsling with our Southern brothers is a waste.they are not playing the game,just talking it.imagining it.nothing else (sic)”

whose stealing the shine, just proud of the team I support, I know thats a rare thing for you, and I understand why, but dont piss in my pocket and tell me its raining..

• 113.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@snivelling little kiwi pricks-108: you are a truly sad eyed prick from the lowlands .. time you fucked off to sleep you seriously are the arse end of anything less than valuable that comes out of saffa land.. poor dreary delinquent

• 114.nama1: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-107:
    “they are not playing the game,just talking it.imagining it.nothing else.”

I think this part of his comment is aimed at some bloggers, Pops.

Not the AB.

• 115.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@nama1-114: apologies if that is the case..

• 116.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

Poppa.i made previous comments,respect where its due.mate,if i was pissing in your pocket,youl know it.thanks Nama,you got my drift.

• 117.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

I’m going to take my own advice and fck off to bed..

good luck with some these moron’s nama1 .. it getting more moerskont debilitated here than usual.. the level of ‘banter’ down the years has denigrated from poor to lousy to ludicrous to sick sad and pathetic.. to worse.

I’m hitting the hay.. ciao for now

• 118.poppa69: Reply to this comment

replay of SA/Eng about to start here..

cheers Nama

• 119.nama1: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-115:
    You should apologize to him.

Maybe if he learn to use capital letter to start a sentence, it will help. :lol:

Bok ratings:

Zane Kirchner 7
    Still a stranger to territory beyond the advantage line with ball in hand, but on a wet and wild day like this one, all aspects of his defensive game came very commendably to the fore.

JP Pietersen 7.5
    Few chances to get into that thrilling attacking stride of his, but marvellously committed in every tackle he made – ask poor Brad Barritt! – and always alert to opportunities. Classic case of looking hungrily for work when it wasn’t always being presented to him.

Juan de Jongh 6
    Did nothing wrong, even if conditions desperately seldom allowed for his nifty footwork to come into play.

Jean de Villiers 7.5
    Inspiring as captain; offered constant personal dynamism and took astute decisions. One vital cover tackle, and another key ankle-tap on a rampaging Manu Tuilagi.

Francois Hougaard 6.5
    For a reluctant left wing (he insists he wants to revert back to No 9 and new Bulls attack guru Victor Matfield confirmed as much in SuperSport studio), Hougie had one of his better matches. One or two mini-breaks in tight space, and tigerish tackling when needed.

Pat Lambie 7
    Kicked all his goals in a tight contest, something England glaringly failed to do. And in the second half, began to show encouraging authority and some clever touches. Defended his channel resolutely too.

Ruan Pienaar 6.5
    Still stopped a little short of being wholly convincing as a “general” at scrumhalf, but did plenty of good things after a nervy start when his clearance kick was charged down. Good awareness in sparking counter-attacks at times.

Duane Vermeulen 8
    Unbelievable work ethic on a heavy pitch and afternoon tailor-made for his ruggedness and power. Carried the ball with venom, turned a few over, and for “hits” was up there with the best in the Bok pack.

Willem Alberts 7
    The Bone Collector almost unfailingly shines against these particular opponents. Tops for physicality, and one handy lineout steal as well in almost an hour’s activity for the burly unit.

Francois Louw 7
    Tremendous first half on the open side, in particular, which cemented his status as one of the players of the tour. Received an upper body/neck knock that perhaps took some wind from his sails later?

Juandre Kruger 7
    Contributed to Bok lineout mastery throughout game, and the Bulls man also got refreshingly stuck in with many England maul-stopping tackles.

Eben Etzebeth 7.5
    Short fuse came to fore after he was provoked, and some collective handbags then broke out. Otherwise, though, fantastic, controlled aggression, forceful carries and tackles and usual prominence at front of lineout.

Jannie du Plessis 6
    Flogged to death this season, so perhaps Twickers was just never going to be the good doctor’s day. Mind you, the tighthead was often unjustly targeted by daftly officious Nigel Owens for scrum infringements when rival Alex Corbisiero was blatantly scrumming in.

Adriaan Strauss 7.5
    Mr Consistency on this particular northern safari, and no drop in standards for the last game. Blond head always prominent when Boks needed to scramble, plus throwing-in once again absolutely pin-point despite conditions.

Gurthro Steenkamp 6.5
    Useful showing again in absence of Beast Mtawarira; Boks well served for proven quality at loose-head. Didn’t shirk donkeywork away from scrums.

Subs with enough game-time for rating:

Pat Cilliers 7
    Brought very crucial stability to a struggling scrum for the second half; bit of a revelation there. Work-rate in general play always strong too.

Marcell Coetzee 6.5
    Has a happy knack of putting his mark on the game immediately after taking to the field – did so once more. Lots of restless energy.

Heinke van der Merwe 6
    Scrum stayed pretty solid when he replaced a tiring Steenkamp on 63 minutes.

• 120.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

I can judge/blame this game on the ref and negative English play.in honesty:fatigue, inexperience and old style coaching be the problem.but there is enough to keep faith.

• 121.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Dummy Runner-116:
    No probs.

@skopdiekan-117:
    Lekker slaap, Skop.

I think I’ll follow your lead.

@poppa69-118:
    Enjoy.

Good night, Pops.

• 122.snivelling little kiwi pricks: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-117:Yes go to sleep you foul mouthed little man.

• 123.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

Nama.nag mater.

• 124.snivelling little kiwi pricks: Reply to this comment

@nama1-121: Yuo will need your sleep after all your butt licking keeweee boy.

• 125.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Did any of your mommies ever make boiled egg and frikadels for padkos ? You know the smell when you opened the tupperware container that she put it in ? That’s what my flattus smells like tonight. Just thought I would share.

• 126.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-117: What flavour are you dreaming my a-hole is tonight ?

• 127.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-117: Of course, you with your non-sensical rants are the oracle of Delphii. The f$@ken benchmark of sane, intelligent, adult debate that we should all humbly strive toward. If you ask me you are a sorry cnut looking for attention on an internet blog because you aren’t worth any in reality.

• 128.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Sooo was this really an epic battle?

• 129.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Exactly Hurri it was two very boring rugby teams playing a very boring style of rugby, there was nothing epic about that match, I wonder how many walkie talkies Meyer went through?

• 130.snivelling little kiwi pricks: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-129: Well if you dont like the two teams knooob breath dont watch them.Why dont you go and be your usual keeweee tosspots selves somewhere else.

• 131.nama1: Reply to this comment

Aus on their way to give us a right royal hammering.

Rudolph failed yet again.

Up to AB and Alviro to save face.

• 132.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@nama1-131: It’s shameful.

• 133.nama1: Reply to this comment

Well, now Alviro is gone as well.

At least show some fighting spirit boys.

45/4 needing 430 for a win is just pathetic.

• 134.nama1: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-132:
    That, it is.

We are the fighting spirit we are renowned for as epitomized by Kallis in the 1st innings?

• 135.nama1: Reply to this comment

We are the fighting spirit = Where are the fighting spirit

• 136.cuntlyn: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-40:
    You wrote:’every team in world rugby thinks they can beat the Springboks, ‘

That’s playing to win. And not playing not to loose. Exciting era of rugby we entering. If only the Springboks will buy into the mantra. :)

• 137.cuntlyn: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-47: @Kaizan-41: this from the country who pre isolation had refs that only spoke Afrikaans?

Poppa69 I think all pre issolation internationals in RSA were reffed by international refs. Anyway, at the time RSA had two official languages.

U sound full of hatred man. Maybe you should go on a series of cholonic irrigation treatments. Some water up your a$$ could trigger your journey to the Himalayas. And when you come back the Japies will be beautiful people from the view of your Zen garden.

• 138.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

“Brave” Boks…

These fuckwit journos have got to be high as kites…

The Boks are now the living breathing representation of every insulting stereotype used by every Rugby nation on the planet of:

Dumb brutes, no brains, no flair, route one, boring excuse for rugby…

I actually go so far as to say they are the complete antithesis to the spirit of the game at the moment…

The ref yesterday was partial to England and rightfully so… The refs need to blow this embarrassment to rugby straight off the park…

“Thank you” Heyneke Meyer and Jean De Villiers…

For leading the Boks down a path to irrelevant, boring oblivion….

Will put all the Bok supporting kit away for the time being… Now where is that Tricolor jersey…

• 139.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-138:
    Agree.

Nothing brave about the performance yesterday.

• 140.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nama1-139: It doesnt matter what personnel are selected… The outcome on field will be the same…

Plank rugby

• 141.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

The new era for the Boks…

Clutchplate “flair”

• 142.mabu: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-140: It doesnt help that we keep on winning. As long as HM continues to win, then plank rugby will continue to exist in SA.

• 143.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

critics of Zane Kirchner can eat their words.

I believe now he has repayed meyer loyaity and faith in him.

shocking scrum officiating by referee

• 144.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-140:
    Jip. I’ve said it before.

Changing of personnel will not necessarily lead to better performances by the Boks as long as the game plan is the same.

That’s why I asked two weeks ago for Jantjies and JdJ not to be selected. Meyer is going to stuff up some of the youngsters.

@mabu-142:
    True.

• 145.papaown: Reply to this comment

@144 Nama
    Soo true, I saw a stat last week which said Taute gained the most metres (for backline player) against Ireland.
    JdJ got the ball twice last week, and yesterday possibly once.
    The gameplan was setup specifically for the ball to go to JdV or JPP as 2nd receiver… So what’s the point in picking JdJ and deliberately not getting the ball to him?

• 146.papaown: Reply to this comment

Personally, Well done to the Boks for the win. I have however never witnessed such a boring brand of rugby, and I’m a Bulls supporter.
    It boggles my mind why HM has the Boks playing on this manner,and we use the kick option “as a means of attack” WAY too much.
    Pienaar single handedly cost us the ascendancy in this match and why we didn’t have Hougaard on bench to replace him,especially when he was playing soo poorly, is beyond me!
    One thing I Hope HM learns from this year is that selections are key, but soo is building a game plan around those you’ve selected, and NOT the other way round!

• 147.papaown: Reply to this comment

Does anyone know what Louden is doing with his life these days?

• 148.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Magtag parts of this thread are at sewer level

• 149.cab: Reply to this comment

I think Robshaw might just be the stupidest captain to ever play international rugby – gdam that was a terrible decision – they had the bike on the racks.

HM must have angels in his shoulder but nevertheless 3 from 3, mind you he can’t really go wrong with the current talent in SA, the good news is his selections are slowly getting better.

This SA team could be phenonal once it’s frontrow and midfield axis are changed. Beast, Bismarck and Cilliers at 1-3 and hougaard goosen and de Jong at 9,10 and 12 wil make this a truly awesome Bok side.

Etsebeth had his best rugby test so far – he is awesome – I’d go so far as to say he is the best lock in world rugby at only 21 – I can’t think of any lock with more promise including bakkies and mayfield, he’s got everything and was hitting rucks and tackling yesterday. Du plessus was a bit unlucky with the ref at scrumtime whose not bad but a bit of a hometown ref – interesting to note that those decisions were reversed with cilliers on – he should be starting. Kitchener was sublime inna defensively oriented backline – de Jong never got anything cos the ball was kicked or hogged at 9, 10 and as per normal. Lambie was handed off by the Polynesian steamroller easy as.

• 150.cab: Reply to this comment

I am hoping these wins will see a less conservative approach next year, ratter than reinforce his belief in defence defence defence.

With respect, these are two of the weakest England and Ireland sides SA has faced in recent years – nevertheless a win is a win and he’s got a cleansheet at the eoty and he’s selecting de Jong so credit where it’s due / now if only he’d get the backline doing what it’s supposed to do, which is the aim of rugby union, to try actually score tries.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.