IRB doubles Thomson ban
24 Nov 2012
The IRB’s appeal against the lenient citing on All Blacks Adam Thomson has seen his suspension increase to just two weeks.
Thomson received a one-week ban for standing on flank Alasdair Strokosch’s head in the All Blacks’ Test win over Scotland in Edinburgh a fortnight ago.
This received mass protest from pundits and critics on social media, who believed the ban was far too lenient. On the same day, Wallabies lock Rob Simmons received an eight-week ban for a tip tackle on France flank Yannick Nyanga.
The IRB confirmed earlier this week that they would relook the citing. An independent appeal board of Jeff Blackett (England), Pat Barriscale (Ireland) and Jeremy Summers (England), did not agree the initial two-week ban was lenient but opposed the one-week reduction.
Their call was to add one week to the ban, ruling Thomson out of the Test against Wales. He already missed the clash against Italy last weekend.
This means Thomson will be available for selection against England.
NZRU CEO Steve Tew told Radio Sport: ‘We are very happy with the outcome. We think it is fair and appropriate.’

100 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All
24 Nov 2012, 12:51 pm
@ufo-49:
It’s not a conspiracy. The whole rugby world is scared to upset the precious All Blacks, because doing so always results in the sanctimonious, holier than thou players and staff in All Black rugby crying and whining like a bunch of short-changed ho’s.
Mealamu is a nice bloke.
Thomson is a nice bloke.
Wayne Barnes is a cheat, here’s 15,000 pages of evidence we typed to prove it.
There’s a mystery waitress who caused us to lose the world cup in 1995.
The gang tackle on O’Driscoll that almost ended his career was perfectly OK, because it was Umaga and Mealamu and they are paragons of virtue. They’re just really nice blokes.
It’s pure and simple. THe oke who cries loudest and longest gets what he wants when it comes to the IRB and their citing process.
24 Nov 2012, 12:52 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-50:
100% AGREED. See my post 51.
24 Nov 2012, 12:54 pm
@XV-47:
ja thanks.
agreed on the thorn assault, that was one shameful episode indeed. ranks up there with 2010.
ok so a tight game then. hope the boks dont go out of their comfort zone like they did against scotland because of the weather.
@Brads-48:
yes, and i know nz rugby machinations are.
@ufo-49:
yes, we do disagree.
you have to blind not to see the extent of their organised, willful, well trained and clearly intended cheating in the game. the extent of it does not come out of thin air.
24 Nov 2012, 12:57 pm
@Brads-48:
oh and just to be clear, we still havn’t laid down the rules of engagement.
24 Nov 2012, 12:57 pm
@Vetkoek-51:
If it is not a conspiracy and the entire rugby world is scared of NZ, what a bunch of worthless chumps you champion.
That being the case, stop pissing and moaning about the symptoms. Start dealing with the cause. i.e your own back yard.
24 Nov 2012, 12:58 pm
@Vetkoek-51:
Case in point. Etzebeth was RIDICULOUSLY cited for a nothing offence leading up this test, and whilst the fans had plenty to say, HM, the player etc simply took it on the chin and let the process run it’s course.
Thomson gets cited for ACTUALLY stomping on someone’s head. That’s right, he stomped on his head. Far more dangerous than an “air-butt”. And the Kiwi management etc are all of a sudden spouting every nauseating epiphet under the son. Hey- remember when Adam Thomson laid his hands on that leper and cured him? What people don’t know about Thommo is that he once rescued a strangers child by donating his kidney.
Thommo can make the blind see again…. unless they’re citing officers, because they like operating under cover of darkness.
24 Nov 2012, 12:59 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-54:
There are none, as of your breach.
24 Nov 2012, 13:02 pm
@Vetkoek-56:
I know it’s a serious matter and post, but damn that made me laugh…..
Sorry if I sound disrespectful, not my intention
24 Nov 2012, 13:04 pm
@Brads-55:
Sorry- what symptoms? What has our “backyard” got to do with anything?
It’s simple. You okes are the spoiled brats of world rugby. You cry blue-farking-murder at every perceived injustice, throwing tantrums that make a 3 year old on a sugar high who’s been awake for a week.
Don’t divert the attention to us here tjom. South African rugby management and it’s administrators have plenty of problems, but one thing they don’t do is concoct ridiculous conspiracies or drop on their knees and give their players head to prove how it’s impossible that such a “top bloke” must always be innocent.
24 Nov 2012, 13:06 pm
@Vetkoek-51:
no problem has ever been resolved by people labeling and insulting each other and refusing to actually talk to each other about it and refusing to acknowledge the issues of the other side… real or perceived…
it also becomes extremely difficult to address any problem when personally attacking people with opposing views rather than addressing the problem… it’s only get’s everyone’s backs up and precludes all possibility of honest, open and sincere attempts as problem finding and resolution creating…
people should rather look for common ground and work from there… the common ground being a love of rugby and everyone wanting to see consistent and fair identification and penalising of foul play… i do believe every rugby player and follower wants the same thing… address this issue… together and in concerted fashion… and all talk of conspiracies and/cheating and/or favouritism will simply evaporate…
attack the problem… not the people…
24 Nov 2012, 13:08 pm
@Vetkoek-59:
P.S. I am not talking about supporters and fans here. I’m talking about your players and administrators.
Supporters and fans can get upset and say what they want. That is the right of every supporter except maybe those of the Taliban XV.
But when your players and administrators do it, well that’s just sad.
P.P.S. Before you use P.Divvy as evidence of a South African coach supporting his players blindly, I would like to point out that he also voted ANC and I’m pretty sure he had a suspicion that he may have been the son of C’hrist!
24 Nov 2012, 13:13 pm
@Vetkoek-59: “You cry blue-farking-murder at every perceived injustice, throwing tantrums that make a 3 year old on a sugar high who’s been awake for a week.”
Ahem, are you sure it is not a perfect description of the groundhog day style wailing here every day?
24 Nov 2012, 13:18 pm
@Nils-62:
see post 61
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-53:
so bakks… why the need for the dismissive insult…?
you have a different opinion than i do… but i didn’t call you blind… or stupid… or dishonest… or a cheat… or anything… i simply acknowledged we differed, with respect, and then offered my own opinion without falling back on any insults…
your and vetkoek’s need to insult and/or dismissively belittle those who hold different opinions to you is where the cracks start showing…
a pity you don’t recognise that people do not have to be blind, or trolls, or biased kiwis or stupid or bad or dishonest people to hold a different view point… i have explained my opinion as rationally and unemotionally as i am able… and i refuse to join you and vetkoek in yet another round of insult throwing contests…
sure banter can be fun… but this endless repetitive roundabout of insults and blame is neither banter nor fun…
@Vetkoek-56:
yes, i agree.
this is an area of the game that needs cleaning up and fixing.
@Brads-57:
my breach..?. huh..?..
i dont know what you are talking about. we have no agreement.
oh well, laissez-faire it is then.
24 Nov 2012, 13:21 pm
@ufo-64:
sorry? who did I insult? Who did I attack?
24 Nov 2012, 13:22 pm
@Vetkoek-59:
The only crying going on is you and your mindless whinging and fantasy land conspiracy issues.
24 Nov 2012, 13:24 pm
“Thomson received a one-week ban for standing on flank Alasdair Strokosch’s head”
I don’t think he got banned for “standing” as he obviously didn’t and I find it strange that English speaking writer can’t see the difference. He hit it with the rucking boot.
24 Nov 2012, 13:25 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-65:
You are correct, we don’t have an agreement.
You breached it, thus it no longer exists.
Ignoring history though is woefully consistent with you.
24 Nov 2012, 13:27 pm
@Vetkoek-59:
i could only wonder at what he was implying there.
@ufo-64:
i’m sorry ufo, no offense intended and did not mean to come across as dismissive.
to be fair, i did not outright accuse or label you as ‘being blind’. i just feel you, or anyone for that matter, should be if you guys cannot see what has clearly been a repeat series of very, very unfair outcomes in games of rugby involving nz over the last 10 to 15 years and this has less to do with them being good or others being poor and a lot to do with illegal manipulation and outright flouting of the rules of the game.
this to me is akin to drug taking in cycling, its no different.
24 Nov 2012, 13:30 pm
@ufo-64:
and yes, it may be slightly tangetial to your problem of fixing refereeing and the judicial processes in rugby but i feel if properly considered one soon realises what and where the root causes of this problem stem.
@Vetkoek-66:
44.Vetkoek:
24 Nov 2012, 12:35 pm
ABSOLUTELY FARCICAL.
Anybody who thinks this is a fair citing is either a biased kiwi or a troll.
yes… hardly the worst insult ever… but it’s the dismissal of people who hold views as strong as yours that then come back and insults you back… and then we spiral upwards forgetting all about the issue because we’re more intent on out-insulting eachother…
instead of offering an insult opinion on everyone who has a different opinion to yours…
why don’t you try formulating and and communicating your own opinion in a more rational considered way…?
the problem is not any individual player, team, country or group of supporters… the problem is the loosely defined system which is left too open to interpretation… while everyone attacks each other nothing will ever be sorted out… if everyone joined and worked together to attack the problem… the system… then we may get somewhere…
@Brads-67:
I thought we were supposed to attack the problem, not the person?
I made it perfectly clear that whingeing from the supporters is to be expected.
It’s the bleating from your officials that gets to me.
24 Nov 2012, 13:33 pm
@ufo-72:
Ag puhleeeezzzeeee.
I said you’re a biased kiwi or a troll if you think that citing is fair and you take that as an insult?
Dude, at the risk of mistakenly insulting you again, you need to lighten up. Being called biased is hardly insulting.
24 Nov 2012, 13:34 pm
@Brads-67:
starting to sing the ‘whingers song’ then… the lame refuge of every kiwi…
@Brads-69:
WE have no agreement.
all WE have is an idea in YOUR head that you can talk at me, not with or to me, as and when you wish, and dismiss me when you do or dont feel like it.
sharpen up man.
24 Nov 2012, 13:35 pm
@Nils-68:
the ‘rucking boot’… really….
24 Nov 2012, 13:35 pm
@Nils-68:
Thomson was an idiot.
He deserved at the bare minimum the 2 match base line penalty set by the IRB.
The big problem is the penalties that are imposed.
A really heavy 8 week ban on a player who offends in a EOYT match is bugger all compared to the same penalty 2 weeks into the Super comp.
24 Nov 2012, 13:37 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-75:
Thats right we have no agreement.
You broke it.
I am amazed you keep denying it!
24 Nov 2012, 13:39 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-76: He hit with something else? Oh, you did not watch, I see.
@Brads-77: Yes, it was stupid and one week ban was also stupid. Maybe IRB sadists just wanted to hear another session of bleating on keo.
24 Nov 2012, 13:40 pm
@Brads-78:
no offence buddy, but you’re starting to sound like a jilted lover with this” you broke our agreement” line.
Either debate the mans points or don’t.
24 Nov 2012, 13:41 pm
@Nils-79:
He didn’t “hit” or “ruck”.
He stomped.
24 Nov 2012, 13:42 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-70:
saying someone must be blind to see things one way or not see them another can’t be more dismissive…
yeah, as far an insults go if this was cited it would be low-level infringement receiving a lower-end penalty…
but the point i was trying to make is… why even go there…?
why not just rationally lay out your case and show others the respect of letting them do the same… if you can’t/don’t/won’t see the other’s point of view then move on… once you’ve stated your case simply repeating it another 100 time sin more insulting terms does nothing to strengthen anyone’s argument or credibility…
someone mentioned above it’s those who shout loudest and longest who get the special treatment… but shouting loudest and longest on an interweb forum isn’t going to make anyone else see your perspective at all… it only results in other people trying to shout louder and longer and/or cheering each other on… but the purpose quickly become to out-shout each other instead of debating the issue…
which is what i’m going to do… have stated my case… no point in restating it endlessly… so i’m moving on…
24 Nov 2012, 13:43 pm
@Vetkoek-74:
of course it’s not… but you have missed my point entirely….
24 Nov 2012, 13:45 pm
@Brads-78:
well then if i am indeed denying anything please point this out to me.
i certainly do not recall ever agreeing to allowing you to speak at me, an instruction as to how i could and should behave towards and with you, and me just meekly accepting..?..
by all means, if i in fact did do this then remind of this incident.
short of this, i repeat, WE have no agreement.
24 Nov 2012, 13:47 pm
@Vetkoek-73:
Really, are you miffed that the NZFU is looking after is assets and SARU doesn’t.
Is that the guts of your beef with NZ.
In other words, you are jealous you can’t keep up with the Joneses
24 Nov 2012, 13:47 pm
@Vetkoek-81: Stomping is not a hitting? Alright, since English is not neither my native language, nor even second, I’ll leave that as it is.
But you won’t convince me that it is a “standing on a head”.
24 Nov 2012, 13:48 pm
@ufo-83:
OK. Then we’ll just have to agree that I’m right and you’re wrong
Seriously though. I’m just taking the p1ss a bit anyway. At the end of the day, I don’t believe in conspiracy theories, but I am very cynical and highly speculative as to why your boys seem to get lighter sentences and lesser penalties and I strongly believe that this may have to do with the amount of noise your rugby honchos make when the need arises.
I find the same thing with el Pomarino’s
24 Nov 2012, 13:50 pm
@Brads-85:
You see it as looking after it’s assets.
I see it as bringing the game into disrepute.
The man who defends the indefensible is to my mind as guilty.
24 Nov 2012, 13:53 pm
@Vetkoek-81:
yes, correct.
might i say though, just so we dont bring blame on ourselves for confusing issues in any way deliberate or otherwise, by our kiwi friends… shouldn’t we rather refer to it as stamp than stomp?
and if yes, then is it correct to say Adam Thomson STAMPED on a acotish players head…?..
24 Nov 2012, 13:55 pm
@Vetkoek-88:
i mean really…
is this even a debate..?..
that one needs to stress the point to the kiwis.
wow
24 Nov 2012, 13:55 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-89: The next step will be that he did stand on the Scots head.
Oh, well.
24 Nov 2012, 13:58 pm
@ufo-82:
i’m trying ufo, i really am.
my approach is too coarse and abrupt maybe, and i dont know if i’ll ever get the hang of this new fangled new age feel good hippy approach to interaction
24 Nov 2012, 13:59 pm
@XV-47: Didn’t JdV also get a two week but one match ban for spearing Ranger?
24 Nov 2012, 14:01 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-92: Far out, man!
24 Nov 2012, 14:02 pm
@Vetkoek-87:
okay…
thing is… i believe rugby is the best sport ever… i believe that other people believe that too… which is why we all play or support players and teams who play the sport…
if we all have this basic belief system… i can’t see who any other player or supporter, no matter where in the world the come from or what country they live in or what teams they support, can be that different from anyone else who loves rugby…
whenever i meet another genuine rugby lover i immediately find that we have way more in common than we have differences…
that’s what i choose to focus on…
(yeah corny and sounds ‘world in uniony’… but true nonetheless…)
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-92:
good for you Bakks…
nothing new age about it though…
simply recognising and respecting each individual and his or her rights to be…
anyway… been fun as usual… next time..
gotta saddle up the palomino…
the sun is going down…
24 Nov 2012, 14:07 pm
@Nils-91:
funny you should say that Nils because i have pictures of all black players doing just that. sure it was back in the ameture era but it is pretty damning
24 Nov 2012, 14:10 pm
@cane-30: Kallis out.50% of our team
Out injured
@BrumbiesBoy-94:
@ufo-95:
cheers boet, have a good one.
24 Nov 2012, 14:26 pm
@Vetkoek-87: Why your boys.UFO is a good old SAFFER
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All