IRB doubles Thomson ban

The IRB’s appeal against the lenient citing on All Blacks Adam Thomson has seen his suspension increase to just two weeks.

Thomson received a one-week ban for standing on flank Alasdair Strokosch’s head in the All Blacks’ Test win over Scotland in Edinburgh a fortnight ago.

This received mass protest from pundits and critics on social media, who believed the ban was far too lenient. On the same day, Wallabies lock Rob Simmons received an eight-week ban for a tip tackle on France flank Yannick Nyanga.

The IRB confirmed earlier this week that they would relook the citing. An independent appeal board of Jeff Blackett (England), Pat Barriscale (Ireland) and Jeremy Summers (England), did not agree the initial two-week ban was lenient but opposed the one-week reduction.

Their call was to add one week to the ban, ruling Thomson out of the Test against Wales. He already missed the clash against Italy last weekend.

This means Thomson will be available for selection against England.

NZRU CEO Steve Tew told Radio Sport: ‘We are very happy with the outcome. We think it is fair and appropriate.’

100 Comments

• 1.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Adamn Dragon?

Have actually not seen either incident so can only presume that Simmons’s was far more serious. Hoever, if Thomson was indeed (as suggested by some bloggers) literally doing the haka on the oke’s head, then the disparity in sentences is laughable.

• 2.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

well well well

some small act of justice in a small instance finally served…

even though it is just symbolic it at least shines a light on the darkness which modern rugby has become, thanks to nz rugby

and hopefully will lead to greater control and oversight of that countrys judicial rugby affairs as they clearly are incapable of doing so themselves

though the nz’s will feel they have lost in truth, rugby is the winner here

well done

he’s a dirty dragon who’s been rightly punished

• 3.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-2:

though the nz’s will feel they have lost, in truth, rugby is the winner here

• 4.Brads: Reply to this comment

I have no problems with the decision.

1 week was off the wall, 2 weeks is the minimum stipulated in the IRB rules so the question has to be asked why wasn’t it imposed in the first place.

The big issue here is the God almighty bureaucracy.

Why exactly did it take the time it has to 1st make the idiot decision, and then overturn it.

As it is, I doubt very much that he would have been selected for todays game anyway.

• 5.poppa69: Reply to this comment

fck off you ansolute droplick

you’re a fcken joke and no real rugby supporter

just a sad sad sad sad sad sad sad sad loser

• 6.nortierd: Reply to this comment

The incident is water under the bridge as far as I’m concerned.
    Yesterday’s news shouldn’t be rehashed

• 7.Brads: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-6:
    I agree, the final penalty is totally academic.

The issue here is the whole judiciary process.

• 8.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

i really dont understand why this influences you enough for you to respond to me with insults, pops.

is it sensitive to you because its a nz problem, and you’re a nz’er?

there is nothing untrue in what i am saying, dont you understand. why cant you see this? there is a serious problem in nz rugby and it needs fixing. at the end of the day it stands to benefit you as much as it does the rest of the international rugby community.

• 9.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Brads-7:
    Yep, the judiciary process has been a farce from day one.
    There has never been any consistency and we have definitely been on the wrong end too many times.
    Yet, having said that, some of our players have not helped themselves or the others by getting totally carried away and it basically started with the Roux ear bite incident.
    It is unfair that the future players are already tarred with the same brush even before running on the field.
    I believe many refs are prejudicedagainst some of our players, but each country’s supporters probably feel the same, so we must accept it and take it on the chin and play well enough not to allow some dodgy decisions to determine outcomes.

• 10.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

And in other (sad) news I’ve just been informed that Larry Hagman of Dallas has passed away.

Sorry, but I just can’t resist this one…I wonder who shot him this time? ;-)

• 11.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-8:

I support you the whole way mate – in fact think you were way too diplomatic in highlighting the corruption at administrative and refereeing that favours New Zealand so blatantly – Brad Thorne got one week for his spear tackle on John Smit because he was a Kiwi – if he had been any other race he would have got eight weeks. Even this reversal of theThomson stamp-on-face is a farce – how can you reverse a judgement upwards? (Keep in mind Etzebeth got two weeks for a head butt gesture that did no damage), etc. etc. etc.

• 12.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-10: Sorry read “of Dallas fame”.

Cheers JR

• 13.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

I think that many correspondents have got the wrong end of the stick. When was the last player from the Bleatingish Isles cited when playing in November? They can spit, bite, kick, trip and goose without punishment. Most of them are constantly offside, flop in the rucks and collapse scrums. The SH countries are hard done by. The latest nonsense is the crazy sentence for an alleged spear tackle by a Wannabe. My mother in law hits harder than he did. And, if Thompson was stomping my m-i-law is a virgin.
    The Maori were murdered by incompetent, or partial referees. The yellow card for a guy who did not move was insane, and they were beaten by a club side. The Tongans and Samoans were also badly treated by referees, except in the Wales match.
    The IRB, one must remember, is a racially based Gerrymander that gives more votes to the English Poppies and their Celtic colonies than the entire SH.

PS If the Bokke had the courage of Kallis and the Proteas, they would get a ton tonight. I watched the match here in Oz and was spell bound by the struggle. The Proteas have given themselves a fine chance of overcoming the Aussies, who must also play with a depleted attack.
    So tonight I will be rooting for victories for the RSA, Wobblies, Kiwis, Samoans, Pumas and Tonga. I like the French but if the results go as I wish (dream), then I think that France will be the only NH team in the top eight. That would be something to savour.

• 14.Brads: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-9:
    I disagree.

Ref’s by and large blow what the see. Some simply freeze and forget what their job is.

I do not accept the notion they go into a match with multiple agendas of;
    - Watch this player in rucks
    - Watch that player being off side
    - Watch these players being morons

• 15.Brads: Reply to this comment

@J.B. Cowper-11: @J.B. Cowper-11:
    ‘Even this reversal of theThomson stamp-on-face’

Clearly you are a one of those farktards that get all you knowledge from blogs.

• 16.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@J.B. Cowper-11:
    yip.

the thing kiwis and the rest of the rugby community need to learn is that with a fair set of rules equally applied for all participating nations, the game of rugby as a spectacle stands to benefit more than any one nation would/could.

how much more apreciatable and satisfied would we not be if we could walk away from these thouroughly enjoyable contests with the sure and certain knowledge that the outcomes were well and trully deserved for the winners or losers.

to be able to look back in time and say that on such and such a day in history, that team and those players were the best, undoubtedly. i would give anything for such an ideal, even if it means accepting that at times my favourite teams were not the best, nor good enough.

all we have now is a festering scandal on slow brew, bubbling away until it boils over periodically, like it did with this incident, and forces due scrutiny on what is a dishonesty campaign organised at a seemingly ‘mark armstrong like level’.

we the loyal fans and supporters deserve more.

• 17.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-16:

‘mark armstrong like level’. = lance armstrong

• 18.Brads: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-16:

What a load of bollox

• 19.Nils: Reply to this comment

@AiDoc-13: “I like the French but if the results go as I wish (dream), then I think that France will be the only NH team in the top eight. That would be something to savour.”

It would be a Houdini act to squeeze Fiji in.

• 20.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Brads-14:

I suggest that we agree to disagree.
    I do however agree with you that the majority of refs might not be prejudiced and may have a poor match and miss things or as you said freeze ( Bryce Lawrence in our WC semi comes to mind, but even there he had preconceived ideas of not being the one to give a penalty that will determine the outcome, so he let it all slide to our detriment)
    I will disagree that our players are treated equally once reaching the judiciary process, history has shown that we are more hard done by and treated more harshly.

• 21.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@AiDoc-13:

Saw those incidents on Reunion and it was a disgrace.
    That was blatant cheating from the ref and one idiot touch judge with a trigger finger.

• 22.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Brads-18:
    listen boet, while i dont mind and in fact welcome comment on and replies in the form of criticisms or otherwise to my posts, i feel we need to establish a clearer set of ‘rules for our engagement’.

you cannot unilaterally decide when and how you will respond to me or if you will respond at all, when you feel like it. you asked that i not direct my posts to you personally and stated that you would not be engaging with me.

lets both establish some clarity, for each others sake, ok. now then, do you want to talk to me or not? i just do not like it when you choose to talk at me, as opposed to speaking to me, when you feel like it yet also are rude enough to tell me not to talk to you at all, or when you feel like it.

what gives..?..

• 23.cane: Reply to this comment

This IRB witch-hunt is friggin OUTRAGOUS.

How many times can you hang a man.

Adam is a Top Bloke……………………………………………even Katman acknowledges this fact.

• 24.Brads: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-20:
    Separate issue about on field and off field decisions.

I have no opinion on how players from SA or any country for that matter are dealt with. If you believe you have been hard done by, then fair enough.

Take it up with the IRB or SANZA or who ever is the body that pis_ses you off most.

My beef is with the process itself.

• 25.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-23:
    caner old friend, there you are… i was hoping you’d stop by cos i was hoping to here what you’ve got say now that the appeals process is done.

didn’t quite go the way you said it would (please, expand on that).

• 26.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-25:

my english and spelling is atrocious:

‘i was hoping you’d stop by cos i was hoping to here what you’ve got say’

should read:

i was hoping you’d stop by cos i wanted to hear what you’ve got say

• 27.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

jeezuz!

i was hoping you’d stop by cos i wanted to hear what you’ve got TO say

• 28.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@AiDoc-13: Re the cricket.Thanks

• 29.Brads: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-22:
    Fark off

You broke the treaty, thus deal is ended.

Don’t get on your high horse as if you are being hard done by.

By God, if anything it explains your expectations on why you feel the Bokke are not fairly treated.

You totally ignore, forget or dismiss your own transgressions but accumulate any offenses, both real or perceived, so they become a mental blob of mindless indignation.

• 30.cane: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-28:

Cricket looks very interesting ryeman.

Oz now 111 for 5.

Lead 273.

• 31.ufo: Reply to this comment

This incident is was/is being blown way out of proportion… sure Thomson was very foolish to use his boot on the head… but there is simply no way it was with any malice or intent to do bodily harm… Looked to me he was tapping the guy on the the head as if to say, “Oi… outta the way mate!”

He was excluded from the final game of the yeah whether he was selected or not… so increasing his ban means very little.

I dont believe this was part of any conspiracy at all… He had to be cited for using his boot on another players head. But anyone viewing the incident can see no intent so the commission saw no need to throw the book at him and as it is the end of the season a one week ban was as effective as an 8 week ban.

People just using this (and other incidents) to push agendas.

What does need looking at perhaps is banning players for a number of games instead of a number of weeks.that would be more meaningful… IMO…

yeah… and I like Thomson… a hard honest grafting player putting in the often unheralded effort in the same mould of Danie Roussouw…

Happy it’s finally over.

• 32.cane: Reply to this comment

@Brads-29:

Don’t take bakkies too seriously Brads.

His reason for being is to bait us.

Just go with the flow.

jab, weave and jab.

• 33.cane: Reply to this comment

@ufo-31:

Nice post UFO.

Says it all really.

Now if we could get you a Position in the IRB.

• 34.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@cane-30: It all depends on the Clarke & Hussey show. If they put on a good stand for the 6th wicket, SA is stuffed. It was a good come back by SA though.
    During the week I read an unpublished piece written by Marais Erasmus, who is one of the umpires in the Sri Lanka / NZ series. He said that Mihaela Jayawardena (spelling ?) walked when he gloved the ball: he was on 91 at the time – something that happens seldom at test level.
    Cane, to get back to the Thomson incident: I’m with you on this one – if Thompson really wanted to stomp on his head, he would have done a lot of damage. Having said that, it was a stupid thing to do !

• 35.cane: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-34:

Stupid……………………………..You bet.

• 36.ufo: Reply to this comment

@cane-33:

get a facebook petition going bud… :wink:

• 37.Brads: Reply to this comment

@cane-32:
    I know exactly what he is.

My version of weaving was a mutual agreement of ignoring each others posts.

Which we did for 2 or 3 weeks, but Bakkies decided to put in the slipper and then accuses me of being the offender.

As I hinted at in my earlier post. His actions and reaction explains everything.

• 38.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Brads-29:
    huh..?.. what treaty?

i was never party to any agreement of any sort with you. i was however at one point instructed by you not to engage with you and informed that you would not be engaging with me.

i subsequenlty replied to a post you directed at another blogger and you then chided me for directing a post at you, this after you had instructed me not to interact with you.

there is no treaty, there never was a treaty.

now, do you wish to interact with me or not? i for my part have no problem or issue wrt interacting wit you, but i will not accept being spoken too when and where you feel like it (i mean this in the nicest way).

and on the subject of springbok transgressions, i disagree that i do not point out or condemn such occurences when it happens. i often call out foul and dangerous play involving the boks. the problem is most always the boks get their just desserts for illegal play, yet other nations do not.

i dont want to go into 2010 i really dont.

• 39.Brads: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-38:
    There you go, make up things as you go along and ignore reality as it stares you in the face..

You know what you agreed to and you know you blinked first.

If you are not man enough to be humble about it, I leave it to you to live with.

Personally I couldn’t give a rats.

• 40.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ufo-31:
    disagree, there is a conspiracy of sorts. whether its a conspiracy of silence on the aprt of people standing silently by while sa gets s.crewed over or something more nefarious on the part of the nz’ers… its pretty clear that this incident was not reacted to by people the world over in isolation and on its merits alone.

this was in part a response to the continual and repeat injustice of the all blacks team so often maniplating games and events after the games and getting away with it time and time again. people are just becoming sick of it all and slowly are reacting with nore and more severity.

nz have and do get away with murder and it has to stop. this is a step in that direction.

• 41.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ufo-31:
    oh and while you’re at it, please explain the eight week sentence on wallaby rob simmons for a ‘tip tackle’ as compared to the lame off field yellow handed down to retallick for his same tackle on bekker..

• 42.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Brads-39:
    no i dont, please remind me.

• 43.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-32:
    lie to yourself all you want, cane.

• 44.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

ABSOLUTELY FARCICAL.

Anybody who thinks this is a fair citing is either a biased kiwi or a troll.

Simmons gets 8 weeks for a tip tackle? Etzebeth gets 2 weeks for mikking and missing?

And the kiwi gets a ridiculously lenient sentence for stomping on a players HEAD.

All this hullabaloo only to uphold the original 2 weeks? He should have seen 8 weeks straight up. Once again the kiwis get away with absolute murder.

• 45.Brads: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-40:
    My my my.

Now you are accusing NZ of being telepathic.

Subtly massaging the brains of all rugby decision makers on the planet so they collectively have nudged NZ to where we are at the moment.

• 46.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek-44:
    my point exactly.

@Brads-45:
    Brads, dont be an idiot, telepathy isn’t real.

• 47.XV: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-41: yeah I am with you on this one. The tip tackle on Smit by Thorn a few years back is proof enough that the whole process is a shambles.

FYI: SA / Eng game is going to be a wet weather game. Its pissing down here in London.

• 48.Brads: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-46:
    It is as real as your conspiracy beliefs.

The difference is, I know telepathy isn’t real.

• 49.ufo: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-40:
    @i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-41:

well i’m sure we can agree to respectfully disagree… :lol:

personally i don’t believe there is any conspiracy at all… whether to nail the boks or go easy on the abs…

yes… i think we all agree there is a lack of consistency in both the citing and the penalty process but i feel that has more to do with the weakness of the system as formulated by the irb than a part of any organised conspiracy or proactive cheating…

it may also be compounded by “home town” decisions… but that is human nature and happens in many sports… but is hardly a conspiracy…

there needs to be a reviewing of the whole system and process by which foul play is identified, investigated and punished… with far tighter definitions giving commissioners less leeway for personal interpretation or opinion… most importantly it should be a one-fits-all scenario so that no matter what country or franchise or province or club a player plays for anywhere in the world the process and punishment would be EXACTLY the same…

personally i believe it should be taken out of the hands of rugby people and given to a team of accountants and lawyers who have nothing to do with rugby… so that everything is done by numbers instead of emotion… and all working from the same book wherever in the world they made be operating… it would not need to be a very big team at all at irb/international level overseeing smaller teams in each irb country…

• 50.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek-44:
    the problem is we allow them to get away with murder because we do not act on each and every instance of their illegalities by seriously penalising them.

all too often each indivudual nation which plays them just adopts a ‘turn the other cheek’, ‘tigers dont cry’, ‘rugby is not tiddliwinks’ approach and attitude (because this is the prevailnig attitude and culture f the players involved) and allows them to get off by not wanting to pursue it, as this is seen as being unmanly.

they exploit and take advantage of us due it this fact.

heaven forbid one of our players even went anywhere near doing something similar. it would result in an almost immediate suspension wiouth even the option of arguing the case during the hearing (what would be the point).

• 51.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@ufo-49:

It’s not a conspiracy. The whole rugby world is scared to upset the precious All Blacks, because doing so always results in the sanctimonious, holier than thou players and staff in All Black rugby crying and whining like a bunch of short-changed ho’s.

Mealamu is a nice bloke.

Thomson is a nice bloke.

Wayne Barnes is a cheat, here’s 15,000 pages of evidence we typed to prove it.

There’s a mystery waitress who caused us to lose the world cup in 1995.

The gang tackle on O’Driscoll that almost ended his career was perfectly OK, because it was Umaga and Mealamu and they are paragons of virtue. They’re just really nice blokes.

It’s pure and simple. THe oke who cries loudest and longest gets what he wants when it comes to the IRB and their citing process.

• 52.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-50:

100% AGREED. See my post 51.

• 53.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@XV-47:
    ja thanks.
    agreed on the thorn assault, that was one shameful episode indeed. ranks up there with 2010.

ok so a tight game then. hope the boks dont go out of their comfort zone like they did against scotland because of the weather.

@Brads-48:
    yes, and i know nz rugby machinations are.

@ufo-49:
    yes, we do disagree.

you have to blind not to see the extent of their organised, willful, well trained and clearly intended cheating in the game. the extent of it does not come out of thin air.

• 54.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Brads-48:
    oh and just to be clear, we still havn’t laid down the rules of engagement.

• 55.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek-51:
    If it is not a conspiracy and the entire rugby world is scared of NZ, what a bunch of worthless chumps you champion.

That being the case, stop pissing and moaning about the symptoms. Start dealing with the cause. i.e your own back yard.

• 56.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek-51:

Case in point. Etzebeth was RIDICULOUSLY cited for a nothing offence leading up this test, and whilst the fans had plenty to say, HM, the player etc simply took it on the chin and let the process run it’s course.

Thomson gets cited for ACTUALLY stomping on someone’s head. That’s right, he stomped on his head. Far more dangerous than an “air-butt”. And the Kiwi management etc are all of a sudden spouting every nauseating epiphet under the son. Hey- remember when Adam Thomson laid his hands on that leper and cured him? What people don’t know about Thommo is that he once rescued a strangers child by donating his kidney.
    Thommo can make the blind see again…. unless they’re citing officers, because they like operating under cover of darkness.

• 57.Brads: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-54:
    There are none, as of your breach.

• 58.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek-56:

I know it’s a serious matter and post, but damn that made me laugh…..
    Sorry if I sound disrespectful, not my intention

• 59.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@Brads-55:

Sorry- what symptoms? What has our “backyard” got to do with anything?

It’s simple. You okes are the spoiled brats of world rugby. You cry blue-farking-murder at every perceived injustice, throwing tantrums that make a 3 year old on a sugar high who’s been awake for a week.

Don’t divert the attention to us here tjom. South African rugby management and it’s administrators have plenty of problems, but one thing they don’t do is concoct ridiculous conspiracies or drop on their knees and give their players head to prove how it’s impossible that such a “top bloke” must always be innocent.

• 60.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek-51:

no problem has ever been resolved by people labeling and insulting each other and refusing to actually talk to each other about it and refusing to acknowledge the issues of the other side… real or perceived…

it also becomes extremely difficult to address any problem when personally attacking people with opposing views rather than addressing the problem… it’s only get’s everyone’s backs up and precludes all possibility of honest, open and sincere attempts as problem finding and resolution creating…

people should rather look for common ground and work from there… the common ground being a love of rugby and everyone wanting to see consistent and fair identification and penalising of foul play… i do believe every rugby player and follower wants the same thing… address this issue… together and in concerted fashion… and all talk of conspiracies and/cheating and/or favouritism will simply evaporate…

attack the problem… not the people…

• 61.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek-59:

P.S. I am not talking about supporters and fans here. I’m talking about your players and administrators.

Supporters and fans can get upset and say what they want. That is the right of every supporter except maybe those of the Taliban XV.

But when your players and administrators do it, well that’s just sad.

P.P.S. Before you use P.Divvy as evidence of a South African coach supporting his players blindly, I would like to point out that he also voted ANC and I’m pretty sure he had a suspicion that he may have been the son of C’hrist!

• 62.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek-59: “You cry blue-farking-murder at every perceived injustice, throwing tantrums that make a 3 year old on a sugar high who’s been awake for a week.”

Ahem, are you sure it is not a perfect description of the groundhog day style wailing here every day? ;)

• 63.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@Nils-62:

see post 61

• 64.ufo: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-53:

so bakks… why the need for the dismissive insult…?

you have a different opinion than i do… but i didn’t call you blind… or stupid… or dishonest… or a cheat… or anything… i simply acknowledged we differed, with respect, and then offered my own opinion without falling back on any insults…

your and vetkoek’s need to insult and/or dismissively belittle those who hold different opinions to you is where the cracks start showing…

a pity you don’t recognise that people do not have to be blind, or trolls, or biased kiwis or stupid or bad or dishonest people to hold a different view point… i have explained my opinion as rationally and unemotionally as i am able… and i refuse to join you and vetkoek in yet another round of insult throwing contests…

sure banter can be fun… but this endless repetitive roundabout of insults and blame is neither banter nor fun…

• 65.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek-56:
    yes, i agree.
    this is an area of the game that needs cleaning up and fixing.

@Brads-57:
    my breach..?. huh..?..
    i dont know what you are talking about. we have no agreement.

oh well, laissez-faire it is then.

• 66.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@ufo-64:

sorry? who did I insult? Who did I attack?

• 67.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek-59:
    The only crying going on is you and your mindless whinging and fantasy land conspiracy issues.

• 68.Nils: Reply to this comment

“Thomson received a one-week ban for standing on flank Alasdair Strokosch’s head”

I don’t think he got banned for “standing” as he obviously didn’t and I find it strange that English speaking writer can’t see the difference. He hit it with the rucking boot.

• 69.Brads: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-65:
    You are correct, we don’t have an agreement.

You breached it, thus it no longer exists.

Ignoring history though is woefully consistent with you.

• 70.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek-59:
    i could only wonder at what he was implying there.

@ufo-64:
    i’m sorry ufo, no offense intended and did not mean to come across as dismissive.

to be fair, i did not outright accuse or label you as ‘being blind’. i just feel you, or anyone for that matter, should be if you guys cannot see what has clearly been a repeat series of very, very unfair outcomes in games of rugby involving nz over the last 10 to 15 years and this has less to do with them being good or others being poor and a lot to do with illegal manipulation and outright flouting of the rules of the game.

this to me is akin to drug taking in cycling, its no different.

• 71.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ufo-64:
    and yes, it may be slightly tangetial to your problem of fixing refereeing and the judicial processes in rugby but i feel if properly considered one soon realises what and where the root causes of this problem stem.

• 72.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek-66:

44.Vetkoek:
    24 Nov 2012, 12:35 pm
    ABSOLUTELY FARCICAL.
    Anybody who thinks this is a fair citing is either a biased kiwi or a troll.

yes… hardly the worst insult ever… but it’s the dismissal of people who hold views as strong as yours that then come back and insults you back… and then we spiral upwards forgetting all about the issue because we’re more intent on out-insulting eachother…

instead of offering an insult opinion on everyone who has a different opinion to yours…
    why don’t you try formulating and and communicating your own opinion in a more rational considered way…?

the problem is not any individual player, team, country or group of supporters… the problem is the loosely defined system which is left too open to interpretation… while everyone attacks each other nothing will ever be sorted out… if everyone joined and worked together to attack the problem… the system… then we may get somewhere…

• 73.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@Brads-67:

I thought we were supposed to attack the problem, not the person?

I made it perfectly clear that whingeing from the supporters is to be expected.

It’s the bleating from your officials that gets to me.

• 74.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@ufo-72:

Ag puhleeeezzzeeee.

I said you’re a biased kiwi or a troll if you think that citing is fair and you take that as an insult?

Dude, at the risk of mistakenly insulting you again, you need to lighten up. Being called biased is hardly insulting.

• 75.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Brads-67:
    starting to sing the ‘whingers song’ then… the lame refuge of every kiwi…

@Brads-69:
    WE have no agreement.

all WE have is an idea in YOUR head that you can talk at me, not with or to me, as and when you wish, and dismiss me when you do or dont feel like it.

sharpen up man.

• 76.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Nils-68:
    the ‘rucking boot’… really….

• 77.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Nils-68:
    Thomson was an idiot.

He deserved at the bare minimum the 2 match base line penalty set by the IRB.

The big problem is the penalties that are imposed.

A really heavy 8 week ban on a player who offends in a EOYT match is bugger all compared to the same penalty 2 weeks into the Super comp.

• 78.Brads: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-75:
    Thats right we have no agreement.

You broke it.

I am amazed you keep denying it!

• 79.Nils: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-76: He hit with something else? Oh, you did not watch, I see.

@Brads-77: Yes, it was stupid and one week ban was also stupid. Maybe IRB sadists just wanted to hear another session of bleating on keo.

• 80.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@Brads-78:

no offence buddy, but you’re starting to sound like a jilted lover with this” you broke our agreement” line.

Either debate the mans points or don’t.

• 81.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@Nils-79:

He didn’t “hit” or “ruck”.

He stomped.

• 82.ufo: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-70:

saying someone must be blind to see things one way or not see them another can’t be more dismissive…

yeah, as far an insults go if this was cited it would be low-level infringement receiving a lower-end penalty…

but the point i was trying to make is… why even go there…?

why not just rationally lay out your case and show others the respect of letting them do the same… if you can’t/don’t/won’t see the other’s point of view then move on… once you’ve stated your case simply repeating it another 100 time sin more insulting terms does nothing to strengthen anyone’s argument or credibility…

someone mentioned above it’s those who shout loudest and longest who get the special treatment… but shouting loudest and longest on an interweb forum isn’t going to make anyone else see your perspective at all… it only results in other people trying to shout louder and longer and/or cheering each other on… but the purpose quickly become to out-shout each other instead of debating the issue…

which is what i’m going to do… have stated my case… no point in restating it endlessly… so i’m moving on…

• 83.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek-74:

of course it’s not… but you have missed my point entirely….

• 84.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Brads-78:
    well then if i am indeed denying anything please point this out to me.
    i certainly do not recall ever agreeing to allowing you to speak at me, an instruction as to how i could and should behave towards and with you, and me just meekly accepting..?..

by all means, if i in fact did do this then remind of this incident.

short of this, i repeat, WE have no agreement.

• 85.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek-73:
    Really, are you miffed that the NZFU is looking after is assets and SARU doesn’t.

Is that the guts of your beef with NZ.

In other words, you are jealous you can’t keep up with the Joneses

• 86.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek-81: Stomping is not a hitting? Alright, since English is not neither my native language, nor even second, I’ll leave that as it is.

But you won’t convince me that it is a “standing on a head”.

• 87.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@ufo-83:

OK. Then we’ll just have to agree that I’m right and you’re wrong :)

Seriously though. I’m just taking the p1ss a bit anyway. At the end of the day, I don’t believe in conspiracy theories, but I am very cynical and highly speculative as to why your boys seem to get lighter sentences and lesser penalties and I strongly believe that this may have to do with the amount of noise your rugby honchos make when the need arises.

I find the same thing with el Pomarino’s

• 88.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@Brads-85:

You see it as looking after it’s assets.

I see it as bringing the game into disrepute.

The man who defends the indefensible is to my mind as guilty.

• 89.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek-81:
    yes, correct.

might i say though, just so we dont bring blame on ourselves for confusing issues in any way deliberate or otherwise, by our kiwi friends… shouldn’t we rather refer to it as stamp than stomp?

and if yes, then is it correct to say Adam Thomson STAMPED on a acotish players head…?..

• 90.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek-88:
    i mean really…

is this even a debate..?..

that one needs to stress the point to the kiwis.

wow

• 91.Nils: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-89: The next step will be that he did stand on the Scots head.

Oh, well. :D

• 92.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ufo-82:
    i’m trying ufo, i really am.

my approach is too coarse and abrupt maybe, and i dont know if i’ll ever get the hang of this new fangled new age feel good hippy approach to interaction :lol:

• 93.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@XV-47: Didn’t JdV also get a two week but one match ban for spearing Ranger?

• 94.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-92: Far out, man! :lol:

• 95.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek-87:

okay…

thing is… i believe rugby is the best sport ever… i believe that other people believe that too… which is why we all play or support players and teams who play the sport…

if we all have this basic belief system… i can’t see who any other player or supporter, no matter where in the world the come from or what country they live in or what teams they support, can be that different from anyone else who loves rugby…

whenever i meet another genuine rugby lover i immediately find that we have way more in common than we have differences…

that’s what i choose to focus on…

(yeah corny and sounds ‘world in uniony’… but true nonetheless…)

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-92:

good for you Bakks…

nothing new age about it though…

simply recognising and respecting each individual and his or her rights to be…

anyway… been fun as usual… next time..

gotta saddle up the palomino…
    the sun is going down…

• 96.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Nils-91:

funny you should say that Nils because i have pictures of all black players doing just that. sure it was back in the ameture era but it is pretty damning :grin:

• 97.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@cane-30: Kallis out.50% of our team

• 98.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Out injured

• 99.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-94:

@ufo-95:
    cheers boet, have a good one.

• 100.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek-87: Why your boys.UFO is a good old SAFFER

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.