Boks among top RWC seeds

New Zealand, South Africa, Australia and France will be the top four seeds for the 2015 World Cup draw on 3 December.

The ratings gap between those sides and the rest are too high for results of the two matches on 1 December (England vs New Zealand and Wales vs Australia) to affect their position as a top seed.

The rankings are being used to rank the 12 directly qualified teams for the World Cup into three bands for the draw with the sides ranked one to four in band one – and crucially avoiding each other until the knockout stage – those five to eight in band two and the remaining four in band three.

England and Ireland are in the second band of seeds for the draw (fifth to eighth in the rankings).

If Wales avoid defeat against Australia, Wales and Samoa will take the other two spots in this second band, with Argentina in the third band. However, if Australia defeat Wales, then Samoa and Argentina will fill these two spots in the second band, with Wales joining Italy, Tonga and Scotland in the third band of seeds.

IRB rankings
1 New Zealand 92.91
2 South Africa 86.94
3 Australia 86.31
4 France 85.07
5 England 81.07
6 Ireland 80.22
7 Wales 78.95
8 Samoa 78.709
9 Argentina 78.708
10 Italy 76.24
11 Tonga 76.10
12 Scotland 75.83

177 Comments

• 1.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Dragon job done

• 2.phil72: Reply to this comment

Semi finals

NZ – France
    SA – Australia

• 3.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

Stupidity from Wales to have sent out a weaker team against Samoa.

Now they’ll in all likelihood be looking at going home after the pool stages come the next World Cup.

• 4.DEE DAH: Reply to this comment

I assume seed 1 goes with seed 5. Seed 2 with 6 etc etc. then Australia could have a very weak pool if they beat wales next week but injuries could be a problem

• 5.cane: Reply to this comment

fark………………………………….Scotland are down to 12.

Behind Tonga, Italy and Samoa.

Will be an extremely tough WC for them.

• 6.cane: Reply to this comment

@DEE DAH-4:

Dee Dah,
    I think……………………..but am not sure,
    that Nations seeded 5 to 8,
    are drawn from a hat to see what pool they play in.

• 7.Nils: Reply to this comment

@DEE DAH-4: @cane-6: It will be a DRAW. Anyone from one pot can get anyone from another pot.

• 8.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@cane-5: yeah very good to see the Pacific Islanders finally get up there and take down some NH opposition. Samoa were hellishly tough in the WC. With a bit more professionalism in their game they will start being a thorn in the side of any interantional team in future.

• 9.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

2nd best in the world… Thats one position higher than what pdv quota left hm… Well done heyneke…. Boere is mar rugby kenners

• 10.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Wtf… Samoa above argentina? Argentina drew vs the 2nd best team in the world… Scotland @12????they beat team nr 3 in aus…. Kak story

• 11.gonzo: Reply to this comment

Sorry to be a maths Nazi Keo but you’ve rounded Samoa’s score down instead of up, they are also 78.709

@suffer_guy-10: That’s the system, deal with it

• 12.gonzo: Reply to this comment

Quite a concern for European rugby. If Australia wins, Europe only has three teams in the top eight

• 13.gecko: Reply to this comment

Hendrik, that wasn’t a weak Wales team. Was their strongest available, with all off the press calling for Warburton to be dropped, which he was for that game. I live in Wales, that wad their best XV for that game.

• 14.willievz: Reply to this comment

If we draw Samoa again, I know these drawings are fixed.

• 15.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Gap between 1 and 2 could not be bigger.

Still feel Boks have not progressed at all since the Rugby Championship. We don’t yet look like a team that could give the All Blacks a go.

The lack of a variety in the Springboks play , no offloads in the tackle , no counter attacks from deep when it’s on , its been frustrating to watch.

• 16.willievz: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie-15: The difference is pace.

We need to play at a higher pace.

Quicker ruck ball, more phases, wave after wave of attack.

We get enough quality ball to play at speed, but our 9 slows it down as part of the game plan.

• 17.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@willievz-16:

Agreed , just so sick of these old school tactics. The Sharks team from the Super Rugby playoffs would beat this Bok team. I’d bet money on it.

• 18.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Suffer guy and Transie are having a laugh if they think,between them,that they can vote 19 times for the kings to win the Saffa conference next year. :D . Bully bloggers also very confident after the naming of Matfield as forwards and attack coach I see. :D . Poor Cheatahs.Nobody fancies them.

• 19.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

well well well…

having read about this, unsurprising, bit of foul and DANGEROUS play i felt it worthy of having a look, so i did.

and all i can say is, wow!

wow

i am apalled…

apalled to the core

there is no place in rugby for this sort of thing, and sincerely hope no one will even think of comparing greylings assault to this. he at least had the guts to face his opponent and attack him from the front. say what you want macaw at least could see and know his assailant was coming.

and lets even forget for the moment that macaw’s assailant was rightly or wrongly reacting to yet another instance of outright, dishonest illegal play (cheating) on the part of macaw. so, at the least we have an understanding of where the motivation came from for that attack.

this however… was shameful and cowardly…

but in no way unsurprising.

i can only ask, how much longer will this blight continue on a game we all love..?..

enough, i say… enough…

• 20.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-19: no,you are wrong .McCaw did not see that thing you call a Blue Bull launching at his head. :D

• 21.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-20:
    yes he did.
    he knew he was coming and he milked it as much for the reaction as he wanted to penalise all the same.

• 22.willievz: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie-17: The old school tactics do have a place, but I agree that it is executed too liberal at present.

But – and this is the main concern – unless we undergo a metamorphosis in the way we think about the game, about trusting ourselves to play at a higher pace and aiming to score more tries, then we will not succeed.

And judging by the way our coaching staff talks, their ideologies, and their mandates (forwards coach as attack coach, etc), we are not well poised or equipped to cross the Rugby Rubicon.

• 23.willievz: Reply to this comment

Andrew *****’s incident yesterday is the most cowardice I’ve ever seen in sport.

And the most disgraceful.

Not even Pieter van Zyl, Ben Johnson, Richie McCaw or Lance Armstrong come even close to this.

• 24.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-21: in your opinion off course. :D . Your man is a disgusting piece of human filth and I ,for one,am glad that he won’t see another Bok jumper in his life time. :D

• 25.wnbb: Reply to this comment

No,Simon,you did not write this article.It’s a nearly 100 percent copy and paste job from the official IRB website. :D

• 26.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@willievz-23:
    disgusting really, but not unsurprising as far as the ab’s are concerned.
    ‘just another’ act of taking out/targetting key or talismanic players early in the game in order to disrupt and unsettle their opposing team.

this one however ranks up there as one of the most cowardly, shameful and disgusting instances of dirty play i have seen by them.

the thorn, umaga, mealamu incidents are arguably not as bad as this one.

• 27.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-24:
    why the smileys..?

whats so funny..?..

• 28.phil72: Reply to this comment

Good super rugga season awaiting us…..

1 Dean Greyling, Dawie Steyn, Mornè Mellett, Juan Schoeman
    2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, Willie Wepener, Callie Visagie, Bongi Mbonambi
    3 Marcel van der Merwe, Werner Kruger, Frik Kirsten
    4 Flip van der Merwe, Paul Willemse, Jacques du Plessis, Schalk van Heerden, Mike Williams
    5 Juandrè Kruger, Wilhelm Steenkamp, Grant Hattingh, Cornell Hess, Marvin Orie
    6 Dewald Potgieter, Deon Stegmann, Wiaan Liebenberg
    7 Arno Botha, Jacques Potgieter
    8 Pierre Spies, Shaun Adendorff, Jean Cook
    9 Francois Hougaard, Jano Vermaak, Ruan Snyman, Rudy Paige, Lohan Jacobs
    10 Mornè Steyn, Handrè Pollard, Louis Fouchè, Tony Jantjies
    11 Bjorn Basson, JJ Engelbrecht, Sampie Mastriet
    12 Jan Serfontein, Francois Venter, Ulrich Beyers
    13 Wynand Olivier, William Small-Smith
    14 Lionel Mapoe, Akona Ndungane, Travis Ismaiel
    15 Zane Kirchner, Clayton Blommetjies, Jürgen Visser

• 29.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

Question regarding the Springboks defence during these NH tours… I know our backline has been awful on attack, no doubt about that, but had the backline been defending better without Habana in the setup? I’ve noticed how the wings have been effective in coming around and covering the spaces behind the defence, as well as coming up to the line at the right times, unlike Habana who has a habit of leaving his post and flying up into the line, creating huge gaps (like in the Springboks vs ABs at home this year)… I cannot help but feel we need a better wing that Habs.

• 30.nortierd: Reply to this comment

And in other news: Andy Robinson has resigned as Scotland’s coach after their loss to Tonga

• 31.willievz: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell-29: Interesting comment.

I am unconvinced though.

Firstly, the Boks played against weaker opposition and attacking units than in the Rugby Champs. These units mostly tried to attack us by going through the defence rather than around it. Therefore, our wingers did not need to form the umbrella on the drift as often as needed.

Secondly, on the few occasions where the opposition did attack us wide, we looked vulnerable, especially on Hougaard’s wing (particularly against Ireland and yesterday against England). Poor finishing and running lines spared our blushes. On a faster surface, and with better finishers, we would have been smoked.

JPP, on the other hand, had an outstanding defensive tour, apart from his yellow moment against the Paddys.

Habana is still part of the very effective Stormers defensive unit, and for me, he should play for the Boks in 2013.

• 32.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

fark me, Mouritz Botha has now become ‘Maurice Botha’ in the english press:

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/rugby_union/4663266/England-15-16-South-Africa-Match-report-and-pictures.html

talk about anglicising words and names…

• 33.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@willievz-23: Eddie Butler article in todays Guardian

TITLED.NZ PLA YLOVELY RUGBY BUT ARE NOT LOVELY SPORTSMEN.
    EXCERPTS.
    They are a hard hearted bunch,and this echo of former times when they
    ruled by fear and ferocity is the one single obstacle to their place in our
    hearts.
    in the second minute there had been no time for a feud or a slight to develop
    which would have brought a mist down over Hores eyes.The eariness
    of the vmoment did not prevent him from felling an opponent from behind
    with a swinging arm.
    They play lovely rugby but are not lovely sportsmen.It is a charge that has
    followed them through the ages.The glitter of their skills is countered by
    their cynycism.

Not mischief making so don,t shoot the messenger.
    I still think that they are a magnificent team.
    The above is paraphrased,but ensured accuracy.

• 34.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-32: What’s wrong with it?You bully boys should be used to such fancy girly names up there in Danville and surrounds. :D

• 35.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@willievz-31: Habana and JPP are two of the only guaranteed backline starters who can turn defensive into swift counter-attack. The Boks of old must be crying in frustration and clutching their armchairs in anger.

• 36.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

Bring back the Bok backline play of old!

Hard, uncompromising but skilful forwards, a 9 who provides swift service and can run with the ball, and a backline full of pace and flair.

• 37.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-36: We need people like Ray Mordt, Carel or Venter as our backline coaches.

WTF does Matfield know about attacking backline play. He kept getting his arse whipped by Australia.

• 38.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-33: Well,thats it for the EOYT.
    Let provincialism hold sway for a couple of months.

• 39.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-38: Darn right. Next up, Hoymeyer Versfield and Dirtbin :-)

• 40.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-33:
    hi Rye,
    exactly, they are a filthy team who play a dirty game, without fail.
    i have no respect for the more appealing aspects of their game because this is what i judge them on… cheats and all too often dirty cheats too.

the only reason they couldn’t beat us pre-isolation was because we took it to them when tried the ugly stuff and were not afraid to punish them for their behaviour.

i honestly don’t know how they can feel good about themselves when beating us with such pathetic handicaps in the modern era. if the playing fields were level they would be shown up for what they are… fakers…

@wnbb-34:
    seriously, no half decent self respecting parent would ever name their son ‘Maurice’….

• 41.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-40: I don’t see what’s wrong with Maurice?

• 42.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-40: We also had a decent backline in those days.

• 43.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-39: LOL.Enjoy your website.

• 44.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-40: Hello pal.Did not want it to degenerate into this.Stay well

• 45.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-33: It wasn’t good at all. I hope the judiciary come down on him with their full weight and hand out a ban similar to that given to Greyling or Higgenbotham, i.e. 1-2 matches. He’ll have to miss the England test and a pre-season super rugby match. Any less would be a disgrace

• 46.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-41: WP had a rosy cheeked
    Bishops boy(I think) at lock named Selborne.Bakkies must have laughed.

• 47.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-41:
    seriously..?. ‘Maurice’..?..

its just not right

@mikeybrass-42:
    yes, true… that we did.

@ryecatcher-44:
    i know, that’s not who you are.
    stay true

• 48.peanut_g: Reply to this comment

@phil72
    Does that bulls super rugby squad for 2013 really fill you with confidence? Compare to sharks and stormers squads, and bulls have little hope of winning sa conference IMO.

• 49.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-46:

• 50.phil72: Reply to this comment

@peanut_g-48:

It really does… as history has proven, the bulls can win a super rugby tournament if and when they have a descent squad!!! History has also proven that the other SA teams cant?

• 51.nama1: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-41:
    He prefers Jan or Gert or Koos. :lol:

• 52.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

to honest i would scutinise the hookers ‘accidental’ injury too if i were the judicial officers involved. they are masterly at faking ‘fallning’ onto opposition players who are awkwardly placed.

• 53.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-52:
    sorry, it was a welsh prop and not a hooker
    just read the gurdian article

• 54.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-46: Selbourne Boome. I liked him. Solid player. Even better names-wise was Hottie Louw :-)

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-47: What’s the difference between Maurice and Pierre ?

@nama1-51: Hendrik !!!! :-)

• 55.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@peanut_g-48: Not with Matfield leading the attack *snigger*

• 56.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-51:
    come on Nama, seriously… would you name your son ‘Maurice’..?..

that boy would have a helluva hard time growing up :lol:

@mikeybrass-54:

ok

point taken :lol:

• 57.gunther: Reply to this comment

Boomer.

What a leg.

• 58.nama1: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-54:
    Gawie!!! Jakobus!!! :lol:

@mikeybrass-55:
    Jislaaik! Forward coaches now the attack coaches as well.

It would be interesting to hear Meyer explain the philosophy behind it. It obviously is his idea to begin with.

• 59.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-55:
    @nama1-58:
    we play 10 man rugby with ocassional cameos by the other 5.
    its not rock science to see where most of our attack comes from.

use you heads people

• 60.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Ep kings on the rise

• 61.peanut_g: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass
    LOL. The fact that ricardo loubscher was attack coach for so long shows the bulls don’t take the position very seriously. The most matfield will be coaching is ‘attacking lineouts’.

• 62.David: Reply to this comment

@nama1-58:
    The backs are only there to provide ball for the forwards at the breakdown.

• 63.nama1: Reply to this comment

@peanut_g-61:
    Loubscher was not involved with the Bulls afa I know.

• 64.nama1: Reply to this comment

@David-62:
    That explains JdJ nearly joining so many rucks to protect the ball then. :lol:

• 65.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@nama1-63:
    I think he was the backline coach of their Vodacom team.

• 66.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@nama1-58:

If I recall correctly Rassie did video analysis in the 90′s while still playing, and he turned out quite good as a coach.
    Obviously Victor did similar analysis of opponents’ line outs and there he was a master, so maybe he did more than just that as well?
    The jury will be out and it will interesting to see the Bulls next year and to see what the verdict will be.

• 67.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-66:
    Going by the attacking ability of the Bok team this year where van Graan is also the forward and attack coach, I personally don’t think that it is a good idea.

But as you say, we’ll see next year whether it will work for the Bulls.

• 68.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

this from the nz herald:

All Blacks: Hore hit reinforces thugs image

Stupid act undoes the hard work the All Blacks did in the wake of the Thomson judicial case.

It is not the All Black way to leave their own to hang out to dry, an attitude for which Andrew Hore should be eternally grateful.

His act of stupidity – his needless and unfathomably crass stiff arm administered to the unsuspecting Bradley Davies – will have confirmed in every Northern Hemisphere mind the long held notion of the All Blacks as perennial thugs.

The Adam Thomson saga was trying for the All Blacks: not just for the futility and frustration of the drawn-out process but because there was depth to the sub-plot that the All Blacks are viewed as villains in this part of the world.

When the All Blacks come to Europe they can’t escape their past: historical atrocities have been committed and the Brits have incredibly long memories and an insatiable capacity for grudge-keeping.

for the rest:
    http://www.nzherald.co.nz/sport/news/article.cfm?c_id=4&objectid=10849865

• 69.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

love the pr spin on how its a ‘stupid act done by an individual in isolation’.

• 70.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-56: *grins*

• 71.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@nama1-58: Gawie? ROFLMAO :-) :-) Almost as bad as Cheese van Tonder :-)

• 72.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-59: I’d rather fly into space by using my brain :-)

• 73.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-66: Rassie was never an attack coach. Oh well, it leaves the field wide open (sic) for the other franchises against the Pinkies.

• 74.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-73:
    True, but as head coach and then director of rugby he still got to oversee al aspects.
    I can’t see the Bulls deviating to much from the plays that brought success to them though.
    As a Stormer supporter I just hope we are successful against the pinkies!
    They could have done worse by giving Wynie the job

• 75.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-71: Draadkar de Lange

• 76.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-75:
    Baksteen Nel, Domkrag, Moaner
    Chiliboy sounds cool, but not menacing.

• 77.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-21:
    Sooo you think greylings was milked by McCaw now.
    *** you are an idiot. Andrew Hore does something bad, i dont see one kiwi saying it wasnt and he shouldnt be banned for months. Glad to see you love covering for your thugs but go all religious when a kiwi does something.
    Both acts were disgusting, both players on the end did not see it coming, Andrew should gets months but seen as greyling got 2 weeks expect the same.

• 78.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

WP are Currie Cup CHAMPIONS !!!! Champions, Champions, Champions !!!!

• 79.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-76: Piston van Wyk

• 80.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-78: The date now is 25.nov 2012

• 81.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-79: And there was a guy
    called Griespomp.Surname escapes me.

• 82.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-79:
    Forgot about Piston.
    Jeez I’m glad we don’t live in Wales.
    A similar conversation there will go something like ” Jones, Jones,Jones, Jones”

• 83.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Goodnight all

• 84.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-77:
    the problem here is we have come a long way in cleaning up our rugby but in instances where we lose our way and transgress we are rightly punished.

of course we are often unfairly punished but that’s neither here nor there.

you people on the other hand have neither cleaned up your rugby nor are you appropriately punished anywhere near enough (we know the reason for that).
    and this is the problem you see, though one of your making for sure, it is too the international community’s for not having endevoured to stop the rot within nz rugby.

it certainly was disgusting indeed, definitely ranks up there as one of the most despicable assaults i have on a rugby field in modern times (and that’s saying something considering thorn, umaga and mealamu’s shenanigans), and i expect he will receive more than the barest of minimums which you have so often received in the past.

• 85.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

i suppose one advantage in this case is that it did not happen under the watchful eye of the nz sports broadcaster responsible for capturing that assault on o’driscoll in 2005.

‘that’ video evidence from all those multiple video cameras surer had a way of ‘losing’ itself during the crucial citing window didn’t it.

• 86.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-85: What are your thoughts on this uncited incident?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lRZRQI_69OQ

• 87.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-84:
    You have blown it.
    To cover Greyling and to blame McCaw for milking shows you have no clue and as one eyed as your trouser snake. You are the thug by the looks of it. You paid the boks to pull out the George Smiths dreads, you tackled the ref while McCaw owned you a$$…. you are dirty

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-85:
    Didnt a South African let them off??
    Stop playing the fool.

• 88.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

No action on new O’Driscoll video

Tana Umaga and Keven Mealamu will not be punished for their controversial tackle on Brian O’Driscoll despite dramatic new video footage.

Amateur pictures clearly show the Lions skipper being picked up and dumped to the ground during the opening seconds of the first Test against New Zealand.
    But the International Rugby Board says it is too late to take any action.

“There are no retrospective penalties in the game’s regulations,” the IRB’s Greg Thomas told BBC Sport. O’Driscoll, who dislocated his shoulder in the incident, has always claimed he was the victim of a ‘spear’ tackle.

But both Umaga and Mealamu escaped punishment because the incident was not picked up by the match referee.

…………. further;

He had already seen the video footage before it was made public by Sky Sports on Tuesday and has even used it in his lectures.

“Everybody was surprised at the time that there was nothing done to the New Zealand players, but this video was not available at the time,” he told BBC Sport.

“If it was, possibly there would have been something done. “When you look at the video you have to say that Brian was very, very lucky. He could have easily broken his neck. “Spear tackles of this nature are banned in rugby league and in American football.

“The video leaves nobody in any doubt whatsoever that they have to be banned in rugby union as well. “There will be no recriminations now, but we cannot allow it to happen again.”

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/rugby_union/international/4376306.stm

• 89.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

Bakkies I have said this before many times and will continue to say it.

You are BORING with your one-tracked mind and lame a*s obsession with the kiwis.

Let it go, you will feel a weight lift from your shoulders. Or else just start supporting the kiwis already (you talk about them so much you are probably a closet fan).

• 90.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-87:
    Yeah, but we planted the seed in George’s head that there was money to be made from his hair, so he subsequently shaved the dreads and auctioned it off.
    In retrospect you could say we did our for charity, good giving souls that we are

• 91.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-86:
    not quite the same when considering it was an ‘on the ball incident’ which did not result in injury. however, simply because spear tackles are now illegal and can injure it should be condemned and punished if needs be.

@Hurricane-87:
    he requested and was not given nz controlled video evidence on which to make judgements. in the absence of evidence what elde could he do?

• 92.bokdrol: Reply to this comment

Well done, Vettel. Respect, Alonso!

• 93.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

this is a continuing and shameful blot on the game.

it has to stop.

• 94.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-88:
    Nope, you tried to cover up what greyling did……fail
    Pathetic, here you are on a mission to show NZ rugby up, yet spear tackles from other team you do not comment about, and further more blame McCaw for Greyling balls up. Even when Etzebeth was cited, you found out that a kiwi was doing it and called him the cheat…..lol, pathetic

• 95.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-75: Hottie wins the biscuit :-)

• 96.papaown: Reply to this comment

@phil72-28: Did the Bulls acquire Mapoe to play wing or as a centre?

He played predominantly as a centre for Lions, so yeah

• 97.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-94:
    no covering up here, hurri.
    he transgressed and was punished. i merely pointed out the facts of the motives for his actions (macaw cheating same old).

you mean like retallick’s spear on bekker which went lamely punished?

lets just call it coincidence that where kiwis are involved on the judiciary against sa players there is usually a sentence meted out far in excess of the crime.

• 98.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

what could h.ores motives have been to take a key/talismanic player out in the first two minutes of a test?

of course eerily similar to o’driscoll being taken out in the first two minutes of a test.

no wait, they do that sort of thing all the time.

• 99.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

“There was a citing officer who had a look at the incident at the time but he had very inconclusive evidence,” said Thomas.

“If you watch television, it was very, very hard to get an exact idea of what happened and this footage was not available.

“Everybody was surprised at the time that there was nothing done to the New Zealand players, but this video was not available at the time,” he told BBC Sport.

• 100.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-97:

21.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha:
    25 Nov 2012, 15:12 pm @wnbb-20:
    yes he did.
    he knew he was coming and he milked it as much for the reaction as he wanted to penalise all the same.

McCaw milked it. lol
    Yep just shows what greyling did in your eyes was nothing.
    You are a cheat and thug.

• 101.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-84:
    Houston, I’ve tried to see things from your extreme perspective in a cordial and congenial manner to the detriment I think of relations with some of my fellow Ab supporters. Now I have come to the brink of my tolerance of your conspiracy theories. The Hore act was stupid and ultimately dangerous and he will be punished. To insinuate and suggest the Abs and their coaches, management have conspired some pre-meditated hit on certain members of the opposition is bullshitt. You harp on about the dirty play, filth this,filthy kiwis that, the monotony has become nauseating and sickening because of the untruths..

• 102.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-100:

did greyling transgress and was he punished?

yes

was there a motive for his behaviour?

yes (macaw as per usual blatantly cheating and being allowed to get away with it)

did macaw milk it for maximum value?

yes

• 103.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@willievz-23: cmon Willie, it was no worse then Geldenhuys on Dalton..

fark me, you guys are so one eyed its not funny,. not condoning Hores actions at all, should be severely reprimanded and I hope he is..

but face it, ear biting, king hits from behind (Bakkies on Cowan), you guys are the masters at this type of thi9ng.. please show me one other team that has had 3 eye-gougers in the line up and all are thought of as legends?

no wonder no one in international rugby likes you guys, such fcken hypocrites..

Bakkies, so if someones cheating thats justification to attack them like greyling did.. ? youre still a complete fckwit…

no wonder SA as a country is in such a rabid state…you blokes are fcked..

• 104.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-102: was greylings punishment sufficient? no, not at all, he deserved longer than 2 weeks, much like thompson deserved more then 2 weeks..

• 105.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-101:
    And i hope Hore gets punished big time as well.
    We do not need this cowardly act in the ABs environment.
    Hansen should punish him,

• 106.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-101:
    hi TR, i am sorry if i offend you.

it is unfortunate and it hurts to say it but i’m afraid it is overwhelmingly likely to be true. these consistent repeat events and the behaviour of the nz team make it hard to argue otherwise. there is a body of evidence building and building which clearly points to this.

i will concede i should not use the word filthy when describing kiwis as a whole. did i? flip i didn’t even realise i did. for that i apologise.

• 107.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-104:
    agreed.

perhaps non dangerous cheating should be treated similary too and offenders have a record built up which can see them attract heavy off field sanction for their on field transgressions.

this would help to protect players like macaw from players who target him because they cannot get any help from the ref during the game.

• 108.poppa69: Reply to this comment

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LLXVBEqAxGE

this bloke wore an arm piece to reinforce cheap and dirty shots like this, from the home of thugs..

not even cited

justice 4 byron..

• 109.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-105:

Immediately after the match, won by the All Blacks 21-11, Meyer apologised to All Blacks skipper Richie McCaw, who appeared to be on the receiving end of a forearm smash by Greyling.

Greyling faces the judiciary after he dived at McCaw, who was trapped in a ruck, and appeared to hit him in the face.

The incident came in the 63rd minute, just after the All Blacks had taken a 15-8 lead and were starting to take the ascendancy in a physical, torrid, match between two of rugby’s most passionate rivals.

“I’m very big on discipline and it’s unacceptable,” said Meyer, who before the match had expressed his admiration for McCaw as “one of the best players ever”. “I think it cost us the game as well and I want to apologise to Richie and it will be dealt with inhouse, but it’s unacceptable.

“We’re a team that prides ourselves on discipline and we can’t afford these things in games.” Visiting skipper Jean de Villiers said if Greyling is found guilty he will face internal action as well as any punishment handed down by the rugby judiciary.

“We’ll never condone playing dirty,” De Villiers said.

“Like the coach said, discipline is a non-negotiable for us and definitely if he was in the wrong we’ll take action internally against him.”

• 110.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-101: I told you when you first come here bro, they as a whole have nothing but hatred for us…

you told me my approach was wrong, and that youd rather try the nice approach..I did too when I first started here, but Bakkies idiocy is just the tip of the iceberg,n thisd ias the norm and has been for 4 years that Ive been here, and they talk about SA “hospitality”

what a fcken joke..

Hurri, I plead with you not to visit their country, this is how they treat their “partners”..

• 111.JL1: Reply to this comment

THERE IS SOMETHING THAT I HAVE TO GET OFF MY CHEST…..

KIWI RUGBY PLAYERS ARE DIRTY FILTHY CHEATS AND WHAT HAPPENED ON SATURDAY IS JUST ANOTHER NOTCH ON THE FILTHY RECORD OVER THE YEARS….MAY HORE GET BANNED FOR LIFE!

• 112.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-105:

there was no standard PR coverup spin line from meyer in regards the greyling incident.

what hanson did and said on tv was in noway indicative of a coach and team management intent on punishing dirty acts by their players.

if anything it sounded like a protctive cover up to me.

remember, not only was greyling punished by the judiciary he was also punished internally and subsequently dropped from the squad.

hasn’t played again for the boks.

• 113.poppa69: Reply to this comment

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P1znXpoxWRs

yep, Ritchie really milked this huh?

though I suppose he deserved it, thats justification for it huh..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6AjnmPNOn6g&feature=related a video to note all the SA cheating.. made by someone up north..

• 114.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-105:
    to be clear, i dont know if you watched it but the post match response from hanson is the polar opposite to the post match response from meyer wrt the greyling incident.

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/sport/news/video.cfm?c_id=4&gal_objectid=10849865&gallery_id=129439

• 115.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-112:
    Not talking about HM at all.
    It is your attitude. McCaw did not deserve what he got, he did not milk it. It was you that called the Citing officer a cheat for even citing Etzebeth. You are the one with the problems. We are all for stopping this sort of rubbish in rugby but you go off in Bakkies world and blame kiwis only.
    Mccaw milking it is just another dumba$$ thing you have said

• 116.poppa69: Reply to this comment

there was more intent in greylings cowardly attack then there was in Thiompsons, yet they got the same punishment..

like all Saffas, dirty filthy cheating thugs, bully boys who have to continually attack players from behind

Geldenhuys
    Burger
    Bismarck
    matfield
    Etsebeth

all dirty bullies who should be banished from the game for simply being SA..

disgusting scum..

(end bakkies mode)

• 117.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-110:
    come on pops you’re overeacting a bit.

i apologised for referring to kiwis as filth (did i, i dont remember doing it?) but again, i sincerely apologise.

take the personal stuff out of it and you will have no choice but to admit that nz have a case to answer as far as dirty play and cheating is concerned.

• 118.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Amazing thing is the players get along, will enjoy a beer if and when time allows and if you read their biographies love the Barbarians because that’s when they get to know each other on a more social manner.
    The majority respect the opposition , yet the fans can’t get along or show mutual respect.

• 119.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@JL1-111:
    Hore will get banned.
    But only filth here are people thinking Kiwis are the only ones doing it.
    Like you

• 120.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-117: and SA dont? your holier than thou attitude scvks, and your continual references to us as filthy scum etc is pathetic..

your faux apology is also bullsh!t, because it will continue regardless…as it has previously when youve “apologised”..

you continually take it to this level, while maintaining your own players are saints..

so fck off..

• 121.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-115:
    yes but i want to point out to you the difference considering you said hanson should punish him (hore).

he hasn’t quite started off with an approach which will make us all feel comforted that the ab coaching staff/management are intent on punishing this sort of behaviour internally.

• 122.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-120:
    dont be ridiculous.

my apology is sincere.

• 123.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-118:
    Getting called filthy scum gets a bit tiring

• 124.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-121:
    Well i think Hansen should do something, times to step up and stop this.
    I havnt seen 2 in one year like this from the ABs in a long time.

• 125.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-122: bullsh!t, seen it before Bakkies…

Ive asked you before not to refer to us like that, seems strange that many hate my generalisations, and get all upset and the like, yet let you generalise unabated without nary a whisper..

so fck them and fck you too..

this is how you want it, this is how it will be..

• 126.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-116:
    the difference is we are routinely punished and quite serverely too.

are you?

dont answer it because the stats will shock you.

• 127.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-123:
    I would also take of offense at that, but there are Bok supporters who actually enjoy watching the All Blacks and respect their players.
    Just as I am sure that there are AB fans who respect SA rugby and will continue to do so.
    Just bear in mind, this is a blog site and the views expressed are personal and not in any way indicative of all then it’s cool

• 128.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-124:
    yes agreed.
    would like to see ab management/coaching staff take the lead as opposed to the other way around.

@poppa69-125:
    oh for the love of god pops, i am sorry and have apologised.. ok…

i dont even recall saying this, are you sure i have?
    i’ll check back just to be sure but am sorry all the same.

• 129.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-127:
    Totally understand and agree.
    Have conversed with many South African fans on here and have learnt a great deal, especially from a South African point of view.
    I get the ole go blog on a kiwi site….or what are you doing here this is a south african blog but you dont get insight into the one of our lets say enemies by blogging on a kiwi site.
    I enjoy it here.

• 130.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

ok, i’ve just checked and the only time i used the word ‘filthy’ is the following post below. i referred to the ab’s as a ‘filthy’ team and not to nz’s in general as filthy people. to be clear, i am not saying all nz’s are filthy people but was saying the nz rugby team is a filthy team.

i will supplement the word filthy with dirty instead.

40.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment
    25 Nov 2012, 19:08 pm

@ryecatcher-33:
    hi Rye,
    exactly, they are a filthy team who play a dirty game, without fail.
    i have no respect for the more appealing aspects of their game because this is what i judge them on… cheats and all too often dirty cheats too.

the only reason they couldn’t beat us pre-isolation was because we took it to them when tried the ugly stuff and were not afraid to punish them for their behaviour.

i honestly don’t know how they can feel good about themselves when beating us with such pathetic handicaps in the modern era. if the playing fields were level they would be shown up for what they are… fakers…

• 131.wnbb: Reply to this comment

You are one farkin moron,Bakkies.Farkers like you deserve to be mercifully peosklapped.deal with your own Bull pond life scum like Greyling,Werner Kruger etc etc first before you try to sort out other people.

• 132.poppa69: Reply to this comment

the only “fakers” was SA’s record pre-isolation

since the advent of neutral refs, the truth has outed alarmingly..

• 133.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-119: to quite honest SA and the All Blacks play rugby to win and with passion and sometimes players get over zealous in the moment, in my opinion seldom with intent

• 134.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-131:
    you are so far off base, boet.

• 135.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-131: should read mercilessly .

• 136.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-129:
    That’s the truth.
    Actually the only thing I have against McCaw and NZ at the moment is I ordered his biography almost a month ago and am waiting with baited breath, but I’ll let you guys off the hook and blame our postal service.
    Was lucky enough to get Todd Blackadder, Jeff Wilson and Josh Kronfeldt a while ago, still need Michael Jones and Zinzan Brooke then I’m happy.
    Met the author of Inga Tuigimala in the week and he promised me a signed copy, so I hope that goes through

• 137.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@JL1-133:
    I agree with that fully.
    There are times where players have been targetted but on the whole this is a game that is taken seriously from both countries. In the heat of the moment individuals can lose focus which will get them in trouble and with no intent at all

• 138.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-134: you are a farkin bore you peos.The same sh yt every farkin day!!I hope somebody ,someday,put you on a permant feeding tube.

• 139.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-132:
    nothnig to do with refs
    ab’s were cheats back then too

• 140.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-136:
    Our postal service can suck believe me.
    Seems you are a book worm . I never knew Inga put a book out?

• 141.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-138:
    that is such a nasty thing to say.
    i will give you time to reflect on it.

• 142.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-137: I thought Hore went down into the ruck and tok everything around him into it as well…..but the officials will now make their own little circus and after the Thompson incident will now want to show that they can manage rugby although we all know that they are the idiots who have not even played the game and are all inept at managing the game

• 143.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-138:
    Looks like wnbb has just stepped it up

• 144.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@JL1-142:
    disagree
    he clearly targetted him imo.

• 145.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-140:
    Inga the Winga.
    Amazing thing is Michael Jones is so humble, he doesn’t even have a copy of his own book.
    Collect rugby biographies, not so much the NH, they have 10 ten caps then they publish a book, similar to their cricketers.
    But some are not so bad.

• 146.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-136: dont expect anything revealing in McCaws book..

it is an interesting read but it is quite sanitary…

• 147.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-141: my fist will reflect on your farking face if you ever cross my path.

• 148.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

ok folks
    i’ve gotta be up for work real early
    cheers all (kiwis included) :grin:

• 149.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-140:
    Also his book was written by Myanmar Sobryan, an Indian man who lived in Durban who emigrated to New Zealand. He also wrote Pierre Spies’ book.
    The common thread is he gives motivational talks at churches and that’s how he met Inga and Michael, through their faith, and Pierre as well

• 150.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-146:
    No collection will be complete without it.
    I don’t like it when players publish while still playing, always more that could have been included

• 151.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-149:
    Sorry, should be Mayan not what spellcheck thought it should be

• 152.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-138: Your last comment is out of order. Shame on you.

As for the remainder of this thread, same old same old.

• 153.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-147:
    look, dont make threats like this ok… its not nice and could lead to someone getting hurt. ask yourself if its worth it.

• 154.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-148: *** off placenta face.

• 155.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@JL1-142:
    True.
    But i do hope Hore does get punished and a good one as well.
    He may not have wanted the outcome of his silly act like the player leaving in the first few minutes but he did it. Time to face up.
    We all know there have been same strange banning in the game over the last few years, and you guys are right, consistency is needed. Thompson was lucky, even though it was a pu$$y ruck it was on a head of a player, needs at least a month, Grayling lucky to get two weeks. IRB needs a to sort out the citings. They need one lot of people to do it fulltime, not picking different people here and there to cite and punish.

• 156.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-154:
    no, f.uck you

ok

• 157.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

anyway
    i’m out

• 158.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-154: You are a real farkin doos and deserve a good peosklapping you farkin pond life scum.stop your shy t if you know what’s good for you.

• 159.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-157: then *** off you blue bull pus sy !!

• 160.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-155:

All anyone ever asks for is consistancy, no perceived bias because this one was nice to the bloody man in charge of the senence and that one had a clean record, or this one said sorry and the guy he kicked said it did not hurt…………….none of that k uk. Headbutt two weeks (it must connect!!!), punch 3 weeks, tip tackle 4 weeks etc………….no if buts or maybes……….straight non negotiable sentences. Only then will we get rid of all the sh it of bias (perceived or otherwise)

• 161.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-148:
    Cheers Bakkies

• 162.whatever: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-147:

oh wow a cyber hero……..

• 163.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-155:

The TMO should be given the authority to intervene if he picks up on field offenses that the ref and assistants miss.
    He can ask the ref to call time out and review and then make a recommendation.

• 164.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-149:
    wow ok.
    Dammit!!!
    Thats all us kiwis need on here is another South African that actually knows his stuff :-)

• 165.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-110:

Again with the generalisations, f uk you are a tw at of the highest order!

• 166.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Blue bull supporters are nothing but scumbags.they would make for perfect scarecrows because they are so kuk ugly.if you wanna force your children to do something you just show them a picture of a blue bull supporter to scare the living daylights out of them .

• 167.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@whatever-160:
    Yep, lets get some consistency here.

• 168.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-166:
    Hey, I must disagree.
    I live in Pretoria ( support the Stormers though ) but I’ve seen some very pretty Bull supporters.
    The amazing thing is when they did so well and reached the finals you would walk into a supermarket and could buy blue bread, blue milk, blue milk tart, blue boere wors I s hit you not.
    I’ve never seen anything like it before.
    The best thing about a Bulls loss is the peace and quiet, better than car horns going off.
    Their supporters are fervent and really get behing the team, I’ll give them that.

• 169.whatever: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-166:

You need to take a chill pill, banter is good but if you actually want to go out and hurt someone because of what they said on an annoymous blog, you need to go and see someone and talk through your childhood! Do some “unpacking” cause it’s not normal.

• 170.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

Hurricane and Te Rangatira are good folk. Cane is a softie deep down, a decent chap.

NZ people are a friendly bunch generally.

I like the flavour they bring here.

I would far rather have them here – and chat rugby with them – than this monotonous and BORING irrationally obsessed Bakkies Loverboy who, frankly, is getting a tad much with his constant whining. It gives the rest of us a bad name.

Poppa has deep seated mental issues and is a curse to this site. Just like Bakkies Lover I suspect he tarnishes the rest of the good kiwi folk in the eyes of many on this rugby site.

• 171.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-170:

Don’t read the ones you don’t like then…….it’s actually very easy, there are some blokes who ar e just plain boring and arn’t even worth a read. Skoppie for eg……..I only read his short posts, anything past 4 lines is repetitive boring BS :)

• 172.whatever: Reply to this comment

Agreed re poppa……..he is just a demented doos, nothing more nothing less.

Hurri, I think is a good bloke, he just gets caught up in the “poppa syndrome” every now and again………

Te Rangi has the patience as long as his arm, reminds me of my Dad, although it looks like he has reached the end of his arm….

• 173.Nils: Reply to this comment

@whatever-160: Well said. (And Hore should be banned for a quite long time, no argument).

• 174.gunther: Reply to this comment

Oh dear.

The Poodlefucker has gone feral again.

Filthy little tikkop *****.

• 175.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

These rankings wont make too much difference at the top end. It is the third tier that is most important. A team like Wales or Argentina as the third ranked side in a group is where the groups get interesting.

• 176.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-159:
    i really dont want to stoop to your level

but go ***** yourself

• 177.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-170:
    then scroll on by, doos

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.