Hore hit Davies off the ball during the initial stages of last Saturday’s Test in Cardiff. The incident was missed by matchday officials, but Hore has now been cited and looks likely to receive a lengthy suspension.

30,235 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 211 212 213 214 215 [216] 217 218 219 220 221 … 605 » Show All
9 Dec 2012, 10:45 am
@CharlesM-10746: 10600 was yesterday at 11.48 am SA time: ± 160 in 23 hours – very slow going !!
9 Dec 2012, 10:46 am
And because I have a few hours of bhoredom to kill whilst I wait for my worse half to return, I voted for Brosnihan as my absolutefuckingbestest Supersport commentator on the Sport24 Poll….
9 Dec 2012, 10:47 am
@CharlesM-10751:
we might be in with a chance to take this….
9 Dec 2012, 10:48 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10750: I don’t think Gary Kirsten will allow that to happen!!
My concern at this stage is our no 6 batsman: Elgar had one match with 2 ducks: having said that, he’ll obviously be given a few more tests. I’m not sure that he is the long term solution.
Maybe we should look at a young wicketkeeper that can bat as well (e.g De Kock) and then Elgar will not be needed.
9 Dec 2012, 10:52 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10752: Brosh is worse than all the Afrikaans commentators combined !!
9 Dec 2012, 10:52 am
244 to go !!
9 Dec 2012, 10:53 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10748: Kewl beans!
9 Dec 2012, 10:55 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10752: Absolutely 100% No-one, was is or ever will have a worse voice. Trataaim!
(Although Joel is not very far behind.)
9 Dec 2012, 10:58 am
@CharlesM-10754: I would love to have a GOOD go at Elgar (as I feel he is effectively blocking the career path of a few others, who would probably be far better long term solutions) Elgar is nothing more than a stop gap IMHO.
But I’m going to restrain myself, as I am still struggling to survive my “Faf is useless, and lordknowswhattheuselesstwat is doing there” shame….
@CharlesM-10755: He is the utterly woeful, hence me voting for him
Everyone needs a ‘fan’ Charles
(even the kakWarren B)
@playtheball-10757:
9 Dec 2012, 10:59 am
@playtheball-10758: A very “Hore”se like voice
9 Dec 2012, 11:01 am
@CharlesM-10744:
yeah, i remember reading about a player revolt of some sorts in which he was supposedly involved against the coach at the time (andy moles?)
it would seem in cricket, captaincy is very much something most individuals mature into over time (smith for example) so who’s to say whether either of them would have turned out to be good or poor captains, without the benefit of time accrued in the position.
i think there’s also a possible issue around the relationship between the current coach and mcullum, which may explain why he wanted him as captain (having said that its kinda his perogative to do so).
also, it should be noted that a brilliant batsman doesn’t neccesarliy a great captain make.
@nortierd-10745:
a manchurian candidate… i like it…
9 Dec 2012, 11:02 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10759: Faf has cemented his spot !! He really has BBMT – “Big Balls Match Temperament”
9 Dec 2012, 11:02 am
@CharlesM-10760: Hehehe… that’s a bit of a hore-ibble pun boet. But I know what you mean: “TRAATAAIM!!!!!”
9 Dec 2012, 11:04 am
@playtheball-10763:
Oooooovvveeeeeeeer.
Well at least he’s sober when talking cra.p on TV.
One positive
9 Dec 2012, 11:06 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-10761: McCullum said over the weekend that he had nothing to do with the sacking of Taylor. The coach offered him the captaincy and told McCullum that Taylor had declined to be the test captain. “Ross is welcome to join the team when he is ready”
It is no secret that the current coach favours McCullum.
Having said that, it remains their problem and not ours !! It will however be sad not to see Taylor in SA
9 Dec 2012, 11:08 am
@CharlesM-10762: Yeah….he shut me up for sure. Although to be fair, a lot of the criticism he received earlier was deserving.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-10761: Ditto for many brilliant sportsmen. Gifted players, are not necessarily gifted leaders…..
Gifted leaders are often only slightly above average players – John Smit
9 Dec 2012, 11:08 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10747:
no need i have it
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10748:
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10750:
yes absolutely
nothing less than an utter and complete (jailhouse anal ‘love’ rape) defeat of nz will be acceptable.
9 Dec 2012, 11:09 am
@CharlesM-10765: I don’t blame Taylor for declining the offer to tour though…
DIssapointed that we arent closer to 11,000 than this.
Gonna have my work cut out for me today!
@playtheball-10763: And he likes to get very technical to impress the “uninformed” audience e.g: “Yes they are using 2 pods in the lineout but can consider a 3rd one” or “yes that was a quick channel 1 ball out of the scrum” etc…
9 Dec 2012, 11:11 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10768: Agreed 100% – it seems he was not consulted on a lot of matters. Many past cricketers (e.g Martin Crowe) were quite upset with the treatment he received from the selectors
9 Dec 2012, 11:15 am
@Taahirah-10769: The simplest way of going about this, is throwing a comment ‘out there’ related to any one of the following:
a. Kiwi cheating
b. Government
c. Meat
9 Dec 2012, 11:16 am
@CharlesM-10765:
ok thanks,
interesting to hear. i think there’s more than one side to the whole thing and a lot which wont be said in public.
anyway, as you say… its not our problem.
our problem would be if the proteas were to go put on a mediocre showing against them.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10766:
ouch!
why do you torment HG so..?..
P.S. for the record… huge, huge respect for john smit… will never have a bad word to say about him.
9 Dec 2012, 11:17 am
@CharlesM-10770: I know. Oi!
@nortierd-10764:
Well at least old whatsisname with his whisky-soaked voice has some sort of faded charm.
Bros has as much personality as a washing peg.
9 Dec 2012, 11:17 am
@nortierd-10764: I wish someone would slap together a Youtube compilation of “Blades’s” most toxicfuckups on air whilst under the influence of G&T Koolaid.
Calling Frans Steyn; Francois Pienaar was one of my faves…..
9 Dec 2012, 11:19 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10772:
pfffft… kak man!
kiwi cheating is the african elephant in the room no one wants to talk about.
9 Dec 2012, 11:20 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-10773: John Smit was our finest Bok captain ever. The most naturally gifted leader of men….
However, those stating he was also a one of the finest hookers (on a pure play by play basis) of all time, are not being entirely truthful.
Ditto for Francois Pienaar – leader of men, but any one of 20 loose forwards in the world at the time, were more gifted as players.
9 Dec 2012, 11:22 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10775:
Ha ha
I would hate to be a blind person trying to follow a match with him behind the mike.
” and he does that” is a favorite of his.
Maybe the game has become faster than his mouth can keep up with.
9 Dec 2012, 11:22 am
as far as supersport presenters go
i’m almost 100% certain those okes have some sort of ‘inside joke’ drinking game going involving the words: ‘telling tackle’.
9 Dec 2012, 11:27 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-10779:
You must know that when you get sent to Kimberly or Garsfontein High School to commentate, it’s time to get the pension fund sorted out.
9 Dec 2012, 11:29 am
@nortierd-10778: Another Blades fave, is pointing out some random dimwit in the crowd, and then rather excitedly stating, “Oh, there’s Charles Robinson, we hade a luvvvvvly time, a luvvvvvly time with Charles and his wife Ella….”
I remember him once pointing his daughter out at test in the NH as well, some years back….
Brosnihan once on air, spent about 20 minutes telling uninterested audiences that his wife is the Bulls babes choreographer, and in charge of the girls. .. yawnfuckingyawn.
And then probably the most irritating of the lot…Capistagno. Dearestmentalillness. Pat Lambie…….gush gush gush. Pat Lambie gush gush gush…..Pat Lambie’s dad gush gush gush….Pat Lambie’s grandfather gush gush gush…..
Someone should lodge a complaint….a ‘TELLING’ complaint to the Broadcasting complaints commission. Cruel and unusual punishment to listen to this lot….
9 Dec 2012, 11:30 am
@nortierd-10780:
9 Dec 2012, 11:32 am
@nortierd-10780:
9 Dec 2012, 11:35 am
Cricket
NZ backlash over captaincy
Wellington – There were calls for New Zealand cricket administrators to resign on Saturday over the sacking of top batsman Ross Taylor as captain, while new skipper Brendon McCullum denied any role in the dismissal.
Former captain Martin Crowe and New Zealand’s largest daily newspaper, The New Zealand Herald, asked those responsible for Taylor’s dismissal, and the way it was handled, to step aside.
“This week the game in New Zealand has been severely damaged. Permanently, I believe,” Crowe wrote on the cricinfo website. “Those directly accountable should go, simply as rightful punishment.”
In an editorial, the Herald described New Zealand Cricket (NZC) as a rudderless ship and said “Taylor has become the latest poster-child for the high-performance dysfunction in our national summer game.
“As a board that has involved itself heavily in operational matters, they must… call an extraordinary general meeting and resign.”
McCullum’s promotion on Friday, ahead of the Black Caps’ upcoming tour of South Africa, ended months of speculation about Taylor’s future since ex-Kenya coach Mike Hesson took over the reins of the New Zealand team in July.
Despite presiding over a string of poor results, Taylor remains New Zealand’s best batsman, averaging 43.45, and his absence from the Test squad for South Africa further weakens a side missing injured spinner Dan Vettori.
Hesson, a long-time associate of McCullum, never publicly endorsed Taylor as captain and referred to him as being a board appointment.
“His fate was sealed when Mike Hesson stepped into the head coach role. We waited for Taylor’s execution day,” former New Zealand fast bowler Jonathan Millmow said in The Press newspaper.
Hesson defended his treatment of Taylor over the captaincy, saying “there’s no good time to deliver news like that” but conceded “it’s been a very unfortunate week… and not the result anyone wanted”.
McCullum said any suggestion that he was involved in a coup, and of a rift between himself and Taylor, was untrue.
“It cuts right to the bone, that people would question your integrity and your character like that,” he said.
“I had absolutely no involvement in that recommendation whatsoever. I was asked if I would lead the one-day and Twenty20 team two days ago, and yesterday I was asked if I’d lead the Test team after Ross turned it down.”
Taylor, who immediately made himself unavailable for the South Africa tour, rejected Hesson’s claim that he was still wanted as Test captain.
He said he was initially told before the first Test against Sri Lanka in Galle last month that he was not wanted as captain at all.
“They told me I wasn’t good enough as a captain, wasn’t good enough for this team,” Taylor told The New Zealand Herald. “To hear I wasn’t good enough was disappointing. It was interesting.”
“I was offered the Test captaincy a couple of weeks (after the Sri Lanka meeting), when it was clear to me from conversations, they didn’t want me at all.
“It wasn’t a huge shock. Hesson never supported me through the whole time I’d been captain, but I was surprised by the timing.”
9 Dec 2012, 11:41 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10781: The most irritating (for me) characteristic of our commentators is their obsession with which school every player attended.
9 Dec 2012, 11:44 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10775:
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10781:
@nortierd-10784:
its a toxic fukushima squid soup of s.crewups, poor judgement and inept administration at nzc at the moment.
9 Dec 2012, 11:46 am
@Taahirah-10785: Oh hellllllll yes………. Another area in which Capistagno, Brosnihan and Blades (twattriotagteamers) seem to be ‘well fit’
In fact, our commentators in general are snobbish, stalker like, dour and depressing.
I listen to the alternative commentary 9 times out of 10. Yes, even the NH twits add more value than our lot.
9 Dec 2012, 11:56 am
Aussie commentators rock. In cricket and rugby
Way back when Jorrie Muller (snigger snigger snigger) played for the Lions in yet another fuckupofasuperrugby campaign…..The Lions were playing an Aussie team (can’t remember who), and he Jorrie was having a shocker…..leaking like a sieve on defence, and falling off tackles something comical.
In the last quarter of the game, he ran into one of his team mates, solid. The team mate fell and lost the ball if I remember correctly, and the Aussie commentators screeched, “That’s the 1dt tackle he’s completed today, and by far his most successful attempt (or something to that effect)
They be damn funny those buggers.
9 Dec 2012, 11:56 am
@Taahirah-10785: Schools a plenty
9 Dec 2012, 11:57 am
@ryecatcher-10789: Howdy Rye
Take it away gents – out of here for now. Will be back in a whizz with tellyfun quiz.
9 Dec 2012, 12:02 pm
Also off to lunch.
9 Dec 2012, 12:06 pm
-Did the Texicans give up when faced by an army of 11,000 at The Alamo…………………………….no way.
-Did Nelson lose heart, after 11,000 days of incarceration………………………………..no way.
-Did NZ Cricket cancel their Tour of SA when facing an 11,000 run lose……………………………………..no way.
Did Keo give up, when his all night binges cost around 11,000 rand……………………………………………………………no way.
And nor will we.
11,000 here we come.
9 Dec 2012, 12:12 pm
Extremely easy QF for SA at the 7′s.
9 Dec 2012, 12:16 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10788: Yip. They dont take themselves too seriously,either. Very tongue-in-cheek. Love it.
Is Kearnsey still commentating, by the way?
9 Dec 2012, 12:18 pm
Concerning the PE Sevens:
Look at this for a Pool.
Pool A:
SA
Fr.
Samoa.
Aussie.
Then lok at this for a Pool.
Pool D.
Portugal,
USA,
Canada,
Zim.
One Pool has 3 potential Tournament winners.
The other zero.
How are Teams allocated to Pools?
Crazy.
9 Dec 2012, 12:22 pm
@Taahirah-10794:
Once you learn NOT to take Kearnsey to seriously…………………………………..he is great.
Maybe the most entertaining.
And more often than not,
he is laughing with us,
not about us.
9 Dec 2012, 12:24 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10790: Hi Pedigreed Lady.
Enjoy the rest of today.In fact,all of everyday.
9 Dec 2012, 12:26 pm
4 more poxy posts,
then it’s 200 to go.
Well, technically it will be three when you read this.
If you did read this ……………………………………sorry.
Just trying to do my bit.
Now you do yours.
Stop reading and post.
NOW.
You got that.
9 Dec 2012, 12:27 pm
@cane-10796: Love him.Only Oz commentator to use “kak, doos and oke”
Takes a lot of pleasure in referring to Stink- Kamp
9 Dec 2012, 12:27 pm
Pages: « 1 … 211 212 213 214 215 [216] 217 218 219 220 221 … 605 » Show All