Hore hit Davies off the ball during the initial stages of last Saturday’s Test in Cardiff. The incident was missed by matchday officials, but Hore has now been cited and looks likely to receive a lengthy suspension.

30,299 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 232 233 234 235 236 [237] 238 239 240 241 242 … 606 » Show All
11 Dec 2012, 14:25 pm
@Robzim-11789: Jan Blohm another tortured soul. But some of his music is unreal. My fave: Groen trui. One of my faves actually…English, Afrikaans or other.
11 Dec 2012, 14:26 pm
@Robzim-11794: Juanita du Scarumba deserves and honourable mention. I think she is the biggest seller of the lot?
11 Dec 2012, 14:27 pm
i know all the words to our anthem and proudly sing it.
my daughter is not yet 3 but she also knows the words (mostly haha).
anyway crackers, have a goodie!
11 Dec 2012, 14:27 pm
@katman-11797:
Ja, you right about goosen.
They use to have this big fight about who was the real first Afrikaans rocker.
The sparks used to fly on Litnet between Dagga Dirk Uys and Johnny K and Koos Kombuis.
I think there was eventually some sort of consensus that “Blommetjie gedenk aan my” might have been the first real Afrikaans rock song.
11 Dec 2012, 14:28 pm
Almal moet gerook raak.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2IiV34vCwUE
The old GBB rocked. I used to see Hanepoot van Tonder around Plumstead a few years back – think he lives there now.
11 Dec 2012, 14:28 pm
@katman-11797:
… dis Paranoia in Parow Noord
en alles gaan normaal net soos dit hoort
ek is ‘n doos van Parow Oos
Jannie moer vir Sannie blou
ma se kind hou op met skrou
f.ok voort in Parow Noord
Koos Kombuis had his finger on the pulse in the eighties/nineties. Also enjoyed his novels like Suidpunt jazz.
11 Dec 2012, 14:29 pm
@Jeraldjay-11778: Cheers bud.
I was actually born early 80s…
11 Dec 2012, 14:29 pm
@Dawn-11781:
We must not underestimate generalisations.
If I say that during winter it rains in the Cape and it’s cold because of it’s Mediterranean climate sure its making a general statement but it’s factually correct.
Or should we major on the exceptions?
11 Dec 2012, 14:30 pm
@katman-11805: He does ja. You obviously saw Willem Moller who was also part of GBB in Searching for Sugarman.
11 Dec 2012, 14:31 pm
@playtheball-11806:
voor die TV drink ek bier
ek wil ‘n pyp maak maar my vrou is hier
die somerweer is drukkend
die tumbeldryer weer stukkend
hoe kan ‘n mens so kersfees vier?
11 Dec 2012, 14:31 pm
@Robzim-11804: That fight got very nasty…..
11 Dec 2012, 14:32 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-11801:
The best Afrikaans life gig I think i ever attended was Jan Blohm at “Die Boer”.
It was about two years ago…. he was absolutely cooking that night …and sober.
The poor bloke is having a hard time lately, very inconsistent.
11 Dec 2012, 14:32 pm
@playtheball-11809: Ja, he was fantastic. He also used to pop up in just about everyone’s band at festivals – probably the most used guitarist of his era.
11 Dec 2012, 14:35 pm
Sigh… Only Afrikaans song I know is the song from Binnelanders and it is rather nice.
11 Dec 2012, 14:35 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-11802: Saw a funny sketch by Stef Bos in his show at the Fugard, saying now that he has a child he needs to write another hit because his last one was Papa in 1986 en doeke is f.okken duur. So he phones Kurt Darren and asks him.
Kurt says: “Ag f.ok dis maklik man, gebruik net die woord bokkie en jy’s verseker van ‘n hit.”
“Nou hoe dan so Kurt?”
“Want 385,000 Afrikaanse vroue se mans noem hulle nie meer “bokkie” ses maande nadat hulle getroud is nie. Daar’s jou F.okken target market klaar uitgesort man.”
11 Dec 2012, 14:36 pm
@Robzim-11812: Shame. It’s terrible, but the dude really does seem to be tortured beyond help.
I know his wife (of at that stage a few months) left him when she was pregant, because he lost it again badly, the narcotics…
But last I saw, he was back with her and the baby.
I know at many shows the oke was so fuckedup on stage, he was booed off, thrown off etc.
Valiant does a great live show as well.
11 Dec 2012, 14:36 pm
My student years were soundtracked by a young Valiant Swart band at places like The Navigator and Cherry 2 in Pretoria. The original band with Anton La’mour on guitar and “Dapper Jannie” on drums used to bring down the house – pretty much literally. They’d end their set with Die Mystic Boer, knowing they’d be forced into one more song. And this would always be International Maria – a noisy, destructive assault of feedback and distortion that ended in broken instruments and mosh injuries.
Here is a more sedate number from that time (performed more recently here):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VQCpx_cua0I
11 Dec 2012, 14:37 pm
@Treehugger-11814: Sorry Treehugger. let’s talk about kak English music then. You start
11 Dec 2012, 14:39 pm
@playtheball-11815: BWHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
Ok, that’s me rolling around the floor…because the 1st song I think of is: Want jys my rooi rok bokkie,,,uh uh uh,,, ons gaan die heel aand sokkie,,, uh uh uh (Those Campbellfucks have escaped our scorn, until now…)
And I see they have a new album out
Voet in die hoek pappi…
http://www.diecampbells.co.za/
@Robzim-11812:
Jan on a good night
http://youtu.be/QA0-xNIuBTY
3 months of near consistent rain and freaky scary thunderstorms if the sun dares to pop out for a couple of hours. I like the rain but if you just slow down to smell the roses moss will grow on you.
Oh well back to building the Ark
11 Dec 2012, 14:41 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-11819: That bokkie stuff was first done by David Kramer, but his had authenticity and a massive cool factor.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-gmVd29U5uk
This new wave of bokkie should be snuffed out fokkengou.
11 Dec 2012, 14:43 pm
@playtheball-11818: The Bieber (sp) boy and Gaga (she of the meatdress have already been done.
11 Dec 2012, 14:45 pm
@katman-11817: Naais.
@Robzim-11820: Cool song. Great talent.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-11819: O nee o wee!
11 Dec 2012, 14:45 pm
Bok van Blerk???
11 Dec 2012, 14:46 pm
My personal fav… Steve Hoffmeyer…
11 Dec 2012, 14:46 pm
@Treehugger-11821: I see they had to rescue a few people trapped under a bridge from the flooding. Not pleasant. The rain has to stop at some stage….
@katman-11822: Kramer was cool, as you say….He pushed a few new boundaries in his day and had that ‘x factor’ thing
This other lot….nee man. Bokkies, Loslappies and the like…yughkuk.
11 Dec 2012, 14:47 pm
@Gumboots-11825: We think he’s a cocktonsil. On the kitsch and kak list
11 Dec 2012, 14:48 pm
@Treehugger-11823: So if those are the only two kak singers in English, i think we’ll have to stick to the Afrikaans lot. So much more material to work with
11 Dec 2012, 14:50 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-11827: Kramer has a new show in the Baxter early next year, I think. As producer.
@Gumboots-11826: Loftus local… (that’s what happens when a fella from the Cape gets stuck in SnorCity…sigh….)
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-11828:
I just know that my daughters hose themselves with a song called ‘eyeshadow’. It was on TV and they paused it and called me. Never larfed so much in my life…
@Gumboots-11825: @Gumboots-11826: Yugggh, but we don’t really care. As you should know, us Capies have absolutely no clue what happens on the other side of the Karoo.
11 Dec 2012, 14:51 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-11831:
11 Dec 2012, 14:52 pm
@Taahirah-11830: And I guarantee you, it will be sold out…night after night after night. He will be sure to incorporate much of Taliep’s legacy as well.
Something to look forward to in the mess that is Rooi rok bokkies and loslappies.
11 Dec 2012, 14:53 pm
@playtheball-11833:
Kurt Darren is amazing…
11 Dec 2012, 14:54 pm
Another good one from Valiant: Roekeloos
Haar boetie was die baas van ‘n brandewyn plaas
Daar onder in die Boland so blou
Sy was ‘n bad stukkie hollywood met mags op haar bakkie
En ‘n cute klein sakkie om haar secrets in te hou
Sy sê kom dans met my
Vat ‘n kans met my
Maybe kan jy vir my vir altyd kry
Sy sê dit lyk vir my jy kyk vir my
Miskien kan ek en jy in my bakkie gaan ry
Chorus:
Sy kon skiet, sy kon spin
Sy kon ski, sy kon sny , sy kon twist en turn
Sy kon rol, sy kon raas, sy kon rook, sy kon blaas
Sy was roekeloos
Daar was ‘n kraak in die spieël
En ‘n traan op die kussing
En ‘n briefie in die kassie se laai
Sy sê spyt kom altyd te laat in roullette
As jy klick jy’t vergeet om die barrel te draai
Chorus:
Sy kon skiet, sy kon spin
Sy kon ski, sy kon sny , sy kon crash en burn
Sy kon rol, sy kon raas, sy kon rook, sy kon blaas
Sy was roekeloos
11 Dec 2012, 14:56 pm
@playtheball-11829: ok at least half of the music that came out after the mid ninetys , you see far to much to even mention
11 Dec 2012, 14:57 pm
@Gumboots-11832:
It is entertaining to lag at these ‘artistes’
Then again, I feel we are being unfair….there have been a few shockers from the English contemporary market as well. (Local). In fact – the English market probaby gifted the worstfuckingbandever to the SA music scene.
The Soft Shoes. (Ok, let’s all puke together…)
11 Dec 2012, 14:57 pm
And who could forget this number? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dH7hYBKqrYE
11 Dec 2012, 14:58 pm
Leka da in WP
@shooter-11837:
Sy was ‘n bad stukkie hollywood met mags op haar bakkie
En ‘n cute klein sakkie om haar secrets in te hou”
Flippin brilliant
@Gumboots-11836: Ja right
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5h1Df3adf3w
11 Dec 2012, 14:59 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-11839:
I’m just talking k ak here… I can’t stand any of the artists I’ve mentioned.
I must say I do find Valiant Swart entertaining though…
11 Dec 2012, 14:59 pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Glv2zQZr-7A
11 Dec 2012, 15:00 pm
dis vrydagaand met ‘n bottel in die hand
aan die buitenkant
marlene my darling het ‘n twintigrand
en die vure brand
die wit kinders dans met die rastas vanaand
**** hoe sing daai boer van babylon
hey-hey vrydagaand
met die bottel in die hand
buitenkant
dis vrydagaand met die sekelmaan
novembermaand
kallie skiet solids en die skyf maak aan
almal ontspan
hey-hey vrydagaand
buitenkant
koeël vas in ‘n derduiwel en Carlos het ‘n slang
en Jimi Hendrix kom verby soos ‘n Boeing
geelbakkiebendes maak die bergies bang
en iemand vra hey, where you’s ou’s going, hey?
hey-hey vrydagaand
buitenkant
11 Dec 2012, 15:01 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-11839: Wasn’t Darren Scott in the Soft Shoes?
@katman-11840: Hahahahaha! Memory trip!
11 Dec 2012, 15:02 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-11845: Oh f.ol I’ve forgotten how bad they really were
11 Dec 2012, 15:03 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-11845:
Ag nee man
11 Dec 2012, 15:04 pm
@katman-11840:
Lol… i used to read the whole series… Topsy Smith was the writer.
Check this very old stuff….
Old Nico was actually very good- remeber that was very long ago…
http://youtu.be/dKNEuBQ7oBs
Pages: « 1 … 232 233 234 235 236 [237] 238 239 240 241 242 … 606 » Show All