Hore hit Davies off the ball during the initial stages of last Saturday’s Test in Cardiff. The incident was missed by matchday officials, but Hore has now been cited and looks likely to receive a lengthy suspension.

30,432 Comments

Pages: « 1261 262 263 264 265 [266] 267 268 269 270 271609 » Show All

• 13251.playtheball: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-13247: But old Tietjens have been with the Blitzblackies since year dot. Treu looks like a bright oke, surely he can deliver? No, I think it’s a psychological thing. As Saffas, we don’t believe we can win any more. There’s so much negativity in our society and it’s creeping into our psyches.

• 13252.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-13249:

Get a player who retired recently to caoch them, like the Cheetahs did with Rassie

Anyone would be better than Treu

• 13253.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@playtheball-13251:

So we were a winning nation but then lost our way.

What happened?

• 13254.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@playtheball-13251:

The Proteas were in the dumps and it took an ex-player turned coach Gary to turn them into no 1

• 13255.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-13252:

I think you’re over simplifying things a bit

I think 7s at the upper levels are more complicated than what we would think, to coach that is

But who did you have in mind?

• 13256.playtheball: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-13253: It’ll take time. The euphoria of the early nineties have made place for disillusionment at the fact that our leaders aren’t saints, that we are now just another ordinary country. In the movie All that Jazz, someone says to the lead: “You know what’s wrong with you? You suffer from the dreadful malaise of being ordinary.”

• 13257.playtheball: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-13254: Maybe you’re right. But I don’t think all ex-players can sommer become good coaches. It’s a very specific mindset, innit? So who?

• 13258.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-13249:

The difference is they still use their sevens team to grow talent for the fifteen man code, and they’re willing to release youngsters to the sevens team

We used to play sevens with “real” Boks in the beginning too, I remember seeing Joost, Juba, Andre Venter and others playing in the Hong Kong sevens, with a young Skinstadt, I think he was 19, coming off the bench

Our sevens team might as well be a different sport altogether, most players never play fifteen man rugby or perform poorly

Yes, I know about Aplon but in general they’re a seperate entity

• 13259.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-13255:

So there would be no-one else if we’re to go with your premise?

Go with Treu till the end?

What will you do if he retires one day?

• 13260.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@playtheball-13256:

I see your point but reckon the euphoria period was not that long actually.

In 1994 white SA held their collective breath, so no euphoria there. In 1995 Derrick Bevan was awarded a gold watch by Louis Luyt for his contribution so yes 1995 definitely a feel good year.

1996 -1997 I think we got hammered until Mallett won it for us again in 1998.

So if 1995 was the only good year, why is it that we remain for 17 years in this negative mindset?

• 13261.playtheball: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-13259: You say the difference between the All Blacks and the Blitzbokke is that they use their sevens team to grow talent for their fifteen-man code and we don’t. So don’t you think it’s a structure thing then and that changing the coach won’t make all that much difference if the structures aren’t in place?

• 13262.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-13259:

What about Breyton Paulse to take over the 7s?

Played at the highest levels, scored the tries and a real love for the running game

• 13263.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@playtheball-13256:

> The euphoria of the early nineties have made place for disillusionment at the fact that our leaders aren’t saints

They were qualified for the job at least, Madiba was a lawyer and Mbeki had a Masters in Economics

Not the Standard 3 and the F in woodwork the current and future presidents have achieved

> It’ll take time

Lots and lots of it, maybe the Chinese would run their SA colony better one day?

• 13264.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-13258:

It’s a money thing; bring their money on par with 15s- entry to mid levels

• 13265.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Yes, I like that idea: BREYTON PAULSE for the new 7s coach

*************** You heard it here first :lol: **************************************

• 13266.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Paul Treu need not be lost to SA rugby

Former teacher will do well with younger teams, developing

I like his passion so we should look to retain him in the structures

• 13267.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Later mates

• 13268.playtheball: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-13263: No doubt the current crop of ANC leaders are ******* up big time. But things will change, I really believe it. The only question is if a lot of blood will have to flow before that change comes.

• 13269.playtheball: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-13265: Good idea. Breyton has energy. Cheers mate.

• 13270.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-13262:

Sien jy nou, there’s a very good alternative

We should have a succession plan in SA rugby

Breyton for 8-10 years with Aplon his assistant coach for the last four and then Aplon takes over

They know the seven game well

We should have had it with the Boks as well, after Jake we should have had HM take over for eight years, winning with the core of his Bulls team like Victor, Fdp, Pakslae, Habana and Bakkies

Then AC for eight followed by Rassie

• 13271.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-13270:

I doubt whether Breyten will be interested. He is now a television celebrity in SA. It is a much nicer job then to travel the world with some rugby players only to be beaten regularly by the more athletic Samoans, Fidjians and NZ’ landers (at sevens).

• 13272.David: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-13270:
    Why HM after Jake? AC, as assistant coach would have been a more logical choice, if your aim is consistency.

• 13273.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@David-13272:

The core of the team were his players, he took them from U/20 ranks into the BB team and won CC and S14 cups with them. If Snor managed some success with them imagine what HM would have achieved with players he knows very well and who’d go through the fire for him?

• 13274.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@David-13272:

AC said himself he wasn’t interested yet, I think he’ll be the next coach, especially when you win the S15 next year

• 13275.David: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-13273:
    Matfield, Bakkies, Rossouw and FdP with possibly Steenkamp and less possibly Spies, isn’t exactly the core.

• 13276.David: Reply to this comment

@David-13275:
    The other senior players were John Smith, Schalk, Juan, JdeV, Brian, JPP and Jaques. All non Bulls.

• 13277.David: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-13274:
    I reckon the Stormers and Sharks are about equal SA contenders next year.

• 13278.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

What’s happening here?

Paul Treu as Bok backline coach? Now there’s a move in the right direction. The current Bok backline coach ….. what’s his name? That to me says it all.

• 13279.carol: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-13278:

Not sure what is happening…. and do not have the energy to read back!!

Would like someone to do a brief report!!

You know, like news headlines…..

• 13280.David: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-13278:
    Rather skills coach. A 15 man game backline coach is a bit more complex than in the 7s game.

• 13281.David: Reply to this comment

@carol-13279:
    “Rugby thread heading for immortality.”

• 13282.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@carol-13279:

Hey, then we’re in the same boat.

I’ve just logged on and will pop in from time to time. Let’s see who comes up with something.

By the way, Cape Town is it as far as the weather goes.

One of my colleagues is flying out to Leeds area tonight – I think she will feel cold where she’s never been cold before!

• 13283.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@David-13280:

Rugby 7′s is a totally differnt game. We all know that. But the Bok backline is far too static – they spend more time running into faces than running into spaces. When it comes to defending against one on one or beating a man one on one, rugby 7′s can do it.

The Bok backline has lost that flair – I’d much rather have Treu there than what’s his name.

• 13284.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

watching “the road” with viggo mortennson.

prep time for the 21st :lol:

• 13285.carol: Reply to this comment

@David-13281:

Thats the spirit….!!

Then ‘Katman and Gunter keep the laughs alive’

‘Skoppie says something we understand’

‘Sheriff finds out a bloggers secret’

‘iloveyoubakkies botha, gets a cash reward from Keo in person for services to his hit rate’

• 13286.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-13284:

If you like his films you should watch “A History of violence”

• 13287.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-13284:

You mean it’s time to lay on the booze, braai and birds.

If you’re going to go down, you might as well go down in flames. :D

• 13288.carol: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-13282:

Robzim says it is in 30′s in CT today, it is brutal here in Pom Land…. Looks like a traditional Christmas Card scene outside..

Minus 6 last night!!

• 13289.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Treu would be a fine back line coach far better than the useless blue balls crud we got now

what he manages to achieve with a bunch of midgets and mediocre 2nd string players on the 7′s circuit is a lot more than anyone gives him credit for.. have you seen the size of our little midgets compared to the Fijian’s Samoan’s AB’s and even the French and English 7′s sides.?

• 13290.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

David I’m up the road from you right now doing a stint in JHB stomping my old hunting grounds from way back when

• 13291.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-13286: ja have seen it, enjoyed it.

i like the road because its so different from any other post-apocalyptic movie i have ever seen.

@I am a stormer-13287: haha, there isnt anything anyone can do apparently so why bother worrying?

• 13292.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-13290: hey snoeks, welcome to the thread.

again.

lets roll this baby yeah?

• 13293.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@carol-13288: hi carol.

you guys can keep that weather, us tropical durbanites cant handle anything under 21 degrees before the whining starts.

• 13294.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

f’all else happening in keoville

least Jo’burgs still alive and kicking.. got far more kick left in it compared to sleepy hollow CT

• 13295.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Eish

We talking rugby?

• 13296.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

Im still at work. Thought you guys would like to know.

• 13297.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-13295: nah, talking about the apocalypse.

ok, some are talking 7′s but much like T20, i cant find it in me to get involved emotionally in a bubblegum version of one of my favourite sports.

poopsie been a bit scarce of late?

nzinchina too.

since that loss to england.

• 13298.Dawn: Reply to this comment

“The Road” is so depressing ag nee man Rangerman

• 13299.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah-13296: keep those wheels turning ta.

thanks.

• 13300.David: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-13290:
    How long are you here for? We must get together.

Pages: « 1261 262 263 264 265 [266] 267 268 269 270 271609 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.