Hore hit Davies off the ball during the initial stages of last Saturday’s Test in Cardiff. The incident was missed by matchday officials, but Hore has now been cited and looks likely to receive a lengthy suspension.

30,245 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 420 421 422 423 424 [425] 426 427 428 429 430 … 605 » Show All
4 Jan 2013, 15:48 pm
so your sister was on keo before you…? interesting…
why did she stop…? you should suggest to her she comes back…
we need all the WP supporters we can get…
4 Jan 2013, 15:52 pm
@ufo-21201:
Lol, think there is more than enough, or Bakkies and HG will think so.
Will give you a shout if I go down that side of the country again.
4 Jan 2013, 16:16 pm
NOW it’s dead
4 Jan 2013, 16:19 pm
@nortierd-21200: My jinne, ek het laaaang gesprekke oor die jare al gehad met K!
Nie geweet dis jou suster nie!
4 Jan 2013, 16:20 pm
Nou kom alles uit
4 Jan 2013, 16:22 pm
@willievz-21204:
Ja Willie.
Weet sy was op n stadium gereeld op Keo.
4 Jan 2013, 16:22 pm
@Dawn-21205:
He he, rather not.
4 Jan 2013, 16:23 pm
@nortierd-21207:
Willie is skelm
4 Jan 2013, 16:32 pm
It’s dead now.
4 Jan 2013, 16:35 pm
Pity
I wanted the 22222
4 Jan 2013, 16:36 pm
Reckon it can at least go to 22222
4 Jan 2013, 16:36 pm
@Dawn-21210:
Great minds think alike
4 Jan 2013, 16:37 pm
cool nortie…
(sorry got hung up)
hey willie… what was her nic?
4 Jan 2013, 16:40 pm
@Dawn-21208: Jy wens!
@ufo-21213: Howzit Ufo, rumour has it that you graced Newlands with your presence today? If so, did you have copious amounts of laughter, banter and Cape Crusader bashing?
If memory serves, her nic was (is) Stormersgirl.
4 Jan 2013, 16:41 pm
reckon this thread wil lkeep on keeping on…
the last word on a legend like this will be well worth posting one more comment… always…
so will keep ticking over… if it doesn’t just run like a steam train…
4 Jan 2013, 16:42 pm
this thread has had more rumoured deaths than rodriguez…
4 Jan 2013, 16:46 pm
@ufo-21216:
Ain’t that the truth
4 Jan 2013, 16:53 pm
@ufo-21216:
Re Newlands having the most picutesque setting. I’ve posted this before but it’s worth repeating.
When Richie Benaud told an interviewer that he thought Newlands had the most beautiful setting of the worlds cricket grounds, the interviewer said, “Yes, you mean the mountain?. Richie replied “No, the view of the brewery!”
4 Jan 2013, 16:58 pm
yeah david…
very funny… i remember you posting it before…
i enjoy at the rugby ground when you get that hopsy/yeasty/beery smell from the brewery wafting over…
always makes me hungry…
never smelt the brewery at the cricket though…
4 Jan 2013, 16:59 pm
The 2 days Newlands could potentially have been packed will host no play.
The vendors must be quiet irritated by a three day day test.
4 Jan 2013, 17:00 pm
@ufo-21219:
Lol, does Castle Corner count?
4 Jan 2013, 17:00 pm
4 Jan 2013, 17:01 pm
@nortierd-21222:
Minus 1000
4 Jan 2013, 17:05 pm
nortie… guess thay’ll have to ask for a cut of the winning bonuses…
hehehe… the only thing smelly about castle corner in any cricket ground are sweaty bodies and beery breaths…!!
1000 to go…
easy peasy…
4 Jan 2013, 17:07 pm
@willievz-21214:
The Capesaders were very quiet at Newlands.
One or two optimistic all black jerseys but not much black caps regalia on show.
The okes in the all black jerseys were swearing like suicide bombers in the Newlands sun.
4 Jan 2013, 17:12 pm
> so your sister was on keo before you…? interesting…
> why did she stop
Keo would be so lucky….
4 Jan 2013, 17:16 pm
@David-21218:
And I’m sure Boonie & a good couple of others would agree with him!!!
P.S.
4 Jan 2013, 17:31 pm
@victoriabok-21226:
I was on years ago, but stopped and only occasionally came on to check some articles in the last few years.
Only lately started posting again.
Not sure how long she’s been off or whether she will be blog again or not.
4 Jan 2013, 17:42 pm
@nortierd-21228:
Same here, the Stomers Uber Alles whining gets too much after a while
4 Jan 2013, 17:50 pm
@victoriabok-21229:
Yeah, I guess once the Superugby kicks off it will be gloves off and no holds barred.
4 Jan 2013, 17:55 pm
@nortierd-21230:
You guys and the Sharks have the best chance to win it this year, both teams just need to step up and take it
The Bulls needs coaching and direction, especially the younger players, the Cheetahs don’t have the depth and contrary to popular opinion the Incredible Puke won’t win the S15 for the Queens
4 Jan 2013, 18:03 pm
@victoriabok-21231:
I guess from the SA sides the Sharks and Stormers are the front runners.
I am quite optimistic about the Stormers’ season, not sure they can go all the way, but they should do well.
The NZ sides always the favorites though.
4 Jan 2013, 19:25 pm
@nortierd-21232:
With Jantjies they have a real chance
4 Jan 2013, 19:27 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-21227:
BrumbiesBoy – something unrelated (though relevant to the franchise you support):
1. Have you seen the movie,”The Man from Snowy River” (1982 version)?
2. Have you read the poem of the same name by the Australian bush poet, Banjo Paterson, upon which the film is based?
If not, I can recommend you do so – I think you’ll find it invigorating, perhaps even inspiring.
4 Jan 2013, 19:35 pm
@nortierd-21198:
Don’t plan your Cape Town holiday to coincide with the Boxing Day test. You don’t want that. Surrounded by all those random sharks supporters.
4 Jan 2013, 19:56 pm
@Angostura-21234: No I haven’t but I’ll look them up.
Thanks.
4 Jan 2013, 20:15 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-21236:
The Man From Snowy River – Banjo’s Poem
excerpts:
“And one was there, a stripling on a small and weedy beast,
He was something like a racehorse undersized,
With a touch of Timor pony – three parts THOROUGHBRED at least -
And such as are by mountain horsemen prized.
He was HARD and TOUGH and WIRY – just the SORT THAT WON’T SAY DIE -
There was COURAGE in his QUICK IMPATIENT TREAD;
And he BORE the BADGE of GAMENESS in his BRIGHT and FIERY EYE,
And the PROUD and LOFTY CARRIAGE of his HEAD.
But still so slight and weedy, one would doubt his power to stay,
And the old man said, “That horse will never do
For a long a tiring gallop – lad, you’d better stop away,
Those hills are far too rough for such as you.”
So he waited sad and wistful – only Clancy stood his friend -
“I think we ought to let him come,” he said;
“I WARRANT HE’LL BE WITH US WHEN HE’S WANTED AT THE END,
For both his horse and he are MOUNTAIN BRED.
“He hails from Snowy River, up by Kosciusko’s side,
Where the hills are twice as steep and twice as rough,
Where a horse’s hoofs strike firelight from the flint stones every stride,
THE MAN THAT HOLDS HIS OWN IS GOOD ENOUGH.
And the Snowy River riders on the mountains make their home,
Where the river runs those giant hills between;
I have seen full many horsemen since I first commenced to roam,
But nowhere yet such horsemen have I seen.”
So he went – …….”
Great audio visual of the poem, go fetch:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fs_-DKUimeo
4 Jan 2013, 20:16 pm
21235: A slight correction – As far as I know in the past, The Boxing Day tests were reserved for Durban and the New Year’s tests for Newlands
I haven’t seen the planning / schedule for 2013 / 4 but I can’t remember a Boxing Day test at Newlands before – obviously I may be wrong.
Due to the lack of people attending the Durban tests during the festive season, the tests “were taken away” from Durban as far as I can rmember
4 Jan 2013, 20:20 pm
@CharlesM-21238:
Thanks Charles
My mistake, meant the New Years Test and not Boxing Day
4 Jan 2013, 20:22 pm
@CharlesM-21238:
I think it’s just for this year.
3 x 20/20 were deemed better value against the limited opposition than a Boxing Day test.
They are probably right.
4 Jan 2013, 20:33 pm
@CharlesM-21238:
@nortierd-21239:
@gunther-21240:
What I’ve heard is that next summer’s program includes Australia first up, then India where the normal Boxing Day and New Year’s tests take place.
India will fill Kingsmead, not New Zealand.
4 Jan 2013, 20:33 pm
@CharlesM-21238:
Large tracts of the Boxing Day Tests in Durban get rained out – it is the height of Durban’s rainy season, & the Durban Boxing Day Test must cost SA Cricket plenty lost revenue …
Apart from that, the Proteas have a poor recent Test track record in Durban
I won’t be surprised if Durban’s traditional Boxing Day Test becomes an irregular event
4 Jan 2013, 20:34 pm
@I am a stormer-21241:
Wow, sounds like a bumper summer.
Looking forward to that line up.
Hopefully more than 2 tests vs Australia scheduled.
4 Jan 2013, 20:38 pm
@nortierd-21243:
February 2013 South Africa Pakistan
2013 May 2013 Test Play-off (England)
2013 July 2013 Sri Lanka South Africa
2013 September 2013 Champions League
2013/14 October 2013 Pakistan South Africa
November 2013 South Africa India
February 2014 South Africa Australia
4 Jan 2013, 20:40 pm
@gunther-21240: Thanks for that; What I don’t understand is that CSA didn’t insist on a “big test side” playing SA during summer!
3 days only of test cricket at Newlands ?? Imagine how many people would attend a SA / Aus or SA / Eng test that would probably last 4 to 5 days. As it is WP cricket will be losing a lot of money for 2 days of “not playing”
4 Jan 2013, 20:41 pm
@nortierd-21243:
Got it wrong. Ashes series in Oz while we play India. Then Aus come over here. Next summer won’t be boring for cricket lovers.
4 Jan 2013, 20:45 pm
@CharlesM-21245:
The thing is, is that SA and Australia have come to a stupid agreement. Both want Boxing Day and New Year tests. But just not against each other. That is why we now play Australia in Oct/Nov or March/Apr. Crazy.
4 Jan 2013, 20:47 pm
Angostura, I forgot about the rain ! Therefore CSA should think carefully about the venues like not having a test at Centurion during January – as far as I can remember we have lost a lot of game time there in the past
4 Jan 2013, 20:50 pm
@I am a stormer-21247:
Thanks for the heads up.
Biggest money spinner in Aus, those days.
Also a tradition that goes back some ways.
The team and family spend Christmas Day together
4 Jan 2013, 20:50 pm
@I am a stormer-21247: What a pity !!
Pages: « 1 … 420 421 422 423 424 [425] 426 427 428 429 430 … 605 » Show All