Hore hit Davies off the ball during the initial stages of last Saturday’s Test in Cardiff. The incident was missed by matchday officials, but Hore has now been cited and looks likely to receive a lengthy suspension.

30,244 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 423 424 425 426 427 [428] 429 430 431 432 433 … 605 » Show All
7 Jan 2013, 09:18 am
@gunther-21347:
Well, the Windies won that test at the WACA by 10 wickets, with Robert Samuels scoring a very slow 76 in the first innings and then 35 not out in the second innings chasing a target of 54.
7 Jan 2013, 09:19 am
Glenn McGrath and Mark Waugh were probably the responsible ones.
7 Jan 2013, 09:21 am
@WP-Forever-21352: Which Windie pushed McGrath’s buttons with the chirp about his wife?
7 Jan 2013, 09:24 am
@WP-Forever-21351:
Funny that they should drop him them hey Wiki?
7 Jan 2013, 09:27 am
@Taahirah-21353:
Chunderpaul.
7 Jan 2013, 09:27 am
@Taahirah-21353:
Hahahaha, that was Ramnaresh Sarwan.
McGrath: “So, what does Brian Lara’s d*ck taste like?”
Sarwan: “Why don’t you ask your wife?”
McGrath lost it since his wife was ill with cancer at the time.
7 Jan 2013, 09:28 am
There have been some classic chirps.
Rod Marsh to Ian Botham, “How’s your wife and my kids?”
Botham responds: “Wife’s fine, kids are retarded.”
7 Jan 2013, 09:30 am
Or James Ormond’s brilliant comeback to Mark Waugh.
Waugh: “F*ck me, look who it is. Mate, what are you doing out here? There’s no way you’re good enough to play for England.”
Ormond: “Maybe not, but at least I’m the best player in my family.”
7 Jan 2013, 09:33 am
@WP-Forever-21356:
The Sarwan/McGrath incident was a shocker.
McGrath actually went back to Aus to see to his wife the week before. So the timing of Sarwan’s “off the cuff” comment hit the spot.
7 Jan 2013, 09:36 am
@Jeraldjay-21359:
If you can give it you must be able to take it.
7 Jan 2013, 09:38 am
@gunther-21360:
McGrath was notorious for being unable to take it.
The Zim chicken farmer’s chirp to McGrath was also a classic.
7 Jan 2013, 09:39 am
@WP-Forever-21358:
His nickname was Afghan.
The forgotten Waugh.
7 Jan 2013, 09:44 am
@gunther-21360:
Oh yes.
During that era the Aussies could unfortunately back their chirps up, in the middle.
7 Jan 2013, 09:46 am
@Jeraldjay-21359: How about the famous train chirp by the Aussies?
I feel no sympathy for Glen.
7 Jan 2013, 09:47 am
I wonder what would have happened if Marlon’s bat hit Warnie.
The Victorians would literally run amok.
7 Jan 2013, 09:58 am
@Jeraldjay-21365:
Bay 13 would have been unmanageable.
7 Jan 2013, 10:20 am
@gunther-21366:
Bill Lawry would lead the riot.
Watched the 3rd ODI yesterday between Pakistan and India.
The game looked very suspicious. Especially towards the end of the Pakistan innings. They needed tess than a run a ball with the field spread and plenty of wickets in hand. Then they started giving their wicket away.
By now, surely they should be perfecting the art of throwing a match.
7 Jan 2013, 10:51 am
@Jeraldjay-21367:
Just read an excellent book on that by Ed Hawkins.
Says the 2011 World Cup semi between the Stanis and India was rigged.
Pakistan and Sri Lanka are always vulnerable because their Boards don’t look after the players.
7 Jan 2013, 10:54 am
@WP-Forever-21361:
Eddo Brandis
Still the best chirp ever.
Wicket keeper, 9 slips and McGrath bowling.
Brandis nicked 2 over all 10′s head and McGrath asked Eddo ” why the f… are you so fat”
Brandis answered ” because every time I f… your wife she gives me a cookie”
7 Jan 2013, 11:13 am
The hore still breathes.
Amazing.
7 Jan 2013, 11:15 am
Greetings. Well I have just finished David Walsh’s Book…….
I have a few new heroes. Walsh himself. Pierre Ballester. Sandro Donati. Travis Tygart.
And many others.
The axe had to fall….it only took 13 years.
7 Jan 2013, 11:35 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-21371:
I don’t think we know at this stage the extent of the damage that has been done to professional sport by this incident.
As for Lance, he should go to prison for perjury.
7 Jan 2013, 13:35 pm
@WP-Forever-21372:
yes agreed, he should.
7 Jan 2013, 13:40 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-21373:
Hy het my vreeslik teleurgestel.
7 Jan 2013, 13:49 pm
@WP-Forever-21372: @i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-21373: Agree with both of you. Thing is, as a ‘regular’ sports follower, I don’t feel any sort of anger towards Armstrong.
He did what he did, because to win that’s what needed to be done.
Cycling, athletics, swimming etc – you name it, you shame it.
It’s never going to end, and one is never going to stamp it out – so in professional sport, legalise the performance enhancing sh y te and get it over with. At least whoever wins, deserves to win – best of the cheats. Which is what Lance Armstrong is – still a deserved winner of the TDF, as everyone behind him was EPO’d to the hilt as well…. He was the best amongst a group of his peers (all junkies). – ok, apart from Bassons who was ‘chased’ off the tour by the peleton for speaking out and refusing to dope.
Don’t see any other way. When one reads of how the UCI covered up etc etc etc for decades (way before the Armstrong era) it’s a clear indication that money/sponsorship and the sort is far more NB than athletic achievement.
This quote from the book, is one that will stick with me for some while still.
“I watch the Olympic Games but I don’t bother to remember the names of the athletes any more. It’d like theatre – but I prefer theatre because the relationship between actor and spectator is clear. In sport’s theatre, both are still pretending it’s real”. Sandro Donati.
7 Jan 2013, 14:07 pm
@WP-Forever-21374:
shame man, jammer om dit te ****.
fok hom
7 Jan 2013, 14:23 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-21375:
jeepers
where do you draw the line then?
7 Jan 2013, 14:27 pm
yeah… have long said that athletics is as dirty as cycling and champs and gold medal winners will eventually be found out…
7 Jan 2013, 14:32 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-21377: Even those who allegedly ‘control’ the sports, have zero interest in solving the problem….
As long as the world “oohs and aahs” and the money rolls in…..no-one gives a sh y te. All this info in the Armstrong report was right there in a book called L.A Confidentiel written in 2004….. and seriously, it took to 2012, October for anyone to actually ‘act’ on it?
Shows how toothless people are…..from WADA, to the various bodies. You will always have a corrupt official in ANY organisation prepared to take money for ‘misplacing’ a drug test etc etc etc.
Human nature…..
So level the playing fields I say. Let them all dope and the best cheat wins. At least it’s a fair contest
7 Jan 2013, 14:33 pm
i’d very much like to see people adopt a similar attitude regarding rugby cheats.
7 Jan 2013, 14:46 pm
i think they should make every professional sports person… whose sporting body strives for drug free competition… and whose individual competitors profess to be drug free… should all have to take lie detector tests… and then random tests going forward…
people used to think it was an infringement on their human rights to force players to give up samples for drug testing… now it’s accepted as normal…
the same thing would happen for lie detector tests… as first there would be a hue-and-cry… but then everyone would settle down to it…
yes, lie detectors can be beaten… but by far fewer people than are beating drug testing…
which is everyone…
7 Jan 2013, 14:53 pm
1st day back for the Stormers….
https://mobile.twitter.com/JuanDeJongh/status/288236751892385792/photo/1
7 Jan 2013, 14:58 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-21379:
think ‘East German Womens Weightlifting Team’… now ask yourself is this really what you want..?.
@ufo-21381:
yes agreed.
lie detector tests and have athletes submit to drug tests done by their thier own associations, their opponents associations and one or two independents too.
even the slightest whiff of anything bad should result in immediate penalties.
same way they dealt with Contador.
7 Jan 2013, 15:02 pm
@ufo-21381: This is probably the ONLY other option bar removing the ban on all performance enhancing drugs.
Lie detectors will at least have sharper TEETH than these woefully inadequate (and easily fuckedaroundwith) ‘blood and pee’ tests.
It really is a waste to try and ‘develop’ better testing methods and tests to nullify screening agents etc, because by the time a NEW test is developed…..a NEW drug has popped up, or a new way of masking it.
It’s a race that is always going to be lost by the good guys. The ‘bad’ guys (docs, scientists, managers) etc have the $$$$$$$$$$$$$$ to always ensure they are 50 steps ahead of the game…..
I like your idea….
7 Jan 2013, 15:02 pm
not sure i share Chris Rattue’s viewpoint on this:
Taylor must get onto the first plane out:
Ross Taylor’s struggle with the great tragedy that has befallen his terrible life is becoming one of the turgid bores in the history of New Zealand sport.
Anyone would think the guy has only seconds to live the way his supporters go on about the dreadful event that ruined his existence on planet earth.
For some unknown reason, John Buchanan – one of the geniuses in charge of the New Zealand side – decided to, drum roll, break his silence in the middle of the test series between New Zealand and South Africa to tell us four-fifths of stuff all.
The gap between the first and second test may be distressingly larger than intended, but that’s no reason to fill the silence with more corporate-style twaddle from one of the backroom staff.
Taylor, for those who may not know, is on strike. Having been dumped as the New Zealand captain in an appalling manner, Taylor did the same to us and bypassed the most important test series for yonks, turning the battle with the world’s best into an embarrassing joke. Thanks, Ross.
Buchanan doesn’t see it that way. The Aussie whined on that poor old Taylor needed to find the “fire inside” before he could return to the ranks. If people such as Buchanan keep suggesting to Taylor that he’s had the equivalent of three vital organs ripped out by coach Mike Hesson and the dastardly crew who bladed him, then he’s going to find it harder and harder to discover that fire within.
for the rest:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/sport/news/article.cfm?c_id=4&objectid=10857639
7 Jan 2013, 15:03 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-21376: HAHAHAHAHA! You are one very funny man, and I think much misunderstood around these parts. SuBtle, met ‘n hoofletter B.
7 Jan 2013, 15:04 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-21383:
yeah…
i’m sick of all the wide-eyed innocence that proves to be bare-faced lies in so many cases…
only the guilty would be against taking lie-detectors tests… and it would be a badge of honour for the clean and honest players…
you have to be extremely intelligent and strong willed to beat a lie detector test… and most people (of course there are exceptions) and most sports people are just not bright enough to beat the test…
7 Jan 2013, 15:07 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-21384:
the possibility of going to jail for a long time if found guilty of doping and/or to have made false declarations would be a good start in terms of deterrents.
7 Jan 2013, 15:10 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-21384:
cool…
7 Jan 2013, 15:14 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-21388: @ufo-21389: Then again…. we have to remember that many serious sports ‘dopers’ (and often the most successful sportsmen in their fields) are also sociopaths (or folk with a few BP tendencies at least)…… Of that I am certain
A lie detector test would be a walk in the summer park Skop is currently sitting kaalgat in; for a fella who had little conscience to start off with….
7 Jan 2013, 15:14 pm
@Transformation-21382:
are you saying they only started their pre season training today..?..
is dit nou windgat of slapgat, se jy vir my..?..
7 Jan 2013, 15:15 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-21388: Risks most sociopaths are more than prepared to take Bakkies…….
They are the invincible, the ‘special’ ones…..
7 Jan 2013, 15:16 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-21391: Most of them have been working helluva hard in the conditioning stakes Bakkies. Today they hit the fields……
7 Jan 2013, 15:17 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-21390:
it’s not just about intelligence… it’s also about self-control…
see where i’m going with this…?
7 Jan 2013, 15:18 pm
flip, these stormers are as arrogant as their supporters
7 Jan 2013, 15:18 pm
@playtheball-21386:
you’re too kind, PB
7 Jan 2013, 15:21 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-21390:
yes but it should be part of a package of measures used.
1. lie detector test.
2. drug tests.
3. sworn affidavits which put them at risk of being jailed if proved false.
7 Jan 2013, 15:22 pm
@ufo-21394: Indeed I do.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-21395: Nope. Not arrogant. They just know they don’t have AS much work to do as the Bulls or Guppies in terms of preparation
7 Jan 2013, 15:24 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-21397: Now we’re talking… a multi pronged approach
One can’t be reliant on just ONE method.
Theseuselessfuckersmuststartthinkingoutofthesyringuebox.
7 Jan 2013, 15:29 pm
Just spotted a Son headline while driving which went something along the lines of ‘G@y All Black controversy’
Pages: « 1 … 423 424 425 426 427 [428] 429 430 431 432 433 … 605 » Show All