Hore hit Davies off the ball during the initial stages of last Saturday’s Test in Cardiff. The incident was missed by matchday officials, but Hore has now been cited and looks likely to receive a lengthy suspension.

30,244 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 438 439 440 441 442 [443] 444 445 446 447 448 … 605 » Show All
8 Jan 2013, 21:44 pm
I see that Northerns Cricket supports him in his current troubles.No surprise there.The excuse from Northerns is that we all have a past.They are ,of course,correct,but I don’t see many of us,in our past,developing toxic agents to kill off whole communities.These idiots just don’t get the message.How the fark can you have a two-year involvement in the Coast chemical warfare programme and expect to get away with it?
8 Jan 2013, 22:44 pm
The South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) is the controlling body for all high performance sport in South Africa and was formed as a Section 21 Company by representatives of all the sports bodies at a general meeting held on 27 November 2004.
In terms of the Memorandum of Association, the main object is to promote and develop high performance sport in the Republic of South Africa as well as and to act as the controlling body for the preparation and delivery of Team South Africa at all multi-sport international games including but not limited to the Olympics, Paralympics, Commonwealth Games, World Games and All Africa Games.
SASCOC was formed following a long process which commenced with the formation of a Ministerial Task Team established by former Minister of Sport, the Hon Ncgonde Balfour and chaired by the CEO of the Sports Commission, Joe Phaahla. The recommendations of this task team were then handed over to a Steering Committee to implement the recommendations led by Willie Basson and with representation from all the macro sporting bodies in South Africa. (Wiki)
Why wasn’t it known back then that Basson was involved with the chemical program of the previous regime when he was trusted by the then minister of sport to chair such an important committee in SA sport?
Why is it only coming to the fore now?
8 Jan 2013, 22:55 pm
22103…
8 Jan 2013, 22:58 pm
Jeez this Basson saga has been going on for years. Every one knows his name and what he was accused of off. Has been on the newa on and off for years.
He was just another scientist working for a government and was cleared in a lengthy court case of any dodgyness.
He is now in the employ of the anc govt as well as a heart specialist.
Not surprising…..every govt has scientists like him…reason….for cures for the bad chit…and to work on our own bad chit.
He is just a scientist not a master mind or fecking Mengele (sp)
A necessary evil in todays fecked up world.
8 Jan 2013, 23:02 pm
Oh and Transie,n congrats on the 000 hope you enjoyed the race when trying to achieve it, I have tried many times and loved it.
8 Jan 2013, 23:03 pm
@Treehugger-22104:
There is WOUTER Basson, the doctor you are talking about and then there is WILLIE Basson, the sport administrator we are talking about today.
Both were involved in the chemical program of the previous government, it seems.
8 Jan 2013, 23:13 pm
@Treehugger-22105: thanks tree…just enjoyed an evening out with Rossi finished with a bottle of Beyerskloof Pino…nom nom..
8 Jan 2013, 23:17 pm
@Nama Aaahh thank you Nama, thought they weree one and the same.
A family thing
8 Jan 2013, 23:19 pm
@Treehugger-22108:
Not related apparently.
8 Jan 2013, 23:21 pm
@nama1-22106:
Wouter’s program wasn’t much of a success, I think a lot of the money ended up in politicians and senior Army brass’ Swiss bank accounts
To be brutally honest they probably killed fewer people in the end than the ANC did at their torture camp Quattro
Or in the fights between ANC and Inkatha
As for Willie to work in a Chemical Biological program isn’t such a big deal either, most countries have such programs
8 Jan 2013, 23:23 pm
Lol Transie….I am no wine connoisseur, if it tastes nice I will drink it, be it cheap or expensive, well known label or not, I am very partial to pink chit as my friends call it though….the SA Rose champagnes and once in a very rare blue moon the expensive froggie ones, frankly they don’t taste better.
Am quite happy with some of the different coolers as well.
One bottle is 2 glasses each, how responsible
8 Jan 2013, 23:33 pm
None of this is stuff I am very knowledgeable about, 2 of my cousins in Denmark are Biologists though, the female one works with the little germies, Soren am not sure what he does. Actually every one in my family, be it in Austria, Denmark,US,UK and SA are all rather clued up brightsparks, something went very wrong with me in the gene pool lol.
Yet I still firmly believe I am the bright cookie lol.
8 Jan 2013, 23:37 pm
@victoriabok-22110:
Come now VB. Saying Wouter’s program was not much of a success is just plain wrong. Why don’t you say that to the rev. Franks Chikane who experienced first hand what the program was all about. There are many more out there that we don’t even know of. Didn’t they at some stage test one of their products by putting it in a stream used by a rural community to see what effect it had on them. It’s not just about how many people they killed. It is more about the rationale behind the whole program. Killing of black people in their masses. That’s what it is about. The whole notion that a government can introduce a program with that aim in mind is just mind boggling.
This is the 2nd time today that you mentioned Quatro. How many people did the ANC kill there.
8 Jan 2013, 23:37 pm
@Treehugger-22112: 22112
8 Jan 2013, 23:41 pm
@nama1-22113: i know nothing………………………….. but “they” didn’t kill anybody “en masse”.otherwise there wouldn’t be black or white left in this country.
so let’s cut it.
8 Jan 2013, 23:42 pm
@nama1-22113:
…and of course the fact that clever people like Wouter Basson participated willingly in the program, knowing full well what the end outcome was suppose to be.
Whether WILLIE knew what the end outcome was suppose to be, we don’t know. He should come clean on that.
8 Jan 2013, 23:43 pm
@shooter-22114: Treehugger gets 22112. Tutu won one too
8 Jan 2013, 23:47 pm
@shooter-22115:
I’m prepared to do that but not when someone said that the chemical program “wasn’t much of a success,…”
If you followed my comments today, you’ll know where I stand on the WILLIE issue.
Oh yes, I’m not too sure that they did not kill “anybody.”
My last word on it except where it involves a discussion about Willie Basson’s position in cricket.
8 Jan 2013, 23:48 pm
@nama1-22116: Y-Generation.
question.
What is the press’ death count for-during 30 years apartheid?
8 Jan 2013, 23:49 pm
@nama1-22118: i didn’t read the willie issue
8 Jan 2013, 23:52 pm
@nama: dont even entertain rubbish like that with a response…from picturesque canadian victoria anything apartheid related is a figment of the imagination of the imagination…
#itwasn’tthatbad
8 Jan 2013, 23:54 pm
@shooter-22119: don’t know if that is a question then. Sure it is more than that. Either way.
Not everyone has an opinion.
8 Jan 2013, 23:55 pm
pino..making me type twice…cheers mense
8 Jan 2013, 23:56 pm
@shooter-22122: hehehe. 22122
8 Jan 2013, 23:57 pm
@Transformation-22121:
Funny enough I’ve expected you to say something like that
If you had to extinguish the flames over an incinerated human and helped to remove the remainder of a tire and the wires burned into flesh you can talk
Otherwise STFU
8 Jan 2013, 23:58 pm
@shooter-22119:
There is still not agreement about the number of learners who died in the ’76 uprising. The figures by government differs from those of the community. That’s just one incident.
I guess the press’s number will not be that much different from government’s over the 30 years but we also know that the press were not that independent to be really objective although some of them claim to be.
So, what is it?
9 Jan 2013, 00:00 am
@nama1-22118:
How many people did they kill?
Would one be too much?
The fact is if you look at the facts without any emotion clouding the issue, more people probably died on the road this past XMas season than Project Coast mangaged to kill
They were even less successful than MK, if thats possible
9 Jan 2013, 00:13 am
Were you part of the SADF,Victoriabok ?You are very passionate in your defence of Coast? Did you used dr. Death’s concoctions?
9 Jan 2013, 00:14 am
@victoriabok-22127:
You made it about people who got killed, remember?
“To be brutally honest they probably killed fewer people in the end than the ANC did at their torture camp Quattro”
Seeing that it was the 2nd time you mentioned Quattro today, I thought you had specific info about what went on there.
We’ll probably never know how many people were killed by Project Coast (Robert Smith and his wife are rumored to be two of them) because it was such a clandestine operation but I think we can accept with certainty that there were people killed.
Comparing people who die in motor car accidents to people who were murdered by a government program? Really?
There are probably more people dying on the roads of the USA in one month than the number that died in the 911 attack. Somehow it just does not sound right making a comparison like that.
9 Jan 2013, 00:17 am
Interestingly, the evidence in court shows Basson to have done very little of the actual scientific work at Project Coast. As the head, his job had been to issue orders and liase between the funders, overseers in the military leadership, and the Special Forces/police operatives who used the products of Project Coast.
“Most of his time was spent elsewhere – cultivating an international network of allies and supplies.” Basson himself has confirmed his large network in court, after some of them were persuaded by the prosecution to testify against him. It has been said that South Africa’s CBW programme was “second in sophistication only to that of the Soviet Union”.
Basson’s scientists were well paid and well looked after. Some of them came forward to testify against him, thanks to the amnesty granted by the TRC. One of them, Dr Dan Goosen, the first managing director of Roodeplaat, has said Basson ordered him “to research the possibility of developing a race-specific bacterial weapon after the South African embassy in London received a letter offering the formula for such a thing.
“The letter, it was decided might be a trap, but Goosen completed his assignment – and concluded that it was theoretically possible to build a germ weapon that would target only blacks. He does not know what became of his report.”
Another Basson ex-associate, Dr Schalk van Rensburg, who worked as director of laboratory services at Roodeplaat, has said he heard references around Roodeplaat to a plan to poison Nelson Mandela with thallium in his cell, before his release.
After Mandela’s release, Rensburg said he was told by Dr Andre Immelman, Project Coast’s chief toxicologist, who also testified in court against Basson, that “the thallium would soon begin to show signs of working and that Mandela would be “impaired progressively’.
“Immelman now says he was just testing van Rensburg’s discretion, seeing if his remarks surfaced anywhere. In any event, according to Rensburg, prison doctors balked at poisoning Mandela”. There had also been plans, at Roodeplaat, to distribute T-shirts poisoned with euphoria-producing drugs in black townships. Dr Van Rensburg remembers “merriment among the operational types at Roodeplaat when a poisoned T-shirt meant for a black soldier they disliked, was borrowed by a friend of the target, and the friend died instantly.
Van Rensburg also told the court that he “heard Basson repeatedly boast that he was now in a position “to rewrite the world’s toxicology textbooks’, suggesting that he had been observing the effects on human beings of controlled doses of deadly poisons, effects that were not always as predicted.” Project Coast also manufactured poisoned beer, chocolate, and envelope flaps.
Another former associate of Basson, Johan Theron, an ex-intelligence officer, told the court how he and others, with Basson’s assistance, killed “hundreds” of black people and dumped their bodies in the sea off Namibia using a small aircraft.
Theron said the South African army had captured too many SWAPO prisoners of war than they had room to cater for. A decision was therefore taken by the military leadership to reduce the overcrowding by killing some of the SWAPO soldiers. At first, Theron said, they tried to strangle the prisoners. When that proved too difficult and traumatic even for the killers, the military settled for lethal injections. That was where Brigadier Wouter Basson came in.
Theron said Basson supplied him with vast quantities of Scoline, Tubarine, and syringes. He told the court that between 1979 and 1987, he murdered “hundreds” of SWAPO prisoners by these means. The bodies of his victims were then loaded into a small plane, three at a time, at a remote airstrip on the Skeleton Coast of Namibia and dumped into the Atlantic ocean, from an altitude of 12,000 feet. Theron said it was on only one occasion that Basson actually came to supervise the execution of a group of prisoners.
But several members of one of South Africa’s notorious police units, the East Rand Murder and Robbery Squad, who had gone on courses offered by the equally notorious killer unit, the Civil Cooperation Bureau, testified in court that “it was common knowledge that, if poisons were needed for a job, “Doc Wouter’ was the man to see”.
9 Jan 2013, 00:26 am
Basson got amnesty against prosecution for the 200 swapo prisoner deaths.That charge was dropped in SA because of that.It should also be noted that he got that amnesty by the then SWA administrator before independence.The ruling of the SA court has been reversed since.Dr death can now be charged for that 200 deaths.Highly unlikely though considering the cost of his trial.
9 Jan 2013, 00:27 am
@wnbb-22128:
No did you?
9 Jan 2013, 00:32 am
Dr Mike Odendaal, a microbiologist on Project Coast, who “did ghastly things at Roodeplaat, including putting anthrax spores in cigarettes, chocolates and lipstick”, was reported on 15 January this year by the American magazine, The New Yorker, as saying:
“Angola would have been the ideal situation in which to test these [CBW] weapons. But Basson wanted to use them against our domestic opponents as well – to impress the generals. But one of the major tenets of chemical warfare is that you don’t use these things on your own soil.” William Finnegan, who wrote The New Yorker’s 15 January piece, said: “I asked [Dr Odendaal] about the charge, often heard that the drinking water in the Eastern Cape district, a centre of political resistance, had been deliberately infected with cholera in the late 1980s. “Odendaal nodded. ‘If that happened, the cholera in the Eastern Cape probably came from my lab, and it probably did kill old people and kids,’ he said. “I only read about it in the papers and then was confronted about it at the TRC [Truth and Reconciliation Commission]. No details have come out but it was probably put in the water. That, again, is something you produce to use in enemy territory, not on your own people.
‘And it doesn’t make any sense, if you want to make a dent in the black population, to poison a couple of hundred people, putting a strain on your own health services. You need to kill 10 million to make a difference’,” Odendaal added.
9 Jan 2013, 00:33 am
@victoriabok-22132: I am not the one supporting the Coast chemical programme,mate.
9 Jan 2013, 00:35 am
@nama1-22129:
> I thought you had specific info about what went on there.
Try reading this book
http://www.jacana.co.za/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=flypage-ask.tpl&category_id=32&product_id=372&vmcchk=1&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=206
9 Jan 2013, 00:38 am
@wnbb-22134:
You phrased your question wrong. He was in the SA ARMY not the SADF.
9 Jan 2013, 00:39 am
@Transformation-22121: you are right ,Transie .I just wasted precious time debating with an apartheid denialist.
9 Jan 2013, 00:39 am
@nama1-22129:
> We’ll probably never know how many people were killed by Project Coast
Ditto for tha ANC, PAC, UDF and Inkatha
The ******** who perpetrated it are either dead, retired with fat pensions or are in local or provincial government
It’s done, get over it.
9 Jan 2013, 00:42 am
@nama1-22136: isn’t it called the SANDF now?Used to be the SADF in Victoriabok’s days.
9 Jan 2013, 00:43 am
@wnbb-22134:
Nobody’s supporting anything Boet, the fact is many people were killed in an unnecessary war by all sides, and very few were combatants like in most wars
I used to be bitter about it but ain’t going to change anything
Let’s rather talk about rugby, that’s what Keo is for and why we come here in the first place
9 Jan 2013, 00:44 am
@victoriabok-22135:
I’ll do so.
Remember that I was not trying to say that nothing happened at Quattro. There was testimony about that at the TRC also. I question your claim that more people died there than during the whole Operation Coast.
That is right wing propaganda to make people feel less guilty about the atrocities that took place under Apartheid afa I am concerned
9 Jan 2013, 00:45 am
I have a sneaky suspicion that this vb oke might be tainted goods.The nazis escaped to South America.What are the chances of a few apartheid operators ending up in North America ?hmmmmm
9 Jan 2013, 00:49 am
You are correct,VB.Let us leave it at that.I think I said enough on the topic today.I can’t wait for the super rugby to start.The Stormers have two tough opening games.Bulls might be the best bet for a victory.Sharks a bit tougher.What do you think?
9 Jan 2013, 00:52 am
@victoriabok-22138:
Never tell people to “get over it.”
Can you imagine an English speaking person telling an Afrikaner in the 1920′s ’30′s, ’40′s, ’50′s, ’60′s, ’70′s, ’80′s: “The AB War is done. Get over it.”
It would not have been received well.
You are right on one account though, we need to move on but we should not try to distort the facts of the past in doing so.
OK, that was my contribution on this topic.
9 Jan 2013, 00:54 am
@nama1-22144: well said,Nama.
9 Jan 2013, 00:55 am
@nama1-22141:
> I question your claim that more people died there
Maybe I wasn’t factually correct all I was implying was that it was not as effective as they claimed it to be and in the greater scheme of what happened in SA at the time
9 Jan 2013, 01:06 am
@nama1-22144:
> The AB War is done. Get over it.”
It is and you and me can’t change anything about it
One thing I learned when I got here is the world is indifferent to SA’s problems, for us it’s important but for them it’s not
Another is there’s no bitterness left from the past between groups, my one friend is a Cuban, Roberto is the nicest guy you’d ever meet
He said his brother went to Angola but he didn’t want to as “there are lions and sh.it there man”
9 Jan 2013, 01:18 am
History is controlled by those who write it.
At the moment, the ANC “controls” history.
On another note, Capo’s new serious persona is so laughable. He genuinely thinks people take him seriously. What a moron.
9 Jan 2013, 02:07 am
@katman-22087:
I know how you feel when we beat you in 8 straight rugby tests in the early 00′s it was a waste of time and nobody was really interested in NZ watching Bokke AB tests, things change we are going through a rough patch but we’ll come right.
9 Jan 2013, 06:39 am
Lance Armstrong set for Oprah Winfrey interview:
US cyclist Lance Armstrong will be interviewed by chat show host Oprah Winfrey, amid reports that he might publicly admit to doping.
Armstrong was stripped of his seven Tour de France titles by the sport’s governing body, following a report by the US Anti-Doping Agency (Usada).
Winfrey’s OWN network said the 90-minute interview would address “years of accusations of cheating”.
Armstrong has maintained his innocence as he received a life ban from Usada.
But the New York Times reported on Friday that the 41-year-old was considering a public admission that he used banned performance-enhancing drugs. An admission could lead to an apparent bid to return to competing in marathons and triathlons, the paper reported.
The interview announcement was first made on Oprah Winfrey’s Twitter account on Tuesday, and confirmed when Armstrong retweeted it 15 minutes later.
The interview – his first since being stripped of his wins – will be broadcast on 17 January on Winfrey’s OWN network and live-streamed online.
for the rest:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-20954810
Pages: « 1 … 438 439 440 441 442 [443] 444 445 446 447 448 … 605 » Show All