Hore hit Davies off the ball during the initial stages of last Saturday’s Test in Cardiff. The incident was missed by matchday officials, but Hore has now been cited and looks likely to receive a lengthy suspension.

30,305 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 448 449 450 451 452 [453] 454 455 456 457 458 … 607 » Show All
10 Jan 2013, 13:25 pm
So Juandre Kruger and Habana, two starting Boks from last season, have signed with overseas clubs.
That’s what’s going to happen when you have a open policy afa selecting overseas based players are concerned.
Who’s going to follow in their footsteps? Bissie, Jannie, Beast, Schalk, Etzebeth, JPP, …
10 Jan 2013, 13:27 pm
@nama1-22601: They will go anyway Nama…it is inevitable….no use trying to get players to stay by threatening them ….will backfire big time in my opinion…
10 Jan 2013, 13:32 pm
Plenty of changes to 2013 Super Rugby
Vodacom Super Rugby returns in 2013, but while it will still be as long and intense, filled with drama and passion, the format will have a slightly different tinge this year.
With Australian sides kicking off a week earlier than the rest, thanks to their money-spinning British and Irish Lions tour, the 18th year of Super Rugby will start in two spurts – in Australia on 15 February, and for the rest a week later.
With so many changes to the laws, Sanzar announced on Thursday that the halftime break was extended from 10 to 12 minutes, adding more time for analysis and commercial opportunities for broadcasters during games.
But one law that won’t be implemented is the 23-man squad – whereby teams need to have a full front row on the bench, with Sanzar holding off while the IRB completes trials in other competitions.
Still, there are some significant changes to the laws, including the three-call scrum that will be implemented for the first time, a change to the quick lineout throw in law and most significantly, the five-second rule to clear a ruck that was so successful in New Zealand’s ITM Cup when trialled late last year.
The scrum call – which changes the call from “Crouch, touch, pause, engage” to “Crouch, set, engage” has been relatively successful when implemented in the northern hemisphere and is to help with safety more than anything else.
With regards to quick throw-ins, the amendment to the law says “the player may be anywhere outside the field of play between the line of touch and the player’s goal line.”
“When the ball goes into touch from a knock-on, the non-offending team will be offered the choice of a lineout at the point the ball crossed the touchline or a scrum at the place of the knock-on. The non-offending team may take a quick throw-in.”
But the most significant change will be the five-second law at ruck time, meant to cut down on structured kicking and to ensure the ball is utilized more quickly.
A scrumhalf has five seconds to clear the ball from the base of the ruck before the referee calls “use it”. If he doesn’t, the ref will award a scrum to the opposing team, much like a maul that is held up.
10 Jan 2013, 13:34 pm
@nama1-22601: As long as they are still available for Boks selection, who cares?
10 Jan 2013, 13:35 pm
@grant10-22602:
That will have such a negative impact on our domestic competitions with all our star players plying their trade overseas. The carrot of a Bok jersey was one way of keeping our top players in the country. Now there is nothing preventing them from going overseas since they will still be eligible for Bok selection.
I can’t agree with that.
10 Jan 2013, 13:36 pm
@nama1-22603: The scrum call is “Crouch, Touch, Set”.
“Engage” has been done away with as it is a two syllable word.
10 Jan 2013, 13:41 pm
@victoriabok-22401: T.itter… Kerkstraat Stripjoint… Really?
Sick of Teazers midrand… The Grande too far to return from, not ****** enough, and my accent precludes me from popping in to Teazers near Zambesi…
T.itter sounds farken perfect…
10 Jan 2013, 13:42 pm
@Heavens Game-22607: So sk.anky is a banned word… farkenhell
10 Jan 2013, 13:43 pm
@willievz-22604:
The SA public who have to pay money to watch the 2nd best players competing for their franchises in Super rugby and in the CC while the best of the best SA players are playing overseas.
Can you imagine 1st choice Boks like Habana, Etzebeth, Schalk, Beast, Bissie, Jannie, JPP all playing overseas. It means that the Newlands faithful, for example, will only see them live ONCE a year when they represent the Boks in a test.
Currently, they have the opportunity to see the Shark contingent at least three times a year at Newlands. Once in S15, once in the CC and once when they play for the Boks. That excludes possible semi finals or finals.
Your average rugby supporter going to the stadiums will be losing out and they might just care enough not to go to the stadiums anymore after a while.
10 Jan 2013, 13:44 pm
@nama1-22605: The minute you apply draconian measures you start the process of ostracising and eventually cutting your nose to spite your face….F Louw a case in point.
Reality is these players will leave anyway [ CJ Stander? ]
Threats are counter productive imo….
But I respect your stance as well…..
10 Jan 2013, 13:45 pm
@willievz-22606:
Blame it on news24 reporting.
10 Jan 2013, 13:52 pm
@nama1-22609: Given that we are talking about South Africa, I am sure other stars of tomorrow will emerge pretty quickly.
Many of our young up-and-coming talents who are starved of game time will now get more opportunities.
The loss to supporters is therefore a short-term one. But the gains to the Boks are long-term and benign.
Note that I only look at the benefits to the Boks since I don’t support a “traditional” Tier 1 provincial team. If I did, I would probably support your argument.
10 Jan 2013, 13:54 pm
@grant10-22610:
On the other hand, we had a guy like Etzebeth who grabbed his opportunity because Meyer refrained from selecting Bakkies.
Now, what is there preventing Etzebeth from going overseas when his contract with WP expires? Nothing.
He can go overseas at this young age and still know that as the premier SA lock he’ll get selected, denying the SA public the opportunity to see him playing live regularly.
10 Jan 2013, 13:56 pm
@grant10-22610: With you there… can’t stop the market and it really is counterproductive to reduce the selection pool of players… for what? A petty reason truly to preclude players in demand internationally… Some add to their arsenal, mature and improve with experience elsewhere… This is actually a benefit to SA Rugby.
The bullshitt about players declining as a result of going North or East is just that… Bullshitt
Football fits in an International player market… Rugby needs to as well.
The last thing SA should do is emulate the Kiwis with regards to this… They do a helluva lot right but they are wrong here.
10 Jan 2013, 14:00 pm
@willievz-22612:
No doubt that there will be an opportunity for youngsters to come through. Etzebeth being a case in point.
However, as you can see my argument revolves around the weakening of teams playing in the S15 and CC. Will the Boks become stronger if most (or all) our top players play overseas? I’m not too sure about that. We can site individuals like Flo who returned better players but we can equally point to players who digressed as players while playing overseas like CJ and BJ. Even Fransie.
10 Jan 2013, 14:02 pm
@nama1-22609: SA pays its top players pretty competitively compared to anywhere else… If not then they must pay more…
SA Rugby though has a problem with the next tier, emerging talent like CJ Stander for whom sides up North are prepared to remunerate higher than that which they earn here…
Risk and reward… SA Rugby is at fault here for letting talent slip through its net – a perpetual problem for years, not the sides up north willing to risk and pay more for an emerging star…
10 Jan 2013, 14:03 pm
@nama1-22613: “Now, what is there preventing Etzebeth from going overseas when his contract with WP expires? Nothing.”… Simple. make him an offer he cant refuse
10 Jan 2013, 14:05 pm
@nama1-22615: i see Faf is already flexing his superstar “muscle”
SUNRIDGE PARK
Meet cricket captain
All-rounder & current captain of the SA Pro20 side Faf du Plessis will be hosting a meet & greet session @ Cafe Capellini in Sunridge Park today from 2pm to 3pm.
10 Jan 2013, 14:05 pm
Why don’t the SA cricket selectors consider Alphonso Thomas for our T20 team? The man is probably the best death bowler in the world in this format of the game. He and Gibbs (54 from 39 balls) just helped their team to reach the finals in the Aus Big Bash tournament.
10 Jan 2013, 14:06 pm
@Heavens Game-22616: A good number…
22616 Bogolyubov (provisional designation: 1998 KG7) is a main-belt minor planet. It was discovered through the Lowell Observatory Near-Earth-Object Search at the Anderson Mesa Station in Coconino County, Arizona, on May 23, 1998. It is named after Nikolay Bogolyubov, a Ukrainian mathematician and theoretical physicist of the 20th century.
10 Jan 2013, 14:12 pm
@Transformation-22618:
What a player.
Xhosakid still crying into his milk about that one.
10 Jan 2013, 14:13 pm
@nama1-22615:
My argument revolves more around the absolute number of players getting game time and exposure of different kinds (youngsters plus expats) rather than whether or not a select few players will improve or not (expats only).
10 Jan 2013, 14:14 pm
@nama1-22619:
A better option than Parnell or Mclaren.
10 Jan 2013, 14:16 pm
@Heavens Game-22617:
Ahhh…therein lies our problem, doesn’t it? Can we really compete money wise with the NH? No, we can’t. So we have to put other measures in place to make sure that we keep our very best players playing locally. If we have to use the lure of the Bok jersey to keep them at home, by all means let’s do it then.
@Transformation-22618:
Wow…I guess he has to ride the wave while it lasts.
I put him in the Jonty, McKensie, Rudolph bracket. He’ll end his career with a 35%-38% average in tests.
10 Jan 2013, 14:19 pm
@gunther-22623:
Definitely
Is he still a Kolpak player? May that be the reason why he is not considered?
10 Jan 2013, 14:20 pm
@nama1-22624: Thats bulldust that SA cant compete money wise with NH regarding rugby… Especially with the top tier players…
10 Jan 2013, 14:21 pm
@Heavens Game-22626: Another good number…
22626 Jengordinier (1998 KS37) is a main-belt asteroid discovered on May 22, 1998 by the Lincoln Laboratory Near-Earth Asteroid Research Team at Socorro.
10 Jan 2013, 14:22 pm
@gunther-22621: new surrender m_onkey jerseys
http://m.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=519794708042235&id=129368440418199&set=a.131702326851477.16206.129368440418199&refid=17
10 Jan 2013, 14:22 pm
@nama1-22624: That is grossly unfair to the players.
The players do not belong to the public.
10 Jan 2013, 14:25 pm
@Heavens Game-22626: Frans Steyn was in the top five/ten best paid players in Top 14… His remuneration in France was to all intents and purposes matched by Sharks and SARU…
10 Jan 2013, 14:30 pm
@Heavens Game-22626:
You tell that to the Cheetahs who said they could not compete against the offer made to Juan Smith.
Do you really believe that WP would’ve let Habana go if they were able to beat the offer made by Toulon? At the end of 2011 it was reported that Habana asking price was something like $2mil. Fortunately for WP he had a kak season then and Toulon was not willing to pay that much so he signed with WP again. After being named SA Player of the Year in 2012 and one of his tries being named International Try of the Year in 2012, feck knows what he is getting paid by Toulon now. What I do know is that WP cannot compete with that offer.
10 Jan 2013, 14:33 pm
@willievz-22629:
Players are nothing without the public.
@Heavens Game-22630:
Frans went on record saying that he was willing to take a dip in salary in order to play for the Boks again under His Meyerness, the Heyneke.
10 Jan 2013, 14:34 pm
@Heavens Game-22614: Absolutely spot on….
I hate losing talent to overseas….but to try and fight the inevitable through a policy of vindictiveness is not the answer…..free markets are free markets afterall….
I just hope the foreign clubs start implementing some type of overseas cappings….
Sad but reality is what it is….
10 Jan 2013, 14:35 pm
@Transformation-22628:
I thought it was the new kings jersey.
Imagine my surprise
10 Jan 2013, 14:39 pm
@Heavens Game-22630:
I don’t think he’s earning a million Euros a year playing here.
Not unless he is doing a ton of endorsements .
10 Jan 2013, 14:42 pm
@nama1-22631:
The highest payed Stormers are on around 3.5 bar.
He might still get chosen for the boks of he goes but hell probably lose his contract which is a big chunk.
2 million US would put him on a par with Sunny Bill.
10 Jan 2013, 14:42 pm
@grant10-22633: ” I just hope the foreign clubs start
implementing some type of overseas
cappings….”
aren’t overseas “cappings” a way to manipulate the “free market”, are they less “vindictive”?
hi boet
10 Jan 2013, 14:44 pm
are the Sharks matching the R4.5 bar frankie steyn earned @ Racing?
10 Jan 2013, 14:47 pm
@gunther-22636:
Is that just for a super contract or does it include their Bokke payments as well?
10 Jan 2013, 14:48 pm
@gunther-22634: there’s only ONE team known as the Surrender M_onkeys and they’re NOT playing Super rugby!
they’re getting ready to moer Yuri the Russian & Boris the Bullet Dodger in downtown Jozi…
10 Jan 2013, 14:48 pm
So much so for sharks being the apex predators of the sea. They are now showing a doccie in which a killer whales killed a great white.
A 14 foot Orca vs a 11 foot Great White.
Winner: Orca
10 Jan 2013, 14:49 pm
@nama1-22631: Cheetahs got farkall cash… If you dont pay then they dont stay…
And that applies to Habanero… Obviously WP and SARU dont see the value in him that Toulon do…
SA Rugby and franchises get adequate revenue to compete… They just got to take thumb out of b.um and actually compete…
10 Jan 2013, 14:50 pm
@NZINCHINA-22639:
Howzit my China.
The 3.5 million is just the provincial contract.
10 Jan 2013, 14:51 pm
According to Mail Online the best-paid rugby players in the
world (annual salaries) are:
D Carter, £1.2m, Racing Metro (2011-12)
S Chabal, £1m, Racing Metro (2011-12)
M Giteau, £900,000, Western Force (2009-10)
J Hook, £750,000, Perpignan (2011-12)
J Wilkinson, £700,000, Toulon (2011-12)
Best-paid players in English rugby:
Carl Hayman, £350,000, Newcastle (2009-10)
Chris Latham Worcester (2009-10)
£325,000
Average salary in the Aviva Premiership
2006-07 £50,000
2007-08 £55,000
2008-09 £60,000
2009-10 £75,000
2010-11 £85,000
10 Jan 2013, 14:51 pm
@nama1-22632: Frans might have a dip in salary but the dip is slight… and cost of living in many ways cheaper… Frans probably better off than in France…
10 Jan 2013, 14:52 pm
Maybe the Kings should change their name to The Orcas as these animals are known to hunt dolphins in that waters.
It will also give them the edge when they face the Sharks.
10 Jan 2013, 14:52 pm
@Transformation-22640:
Yuri died years ago.
Vat is this new Russian?
10 Jan 2013, 14:53 pm
@gunther-22635: More like 700 000 euros… Frans is better off… less tax and lower cost of living.
10 Jan 2013, 14:55 pm
@Robzim-22644: The Mail knows farkall about rugby… Those figures should be Euro not Sterling…
10 Jan 2013, 14:56 pm
@Heavens Game-22648:
He was earning just under a million.
A significant portion would have been paid in image rights taxman wouldn’t see that.
Doesn’t happen in SA.
Pages: « 1 … 448 449 450 451 452 [453] 454 455 456 457 458 … 607 » Show All