Hore hit Davies off the ball during the initial stages of last Saturday’s Test in Cardiff. The incident was missed by matchday officials, but Hore has now been cited and looks likely to receive a lengthy suspension.

30,245 Comments

Pages: « 1449 450 451 452 453 [454] 455 456 457 458 459605 » Show All

• 22651.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Just popped down to the Volvo Golf Champs being played basically on my doorstep.

What a great day.
    Even with all the rain Durban has experienced, the course is still awesome nick.

And with the Indian Ocean, the Park of Kings and the beautiful Moses Mabhida as a backdrop, you really couldnt ask for a better setting.
    Durban, you had me at hello.

No wonder this course was recently voted one of the Top 100 courses in the world by World of Golf Magazine USA.

• 22652.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-22642:
    Come now HG.

Provinces in SA has an obligation to develop young talent as well. They can’t just go around spending all their money on just a few senior players. Somebody (Robzim, I think) posted the Toulon squad yesterday. It read like the Who’s Who of “close to retirement quality international” players.

Does their owner even invest in developing young talent or does he just shop around?

• 22653.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10-22633: Not with you on player nationality caps… But salary caps are a good way forward… Maybe the NFL model the best.

• 22654.gunther: Reply to this comment

Besides the difference in the cost of living is not as great as it was.

Certainly when you look at Fransies staple diet.

Croissants.

• 22655.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@gunther-22643:

Very well, that’s pretty good coin for a super contract very few NZ guys would make that for a super rugby contract alone.

@Heavens Game-22642:

They can compete for the top guys with the Bokke payments as well but with the second tier guys they have no show.

• 22656.willievz: Reply to this comment

@nama1-22632: And the game of rugby is nothing without players.

How do you expect players to play their hearts out for their country if their country makes it difficult for them to do their work, ie play?

• 22657.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nama1-22652: You thinking like an amateur minded administrator now…

Franchises now are a business… Franchises have an obligation to develop young talent as well. Like Barcelona in football or any other Football club… It pays to develop talent…

Players are viewed as assets, not just as “talent”… Clubs make money from selling their assets…

or save money on a pipeline of assets developed in house…
    Rugby Franchise

• 22658.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-22657: Rugby franchises need to start thinking the same way…

• 22659.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@gunther-22654: With housing/real estate it is, without doubt…

Paris vs Durbs?

• 22660.gunther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-22655:

Like I said it’s the top guys who are cracking that.

But its a pretty decent number.

• 22661.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-22655: NZChink, thats what I said in an earlier post…

• 22662.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-22649:

The article was written by Paul Morgan who is amongst others the editor of Rugby World and the IRB world rugby yearbook. I think it is fair to say that most people will agree that he might just perhaps know a tiny bit more then you

• 22663.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-22659:

These guys rent or get accommodation as part of their package.

• 22664.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@gunther-22650: Of course image rights are taxed…

Image rights come from a “central” pot too… Another way of topping up contracted salaries..

Doesn’t happen in SA, but no reason it cant to enable salaries to be competitive…

• 22665.Fern: Reply to this comment

http://www.popularmechanics.co.za/home-how-to/diy-news-features/reader-projectcut-and-dried/

Do not get caught this rugga season,diy biltong maker.
    Easy to make and you will pay about R100/kg for biltong then.
    More money for booze and braai.
    Cheers!

• 22666.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-22664:

They aren’t.

They are paid to companies holding the rights in funny islands.

The whole point of image rights is that they are a way around tax.

• 22667.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-22662: churlishtwat…

Yes… maybe… But then again those French salaries from the Mail dont tally with Midi Olympique…

And most honest rugby supporters recognize that Midi Olympique knows “slightly” more about French rugger than the farken Mail.

• 22668.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@gunther-22663: Yes…

• 22669.nama1: Reply to this comment

@willievz-22656:
    But that’s the thing. The country is not making it difficult for them to play the game. They can play in three different competitions apart from the internationals. Vodacom Cup, CC and Super Rugby. All the chances in the world to do their work ie play rugby.

The one thing their country cannot do, AT THIS STAGE, is to compete with billionaires from overseas who are willing to pay them exorbitant sums of money to play there. What their country can do however, is to afford them the opportunity to represent their country at international level and in so doing measure themselves against the best the world has to offer afa rugby is concerned.

Of course the player still have the choice. Go overseas and makes lots of money or stay at home, make less money (not that much less according to HG) but play international rugby.

• 22670.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Up the Bucs

Mogadishu – One of Somalia’s most
    notorious pirate leaders who terrorised
    vast areas of the Indian Ocean,
    generating multi-million dollar ransoms
    from the ships he seized, has
    announced his retirement.

“After being in piracy for eight years, I
    have decided to renounce and quit, and
    from today on I will not be involved in
    this gang activity,” Mohamed Abdi
    Hassan, known as “Afweyne” or “big
    mouth”, told reporters late on
    Wednesday.

• 22671.willievz: Reply to this comment

@nama1-22669: You are restricting them in their ability to apply for work, essentially capping their salaries.

It’s like telling an SA entrepreneur that he/she is not allowed to float on an international stock exchange.

• 22672.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Fern-22665: Or buy one at Makro for R399

• 22673.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@gunther-22666: Another way to up the remuneration which is my point… Who pays the image rights? The clubs or the League? Think about it.

And they do get taxed no matter if their contracts are in guernsey or bermuda, cuzzy…

• 22674.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-22657:
    My question to you was whether a club like Toulon also spend money developing young talent or do they just go around the world and buy the best players with the money the have?

• 22675.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-22673: Bullshitt that the “whole point” of image rights is a tax dodge… The farken whole idea of image rights is that the player – as a brand – has control over how their name is used and exploited commercially.

Farken cleverdick

• 22676.nama1: Reply to this comment

@willievz-22671:
    And yet there are laws governing your trade on the international market, are there not?

What’s the difference?

• 22677.willievz: Reply to this comment

@nama1-22676:

Certainly.

The players’ trade are governed / regulated too.

In that they can only represent one international team.

• 22678.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nama1-22674: A model – Toulon buy stars…

Which
    - brings in more fans
    - sells more shirts and other toulon stuff
    - brings greater chance of winning
    - more games… eg more semis, finals

Which brings more revenue… If Revenue greater than costs, then good business… Simple…

Who heard of LA Galaxy before Beckham pitched…?

Now LA Galaxy shirts are sold right next to Barca or Man U…

• 22679.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-22434: Capo my lapdog.?

Any particular kind of pig you would like
    to see flying.?

• 22680.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-22678:
    I have no problem with that model however our local provinces/franchises can’t operate like that. They have to invest a big chunk of their budget into the development of players apart from buying up players. Therefor they are at a disadvantage when it comes to the competing with the Toulons of this world if they are baying for the same player.

See what I’m saying?

I agree that provinces should see the players they develop as assets that can bring in money when they offload them on the market. A province like Free State should have been fairly rich selling off all these young players to the Sharks over the years. Much like Ajax Amsterdam, they should’ve positioned themselves in that market by now to generate money.

• 22681.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Fern-22665:
    interesting thanks, but tell me how you get to the R100/kg price, please?

• 22682.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah-22672:

that wouldn’t be half as much fun though.

• 22683.nama1: Reply to this comment

@willievz-22677:
    Let’s take Etzebeth as an example.

According to reports he was identified by Hennie Bekker as somebody with the potential to play for SA one day. Since that time SA Rugby invested time and money in him to develop him and nurture his talent to a point where he will be ready to play for the Boks one day. Five years later, after representing SA at junior level, he made his debut in Super rugby for Stormers. He made such an impact that he became a Bok in his first year of senior rugby.

You say you have no problem if a guy like this sign for an overseas club tomorrow as long as he is still available to play for the Boks. You also say that if SARU tells him that he will not be selected for the Boks if he goes overseas tomorrow, they’ll infringe on his rights and will be restricting him in his ability to apply for work.

Am I right in my summation?

• 22684.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-22637: Hi Transie…good point my man…..I think protecting ones own n

National playing resources may be a bit different , but in principle you are correct….i DONT LIKE IT IS wp IMPORT cANADIANS, ETC….But thats just me

fark…sorry caps

• 22685.silent_shadow: Reply to this comment

@nama1-22683: What do you mean SA rugby spent time and money on him after Hennie Bekker identified him? Hennie worked with WP, not SARU, did he not?
    The first time Etzebeth represented SA was after he made the WP u18 craven week squad.

Not sure where you’re getting this “5 years of time and money invested” info from.

• 22686.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Fern-22665:
    Hi Fern. Het jy toe gehou by jou besluit?

• 22687.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What are we talking about now.

• 22688.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-22670:

• 22689.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-22679:

Rye I have no idea what you are talking about

• 22690.willievz: Reply to this comment

@nama1-22683:

I have no problem with Etzebeth playing overseas, as long as he is still eligible for Bok selection.

Etzebeth was very lucky to get game time this year, in the first place. If Bekker and Elstadt weren’t injured this year, Etzebeth would not have played for the Stormers.

In fact, many on this site criticised his Stormers selection in the first place, stating that he was far too young.

It would have been a case of yesterday’s stars keeping out tomorrow’s stars.

Who knows – maybe if he didn’t get game time this year, he would have applied for work elsewhere, a-la CJ Stander?

• 22691.willievz: Reply to this comment

@willievz-22690: Sorry, last year

We are, indeed, in 2013.

• 22692.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

South African airways just got named 52nd worst airline for safety out of 60 airlines.

• 22693.nama1: Reply to this comment

@silent_shadow-22685:
    Whether it is the Sharks Academy, Bulls Academy, Boland Academy or WP that developed a player, at the end of the day he was developed by SA rugby structures. It does not have to be SARU.

See what I mean?

As a student he shared a house with other young up and coming WP players paid for by WPRU. I’d say that is an investment in a player. That is just one example. I’m sure he had access to their gym for free. He had access to top dieticians for free etc, etc, etc.

• 22694.Dawn: Reply to this comment

“Cape Town – SANZAR on Thursday announced that half-time breaks for the 2013 Vodacom Super Rugby season will be extended to 12 minutes.”

Big whoop?

• 22695.willievz: Reply to this comment

@nama1-22693:

So all kids who went to school in the Western Cape should work in the Western Cape (or at least within the boundaries of South Africa) once they finish Grade 12?

• 22696.nama1: Reply to this comment

@willievz-22690:
    We’ll just have to agree to disagree.

Just as an aside. If you get a bursary from a company to study, they will usually expect of you to work for them after the completion of your studies equal to the amount of years that they have given you that bursary. If you don’t want to and get a better offer somewhere else, you or the company you preferred will have to pay out an amount equal to the amount spent on you (plus interest) to the company that gave you the bursary in the 1st place.

Do you think WP had a case asking their money back from guys like JJ Engelbrecht, Johan Sadie, Jordaan etc when they left for other franchises just when they were ready to step up to senior level after WP spent all that money developing them from a young age ie after completion of their studies?

• 22697.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-22675: @<a

WALES and Lions full-back Lee Byrne says the higher wages on offer in France makes the exodus of Welsh players to French club rugby “a no-brainer”.

French-based players also enjoy lower tax rates than in the UK and take advantage of looser regulations regarding earnings from image rights.

Pipe down now wiseass.

• 22698.nama1: Reply to this comment

@willievz-22695:
    How do you conclude that from that post?

No, that’s not what I said at all. Can’t see how you can come to that conclusion.

• 22699.nama1: Reply to this comment

@gunther-22697:
    Does he say anything about the impact the exodus of Welsch players have on the domestic game in Wales or is that negated by the import of SA players?

• 22700.willievz: Reply to this comment

@nama1-22696:

WP made money (profit) from selling those players, didn’t they?

Which essentially is the “compensation”?

Pages: « 1449 450 451 452 453 [454] 455 456 457 458 459605 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.