Hore hit Davies off the ball during the initial stages of last Saturday’s Test in Cardiff. The incident was missed by matchday officials, but Hore has now been cited and looks likely to receive a lengthy suspension.

30,298 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 500 501 502 503 504 [505] 506 507 508 509 510 … 606 » Show All
17 Jan 2013, 11:05 am
@Taahirah-25198:
Witless protection more like.
17 Jan 2013, 11:07 am
@Treehugger-25199:
i agree.
it was an idiotic thing to do.
i hope someone told him that.
@willievz-25200:
i agree.
i just wonder what they are paying their wider squad non starting team members and junior players ?
@Willie…look if you can afford a car like that you have to be loaded, but to treat an expensive car in that fashion makes me think he is not paying for it. If you are paying a truckload of money a month for something you obviously take care of it, but what about driving that deep into the water with the wife and kids….screams bully and I will do what I want. Don’t like this man one little bit.
@willievz-25200:
Absolutely.
Can’t beat a Piccanto for cheap reliable motoring.
Those Koreans know their cars.
17 Jan 2013, 11:15 am
@willievz-25200: Not if you’re the boss of the 2nd Division Chumps it isn’t.
And I’m wondering what we’re going to see once he gets his pansella for bringing Super Rugby to the Eastern Cape…
17 Jan 2013, 11:18 am
@Transformation-25135:
T- I owe you an apology mate!
You were on a hat-trick, but I had not been following proceedings. I nearly copied your achievement (came in at 25,001)
Post-action analyses reveal that if I had left out the 2 x exclamations, I would have been right on the money!
17 Jan 2013, 11:41 am
What’s so flash about these 200k people anyway
17 Jan 2013, 11:48 am
it is so refreshing reading what others have to say about NZ rugby on different blogs:
stereo_mike November 26, 2012 6:49 pm
I think if you look at the number of citings and incidents that are not picked up in the last 12 months or so (internationally).the vast majority are from southern hemisphere. But I think the real problem here is how New Zealand are treated by both the IRB on and off the field. The incident in the scotland game with the boot the head was so so very dangerous, say if his stud opened up the jugular vein in his neck it could have gotten very serious but only a 1 game ban.if something substantial isnt done for this case, where does the line get drawn? what if kids start going around emulating these guys and you have kids standing on other kids heads and throwing cheap shot punches. The IRb have to stop protecting Brand All Blacks and treat them the same as every other side
17 Jan 2013, 11:49 am
James H November 26, 2012 6:50 pm
Seeing as Thomson got one week for several punches and a stamp to the head Hore will just be told not to do it again.
17 Jan 2013, 11:53 am
@Treehugger-25203: “look if you can afford a car like that you have to be loaded”…
I’ve not had sight of the EP Rugby Union’s financial statements, so I cannot confirm your statement.
17 Jan 2013, 11:55 am
on the subject of cheap shot stiff arms from behind on unsuspecting players, i found this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3JOrBqHGoiw
the resulting penalty was a four month suspension.
17 Jan 2013, 11:57 am
Papillon November 26, 2012 7:15 pm
Frankly, that has nothing to do in today’s rugby (maybe 30 years ago…). Given the consequences to Davies, I’d hope for tens of weeks of suspension but I must be dreaming… he’s an All Black after all
17 Jan 2013, 11:57 am
Colombes November 26, 2012 7:25 pm
First point, let’s be direct,
it was intentional, brutal and a bit coward by Hore!
and he’ll be rightly cited for that, even if he won’t really care a lot as the SH season is already finished :/
Second point, i’m a bit annoyed by the successive improvised trials on TV by Skysports.The last cases of Etzebeth and Thomson were treated in very biased way by some medias (even if the Thomson sanction was maybe too light) and i would prefer to see journalists or consultants having an “impartial” and “wait and see” posture than: the usuals “oh yeah, let’s ban him”, “the commission should have a look at it” or “remember o’driscoll” (comon…)
Zinzan Brooke seemed speechless at a moment and i quite understand him.
As a french fan, i’ve always watched french teams and players being victims of these kind of witchcraft (rightly or wrongly) and i still don’t understand this kind of stuff whatever the nationality of the player…
There are not countries specialised in the arts of cheapshots, but there are maybe teams who escape more than others, but that’s another debate
17 Jan 2013, 11:59 am
Nemo34 November 27, 2012 1:30 pm
Ugly hit. I would recommend a heavy ban as the gesture is obviously intentionnal, that it results in a commotion and that no apparent excuse or alibi may be provided. Yes, Davis ran in front of Hore but so what. I strikes me is that this aggression occurs less than 2 minutes in the game. There is no history of violence between these 2 players, no vengence, no ball in play, no foul play, nothing. It’s brutal and it should be punished adequately
Most of the remarks here are about all-blacks legendary genetic rightness. ABs being nice and sweet and exemplary ambassadors of rugby values. Rugby gods cannot be wrong, cannot cheat, cannot eye-goug and so on. We shall see. Whatever IRB verdict is, Hore should be ruled out of the AB squad whatever his value as a player is. If not, I will definitely see ABs a different way.
17 Jan 2013, 12:05 pm
And by the way, it looks like Hore also drops his knee on Davies’ head. I’d like to see him explain that away. Unlikely he both struck Davies’ neck and head from behind with his arm and then again with his knee “accidentally” while entering the ruck
17 Jan 2013, 12:06 pm
Ted the slacker November 26, 2012 8:27 pm
Main point of interest with incident will be how loudly the usual Kiwi fanboys complain.
It was a filthy cheap shot, even if Bradley Davies was in his way, and would have been red had the ref seen it. But when this sort of thing happens, your usual Kiwi response, fanned by the local media, is along the lines of “Andrew Hore is such a good bloke, clean-to-a-fault with a perfect disciplinary record, spends his spare time nursing puppies to full health, the idea he could have done anything wrong is an OUTRAGE”. And eventually the braying gets the culprit something less than a slap on the wrist – as happened with Kevan Mealamu a couple of years back.
To be fair though, Chris Rattue has not only called it what it was, but also unloaded on the Kiwi commentators out for being complete morons in their reaction.
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/best-of-sport-analysis/news/article.cfm?c_id=1502180&objectid=10849889
The fanboys however are out in force in the comments.
17 Jan 2013, 12:07 pm
Reality November 26, 2012 8:32 pm
Yeah, I agree with pretty much everyone here. I’m not a fan of obstructive runners, but if it happens, give them a shove; don’t box them in the side of the head from behind and send them to the hospital. Terrible, cowardly, ugly behaviour, and it’s outrageous that he probably won’t even miss any matches because the season is over.
I don’t like the way the analysts branded New Zealand rugby as having this dirty, dark side to it though. I mean, in my opinion they’re the biggest cheats in world rugby, so it’s not like they’re angels, but you can’t just take three incidents of violent behaviour which happened in the space of seven years and say that there’s a violent streak to New Zealand rugby. These kind of things unfortunately happen quite often involving players from South Africa, France, and the Pacific Islands, and to a lesser extent the rest of the world as well. Even Bradley Davies himself was banned fairly recently for picking up Donnacha Ryan and throwing him down on his head without provocation. Generalising New Zealand rugby players as violent because of these few instances is just ridiculous in my opinion. I mean Bakkies Botha and Jamie Cudmore for example have probably been in more trouble than the whole of New Zealand rugby.
17 Jan 2013, 12:12 pm
Vegetarian:
ancient tribal slang used to describe the village idiot who cant hunt, fish or ride.
17 Jan 2013, 12:14 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-25213:
Hi Houston, see you have found a second wind, good for you. I was a bit worried for you.This line from a French Fan…hehe…. says it all for me
‘There are not countries specialised in the arts of cheapshots’
17 Jan 2013, 12:29 pm
@The Rangerman-25218:
17 Jan 2013, 12:32 pm
@The Rangerman-25218: Also known as the lower half of the food chain.
17 Jan 2013, 12:38 pm
@Treehugger-25199: ag you’re biased by whatever your big brother told you about bad old cheeky, climb down from your high perd meisie…
17 Jan 2013, 12:43 pm
@KING10 EC 25222:
Tell us the truth about Sheeky.
17 Jan 2013, 12:49 pm
@Transformation-25222: I am truly astonished by the animosity towards Cheeky:
With the benefit of decades of sporting hindsight, the stance & action taken by Cheeky and his brothers way back in the 80s has clearly been vindicated. Are there truly still South Africans that long for racially segregated sport & its concomitant, sporting isolation & deprivation?
If not, the Watsons should be lauded as brave sporting pioneers.
17 Jan 2013, 12:56 pm
@Te Rangatira-25219:
hi TR, i’m self medicating at the moment, so far so good.
yip, some of the comments are funny indeed and the french guy i think was the same one who stated even he was disgusted by Hore’s actions ‘AND HE WAS FRENCH’ (his words)
17 Jan 2013, 12:59 pm
Don’t have a big brother. That you even think I have to like him is ridiculous….no need to get agro cos I don’t idolize your idol. He is dodgy fullfeckingstop.
17 Jan 2013, 13:02 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-25225:dipping into the Temgezic and Ketamin bakkies.
17 Jan 2013, 13:04 pm
@Angostura-25224: indeed…
17 Jan 2013, 13:13 pm
@Angostura-25224: ” the stance & action taken by
Cheeky and his brothers way back in the
80s has clearly been vindicated.” well, i reckon cheeky & his brother’s stance exposed some people’s cowardice or even bigotry. if they could take that stance what stopped the majority of folk from defying the govt?
it’s rhetorical question.
@Treehugger-25226: he is not “my idol” or my anything but he CLEARLY gets to you or someone you know as you’ve called him a “bully” numerous times on this forum…
who did Cheeky bully? tl tl tl
17 Jan 2013, 13:13 pm
@Angostura-25224:
i applaude his actions and behaviour in the 80′s and 90′s absolutely.
however, its his actions and behaviour in the present which leaves a bitter taste in the mouth.
maybe its just me, but there’s something about pigs at a trough wallowing away in their filth, while happily gorging themselves on whatever slop comes their way which i find off-putting… no matter how often i see it, it doesn’t make it any less distasteful to me.
17 Jan 2013, 13:15 pm
@Treehugger-25227:
i’m not going to answer that…
17 Jan 2013, 13:16 pm
@Treehugger-25226:
fullfuckingstop indeed.
17 Jan 2013, 13:16 pm
@Transformation-25229:
well he tried to have his way with Divvie for one.
and that’s after the Jake white fiasco.
17 Jan 2013, 13:17 pm
@Transformation-25229: indeed
17 Jan 2013, 13:20 pm
cheeky was right way back when.
i dont have a opinion him or his son beyond the fact that mates have told me they are dooses.
i have not met any of them so will reserve judgement until i do (if ever).
17 Jan 2013, 13:22 pm
@grant10-25234: what are you “indeed’ing” about?
it must be so trying being such a tryer.
17 Jan 2013, 13:22 pm
* i heard he murdered someone..?..
* (unverified)
17 Jan 2013, 13:23 pm
@Angostura-25224: But surely we must judge him (and all people, including MK Vets and Politicians who were crucial in the struggle)today on his actions today? Does he have the right to act the way he does now because of his actions 10-12 years ago? Seems to be a common issue in this country….fight for the right cause for 20 years and then get a free pass to whatever you want for the next 20. Madiba would be ashamed.
@Skeppie-25238: 10-20
what stance did you take mr indeedy?
17 Jan 2013, 13:24 pm
@The Rangerman-25235: Howzit Ranger, I can confirm first hand that dear old Luke is a doos of note
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-25237:
I thinky you should keep that to yourself until you have verified it Clueso.
17 Jan 2013, 13:28 pm
@gunther-25233: funny how divvy is believed when he says cheeky tried to bully him but thrashed when he suggests that morne du plessis & johan rupert were behind hoskins labelling him a quota coach
cake, eat it
@The Rangerman-25235: nice one mzingeli…wenza kakuhle!
I’ve met cheeky and had lunch with him once. Charming caracter, but dodgy!
Thinks a lot of himself.
Almost like Transie with more money
when the boardroom blazer brigade drives cars that cost more than many of their players 2 & 3 year contract packages, one is easily inclined to think that something stinks.
@Taahirah-25242:
chinese whispers is a b.itch…
@gunther-25243:
17 Jan 2013, 13:29 pm
@The Rangerman-25236:
indeed.
17 Jan 2013, 13:29 pm
@Mr Black-25245:
17 Jan 2013, 13:30 pm
i’m not suggesting people must blindly like cheeky for his actions in the 80′s but if you’re going to despise the man, base it on facts or shut up
17 Jan 2013, 13:30 pm
@Mr Black-25245:
iClassic
Pages: « 1 … 500 501 502 503 504 [505] 506 507 508 509 510 … 606 » Show All