Hore hit Davies off the ball during the initial stages of last Saturday’s Test in Cardiff. The incident was missed by matchday officials, but Hore has now been cited and looks likely to receive a lengthy suspension.

30,235 Comments

Pages: « 1520 521 522 523 524 [525] 526 527 528 529 530605 » Show All

• 26201.cane: Reply to this comment

Good Night All.

And god bless you all.

(well most of you anyway).

• 26202.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@cane-26201:

• 26203.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@cane-26201: have a good night too!!

• 26204.Fern: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-26202:
    Meeste bul supporters is tegesuip na n game om iets tedoen.
    Barlow World het die beste boks,net bo die Presidential Suite.
    Ek was all 1 maal daar,bevange met snacks,dop en n three course meal.
    Reg op die middel lyn.

• 26205.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@cane-26181: You’re right, he did according to an article I remember reading in SA Rugby.

• 26206.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Fern-26204:
    Klink na die plek om te wees

• 26207.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Fern…..lol clothes get heavy

• 26208.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@cane-26201: Sleep well, champ!

• 26209.Fern: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-26206:
    Snacks sluit biltong in.
    Om n kaartjie tekry as jy nie vir hulle werk nie is n mission,ek het die bulls vs brumbies 2 jaar terug daar gekyk.
    @Treehugger-26207:
    It happens,luckily it has never affected me.

• 26210.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Fern-26209: Nice to watch a class team in action, isn’t it?

• 26211.Fern: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-26210:
    I am not a bulls supporter so I was cheering for the Brumbies.
    They have had some great players like Larkham et al.

• 26212.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Fern-26211: That’s what I like to hear, cheers mate!

Yeah, some great players have donned that jersey and I was lucky enough to have a short chat with Georgie boy in Sandton a few years ago, great player & an extremely friendly bloke.

• 26213.Fern: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-26212:
    Sydney RFC really had me wondering.
    Went to their pub in Sydney with that great collection of Springbok jerseys.
    I was allowed to walk around and take photos.
    Could not order a beer cause I werent a member.
    When leaving the same oke who told me I cannot order a beer gave me his business card for if I want to donate some memrobilia to them.
    WTF!

• 26214.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Fern-26213: That’s a joke! Maybe some silly bylaw.

• 26215.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-26214: maybe they just didn’t like the look of him

• 26216.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Djoko. What a champ!!.

• 26217.Dawn: Reply to this comment

That match made ME tired

• 26218.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Eleventeen!

Cane!

• 26219.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Djokovich: ” I feel great, its only been 5 hours, you know”

Classic stuff.

• 26220.Angostura: Reply to this comment

Trivia

“In 1919, a New Zealand Services team, all strictly amateurs, of course, had visited South Africa, and in Kimberley the sports-starved residents were so pleased to see them that each player was presented with a gold medallion studded with a fine local diamond, worth a lot then (as now). They’d broken the amateur rules and should have been banned from the rugby world, but nobody seemed to care.”

Peter Joyce

• 26221.Angostura: Reply to this comment

Same old, same old (89 years on):

“Spectators didn’t like it, but it did win games. Ten-man rugby was dull, a stodgy pattern of kick and rush that offered few really dramatic moments – not enough of those magical interchanges and 50-metre breakaways that can take the breath away.
    But it suited the kind of player that South Africa habitually produces – big, immensely strong forwards and a backline good on defence – and it was refined by a 1.73-metre, 70 kilogram Aliwal North man named Bennie Osler, a rather disdainful character off the field and a demanding dictator on it. To him, winning was all, and he set a record and a style of play that lasted through the mid(20th)-century decades.
    Osler first played for the Springboks in the 1924 British Lions tour of South Africa. He was a gifted flyhalf with an educated boot and steely determination …
    on the Springbok tour of the United Kingdom in the 1931/32 season, Osler, with the redoubtable Danie Craven at the base of the scrum, played Captain Martinet again, remorsefully kicking for touch, or for the pack to drive through and rumble, or cross field for the wings to to pick up – a tactic now rarely used in quite the same way. In Wales, they called the visitors ‘Osler’s Oxes’. Typically, one writer reported: ‘The Africans are winning their matches, but are not capturing the hearts and imagination of rugby followers.’ ”

Peter Joyce

• 26222.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-26221:
    ” 1,73-meter, 70 kg”
    Today that is too small to make the under 16 A side of the average school. :-)

• 26223.ufo: Reply to this comment

angostura@26220

speaking of the nz services team… was hiking today and one of my mates told a story he heard on rsg a few weeks back on the eve of el alamein when the sa command decided to have a rugby match to take the soldiers minds off the impending battle… so they organised a match with the their nz peers… the sa guy who organised it was quite famous but i can’t recall his name right now…

two scratch sides of some quality were put together of club players etc doing duty…

nz won 9-6 (when tries were 3 points) and there is apparently a report of the game describing an innovative try using a cross-kick… but my mate said he wasn’t sure from the names being used whether it was a nz or sa try…

the next day the battle commenced and they reckon within two days over half the 30 players were dead… the captain of the saffa side saw the captain of the nz side in an armoured car a couple of days later and that afternoon the nz captain died..

it was apparently the only international rugby game played during the war…

amazing really that with all the banter and sometimes ill-feeling expressed between us saffa posters and our nz rugga-brothers… there is a very real and long history of rugby between our two countries that goes way beyond just what happens on the field… we share a camaraderie that can’t be invented or contrived…

yes… we all take winning very seriously and want our team to have the upper hand… but it’s the rugby brotherhood between the two countries that is actually more profound and important…

thought I had to share this on keo… and it may even have been discussed before here…
    please forgive me if i haven’t got the details all correct maybe someone can get a sound-file from rsg…

it’s this connection we should focus on imo when we interact on keo and not the small-minded petty stuff that we all seem to think so important from time to time…

apologies to everyone for the preachifying… but when we’re up on the mountain we’re always so moved by the magnificence of it all and our juxtaposed insignificance that we always tend to have these ‘deep’ convos and think of all the ways of solving all the problems of the world… I’m sure others experience the same on any mountain… either being closer to god or a lack of oxygen to the brain who knows… :wink:

anyway… I thought it was a cool story and one to share here…

• 26224.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@ufo-26223:Hi Pal.God story

• 26225.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-26224: Good story

• 26226.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-26225: Not a bad mistake though.

• 26227.ufo: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-26224:

hi bud…

how’s your back doing…? hope you’re feeling/getting better…

thanks rye…

yeah… puts things it much better perspective as we prepare for a new rugby season…

• 26228.ufo: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-26226:

indeed…

• 26229.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-26224: In the beginning….

• 26230.David: Reply to this comment

@ufo-26223:
    Great insight UFO. It’s not just our relationship with the Kiwis, but the bond that rugby creates between all genuine players and lovers of the game.

• 26231.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@ufo-26223: Agree fully with all you say.
    No one is still celebrating a test or currie cup win in (say) 1980
    (Unless its a WP supporter)
    More important thoughts should occupy our minds. W e should try to
    find things in common with other people There are 2posters here
    whose raison d, etre seems be to divide people.

• 26232.Dawn: Reply to this comment

We fight more with self-righteous saffa expats than with kiwis

• 26233.ufo: Reply to this comment

@David-26230:

cheers bud… exactly…

expressed more succinctly and clearly by you…

• 26234.David: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-26231:
    Umm, 5 in row, actually. :wink:

• 26235.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-26229: We ued to beat
    the ALL Blacks regularly.
    And then it came to pass…………………….fill in blanks)

• 26236.David: Reply to this comment

@David-26234:
    a row. :oops:

@ufo-26233:
    I’d heard the story before, without the details and completely forgotten it. Thanks for posting it.

• 26237.Dawn: Reply to this comment

And will continue to do so as long as they breathe.

• 26238.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-26232:

true…

any chances of them taking anything to heart…? :wink:

@ryecatcher-26231:

absolutely rye…

of course we can still love and enjoy rugby… but there are far more important priorities and things to focus on in life…

we all have far more in common than we have differences… and we really don;t need to look hard to find them…

• 26239.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Come on Ghana finish ‘em off man!

• 26240.ufo: Reply to this comment

@David-26236:

shot david…

it may have been discussed on keo before… and i’m not sure i have all the facts correct… and know i’ve left some details out…

but still worth sharing…

• 26241.ufo: Reply to this comment

where’s our buddy popps…?

he was actually the first person i thought of when my mate was chatting about it….

• 26242.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo-26223: Amen Brutha. Great story.

I think if you met any Kiwi or Sa Rugby supporter in the flesh they would echo that sentiment, but for some reason the whole uncontrolled anonymity on this site seems to encourage the worst in many of us.

• 26243.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-26242:

hey sb… how you doing…?

yeah… meeting people… specially rugga-brothers (and sisters)… one on one and looking them in the eye is almost guaranteed to go well as opposed to meeting on an anonymous blog…

strange phenomenon…

• 26244.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-26232: Hello my girl.

• 26245.nama1: Reply to this comment

Steroïede: Skole in visier

Jong rugbyspelers aan van die land se voorste sportskole gaan vir onwettige steroïede en ander verbode middels getoets word.

Dit nadat byna ’n derde van 62 leerlinge wat die afgelope ses maande in onafhanklike toetse ondersoek is, positief getoets het vir middels wat so gevaarlik is dat dit tot die dood kan lei.

In ’n ondersoek het Rapport bevind anaboliese steroïede, ’n skedule 5-middel wat onregmatige verspreiders én gebruikers in die tronk kan laat beland, is so maklik verkrygbaar dat veral jong rugbyspelers dit op die internet bestel en by hul skole laat aflewer.

Ouers, leerlinge en selfs die owerhede is in baie gevalle onbewus van die wetlike implikasies en gesondheidsgevare.

In ’n landwye aanslag op middelmisbruik in skole het die Suid-Afrikaanse Instituut vir Dwelmvrye Sport (Saids) aangekondig meer as 100 skole, waaronder van die land se voorste sportskole, het al aangedui hulle sal aan die toetsing van leerlinge deelneem.

Skole wat genader gaan word, sluit in die Paul Roos Gimnasium in Stellenbosch, Grey-Kollege in Bloemfontein en die Afrikaanse Hoër Seunskool (Affies) in Pretoria. Deon Gerber, rugbyhoof van Paarl Gimnasium, sê hoewel sy skool nog nooit probleme met steroïede gehad het nie, staan hulle bankvas agter Saids se plan.

Die skool gaan sy hele o.19A-groep stuur om vir verbode middels getoets te word.

Die Hoër Jongenskool Paarl het ook bevestig hy is reeds deur Saids genader.

Dit sal die eerste gekoördineerde aanslag op middelmisbruik in skole wees, waar kenners lankal vrees dié praktyk is ’n donker geheim.
    (Rapport, 2013-01-20)

• 26246.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@ufo-26241: 2 prominent posters
    gone walk about. Ped Lady & Skop.

• 26247.David: Reply to this comment

@ufo-26241:
    I don’t come from a rugby family, but it was watching a film on the BBC in the ’50s that inspired me. It was of Prince Obolensky scoring his famous try against the ABs in 1936. There’s a number of YouTube videos of it. Here’s a Guardian article about it and the unveiling of a staue to him. It makes great reading.

Red roses for a white Russian. Crimson blooms of English rugby’s traditional floral emblem will this weekend begin to be strewn on or around the imposing new statue in Ipswich’s Cromwell Square. Last Saturday evening in Paris, romantics could be forgiven for imagining the England rugby team’s sudden invigorating try out of the blue and down the left touchline could itself have been an emphatically colourful stroke of remembrance in apt commemoration of the notable imminent jubilee.

Hail to the Prince. Three-score-and-10. Monday 29 March is the 70th anniversary of the death, at just 24, of (still) England’s most exotic, outlandish and, you could say, treasured rugby footballer.

Prince Alexander Obolensky, son of an officer in Tsar Nicholas’s Imperial Horse Guard, was sent to Britain as a toddler to escape the Revolution. At Trent College he made a mark in the Midlands as a schoolboy sprinter. At Brasenose he won the first of his two Oxford Blues in 1935, ever intriguing the gossip columns by the variety and dazzle of society girls on his arm as well as his habit of gaily downing champagne and a dozen oysters before Oxford’s matches. On the field, “he glides with the easy sinuosity of an antelope at full speed”, wrote leading sportswriter EHD Sewell.

The All Blacks toured in the winter of 1935?36 and England, who had never once beaten them, waited with trepidation on the first Saturday in January. Twickenham put up boys to play the men: 20-year-old Barts medical student Peter Candler at fly-half; two 21-year olds at centre, Peter Cranmer, Warwickshire cricketer and future journalist; and Ronnie Gerrard, Somerset batsman and soon-to-be posthumous war hero – and Oxford’s devil-may-care 19-year-old with the bright corn-stoop hair and smile to match on the right wing, who would at once bring the 70,000 throng to its feet by nervelessly showing New Zealand a clean pair of heels for England’s opening try at his right corner flag.

Just before half-time came the score to smithereen the bounds of orthodoxy with which the British game had saddled itself – and happily there was a British Movietone news camera in the West stand to record in flickeringly fuzzy sepia Obolensky audaciously stepping in off his wing to change left into right in a stride, and outrageously wrong-foot the cover which, to a man, screechingly had to pull up like infuriated cartoon cats. The dashing boy was off and away, untouched, to the left corner and immortality.

Three-quarters of a century on and Obolensky’s so bonny, brazen and singular sally remains so firmly embedded in lore that the most venerable of old timers insist it is still bestest of the best ever seen at Twickenham. Better than the merry dance England’s Peter Jackson led Australia in 1958 or the dazzling Twickenham brace by two other Englishmen – both against Scotland: Richard Sharp’s string of dummies in 1963 or Andy Hancock’s marathon gallop two years on. Yep, better even than David Duckham’s spring-heeled solo, a Barbarian sinking the Springboks in 1970; or Saint-André’s sealing of France’s epic against England 20 seasons later. Or Rory Underwood’s polished gem against Scotland in 1993; Obo even bettered the day Jonah Lomu left white shirts floundering, flattened in his wake with his fearsome 50-yarder in 1999.

On the outbreak of war, Obolensky began training as a pilot with the RAF’s 504 squadron – but on 29 March 1940 he became the first of 111 rugby internationals to lose their lives in the conflict when, taxiing on landing his Hawker Hurricane on the turf airfield at Martlesham Heath, east of Ipswich, the aircraft’s wheels snagged a rabbit warren and, having loosened his harness, the pilot was catapulted out of cockpit and, in an instant, had broken his neck.

Last year the sculptor Harry Gray’s striking Russian-inspired “heroic worker” memorial was unveiled in the town. Its £50,000 cost was shared by rugby enthusiasts, public donations, Ipswich council and nicely – and, in a way, for good old-tyme patriotism – the balance was made up by Chelsea FC’s Russian owner Roman Abramovich. Golden memories, white shirts, red roses, and a blue benefactor.

• 26248.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@nama1-26245: I saw Rob Louw tweeted this earlier today.

They need to sort it out.

• 26249.ufo: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-26246:

hopefully they’ll both be back…

they (and others) add flavour and spice and interest to the site…

i really enjoy pedigree’s posts… passed a tongue-in-cheek remark the other day hope she didn’t take it seriously…

• 26250.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Gday Rye my folks are tired pls send them some energy

Pages: « 1520 521 522 523 524 [525] 526 527 528 529 530605 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.