Meyer: 2012 a qualified success
27 Nov 2012
Heyneke Meyer says that the season was a success given that the injury-hit Springboks conceded just three losses.
The Boks returned to South Africa on Monday having won all three of their Tests in Europe. This ensured that they finished the 2012 season on a high, and allowed them to obtain an overall record that reads seven wins, two draws, and three losses.
Meyer feels that it is a good return considering the challenges a new coaching staff and team faced at the beginning of the year.
‘Our coaching team was only able to start working with the players relatively late as most of them were still part of Super Rugby,’ the Bok coach said, referring to the fact that he and his lieutenants had less than a week to prepare the new squad for the first Test against England on 9 June.
‘We always knew it was going to be a tough year with all the players we’ve lost. The All Blacks are still ahead of us, but we started fourth on the IRB rankings list and finished second. Now we have to close that gap and grow as a team.’
Despite their problems with injuries ahead of those three June Tests against England, they won the series convincingly. Meyer also took a side missing several experienced players to Europe this November, and while the side did not excel in terms of performance, they were deserved winners in all three Tests.
Where the Boks were less than convincing was in the Rugby Championship, where they finished third behind New Zealand and Australia. They scrapped to a disappointing draw with Argentina in Mendoza, and may have won the Test against the All Blacks in Dunedin had they converted more goal-kicking chances. However, they were soundly beaten by the Wallabies in Perth, and hammered by the All Blacks in their final game of the tournament in Soweto.
Meyer feels that while the year has been a testing one, the injuries have allowed several players an opportunity to stake their claim. Duane Vermeulen, Francois Louw, Adriaan Strauss, and Pat Lambie have certainly shone in the absence of regular or favoured starters like Pierre Spies, Schalk Burger, Bismarck du Plessis, and Johan Goosen.
The Boks will also be stronger when the latter group, as well as the likes of Andries Bekker, Beast Mtawarira, Frans Steyn, Heinrich Brussow, and Bryan Habana return from injury in 2013.
‘It will be wonderful for South African rugby when all the injured players are back,’ said Meyer. ‘The competition [for places] will be immense.’

274 Comments
27 Nov 2012, 10:04 am
I think Heyneke is a Dragon who definately thinks inside the square.
27 Nov 2012, 10:07 am
@cane-1: I think a lot of people would agree with you.
27 Nov 2012, 10:08 am
If we retain this year’s loss rate, but just convert the two draws into wins, we will already be at a 75% win ratio next year.
Year 3 and beyond we can aim for 80%.
Steady does it. I would prefer that to Jake White’s model of beating the world in 1 year and then racking up losses at a rate of knotts in the next.
Steady improvement until we reach our potential is the way to do it.
27 Nov 2012, 10:09 am
Maybe he should demote his ” luitenants” to Corporals.
27 Nov 2012, 10:10 am
@nortierd-4:
I agree that his support staff needs to change. I mean, he had better backline coaches at the Bulls – Tod Louden and Pieter Rossouw – than he currently has at the Boks in Ricardo Loubser.
And Van Graan is also not the right guy for the forwards coaching job. But Heyeneke didn’t really have a lot of choice. Maybe we’ll see some changes over the next few months.
27 Nov 2012, 10:14 am
@Tacitus-5:
I’m quite positive that we will get much better.
Yes, the BB didn’t want to release Slappes, so he to Ricardo, big mistake IMO, but that’s who he selected.
27 Nov 2012, 10:14 am
@nortierd-6:
Not to but took Ricardo
27 Nov 2012, 10:15 am
I suppose it could have been worse, he got through an unbeaten EOYT, something the Boks hardly ever do. But there is little flair or creativity and I doubt this approach will inspire the Boks on to much.
27 Nov 2012, 10:17 am
@Tacitus-3: Jake White’s second year was better than his first. It was his third year where everything went pear shaped.
Heyneke Meyer had a shaky start when he included all those bulls and he made lots of mistakes along the way. What I like is that he is learning from his mistakes and actually admitting he was wrong about some players.
2013 will be much better. He will be more settled and the team as a whole will be more settled with just a few experienced Boks returning to the squad.
27 Nov 2012, 10:17 am
NZ are destroying Sri Lanka in the cricket. We ROCK!!
27 Nov 2012, 10:21 am
@Sasuke-9:
Agreed.
The comfort choices of Morne Steyn, Jacques Potgieter, Dean Greyling and Werner Kruger came back to bite him in the ***.
We would have beaten NZ in NZ if not for Morne’s bad kicking. That alone would have changed the entire dynamic of the first year, with 8 wins out of 12 and an away victory against NZ in the mix.
27 Nov 2012, 10:22 am
@Tacitus-3: Would’ve could’ve should’ve. Didn’t you say HM will have an 80% win rate after his first year? And yet you persist with making ludicrous predictions. There is nothing to suggest that the Boks will improve next year. Not a single aspect of their play.
Meyer: 2012 a qualified success – not so sure about this, but we did move from 4th to 2nd thanks to Oz imploding.
I just hope next year we start to do the other basics well and give the ball some width. It is sad to see quality backline players tackle all day.
Agreed that the assistants need to be reviewed, with some form of goal to promote one of them to Bok coach when Meyer is done, and I don’t see that being any of the current crop.
@Tacitus-11:
Not to mention the England draw in PE, where Morne was also woeful.
It could have been 9 wins out of 12 if not for his bad form, and Meyer’s loyalty to him.
27 Nov 2012, 10:23 am
@pompies2-12:
I said 75% for year 1. I was out by 2 draws.
27 Nov 2012, 10:27 am
@Tacitus-11: Yes all in all Meyer didnt do to badly. There was only a huge outcry on the tactics because we were losing and drawing, if we win i dont mind what style we play as long as we win.
Home games are non-negotiable. We need to turn our stadiums into fortresses again.
27 Nov 2012, 10:29 am
@Tacitus-14:
Morne will be back.
I just don’t understand why HM insisted on taking him with on this tour.
He could have been much better off with an extra month break away from the game, but I have no doubt he will ram some humble pie down some throats next year.
As long as he doesn’t peak against the Stormers I’m all for it
27 Nov 2012, 10:32 am
We suddenly have a 2013 squad that is strong across the park, in every position except maybe fullback. Especially if Du Preez comes back at scrumhalf.
We have good depth and a lot of great players competing for a place in the matchday squad, let alone for a place in the starting 15.
Suddenly our rugby is looking healthy, where at the end of the World Cup we were staring down the barrel to try and put a strong starting 15 together.
27 Nov 2012, 10:33 am
@nortierd-17: You think so? Lambie is set to spearhead the Sharks attack and we know how highly HM rates Goosen. Morne must battle it out with Jantjies for 3rd choice. Jantjies is coming into a winning team and he will learn a thing or two about defence with the Stormers.
It will be tough for Morne to get back into the Bok imo
27 Nov 2012, 10:36 am
If we had won the 2 games we had drawn we would have had a better record.
Even better, if we had won the 3 we lost things would look fantastic.
Although if we had lost the few that we won by 3 points or less……
Do you see how stupid this type of reasoning sounds??
There is winning, and there is the rest. We won 7 out of 12. That’s it.
We could have won less far easier than winning more.
It’s not a success. The same people who were touting “winning each game is important” while expecting their messiah to do just that are now trying to qualify his failure to do exactly that.
I’m not advocating his leaving his position, but the year was woeful, not just in results but also in the number of players used/discarded. He is going through caps like Rudolf Straeuli did. And we know how that turned out.
No Heyneke, a good dose of reality is required. This year was not even close to good enough, but we hope you have learned enough to turn it around next year.
We still support the Boks, unreservedly. But that doesn’t mean we are blindly accepting,
27 Nov 2012, 10:36 am
@Tacitus-18: Funny what a year can do. Who would be your starting 23 for next year?
27 Nov 2012, 10:38 am
@Sasuke-19:
Yes, but I if he has a great S15 firstly, then who knows?
A confident Steyn is a different player all together.
Nothing wrong with Goosen, Lambie or Jantjies.
I don’t think HM has really made up his mind either way on who he wants as his FH, so the door is still open
27 Nov 2012, 10:44 am
Steyn linked to Stade France move?
Latest news on Rugby 15
Anyone know if this is true?
27 Nov 2012, 10:45 am
@Sasuke-21:
Beast
Bismark
Jannie
Juandre
Etsebeth
Francois Louw
Willem Alberts
Duane Vermeulen
Fourie du Preez
Johan Goosen
Frans Steyn
Jean de Villiers
Bryan Habana
JP Pietersen
Jaco Taute – if he reaches his potential at fullback in the Super 15.
Bench:
Gurthro Steenkamp
Coenie Oosthuizen
Adriaan Strauss
Andries Bekker
Marcel Coetzee
Francois Hougaard
Patrick Lambie
That leaves a greater rotational squad of the following players, depending on their fitness and form:
Pat Cilliers
Heinke vd Merwe
Chilliboy
Schalk Brits
Flip vd Merwe
Schalk Burger, Juan Smith and Pierre Spies (our entire World Cup back row, by the way!)
Ruan Pienaar
Elton Jantjies
Morne Steyn
Juan de Jongh
Bjorn Basson
Lwazi Mvovo
Zane Kirchner
And I”m sure I’ve left out a few players.
Suddenly, our squad is looking VERY settled, and the change all came about in 1 year.
27 Nov 2012, 10:49 am
@stormersboy-20:
Ag take a chillpill, granpa.
27 Nov 2012, 10:50 am
@nortierd-23: That will be a good move for him. Goal kicking is the first skill French coaches look for, almost everyone can kick in France and if you look at the percentages I am sure it will be high for every kicker. Morne will fit right in.
27 Nov 2012, 10:52 am
@Tacitus-24: Nice team.
You left out one position on the bench. We are allowed 23 in the Southern Hemisphere too right?
27 Nov 2012, 10:54 am
Not too many good sides in international rugby at the moment. AB’s head and shoulders above anyone else. Number 10 will continue to be a problem, even Steyn at his best has a relatively small skill set and Lambie for all his talent is a bit slow. Would like to see him at 12. We need to show faith in Goosen and stick with him through his learning curve. He could be player of the tournament in WC 2104. Hougaard need to get his basics right and move back to 9, he was very poor on tour.
27 Nov 2012, 10:56 am
@Tacitus-24:
Good squad.
Maybe start with Bekker instead of Kruger if he’s 100% fit. (wishful thinking I know)
Also Kanko may be in the mix there somewhere. HM does seem to like him.
27 Nov 2012, 10:58 am
Regular starters? (Johann Goosen?) Where do you oaks drag this kak up?
27 Nov 2012, 11:00 am
If 58% is a good yardstick then so be it… 7 wins out of 12 is not good at all. In anyone’s book that is…
27 Nov 2012, 11:00 am
don’t delude yourselves guys…
the boks win record for the year is 58%… yes, that is a pass mark… but it is not good enough or even fair… it is simply a pass… a scrape through…
heyneke himself said there are only two types of rugby: winning rugby and losing rugby… he did not make exception for ‘drawing’ rugby to be included in the wins column…
so i will say… you done okay heyneke… only okay
but the time for excuses is not really over… i don’t want to hear about experience or injuries or form or this or that… next year…
the biggest single reason for a low win ratio is selection… after saying he would reward super rugby form he simply did not follow through on his promise and made emotional selections based on favouritsm which bit him and the boks badly…
don’t say one player is too young and then select another the same age… don’t say one is too small but then select another the same size… don’t say one player is too inexperienced but then select another with even less experience… don’t say one player gives away too many penalties but then select another who gives away even more… don’t say one player needs time to develop but then pick another who is at the same developmental stage of their career… don’t say one player is out of form and then stick with another who is out of form…
in short… say what you mean and mean what you say and then DO what you mean and say… and you’ll find a lot more people being a whole lot more supportive of you…
but having said all that…
all the best for next year… let’s take it up a level or five…!!
27 Nov 2012, 11:01 am
@Tacitus-15: “Only out by two draw”, on both occasions we deserved to have lost, but the way you phrase it it’s as if we were unlucky. No man, don’t spin this, it’s a shite win percentage and you know it. You wouldn’t afford any other coach such leniency. In fact if it were PDV you’d probably say we didn’t deserve to beat England (which is not far off!)
In my honest assessment of Heyneke who I’m still not sure of…
Heyneke can pat himself on the pack for basically creating a pack from scratch that had parity with the All Blacks for 60minutes (some more fitness please) and can dominate most other packs (although it took him awhile to get it right). He clearly knows what he’s doing with the forwards although some breakdown accuracy would be appreciated.
Also our defense has been great bar when we played the All Blacks at home.
On the other hand, he is beyond useless with the backline and people can blame the Ricardo as much as they want, but we all know it’s Meyer who selects Taute at 13, Hougaard on the wing and instructs Pienaar (Who is so ****) and whichever 10 he picks to hoof the ball up in the air wherever the Boks are on the park, and it is this that needs to change. We cannot just sit back at let the opposition run at us all day without scoring any points. How is Ricardo meant to coach a backline that never gets the ball beyond 12? That is not his fault, I don’t give a damn what anyone says.
Some serious reflection is needed on our attacking play, that’s for damn sure. Meyer needs to suck it up, admit (to himself) that he’s got it wrong and build a great attacking gameplan with players playing in their natural positions who are not instructed to constantly throw away possession. Select players who score tries and make their tackles, not because he’s this “tall” or this “heavy”. If he does this on the on the fantastic forward platform he’s built, we’ll be world beaters.
27 Nov 2012, 11:02 am
@ufo-32:
Exactly mate! You good?
27 Nov 2012, 11:05 am
@John Galt-29: IMO Kruger is not quite a quality international no 5 lock. The problem is that apart from Bekker, there aren’t too many locks putting up their hands. Let’s hope some of the younger ones develop during the course of next year.
The management of Etzebeth by AC & co. will also be crucial to his future. If he is played week in and out, like Bekker, he will at some stage start developing injuries as well.
27 Nov 2012, 11:06 am
@Bagel-33:
To me the Twickenham test was far more engrossing and suspense filled than a 47-44 try fest.
The challenge now is to retain the physicality and strong defense, but to gradually start adding 2-3 tries per game to the mix.
27 Nov 2012, 11:06 am
@Gumboots-34:
shot bill…
always good bud… always…!!
hoping for a much improved year next year… let’s hope heyneke doesn’t just dismiss all the supporter feedback… we have the players to smack the ABs and everyone else upside their heads… let’s just do it…!
you coming down to cape town anytime soon…?
27 Nov 2012, 11:07 am
@stormersboy-20: Completely agree
Ive never been more frustrated watching the Boks as I was this year. Gameplan and selections made me age at least 5 years
27 Nov 2012, 11:08 am
@Bagel-33:
good post bud…
27 Nov 2012, 11:08 am
@CharlesM-35:
Kruger was great at disrupting the England mauls on Saturday. Etsebeth has taken a huge step up in his line out play. Ironically, on Saturday he stole more lineouts from England than Bekker has probably done all year, despite Bekker being the no.5 lock.
27 Nov 2012, 11:09 am
@Tacitus-25: Chiilin’ like flint bro.
27 Nov 2012, 11:09 am
Boks are in desperate need of a proper forward coach.
Someone who can really get the likes of Beast, Jannie, Etsebeth etc to make absolutely sure that our scrumhalf and ball runners get clean ball.
Just that aspect would improve the backline performance immesurably.
I dont know who that person is but the Boks need him asap.
Plumtree wouldnt be pretty good i reckon but wouldnt take the position I dont think.
Gert Smal ditto.
27 Nov 2012, 11:10 am
@John Galt-42:
Plumtree ‘would’ be pretty good…
27 Nov 2012, 11:10 am
@Tacitus-36:
year tac… with you on that one…
i felt a lot happier after the twicks game than the previous two…
not nearly as happy as i’d like to be mind you…
but believe we played better rugby…
27 Nov 2012, 11:12 am
@stormersboy-20:
also good post SB… somehow missed it on my first read… must’ve gone up when i was writing my first…
27 Nov 2012, 11:14 am
@Bagel-33: Pienaar: unfortunately I have not seen any of his performances for Ulster but to all accounts he played very well there. Is his lack of (good) performances due to the difference in quality between club rugby and international rugby or is it because he is allowed to play his own game at club level but not for the Boks ?
Hougaard should be given an extended run at 9 for the Bulls but please let him play his own game. A 9 must be able to kick well, but certainly not 80% + of balls that he receives from his forwards. Therefore Hougie should spend a lot of time kicking at practice in order to use it during games when required. His speed and “agility” / “stepping” etc should however be used more frequently – he can’t simply be a link between the pack of forwards and the flyhalf
@Tacitus-40:
Yes.
He should never be used as a ball runner from first phase ball though. He’s a little light.
Leave that to Alberts, Bissie etc.
Meyer must be the slowest learner in the history of sport. Until something is so obvious that even people that dont follow rugby are pointing out the obvious, only then will Meyer make the change.
I seriously hope he speeds up the learning process next year. The backline would have been embarrassing for an under 13 D side
27 Nov 2012, 11:15 am
Don’t agree on this.
Had selections been better we could possibly have won a game in Australasia. Morne’ Steyn’s kicking and Greyling the super sub.
The way the Sharks played at the end of their Super Rugby campaign. Total rugby – a perfect mix of structure and playing the situation. That was the best rugby i saw from any SA team including the Boks throughout the year.
I’ll give Heyneke another year based on what he achieved at the Bulls , the “building a new side” excuse expires this year.
27 Nov 2012, 11:17 am
@Gumboots-31: @ufo-32: This is exactly what I am saying.
7 out of 12 is hardly a qualified anything.
But it’s not like Heyneke is going to come out and admit that it was a failure.
All is by no means lost, but the best way to start it take a good hard look and not delude ourselves. We gout out of jail on more than one occasion this year. The rugby has been uninspiring and disjointed.
We need to pull up our socks or we will end up having to settle for fighting for 2nd place with the rest of the world.
27 Nov 2012, 11:18 am
@Tacitus-40: Etzebeth was Youngs’ biggest nightmare ever on Saturday. The first England lineout was actually thrown to 5 but Etzebeth just went up straight and stole the ball.
BTW while on lineouts, the ref and his assistants missed a number of scew lineout feeds of Youngs (they spotted a few but not all of it)
“we started fourth on the IRB rankings list and finished second.”
Whenever somebody repeats the same “stat at every possible opportunity, I smell some spin going on.
The Boks started the year at no. 4. When you, HM, started to work with the Boks in June, they were already at no. 3 due to France’s poor performances in the 6N. So, you had absolutely nothing to do with the fact that the Boks had improved by one position at that stage.
The Boks now being at no.2 has more to do with the Aussies having had a bad year than with the Boks having had a good one.
Who are you trying to fool?
@CharlesM-46:
Hougaard’s main problem at scrumhalf isn’t his poor kicking, but his poor reading of the game, resulting in him either passing to the wrong person, not knowing what to do with the ball or just exercising the wrong option in general.
Just clearing the ball and flinging it out mindlessly to the next player “Heinie Adams style” doesn’t make you a good scrumhalf. Correct option taking is the vital component he lacks.
In the end, Hougaard has exceptional physical skills, but his ball skills are lacking for the crucial scrumhalf position. That’s my view. He is not the long term scrumhalf solution.
His future is probably that of a utility player.
27 Nov 2012, 11:22 am
@stormersboy-50:
absolutely…
27 Nov 2012, 11:23 am
@John Galt-47: I agree – Kruger battles to get over the advantage line. I have to admit that Kruger’s calling at lineout time has helped us a lot. It was only the driving maul that was a bit predictable at times but otherwise his calling was spot on. Against Scotland the first 4 balls did not go to Eben, while against the Irish Eben was used a lot initially.
Nowadays the opposition study the lineouts so much that it is important to stay ahead in the thinking department.
Having said this about the lineouts, I think huge credit should go to Strauss. His feeds to the lineout were brilliant and spot on !!
27 Nov 2012, 11:24 am
@Tacitus-53:
Agree totally with that assessment.
27 Nov 2012, 11:26 am
@Tacitus-53: Who you think is the solution ? We now have the same problem with Vermaak being the 2nd (or 3rd) choice 9 but playing at the Bulls with Hougaard. Vermaak needs to play more rugby at 9 but then he’ll have to move to another franchise.
Let’s hope Piet van Zyl has a good S15 season.
27 Nov 2012, 11:27 am
@CharlesM-55:
yeah charles… heard one of the commentators say that all the jumpers… none of who had played with adriaan before… all spoke very highly of working with him…
and his general play was very good too…
i really don’t think bismarck is an automatic selection over adriaan anymore…
27 Nov 2012, 11:28 am
@stormersboy-20: Good post.For once I absolutely agree with you.Maybe you are not too bad after all.
27 Nov 2012, 11:30 am
@CharlesM-57:
Fourie du Preez. Good until at least the next World Cup. How old is fatboy Piri Weepu? Why discard the best scrumhalf SA has ever produced so quickly, when the All Blacks are still sticking with Piri Pieboy, who never had half Du Preez’s skill?
27 Nov 2012, 11:31 am
@nama1-52: On top of that, if the Wallabies beat Wales by more than 15, Boks are back down to third. Ok, it’s along shot but if the Aussies click and the Welsh continue sucking, it’s possible
Jon, I can’t see the quote where Meyer says it was a successful year. Saffers better hope he doesn’t mean it as the ABs would probably say they had a successful year but would like to do better in 2013
27 Nov 2012, 11:32 am
@John Galt-42: The problem is that all our tight five players are also acting as ball carriers.
Wonder why the AB’s keep their ball clean of opposition players? They use their tight five almost exclusively for clearing mauls and use the backline and loose trio as ‘primary strike runners”, Etsebeth is doing great, but he needs to carry less balls and clear more rucks. Also Kruger is a pu$$y and only contributed on the mauls area of the game, further more he does very little, plays like he is giving 50% effort. I would far rather play Etsebeth at 5 and a Bakkies or Flip at 4.
@ufo-58: I’d seriously consider having Strauss as captain, had it not been for Bismarck. Bismarck though will have to be in top form again before he can replace Strauss.
@ufo-32:
“don’t say one player is too young and then select another the same age… don’t say one is too small but then select another the same size… don’t say one player is too inexperienced but then select another with even less experience… don’t say one player gives away too many penalties but then select another who gives away even more… don’t say one player needs time to develop but then pick another who is at the same developmental stage of their career… don’t say one player is out of form and then stick with another who is out of form…”
Add…don’t say one player only performed well in the CC and then select another who also only performed in the CC.
Well said.
@Bagel-33:
Good post.
@CharlesM-57: I would have started with Vermaak a few times this year already. Good player. Not many weaknesses.
27 Nov 2012, 11:34 am
@Tacitus-60: Then they’ll have to sort out his contract with the Japanese club
27 Nov 2012, 11:35 am
@Tacitus-60: Ive lost count of the number of times Daniel Carter has side stepped Fourie Du Preez. Like Fourie is the easiest person to step. Defensively Weepu is much better than Du Preez.
27 Nov 2012, 11:36 am
@CharlesM-63:
agree… he must be a serious contender… and has been very consistent this whole year… is a good leader… well like and respected and by all accounts a top bloke…!
@nama1-64:
exactly…
ta..
27 Nov 2012, 11:37 am
@stormersboy-65: The thing is, you can practice for hours and hours but if you don’t get game time you lose your edge and will become just another no 9 (or any other player for that matter). That’s why Vermaak needs to play at another franchise where he’ll be able to start regularly
27 Nov 2012, 11:37 am
@mabu-67:
Hehehe. That’s a good one.
27 Nov 2012, 11:39 am
Heineke saved SA rugby! … he took over from a clown who rated Lobberts & Rose ….. dank vader daai dae is verby … we love u heyneke!
27 Nov 2012, 11:39 am
I’ve got to run.
Does anybody know when Hore’s disciplinary hearing is ?
27 Nov 2012, 11:40 am
@CharlesM-69: True. I also like the look of the Cheetahs youngster but he is also behind the pecking order there now that the traveling Aussie is back.
27 Nov 2012, 11:40 am
i would have no problem with fdp playing for the boks…
IF he came back and played super rugby… so his form can be monitored on an apples for apples basis with our other scrummies… same with jaque fourie and even danie rossouw…
but the gulf is just to wide in my opinion for someone to play in japan and step straight into the boks… they all speak of how much easier it is to play there…
we all saw how out of shape and form gurthro was and the french league has to be tougher than the japanese league…
27 Nov 2012, 11:41 am
@CharlesM-72:
tomorrow i believe…
As a nation we have too easily become acceptive of mediocrity.Heyneken can fool his Blue Bull fans with that nonsense,but as a fan living outside of the boereworscurtain I don’t accept 58% as a success .
27 Nov 2012, 11:43 am
Nice CTRL C. CTRL V from Rugby 365!
27 Nov 2012, 11:43 am
@wnbb-77:
OK. So what are you going to do about it?
27 Nov 2012, 11:44 am
wnbb … strange …. because the 58% is 30% above you matric average
27 Nov 2012, 11:44 am
@ufo-75: Thanks bud – cheers !
27 Nov 2012, 11:45 am
This is how they start out, the greats – just a natural talent in need of an opportunity
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YJNDmPrGH8k&feature=related
Just a word of advice from Nataniël – we are allowed to talk Afrikaans but don’t sing it, unless you smooth out the rough consonants
@mabu-67: I am not 100% sure how they would compare defensivley, neither strike me as a fantastic defender but one things for sure Dupreez is a far superior player generally.
@nama1-64: hear hear…can he & his support staff sing from the same hymn sheet! in may loubscher: lambie is a 10. in august meyer: lambie is a fullback, in november koen: lambie is a brilliant 10.
27 Nov 2012, 11:47 am
@ufo-37:
Hi buddy! I’m flying to Cape Town tonight. My wifes father passed away and the funeral is tomorrow. I doubt I will have time for anything but arrangements.
Yes I hope next year will be a better one mate.
27 Nov 2012, 11:48 am
Sheriff .. is that Rass Dumisani when he was younger? sounds like it
27 Nov 2012, 11:48 am
@suffer_guy-71: I pray you joking. Our gameplan looked better when the team was coaching itself.
The results this year are only because the opposition has been abysmal
27 Nov 2012, 11:49 am
@stormersboy-50:
Howzit mate… Yeah it is a poor pass in anyone’s book…
27 Nov 2012, 11:51 am
@Gumboots-85:
sheesh bud… condolences to your wife and family…
next year will be cool…
all the best bud…
27 Nov 2012, 11:52 am
@ufo-89:
Thanks buddy! If I get time to run out for a while, I’ll let you know… I’ll be in Hermanus.
27 Nov 2012, 11:54 am
@Gumboots-90:
cool bill… am in southern peninsula so not sure i can make it to hermanus on short notice… but if you can get to the city please do…
27 Nov 2012, 11:54 am
@ufo-89:
The cricketers did an amazing job yesterday. Faf was superb!
27 Nov 2012, 11:55 am
@ufo-91:
I will try for sure. My daughters are flying back to Jhb on Thursday, so maybe then. I will let you know though.
27 Nov 2012, 11:56 am
@Gumboots-88: Hi B, sorry to hear about your father in law. My condolences. Enjoy the Cape.
27 Nov 2012, 11:56 am
@suffer_guy-71:
Your man rated Jaques Potgieter and Dean greyling.
How is that different or is he also a clown for doing that?
@Transformation-84:
They are totally confused. Hopefully the next few months will give them a chance to clear the fog in their brains.
27 Nov 2012, 11:57 am
@Gumboots-92:
they sure did…
faf was a revelation….!! what a way to make your debut…
kallis did great too in lots of pain…
also liked morne’s composure in those final couple of overs…
third test should be very interesting… all to play for so will see which team is able to lift themselves even higher for this one…
27 Nov 2012, 11:58 am
@stormersboy-94:
Thanks boet! Yeah always nice to get to CT but circumstances not so lekker…
27 Nov 2012, 11:59 am
@Gumboots-93:
cool bill… but don’t stress, there’s always next year…
family’s always more important… especially at times such as these…
27 Nov 2012, 12:00 pm
@ufo-98:
Yeah you right…
27 Nov 2012, 12:02 pm
i heard some good news today … Kleingeld may be sitting out in the 3rd test … he had a shocker in his first 3 innings …. did okay in the last inning… to fat to play test cricket ….
27 Nov 2012, 12:02 pm
All this talk of win ratio etc is secondary to how the matches went. SHOCKING SELECTIONS and an EVEN WORSE GAMEPLAN should be analysed first.
If you playing really well and look like improving every week, then things are looking good and the results will start to come (think Sharks in the Super 15). If you still hacking an up and under after a break with a huge overlap; never look like you have any structure to your play; relying purely on your talent verses the oppositions lack thereof, then things are seriously concerning (think the Boks of 2012)
27 Nov 2012, 12:05 pm
In today’s life everybody wants to be associated with the rich and famous.
This is the essence of the abomination of apartheid; that the vulnerable of society was crushed.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PDgZvhT9Nj8&feature=endscreen&NR=1
27 Nov 2012, 12:09 pm
“Our coaching team were only able to start working with the players relatively late”.
Seems as if Meyer is sticking with Van Graan and Loubscher.
It wont matter which players are selected the Boks are sunk with that team. EOYT has given Meyer an excuse to stay cocooned in his comfort zone.
27 Nov 2012, 12:09 pm
@Gumboots-85:
Sorry to hear about your father-in-law.
Alle sterkte vir julle.
27 Nov 2012, 12:15 pm
Sheriff …. very deep! – it changed my views … go look at this video and see the bruises apartheid left :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NXV8OZX8XOI
27 Nov 2012, 12:19 pm
Steyn linked with France move
Cape Town – Bulls and Springbok flyhalf Morne Steyn has been linked with a move to French Top 14 club Stade Francais.
French website, Le Rugby Nistere, has reported that Steyn met with Stade Francais’ management during the week leading up to the Boks’ Test against England at Twickenham.
According to reports, the French club has had Steyn in their sights for some time.
Steyn has fallen out of favour with Bok coach Heyneke Meyer following a series of indifferent performances.
Steyn started the Boks’ first two European tour matches (against Ireland and Scotland) on the bench, but was dropped from the match-day 23 altogether for the final Test against England.
Stade Francais are currently eighth in the Top 14 standings, a full 18 points behind leaders Toulon.
27 Nov 2012, 12:24 pm
@ufo-106: Just saw that HALLELUJAH – that makes a return for him to a regular flyhalf position far less likely.
27 Nov 2012, 12:26 pm
@nama1-52: yeah and I also saw somehting he said about the win ratio in another interview – he said “if you take the two draws” … implying if you view them as not losses (but sort of wins) then the ratio is 85% or something – wat n klomp k@k
27 Nov 2012, 12:32 pm
@suffer_guy-100: Hey idiot it is Kleinveldt, and Kleingeld is actually a surname of it’s own.
27 Nov 2012, 12:36 pm
@Slumtown-107:
yeah…
but i don’t hold anything against morne… most players lose form now and then… wasn’t his fault meyer persisted with him at that stage…
wish him well going to france… if indeed he is…
@goodstuff-109:
don’t dignify such an a-o with a response… simply not worth it and exactly what he is trying to achieve…
27 Nov 2012, 12:41 pm
@Tacitus-60: Totally agree with you on this one, Hougaard started playing wing at the Bulls after being 9 all his life, he never really got the opportunity to hone his skills at the highest level as 9. People asumed cause he played well as wing, he will automatically be a great 9. Not saying he can’t be, but needs more time there. Bring back FdP any day. The man had an off season (for once) in WC year and now everyone thinks he’s over the wall. Same people that called for Habana’s head. Form is temporary, class is permanent chaps. Fourie will not let the Boks down and is not too old. Good leader to have there to take younger 9′s through to WC and beyond.
27 Nov 2012, 12:42 pm
@nama1-104:
Dankie boet!
go make your money msteyn….tee hee hee
@David-56: Disagree totally with that assessment.
Hougaard can be a brilliant 9 as I saw in Mendoza. The only good player in that game. He gets to the breakdown extremely quickly, is serious threat there and a serious defender. His kicking can be worked on and is hardly of that much importance when he has Goosen, Lambie, Janjties and Steyn at 10 who can clear the ball way better than him or Pienaar for that matter.
The Bulls would be idiots to not start him in their S15 and as much as I like to see them use it irritates me to no end when one of our most talented players is wasted. His successes on the wing were during an era of Bulls rugby where they could have put anyone on the wing and they’d score. They were that dominant. Remember Hurdles record there?
27 Nov 2012, 12:47 pm
@Bagel-114: agreed, hougie must rank as one of our most misused talents ever.
27 Nov 2012, 12:48 pm
Excuses excuses. Always excuses.
It’s a terrible coaching staff working with terrific players. They ride on the player’s talent, tenacity and guts, coaching every ounce of instinctive brilliance out of them.
More rubbish from the Boks ’til then end of 2015… then we’ll probably get another plonker.
27 Nov 2012, 12:50 pm
@The Rangerman-115: He’s just not clever enough for scrummie. Tons of natural talent, but 0 brains.
27 Nov 2012, 12:52 pm
@Tacitus-3: Why dont convert the two draws into losses and you sit with a below 50% win ratio.
Boks was lucky – both matches
2012 a qualified failure
27 Nov 2012, 12:56 pm
@stormersboy-20:
Good post
27 Nov 2012, 13:00 pm
@Gumboots-85: Hi Gumboots, very sorry to hear about your father-in-law. It is never a good time but especially with the festive season ahead, it’ll be the first Christmas, New Year etc without him.
“Sterkte !!” as we say in Afrikaans (I know the feeling)
27 Nov 2012, 13:02 pm
The messiah and disciples need to be sent to Oprah’s School Of Excellence
The standards for matric are quite simple: a pass is expected, at least 75% is world class and the aimed for standard
Of course, in the land of the disciples, 58% is sufficient
So ja, mediocrity is acceptable to the self-proclaimed masters of excellence, when its a member of the family …
27 Nov 2012, 13:03 pm
@Mighty Horua-119: Thanks
27 Nov 2012, 13:04 pm
@Gumboots-112: Sorry to hear this
My sympathy to you and your family. Sterkte!
27 Nov 2012, 13:07 pm
@CharlesM-120:
Thanks mate! It is really tough for sure. The wife is not coping too well and my daughter in her final year at University is still writing on Monday and Wednesday.
27 Nov 2012, 13:11 pm
@Gumboots-124: 2 of my Grandparents dies while I was writing exams at varsity. Missed their funerals.
27 Nov 2012, 13:12 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-123:
Thanks! Appreciated.
27 Nov 2012, 13:13 pm
@stormersboy-125: Died. Sorry. Spelling again.
27 Nov 2012, 13:14 pm
@stormersboy-125:
She will not miss this for the world. Oupa was her life. He was her best friend and spoiled her rotten. I know what you mean though.
27 Nov 2012, 13:15 pm
Hougaard is wasted in Bulls’ No9 jersey
Simnikiwe Xabanisa | 01 March, 2012 01:19
There comes a time in a man’s life when
he has to decide on the manner in which
he will achieve his ultimate goal.
We’ve all fantasised about the crowning
moment of our careers and exactly how
we’d like to realise it. But unless your name
is Shane “Hollywood” Warne, odds are
you’re either going to get what you want
however it’s presented to you, or you’re not
going to get it at all.
Some time over the next year, young
Francois Hougaard may find himself
confronted with the choice every man has
had to make: actually getting what you
want, or pushing your luck by trying to get
it just the way you want it.
The Bulls utility back’s stated ambition is to
be the best player in the world by following
in the footsteps of his role model, Fourie
du Preez. He also wants to do it by playing
in Du Preez’s position, scrumhalf.
But the catch is that the path to the best in
the world title may well lie in his playing
wing.
It’s ridiculously early to make the call, but
the early signs of Hougaard back at
scrumhalf are merely promising, no more.
He appears to struggle to clear the rucks
quickly enough; almost always needs too
much time to get his box kicks spot on; and
is not yet as good as Du Preez at
determining at which tempo the game
should be played.
In short, Hougaard is no Du Preez.
Nobody is, but the one thing we’re
guaranteed with Hougaard at scrumhalf, is
that it won’t be the same “Hougie” who
exploded onto the international scene on
the wing at last year’s World Cup either.
The Hougaard we’ve come to know on the
wing is a racehorse.
He runs like he’s got electricity coursing
through his veins, steps like he’s
auditioning for So You Think You Can
Dance? and has the instinct of a sniper
when there’s a tryline about. Hougaard’s
exuberance on the wing appears to dovetail
with the high-spirited manner in which he
tackles life off the field.
In the last few
years, Hougaard has driven such wild
beasts as the Golf R32, the BMW M3, the
Mercedes-Benz C63 AMG, and the Ford
Focus RS.
A Bulls insider says his desire to be better
is such that during the off-season he was
joining Pierre Spies for an additional
boxercising session at Sebastian
Rothmann’s gym after a gym session and
two field sessions with the Bulls.
The problem with Hougaard’s exuberance is
that scrumhalf is mostly the preserve of
cold and calculated men.
Playing him at scrumhalf – where the busy
traffic at the base of the scrum will put him
in a straitjacket – is like putting Eskom in
charge of the electric nature of his displays.
There are bound to be a few power
outages.
Also, the Bulls’ playing pattern close to the
forwards can be a suit and tie affair at the
best of times. But when one plays on the
wing for the team, life can be just about
smart casual enough for some measure of
expression – ask Bryan Habana and Bjorn
Basson.
Of course, mine are the silly, not to
mention futile and selfish, ramblings of a
fantasy league coach. For the balance of
their team, the Bulls need Hougaard more
at scrumhalf than on the wing.
The truth is that he is good enough to make
his way as an international at halfback.
For those of us addicted to that intoxicating
sidestep of his, that’s a waste. Maybe we,
too, should enjoy his talent in whatever
shape or form it is presented to us.
27 Nov 2012, 13:30 pm
@suffer_guy-105:
Leuens…
27 Nov 2012, 13:35 pm
@stormersboy-20: “He is going through caps like Rudolf Straeuli did. And we know how that turned out.”
Rudolph Streali had 41 different starting players in 11 tests in his first year. Meyer had 32 different starting players in 12 tests. Jake White had 35 starting player in 13 tests and more remarkably Peter de Villiers who took over a World Cup winning team with no real changes needed had 34 different starting player in 13 tests.
Now how the hell can you say Meyer is going through caps like Streali did?
You see, some people just make up random facts and they know no one will go and check those facts.
27 Nov 2012, 13:42 pm
@Mighty Horua-119: And you actually say good post when he makes up facts.
This is classic keo.
People make up facts and others start to back him up and before you know it Meyer says the opposite and he contradicts himself because everyone in keo believes the made-up fact.
For instance for all of you it is now already a fact that Meyer’s man management is poor.
27 Nov 2012, 13:43 pm
@Transformation-113:
voetsek!
27 Nov 2012, 13:44 pm
@Gumboots-126:
same here,
condolences hey.
hope he lived a long and good life.
27 Nov 2012, 13:54 pm
@Horings-131:
How many of these players made their debut under these coaches in the 1st year of their tenure?
27 Nov 2012, 14:02 pm
@nama1-135: I do not think that will be a good comparison, because by definition Meyer had to select a number of new Boks. De Villiers obvioulsy did not have to and although White selected a “new” team, he selected most of the youngsters that made their debut in or just before the 2003 World Cup. Juan Smith, Williemse, Burger, Botha, Jaque Fourie, etc. I cannot remember how many players left SA or retired when Streauli took over.
What my stats show is that Meyer selected a team and did not change his starting 15 more than any previous coach.
To get my stats took a short time, because it was a simple filter on a dataset, but to go and check whether these players made their debuts in the same period will probably take some time.
27 Nov 2012, 14:06 pm
@Horings-136: Or not. I will have those numbers in a minute or two.
27 Nov 2012, 14:12 pm
@lepel-117: dont think thats true.
27 Nov 2012, 14:15 pm
@Horings-137: 2002 – 25 players made their debut, 2004 – 11, 2008 – 8 and 12 players made their debut in Meyer’s team.
6 of Meyer’s new debutants started their debuts and of those only Jacques Potgieter did not participate in most of the games after their debut. The others are Coetzee, Etzebeth, Kruger, Taute and Vermeulen.
Players who were “wasted” as they did not get real chances were Engelbrecht and Jantjies, and I think only Jantjies should feel hard done by.
27 Nov 2012, 14:18 pm
@Horings-136:
My point is that selecting players like JJE, Jaques Potgieter etc is akin to handing out Bok caps like it’s candy.
Selecting players like Etzebeth, Kruger is understandable because there were not any experienced Bok locks to choose.
27 Nov 2012, 14:22 pm
@Horings-131: Well there you go. I stand corrected. Please ignore that part of my post. The rest stands though.
I shall repeat it below with the offending piece omitted for completeness sake,
If we had won the 2 games we had drawn we would have had a better record.
Even better, if we had won the 3 we lost things would look fantastic.
Although if we had lost the few that we won by 3 points or less……
Do you see how stupid this type of reasoning sounds??
There is winning, and there is the rest. We won 7 out of 12. That’s it.
We could have won less far easier than winning more.
It’s not a success. The same people who were touting “winning each game is important” while expecting their messiah to do just that are now trying to qualify his failure to do exactly that.
I’m not advocating his leaving his position, but the year was woeful, even though it would seem that Heyneke didn’t choose any more players than his predecessors.
No Heyneke, a good dose of reality is required. This year was not even close to good enough, but we hope you have learned enough to turn it around next year.
We still support the Boks, unreservedly. But that doesn’t mean we are blindly accepting,
See what I did there??
The post is just as valid, although now there seems to be less excuse for the poor performance.
27 Nov 2012, 14:24 pm
@nama1-140: OK, but Meyer’s stats I just gave you is comparable to PdV and to White, although Meyer has some mitigating factors that I mentioned. Then if you compare it to Streauli he gave out less than half the number of new caps.
So, maybe Meyer is making the Bok jumper cheap in your opinion, but I am showing you he does not make it cheaper than any of his recent predecessors.
Maybe your comments shows your biasedness when you have an opinion on Meyer. Dont feel bad. 99% of all the bloggers do. I just knew facts will back my opinion on this one.
27 Nov 2012, 14:26 pm
@stormersboy-141: i cant agree mate.
with the injuries and new faces we have i think we have done well.
i think next year may be an eye opener for some.
27 Nov 2012, 14:27 pm
@Horings-139: What if I said this then:
“Only since the ignominious era of Rudolf Streauli has more Springbok caps been given to debutantes in the first year of the coach’s tenure ”
That would then be accurate wouldn’t it??
27 Nov 2012, 14:28 pm
@The Rangerman-143: I’m still giving him a pass.
But I’m not trying to sugar coat it like others . That was my point.
27 Nov 2012, 14:29 pm
@stormersboy-141: Your other opinions are irrelevant, because I have just shown everyone you have an inherent biasedness when commenting on Meyer.
“Judge, all the statements from this witness should not be considered for this case”
27 Nov 2012, 14:32 pm
@stormersboy-145: fair enough bud, i was also dissapointed but believe there will be improvement.
time will tell i guess.
27 Nov 2012, 14:36 pm
@Horings-146: Unfortunately you don’t come from a position remotely representing credibility when it comes to Meyer. So your own representations are seen as nothing more than the ramblings of a brain washed glassy eyed follower who would defend someone based on his position of authority rather than the merits of the situation. Kind of like what your forefathers probably did when they voted Nat and listened to the Duminy when he declared that god was on your side and against everyone else.
And for the record i actually like Meyer. He was an assistant coach for the Stormers back in the day, which is where I imagine he got the good part of his coaching from.
His performance this year is not good though, 7 out of 12. That’s one game above 50%. Finish and Klaar.
To suggest otherwise is to reward mediocrity, which may be your bag but it certainly isn’t mine.
27 Nov 2012, 14:40 pm
@stormersboy-148: OK, so now you are insulting me after I have only tried to back my opinion providing you with facts. I guess we are now outside the court room trying to sort one another out. Well guess what, my forefathers did quite well in that one too.
27 Nov 2012, 14:42 pm
@Horings-149: Too much??
27 Nov 2012, 14:48 pm
@stormersboy-144: OK, so lets go back to the facts. Only one player under Meyer made his debut and played less than 3 games. Jake White gave two players new caps in 2004 and they played less than 3 games in their career. Henno Mentz and Tim Dlulane. It is possible that Meyer can select Engelbrecht again. So to say Meyer handed out jerseys the most after Streauli is also not true.
27 Nov 2012, 14:51 pm
@Horings-151: Read the post again. if your own post was correct that White gave out 11 debutante caps in his first year, De Villiers 8 and Meyer 12?
Isn”t that what I said?
Are you now claiming the info I posted was wrong?
27 Nov 2012, 14:55 pm
The season is not a success.
We have all the players, all the injured players are not significantly better than those who played.
The players are not utilised smartly because of the coach’s lack of understanding of attack. Players like Flo, Alberts and Duane are all brilliant ball carriers but not as the 1st receiver.
Dominee Meyer does not understand this. It’s always sad when someone clings to an idea which is obviously not smart.
I was quite intrigued to see how positive Nick Mallett was this past weekend; so I asked myself: why would he be so outspoken against Ireland and Scotland but so positive against England?
Then I remembered that he was shortlisted for Lancaster’s job. I personally think he would have done a better job, but so be it. So he was obviously just relieved that the Boks beat them.
@Horings-151: Anyway. Nice argument. Sorry about the Ad hominem. Mea Culpa.
@Horings-142:
I believe that if he had selected the right players from the start and was not so blinded by his Bulls bias, we would’ve ended the year with a much better record. Maybe something like 10 wins out of the 12 games.
I judge him on his failing to select the right team from the start. He is moving in the right direction now with the team but he still has a long way to go with the way the team play.
One can only hope that next year will be much better.
See how your stats put the use of 34 players by PdV in his 1st year into perspective. Only 8 new players meaning that 26 players were capped before he took over.
27 Nov 2012, 14:57 pm
Also, you don’t really want to compare HM with Straeuli.
27 Nov 2012, 15:08 pm
@nama1-155: Yes, that can be used in a number of arguments. Interesting.
@stormersboy-154: Thanks. I also believe the season was not a success and Meyer made a number of mistakes. Fortunately those mistakes were made early on and I think someone had a talk to him before our Australasian leg of the RC (maybe Mallett)
27 Nov 2012, 15:10 pm
Players used in their 1st year by the last 4 coaches:
Streauli: 41 in 11 tests (25 making their debuts)
White: 35 in 13 tests (11 making their debut)
PdV: 34 in 13 tests (8 making their debut)
Meyer: 32 in 12 tests (12 making their debut)
Who gave out Bok caps like toffees here?
Streauli?…. Absolutel.
Meyer?…. With guys like Potgieter, JJE, Taute making their debut this year, there is an argument to be made that he also did.
White and PdV are probably par for the course.
27 Nov 2012, 15:11 pm
PDV is so ‘n groot P gewees… as hy wit was, het ek hom nogsteeds gehad … LOL!!! cause ek is mos kamstig ‘n racist …. pfff
27 Nov 2012, 15:14 pm
@nama1-158:
No, no…you see, the argument being made is that PdV “inherited” his squad!
Hence why he only brought on 8 new caps!
Don’t you get it?
27 Nov 2012, 15:14 pm
@nama1-158:
So White at 11 is par for the course and Meyer at 12 is handing them out like sweeties?
GTFOH!
27 Nov 2012, 15:19 pm
@nama1-158: White handed out debuts to Mentz, Dlulane, etc. You only do not remember all these players, but because Meyer’s debutants are fresh in your memory you are making your case.
Let us agree that J Potgieter should never have been a Springbok.
Engelbrecht and Taute both have the potential to become good international players.
27 Nov 2012, 15:27 pm
@Horings-162: Some say Taute should be starting at fullback. I do not think giving him a Bok jersey was handing out cheap jerseys.
Yes, all of you will say it should not have been at centre, but then again Jake White played Pienaar at fullback.
27 Nov 2012, 15:30 pm
@gunther-161:
You have to keep in mind what he inherited from Rudolph if you want to judge him fairly.
Yes, Meyer also inherited a team that lost a lot of players but he then compound that with his stupid selections.
@Horings-162:
Dlulane was very good at the time, in all fairness.
27 Nov 2012, 15:34 pm
@Horings-163:
Taute should not have made his debut for the Boks this year. Not at center, where Mapoe was preferred ahead of him at the Lions, or at full back, where Coetzee was preferred ahead of him at the Lions.
He may very well become a great bok in future but his was not the year for him to start his Bok career.
27 Nov 2012, 15:42 pm
@nama1-165: howzit lightie
he was injured, surely not benched?
27 Nov 2012, 15:47 pm
@The Rangerman-166:
Njaa, my laatie.
He was chuck out to the wing.
Was not deemed the best FB or best outside center.
27 Nov 2012, 15:49 pm
@nama1-167: njaa toppie i think he was coming back from injury.
naughty nama.
27 Nov 2012, 15:55 pm
@The Rangerman-168:
You’re talking about Mapoe?
Yeah, he came back from injury and immediately slotted back in at outside center.
Where did Taute play when he returned from injury again?
27 Nov 2012, 15:57 pm
@nama1-169: so you are saying he did return from injury.
thanks man, why were you arguing with me then?
27 Nov 2012, 16:01 pm
If Matfield, Bakkies, Danie etc were still playing here and available do you think Eben would have got a shot?
27 Nov 2012, 16:02 pm
2013 is ‘Do or Die’ time for Meyer… It will be the year he has no excuses.
I expect the Boks to finish first in the Rugby Championship. Anything less is unsatisfactory.
No excuses this time. Only results.
I am The Authority.
27 Nov 2012, 16:03 pm
@The Rangerman-170:
I never claimed that he was not injured. I also never claimed that he was benched. I said that the Lions’ coaches did not see him as their best FB or their best outside center.
Do you deny this?
27 Nov 2012, 16:08 pm
I’m just glad this season is over so that Meyer’s pathetic gameplan is exposed next year. He won’t have any “I’m still settling in” excuses and most of the injured folk will be back as well.
What is currently not making us look too bad is our defence, but our defence alone will not keep winning us games. Something has to give.
27 Nov 2012, 16:09 pm
@the authority-172:
With Carter and McCaw not there for the AB, the Boks better win the RC.
Not going to be easy because there is a young guy called Ardie Savea coming through for NZ. Cruden is getting there as a controller of the game.
In a few years time people will ask: Richie who?
The Aus players like Genia will have rested for more than 6 months and will be fresh next year.
We will still have the same coaching team with the same game plan and the same SH.
27 Nov 2012, 16:15 pm
@nama1-175: You are talking about my fantasy rugby pick for 2013. Normally I go for a youngster from the Currie Cup, but not next year.
27 Nov 2012, 16:19 pm
@gunther-161:
Are you throwing your weight behind white as per usual?
27 Nov 2012, 16:22 pm
@Horings-176:
He looks full of potential. Only 19 still but I think he got the goods.
27 Nov 2012, 16:37 pm
@nama1-164:
What about Meyer?
Matfield
Botha
Smit
De Preez
Burger
Fourie
Gooners.
27 Nov 2012, 16:44 pm
I believe the Boks could just as easily have lost all 3 games on this tour. Both Ireland and the Scots had injuries of their own to contend with. If Meyer were honest with himself he would know this. He would also know that when his side had the opposition on the ropes they were unable to finish them off. He will also know the true test of where he is at was the thumping we got from the AB’s in our own backyard. He has a lot of mitigating factors as to why we performed so badly this season and they may all be true but, for crying out loud, don’t hail this season as a success because that it was not.
27 Nov 2012, 16:48 pm
Sheez, Jaco Taute is surely the most over-rated player in the country.
27 Nov 2012, 16:54 pm
@Sheriff-177:
While you be throwing your weight behind some white tonight?
27 Nov 2012, 16:54 pm
@Tacitus-3:
Nice comment. Agree 100 %. This is a Bok side that can go all the way and as I have said before the troglodytes expect instant success and when it inevitably doesn’t come they start whining.
The Boks are on the verge of a run that will make’97 look like amateur hour. We are in the minority but the bus will fill up quickly.
27 Nov 2012, 17:01 pm
Until Heyneke wins against the All Blacks, Australia and France, you cannot rate your year. Unless you want to be mediocre. All stats can be , what counts are who your opponents are.
27 Nov 2012, 17:04 pm
@Gumboots-31:
We have a loss ratio of 25%. Very acceptable for a first season, or should I say stanza as some of the prats on the site have started saying. Anybody who has ever played the game would know that this has been a steady start.
The “stanzaites” will obviously disagree but who cares. They are just a bunch of failed school and junior club players looking for jollies. They should stick to furious bouts of masturbation whilst thinking of keo and talking k@k to their pub mates.
The Boks did well this season and will improve.
All you can ask of a team is to improve every season and judging this young Bok side now is premature.
27 Nov 2012, 17:12 pm
@gunther-179:
“@nama1-164:
Yes, Meyer also inherited a team that lost a lot of players but he then compound that with his stupid selections.”
I guess you missed it.
27 Nov 2012, 17:13 pm
We should not be in the same league as Scotland and Ireland. I’m already tired of Heineke’s excuses. I thought he was this magnificent coach
And Pdivvie can’t hold a candle. Well to show how silly stats are, Pdivvie’s stats are better
27 Nov 2012, 17:19 pm
@nama1-186:
Every coach makes a couple of silly picks.
To say he handed out caps like candy is not the truth is it?
And it’s compounded not compound.
27 Nov 2012, 17:20 pm
Jissus…..if I was Meyer I would just keep quiet before giving myself a rating of success. The season was hardly that. We shouldn’t be judging ourselves by our performances against the 6 nations teams. They are nowhere near the quality – and this is evidenced by year in – year out losses on their home grounds against the tri-nations teams.
We should be judging ourselves by our performances against the All Blacks & Australia. That is the benchmark, and we failed miserably and Meyer can thank himself for that. He flat refused to pull the Loftus Liefling off the field even after he missed kick after kick against the All Blacks. Meyer – ons kon daai game gewen het poephol.
If we had won that game, then I think Meyer would have ‘broken even’ for the season. For him to call this a success is laughable. The sooner we get our backsides thrashed again – the better so that he can be removed in time for another coach to take us to the world cup.
27 Nov 2012, 17:21 pm
@gunther-188: I see Horings is claiming he only gave one questionable Bok jersey. Didn’t he make Willie Wepener a Springbok too ? Together with Engelbrecht ? And Potgieter…….all Bulls…..hmmmmmmmm…..
27 Nov 2012, 17:23 pm
@DumpsterDiver-181: Yep – hasn’t quite set the world alight in a Bok jersey, but remember he is being played out of position. Toilet seat cover head should be dropped and Taute should be playing fullback.
Taute’s quality will still shine through. Give him a chance. But give him a chance where he is supposed to play.
27 Nov 2012, 17:29 pm
@gunther-179:
Maybe a better test would be to see who the new players were that JW brought in.
1. Eddie Andrews
2. Jaques Cronje
3. Fourie du Preez
4. Henno Mentz
5. Gerrie Britz
6. Hanyani Shimange
7. Michael Claasen
8. Tim Dlulane
9. Brian Habana
10. Gurthro steenkamp
11. Solly Tybilika
Compare that list with the players HM introduced this year.
27 Nov 2012, 17:33 pm
@suffer_guy-71: Ek wou nie komentaar lewer nie, maar jy forseer my!
Dis daai sele afrigter wat Matfield, Smit en Bakkies terug gebring het?
Die sele een wat Brussow (al het dit n ruk gevat) gekies het?
Beast? Bekker? De Jongh? Aplon?
Moenie net twee voorbeelde gebruik nie. PDiv het goeie en slegte keuse gemaak – net soos Heyneke al gedoen het. Potgieter? Kirchner? Aanhou Morne kies?
Is dit nou die redder van SA Rugby?
Wees regverdig.
Die laaste afrigaters wat SA rugby gered het was: Christie, Mallet en White. Niemand na dit nie
27 Nov 2012, 17:36 pm
@gunther-188:
Thanks for the correction.
Appreciated.
27 Nov 2012, 17:55 pm
@Dusky-190:
Wepener was never capped.
27 Nov 2012, 18:26 pm
“Our coaching team was only able to start working with the players relatively late”
Well the franchise coaches must be sitting clapping their hands and thinking “Thank God…..or you’d just have had MORE time to f#ck them up”!!
After seeing how good the Sharks backline was attacking towards the end of the Super15 season…..Plumtree must be wondering how long it’s going to take him to get all the ***** out of Lambie’s, Pieterson’s and Mvovo’s head so that they can start to play decent rugby again!
27 Nov 2012, 18:26 pm
@nama1-194: mccaw & carter only on sabbatical for super rugby i think…
27 Nov 2012, 18:32 pm
Super rugby final 3 Aug 2013. Lions 2nd promotion relegation 3 Aug 2013. Now let the cursing begin.
27 Nov 2012, 18:34 pm
@Dusky-190: Tannie, kyk assebleif na die feite voordat jy kommentaar gee.
27 Nov 2012, 19:16 pm
@nama1-192:
1. Eben Etsebeth
2. Juandre Kruger
3. Marcel Coetzee
4. Jacques Potgieter
5. JJ Engelbrecht
6. Tiaan Liebenburg
7. Duane Vermuelen
8. Johan Goosen
9. Pat Cilliers
10. Elton Jantjies
11. Jaco Taute
12. Coenie Oosthuizen
Apart from Potgieter and JJ, as well as Taute being played out of position, everyone else pretty much deserved to play….
27 Nov 2012, 20:02 pm
IMO Meyer had a dissapointing 1st season based on what was expected at the start of his tenure.
Yes lots of player were injured but some of their replacements more than made up for their unavailability. Players like Schalk would have played ahead of Flo and Spies ahead of Vermuelen.
But a fit Goosen, Frans Steyn and Bissy will signicantly improve the team next season.
If we can add some creative spark on attack, kick less in the opponents half and management to sort out 15 and 9 the Bokke will have a successfull 2013.
27 Nov 2012, 21:35 pm
Springboks are striving for mediocrity, the rugby they played was rubbish, beating Scotland Ireland and England with no attacking play is hardly something to shout about, Ricardo Loubscher and South Africa have no backs, forward dominated kick chase game, outdated, predictable and so mediocre
27 Nov 2012, 21:54 pm
@mxhosa-200:
So, 3 of the 12 debutants did not really deserve their Bok caps.
That’s 25% of the new players who were undeserving of Bok colours this year but they were made Boks by HM.
Handing out Bok caps as if it were free lollies.
27 Nov 2012, 22:31 pm
Meet “Takuma”, South African rugby’s new mascot. Along with every other South African sports.
http://www.sport24.co.za/Soccer/Takuma-to-become-SAs-mascot-20121127
Do other countries have a national sports mascot? I haven’t seen any. Seems like a pathetically silly idea. Not to mention that a fat hippo should not be a sports mascot. Oh the irony.
SA rugby does not need some official mascot foisted on it. We have a springbok. Besides, every SA team (with the exception of our useless football team) uses green as the dominant colour. “Takuma” has a yellow strip.
27 Nov 2012, 22:43 pm
Is there a viral online poll campaign happening in Port Elizabeth? Has every KrapKings supporter in the city found his way to Keo to vote? Or has Transformation created 151 other accounts on Keo and voted with each one?
I’m trying to work out how the KrapKings have managed to garner 152 votes in the “Which SA team will win the SA conference in 2013?” poll.
27 Nov 2012, 23:37 pm
0% win record against all blacks, the year was a miserable failure. No excuses
27 Nov 2012, 23:37 pm
Worry nie veel oor heyneke se rekord nie… net bly rugby is weer in afrikaner hande… waar dit hoort
27 Nov 2012, 23:45 pm
Licking my lips for when all teh players are back – inlcuding F du Preez, Jacques Fourie, Heinrich, Johan Goosen, Spies, Schalk and Juan Smith (if they come back – I hope they will!). We need to find one or two really destructive scrummager props- surely in our nation of large people we can find one ridiculously strong one, and coach them in teh dark arts? That kid Kitshoff looks very strong for a 20 year old- he will only get better, but must be coached, and coached well by the best, before he develops bad habits. He could be a keeper. Heyneke should get him and the WP forwards coach and the Boks scrum coach together now.
27 Nov 2012, 23:45 pm
@suffer_guy-207: PDV was Afrikaans????
ps vokkof thick plank.
27 Nov 2012, 23:47 pm
Luiperd jou ma buk vir zet ou plank
28 Nov 2012, 00:04 am
Meyer has built hardly any depth in certain positions…he is a lost cause…oh well his three wins on eoyt has ensured continued mediocrity and Ab dominance going forward,something I should be happy with but frankly I am not. Meyer will not take the Bok to great heights.
28 Nov 2012, 03:13 am
@Delki-8: The ABs haven’t lost a single test on any EOYT for a whole decade. They regard a clean sheet as a gimme.
28 Nov 2012, 03:45 am
@Te Rangatira-211:
I’m sure you holding thumbs there Te Rangi, but I think the Boks will get better next year despite Meyer. Alot of injuried players should be back to bolster depth, and one thing I have to give credit to Meyer is that he is willing to change…………he did with Steyn after a nudge or to and that gives me hope.
Expect the Boks to be more competitive next year
Also remember your stars are not getting any younger!
28 Nov 2012, 04:08 am
@Te Rangatira-211:
It is because he had to start from scratch after what PDivvie left him with. Besides, with the long list of injured players to come back I think he did ok in building this year. Let us see what he does with the backline next year before we write him off.
28 Nov 2012, 04:20 am
Guys, don’t be bothered by the bang peosies Hondo and Suffer_guy. They are trolls and want to incite violence. Nothing better than Julius Malema. In fact, at least Julius has the guts to show his face. I’ve asked these guys to tell me where they live so me and the boys can discuss their view
Got nothing, bang peosies!
Anyway, on to rugby matters. The problem with Heyneke is that he was moaning and sulking, fled the country etc after Pdivvie left the country. Everybody said this guy is streaks ahead of Pdivvie. Well, I’m yet to see it. I find his obsession with size funny as the Stormers who contain some fairie hairdressers have the best defensive record and the All Blacks with Corey Jane, etc are scoring all the tries. Maybe he just like big boys around him.
I guess anything can be a success if you don’t measure yourself highly.
28 Nov 2012, 04:42 am
@whatever-213:
Whatever, is this you?
http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/our-experts/8005843/Hansens-silence-says-a-lot-about-NZ-rugby
28 Nov 2012, 04:49 am
@whatever-213:
hehe….if the Abs start losing to your guys, yeah I’ll be changing my tune for sure…but I think the Boks could be so much better with a coach who has a different approach to the game.
@Slartibartfast-214:
HM reminds me of my Father, regimented in his ways…his way or the highway…still luv the old geezer. Sorry Slarti, I’ve written HM off…he is not good…hes waiting for the old guard to come back and they will fail to live up to expectations because of the coaches persistence with tactics that don’t exploit the players instincts and initiative.
28 Nov 2012, 04:52 am
Takuma?
http://www.sport24.co.za/Soccer/Takuma-to-become-SAs-mascot-20121127
28 Nov 2012, 04:54 am
Bakkies will be devestated…his hero won’t be back in G&G it seems.
Toulon – Springbok lock Bakkies Botha has extended his contract at Toulon until June 2015, the French Top 14 side announced on their website on Tuesday.
The 33-year-old, capped 76 times for South Africa, has impressed since he arrived at the Stade Mayol in December, 2011 with the side rising to the top of the elite top division.
Botha played for the Springboks at last year’s World Cup in New Zealand, but he was not included in new coach Heyneke Meyer’s touring squad for November’s Test matches in Europe.
28 Nov 2012, 04:59 am
@Te Rangatira-217:
TR I hear you but you need to understand, and keep in mind, the Saffa rugby mentality. It is not something that can be changed overnight and in the cut-throat business of professional sport even harder.
If you want to change it will take years and should start at a much lower level but alas, we don’t have the patience or visionary coaches like that in SA.
28 Nov 2012, 05:00 am
@whatever-213:
“Also remember your stars are not getting any younger! ”
You know the talent that is in Nz…..theres a heap of it….but players like McCaw and Carter come around not very often…I think there will be half a dozen new names pop up in Super Rugby from Nz franchises that are future stars of the game….heres hoping they come from the Blues…nah there are some fine young players scattered throughout the system..
28 Nov 2012, 05:03 am
@Slartibartfast-220:
Someone has to take the bull by the horns then…a visionary leader…Players are groomed from a young age, why not coaches.
28 Nov 2012, 05:06 am
DAN CARTER TO BECOME FATHER
Dan Carter’s All Blacks teammates have been quick to offer advice after his announcement that he and wife Honor Carter are about to be parents for the first time. Carter said at a press conference in London last night that most of the tips were around preparing for a lack of sleep once the baby arrives in April. The Carters announced on Twitter yesterday that Honor was 21 weeks pregnant. “I’m making the most of the next few months – getting as much sleep as I can, that’s the advice from all the guys who have had children in this team,” Carter said.
The All Blacks and Crusaders playmaker, 30, looked slightly uncomfortable discussing his news to a large media contingent eager for details. “I’m very excited. It’s great news, something we’ve been keeping pretty private. We’re pretty private people but she’s well over halfway way now so we thought it was about time to share the news.” Carter said the couple didn’t know if they were having a boy or girl. Asked if he had a sporting career in mind for his child – Honor is a former Black Sticks hockey international – he replied: “There are reasonable genes there so who knows?”.
He breathed a sigh of relief and said “thank you” when questions turned to Sunday morning’s test against England at Twickenham.
28 Nov 2012, 05:13 am
@Te Rangatira-222:
Indeed but I won’t hold my breath, Africa is different.
28 Nov 2012, 05:18 am
@stormersboy-20:
So true!!!
28 Nov 2012, 05:27 am
@nama1-52:
Good take on the rankings and totally agree.
28 Nov 2012, 05:30 am
@Slartibartfast-224:
Hmm…interesting….place…
28 Nov 2012, 05:33 am
@Peter Mkata-226:
Peter I’ve read some of your posts…do you think Meyer will get the Boks on an upward curve next year?
28 Nov 2012, 05:37 am
@Gumboots-92:
The Aussies are missing Shane Warne’s killer/finishing instinct. No team has ever done that to Warne. Could, would I know. Gee I miss Warne’s brilliance.
Protease were great though.
28 Nov 2012, 05:42 am
@Te Rangatira-228:
Big NO, he is not a smart coach in my opinion. He is set in his way and pretty not flexible. He still think in this day and age he will blungeon opponents into submission like the Bulls did in the past. When the opponents resist there is no alternative. Insane stuff if you ask me.
28 Nov 2012, 06:01 am
@Slartibartfast-216:
Excellent piece………….but just read the plonkers replies as they try to justify things………..p iss poor!
28 Nov 2012, 06:01 am
@Peter Mkata-230:
Yes you are right there and hit the nail on the head “When the opponents resist there is no alternative”
28 Nov 2012, 06:06 am
@whatever-231:
No comment…
28 Nov 2012, 06:22 am
@Te Rangatira-228:
TR you will not get a straight answer out of 98% of the posters on keo. There are two very distinct camps on this, BB supporters who think he is great and can’t do anything wrong and non-BB supporters who will never admit he does anyhting remotely right. Each side so fiercely believe in their own cause they can’t see the wood for the trees.
That leaves you with a small % that can actually discuss it with some sense…
28 Nov 2012, 06:23 am
@whatever-231:
I read 5 replies and gave up…
28 Nov 2012, 07:13 am
@Te Rangatira-232: when the opponents resist you force your gameplan HARDER on them until they buckle.
Werner Dove asked:
Hi Heyneke!
First off, much respect, I know you”re a
great Coach and you will take the Boks far!
My question are: Having played against all 3
opponents in the RC, how do you devise
team selection and -strategy for the
opponents regarding the opponent
strengths and weaknesses?
Like what type of player would you want to
field against certain opponents?
Thank you very much!
Heyneke Meyer answered:
Thanks for the compliment Werner, your
words mean a lot to me.
To answer your question – we will never
select a team based on our opposition but
rather focus on what we want to achieve.
You do take their strong and weak points
into consideration, but if you pick only
based on that, you are already in a
defensive mindset. I believe in an attacking
mindset and that means you force your
strong points onto your opponents and that
is what makes a champion team, otherwise
you will always be a follower and we need
to be leaders.
28 Nov 2012, 07:16 am
we are leaders in vokmaarvoort rugby for shizzle dizzle!
28 Nov 2012, 07:17 am
In my opinion Meyer will change his forward kicking approach to include backline flair instead of crash ball.
I am saying it because Meyer was prepared to change and experiment with players this year.
Building a core from an environment that he very well knows and has been successful with in the past. He had to bear in mind that, while working on a new era, he had to keep winning too. SAFFAS like thick butter on both sides of the toast.
Question: what do you guys think would have happened at Twick if Pienaar had a brilliant game, clearing quickly, quick passing to Lambie and less silly kicking? Would that have changed the outcome? If you say yes, then you cant blame Meyer. Blame the SH’s k@k test match.
PS: Its my observation, I’m not a Meyer groupie
28 Nov 2012, 07:33 am
@cuntlyn-238:
And this is the issue…
He had to bear in mind that, while working on a new era, he had to keep winning too. SAFFAS like thick butter on both sides of the toast.
Well said…
28 Nov 2012, 08:27 am
@Slartibartfast-219:
i really think bakkies could have added so much value to the bok team.
a real pity.
28 Nov 2012, 08:32 am
@Transformation-236:
Trans….I predict after 2013, Meyer will be pushing the mantra, we are building for the World Cup……
28 Nov 2012, 08:43 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-240:
Maybe but the youngsters stepped up and bringing him back now will be like taking a step back.
28 Nov 2012, 09:10 am
Morning all. Id like to start a discussion.
Its common knowledge that the boks attacking ability and skills arent up to international standards (even if you only compare it to previous bok performances before HM and not with the ABs standards) and that a solution could be to appoint a consultant, like JW did when bringing in Eddie Jones…. So my question is..
IF HM ever decides to make such a bold decision to get some help-
Who could/should HM appoint to help coach the backs? Part two of the question is, who is SAs accredited best attacking coaches with decent credentials ? As I cant think of many names except Alan Zondagh… Some educated answers would be good to hear. Considering that SARU will probably make HM ask for help locally before looking abroad.
Zondagh’s Biography: http://rpcrugby.com/alan-zondagh%20
28 Nov 2012, 09:20 am
@Slartibartfast-214:
Start from scratch? Hardly! These are available players PdV left Meyer.
15 Kirchner/Lambie
14 JPP/Aplon
13 De Jongh
12 De Villiers/F Steyn/Olivier
11 Habana/Mvovo
10 M Steyn/Jantjies/Lambie
09 Hougaard/Pienaar
8 Spies/Kanko/Vermuelen
7 Alberts
6 Brussow/Louw
5 Bekker
4 Bakkies/Flip
3 Jannie/Coenie
2 Bismarck/Strauss/Chilli
1 Beast/Gurthro
28 Nov 2012, 09:22 am
@Jeez-243:
How about Brendon Venter?
28 Nov 2012, 09:32 am
@David-245:
Is he any good?
28 Nov 2012, 09:34 am
Who was Mallett’s backline coach when he was coaching the boks?
28 Nov 2012, 09:36 am
@Jeez-247:
Solly.
28 Nov 2012, 09:36 am
@Jeez-247:
Alistair Coetzee
28 Nov 2012, 09:37 am
@David-249:
Too quick.
28 Nov 2012, 09:38 am
@Jeez-246:
I reckon so, but I doubt he’d get on with HM.
28 Nov 2012, 09:41 am
@David-251:
To be fair Venter struggles to get on with most people.
He’s like an intelligent version of Heaven’s Game.
28 Nov 2012, 09:44 am
It just shows that SA is seriously lacking in quality backline coaching! Not a lot to choose from… and now after he’s been appointed as the bulls attacking coach, you can even mention Matfield’s name, how ridiculous is that!?
28 Nov 2012, 09:45 am
@gunther-252: Also, he’s looking pretty haggard these days. Saw him on telly on the Weekend, and it looks like he’s been selling funny money jokes at a traffic intersection for well over a year. What’s going on there?
28 Nov 2012, 09:46 am
@katman-254:
I’m glad someone else noticed.
He looks seriously unwell.
28 Nov 2012, 09:48 am
@gunther-255: Couch sleeping? That can seriously age you.
28 Nov 2012, 09:48 am
@katman-254: @gunther-255:
Tik
28 Nov 2012, 09:49 am
@Slartibartfast-242:
risk of burnout and injury, slarti. huge risk considering AC wouldl play that eztebeth boy in his local sunday church choir straight after a brutal saturday derby game if given half the chance.
and on top of that meyer takes his pound of flesh during the incoming tours and straight after the super15 for the RC too…. and then its the eoyt.
28 Nov 2012, 09:50 am
@katman-256:
especially if the couch is under a railway bridge.
28 Nov 2012, 09:53 am
@gunther-259: Seems like you found the new Springbok couch.
28 Nov 2012, 09:54 am
@Jeez-257:
no thanks.
I’ve seen what it’s done to Capo.
28 Nov 2012, 10:02 am
What have the injured players got to do with anything? We put 3 teams in the playoffs of the S15 without most of the injured players and topped the log. Anything less than a 90% winning record is poor.
But anyway, the stats mean very little. The team are uncreative.
28 Nov 2012, 10:08 am
@gunther-252:
28 Nov 2012, 10:23 am
jeez: hawies fourie, alan zondagh ( he helped jake in his first year), alan solomons.
28 Nov 2012, 10:30 am
Loffie the Lofster. Give him scope for a 3-year plan and he’s your man.
28 Nov 2012, 10:32 am
who needs backline coaches anyway.
28 Nov 2012, 11:58 am
If we could only find a way of getting Jaque Fourie and Fourie Du Preez back for 2013. Du Preez, Goosen, De Villiers, Fourie, Habana and JP. Frans at full back, kicking the odd 60 metre penalty. Oh, and a backline coach with a bit of imagination. We have plenty of forwards to get the job done but we just aren’t scoring enough tries. 2013 will be a good year for the Boks!!
28 Nov 2012, 13:49 pm
@gunther-252: Awww shucks Grunter…
Farken skittleball mofgat…
28 Nov 2012, 19:02 pm
@UKSAFFA-267: We can’t go back to the 2007 backline. Bringing Jacques Fourie and Fourie Du Preez back might be good in the short term but it is not South Africa’s long term solution. Far more concerning is the fact that we rode the wave with apparently no succession planning.
We dont have a single 13 of Jacque Fourie’s calibre – we still haven’t managed to replace Percy and now with Morne returning to his pre-Lions tour form – we have no decent flyhalf either. Pienaar at scrumhalf is about the best we can do right now, which is sad and we just dont have the calibre of player to fill Bakkies and Victor’s shoes. Habana and JP Pietersen cant carry on forever either, yet we have very little in the way of obvious candidates to step in and take their places.
Part of the F up we have right now is thus not Heyneke Meyers fault, but in a strange twist due to his involvement at the Bulls – it partly is.
In short – we lost sight of the future when the ride in the present became too good. Bulls did the same thing and now it will take them a few years to rebuild.
28 Nov 2012, 19:04 pm
@gunther-255: Maybe he saw your wife naked ? Now he looks like that….
29 Nov 2012, 05:58 am
How old are you Dusky?
Seriously?
29 Nov 2012, 07:47 am
Ag man, I say we just go with Hawies Fourie, Cheetahs backline coach. Its as simple as that as no other team in SA expresses themselves on that level
29 Nov 2012, 09:53 am
@CharlesM-51: I’m not an England supporter but I feel Launchbury was pretty good too. He has good hands and skills, plus he tackles like a loosey.
29 Nov 2012, 12:00 pm
@Dusky-269: You make a good point but its just frustrating as most of the 2007 backline are actually not that old. They are in fact the same age if not younger than the likes of Nonu and Conrad Smith of the AB’s, and they could still be contributing. Having them around will get us results in the short term and hopefully help to get some of the younger guys up to standard. As you say, the answer is to give the younger guys game time and let them mature. The results may suffer as a result but its probably the best long term solution. Our forwards are going to be immense over the next 3 years or so, no issue there.