Bakkies extends Toulon stay

Bakkies Botha has signed a two-year contract extension with Toulon.

The former Bulls lock joined the French club after the 2011 World Cup. While he struggled with an Achilles injury early on, he has emerged as a regular starter and key player for Toulon.

He’s helped them to the top of the French Top 14 standings after nine wins from the opening 11 rounds. They are also in first place in Pool 6 of the European Cup after two straight wins.

Botha, who was committed until 2013, will stay at the club until 2015.

Toulon will have three South African-born players in their squad next season in Botha, skipper Joe van Niekerk and utility forward Danie Rossouw, who arrives from Japanese club champions Suntory Sungoliath.

31 Comments

• 1.grant10: Reply to this comment

Quinn Roux out for 4 to 5 months with shoulder injury….

Dont forget about this lock AC….class…

• 2.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Bakkies, the floor is yours…

• 3.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-2: One would swear this site exists purely for old Bakkies’s blogging pleasure :) A 2000 + thread on a ‘filthy Kiwi’, followed by a B Botha thread.
    Xmas has come early for our friend…..

• 4.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Bakkies in a stormers jersey will be like seeing malema with a t shirt of our beautiful old flag!

• 5.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Brumbies Boy – you over your depression of the cricket? sterkte boet – that was a bitter pill to swallow … condolences to you and your family!

• 6.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-2:
    @The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-3:

the real concern is where this leaves him in meyer’s frame of mind.

i really felt he could have added something to the bok squad and if not this year maybe next. there is a danger both ac and meyer will play eztebeth too hard, he gets injured and then we’re back to square one.

• 7.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

This has to be the journo comment of the year (Re: the silence on the Hore incident)

“We should be thankful that Hansen is no longer a policeman. He would have presumably let Charles Manson off with a caution”

I’m sorry, that is some funny sh y te.

• 8.Brads: Reply to this comment

I guess Bakkies has had the quiet word from Meyer along the lines of don’t call us, we will call you, because as poor a coach Meyer has proven to be at international level, he does look to posses a natural survival instinct.

Proof of this is clearly evident in his NOT looking to Bakkies despite the limited talent pool he has had to contend with.

If Meyer can’t coach a Bokke team of 15 players to beat the AB’s, he would have no chance with 14 on the paddock.

Selecting Bakkies would have meant exactly that, but his self preservation instinct screamed at him, don’t do it. Cut your loses, accept the defeats and spin some crud to appease the gullible.

• 9.BULLET: Reply to this comment

@7 Sharks…..
    Bwaaaahaaaahaaaaaaa! Where did you read that? Awesome comment!

Bakkies – enjoy the Euro, and make millions for your retirement.
    When you come back to RSA, you can join the Bulls coaching staff too.

• 10.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-7:

says it all really

• 11.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

Pity about Quinn Roux, the Stormers would have loved to have him back in 2013.

I guess Elstadt will move back to lock…

• 12.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-3: Yeah, he sure is a lucky chap isn’t he? ;-)

@suffer_guy-5: No worries mate, the snotklap will come in Perthfontein! ;-)

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-7: :lol: Classic!!!

• 13.Brads: Reply to this comment

What amazes me is this endless trumpeting of how deep the talent pool is in SA, yet an injury here or there by a senior player and the back ups turn out to be way off the scale at being adequate replacements.

Attempts to plug gaps to compensate, SA has even opened up their selection pool to include players who have abandoned the domestic scene, and even that has seen limited returns.

What’s the go here?

• 14.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Brads-13:

The All Blacks recalling Ali Williams is akin to the Boks bringing back Mark Andrews…

The All Blacks recalling Piri Weepu is akin to the Wallabies bringing back George Gregan…

What’s the go here?

• 15.David: Reply to this comment

@Brads-13:
    The problem isn’t so much a lack of depth, except at TH, but the type of player that meets HMs profile. He has a “paint by numbers” approach for each position.

• 16.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

14 we aren’t the ones telling everybody we have the most depth and talent in the world but it’s pretty obvious that we do.

• 17.David: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-16:
    What you have is a similar appreciation of the skills required to be an AB throughout your different levels.

• 18.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz-14:
    And yet Piri still plays better than the boks halfbacks

• 19.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-18: That’s not saying much, is it?

;-)

• 20.capebull: Reply to this comment

Bakkies could strangle you with a cordless phone

• 21.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-18: Not better than January

• 22.UKSAFFA: Reply to this comment

We do have a great talent pool but our game plan i.e. forwards bulldozing it up all the time means that we just cannot accommodate forwards who are not able to dominate collisions. This means that if one of our star players gets injured and you have to rely on player who gets knocked back in the tackle, we get exposed. We seriously need a back line coach who has a few new ideas. Pienaar is so bloody slow which really doesn’t help. Even when we do get front foot ball, we hardly ever make any ground through our backs. They seldom look like scoring.

• 23.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-6:

Fully agree – top panel of journalists had him as a first choice in a World XV – he would be my first choice and is playing blinding rugby for Toulon which is has the best pack on the planet at the moment; even their bench replacement forwards would make most test teams today – at fly-half Wilkinson slots them over by rote while a combo of Giteau, Basterat and French backs make up the rest – fascinating team. (Locks include Botha, Shaw, Suta and now Roussouw – props Carl Hayman and Andrew Sheridan – loosies = Joe Van Niekerk and Lobbe among others).

• 24.blik: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-16: Typical arrogance from a kiwi again.

• 25.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@J.B. Cowper-23:
    agreed, absolutely.
    i’ve been following his rugby at toulon.

• 26.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Brads-8: 2 yellow cards in 76 tests? just because he got 10 minutes for headbutting the chav scrote Cowan one time does not mean it happens every match.

• 27.husky: Reply to this comment

Go Bakkies; rake in those well deserved Euro’s. With Bakkies out and hence no distractions, NZ dominates the dirty player stakes; pretty much like it always has.

@7 Sharks….. good article that from some Aussie; Reason I think. Must have the precious kwee’s frothing in their panties.

• 28.keo: Reply to this comment

Bakkies will still play for the Boks and I am backing him 2 be part of the Bok WC squad to do a job similar 2 what BT did for the All Blacks – Remember this post.

• 29.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@keo-28:

Bakkies (4), Ysterbeth (5). Total Control.

• 30.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Brads-13:

Can you provide me with some evidence of this endless trumpeting you talking about please.

As for opening up the selection pool, if you followed SA rugby a little closer you would have known that this is nothing new. JW, PDivvie and now the Meyer all selected overseas based players.

• 31.Nils: Reply to this comment

I cannot say I like him very much but no denial, when he plays hard and clean, he is still impressive and has been hugely influential Test player in recent decade – for good and bad reasons.

Enjoy your time and foreign experience, Bakkies.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.