Hore gets slap on wrist

All Blacks hooker Andrew Hore has been given a five-week ban for striking Wales lock Bradley Davies with his arm, three of which will be pre-season.

Hore was found guilty of foul play on Wednesday and will not be able to play again until 24 February. He will miss New Zealand’s Test against England this Saturday, three weeks of pre-season and one round of Super Rugby.

The All Blacks have already called up Hika Elliot (who had been touring with the NZ Maori) to provide hooker cover.

Judicial officer Lorne Crerar of Scotland revealed that Hore’s eight-week ban had been reduced to five as the player had shown remorse and been in contact with Davies daily since the incident.

398 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All

• 1.Transformation: Reply to this comment

lucky hore..

• 2.hoof hearted: Reply to this comment

Very lucky hore

• 3.NicG: Reply to this comment

What a joke!

• 4.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Dirty hore, he will be lying on his back for the next 5 weeks watching the other hooker playing with his ball ;)

• 5.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Steven Hansen is a d00s for not apologizing and an arrogant doos, who remembers those signs he made for the camera after the beat the Boks in soweto.

All Blacks are dirty thugs.

Hope ENG wins.

• 6.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

“Judicial officer Lorne Crerar of Scotland revealed that Hore would’ve been slapped with an eight-week ban, but the fact that the player has been in contact with Davies daily ever since the incident was taken into consideration”

Is this some kinda joke?

Hore: I bliskemed u.

Davies: why?

Hore: I don’t know, u felt it?

Davies: yes mate!

Hore: how sore was it?

Davies: very sore mate, I didn’t expect that!

Hore: nice to know, I’ve spending time shaving sheep and my biceps have swolen. I feel very strong now. with us kiwi’s u must expect the unexpected mate.

• 7.Porra: Reply to this comment

the knee
    to the
    head
    was much worse
    than the
    punch
    it was
    assault
    with intent
    and he should
    have been
    out
    for a long
    long
    time

• 8.nortierd: Reply to this comment

O well, another game another incident done and dusted.
    Now only Saturday to look forward to to see who moers who and what laughable sentence can be dished up.
    HM does the praise after matches and the AB’s benefit from the Devine intervention, go figure

• 9.katman: Reply to this comment

@Porra-7: Precisely porra. That’s where the damage was done. And why would he drop to his knees well over a meter before the ruck if not to kick the player in the head?

This is a rubbish punishment by some more old members of the AB fanclub.

• 10.supersader: Reply to this comment

@norugbyguru: don’t be a hater the irb’s system is a joke anyways blame them don’t blame hore. He didn’t make the decision the irb did

• 11.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

‘In 2005, Andrew Hore was convicted for killing a protected fur seal in NZ. The judge described it as “a spontaneous act of hooliganism’

Yes hore is innocent and a good person.

• 12.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

I wanted to say “what a joke” but due to the serious nature of the offence, I have to say “what a disgrace mr commissioner!!”

• 13.supersader: Reply to this comment

Dirty thugs you say what bakkies greyling etzebeth to name a few

• 14.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

what a joke, barely a punishment

• 15.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@supersader-13: what about them d1ckhead? They have never committed such cowardly acts of blatant assault.

The 2 Boks you mention at least take opponents on face-to-face

• 16.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

5. What signs were those?

• 17.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

Absolute joke. Disgraceful from the IRB showing again that the All Blacks can get away with murder.

Hore’s act was cowardly and at a very serious level. It was off the ball and a few people mentioned that a charge of assault was possible.

The Welsh have condemned it, the Brits have condemned, South Africans have condemned it and even the kiwis have condemned it.

The only institution who do not seem to be in agreement with the seriousness of this cowardly act is the IRB… The same institution who keep voting in Richie McCaw as player of the year even when he doesn’t deserve it. The same institution who took zero action against Bryce Lawrence despite an unprecedented 47 errors against in a world cup. The same institution who gave Adam Thomson 2 weeks for stamping on a person’s head.

Absolutely disgraceful and despicable. New Zealanders everywhere should be embarassed and ashamed by this.

• 18.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Perhaps we all move on.
    The citing & IRB handling of all these things are appalling to say the least.

in my opinion, screw leniency on good behavoiur. All offenders should be banned for minimum of 10 matches. Watch how fast thuggery & off the ball incidents will drop.

1) Punch 10 games
    2) Kick 10 games
    3) Knee to any part of the body 12 games
    4) Boot to the head 12 games
    5) Eye gouge 20 games
    6) Biting 20 games

Irrespective of the jersey, this would stop matters quickly.
    If the IRB initiated a policy like this, there would also be nowhere to hide, and no bias.

• 19.Tuna: Reply to this comment

What did we expect? A punishment that fit the crime? ******* please…

• 20.supersader: Reply to this comment

@bokfan1: so its okay to assault a player as long its not from the back?? What a joke d1ckface. Boks will never be better than ab’s so just deal with it. Ab’s is the mafia of rugby so don’t fck withem

• 21.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@bokfan1-15: so headbutting someone from behind is ok?

this thread is also going to be a pearler..

shall read with much mirth, I see the generalisations about kiwis has already begun..

wonderful

• 22.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-17: why should we be embarassed by it? as you state, it was an IRB decision, not a kiwi one..

was it anymore cowardly then bakkies on Cowan? was it any more cowardly then Waugh on McCaw, a very similar incident in which Waugh got a 2 week suspension..

direct your anger at the IRB, not the kiwis..

• 23.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

For those who wanted to know more about Prof Gerwel.

http://www.sport24.co.za/Cricket/Ali-Bacher-Gerwel-saved-Windies-tour-20121128

• 24.supersader: Reply to this comment

Andrew Hore has played 74 tests, 113 super games & 58 prov games. First trip to the judiciary…. But people rate him as a thug.. Typical saffers

• 25.the authority: Reply to this comment

Poppa kiwis should be embarrassed because the cowardice shown by Hore reflects on you as a nation.

• 26.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@the authority-25: l;ike the cowardice of greyling? attacking a man on the ground? the cowardice of bakkies, attacking a much smaller man from behind? like the cowardice of Wiese, a kinghit shot? the cowardace of Geldenhuys?

those in glass houses shouldnt throw stones..

• 27.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@the authority-25: one mans actions reflect on a nation?

really?

so TerreBlanche would reflect on your country? using your example..

please, that is laughable, as an authority you have no idea..

• 28.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-22: I thought I had a good memory for foul play vs the ABs but you’re schooling me :) I don’t remember the Waugh incident, when was it and what happened?

Plenty of bleating on here but i haven’t heard anyone show us a comparable case where someone got more – besides Bakkies but then he was so experienced with the judiciary, i’m surprised the Boks haven’t hired him as their lawyer

• 29.the authority: Reply to this comment

We were and still are embarrassed by Eugene Terblanche.

Will you say the same of Andrew Hore?

• 30.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-22:

Why should you be embarrassed?… You have to ask?

Shameful.

• 31.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-28: Just did a bit of hunting and yes, sounds like a similar situation that Waugh got 2 weeks for. It was in the same game Tiquiri dumped McCaw on his head. Can’t find a video though

• 32.fogdog10: Reply to this comment

Its not the length of the ban that I have an issue with its the relevance of the games. He should be suspensed for the next 5 internationals! Not some warm up/club games!

• 33.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-31: took me a while to find the footage, but yes, 2006 game with Tuquiris spear..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=DE7FvrKac10#t=58s

@the authority-29: already condemned hore on the 3000 post thread, as well as the leniency of the judgement…but dont let that stop you on your crusade… good luck with it..

@Kaizan-30: yeah, why should I be embarassed about something someone I have never had contact with in my life and their actions on a rugby field..

are you embarassed about Matfields forearm smash on kelleher? Butch james and his any number of high shots on carter? Burger and his eye gouge during the lions series? PDV backing the murdering killer bees and Burger?

you should be..

• 34.blik: Reply to this comment

@fogdog10-32: Agree, it should be a number of games ban for the team you were playing for while comitting the discretion or higher.

So for example, if you committed and offence in a test match, you should be banned for 5 test matches.
    If you committed the game in the Cuper XV match, you should be banned for the next 5 super matches or test matches.
    Down all the way to the lower levels.

• 35.fogdog10: Reply to this comment

Dont read the comments much on here anymore and have lost touch of who is who etc

I have to say though Poppa69 sounds like a proper w*nker!

• 36.fogdog10: Reply to this comment

34.blik said: Yes thats a good idea

• 37.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-33:

And there it is… The difference between South African and New Zealand rugby culture.

We both play hard. We both have players who go beyond the bounds of the rules occasionally but South Africans condemn the actions of their players and demonstrate the appropriate level of regret and embarrassment realising that our players are representatives of our country.

New Zealanders on the other hand respond with:

“why should I be embarassed about something someone I have never had contact with in my life and their actions on a rugby field.”

By that logic, let me ask you this Gonzo…

Why should you be proud about something someone you have never had contact with in your life and their actions on a rugby field?

New Zealand has recently won a world cup. Presumably you don’t feel proud then?

• 38.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-37: this has all been done on the 3000 post thread, whereby we have expressed our disgust at his actions..

do you want me to search through 50 pages of posts so I can copy and paste them here for you?

will that appease you?

• 39.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@fogdog10-35: nice one… an intelligent retort, well done dogfog..

• 40.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Here is Jamie Foxx already doing some ground work; he always irritated me as an actor but could not put my finger on it:

**************************************************************************************
    12 September 2012

Jamie Foxx represents Oude Meester

A major feature of the multimedia campaign for South African fine brandy is the new TV ad, with Jamie Foxx representing the Oude Meester brand
    (I reckon the Meester referred to here is a reference to Worshipful Master the highest honour any Masonic lodge may appoint any of its members)

27 November 2012

Oh, Jamie Foxx.
    The comedian caused quite a stir at the 2012 Soul Train Awards, which was televised last night but taped in Las Vegas a few days after the 2012 election, when he made an out-of-this-world comparison regarding the president.
    “It’s like church over here. It’s like church in here. First of all, give an honor to God and our Lord and Savior Barack Obama. Barack Obama,” Foxx said to the audience.

• 41.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-38:

So now your changing tack and saying you do feel embarrassment for what Hore did??

You replied to my post. You came to me. Not the other way around… So if you want to go and find me posts of you saying you feel embarrassed for what Hore did, by all means go ahead.

I notice you didn’t answer the question I posed to you about whether you feel proud that New Zealand won the world cup.

• 42.fogdog10: Reply to this comment

Initial thought confirmed, enjoy all

• 43.poppa69: Reply to this comment

kaizan

yawn

feel better because you’ve had a dig at all kiwis in one foul swoop?

as you were

• 44.blik: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-41: I think poppa69 has enough to be embarressed about, he does not have enough left to feel embarresed about the precious ABs.

• 45.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-43:

Actually I’ve had a dig at the IRB, you seem to have interpreted my posts wrong.

I said Kiwis should be embarrassed by this and I stand by that. I would be embarrassed if it were a Springbok player who had done that.

I notice you still have not answered my question. Until you manage to answer that question, I will consider this debate to have been won by me.

A simple Yes or No will suffice.

In your own time…

• 46.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Rugby isn’t for sissies.

• 47.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Bakkies will turn this thread into another 3000 one all on his own! :D

• 48.Rage: Reply to this comment

Where’s the IRB PLAYER OF THE YEAR thread?

Apparently the following players have been nominated:
    R.McCaw,D.Carter,O.Farrell,F.Michalak

• 49.Rage: Reply to this comment

@47
    Bakkies was a lekker blogger but these days he’s one helluva irritation.

• 50.poppa69: Reply to this comment

The only institution who do not seem to be in agreement with the seriousness of this cowardly act is the IRB… The same institution who keep voting in Richie McCaw as player of the year even when he doesn’t deserve it. The same institution who took zero action against Bryce Lawrence despite an unprecedented 47 errors against in a world cup. The same institution who gave Adam Thomson 2 weeks for stamping on a person’s head.
    Absolutely disgraceful and despicable. New Zealanders everywhere should be embarassed and ashamed by this.

so to my understanding you are saying we should be embarassed because the IRB voted mccaw, didnt punish lawrence and the whole thompson angle?

but hey, if you need to consider yourself the “winner’ on a blog I do actually pity you..

I see you failed to highlight your own embarassment at the many examples I listed, should I consider that brings me back level?

again, not going to waste any more time with you… your statement and the way it is structured is easily deduced as kiwis being embarassed about the IRBs decisions..

but enjoy your victory, you can feel rightly proud of yourself..

eish..

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.